BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central South Carolina and Charleston

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/28/1991

All American Heating & Air, Inc

Phone: (803) 796-8356Fax: (803) 926-1257View Additional Phone Numbers3220 Leaphart Road, West ColumbiaSC 29169 Send email to All American Heating & Air, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/28/1991

BBB has determined that All American Heating & Air, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised All American Heating & Air, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a hearing/air conditioning unit from All American Heating and Air just over two years ago, and they installed it. In that time the unit has broken down three times, each time due to parts failure. I spoke with the owner of All American Heating and Air, and he told me these were quality problems by the manufacturer, Nordine, and I should complain to them. My answer was that I am his customer, not theirs, but I also called Nordine. The warranty is for replacement of parts, not for shipping and labor, and I understand that, but a new unit should not break down three times in two years. The most recent problem was failure of the condenser coil, and the owner of All American told me it was due to bad copper and that the replacement coil would be made of aluminum. Nordine tells me to take it up with All American and they tell me to go through Nordine, but no one wants to stand behind the product they sell. I believe this unit is a lemon and should be handled outside the warrant. They need to reimburse us for shipping and labor costs and install a new unit without cost to us. We've spent hundreds of dollars to repair a faulty product, and neither company wants to take responsiblity. The owner of All American told me the most recent repair would be done at a discount, no more than $250-300, but his technician charged us nearly $400. The automotive industry has a lemon policy, but neither of these companies is willing to accept responsility for this one.
Product_Or_Service: Westinghouse Gas Pack
Order_Number: XXXXX
Account_Number: S#R6FXXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
So sorry for not responding in a more timely fashion(Email confusion on my part)
I personally, as well as the owner and service manager, are well aware of the problems you have had since the purchase of this unit, We contacted the Warranty holder, Nordine, on your behalf, at your request, on April 7, 2014 and started a ticket number for your warranty between you , the homeowner.,and warranty holder,Nordine
This was to be followed up by you the homeowner and the company you have the warranty through, Nordine (It is not customary practice for an HVAC contractor to contact a warranty company whom the homeowner has a warranty through. In fact many warranty companies will only speak with the policy holder)
We heard nothing else from you or Nordine until this BBB complaint.

So.... now for some background

9/26/2011 Installed 3Ton 14SEER Westinghouse Gas Pack $5500.00 One year labor 10 year parts 10 year Quality Pledge

5-16-2013 replaced a X-13 motor for $250

2-24-2014 replaced igniter $143.95 and offered a maintenance agreement(declined) two and a half years after installation

4-4-2014 evaporator coil leaking Deposit of $175
Informed customer the coil replacement would be between 300 and 400 dollars depending on shipping as shipping and handling is not covered by warranty The owner explained that the coils being made today are made of a better product than in 2011 The owner also agreed to charge only about one half the going rate for under warranty coil replacement in the Midlands

Customer not happy with these problems We talked at length with Mr *********** and All American agreed to contact the warranty company on his behalf.

April 6, 2014 an email letter voicing the homeowners discontent was received and read basically requesting that All American take this matter up with the manufacturer of the unit and work to get him a new unit as he felt this one was a lemon

April 7, 2014 A ticket # was initiated with the warranty company by All American on behalf of Mr ***********. Nordine Warranty Company and Mr ********** are in the warranty contract with each other . The Nordine representative's name and phone number were given to Mr ********** for him to follow up with.Representative's name and Nordine ticket Warranty number request are on file at All American as well.

This will be no consolation to Mr ********** but unfortunately this is not an isolated event .
Until the expense of paying shipping and handling and labor costs for new coil the expenses weren't too high
Again, unfortunately for this homeowner, after 2 and 1/2 years , the evaporator coil leaks.
On a given week in hot summer weather, All American finds 20 plus coils leaking that have to be replaced! This is not specific to All American or to any particular brand at this time. Industry wide this is a huge concern for all involved, particularly the homeowner.

We stress to the homeowners to purchase a yearly maintenance agreement to help take care of the unit during the year All American heating and Air will check the unit two times... cleaning the coils, changing filters, checking all connections and hookups and motors and levels . We even come out a third time during the contract year if needed for free.Mr Hufstetler declined a maintenance agreement. Mr Hufstetler stated in his email on April 6, 2014,that All American has the right to refuse his requests to replace his unit free of charge just as he states he "has the right to go on Angie's List or any where else that will listen and complain about this kind of service"
All American Heating and Air does stand behind the products we sale to the homeowners and we purchase the best products being manufactured at any given point in time.
We do encourage every homeowner to have a maintenance contract or yearly service plan with a qualified HVAC contractor. Many warranty companies require the warranty holder, the homeowner , to purchase a maintenance agreement and to keep it actively up to date in order for the warranty to remain in effect.

I am very sorry your unit has had issues in the first 2 and 1/2 years of your purchase.
Please consider getting a maintenance agreement with us or with some other licensed contractor so that a closer eye can be kept on your system's ongoing performance. We did install your unit and will help you maintain it properly if you choose to do so.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
I read the response and found it duplicitous. It is true that All American told me to contact Nordine, and I did. Their response was that I should go back to All American. One of these companies manufactured what I believe is a lemon of a product, and the other sold it to me. Now, neither is willing to stand behind the product. The argument about a maintenance agreement is simply a ruse. We asked the technician and the service manager whether any of these expenses would have been covered by a maitnance agreement (cost of shipping and installation), and they said they would not. If the assumption is that they could've identified the problems in advance, I find that logic seriously flawed. The owner of All American told me the problem with the leaking coil was due to the manufacturer using poor grade copper. How would a technician identify and correct that in advance? On pricing, the owner told me that our cost for the leaking coil would not be more than $250 and then they charged us $400. We keep paying for a product that simply won't hold up, a lemon, and All American keeps making money on it. This is just bad business.

***** ***********

Final Business Response
All American Heating and Air does stand by their word
A business has to have integrity to remain in business.
We are sorry you have had some problems with your system
We remain available to help you with future concerns
By the way, I did get the transcript from your conversation with the warranty company, Nordine, and also Nordine is the Manufacturer in this case, Nordine basically reiterated what the Warranty company covers which is the cost of the part, the new coil
They did refer you back to us, All American heating and Air for labor shipping and handling.
The owner agrees to give you a refund back on what you remember him telling you, that is $250, for the coil replacement. You stated you paid $400
All American will today place a check to your home address in the amount of $150
This is not a refund for shipping and handling but a token to let you know that we are a company that stands behind our word.

03/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All American installed on February 28, 2013 a 2 ton Goodman Heat Pump with attic insulation at my residence at *** ***** ******* Columbia, SC in the amount of $5,565.00When used the unit for the first time, the unit failed to produce any cool air. On June 24, 2013, one of All American's technicians ******* looked at the unit and wrote on the DESCRIPTION OF WORK PERFORMED: "Found short in fan circuitto attic in thermostate wire. Changed colors, cooling properlyat this time".On February 4, 2013 I called All American heating and air informing them that the unit was not heating properly. Thegentleman, whose name I don't know, was extremely rude andand told me that he did dot believe me because we had some very cold days. He then told me that I had to pay a service charge if the unit was working properly. I told him that that wouldbe OK with me. But then he accused me of refusing to pay aprevious repair bill at a rental unit of mine. After I toldhim that he was misinformed he put me on hold, and, after waiting for some time for him to return, it became obvious that he had no intention to make an appointment for a technician tofix the unit.
Product_Or_Service: 02/28/2013

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@allamericanheatingandair.com
PERSONAL HOME OF THIS MEMBER
Feb 28 2013 All American installed new 13 SEER 2 TON split heat pump with attic insulation $5650.00
June 22, 2013 cust called no air conditioning tech foundshort in circuit in thermostat wire, repaired , unit cooling properly NO Charge
RENTAL PROPERTY OF THIS MEMBER
July 13 2013 no air conditioning RENTAL
All American tecnician diagnosed problem and replaced 25/5 capacitor Rental property cooling properly Customer was quoted $275and dropped to $250 for repair Customer and technician debated over the price and ultimately the part was removed and the unit was not cooling when tecnician left

After Part was removed ,customer was informed the charge would only be the $85 service call to his property
Member/customer did not pay
Tenant was informed of decision by All American technician
Member owes $85 for service call to his rental property on July 12, 2013
Now Complaint on PERSONAL HOME
Feb 4, 2014 This is the unit installed new by All American on Feb 28, 2013 This unit came with a factory 1 year labor 10 year parts Warranty
Still within 1st year therefore this does apply
This homeowner, our customer, stated that his thermostat was set on 65 and tempwas 65 Tech then asked him if you change the setting does the temp get to that setting Homeowner answered yes technician informed him that it seems like it is working properly
Technician service manager explained that in the warranty papers it states that if a service call is made and nothing is wrong with the unit then a charge of $85 would apply Customer agreed
tech was informed that this customer had outstanding balance of $85 over 7 seven months overdue. Customer was informed that he still owed us $85 from a previous visit to the above referenced rental property back in July of 2013
The technician told him that he would have to pay the $85 owed for his rental property prior to tech coming to his home(personal home)today
Customer said tech was mis informed and he did not owe anything.
RESOLUTION BY ALL AMERICAN
After calling homeowner and discussing complaint Homeowner felt that he should have been invoiced and pay bill at office Customer and I agreed that technician should not have told tenant that her landlord would not pay I agree Something else could have been said while a resolution was being reached
Also the new unit at the personal home is working well I/All American asked him if he wanted to continue being a customer of All American and customer said yes
After talking it over RESOLUTION is to write off the $85 as some misunderstanding and some bad judgement on the part of the technician and a little lack of followup on our part(All American)
All American hopes to continue servicing this customer in the future and customer agreed.It is also understood that in the future all monies are due at the time of service We do not invoice customers.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I had a HVAC unit installed last year. When I first tried to use the AC, it didn't work.
I had a HVAC unit installed last year, although I wasn't sure my old unit was repairable. When I tried to use the AC for the first time, it didn't work. After some difficulty , I had someone come out and repair it from All American.
I had to take two days off of work, to be there for the repairmen. He said it wasn't installed properly. While there , he preformed the first service follow-up.
The second service check which was supposed to be before the end of October, never happened. I sent a email through the All American website requesting the service, but did not get a response.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
10-04-2012, All American Heating and Air gave an estimate to replace an old unit.
10-05-2012 Installed 2 ton 13 SEER split heat pump
Goodman factory warranty-1 year labor 10 year parts and All American Heating and Air-1 year free maintenance agreement
04-19-2013 Seven months after installation and with unit working during the fall and winter of 2012 and into the spring of 2013 All American received a call from Mr ****** stating he turned on his AC and it did not cool.
04-19-2013 Technician sent to home repaired cracked solder joint, pressure tested system with 300 psi of Nitogen, system held pressure test; vacuumed out system, held vacuum, recharged with 7.1 lbs of R410-A No leaks,system cooling properly Also tecnician performed Spring maintenance washed coils, changed filters, checked all electrical, checked amp draws, checked capacitors. All working well. One visit left on Maintenance agreement for Fall-Winter of 2013
11-27-2013 All American notified by Better Business Bureau that Mr ****** wanted compensation for taking two days off work back in April of 2012 waiting for our technician to come.
Response: Mr ****** called on the 19th of April 2013, and requested that we not come between 11am and 1pm that day. Our technician arrived on that same day at 9am and left at 10:55am. Mr ****** signed the invoice that all work stated above was performed to his satisfaction.I do not know why Mr ****** missed 2 days of work for this repair.
There was NO CHARGE as he was under his free maintenance agreement provided by American Heating and Air for all new installations.
Nov 27, 2013 in a complaint to the BBB,Mr ****** states that he emailed us back in October 2013,through our website. I did not see this request from Mr ******.
I apologize for not getting out to do your remaining visit on your maintenance agreement. We will come out to your home at your earliest convienence.
Please call us at XXX-XXXX and we will schedule your visit. Of course if you have a "no heat" problem,call immediately and we will take care of that.
Response as to "not installing the system right to start with" and "having to be at home for a repair that should never had to be made" Mr ******, A cracked solder joint is not uncommon .There are literally hundreds of solder areas on a unit. Your unit did work properly for seven months and we responded and repaired the problem on the same day of your concern.We checked the entire system out for you on that same day April 19, 2013.
We value you as our customer and want to continue providing for your heating and air needs.Please let me know if you have any other concerns and please call us to schedule that remaining check up on your unit
Stay warm and have a Wonderful Holiday Season!

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/17/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
05/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: This company stated they cleared my AC drain, however, the proper tools were not present to perform this service.

At my request on 14 June 2013 this company came to my house 11 hours after the call was placed to check my AC Unit. The drain pans attached to the unit and the return line both contained water. There were two "technicians" present however my issue is only with one of them. This "technician" told me that the drain line of my unit was clogged and that he cleared it - by removing the pvc pipe from the unit located on the second level of my house and placing his mouth around it and blowing. He also told me that the unit was low on freon and the coil was leaking. My unit is four years old and this concerned me. I asked to be shown where the leak was on the unit and he could not show me however scrapped his finger along the base pan of the coil and showed me the oil on his finger. I was quoted $800 to cover the cost of shipping and handling, the expensive freon that they didn't have and the extremely hard and lengthy job this was going to be. The parts and freon would take a month to come in, but, for $400 that evening the "technician" could get me "cooling" and would need the other $400 in about a month when the items arrived and they could start the repair. Needless to say this concerned me and I wanted a second - third opinion and a quicker turn around time for the repair. The "technicians" were payed the $85 for services performed as stated on the invoice with the understanding my decision was not final. I was told to leave the unit off to prevent further water damage and I cleaned the water out of the pans. I contacted another company who came to check the unit and provide an estimate for repairs necessary. It turns out that the method used of "blowing" on the drain line was not the method for clearing it. It is not humanly possible for a person to contain enough air to blow through the line from the second story of my house. This tasked required compressed air. Once this was done the line was flushed and effectively cleared. At my request the company did refill the freon and my unit was turned back on with no further incident. I spoke with the owner of All American Heating and Air and repeatedly asked if it is their practice to clear a drain line with their mouths and the owner refused to answer this question directly and responded "I don't care if he blew it up". His voiced was elevated and he hung up in my face after telling me they would not refund my money. To me this is not acceptable nor is it professional from any company that receives money from me. As a business owner myself I took an oath not to misrepresent myself, my company or my goods/services therefore I chose to hold all others at the same standard.

Business' Initial Response
June 14, 2013 Mrs ****** called All American Heating and Air on June 14 and a service call was made to her home after 8pm at night. This is unfortunate but June 14th had an extremely heavy workload.We promised that we would get to her home before closing and we did.The technicians found the drain pan full of water, and that the water had already damaged the wall.
The technician checked the pressures and found system low on 410A freon. He performed a leak test and found the evaporator coil leaking. He recommended to the customer, Mrs ******* to replace the coil and if her coil is under factory warranty that the cost to replace it would be $800 This includes shipping and labor and adding freon Mrs ****** paid our $85 service fee, no repairs were made , no Freon-refrigerant was added. Mrs ****** stated she wanted to talk to her husband about it.
June 20, 2013 Mr Latham called All American Heating and Air and spoke to the owner,demanding
a refund.Mr ****** further stated "Do you know who I am?" The owner of All American aid he did not know who he was nor did he care. He would not refund him his money. The owner told him that he could not get his $85 back because that is the fee for driving to his home and diagnosing the problem. Further,if the homeowner then decides to have All American Heating and Air repair the problem, then we refund the $85 service fee.

Prior to this call , Mr ****** had ********** ********* come to his home(June 18, 2013) who also found the drain line to be flowing improperly according to Mr ******* and ********** ********* ADDED FREON and charged $200 dollars.(according to their invoice) This company did not perform a leak test and added freon without ordering a coil for the homeowner. This is not legal.Adding freon is a bandaid remedy to get temporary cooling but ONLY if a new coil is ordered!
This freon will continue to leak as adding freon is only a temporary solution until the new coil arrives.Mr ****** told the owner that another company came out and cleared the drain line properly with compressed air and that his unit was working fine now. Mr ****** told the All American Heating and Air owner that no Freon was added.(the invoice as stated below reads "recharged system")
Mr ***** agreed to refund the $85 if an invoice from a reputable company states they cleared the drain line and no freon was added to get his unit cooling again.
June 21, 2013 Mrs ****** brought the invoice to All American Heating and Air from ********** ********* who went to the ********* home on June 18, 2013;written on invoice"recharged system cleared drain" "XXX XX"
Recharged system is ADDING FREON.Mr ****** may not have been aware of this terminology.
This coil will continue to leak and needs to be replaced.As far as not using compressed air and the tech physicaly blowing on the line did not cause harm one way or the other. And,yes,compressed air remains the best method to clear a drain line.
As far as disrespect in a business whether it is from the owner or a tech or a dispatcher, this is never an acceptable method of dealing with frustration even if actually being threatened or feeling threatend. Defensive reactions are difficult to retrieve but do not require a refund as ammends.
All American Heating and Air firmly believes that the $85 is justified and that a refund is not warranted. The ******* do need to have that coil replaced and afterwards consider a yearly maintenance agreement with a company they trust.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The invoice from All American clearly states that the drain line was cleared, however it wasn't. ********** ********* did properly clear the line and at the homeowners request "recharge the system", which was the same offer All American made for a fee of $400. Nevertheless the unit is working wonderfully without any leakage whatsoever and the owners are very pleased with the work performed the qualified technician of a well established company. Should All American feel that the practices of there technicians and owner is acceptable practice I (Mrs. ******) recognizes that this is there business and they can make the choice of providing customer service at any level of moral they choose. I was not privileged to the conversation between my husband and anyone therefore, it is not my place nor concern to discuss. It very clear no business will be conducted between any of the parties involved; as well as most importantly my concern(s) have been properly expressed.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems-Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Insulation Contractors, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/28/1993Business started: 05/01/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1992, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Royer (President/Owner)Ms Debbie Royer (VP)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems-Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Insulation Contractors, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers heating and air conditioning installations as well as 24 hour emergency service and repair. They also provide attic insulation.

Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All American Heating & Air, Inc

3220 Leaphart Road

West Columbia, SC 29169

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3220 Leaphart Road 

    West Columbia, SC 29169

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All American Heating & Air, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (803) 731-2568
  • (803) 788-6681
  • (803) 776-5838
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.