BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/26/2010

Spring Valley Air Conditioning

(803) 788-0639PO Box 23702, ColumbiaSC 29224 Send email to Spring Valley Air Conditioning

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/26/2010

BBB has determined that Spring Valley Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Spring Valley Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Spring Valley Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service Agreement and follow-up repairs
Since I built my home in 2007, Spring Valley AC has maintained my heating system (almost 7 yrs). On January 27, 2014, I had Spring Valley AC to come out and check my heat pump because the house temperature was reading 12 degrees below thermostat setting. Thermostat was set at 74 and house was reading 62. The technician told me that he found no jumper in the thermostat and the unit was low on freon. He said because there was no jumper, the heat plates were not coming on. I said apparently they never worked because Spring Valley was the company that installed the system when the house was built Sept. 2007. I had mentioned to them several times before about the temperature of the house (I previously got estimates on zoning the air flow in the house.) As I said before, the technician said the freon was low and he added 3 lbs of freon (cost $170). He also suggested doing a leak search for $77. I told him that the technician that came out in October to do the annual maintenance check mentioned that the freon was low but he did not have any on his truck to put in it at that time. Of course this technician didn't know anything about that. I had to pay $170 for the 3lbs of freon. I scheduled the leak search for Feb. 3, 2014. Another technician came and performed the leak search. He did not find any leaks. So today, I called the office to tell them about the situation. I spoke to one of the customer reps explaining the problem. I think she looked at the checklist from the November 1, 2014 maintenance visit and stated that the tech did not inidcate the freon was low. She further stated it is rare that there is no freon on the truck. Get it, she didn't say never but RARE. I told her that was what he said. I ask her if she could ask him. She then said we can send another tech out next week to do another leak search because the tech that came out on 2/3/14 equipment may not have been working. I asked her why next week, should we wait awhile to see if the freon goes down. She just kept saying we can send someone out next week. I told her I would call back. After pondering the facts that she said "it is rare that there is no freon on the truck" as if I was not telling the truth AND her quick response that the equipment the tech use to do the leak search was probably not working, I decided not to have them come out. Here are my problems with this company...the Technicians tell you stuff verbally but do not indicate on the checklist, thus costing you additionally money; No Freon on Truck; Faulty equipment as indicated by the customer svc. rep. Also, customer svc rep. did not try to investigate further into situation - could have consulted with the technician or even review other records to see if indeed the tech indicated not having any freon while performing any other repairs on 11/1/14. Do they not keep records of when freon is put on the trucks and how much? Also, I didn't think of it then but why would you even do a maintenance check with the freon? But I have had the come out and they didn't have enough freon and they came back and fill it up. They were also the original installer of the system and they did not install a jumper in the thermostat. Finally, in a 2.5 months timeframe, I've paid spring valley $190 for an annual maintenance contract (which should have included one pound of freon); $170 for 3 lbs of freon; $79 trip charge; and another $77 for a leak search. Total of $516. Invoice/checklist numbers XXXXX dated 2/3/14 and XXXXX dated 1/27/14.

Desired Settlement
$60 for the 1 lbs of freon that should have been covered by the maintenance agreement. AND for future reference they should provide training to there techs to complete the checklist thoroughly.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@aol.com
Mrs. ****** has been a customer of Spring Valley Air Conditioning for many years and I appreciate her input. I am the Service Manager and was out of the office at the time this incident occurred. It is always in our best interest to try to accommodate our customers immediately and I was disappointed to hear that we did not do that. In any event, I contacted Mrs. ****** and we have completed another leak search. Sometimes leak detectors can malfunction. After personally talking to Mrs. ****** she has indicated she is satisfied and we do not expect any problems in the future.

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/08/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Contractors, Mechanical Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/16/1991Business started: 01/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1992, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Travis Motley (Sales / Service Manager)Mr. Mike Motley (Owner)Mr. Marion Motley (Owner)
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Contractors, Mechanical Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company specializes in heating and air conditioning installation and service.

Alternate Business Names
Spring Valley Heating & Air, Spring Valley Heating & Cooling
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Spring Valley Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.