BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Air Time Climate Control, LLC

Phone: (803) 772-5603Fax: (803) 772-6082View Additional Phone Numbers3400 Fernandina Road, ColumbiaSC 29210 Send email to Air Time Climate Control, LLChttp://www.airtimecc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Air Time Climate Control, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Air Time Climate Control, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Air Time Climate Control, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/08/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased new HVAC system and it does not maintain temps in the house despite more than 20 service calls in 9 months.
On Dec 19, 2014, Airtime Climate Control was hired to remove our old but working HVAC unit and install a new 3.5 ton, 15 SEER, York HVAC unit for over $9,000. On the day of install, we were informed it would be 2 days instead of the 1 planned. It ended up taking 5 days to complete the install due to several problems along the way, including miswiring of zones leaving us without heat, and damaging the attic floor / upstairs ceiling. The first cold weather came Jan. 8, 2015, and we had no heat in our home. This started a nightmare of the house being unable to maintain the set temperature. Problems included: miswired zones, a "defective" and replaced circuit board, duct temp sensor in wrong ductwork, not enough airflow and installation of larger return line (after saying at install we wouldn't need it), re-routing of bypass ducts, air ducts connected to wrong zones, programming the control board wrong (2 errors), board not wired properly (aux. wire not installed properly to allow aux heat to work), and not filling the R-410A at install. We still had problems on Jan. 19th, and it was not until the very end of Jan. that our house maintained a set temperature. Even then, the Aux. heat needed to run excessively, keeping our bill higher than it should have been, but they stated that was not something they needed to address, as the unit "worked."
June 15, 2015, the start of a heat wave, and now our home could not remain cool. With the air conditioner running, the indoor temps were 88 degrees most days. This resulted in 13 service visits from June 15th through July 17th. Fixes included changing piston size, installing valve instead of piston, adjusting R-410A, adjusting dampeners, fixing leaks in ductwork, and finally replacing blower motor. This time, we had to get York involved directly, but Airtime was not helpful with that, as they stalled on paperwork and were an obstacle to trying to get York tech support involved. After the appointment on the July 17th, I was told the owner would be out to get more measurements on the unit. When he did not show, I called and informed him the unit was still not cooling the home, and was told he was not coming, as the other tech got the info (even though that tech told me he had not.) A week later, I get a call from the office that they still needed readings, but I was at work, and by the time I got the message, the office was closed. The following week I called them, as I had not heard back, and was told that the techs got all the readings they needed (when no one was home.) The owner confirmed this, until I informed him no one had been home, and then he started saying that they had all the numbers they needed. Again, I confronted him with info I had from the York tech rep, that they were waiting on him to get them readings to try to further troubleshoot this problem. He offered to send a tech out, but when asked what he would do, he admitted he had no idea, and no repairs would take place. I insisted they know what they need to do to fix it before wasting more of our time. It was August 11, 2015 before I heard back, and was informed that they still need to come get readings on the unit, but have to do so when they temps are over 95 out, which is not predicted in the next 10 days.
Meanwhile, our house still cannot maintain a set temp as of this past weekend. I have asked them several times to refund our money and take out the unit, as they cannot make it work as a unit should. When we purchased the unit, we paid extra for what we thought was a 10 year parts and labor warranty through York, but when we were talking with York to try to get it repaired by another company we were informed that their warranty does not cost extra, and that we do not actually have a warranty with them for this unit. Instead we were mis-lead about what we purchased, and cannot even get another company to fix this. In over 20 service visits, they still cannot get our unit to work properly.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund and for Airtime to take their equipment out of my home. All but one of the repairs was the direct result of their negligence, careless installation, lack of knowledge about the system, and poor workmanship. Despite more than 20 service calls to my house, the unit still does not work, and it is still only 9 months old! I do not think it unreasonable to expect a heating and air conditioning unit to maintain a reasonable temperature in the home, and that was what they were hired to do. At this time, they still cannot or refuse to provide us with a date of which we will have a properly working unit. I have asked several times for them to refund / return the equipment or exchange it out, and they have refused and even minimized my concerns saying that they don't have to do that.
They still have not repaired the damaged attic floor/ upstairs ceiling, and after seeing the rest of their work, I do not think they are capable of doing a proper job. I feel we should have to be reimbursed for the cost of a licensed professional to fix the damage to our home that they caused by the employee's carelessness. This is not even counting the broken personal items in our home from their careless behaviors.
Also, I feel we should get refunded for the false warranty we purchased. We were told York provided the warranty, thus the reason we chose that unit over the others that did not have the option to buy an extended warranty. When we tried to use it through York to get another contractor, we were informed that we did not have the warranty we thought we purchased, and believe we were deliberately misled and lied to about what we were buying.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
First we would like to say that we are very sorry that Mrs. ********** did not come to us first to discuss her concerns. But some of the concerns are faults, to do an install it take about 2-5 day depending on how big the unit is and wealth or not we have to do ductwork or cut in returns and grills. We tried our best to make Mrs. ********** happy every time she called we came out to address the problem without charging her for any service calls. The problem was that Mrs. ********** unit came with a bad blower motor from the York factory, we could not understand why is brand new unit was not working right. So we called York support Tech to see if they would send somebody out to check Mrs. ********** unit and we had to wait until they get back in touch with us because the Tech travels all over the state it was not obstacle to get the Tech support involved we had to wait on their schedule to open up. Mrs. ********** have ten year parts warranty and she paid for ten year labor we contacted York company so that the labor warranty will be put in the system correctly. We were not informed about any personal items being broken or any careless behaviors. When we talk to **** ********** he said he was just concern about the warranty and he knew nothing about any personal items being broken. It is not up to us to replace the unit or we would that is up to York Company and that is what we is waiting on. We will try our best to make Mrs. ********** concerns a priority so we can get this resolve in a timely matter.

08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested Air Conditioning repair service from Airtime, have experienced horrible customer service from office staff, management, and technicians.
In May 2014 Airtime was called to assess Air Conditioning unit in home. First assessment revealed coolant was needed and there was a leaking coil that required replacement.The cost was $429 with $125 credited back if company was used for installation. An appointment was scheduled to have coil installed. On day of scheduled appointment technician arrived an 1hr and 30min late without prior notice of late arrival. The reasoning given was because someone was fired due to inappropriately talking to a customer which I now understand. Due to work scheduling out of state the next appointment was not scheduled until July 2014 when convenient for me. Initially I was told the cost of service would be $600. While scheduling this appointment I was told I had to pay a extra $100 restocking fee because the part had to be returned which I was later told it was not returned. After having the coil installed customer service from Airtime drastically changed. On the day of installation I came home to my downstairs unit not running when only the upstairs unit was to be serviced. I notified the company of the issue and was told they had nothing to do with the unit not running and if they returned it would be another service fee. The technician also stated that I was not at the house so I would not know. My fiance had to go in the attic where technicians were working and turn the unit back on. After installation the unit begin making a loud tractor sounding noise. Airtime was notified and responded however technician ***** stated there was no noise and nothing wrong with the unit. I again called Airtime informing them on the problem and requested to speak with a manager on July 25, 2014 and was told a technician would come out but a manager was unavailable. The next technician ***** found the unit to be over filled with coolant causing the noise and was able to stop it. The technician informed me that I needed to monitor the unit for cooling upstairs and notify them if I had any problems. Airtime was notified again that the unit was not cooling. On August 1, 2014 technicians ***** and ****** came to assess unit again. Aware of the inconsistency I recorded the visit. I again was told by ***** that there was no problem with the unit. After being told "Im not trying to blow smoke up your ***". I was told that I may need a new compressor, ventilation in the attic, room doors shortened and carpet cut down. The technician went on to discuss how I took to long to remove coil from their office, stated I complained about paying the $700, that I am just a dissatisfied customer that wont listen. Both technicians were asked to leave my home for being disrespectful and not talking to me like a professional would. I immediately called Airtime and requested to speak with a manager. Again a manager was unavailable. I have called back on several more occasions and as of August 14, 2014 I have not spoken with the manager of this business. Each check that was written to this company has been cashed with no problems and unfortunately I still have a unit that will not cool my upstairs. I am thoroughly disgusted with every individual that I have spoken to with this business which has never allowed me to speak with a manager or owner. I requested a detail summary of each visit as well as a itemized summary of the $700 fee which does not state the $100 restocking fee. Paying over a thousand dollars for horrible customer service and still a non-working unit is unfortunate for me but I will do everything in my power to ensure other customers will not be swindled by Airtime Climate Control.

Desired Settlement
Though a coil under warranty was installed in my home the upstairs unit still does not work efficiently. I can not in my right mind request any further service from Airtime because I am sure it will again be a waste of my time and money.

Business Response
We are responding to the complaint file by ***** ******* on 8/14/2014. The first call from Ms. ******* was on 5/9/2014 for a diagnostic on her air condition unit, we find that Ms. ******* had a leak in her evaporator coil so we recommend that she get the evaporator coil change under warranty we put 5 lbs of Freon in Ms. ******* unit which she used. We order the coil then we called Ms. ******* numerous times to get her schedule for the replacement of the coil but said stated that she would call us, after leaving many massages to schedule an appointment and no answer, we return the coil on July 14, 2014 and was charge a $100.00 for restock fee. On July 16, 2014 Ms. ******* call to get the coil install and she was informed by the office manager that the coil had been returned and we would have to charge her the $100 for the restock fee. We install the coil the same day, we receive a call from Ms. ******* also on that day stated that her unit was not working when she got home the office inform Ms. ******* that another tech would be sent out with no charge, about 30 minutes later Ms. ******* call back and state that the unit was working now her fiancé went and turn the breaker back on which could have been turn off by accident then the techs was putting in the coil. On July 22, 2014 we receive another call from Ms. ******* stated the unit was making a loud tractor sound we sent another tech out the fix the problem, on July 25 Ms. ******* call again the stating the house was to hot this time we sent the Service Manager ***** who find the problem and fix it, the noise stop. On August 1, 2014 we got another call from Ms. ******* stating that the house was still not cooling like she wanted it, so we sent ***** and ****** on the call, we found out that ***** was very unprofessional on this call and he was discipline and inform that is it happens again he will be terminated. But Ms. ******* has contradicted herself because she state that she did not talk to a manager but she spoke to ***** and **** the office manager and also state that the customer service was horrible which is not true. The office manager and the office staff did their best to help Ms. ******* in every way possible every time Ms. ******* call they sent a tech out, they are very professional when it come down to our customers. Ms ******* requested to speak to the owner of company but he was out of town for a few weeks he got back last week when he saw the complaint he called Ms. ******* several times to try and resolve this issue but she has not returned he calls. This is the first complaint we have received since 1994 our customers is very important to us and we would like to resolve this problem by coming out and finding out why Ms. ******* unit is not cooling properly.
The owner and ***** the service manager plus tech support from the company Ruud where the coil came from. Can come out and try to find what the problem is if Ms. ******* will allow it with NO Charge so we can get this issue resolve.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As previously addressed the service from Airtime was horrible and inconsistent. The late arrival for the first visit was not addressed which caused the coil to not be installed initially, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. On July 22, when the technician came out he stated there was no problem with the unit, but on the 25th when provided the same information not new information the technician or now "Service Manager" found the problem found and it was fixed. Again, clear inconsistency by technicians. In response to the contradiction of not talking to management, speaking to an office manager who has administrative responsibilities of office management does not suffice for fixing an air-conditioning unit. Also if ***** is the "Service Manager" he would be responsible for overseeing the work of other technicians. On August 1, 2014 when I called the business regarding their UNPROFESSIONAL technician *****, I was told by "office staff" management staff was unavailable. When the business was called back to request the full name of the technician "office staff" requested to hear audio from technician **** "Office Manager" could be heard in the background. On this day the "office manager" did not speak with me. As a "office manager" it would have been professional to notify the customer that you received the complaint and would rectify the situation and also contact the owner; which no one was able to do. I was not contacted for two weeks after the initial complaint and the complaint was made to the Better Business Bureau. The owner of the business has contacted me ONCE leaving ONE message. In learning that a technician was unprofessional that does not align with "we are professional when it comes down to our customers". No further service will be requested from Airtime Climate Control.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/13/2009Business started: 10/01/1994Business started locally: 08/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is a subcontractor. According to the SC Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation under SECTION 40-11-270: Licensees may utilize the services of unlicensed subcontractors to perform work within the limitations of the licensee's license group and license classification or subclassification; provided, the licensee provides supervision. The licensee is fully responsible for any violations of this chapter resulting from the actions of unlicensed subcontractors performing work for the licensee.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eugene K. O'Banion (Owner)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 09:00 AMTue: 08:00 AM to 09:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 09:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 09:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 09:00 PMSat: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSun: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AM
Service Area

30 Mile radius from 29210


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Air Time Climate Control, LLC has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Air Time Climate Control, LLC

3400 Fernandina Road

Columbia, SC 29210

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3400 Fernandina Road 

    Columbia, SC 29210

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air Time Climate Control, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (803) 345-3680
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.