BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/2011

Kaminer Heating & Cooling

Find a Location

Phone: (803) 772-9140Fax: (803) 772-9149110 Kaminer Way parkway, ColumbiaSC 29210 Send email to Kaminer Heating & Cooling

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/2011

BBB has determined that Kaminer Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kaminer Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

96 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kaminer Heating & Cooling

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 95
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 96 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had people working at my house without filing a permit first, which is required. Failed to file my rebate until I called to verify that it was filed.
On June 8th 2013 I purchased a 2ton Goodman A/C unit from Kaminer Heating and Cooling. I know that permits needed to be pulled for this work. So I called the city to see if the permits had been pulled and they said no. I asked them what I should do if they are already working on my house. They said they should not be working at your house without a permit. I asked the technicians if they knew of the permit and they said they didnt think they needed one. I called the company and they were unsure until i told them that i had already called the city and they said that they needed to pull a permit. So the company then pulled attempted to pull a permit, but could not do it that same day. They continued to work on the unit illegally and completed the job that day. Upon completion of the job they wanted to be paid, I told them i would happily pay them in full when i was notified that the permit had been pulled and that the city inspector had come to inspect their work. I had my own private inspector come and inspect the work along with the city inspector other then one minor discrepancy they both said that the work was in compliance with codes. So if i was not a savvy consumer this job would have been completed without the city being aware of it and without proper required inspections occuring. I then paid the company in full the $9,994 dollars for the new unit and the new ducting.
Now 4 months later I was still waiting for the rebate from SCEG for installing a new A/C system that they said that they would take care of. I called SCEG in first week of Oct 2013 to see what the status of the rebate was and they said it had not been filed. So i called Kaminer heating and cooling and they said that they thought they had submitted it. So after the reminder they said that they would be sure to submit it now. So today 30 Oct 13 I called SCEG to check on the status of the rebate and they said that Kaminer had partially filed it but that SCEG still needed the Invoice. Fortunately i have a copy of the invoice and i emailed it to SCEG. So now the Job is complete. I continuously dealt with the same representative at Kaminer, ******* but the company did not do the job up to the normal standard. Which is doing work according to codes and regulations and finishing the job all the way to the end which would have been filing the rebate.
The company advertises very well so I see how they can be an easy choice for consumers. But beware when i talked to the city they told me the homeowner is overall responsible for everything that is done to the home.So I would have been held responsible for them working without a permit and could have been fined.

Desired Settlement
I just want other consumers to be aware and if you do for some reason choose this company, be sure to check and make sure they pull permits if they are needed for your job and follow up on everything. The company advertises very well so I see how they can be an easy choice for consumers. But beware when i talked to the city they told me the homeowner is overall responsible for everything that is done to the home.So I would have been held responsible for them working without a permit and could have been fined.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Email: ****@kaminerhac.com
I would simply like to state that at Kaminer we pull permits when the job is being done in case the client decided to back out and we don't pay for something we do not use. This client is in Richland County and you have to jump through hoops to get them to get your permit done. This client called the minute we arrived at the house to see if it was pulled. When he called the office we were already in the process of pulling the permit. As far as the SCE&G rebate the customer is responsible for filing this, not Kaminer. We provide the paperwork and the client is responsible for the rest. It clearly states this on their paperwork and website. We have installed many systems and have not had any issues with this. I would also like to add that we had to constantly try to track down Mr. ****** to collect payment for this job. It was to our understanding there were no issues because he has not contacted our office other than asking for help with the SCE&G paperwork, which ******* gladly provided. Kaminer has been in business for 57 years and you do not achieve this by doing what we are being accused of. I feel this is an unjust complaint from a client we have gone above and beyond to satisfy. We appreciate this client allowing us to service them and we feel again we have done all we could to satisfy them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is an unethical and illegal business practice. If you can not afford to pay the fees for a permit prior to accomplishing a job, which would be the legal,ethical, and correct way to do the job, then the company should ask for a down-payment in order to cover the Permit Fees. As a consumer I should not have to constantly check on a company to make sure first of all that they are doing their job and secondly that they are doing it legally. Their workers are supposedly licensed/certified HVAC technicians. This issue makes me question the ethics of the technicians,because I believe that they can lose their license by breaking the law and working on homes without having a Permit. I am sure that they are taught about Permits when they are going to school for their license/certification.

Today, the 5th of November 2013 I called the city inspections office XXX-XXX-XXXX and spoke with ****** to get some clarification on the Permit Process and she told me that the Permit needs to be pulled before work is started. She then looked up my home to look at the permit and told me that Kaminer failed the inspection and that it is still showing up as a fail in their system and that Kaminer needs to schedule a re-inspection. Also, she sent me a copy of the permit request date which was June XX XXXX and it was issued on the 11th of June 2013. The job was completed on the 8th of June 2013 and I have the receipt showing that the job was completed on the 8th of June 2013. So now I wonder if this is a common unethical business practice by Kaminer then how many jobs have been completed over 57 years illegally. Also, I agree that the rebate should be the customers responsibility but the company has a portion that they need to fill out. Kaminer did not fill out their portion and when I brought it to their attention they said that they would take care of it. I was only after I called twice to check on it that it was only partially taken care of. I still had to call SCE&G to check on it and they said that they were missing the invoice in order to process it. Fortunately, I provided SCE&G with the invoice and the matter was taken care of.

Final Business Response
This client is not giving proper information. The job was not failed at any point. It was passed. They did make a recommendation about some sheet metal and we did go out and do it even though the job passed. There is no need for further inspection since it never failed. I would like to see in writing where the client has proof of this failure. Again, we told this client numerous times he needed to send in the invoice (3 to be exact) and he failed to do so so we are the ones who sent it in for hime even though it is not our responsibility. We at Kaminer have gone above and beyond to satisfy this client and it is appearing that this is impossible to achieve. I have no clue what else we can do for this client. We followed all procedures and took care of everything in a timely manner. I do not appreciate the client accusing us of financial issues. We have been here since 1956 and this is not achieved if you have money issues. Also, this is irrelevant to the situation. I believe the client needs to find another HVAC provider seeing how we do not appear to be the right fit for him.

06/24/2016Problems with Product / Service
07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Price gouging and failure to honor coupon
Technician quoted a price for replacement of a blower motor in the total amount of $2,652. Sensing that this price was excessive, I did a quick internet search and found that these parts routinely cost $400 - $800. Called a competitor of Kaminer's and got the motor installed the same day for $857. The part cost $632 and the rest was labor. Kaminer also had a coupon for $69 diagnostic on its website. Technician refused to honor coupon saying that it was for their service club members only. I ended up paying $109. They claim that they will send a reimbursement check for $40, but that their accountant only writes checks once per week so there will be a delay.

Desired Settlement
Refund of full $109 diagnostic charge. Since the estimate to repair the equipment was given in bad faith I'd like the full diagnostic charge refunded.

Business Response
This is not exactly how this happened. First, the cost of the repairs is always going to be different per company. What the client has failed to mention is this cost also included a control board we recommended replacing in which they denied to do. Second, the technician that came out was new and had never seen the coupon and was not aware it was on the website. As soon as the client informed us of the issue it was turn over to the accounting office at that time. The check has been mailed to the client. Kaminer has been servicing the Midlands since 1956 and has always done business the right way. You cannot be around this long if we were not practicing in good faith. Accidents do happen from time to time but I cannot operate like other companies on price. All businesses are priced differently and the client has the choice of who they chose to use. We have refunded the $40 and that is all we feel we are required to do and the client agreed to this on the phone now they are trying to retract our agreement.

09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/22/2002Business started: 01/01/1956
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1979, SC

Contact Information
Mr. Woody Kaminer
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Repair

Industry Tips
air conditioning service and maintenance

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kaminer Heating & Cooling has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 96 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kaminer Heating & Cooling

110 Kaminer Way parkway

Columbia, SC 29210

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • PO Box 329 

    Ballentine, SC 29002-0329Fax: (803) 772-9149

  • 110 Kaminer Way parkway 

    Columbia, SC 29210

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kaminer Heating & Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

air conditioning service and maintenance
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.