BBB Accredited Business since

Glass Doctor

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 226-9020 Fax: (216) 391-5611 View Additional Phone Numbers 7120 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland, OH 44103 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.glassdoctoroh.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Windshield repair/chip repair
Auto glass including doors, vent, quarter glass, back glass, and windshields
Window glass repair and replacement
Custom shower and tub enclosures
Custom glass tabletops and mirrors
Commercial glass applications including divider walls, decorative glass, glass enclosures, safety and bullet resistant glass, storefronts, commercial doors and entryways, etc.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glass Doctor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Glass Doctor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Glass Doctor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1990 in OH Business incorporated 01/01/1990 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Collision Repair Registration
37 West Broad St., Suite 880, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.collisionboard.ohio.gov
Phone Number: (614) 995-0714
Fax Number: 614-995-0717
mike.greene@crb.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Kelly, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Kelly, President
Business Category

Windows Glass - Broken Glass - Repair Glass - Tempered Glass, Mirror & Screen Companies Door Closers & Checks - Repairing Doors - Repair Glass Board - Up Service Glass Coating & Tinting Glass - Stained & Leaded Glaziers Store Fronts Windows - Installation & Service Table Tops Glass Circles & Specialty Shapes Glass - Beveled, Carved, Ornamental Mirrors Screens - Door & Window Shower Doors & Enclosures Storm Windows & Doors

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, personal checks, cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% warranty on all products and workmanship, length varies by product
G12 warranty on auto glass, free replacement glass within one year
Alternate Business Names
Glass Doctor of Northeast Ohio Service Convenience

Additional Locations

  • 7120 Carnegie Ave

    Cleveland, OH 44103 (216) 391-7035

  • PO Box 603098

    Cleveland, OH 44103

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My parent purchased a glass repair back in July 2015. They gave the company a deposit and the frame of the window. we have contacted the company at least 10 times and each time they tell us that someone will call us back and take care of the problem. it has been 9 months and they still have no window and no one will call us back or give us any information on what they are going to do about this. I have ask for the deposit and the frame back and still nothing. I was told that the owner would call me back on 3/17/2016 and still no call. I just don't know what else I can do to get this resolved. I have sent a letter to the ******** ******* ****** also.

Desired Settlement: We would love for them to fix the window, but from the looks of things that is not going to happen so we would like to have the frame and the deposit back

Business Response:

This job has taken an extremely long time to get completed, with a number of dropped balls and lack of communication from our - and our vendor's ends. I spoke with the customer today, after having finally received the necessary parts for the install this week. Installation will be scheduled next week. 

We have done work with this customer before and things went very smoothly previously. I apologized for all of the delay and lack of communication on this job. 

3/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Put a deposit of $1,400.00 down on a contract for $2724.10 to replace a cracked window pane on 9/22/15. Glass Doctor has the pane of glass and is not installing it because they under quoted the job. Their rep. came out and measured, looked at the location and told me it would only take 3-4 weeks. It is now 5 months later and all I hear is they do not have scaffolding to do the job even though the contract says they will be scaffolding the job for the install. I have taken three separate days off work to meet with the install tech who tells me they can and will build some scaffolding for it but they never came back or called. I have called the owner multiple times and he is avoiding my calls.

Desired Settlement: I do not want my money refunded. I have a contract for the job, I put a deposit on the contract, have waited 5 months, they already have the glass and now I want it completed at the contract price and done in the next week. These people are suppose to be professionals and they quoted the cost of the job, any overages are their problems.

Business Response:

This job is an unfortunate situation involving an extremely large and heavy piece of glass requiring replacement high up on the wall in the customers foyer. This glass is set into the opening from the inside, requiring scaffolding to reach the bottom of the glass thirteen feet up from the floor. The unfortunate thing is that the area on the floor below this glass is not big enough to accommodate scaffolding of the size, strength, and stability necessary to safely support the weight of the glass and technicians to this height. We consulted with several scaffolding companies and worked with our customer through a number of iterations. Our last attempt occurred on Monday, February 22nd, when our Fabrication Manager met with our customer in an attempt to design a custom built platform for the job.

Yesterday, I met with our Fabrication Manager in an attempt to design such a platform. We concluded that, with combination of the weight & danger of the glass unit, and the weight of the 4 technicians necessary to lift this glass, we could not safely execute this installation.

I called our customer today, explained our decision, apologized for the inconvenience, and agreed to send his deposit back. In our 25 years of business, I can't remember a situation like this. As much as we would like to install the extremely large piece of glass in our shop to satisfy our customer, the safety of our employees and prevention of damage to the customer's home have to take precedence. Although this may be one-time occurrence, we will instruct our field force to watch for this situation in our next training meeting.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me.  I accept it because there is not much of a choice. The Glass Doctor sent untrained person to quote a project and accept a deposit. So after over 5 months of delaying the work and causing me to rearrange my schedule to meet someone from Glass Doctor 5 different times, I get my deposit back, a sorry and have to take more time off to hire a competent contractor. 

Regards,

****** ******

2/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order: ******** I placed the order on October 29-2015 to repair a window frame and replace two double pane glass. The service person Calvin told me it will take 3 to 4 weeks for the window frame repair. I start calling the company after 4 weeks. The customer service department told me they have to talk to Dave and will call me back. I never receive a call back. I have called 4 or 5 times. Every time there is a new person making the same promise to investigate and call me back but I never receive any call back. During the mean time, my window was board up and leaking cold air during the winter months. If Glass Doctor has a problem getting part for the window frame repair, they should let me know and offer alternative solutions. By not responding to their customer's inquiry is a terrible business practice.

Desired Settlement: I want a Glass Doctor manager explain to me why my order is being delayed for so long and I want Glass Doctor to complete the job.

Business Response:

I spoke with our customer shortly after having received this complaint. We had been awaiting new glass stops (thin pieces of shaped plastic) that hold the glass into the window frame. The original stops had deteriorated over time and could not be re-used for the new glass installation. After significant delay in this part order, we received his stops shortly after this conversation and the job was completed on February 5, 2016.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *****


9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contractor ordered a custom set of glass doors for Glass Doctor on 5/25/15. We were told that the doors would be done in 2 weeks or 3 weeks if something crazy made them delay the installation. After 2 1/2 weeks went by we still didn't have our doors or even have an installation date scheduled. I had my contractor call to find out what was going on. When he called he was told Glass Doctor would be calling us that week to schedule the install date. The next week went by, still no install date. At the end of the 3rd week I got the number of the sales rep out of Columbus that my contractor placed the order with and gave him a call to find out what was going on. His name was James at # 614-601-3954, he told me that he had up to 4 weeks to get the doors installed, which I wasn't very happy to hear but understood. I proceeded to ask him when would the doors be installed and he told me that someone would be in contact with me by the next day to set up an installation date. Another week went by and still no call. So the following week I called James again and ask what was going on and he told me that our doors broke in transit from Columbus to Cleveland. I asked why I wasn't told anything and why no one had called me for an install date yet. James then proceeded to get angry with me for asking those questions and told me he didn't have to tell me anything because my contractor placed the order. I then mentioned that my contractor paid for the order with my money so I think I deserved and answer, he told me he would find out what is going on and to talk to my contractor. Another week went by (now week 6) and I had still heard nothing about an installed date. I called my contractor and he told me that he couldn't even get a hold of James to get any info about the install. So I called Glass Doctor myself and asked the customer service person if they knew anything about my doors. They told me that we were scheduled to install in 2 weeks (NOW 8 WEEKS TO INSTALL). I asked why someone had't called me to tell me because I was supposed to be out of town, they could give me an answer. I told them how long we had been waiting/ what happened to the 1st set of doors and could they move the date up, they said they couldn't do anything about it. So I called James. I told him about the install date of 7/15/15 and he told me "that was great", I told him that was not great and that if we waited until that date it would be 8 WEEKS since placing the order. I then asked him what happened to him having a 4 week deadline and he told me that deadline didn't mean anything in the end. Then I asked why we weren't being pushed to the front of the line for installs since or doors were broken in transit. He told me nothing could be done. He then told me that he was done talking to me and didn't have to answer anymore of my questions. James then proceeded to call my contractor immediately after hanging up with me. This is the part that is so unbelievable it still amazes me. He told my contractor," If both you and your customer don't stop calling me I will throw you doors in the trash and refund your money, I don't need your business!" This floored the both of us. All we were trying to do the whole time was get an install date in the 4 times week called him and this was the way we were treated. I can not begin to tell you how incredibly unprofessional James was throughout this whole experience and to say what he said at the end was entirely uncalled for.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of my money for this job. The whole experience was awful and having to deal with a sales rep like James was the worst experience I have ever been through. I don't want another person to have to go through what we did dealing with James!

Business Response:

I have spoken with the homeowner about these issues several times today. Bottom line, both of us are having real issues with the contractor that is sandwiched between us. Most of the delay in the installation was due to the contractor not providing us down payment and authorizing our work until weeks after the homeowner had provided that payment and authorization to the contractor - but leading the homeowner to believe that he had. We had failed to meet the homeowner's expectations even before we had the job and didn't even know it!

 

Most of the miscommunication and difficulties in communication were caused by our being blamed for this delay, the already deteriorated relationship between the homeowner and contractor, our being unable to share information with the homeowner due to the contractor relationship, and our salesman being pounded almost daily by as many as four different upset people aggressively asking the same questions. It is epitomized by the contractor quoting our salesman as saying we would throw away the doors and refund the deposit. This is ridiculous and was not said.

 

At this point, we have, unfortunately, been forced to  provide notification to both the homeowner and contractor that collection proceedings against all parties for the remaining balance will commence if the balance isn't paid promptly. This notification was mailed on 8/4/15 and the homeowner filed this complaint on 8/6/15. Clearly, there would not have been a complaint except as precipitated by the impending collection action caused by the contractor's failure to pay.

 

At this point, both the homeowner and Glass Doctor are doing all we can to cause the contractor to do the right thing and pay this balance. We're sorry that we and the homeowner have been placed in this position. This is just one more cautionary tale for any homeowner working with a contractor- be sure to get lien releases from all sub-contractors prior to making final payment.

7/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a complaint yesterday, 2/6/15 and this is to up date the complaint.Today I received a call from the service person, **** (this is a correction). He gave me the correct address for the office (another correction).I gave him my credit card information so that the glass can be ordered.This company should be appreciative of an employee willing to work to make things right.

Desired Settlement: **** is professional service person and I'm sure, given the opportunity he will make this situation right.

Consumer Response: Consumer clarification taken over the phone by BBB staff 2/10/15. Consumer says it is hard to get a hold of ****, because all she has is the company phone. This process started in November, they were out to measure.  She gave him a piece of the broken glass that she needed to replace and **** advised he would be back in several days.  The next time he got in touch with her, he explained why he was late, she doesn't have the exact dates on hand, but **** advised he was not working on those days. At the time he came back, he took the portions of the China cupboard needing repaired. He had given her a price of approximately $330 and she agreed with it.  He was supposed to return within a week. He hadn't come back, she called the company number, and told them that she would be out of town until the end of January. The last week of January she called to remind them that she would be in town the next week.  The person who answered the phone acknowledged that she remembered the situation.  At the end of that week, on Friday, she realized she hadn't heard from them and called. The person who answered the phone talked to the manager and said "the glass has not been ordered, we don't have a down payment". Consumer thought she had given them her credit card number and if they didn't have it they should have called her and asked. Consumer says there was no contract, it was all verbal, they had given her an order number, but she doesn't have it with her right now. She called back and asked the manager to give her a call, but she never received a call back. Consumer sent a text message to **** on his business phone and **** got in touch with her last Saturday. He apologized profusely.  She gave him her credit card number. She explained that she would be out of town again until the middle of March.  He said if she does plan on being around for any amount of town before then to let him know so he can finish the job. The consumer's complaint is that the company does not communicate, they have their employees take days off. The company doesn't notify the customer to let them know that the employee is not available to complete the scheduled service.  

Business Response:

I am sorry for being slow in responding to this complaint. Reading the text, it looks like our customer answered her own complaint and was satisfied with progress. My understanding is that our customer is still out of town - returning later this month. I have asked our technician to contact her to verify return date. We have fabricated the necessary material and are ready to perform the job upon her return.

 

**** *****, President

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The customer service at Glass Doctor is the worst I have ever seen. I ordered a window replacement on July 23 and it was installed on September 11, over 7 weeks! The first window came 2 1/2 weeks after the initial consultation. When the window was being installed the tech broke it. So, at that time it was told to me that the replacement was on priority order.After a week or two, I called to get an update, and I was hung up on by a customer service rep, *****, who very rude and not helpful at all. After that I called again and asked for a manager to call me, nobody ever did. Then I asked for the owner (**** *****) to call me, so I can explain me how disappointed I was. I have left several messages, and called several times. Then another guy called named ****. He told me **** ***** the owner was at a window conference in Las Vegas from September 6 through September 11, which was a lie, the conference (Glass Build America) was from September 8 thru September 11th. At that time I asked for my money back, they didnt give it back, but they then discounted the price by 64%. I told **** when this window comes in I want it to be installed the next day. Also, that I wanted to be the first stop on the route, he said I cant promise that. I said then give me my money back; I wasnt going to take off another day at work, because the time frame they told me for installation was from 9:00-3:00. Then he said okay, first stop. But, I still wanted ***** to call me, **** said **** ***** will have 50 + calls to make when he returns, I stated make sure I was at the top of that list. I am still waiting for ***** to call; its been over three weeks since, my initial request for him to contact me. Someone left a message with my wife that the window was on priority order, this is in week 6, wasnt I told that weeks ago? My instructions were to call me, not my wife. **** *****, then emailed me a copy of the new invoice, and left a message with my wife that the glass was in. I have mentioned several times to call me, I said make sure that in your notes and that all correspondence will come through me. Someone else called to schedule the installation and told me the times were 9:00-3:00 and the only time they could schedule me for first thing was in another week. I told them that **** and myself had discussed something else, so I was transferred to him. He said that the best he could do was 9:00-1:00 and asked me to be flexible since they were flexible with me since they dropped the price. Are you serious? I have been flexible enough; I have been waiting for 7 weeks for my window! I said this needs to be installed tomorrow or give me my money back; I wasnt taking off another day of work for this installation. I then mentioned someone can come after I get home from work. So, they made that happened. **** ***** says he authorized Daniel the tech to work after hours to complete the job. Like he was doing me a favor, after 7 weeks they should bending over backwards to make this happen. Needless to say the window was finally installed. And **** ***** still hasnt call to apologize for anything that had happened throughout this process. So I see why the Customer service is horrible, because it starts right at the top with **** *****. I wanted my wifes car window replaced trough Glass Doctor, and they gave me an estimate for that. But, now there is no way, we want that servic and I wouldnt recommend anybody to do business with them.

Desired Settlement: I should had recived my window for free.

Business Response:

Our customer is understandably upset. This job took way longer than either party expected due to errors on our part and supplier lead times that have become extremely extended this summer. In my defense, I was indeed out of town at a Glass Doctor conference in Orlando during the time stated by ****. There, coincidently, was a glass convention occurring in Las Vegas at close to the same time. I spoke with our customer shortly after arriving back into the office on September 11t. When we spoke that  dayl, I apologized for the lack of timeliness and my slow personal response. I told the customer that the technician would be glad to come late in the day. I am surprised by our customer’s interpretation of my statements, as I thought that the conversation went well as I sincerely stated my concern for the slow service and the inconvenience that he had experienced.

Consumer Response:

*********** ********* *********************>

10:51 AM (2 minutes ago)


to *******
The complaint hasn't been resolved.


From Glass doctor- Our customer is understandably upset. This job took
way longer than either party expected due to errors on our part and
supplier lead times that have become extremely extended this summer.
In my defense, I was indeed out of town at a Glass Doctor conference
in Orlando during the time stated by ****. There, coincidently, was a
glass convention occurring in Las Vegas at close to the same time. I
spoke with our customer shortly after arriving back into the office on
September 11t. When we spoke that dayl, I apologized for the lack of
timeliness and my slow personal response. I told the customer that the
technician would be glad to come late in the day. I am surprised by
our customer’s interpretation of my statements, as I thought that the
conversation went well as I sincerely stated my concern for the slow
service and the inconvenience that he had experienced.

He never apologized for the for the lack of timeliness. And he never
spoke with me. The conservation didn't go well because it never
happened.

***** *********

Business Response:

Since receiving the last update on this complaint, I have left two voicemail messages for our customer to discuss his concerns.

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had car windshield replaced by this company on 5/27/2014 at my home. did not drive car for few days, but when I did, noticed that damage was done to the paint job from either old windshield removal or new windshield insertion. Called this company and they stated to send them a picture of the damage, which was done. Didn't get back to me about what they intended to do, so I sent them a copy of my own estimate. They claim they are having their own body shop do a estimate, but that was well over 10-14 days ago, and still no reply about when they plan on repairing my vehicle. My car was a brand new 2013 Nissan Juke that had newer been titled when I bought it 3/31/14 and had less than 3200 miles when windshield was replaced. To me this is a brand new vehicle and I want to keep it looking that way. I purchased a product and a service from this company. I got the product, but their serviceman did damage to my car and I want it repaired and I don't feel that they are going to repair it!

Desired Settlement: I want the cost of the estimate sent to me so that I can have my vehicle's paint job repaired ASAP!!!!!!!! I have been more than patient!

Business Response:

We have shared the pictures and description of the damaged hood with ***** **** **** *********** ***** ******** ******* ********** ** ******, an auto body repair facility approved by many insurance companies. We have successfully used ***’s for over twenty years, trusting them to repair both our vehicles and those of our customers. I met with the owner today to review how we might best be able to handle this situation.

 

The paint damage appears to be on the lip of the hood facing back into the passenger compartment. It is likely that the technician inadvertently grazed this edge while setting the bottom of the windshield. It is unclear whether the damage requires repair on just this exposed edge, or also the upward face of the hood itself. In either case, ***’s will correct this damage, with Glass Doctor accepting responsibility for costs incurred. In addition, we would provide valet service – picking up the vehicle and returning it when the work is completed. Should the customer require a vehicle during this period, we would provide one of our company vehicles for their use.

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/18/14 I schedule a glass replacement for our company van. The tech showed up the next day to complete. After he was finished we looked at his worked. He had left glass laying on the parking lot and inside the van and when asked he said he don't clean up. Then we looked at the inside of the van and noticed he had removed the cloth material and just left it hanging. I ask him why and he said he don't carry glue with him so he cant fix it. So we are left with a clean up and a van that looks bad where he tore the cloth. Our company will never use these guys again.

Desired Settlement: We feel this company should refund a portion for our clean up and for the repair around the window.

Business Response:

I sincerely apologize for this.  It is Glass Doctor's professionalism and extreme care that sets us apart from our competitors and you obviously did not experience that on this service call.  We will handle internally immediately.  In the meantime, I would be glad to send out a qualified auto glass specialist to take care of any concerns.  If repair work is needed to restore your vehicle outside of what we can perform at your location, we would be glad to pick up vehicle and get corrected for you as quickly as possible.

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The entire experience with Glass Doctor was HORRIBLE. My repair was scheduled for Tuesday and the tech never came so I was rescheduled for Wednesday. They mistakenly closed my work order mixing me up with another customer without completing the repair. The representative who canceled my order in error didn't want to call the insurance company(as advertised) to extend my rental but reluctantly said she would. She never called them. The day of the repair...the tech called saying he would be at my home in 30 minutes. I left work on my hour lunch break. He arrived 60 minutes later. He did not speak to me other than asking me for payment. He made rude comments to my uncle and cousin. I was unable to stay so upon my return I found that he did not clean the glass out of my car as he was supposed to. He left a pile of glass in my driveway where my children ride their bikes and play. I then found my windshield folded in thirds placed in my only trash can...he was supposed to take it with him to dispose of it properly at their shop. My car was not put back together properly also. The guard at the bottom of my windshield was not put back into place completely and there is a pile of glass all the way across the resevoir under that piece. When I called to report my experience, the customer service manager, Lyle, cut me off mid-sentence to offer a rather insincere apologize with no attempt to correct the issue or even a reassurance that the issue would be addressed.

Desired Settlement: I either would like a refund of my out of pocket expenses or Glass Doctor to pay for a full detail on my car to clean out the glass that I am unable to get with my household vaccuum...at a location of my choosing.

Business Response: I sincerely apologize for this experience as it is certainly does not sound like your service was up to our customer service expectations.  We would be glad to send out a technician to this customer's home or work or other location to take care of any unresolved issues, including finding and removing any pieces of glass inside the vehicle.  We have tools to handle this and it should have been completed at the original appointment.

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was serviced for a cracked winshield. The panel that holds in the window was not replaced correctly and started falling off as I was driving. The worst part was that the technician left pieces of broken glass all over my seats. I never experienced service so poor, especially with the risk of passengers cutting themselves on the broken glass, and the total disregard for it being a safety issue.

Desired Settlement: The total I paid was $356. I am requesting a $250 settlement for the service I did not receive for the winshield replacement.

Business Response:

This customer called and opened a warranty claim with our office.  The technician was sent out the next day to correct the issues, including cleaning up glass.  We assume this issue is settled.

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a replacement picture window on October 19,2013. our deductable was $250 dollars. Cost of window was $485. Since our order they have had to order 5 windows because there was a bug inbetween the double pane or there were scratches on the window. Since we are older it is hard to put up and take down our verticles and drapes so we have had to leave the drapes off now for 2 months and we have a baby grand piano that we had to move and do not want to move it back until the window is in as movement can cause the piano to be out of tune. We feel if the company they get their windows from cannot get it right they should use another company. We would like our window in so we can decorate for Christmas. If they can't get the window for us right they should reimburse us and find a company for us that will do it for the same price. The insurance company already paid their portion and we have already paid Glass Doctor in full. We hope we can get some results. They said we would have it this week but when we called they said this window had a scratch also and had to reorder. I am getting really upset and hope you can help us resolve this issue. Thank you.***** *****

Desired Settlement: We would like our window now and feel we should get some type of settlement due to the length of time involved and their dealing with an incompetent window supplier. Any help would be appreciated.

Business Response:

Indeed, this job has taken much longer than expected. The glass in this window is a bit specialized (newest generation Low E) that is only supplied by a limited number of glass fabricators. It is a Soft Coat Low E product that requires special handling during the glass insulating process. It also is more subject to scratching and other blemishes. Given the issue (fly captured between the pieces of glass) presented on our original installation, our quality control has been especially particular when inspecting incoming glass for this customer. This has resulted in multiple rejections at our end.

 

I am sorry that this job has taken so long to get handled. I have spoken directly with the production manager at the glass fabricator, requesting very careful inspection of the next piece of glass coming to us.

 

I have also spoken personally with this customer and expressed my concern for this job getting done quickly and correctly. I fully expect it to be complete within the next week.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *****

 

They said they would have the window this week but we have still not heard from them.  My husband called today Friday and their response was it should come in by MondayThey have been saying this every week.  It has now been two months.  At this point we would like our money back so we can go somewhere that will get the job done in a timely manor.  I also was not aware that they were going to give a a inferior glass.  Our windows were put in by Cuyahoga Falls glass in Cuyahoga Falls Ohio many year ago and they were not of a glass that would easily be scratched.  I am wondering if this may be a bait and switch type of deal.  I still do not have my drapes up as I have been waiting for the window.  I am hoping you will be able to help us.  Thank you.  ******

Sorry I didn't get to you sooner but we were out of town for a couple of days.

Business Response: This issue is close to resolved. The glass came in last week and is scheduled for installation today, December 17th.

Consumer Response:

 

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I want to Thank you for all your help.  The window was installed on Tuesday and seems to be okay.  The installers were very nice and did a good job. thank you again for all your help.

Regards,

 

****** *****

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Glass Doctor
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)