This business is not BBB accredited.

Municipal Services Of America Corp

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 773-0161 View Additional Phone Numbers 29647 Lakeland Blvd, Wiloughby Hls, OH 44092 http://www.msa247.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Municipal Services Of America Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Municipal Services Of America Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2009 in OH Business incorporated 06/22/2009 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Marucci, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Marucci, Owner
Business Category

Sewer Contractors Snow Removal Service Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Basement Waterproofing Concrete Contractors Waterproofing Contractors

Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    29647 Lakeland Blvd

    Wiloughby Hls, OH 44092

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    612 Carrington Ct

    Willowick, OH 44095 (440) 773-0161

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had driveway,sidewalks and retaining walls replaced last October.By January it started cracking.It continued to crack and fall apart.I tried numerous times to contact **** but he never responded.He never returned calls.The secretary could only reply that it is unfortunate that a $13000 Plus job doesn't hold up two months.I'm at *** ******** ** in ********. Anyone considering using this contractor can come and see this disaster before you make the mistake .I couldn't even get them to come look at it

Desired Settlement: Repair this

Business Response:

I’d like to address a recent complaint filed to the BBB by Mr. ***** ****** whom resides on *** ******** *** ******** ** *****.  In his complaint, Mr. ****** expresses his dissatisfaction with areas in his concrete driveway that cracked.  

Although it is unfortunate that this happened, please be mindful that the cracks are cosmetic and the driveway is fully functional. Also, please note that it is our company policy to not express any warranties on our cement products because of their constant exposure to natural elements such as sun, wind, rain, snow, freezing and thawing.  We don’t warrant concrete because the cement used in our products comes from third party suppliers and we are also not responsible for any wear and tear or accidental damages to the driveway.

 However, in our good faith efforts to reach an amicable resolution to his complaint and per Mr. ******’s desired settlement, we propose 2 options:

 

 1) We would saw cut and remove the 2 cracked blocks and replace area with new concrete. With this option, Mr. ****** would have to assume all the costs involved with the materials used (e.g. permits, cement, fuel, dump fees etc.) and pay for the cost upfront. Municipal Services of America would assume the labor costs involved with this option. Please note that we strongly advice against this option since it may adversely affect other areas of the driveway.

 

2.     2)  We would caulk the cracked areas with cement limestone colored caulk at the expense of Municipal Servcies of America. This option is to be completed before the arrival of winter. (we recommend this option)

 

We hope to reach an amicable resolution. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

Municipal Servcies of America

Consumer Response: Consumer update taken over the phone by BBB staff 10/15/15. Complaint was filed at this time last year. They had agreed to a resolution, he was going to repair at no charge and/or cut out and replace at the cost of cement and permit.  A year later he has done neither.

Business Response:

Mr. ******’s concrete was caulked on October 16, 2015. Please be aware we do not express any warranties on any of our concrete services.  We hope to have this matter closed as resolved. 

9/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite numerous attempts, phone calls and left messages no one from this company responds. The work has been completed for many days and no invoice has been received. We do not know what the charges are and how much the charges are. We drove by the office and it is all closed up with a sign on it stating by appointment only.

Business Response:

Hello,

This is in response to the complaint filed by Mr. ********** regarding the processing time for his invoice.  The job was completed 8 business days ago. We will forward the invoice as soon as it’s available for we are also eager to receive payment for work performed by our crew. We hold the right to invoice 30 days from time of completion. In addition we confirm that we have been in constant communication with Mr. ********** from the beginning of the proposal.  He was told the invoice was being processed. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Municipal Servcies of America

Consumer Response:

Consumer sent following update:

Thank you so much for your assistance.  An invoice has now been received and paid in full.  Thanks to your website. The issue is resolved thanks to your services.  ******* **********

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concrete work that is falling apart after 6 months

Desired Settlement: I need to find someone to do it right

Business Response: Hello,

Please see the attachment regarding the above mentioned complaint. Due to many factors beyond our control, we do not express any warranties regarding our cement/concrete services.
Sincerely,
Michael M******
Municipal Services of America
440-773-0161

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,




  This has nothing to do with weather this is bad concrete 

Business Response: The concrete was purchased from ******* ********. It was mixed at a central batch plant as required by the city. The plant is located one mile from the residence.  We do not manufacture the cement nor express any warranties as written in our contracts. Our expertise opinion is that the cement was exposed to a puddle of salty water from a lengthy snowy winter. 

Business Response:

The cement was laid at a 6 ½ slump,  it did not heat up nor set up before laying it down. We had to wait for it to set up hard enough for us to put a hand finish on it. We would be willing to replace the cement for a discounted price of $800. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *******



I do not agree with his term I would never have him redo shoddy work with shoddy work, I will take 800.00 from him and have a professional do the repair 
 

Business Response:

The concrete used was not defective. The cause for the spalling was due to exposure to de-icing salts and freeze/thaw cycles. Moreover, the driveway is located directly across a Church/School that was exposed excessively to frequent de-icing by the local city during this past severe winter.

 

Please note these facts, concrete is a porous material that absorbs water. When ice melters are applied to snow or ice, the melting ice or snow is turned into a salt-water mix and is absorbed by concrete. Newly poured cement is the most susceptible to damage from ice melters and should avoid any type of de-icing salts. Salt, which is a mild acid, lowers the pH in concrete. The acidic reaction attacks the concrete paste and aggregate, increasing the pore size and allowing additional water and chemicals into the concrete.

 

Additionally, salt is hydroscopic, which means that it attracts and retains more water to it. So when ice is melted by salt and changes into a salt/ water mix, it enters the concrete with approximately 10% more water than would normally enter concrete. When temperatures fall below 25 degrees, having this extra water in concrete causes a problem. In these colder temperatures, the extra water in the salt/water mix starts to re-freeze and expand, but the additional water adds additional ice in the concrete, which in turn adds additional hydraulic pressure on the concrete.

 

When the hydraulic pressures of the re-freezing water exceed the compression strength of the concrete, spalling can occur. Additionally, the more often the freeze/thaw cycle happens, the more likely the spalling is to occur. Newly poured concrete which already holds a high water content is affected more by the freeze and thaw cycle.

 

The freezing water inside the concrete creates so much upward pressure on the concrete, that the smooth, non-aggregate top of concrete can “pit” or “spall”. This can be in large sections or in scattered smaller spots. When the smooth finished texture of the concrete is gone, these spots show the aggregate mixture of the concrete that is below, which is what occurred in this case.

 

Any chemical containing chlorides, including sodium chloride, potassium chloride, calcium chloride etc. found in “safe” de-icing chemicals are all mildly acidic and attack the bonds that hold concrete together. For these reasons that are beyond our control we do not express any warranties for cement and is stated clearly in our contract.  We only offer a 30-day warranty for any immediate evident defects. There were no issues with the concrete until after the past harsh winter, other wise had there been any it would have been noticed right away. 

 

Consumer Response: You can try to confuse the issue with all your jargon but a third party said it was hot concrete and my witness said it came out of the dump truck np plops and was finished trowled needless to say the apron was poured one year almost to the day and no what you call spalling issues happened ....its poor workman ship with left over concrete from another job bottom line 

Business Response: The third party’s statement is invalid considering they were not present when the cement was poured. We have never denied the fact that the cement was transported in a dump truck, we are by law allowed to deliver cement in dump trucks. What occurred to the cement is beyond our control and not caused by poor workmanship as implied. 

Consumer Response: Please tell me how to put a negitive comment about his business and I will call this matter closed with you and start in small claims court

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Regards,

***** *******




 

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received satisfactory customer service response to the following issues from emails beginning on June 20, 2013.April 19, 2013 Estimate states LIFETIME GUARANTEE. I am requesting a copy of that guarantee, in writing, immediately.April 19, 2013 Estimate states a T.V. VIDEO INSPECTION and cleaning of sanitary sewer included. I am requesting a copy of the DVD for that inspection immediately.April 19, 2013 Estimate states topsoil, grass seed, concrete and restoration. Resolution required: (1)Seeding of the disrupted area was not performed in the side yard or in a good portion of the front yard. (2)The Company returned once to add topsoil to the settled area around the backflow preventer, the area has settled again and requires further leveling. (3)The Company replaced a holly bush that didnt survive their replanting efforts with an evergreen tree that needs to be removed. Planting a tree next to my house is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: Copy of Lifetime GuaranteeCopy of Sanitary Sewer DVDSeeding of side and front yardTopsoil leveling of sinkhole over backflow preventerRemoval/relocation of evergreen tree next to houseReplacement of holly bush

Business Response:

 

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Municipal Services of America
Company Contact: ******* *******
Company Phone: 440-773-0161
Company Email: ****@msa247.com
Person Who Sent the Complaint:
Staff Member: ***** ******

Response:

This is in efforts to resolve ******* *********'s complaint. We will be returning to her home to lay more "sun and shade" grass seed from ***** Bros. Please advice her to mark the spot where she wants the tree relocated. Thank you.

Sent on: 11/11/2013 1:29:03 PM

Consumer Response: I haven't yet been contacted by Municipal Services of America, however, I returned home from work today to find that...


1.  The areas disturbed by the waterproofing were seeded, and even an area not disturbed by the waterproofing work was seeded.
2.  The evergreen tree that was planted in my back yard, near the house, was removed from the property and not replanted (previously suggested by me).
3.  Additional fill dirt was present at the backflow preventor installation area.

I appreciate their returning to complete the above work, some of it extra and above necessity.  

The remaining issues are:

1.  Warranty questions remain unanswered
2.  Holly bush replacement
3.  Sewer televising and cleaning video

I'm happy to discuss the remaining issues with the Company directly or through the BBB.

Thank you for your help.
 

Business Response: Dear *****,

 
I'd like to inform you that yesterday we fulfilled our promise to handle Mrs. *********'s request for removal of the tree, more topsoil and grass seed for the area in question. 
 
Sincerely,
 
Municipal Services

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

RESPONSE:

1. It is unacceptable that my original complaint dated 2/06/2014 regarding the Warranty was not answered by MSA until 10/23/2014... THIRTY SEVEN WEEKS (259 DAYS) later.  

2. I have been using templates and invoicing software for over 25 years and it is extremely unlikely that specific, non-sequential sentences were "accidently omitted from the invoice/warranty originally emailed to Mrs. *********". I would suggest that you inquire to your software provider and have them determine whether it's possible for that to happen without a person manually making changes to said template. I'm interested to see their response.

3. The changed warranty was not provided until after I made my initial complaints to MSA and the BBB.  I find this suspicious and suspect.  The original warranty provided is the warranty that is in effect. MSA needs to acknowledge as such.

4. I have not made a complaint regarding the actual quality of the basement waterproofing work.  The basement is dry and the work was performed well.

5. Unresolved issue:  The holly bush that did not survive replanting by MSA has still not been replaced.

Regards,

****** ********* 

Business Response:

Hello,

I’d like to take this moment to request the BBB to review complaint# ******* and help us to satisfactorily resolve it.

 Municipal Servcies of America has addressed all of ******* *********’s complaints and she is still not satisfied.

 One of her unresolved complaints to the BBB, is requesting for us to replace a holly bush that did not survive our replanting efforts.  This was a bush that was needed to be removed because it was in our work path when waterproofing her basement. Although our contract states “restoration included” this does not translate to us guaranteeing the regrowth of every bush, shrub, plant and/or tree that’s removed and replanted when waterproofing customers homes. 

It is not our company policy to make those guarantees. We do try our best to save and restore most of customers landscaping disturbed by our waterproofing work but we cannot guarantee to save every bush, plant or tree. However in our efforts to please ******* ********* and with her consent we returned to remove the replanted dead bush and we replaced the bush with an evergreen tree. 

Later, she submitted another complaint stating that the evergreen tree would not suffice as a replacement for the holly bush and suggested us to either move it by the property line or have it completely removed. We completely removed it.

Please be aware that we returned to the property 2 additional times after completion of her job.  As a courtesy to a friend, we assumed the full cost for materials and labor involved in the unexpected replacement and installation of an extra 50ft of the new sewer line we installed for her ($1,250 savings). We removed the dead holly bush; re-planted more grass seed and topsoil (she failed to water and grow the grass seed originally planted,) and replaced the holly bush with an evergreen tree. We also went back and re-televised her sewer line so we could provide her with a DVD copy she adamantly requested through the BBB.  Keep in mind that during this complaint process she has had a dry basement. 

Please note that although addressing Ms. *********’s unreasonable complaints has cost the company several hundred dollars (not including the free extra work), we would be willing to offer her a $25 home depot gift card just to settle this complaint amicably. The holly bush Ms. ********* is complaining about has a value of $20-35 (see attachment).

Your attention to this is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Municipal Services of America

Consumer Response: Dear Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is conditionally satisfactory to me provided the following changes are met:

I will accept a $35 dollar gift card from Home Depot as the attachment sent by MSA depicts holly bushes at approximately $30/each... plus tax.
I will accept, in writing, that the original warranty provided to me (and sent in my earlier correspondence) is valid.

The latest correspondence contained several incorrect and non-factual statements, however, in the interest of resolving this issue I will put the matter to rest if the above conditions are met.
I greatly appreciate your help and attention.
Regards,
****** *********


5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2012 (less than 2 years ago), Municipal services of america provided a quote to have our driveway expanded and all concrete work completed for entire driveway and front walkway. Municipal Services was hired to complete the job which was complete in June of 2012. Our driveway which is less than 2 years old is flaking, crumbling throughout entire driveway. I had a couple people see the driveway and gave comments that bad concrete was used. I had another concrete company come to look at driveway to see why this would happen after such a short period of time and they said they have seen this happen from time to time and this is clearly either a bad batch of concrete or concrete not being mixed properly. I contacted Municipal services to come and look and was hopeful that they would take one look at the driveway and agree to fixing it, however when they arrived **** ******* took a look at the driveway and said it is from salt, however we do not utilize salt on our driveway and he claimed that the city snow plows spray salt up onto driveways, which if that was the case the entire street would have an issue. Our neighbors had their driway done 6 months prior to us from another company and their driveway has no flaking or crumbling. I informed **** that another company was out and talked about the bad concrete or poor mixture issue which he denied that as being the issue. He said they buy their concrete from a vendor and they have no control over that. I informed him that I wanted the driveway addressed and wanted to know what would be done. Even though he agreed it looked horrible he said there is nothing he could do. He took pictures and said he would contact the place they get concrete from. We spent $10,000 on this driveway and want someone to fix it. We are the customer who hired a company to do a job and after 20 months you don't expect something like this. This was a lot of money to spend for something that looks this bad. **** has not gotten back in touch with us.

Desired Settlement: We would like the driveway either redone by municipal services so that it is not crumbling everywhere or a refund so we can have another company take care of the problem.

Business Response:

May 1st. 2014

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

Re: Complaint ID#******* 

 

This message is in reply to complaint filed by ******** ****** whom resides on **** ****** ******* ****** ** *** ***** ** *****. We would like to clarify that although the total final cost of the job was $7,525., the actual total cost of the driveway was $4,750. The difference of $2,775 was for other additional work performed in which the customer does not have issues with.

 

More over, attached are copies of the checks used for payment of the services rendered, along with the customer’s invoice confirming dates, prices and information giving notice that “Due to weather conditions in Northeastern Ohio that result in the use of salt, we do not express any warranties on concrete services.”

 

Promptly after the customers’ complaint, a representative of Municipal Services of America met with Mrs. ****** . He found evidence of the use of Salt and Calcium for snow removal. The customer’s house sits on a busy three-way street (intersecting- stop area), there is a lot of traffic and therefore the constant use of salt and calcium by the local snow plowers (See attached Photos).

 

We truly regret to be in this position. We cannot control what happens to our work after we leave a job and with Northeast Cleveland’s weather, we unfortunately cannot guarantee and of our concrete services.

 

 

Sincerely, 

 

***** *******

Municipal Services of America

************

 

****************

Consumer Response:

Good Morning ******,

 

I am emailing you my rebuttal for complaint # ******* which is also going to include attached pictures and proposal from municipal services which I will address further in this email.  I apologize that I could not respond straight through the BBB website but my computer is not compatible to attach the pictures and information I would like to include, but I am able to attach them in an email. Would you please post this to the claim?

 

After reviewing Municipal Services response that I received this morning I needed to clarify a few things and share my concerns and areas which are not in agreement.  First off I would like to say that Municipal Services is correct in the breakdown of the money for the work completed.  The $2200.00 portion was for replacement of our front walkway which I have no issues with except for when they sealed the walkway they got some sealer on our front door glass which you cannot remove.  The problem I have is that image 2 and 3 and photo 2 and 4 that Municipal Services sent clearly is showing evidence of salt in the street.  There is no evidence of salt on our actual driveway.  The majority of cities treat their side streets and main streets with salt in the wintertime, this does not mean that everyone’s driveways fall apart because they salt the roads.  I am enclosing a couple photos of what the majority of our driveway looks like.  These images are seen throughout the entire driveway including right up by the garage doors.  Prior to me making my first phone call to Municipal Services to express my concerns with the way the driveway looked (again the driveway is not even 2 years old), I had another concrete company look at the driveway because I wanted to see what would cause this.  They took one look and said you see this with either a bad batch of concrete or when the concrete is not properly mixed.  I have attached the initial proposal received from Municipal Services and on page 2 you will see that when they talk about the events that are not covered under a warranty it does list many things.  They do not however address poor concrete mixing or a possible bad batch of concrete.  Both of these things do happen from time to time according to the other concrete company that looked at the driveway.  Our neighbors had a new driveway put in 3 years ago and used another company and their driveway has not one area that is crumbling like our driveway.  If it were true what municipal services is saying about city snow plows using salt to do the roads than you would expect everyone on our street would have driveways that look like ours and that is not the case. 

 

I feel that the pictures submitted by municipal services shows very clearly that there is salt used on the roads but they did not find that salt on our driveway.  I also feel that due to this driveway being less than 2 years old and nothing listed in the proposal warranty information about issues with concrete itself whether it be poor product or poor mixing practice that I am due either the money for the driveway portion so I can have it redone or municipal service provide a replacement driveway.

 

Sincerely,

 

******** ******

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Municipal Service of America provided waterproofing to two basement walls with work completed on 07/12/2012. On 07/22/2013 water was observed leaking form one of the walls that work was performed on. I called the company on 07/23/2013 and spoke with the secretary, who said that the wall should not be leaking, arranging for a representative to come to the house. The next day the representative arrived and observed the water leaking into the basement. When asked how they would fix the leak, he responded that they wouldnt and if I had any further questions to call the office. On 08/01/2013 I observed a new leak and called the company, leaving a message requesting for my call to be returned to discuss the new leak. Having not received a return call, on 08/09/2013 I called the company and spoke with the secretary. She explained that she was waiting for one of two people to return my call. On 08/17/2013 I once again observed a new water leak. On 08/23/2013 I called the company, leaving a message that a still had not received a return call, that a third leak had occurred, and requested that my call be returned the following Monday. No call was received from the company. On the morning of 08/27/2013 a fourth leak was observed and this complaint was filed. The frequency at which these leaks occur is now greater than before the alleged waterproofing work.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I am entitled to the service that I paid for, the wall being waterproofed. If this cannot be achieved I would like a full refund.

Business Response: This letter is in response to a complaint filed to the BBB by Mr. **** *****. Upon notification by Mr. ***** that he was having an issue with our waterproofing, we scheduled a tech to take a look at Mr. *****'s basement.  Our tech examined the basement and confirmed that the flood that hit the City of Willowick on July 20th 2013 had adverse affects on both the City's Storm and Sanitary Sewers causing them to overflow and consequently causing Mr. *****'s waterproofing to fail. Per the City of Willowick Officials & Service Director, 85% of the city's residents were deemed a flood; therefore making our warranties null and void. No guarantees can be made during a flood. For our waterproofing to function properly, residents must have a properly functioning active sewer system.  We would like to advice Mr. ***** to investigate the rest of his sewer system to make sure there aren't any other obstructions or issues caused by the July 20th, 2013 flooding

Consumer Response:

Thank you for your response.  I am looking for clarification on three areas of concern. 

First, can Municipal Services of America please provide specific details, such as but not limited to the degree of slope of the drainage pipes, the volume of gravel used, the thickness of the cement applied to the basement walls, and any and all other quantitative measures of  their product used in this specific job.  This information may help explain why only the full wall MSA was contracted to work on failed.  The other walls which had waterproofing performed on by a different company did not fail.

Secondly, can Municipal Services of America please respond to why MSA would not return any messages left with the secretary or on voicemail.

Lastly, can Municipal Services of America please indicate the specific number of their so called “warranties” they consider null and void.  In addition, does MSA plan on informing all of the affected property owners of their decision not to honor these legal documents.  If not, can Mr. ******* please defend his unethical business practices and lack of transparency.  If MSA does plan on informing all affected property owners of their unfortunate business decision by what date.

Because of Municipal Services of Americas business practices I no longer trust MSA to correct their products failure and now am seeking a full refund in the amount of $4700.

Business Response:

Hello,
 
This letter is to reply to a complaint & questions submitted to the BBB by Mr. **** *****.  On July 23rd 2013, our representative promptly visited Mr. *****'s home regarding his claim of water intrusion through one of the basement wall waterproofed by Municipal Services. Upon inspection of Mr. *****'s wall, our representative did not see nor witness any water intrusion as Mr. ***** was claiming and therefore, told Mr. ***** that if he had seen any water intrusion it was most likely due to the July 20th, 2013 flood and in that case making his warranty null & void as specified in his contract with us. We suggested then and suggest again that Mr. ***** should have his sewers investigated for any damage cause by the pressure from the City's backed up sewer system, obstructions caused by the flood that can restrict the flow of water or tree roots. 
 
In response to his question regarding the slope of the drainage pipes, since we only waterproofed 46' feet (approx. a wall and a half) we hook up to the already existing inlet and existing outlet with normal minimal grade. We used at least 42" of gravel, we applied a layer of cement and a layer of tar. 
 
We have attached an Article from the News Herald Newspaper where it states that a Willowick resident filed a class action lawsuit against the City of Willowick for a faulty sewer system.  We can also provide various news articles stating that the City of Willowick suffered a massive flood and submitted a "Declaration of Emergency". Understand that our warranties don't cover acts of God. It is clearly stated in our contract with Mr. *****, we have attached a highlighted copy.  MSA Corp feels that the photographs Mr. ***** provided don't really prove that its our waterproofed wall leaking, better pictures showing evidence that it in fact it was our wall leaking should be provided.  We also suggest that Mr. ***** join the class action lawsuit since we are not liable for the City's sewer system failing. If you have any questions in regards to the flood and the city's sewer system please call the Willowick service director *** ******* at 440-516-3000.
 
In conclusion, we are confident in our waterproofing methods & service. We haven't  had issues with any of our past customers. Mr. *****'s complaint seems to be an isolated one.  We would like to point out the fact that since the last time we worked on Mr. *****'s home he has then performed some landscaping at the residence and added a retaining wall which could have adverse affects on his yard drainage. Be aware that Mr. ***** hadn't had any issues up until the day of the flood and according to his statement the wall isn't currently leaking even after the normal rain we have had recently. In our efforts to resolve this, on October 21st, 2013 we called and left Mr. ***** a voicemail asking him to call us back so we can schedule a televising of his sewer lines. We have not heard back from him.  
 
 
Sincerely,
 
**** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Municipal Services Of America Corp
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)