BBB Accredited Business since

Ace's High Roofing & Construction

Phone: (440) 255-0090 View Additional Phone Numbers 7448 Lake Shore Blvd, Mentor, OH 44060 http://www.aceshighroofing.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace's High Roofing & Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ace's High Roofing & Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Ace's High Roofing & Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 20, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1993 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated 02/28/2005 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Yates, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Yates, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Gutter Cleaning Gutter Leaf Guards Chimney Builders & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Ace Roofing
Business Management

This owner was the owner of the company Ace Roofing & Remodeling.

This company has maintained the same address and telephone number of the previous company.

To access a detailed report regarding this company, call the BBB Anytime Line at 216-241-7678 and enter the telephone number of the company you would like a report on, or check the BBB's website at www.Cleveland.bbb.org.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ace's High Roofing & Construction has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7448 Lake Shore Blvd

    Mentor, OH 44060 (440) 255-0090 (440) 357-8962 (800) 357-8962

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Aces High Roofing and Construction 04/14/2010 to replace my roof. **** ***** (owner) assured me that the decking on the roof would be thoroughly inspected, and if there were issues with the decking it would cost 75.00 per 4x8 sheet, the decking was found to be in very good condition, no rot or mold present. I have photos of the re roof of my home. The roofing materials used are GAF supposedly some of the best in the industry. My home was built in 1991 I am the only owner of the home. The insulation package was R39 and the home has soffit vents. During an Energy audit 12/09/2013 performed by Dominion East Ohio Black Mold was discovered in the attic space, prior to this incident there was never an issue with ventilation or insulation and certainly no Black Mold. In an effort to identify the cause I initially inspected the soffit vents, and tried to determine if there was ventilation (smoke test). I called **** ***** and asked if he could come out inspect my attic which has a large accumulation of ice and condensation and resulting in mold. Mr. ***** visited my home 01/15/2014 we inspected the attic it was evident that the soffit vents were unobstructed however Mr. ***** was not convinced that the ridge vent was defective he did indicated that he did not a problem replacing it. Mr. ***** said he wanted to call in a insulation and ventilation expert, he called ,North Coast Energy Masters, ****** ******* inspected the attic and prepared a proposal that specified removal and replacement of the insulation. The proposal indicated that ventilation is a significant issue and they would make recommendations for the ridge vent. The total cost would be 5660.00. Not only did North Coast Energy indicate that ventilation was an issue so did two other experts in the business say that the ridge vent was non functioning. I had a conversation with Mr. ******* as to what should come first, replace the ridge vent or remove and replace insulation.. we agreed that the ridge vent should be replaced first .. did not want to create more mold on the fresh insulation. I called **** ***** to let him know what had been agreed upon and to try to schedule the replacement, however the weather was still pretty bad so everything would have to work around the weather. Mr. ***** did not answer, he called me back Screaming and Yelling and cursing why are you calling me. Don't you ever call my (cursing) phone again. When stopped to catch his breath I told him that I would like him to replace the ridge vent as soon as the weather broke. That was it for him he again started his cursing tirade and said he wasn't going to change anything and he did not want to here from me again, if I did not like it sue me. I contacted a local roofer who changed the ridge vent 02/22/2014 cost of 500.00 He indicated that the old ridge vent was not working. After the vent was changed the attic ventilation excellent the temperature in the attic is 4 degrees above the ambient which most experts agree that is very good. The mold has been treated and has not reappeared. The insulation was removed and replaced 03/242014, I also installed wireless temperature and humidity monitors. Mr.***** based on his comments clearly did not have knowledge of the importance of proper ventilation in attic spaces, Ambient was foreign term to him. Black Mold is a Safety and Health issue not discounting the fact that if gone unchecked could result in the need for the total replacement of roof decking and shingles. I truly have concern for Mr. ***** customers who may have Mold issues in their attics

Desired Settlement: I had to spend several thousand dollars correcting a problem that should have at least be handled in civil manner. Mr. ***** assured me that there was a 20 year warranty, thus far all I received from ***** is verbal abuse. I do not want him on my property I am considerig calling the sheriff

Business Response: Business responded to complaint.  See attached.

 
Business response also transcribed below by BBB staff, from a handwritten version sent by fax. 4/15/14.
 
On 1/15/2014 Mr. ***** called during heavy winter weather. I went out immediatly and seen ice all through one section of attic area and found due to improper insulation and blocked soffit vents, was allowing moisture to grow mold on plywood.  This is a very many times on other homes!  Our roof is fine A+at Better Business Bureau and when I went out he tried to tell me it was our ridge vent but it wasn't a ridge vent won't work without proper insulation.  So I went downstairs and called for him owner ****** ******* 40 yrs exp. to check problem He left attached est 5,600. Mr ***** didn't want work done to code which has nothing to do with my roof. I back all warranties at all times.  Mr ***** paid someone to take my vent off and put in same vent.  I refuse to pay anything to Mr. *****.
 
**** *****
 
To fix this roof he needs to do the work North Coast Energy Masters to correct inside. 

Consumer Response: Consumer sent the following email and documentation.

 
Attached are the findings of Mr. *** *****'s North Coast Insulation & Ventilation.  Mr
***** the roofer is going to provide information as to the failure of the roof vent.

Business Response: Business response taken over the phone by BBB staff.  Company is willing to pay half of the cost consumer paid to have another company replace the ridge vent.  He will send a check for $250. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Ace's High Roofing & Construction
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart