BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/26/2010

Carolina Air Care, LLC

(843) 771-3315885 E Butternut Rd, SummervilleSC 29483-3224 Send email to Carolina Air Care, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Carolina Air Care is a full service Heating and Air Conditioning Company
located in Summerville,SC and serving all of the lowcountry, Charleston ,Mt.Pleasant,Isle of Palms,Johns and James Island SC.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/26/2010

BBB has determined that Carolina Air Care, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carolina Air Care, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carolina Air Care, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They charged me for a service that did not solve the problem and would not answer my questions or calls appropriately.
I felt extremely uncomfortable when the service person came to my home. As a female, I do not know much regarding air systems. After 5 minutes tinkering with my air, he determined that I needed a whole system and put in 10 pounds of freon that cost me $800 into a system with a leaking evaporating coil. Needless to say, when I obtained other quotes every other company said that my 7 year old system in NO way needed to be replaced and the $800 worth of freon is being leaked out. After several attempts of reaching out to the manager who was "not available", I finally had an opportunity to speak to him. He made me feel attacked, and as a woman, I have never been spoken to in such a manner. I know he was defensive, but he certainly made me feel horrible, and there was no resolution. My experience left me feeling uncomfortable and taken advantage of. I would not recommend them to any female out there.

Desired Settlement
I wish they would have given me an additional quote for the evaporator coil considering they placed $800 worth of freon into a system that was apparently leaking. Their original quote for a new system was incorrect and was not the least expensive per my request. I have been calling to get a reevaluated quote and still no response.

Business' Initial Response
First off please see attachment for the signed invoice stating Mrs.***** was satisfied before we left.

Second Mrs.***** was informed she has a leak and denied a leak search as stated on the invoice.

I talked to her on the phone with respect and never out the way because I didn't know who to believe at the time , what she is saying about me and my Tech's is all a LIE.

I sent a second tech out to get a second opinion and give her the option of replacing the evap. coil or to replace the system Mrs.***** was not happy with our options.

She needs a new system or replace the evap. coil ,we recommend a new system because of the current system being 7 years old and was almost empty of refrigerant compromised the compressor and the compressor sounds bad. She's mad about the refrigerant being leaked out and that other companies advised to replace just the coil Mrs.***** needs to pay someone to replace the coil before the refrigerant is all gone and has to purchase it again the longer she waits the more it will cost her to have the lost refrigerant added. No matter what happened or is going to happen it is a cost that the customer is inevitably going to have to face if she had us replace the coil she would have been charged the price to replace the coil and still be charged for the refrigerant she needed but by her denying us to do a leak search there was no way for us to know at the time where the leak was or if she even had a leak and kids didn't huff it out we didn't know.

Mrs.***** is trying to get everything fixed with no more money out of pocket and that is just not going to happen.

Again Mrs.***** needs to hire one of the other companies she talks about to replace the coil before she loses the refrigerant she paid for or she will have to buy the refrigerant again from them. Time is of the essence the longer she waits the more refrigerant she loses.

12/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heat Sealing Equipment & Supplies, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heat Exchangers, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/05/2009Business started: 01/15/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Mullis (Owner)Mr. Paul Langevin (Owner)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heat Sealing Equipment & Supplies, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heat Exchangers, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers full service HVAC work.

Carolina Air Care offers all names of Equipment from Trane, Carrier, Rheem, Goodman, Ruud.Services range from Service ,Replacements, Duct Cleaning ,Maintenance, Duct System Replacement ,New Construction and all other HVAC related jobs.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMSat: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PMSun: 07:00 AM to 10:00 PM
Industry Tips
How to Select a Contractor

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carolina Air Care, LLC

885 E Butternut Rd

Summerville, SC 29483-3224

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 885 E Butternut Rd 

    Summerville, SC 29483-3224(843) 771-3315

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carolina Air Care, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

How to Select a Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.