BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Glass Doctor

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 226-9020 Fax: (216) 391-5611 View Additional Phone Numbers 7120 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44103 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.glassdoctoroh.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Windshield repair/chip repair
Auto glass including doors, vent, quarter glass, back glass, and windshields
Window glass repair and replacement
Custom shower and tub enclosures
Custom glass tabletops and mirrors
Commercial glass applications including divider walls, decorative glass, glass enclosures, safety and bullet resistant glass, storefronts, commercial doors and entryways, etc.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glass Doctor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Glass Doctor include:

  • 18 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Glass Doctor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Glass Doctor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 17, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1990 in OH Business incorporated: 01/01/1990 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Collision Repair Registration
37 West Broad St., Suite 880, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.collisionboard.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (614) 995-0714
Fax Number: 614-995-0717
mike.greene@crb.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Kelly, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer
Principal: Mr. Matt Kelly, President
Business Category

Windows Glass - Broken Glass - Repair Glass - Tempered Glass, Mirror & Screen Companies Door Closers & Checks - Repairing Doors - Repair Glass Board - Up Service Glass Coating & Tinting Glass - Stained & Leaded Glaziers Store Fronts Windows - Installation & Service Table Tops Glass Circles & Specialty Shapes Glass - Beveled, Carved, Ornamental Mirrors Screens - Door & Window Shower Doors & Enclosures Storm Windows & Doors

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, personal checks, cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% warranty on all products and workmanship, length varies by product
G12 warranty on auto glass, free replacement glass within one year
Alternate Business Names
Glass Doctor of Northeast Ohio Service Convenience

Additional Locations

  • 7120 Carnegie Ave

    Cleveland, OH 44103 (216) 391-7035

  • PO Box 603098

    Cleveland, OH 44103

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 251-1090(Phone)
  • (216) 391-7035(Phone)
  • (216) 451-1892(Phone)
  • (216) 486-9115(Phone)
  • (216) 662-0677(Phone)
  • (216) 662-0899(Phone)
  • (216) 752-8543(Phone)
  • (330) 434-9433(Phone)
  • (330) 633-3358(Phone)
  • (330) 656-5791(Phone)
  • (330) 945-7050(Phone)
  • (440) 238-1430(Phone)
  • (440) 247-2904(Phone)
  • (440) 248-4657(Phone)
  • (440) 323-0339(Phone)
  • (440) 526-7712(Phone)
  • (440) 646-9507(Phone)
  • (440) 734-1229(Phone)
  • (440) 888-5050(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had car windshield replaced by this company on 5/27/2014 at my home. did not drive car for few days, but when I did, noticed that damage was done to the paint job from either old windshield removal or new windshield insertion. Called this company and they stated to send them a picture of the damage, which was done. Didn't get back to me about what they intended to do, so I sent them a copy of my own estimate. They claim they are having their own body shop do a estimate, but that was well over 10-14 days ago, and still no reply about when they plan on repairing my vehicle. My car was a brand new 2013 Nissan Juke that had newer been titled when I bought it 3/31/14 and had less than 3200 miles when windshield was replaced. To me this is a brand new vehicle and I want to keep it looking that way. I purchased a product and a service from this company. I got the product, but their serviceman did damage to my car and I want it repaired and I don't feel that they are going to repair it!

Desired Settlement: I want the cost of the estimate sent to me so that I can have my vehicle's paint job repaired ASAP!!!!!!!! I have been more than patient!

Business Response:

We have shared the pictures and description of the damaged hood with ***** **** **** *********** ***** ******** ******* ********** ** ******, an auto body repair facility approved by many insurance companies. We have successfully used ***’s for over twenty years, trusting them to repair both our vehicles and those of our customers. I met with the owner today to review how we might best be able to handle this situation.

 

The paint damage appears to be on the lip of the hood facing back into the passenger compartment. It is likely that the technician inadvertently grazed this edge while setting the bottom of the windshield. It is unclear whether the damage requires repair on just this exposed edge, or also the upward face of the hood itself. In either case, ***’s will correct this damage, with Glass Doctor accepting responsibility for costs incurred. In addition, we would provide valet service – picking up the vehicle and returning it when the work is completed. Should the customer require a vehicle during this period, we would provide one of our company vehicles for their use.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/18/14 I schedule a glass replacement for our company van. The tech showed up the next day to complete. After he was finished we looked at his worked. He had left glass laying on the parking lot and inside the van and when asked he said he don't clean up. Then we looked at the inside of the van and noticed he had removed the cloth material and just left it hanging. I ask him why and he said he don't carry glue with him so he cant fix it. So we are left with a clean up and a van that looks bad where he tore the cloth. Our company will never use these guys again.

Desired Settlement: We feel this company should refund a portion for our clean up and for the repair around the window.

Business Response:

I sincerely apologize for this.  It is Glass Doctor's professionalism and extreme care that sets us apart from our competitors and you obviously did not experience that on this service call.  We will handle internally immediately.  In the meantime, I would be glad to send out a qualified auto glass specialist to take care of any concerns.  If repair work is needed to restore your vehicle outside of what we can perform at your location, we would be glad to pick up vehicle and get corrected for you as quickly as possible.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The entire experience with Glass Doctor was HORRIBLE. My repair was scheduled for Tuesday and the tech never came so I was rescheduled for Wednesday. They mistakenly closed my work order mixing me up with another customer without completing the repair. The representative who canceled my order in error didn't want to call the insurance company(as advertised) to extend my rental but reluctantly said she would. She never called them. The day of the repair...the tech called saying he would be at my home in 30 minutes. I left work on my hour lunch break. He arrived 60 minutes later. He did not speak to me other than asking me for payment. He made rude comments to my uncle and cousin. I was unable to stay so upon my return I found that he did not clean the glass out of my car as he was supposed to. He left a pile of glass in my driveway where my children ride their bikes and play. I then found my windshield folded in thirds placed in my only trash can...he was supposed to take it with him to dispose of it properly at their shop. My car was not put back together properly also. The guard at the bottom of my windshield was not put back into place completely and there is a pile of glass all the way across the resevoir under that piece. When I called to report my experience, the customer service manager, Lyle, cut me off mid-sentence to offer a rather insincere apologize with no attempt to correct the issue or even a reassurance that the issue would be addressed.

Desired Settlement: I either would like a refund of my out of pocket expenses or Glass Doctor to pay for a full detail on my car to clean out the glass that I am unable to get with my household vaccuum...at a location of my choosing.

Business Response: I sincerely apologize for this experience as it is certainly does not sound like your service was up to our customer service expectations.  We would be glad to send out a technician to this customer's home or work or other location to take care of any unresolved issues, including finding and removing any pieces of glass inside the vehicle.  We have tools to handle this and it should have been completed at the original appointment.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was serviced for a cracked winshield. The panel that holds in the window was not replaced correctly and started falling off as I was driving. The worst part was that the technician left pieces of broken glass all over my seats. I never experienced service so poor, especially with the risk of passengers cutting themselves on the broken glass, and the total disregard for it being a safety issue.

Desired Settlement: The total I paid was $356. I am requesting a $250 settlement for the service I did not receive for the winshield replacement.

Business Response:

This customer called and opened a warranty claim with our office.  The technician was sent out the next day to correct the issues, including cleaning up glass.  We assume this issue is settled.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a replacement picture window on October 19,2013. our deductable was $250 dollars. Cost of window was $485. Since our order they have had to order 5 windows because there was a bug inbetween the double pane or there were scratches on the window. Since we are older it is hard to put up and take down our verticles and drapes so we have had to leave the drapes off now for 2 months and we have a baby grand piano that we had to move and do not want to move it back until the window is in as movement can cause the piano to be out of tune. We feel if the company they get their windows from cannot get it right they should use another company. We would like our window in so we can decorate for Christmas. If they can't get the window for us right they should reimburse us and find a company for us that will do it for the same price. The insurance company already paid their portion and we have already paid Glass Doctor in full. We hope we can get some results. They said we would have it this week but when we called they said this window had a scratch also and had to reorder. I am getting really upset and hope you can help us resolve this issue. Thank you.***** *****

Desired Settlement: We would like our window now and feel we should get some type of settlement due to the length of time involved and their dealing with an incompetent window supplier. Any help would be appreciated.

Business Response:

Indeed, this job has taken much longer than expected. The glass in this window is a bit specialized (newest generation Low E) that is only supplied by a limited number of glass fabricators. It is a Soft Coat Low E product that requires special handling during the glass insulating process. It also is more subject to scratching and other blemishes. Given the issue (fly captured between the pieces of glass) presented on our original installation, our quality control has been especially particular when inspecting incoming glass for this customer. This has resulted in multiple rejections at our end.

 

I am sorry that this job has taken so long to get handled. I have spoken directly with the production manager at the glass fabricator, requesting very careful inspection of the next piece of glass coming to us.

 

I have also spoken personally with this customer and expressed my concern for this job getting done quickly and correctly. I fully expect it to be complete within the next week.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *****

 

They said they would have the window this week but we have still not heard from them.  My husband called today Friday and their response was it should come in by MondayThey have been saying this every week.  It has now been two months.  At this point we would like our money back so we can go somewhere that will get the job done in a timely manor.  I also was not aware that they were going to give a a inferior glass.  Our windows were put in by Cuyahoga Falls glass in Cuyahoga Falls Ohio many year ago and they were not of a glass that would easily be scratched.  I am wondering if this may be a bait and switch type of deal.  I still do not have my drapes up as I have been waiting for the window.  I am hoping you will be able to help us.  Thank you.  ******

Sorry I didn't get to you sooner but we were out of town for a couple of days.

Business Response: This issue is close to resolved. The glass came in last week and is scheduled for installation today, December 17th.

Consumer Response:

 

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I want to Thank you for all your help.  The window was installed on Tuesday and seems to be okay.  The installers were very nice and did a good job. thank you again for all your help.

Regards,

 

****** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAD MY REAR WINDSHIELD REPLACED AFTER MY VAN WAS VANDALIZED ON 08/21/2013 BY GLASS DOCTOR. ON 08/22/2013 AT APPR 7:40PM I WAS IN MY VAN WITH MY 3YR SON ON THE PHONE WITH MY PASTOR PARKED IN THE LOT AT MY APT. THE WINSHIELD SHATTERED I LOOKED TOWARD THE WINDOW DID NOT SEE ANYONE AND EXITED THE VEHICLE TO INSPECT. I WAS INSTRUCTED BY MY PASTOR TO TAKE PICTURES AND CALL GLASS DOCTOR I DID THAT AND WAS TOLD I WOULD BE CONTACTED THE NEXT DAY. I WAS CONTACTED BUT COULD NOT GET BACK TO THEM BC OF MY AUNT'S FUNERAL UNTIL 5PM. I WAS TOLD THAT SOMEONE WOULD COME OUT THE NEXT DAY, WHICH WAS SATURDAY. THEY SENT THE SAME TECHNICIAN AND I EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED HE CALL HIS SUPERVISOR INSPECTED THE WINDSHIELD AND AGREED TO REPLACE IT AND SENT HEM THE HOUSE. HE THEN CALLED 5 MINS LTR STATING THAT HE WAS NOT GOING TO REPLACE IT BECAUSE A ROCK WAS THROWN THROUGH THE WINDSHIELD. I EXPLAINED THAT THERE WAS NO ONE THERE TO THROW A ROCK I TOLD HIM I WAS IN THE VAN WHEN IT HAPPENED AND THAT I LOOKED AS SOON AS THE GLASS BROKE AND SHOWED HIM THE OPEN AREA BEHIND MY VAN WHERE THERE WAS NO WHERE TO HIDE. HE CONTINUED TO REFUSE AND LEFT. I CALLED GLASS DOCTOR AND SPOKE WITH SUPERVISORS WHO REPEATED THE STORY GIVEN BY THE TECHICIAN BUT THE LAST MANAGER MATT PROMISED TO SPEAK WITH HIM AGAIN AND CALL ME BACK ON MONDAY AND NEVER DID. I CALLED AGAIN AND LEFT A REQUEST FOR ANOTHER CALL BACK AND IT IS THURSDAY THEY ARE NOT COMMUNICATING WITH ME AT ALL.

Desired Settlement: I HAVE REQUESTED THAT THEY REPLACE THE GLASS AND HONOR THEIR WARRANTY BUT AFTER THE TREATMENT THAT I HAVE HAD WITH THIS COMPANY AND THE BROKEN PROMISES. I HAVE NO TRUST IN THEIR WORK OR THEIR CHARACTER AND THUS I WOULD LIKE MY MONEY RETURN TO ME TO BE ABLE TO HAVE MY GLASS REPAIRED BY A REPUTABLE COMPANY.

Business Response:

I spoke extensively with this customer (and her mother). At the time that we installed this glass, our technician noted that there were multiple vehicles in the location with glass breakage due to vandalism. Our warranty for tempered glass installed in vehicles does not include replacement of glass when it is subsequently broken again.

 

When the customer called stating that her glass had spontaneously broken the following day, I knew of the original cause of damage and informed her that it likely wasn’t a warranty item. I agreed to have the technician come back to assess the breakage. I also agreed that we would bring another piece of glass should we find that the breakage was due to an issue with our installation. I again informed her that this was highly unlikely.

 

During these conversations, and subsequent, the customer stated that:

 

1. She was sitting alone in her vehicle in her driveway when the glass broke.

2. That, without leaving her vehicle, she had a clear view in all directions, and that there could have been nobody around to break her glass. (This type of glass breakage would not have immediately vacated the opening, but would have mostly stayed in the opening, spidered to the point to being impossible to see through.)

3. That the broken glass had cut her car tires (This type of glass doesn’t cut tires).

4. That our technician was drunk! (He doesn’t drink.)

 

Nonetheless, I chose to ask the technician to install our new glass. When he started to vacuum the broken glass from the car, he found the stone that broke it in the glass shards!

We had vacuumed the car when we installed the glass, so this stone was not in the car when we were there last. Given its location among the pieces of broken glass, and the lack of veracity of the customer statements above, it obviously was the cause of breakage.

 

I am sorry that the customer has been victim of this repeated vandalism. However, the facts clearly show this not to be a warrantable situation. This was communicated to both the customer and her mother multiple times.

 

Matt Kelly

President, Glass Doctor

Business Response:

Attached are copies of the two invoices for this complaint as requested.

Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: so my window was broke out by a rock an i called glass doctors to have it repaired so the first time they came out to replace the glass they left glass in the door causing my door not to open from the inside and the window itself would go up an down real slow. so they came a second time removed all the broken glass from the door and replaced the window due to the first piece of glass was the wrong type for my car wich is a 07 honda accord.it worked for about two weeks an again the window would not go up an down properly so they came out for a third time replaced the glass one again. worked for about a month then when i would roll my window up it would fall off the trackso i called them again they came out again replaced the glass told my they special ordered this one form honda. so now that four pieces of glass has been put in an out of my car the door has been taken apart the screws are now stripped none of my windows will roll down they came out once again told me the inside of the door had gotten wet but would be fine once it dried out. put another window in an told me if it happens again to take it to a dealer and if they found they were at falt they would pay for the repairs. so i took my car to honda and they have found this damage done to the run channels due to improper handling and the master switch shorted out during window replacement. so i called the owner of glass doctors an he told me he would call me back since then i have left him 3 messages and still have gotten no call back

Desired Settlement: for glass doctors to full fill what they said they would do if they were found at fault they would pay for the repairs wich will be over 500.00

Business Response: We would require the bill from the Honda dealer as well as a statement from them that the damage to the window was caused by our glass replacement.  Once we have that information, if we are at fault, we will gladly pay for the repair.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting 5 weeks for a custom glass shower door from Glass Doctor of Cleveland, Ohio and still have not received my door. On 5/28/13 I ordered a custom glass shower door and paid 50% down payment on the door and was told it would take 2-3 weeks for it to come in. The 3rd week I still had not heard an update, so I contacted Glass Doctor and they estimated it would be there by the end of the week. It did come in at the end of the 3rd week and they came to install on 6/21/13. When they came to install they found out they measured incorrectly and the glass did not fit, so they'd have to reorder it and would put a rush order on it so it would take 1-2 weeks. The following Monday 6/24/13 I called to understand when exactly I could expect the new door. They estimated it would only be 1 week so either 6/28 or the following Monday 7/1. I told them that it couldn't be any later because I placed the order back on 5/28 and planned to have it ready for the 4th of July when I was having guests in town and would need the shower door. Today is 7/1 and I called again to understand the status. They had no record of my order. It took half a day for them to track down the status and when they called back they said it wouldn't be ready now until 7/8. This is 6 weeks after the initial order took place. Since it's a custom door I cannot cancel the order, which I understood but was disappointed and would have preferred to take my business elsewhere to a company that had better customer service and stuck to their deadlines. When I asked if I could have a discount applied due to the fact their timing has been screwed up and has completely interfered with my work schedule and having to repeatedly take days off, they refused a discount and laughed at the idea, saying that no kind of discounts were offered. As of this day, July 1st, I still do not have a shower door and am hoping that it will come in on the multi revised date of July 8th. At a minimum, I would expect some kind of discount to be applied due to the lack of communication by the company, the poor service in measuring the initial enclosure, and the extended timeline for the shower door. This is a lot of money and I feel severely disrespected by the company for the changing timelines. If for some reason I do not get the door on July 8th as planned, then I will update this complaint to include another change in timeline which is already unacceptable. Very poor client service.

Desired Settlement: Some kind of discount applied to the $1,055 cost of the shower door.

Business Response: This has been an unfortunate comedy of errors for this customer.  We gave the customer a $250 discount.  We also installed a temporary shower door at no charge while hers is being corrected again.

Consumer Response:

 

I am writing in reference to complaint ID *******. My situation with the company has been resolved. Can you please close my complaint?
 
Thanks for your help,
****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the technician came to replace a shattered window in my car, he collected the $100 deductible payment twice. Glass Doctor later called and left a voice mail on Monday, June 24, 2013 at 1:40 pm asking for a callback to 216-426-6208 with credit card info due to a double charge on my credit card. I have tried to call without success multiple times in July 2013. Once a CSR at the main (trusted) phone number to check into this said she would give a message to billing. I tried contacting online with a message and both of those resulted in no call backs. I called again and received billing but was told that the double charge can't be found. When I offered to send a copy of my bank statement reflecting the double charge, the billing rep offered to research it and took my credit card info in order to complete a refund once it was found. Weeks later this has still not happened. I want it resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want the double charge of $100 refunded to my card immediately. I have attempted multiple times to settle this with the company directly without success even after they initially called me and reported the double charge. No credit has been received to date.

Business Response: According to our records, a refund of $100 was processed on 7/23/13.  The customer should be seeing the amount on their statement within a few days.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I had called the bank on July 24, 2013 prior to my complaint at 2:00:38 PM against Glass Doctor to check on transactions prior to making the complaint and the refund had not yet been registered at that time. However, I called the bank tonight after the response was received and a credit was applied on the same date of July 24, 2013. I am happy to report that no further resolution is needed. 

Thank you,

 

**** ****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a window for my sunroom that was broken. A technician from glass doctor came to measure the window for repair never took the board down from the window which means when it was time for my window to be put in the glass was too big which meant it had to be ordered again no one from this company never call or said anything else about my window that I paid in full for. After not hearing from them in almost a month later I want a refund no one has addressed my concerns regarding my refund. I do not wish to do business with this company I just want a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund 497.00.

Business Response: The customer is exactly correct. Our tech mismeasured the original glass. When we re-ordered the glass, the job got lost in our computer system. This was all compounded by a lack of communication on our part. All I can do is apologize for this lack of service. It is not how we do business and it caused us to identify a glitch in our system that has since been corrected. A refund check in the full amount of the customer's deposit has been issued and mailed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Glass Doctor arrived 8/15/2012 to replace windshield on 2002 Oldsmobile Silhouette. When the technician John arrived he called and requested I bring down the keys to the vehicle. John normally does residential and is there just to assist as this is a two man job and a supervisor is on the way with the replacement windshield. John while waiting begins to investigate the "job" and identifies two small rust areas located in each corner on the roof were the windshield meets the roof area. He said before we do anything let me see how the windshield is bonded. He proceeds to enter the vehicle and from the inside he begins to push outward on the windshield. His comment was "it is bonded well, lets now pull the molding off to take a look". He removes the molding and says this will be no problem I can see under the windshield and the rust does not pose a problem; "worst case scenario is we put an extra bead of adhesive down". He removes the windshield and waits for his supervisor to arrive with the replacement windshield. His supervisor arrives and before he looks at the van he makes the following comment: "my day just went to hell in a handbasket just received XX number of additional calls". The supervisor then proceeds to the van and quickly looks at it and says: "you are screwed we can't do a thing" and they leave the job, leaving me without any windshield or way to drive the vehicle. They never indicated that once they touched my vehicle it may not be driveable?? They are the window experts and this is how they do it....hmm? The owner of this franchise is Matt Kelly and he will not answer my call nor return a message. I spoke with Kay Jacobsen, Corporate Business Development Director / Franchise Territory Manager along Mark Liston, Corporate President of Glass Doctor and both were quite surprised by this type of business practice and customer service techniques and insured this would be resolved. Kay eventually got back with me and indicated that corporate does not manage their franchisees??

Desired Settlement: Towing charge of $150.00 plus inconvenience.

Business Response:

There are significant omissions and misstatements in *** ********** complaint:

 

1. Our technician explained in detail the various stages of corrosion. The customer stated he understood each level and that, should the corrosion be at Level 4, we would not be able to install a windshield in his vehicle. Level 4 requires body shop correction prior to safe windshield installation.

 

2. At each step, the corrosion was assessed and the customer agreed to us taking the next step.

 

3. Only upon removal of the windshield, was it clear that corrosion had progressed to Level 4.

 

4. To this date and time (August 16, 2012 at 2:37 PM), I have not spoken with, nor received a message from the *** ********. Looking back to the call log in my phone (at a time when I was not in my office), I see three consecutive incoming calls from caller ID ************, the customer phone number. Each resulted in hang up without leaving a message.

 

5. I am told that this matches *** ********'s phone manner while conversing with our office personnel – he hung up in mid conversation with one of our employees three times alone.

 

The situation with *** ********’s vehicle is not a good one for anyone involved. We were unable to complete our installation despite a significant time investment both in the field and office. *** ******** was left in a position of having a severely rusted vehicle without a windshield.

 

Seeking fault with Glass Doctor is inappropriate. The problem encountered is a direct result of the corrosion, and that the degree of the corrosion was not visible prior to the step of windshield removal. *** ******** was fully informed at each step of the process and authorized us to proceed. These conversations occurred directly between *** ******** and our first technician on site and were either not included or misrepresented in *** ********’s complaint. The first technician is a fully trained auto glass installer. The only reason for the two technicians being on site is that this windshield is a two-technician installation due to the size of the windshield. The second technician has more years experience, but is not, and was not, represented to be a supervisor.

 

At Glass Doctor, safety is our first priority. There are likely glass companies that would have succumbed to the aggressive nature of the customer – and to the lure of payment for the job. I was personally involved in the decisions communicated in the field and would respond in exactly the same fashion in the future. We are not at fault in any way for these actions and are absolutely unwilling to risk our customer’s safety or accept liability for any subsequent injury or damage that might occur.

Consumer Response:

 

 

I have commented in red under each of the LIE's issued by Mr. Kelly.

There are significant omissions and misstatements in *** ********’s complaint:

 

1. Our technician explained in detail the various stages of corrosion. The customer stated he understood each level and that, should the corrosion be at Level 4, we would not be able to install a windshield in his vehicle. Level 4 requires body shop correction prior to safe windshield installation.

A complete LIE. The Glass Doctor Technician did not explain any rust levels until the windshield was removed and they would not reinstall a new one. As a consumer driven business one would think since this is such a simple resolution it would be on paper (the rust levels and dangers of such) and handed to each customer prior to any such assessment - to prevent such an issue. Instead the Glass Doctor tries to use this as a work around after the fact and now we are in a he said she said game.

 

2. At each step, the corrosion was assessed and the customer agreed to us taking the next step.

A complete LIE. As stated in the original complaint "John" the technician assessed the window the rust issue in 5 minutes. He went into the inside of the vehicle pushed on the window in several locations to identify if the window was in fact bonded - his comment was it was well bonded. He then proceeded to remove the rubber molding around the window and using a flashlight he make a quick assessment that I should return to work that I was in good shape and there wasn't an issue. He proceeded to say that worst case scenario they would use a double layer of their bonding material if needed - that would be determined once the window was removed.

 

3. Only upon removal of the windshield, was it clear that corrosion had progressed to Level 4.

 

4. To this date and time (August 16, 2012 at 2:37 PM), I have not spoken with, nor received a message from the *** ********. Looking back to the call log in my phone (at a time when I was not in my office); I see three consecutive incoming calls from caller ID ************, the customer phone number. Each resulted in hang up without leaving a message.

I was transferred to Mr. Kelly 3 times each time I was informed that he was waiting for my call. Each time my call went to voice mail. He was well aware of all of my contact information and that I was angry and looking for resolution. I was provided Mr. Kelly's direct number from Kay Jacobsen the Corporate Franchise Director for Glass Doctor. I contacted Kay for help in resolving this issue. Kay informed me this was unacceptable behavior and she would assist. She conducted an internal investigation and came back and informed me that Mr. Kelly was at his desk waiting for my call to apologize and resolve the issue. When Mr. Kelly did not accept my 4 attempt of calling him I called Kay back and she deeply apologized and indicated that she really doesn't have much control over their franchisees.

 

5. I am told that this matches *** ********'s phone manner while conversing with our office personnel – he hung up in mid conversation with one of our employees three times alone.

Another complete LIE. I hung up on one of his dispatcher when she informed me that they were going to drop off the old windshield (and not install it just bring it back for me to install) and she wished me good luck. The reason she made that call was Sergeant R. Bartlett of the Fairlawn, Ohio Police Department called them in utter shock that they would do such a thing. In all of his years he has never heard of nor seen such business practices. He issued a police report and said this is real close to theft.

 

The situation with *** ********’s vehicle is not a good one for anyone involved. We were unable to complete our installation despite a significant time investment both in the field and office. *** ******** was left in a position of having a severely rusted vehicle without a windshield.

Another complete LIE. A reputable glass company installed the window after 15 minutes of prep work - they even applied an anti-rust product. I witnessed the technicians from the Glass Doctor take photos of the vehicle and wish they were used in this rebuttal. If the pictures were used everyone would see this vehicle; while having two very small areas of rust approximately 2 - 3 inches in each corner, is not a severely rusted vehicle. I am surprised that Mr. Kelly would make such accusation’s that were so far from the truth to defend his business practices.

 

Seeking fault with Glass Doctor is inappropriate. The problem encountered is a direct result of the corrosion, and that the degree of the corrosion was not visible prior to the step of windshield removal. *** ******** was fully informed at each step of the process and authorized us to proceed. These conversations occurred directly between *** ******** and our first technician on site and were either not included or misrepresented in *** ********’s complaint. The first technician is a fully trained auto glass installer. The only reason for the two technicians being on site is that this windshield is a two-technician installation due to the size of the windshield. The second technician has more years experience, but is not, and was not, represented to be a supervisor.

John when introducing himself to me upon receiving my keys explained that he was at the scene to help a supervisor who was bringing the windshield and that he is a residential glass installer. John went on to inform me and one of my colleagues the he was a former "body man" (worked for a local auto body repair shop) and worked in a junk yard dismantling cars “for years”. He then proceeded to show us on the side of his van the windows he was to replace at a local resident some time that day. Due to his years of experience as a body man he assured me after his evaluation that there wouldn't be any issues with my windshield.

 

At Glass Doctor, safety is our first priority. There are likely glass companies that would have succumbed to the aggressive nature of the customer – and to the lure of payment for the job. I was personally involved in the decisions communicated in the field and would respond in exactly the same fashion in the future. We are not at fault in any way for these actions and are absolutely unwilling to risk our customer’s safety or accept liability for any subsequent injury or damage that might occur.

I find these comments quite alarming as Mr. Kelly is just making up stuff to defend his business practices. I personally assisted John during his evaluation and his comment was "I like it when a customer wants to get dirty". I also highly doubt that if I were so aggressive John would have shared his life story and his current role with Glass Doctor down to how they are compensated with commission on the selling “upgrades” during any type of installation. I became aggressive and angry after trusting a company to remove and install a windshield.

Progressive Insurance allows its customers to pick which companies they use they do not recommend the Glass Doctor. I contacted Progressive immediately when the Glass Doctor did this and their comments were why do you think we do not recommend them? Wish I would have waited for their suggested vendor – they for obvious reasons were booked that day and I (embarrassed to say) was too impatient to wait an additional day.

 

 

 

I have commented in red under each of the LIE's issued by Mr. Kelly.

 

There are significant omissions and misstatements in *** ********’s complaint:

 

 

1. Our technician explained in detail the various stages of corrosion. The customer stated he understood each level and that, should the corrosion be at Level 4, we would not be able to install a windshield in his vehicle. Level 4 requires body shop correction prior to safe windshield installation.

 

A complete LIE. The Glass Doctor Technician did not explain any rust levels until the windshield was removed and they would not reinstall a new one. As a consumer driven business one would think since this is such a simple resolution it would be on paper (the rust levels and dangers of such) and handed to each customer prior to any such assessment - to prevent such an issue. Instead the Glass Doctor tries to use this as a work around after the fact and now we are in a he said she said game.

 

 

2. At each step, the corrosion was assessed and the customer agreed to us taking the next step.

 

A complete LIE. As stated in the original complaint "John" the technician assessed the window the rust issue in 5 minutes. He went into the inside of the vehicle pushed on the window in several locations to identify if the window was in fact bonded - his comment was it was well bonded. He then proceeded to remove the rubber molding around the window and using a flashlight he make a quick assessment that I should return to work that I was in good shape and there wasn't an issue. He proceeded to say that worst case scenario they would use a double layer of their bonding material if needed - that would be determined once the window was removed.

 

 

3. Only upon removal of the windshield, was it clear that corrosion had progressed to Level 4.

 

 

4. To this date and time (August 16, 2012 at 2:37 PM), I have not spoken with, nor received a message from the *** ********. Looking back to the call log in my phone (at a time when I was not in my office); I see three consecutive incoming calls from caller ID ************, the customer phone number. Each resulted in hang up without leaving a message.

 

I was transferred to Mr. Kelly 3 times each time I was informed that he was waiting for my call. Each time my call went to voice mail. He was well aware of all of my contact information and that I was angry and looking for resolution. I was provided Mr. Kelly's direct number from Kay Jacobsen the Corporate Franchise Director for Glass Doctor. I contacted Kay for help in resolving this issue. Kay informed me this was unacceptable behavior and she would assist. She conducted an internal investigation and came back and informed me that Mr. Kelly was at his desk waiting for my call to apologize and resolve the issue. When Mr. Kelly did not accept my 4 attempt of calling him I called Kay back and she deeply apologized and indicated that she really doesn't have much control over their franchisees.

 

 

5. I am told that this matches *** ********'s phone manner while conversing with our office personnel – he hung up in mid conversation with one of our employees three times alone.

 

Another complete LIE. I hung up on one of his dispatcher when she informed me that they were going to drop off the old windshield (and not install it just bring it back for me to install) and she wished me good luck. The reason she made that call was Sergeant R. Bartlett of the Fairlawn, Ohio Police Department called them in utter shock that they would do such a thing. In all of his years he has never heard of nor seen such business practices. He issued a police report and said this is real close to theft.

 

 The situation with *** ********’s vehicle is not a good one for anyone involved. We were unable to complete our installation despite a significant time investment both in the field and office. *** ******** was left in a position of having a severely rusted vehicle without a windshield.Another complete LIE. A reputable glass company installed the window after 15 minutes of prep work - they even applied an anti-rust product. I witnessed the technicians from the Glass Doctor take photos of the vehicle and wish they were used in this rebuttal. If the pictures were used everyone would see this vehicle; while having two very small areas of rust approximately 2 - 3 inches in each corner, is not a severely rusted vehicle. I am surprised that Mr. Kelly would make such accusation’s that were so far from the truth to defend his business practices.

 

 

Seeking fault with Glass Doctor is inappropriate. The problem encountered is a direct result of the corrosion, and that the degree of the corrosion was not visible prior to the step of windshield removal. *** ******** was fully informed at each step of the process and authorized us to proceed. These conversations occurred directly between *** ******** and our first technician on site and were either not included or misrepresented in *** ********’s complaint. The first technician is a fully trained auto glass installer. The only reason for the two technicians being on site is that this windshield is a two-technician installation due to the size of the windshield. The second technician has more years experience, but is not, and was not, represented to be a supervisor.

John when introducing himself to me upon receiving my keys explained that he was at the scene to help a supervisor who was bringing the windshield and that he is a residential glass installer. John went on to inform me and one of my colleagues the he was a former "body man" (worked for a local auto body repair shop) and worked in a junk yard dismantling cars “for years”. He then proceeded to show us on the side of his van the windows he was to replace at a local resident some time that day. Due to his years of experience as a body man he assured me after his evaluation that there wouldn't be any issues with my windshield.

 

 

At Glass Doctor, safety is our first priority. There are likely glass companies that would have succumbed to the aggressive nature of the customer – and to the lure of payment for the job. I was personally involved in the decisions communicated in the field and would respond in exactly the same fashion in the future. We are not at fault in any way for these actions and are absolutely unwilling to risk our customer’s safety or accept liability for any subsequent injury or damage that might occur.I find these comments quite alarming as Mr. Kelly is just making up stuff to defend his business practices. I personally assisted John during his evaluation and his comment was "I like it when a customer wants to get dirty". I also highly doubt that if I were so aggressive John would have shared his life story and his current role with Glass Doctor down to how they are compensated with commission on the selling “upgrades” during any type of installation. I became aggressive and angry after trusting a company to remove and install a windshield.

 

Progressive Insurance allows its customers to pick which companies they use they do not recommend the Glass Doctor. I contacted Progressive immediately when the Glass Doctor did this and their comments were why do you think we do not recommend them? Wish I would have waited for their suggested vendor – they for obvious reasons were booked that day and I (embarrassed to say) was too impatient to wait an additional day.Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

Business Response:

I am sorry for being so slow to respond - I have been out of town and returned this weekend.

We are not at fault in any way for this situation. However, in an effort to confirm our focus on customer service and satisfaction, we will reimburse Roger's Towing for the tow cost.

We will need Roger's towing mailing address and original tow invoice number in order to mail the check.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/25/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Glass Doctor of Cleveland Ohio installed both front and rear glass on my 1966 Dodge Charger project car, both leak. Called Glass Doctor of Cleveland Ohio in April of 2012, set up appointment to correct issue4/7/12 - Technician "Dave" was sent to my premises and applied sealer material between glass and gasket (repair attempt #1). Water tested glass several days later as instructed by technician, leaks persisted.4/14/12 -Called Glass Doctor of Cleveland Ohio and set up follow up appointment, once again Technician "Dave" was came to my premises, this time applied sealer between gasket and body of car. Water tested glass several days later as instructed by technician, leaks persisted.Shortly after 2nd failed attempt, I was able to remove a large piece of sealer from the front glass with my bare hands.4/16/12 - Called Glass Doctor of Cleveland Ohio the following week in attempt to get resolution, spoke with Mike W. (Shop Manager) Mike stated "he was not coming back out, as he had too much time invested in this project" furthermore, Shop Manager also stated that my car was "full of rust" hence the cause of the issue, there was "nothing they could do" (car's fault) I asked that someone come out and take a look, confirm the condition of the vehicle, my request was refused.5/11/12 - Spoke with owner Matt Kelly (franchise owner) who stated he was unaware of my situation, that he needed to look into it and he'd call me back the following Monday. 6/4/12 - Made second attempt to reach Matt Kelly (follow up from 5/11) Called and left a message once again, was told there would be a follow up phone call after 3pm 6/4/12, which was never received.6/4/12 - Waiting on a response.

Desired Settlement: Seeking the refund of the following:initial installation fee refund - 110.00cost of replacement window gaskets - 298.36re-installation costs - 269.38

Business Response: There has been over 4 years elapsed since this installation (May 9, 2008) and so many of our people involved, it is unclear where any fault may lie. Therefore, in order to allow all parties to move forward, we are willing to refund *** ****** the cost of installation ($110.00) and the cost of a new gasket ($298.36) – for a total of $408.36. (There is nothing wrong with the windshield itself, it can be re-installed with the new gasket.) Should this be acceptable to *** ******, we will mail him a check.  Best regards,
Matt Kelly


Glass Doctor of Northeast Ohio
PO Box 603098
7120 Carnegie
Cleveland, OH 44103
Ph: 216-426-6201
Toll Free: 1-800-536-6330
Fax: 216-391-5611

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

***** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called glass doctor to schedule an appointment for windshield replacement of my 1968 mustang. The appointment was scheduled on 12/3. I received a phone call few days earlier from representative if we could meet at 8am. On Saturday morning I made room in my garage and was expecting the technician. After waiting for 30 minutes I decided to call Glass Doctor, the dispatcher was very unpleasant on the phone and told me what technician in on his way. Let me add that the companys location is 10 minutes from my house! The technician showed up at 9am!!! An hour late! So not only your representative was rude on the phone he was also lying.When technician saw my car he told me that he is not confortable of doing the work and he will call the shop, apparently there was only one guy who would do the job in your entire company and they will call me back. 6 hours later and no phone call!!! I called again and scheduled another appointment with the GUY on Wednesday morning. The guy came and said that he WONT do it because it will take too much time and left!!!! I called again Glass Doctor and I was told that I would have to bring the car to them and the new price would be $520, $300 more than before! I had to use my vacation time for a second appointment!! Why your company sent people twice to me that dont know how to do their job!! Not ONCE, TWICEI have never received such of poor customer service!! I called a different company they came next day and had the job done!I would never use Glass Doctor and would never recommend it to anyone! I was lied and disrespected by your dispatchers.

Desired Settlement: waiting for their response

Business Response:

  The cause of this complaint lies in lack of, and poor miscommunication. This vehicle, a 1968 Mustang, was identified as a classic car by our technician on site. At Glass Doctor, we handle this type of vehicle with the care and attention required to absolutely be sure that the integrity and finish of the vehicle is maintained. Glass installation materials and processes have changed significantly since 1968. We do have technicians with significant experience who are assigned to handle these installations. Also, these installations require the following, adding to the cost of the installation:

 

1. Perfect installation conditions - the conditions existing at the customer location were less than required.

2. Masking and preparation - we are sure to protect and cover all adjacent surfaces.

 

3. Labor and attention - A second technician is added to assure a perfect installation with no risk to adjacent surfaces.

 

 

Our Inside Sales Representative should have asked additional questions about both the vehicle and installation conditions at the time of quotation/scheduling. Failing that, the customer should have been better informed of the findings of our technician on site.

 

 

At no time was the customer "lied to". However, he was not shown the proper respect through our lack of communication throughout his experience. We are providing additional training to better identify, price, and communicate the unique circumstances surrounding work on classic cars.

 

Best regards,
**** *****

Glass Doctor of Northeast Ohio
** *** ****** **** ******** ********** ** ***** *** ************ **** ***** ************** **** ************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1