BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/15/1990

American Residential Services, LLC

Phone: (803) 754-0600

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to honor coupon, has not sent promised money for coupon difference and stated the compressor was not covered by warranty when it was.
On July 10, 2014 I made an appointment with ARS to have my air conditioner and circuit breaker looked at to determine why the unit was not working. I was told they would be here between 1100 and 1400 hours and I would receive a phone call when they were on the way. At three I called and was told it would be another hour to hour and a half. The technician arrived and replaced a wire. He stated the coupon for the service call would not be honored since I did not identify that I had one when I made the appointment. I did receive credit for a $50 coupon I also presented. The technician stated it was the compressor and cost would be in the $1450 range if the compressor was under warranty. At approximately 1045 hours on July 11, the service manager left me a voice message stating the compressor was not under warranty and the repair would be $2400. Shortly thereafter I spoke with the srvice manager and he personally relayed the same information to me. I discussed the coupon with him and he stated it should have been honored. I believe it was on July 21 that I spoke to a woman who stated I should receive the check in ten to fifteen days. I still have not received this check. By definition we may be dealing with attempted civil fraud.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund for the difference between the $89 chraged for the service call and the coupon price of $19. This would be $70 plus applicable taxes so total shoulld be arounf $75. In addition I request they notify their national company regarding the incident and give them and myself a copy of their corrective actions to prevent this type of incident from happening again.

Business Response
August 15, 2014

BBB of Central SC and Charleston

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated August 4, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On July 10, 2014 American Residential Services, L.L.C. D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") contracted with Mr. ******* to repair the wiring on the air conditioning equipment at the property located at **** ******** ****** Columbia, SC 29204. We collected $225 which reflects a $50 discount coupon that was applied to the invoice during the service visit, and the work was performed as contracted.

We contacted Mr. ******* to gain a better understanding of this matter on August 12, 2014, and reached an agreement to resolve the Complaint. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They in fact paid me $75 for the coupon as the parties agreed upon. They did not state what action they were taking to prevent locally owned franchises from deceiving the public by making false statements. I realize that the BBB probably does not have the authority to require the business to make a response to this issue. To me it is a sad state of our society when busineeses can provide incorrect information to a customer in an effort to maximize their profits. I do thank you for your time and efforts to resolve this matter.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought new unit from ARS 2-3 years ago. Nothing but problems since. Service is horrible. They do not show up to repair timely and never fix.
Bought new unit 2-3 years ago. They have been here to repair at least 7 times. Still having problem and they are now charging me for repair. They tell you they are going to be here and then you wait all day and they do not show up until 9:00 at night. Tell me you won't be here until 9:00 so I do not waste the entire day sitting at the house and missing work/family activities. The past time they did not even show up and did not call and then they called the next morning and told me that they were on the way for the "scheduled service".

Bad product and horrible service and they absolutely do not stand behind what they sell. They always come up with reason why they should not have to fix on their dime.

Desired Settlement
I would just like the new heating and air units that I paid for - including the 4-5 additonal repairs that have been performed since install to be fixed and work once and for all. In 30 years of owning houses, I have never had a system with this much trouble. I think ARS should fix system once and for all. If it would go one year without having a problem, I would be happy. I do not think that is asking too much given all the money I have paid for this.

Business Response
February 5, 2014

BBB of Central SC and Charleston

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated January 27, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.

On October 31, 2010 American Residential Services, L.L.C. D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") installed a new HVAC system at the property located at *** ******** ***** ****** Blythewood, SC XXXXX. We contacted Mr. ******* on February 5, 2014 and resolved the Complaint to his satisfaction. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute.

If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
ARS contacted me as indicated above, but has not resolved the compliant to my satisfaction. I am still having problems with the system. I agreed that I would contact them when the problem occured and give them another chance to show me that they can provide good timely service and fix the system once and for all. I am waiting for the system to mess up again ( it is an intermittent problem ) and I will call them when it does. If they come out timely, fix the problem, and do not charge me again for the service call (I a willing to pay for the repair), then and only then will I consider the complaint resolved. This is what we agreed to when discussed the issue on the phone. I did not agree that the problem was resolved as indicated in the message.

Final Business Response
February 12, 2014

BBB of Central SC and Charleston

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated February 10, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.

On October 31, 2010 American Residential Services, L.L.C. D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") installed a new HVAC system at the property located at *** ******** ***** ****** Blythewood, SC 29016. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and stands behind its people, products and services. As we have no way to speculate on when Mr. *******'s system might fail in the future, we contacted Mr. ******* again on February 12, 2014 and reached an agreement to waive the service diagnostic fee in the event we need to return again to resolve this Complaint.

If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Puchased two Amana AC units, and they aways have to come out an fix them.
Every summer since we had the AC units the break-down. ARS Recuse Rooter sends out AC techs to fix them, and each time they come out there is something different. They came out to fix the downstairs unit on Monday,stating that the motor went, and that the part is not in stock. Then yesterday the upstairs unit went up, and the stated the it was out of freon. This is about the 4th time it needed freon. This is getting old. I thing we desevre a professional to look into the matter, or we should get two new AC units at the companies expence.

Desired Settlement
New AC unit, or just fix it the right way, so we don't have to go through this every summer.

Business' Initial Response
We went to Mrs. ****** home and took care of all of her problems.The service manager also called her to day to make sure everything was still work as they should. She stated she was very happy and every thing seems to be working great.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My wife stated that she did not say that "she was was very happy and every thing seems to be working great". She siad, yea, it's working, but she'll wait to see when it get hot outside. The problem it's with the serves they provide us. The problem is, over the past three years, AC system keeps breaking down, and they keep having to come put and fix it. We had to wait two days for them to get the part in that needed to be replace. This is getting old, and we want this problem fix!

06/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ARS technician said the compressor on HVAC unit needed replacing for $2466 installed or a new unit est $5000 found out compressor was not bad
My HVAC unit was not cooling on 6/3/2013 and called ARS to see what was wrong with unit. Technician(****) came to my house and went to the back of the house to look at unit. A few minutes later he told me that the compressor on my unit was out and that it needed to be replaced and it would cost me $2466 to have a new one installed on my Tempstar HVAC unit that was six years old or he could put me in touch with a contractor that could install an entire new unit. My unit is a PGFXXXXXXK00A2 Serial #GXXXXXXXXX Tempstar. ARS put me in touch with a contract who quoted me $5,000 to install a new unit and put me in touch with Lendmark to see if unit could be financed. It was my luck that I could not obtain financing because my house is jointly owned with my ex-husband and he would not co-sign for me. On Saturday, June 8, I had someone come to my house for a second opinion and within ten minutes he had my unit running and there was nothing wrong with my compressor at all. He installed the part that I needed and now my unit is running and cooling just as it was prior to June 3rd and for a cost of only $240. ARS was trying to take advantage of a single woman and her daughter-in-law with two young grandsons living with them. We needed to have air conditioning here in South Carolina and they knew that fact so they tried to con us into spending $2466 to replace a perfectly good compressor or sell a new unit for $5000 so that the technician could be paid a commission on the sale. How many others have they sold new units to or replaced expensive parts that did not need to be replaced?

Desired Settlement
ARS talked us into a maintenance contract with them at a cost of $14 a month that they want to draft from my daughter-in-laws checking account. I want them to void that maintenance contract and not draft any funds, it would not seem in our best interest to have a maintenance contract with a company that cannot correctly diagnose the problem with my HVAC unit. How could they properly maintain my unit? I also do not want them to turn around and bill me for their service call in the amount of $169 which they did not ask me to pay since we had signed up for the maintenance contract

Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern,

We (ARS) have reviewed the information submitted by the customer. It has been determined that the compressor in question was not functioning at the time of arrival and was diagnosed with an open winding. This conditon will not allow a compressor to operate and will result in a "failed" diagnosis when the winding no longer closes. When the part in question results in a potentially expensive repair, it is our practice to provide the customer with several options so that they are able to make an informed decision to best resolve their problem. The customer states that their system has been fixed by another contractor after our service call. It should be noted that the compressor stopped for a reason and does run the risk of failing again when there are any breakdowns in the windings. In closing, the customer decided to cancel a $169 home service plan and will not be billed for that service.

09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
06/15/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
03/06/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems-Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.