BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that W.F. Hann and Sons meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for W.F. Hann and Sons include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on W.F. Hann and Sons
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1973 Business started: 04/11/2003 in OH Business incorporated: 04/11/2003 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fred DiSanto, Co-Owner
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Dan Miller Heating & Cooling HAVSCO
Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • 5108 Richmond Rd.

    Bedford Heights, OH 44146 (216) 831-4200

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 763-8011 (Fax)
  • (216) 763-8011 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involves an extended warranty for a house furnace not honored by W.F. Hann and Sons Heating and Cooling (5108 Richmond Road, Bedford Heights, Ohio 44146). On October 17 2011, W.F. Hann and Sons came to my house and replaced the blower motor on my Carrier furnace for a $865 fee. At no time on this occasion, did W.F. Hann notify me that my furnace had an extended 10 year warranty on parts and labor from the previous home owner. They had my address and furnace serial number in their computer system , but dropped the ball. On September 19 2013, I found the extended warranty paperwork in my files and contacted Carrier furnaces immediately(contact person-**** in Warranties). **** informed me that the problem laid with my furnace installer and I should contact W.F. Hann to have them submit a claim. I immediately that same day contacted ******** ***** with W.F. Hann warranties/claims dept. ******** informed me that during 2011, W.F. Hann was changing over their computer system and a lot of the warranties were lost in the process. ******** further explained that they were just handling the "lost" warranties as they came in to the company. ******** told me after several calls on my part, that they could not reimburse me in any way. I then spoke with **** (W.F. Hann Service Manager). **** gave me more of the run-around and would not rectify the problem in any way. I informed him that I would be making a BBB complaint. I feel that W.F. Hann was negligent in their warranty records system, did not check their warranty database, did not notify homeowners/customers that they "lost" warranties in their system, and finally refuse to correct their negligence for the sake of profits.

Desired Settlement: I want W.F. Hann and Sons to reimburse me for the full amount of the warranty repair - $865.00.

Business Response:

October 9, 2013

RE: Case #*******

Dear ***** ******;

The original home owner purchased a new system in 2003, along with a 10 year Parts and Labor warranty. This extended warranty, at that time, was transferable by filling out the necessary paperwork and submitting it to Carrier, along with a minimal fee. Now, this would be a selling feature for any home owner to let potential buyers know about this, and that their system would be covered for 10 years! When the customer called in our CSR looked it up and found no record of him having an extended warranty. Our data base shows warranty information by customer name. She then contacted Carrier to double check our records, and they informed our CSR that the warranty was still in the original homeowner ’s name, and that they never received the fees or paperwork to transfer. Now, I can ’t answer as to why this did not happen, Only the homeowner(s) can. However, that responsibility lies SOLE Y with them! We would have no  problem reimbursing the customer if he in fact had done so, because we would simply get reimbursed from Carrier!

If one of our customers decides to sell their home, we have no way of knowing this. Most of our customers will tell technicians that they have a Carrier extended warranty at the time of service, or, when they place the call. At that point we verify their number with Carrier, and proceed to make the repairs. In the Rare case this would happen after the fact, we would still make the claim for the customer and Carrier usually will honor it, PROVIDED that customer actually has the warranty! My guess is when Mr. ******* spoke to “**** ” with Carrier furnaces in Warranties that he forgot to mention the warranty was NOT in his name! If ' Carrier is mistaken and the warranty was transferred and IS in Mr. ******* ’s name, I would be glad to reimburse him once Carrier authorizes us to do so. This is NOT a “run-around”, but simply fact. It does not

appear that WF Hann & Sons “dropped the ball ”, but somebody did. Please feel free to call or email me directly should you have any other questions or concerns.

Regards,

**** ******, Service Manager

WF Hann & Sous

Office, 216-831-4200, Ext. ***

Email ******Q@wQ1ann. com

Consumer Response:

In Regards to ****'s response : (Rebuttal)

 

       Again, **** states that the extended warranty was only entered in their computer system "by name only".  On Sept. 19th 2013 when I spoke with ******** ***** at W.F. Hann, she stated that they changed over their computer system in the summer of 2011 and warranties were "lost in the shuffle".  I told **** this and he did not respond that this was untrue in any way.  I had furnace work done with W.F. Hann on two prior occasions(12-5-08 invoice#****** and 7-25-11 invoice#******) before the extended warranty work.  On these prior occasions, W.F. Hann has me as the new home owner and the furnace serial number listed on the invoice.  If they would have updated the information in their computer system, they would easily have known that the warranty changed hands.  Once again, **** is giving me "the runaround", is not admitting that their computer system failed, is not offering any means of reconciling the matter in any way.  I feel this is no way to treat a loyal customer. 

Business Response:  The customer did NOT fill out the paperwork required to transfer from Carrier. It does NOT matter if I have an address, phone number, name, etc. , the paper work was NOT TRANSFERED AS HE IS STATING. As I mentioned previously, IF he has CARRIER call me and let me know that the transfer took place, I would be glad to reimburse him. Carrier has already informed me that NEVER took place.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: W. F. hann and sons charged me a $89.00 fee to tell me that my valve on my geothermal unit was stuck open. I already told them this. The valve is a Taco valve and is only under warranty for one year and is quite expensive. I had a technician from Hann and Sons come out to my house, look at the valve as I stated and checked it to make sure when you shut the geothermal unit down that the mechanical part of the valve is still not hot (live). It was not and then told me that I needed to replace it with a new valve. However I called the manufacturer and talked to a technician and was told the only reason the valve is stuck open is because there is a piece of dirt or something causing it to stay open. She then told me to take the water pressure off the valve and unscrew 4 screws to see what is blocking the valve from closing and remove it. My complaint is that for $89.00 all I get is a technician telling me what I already know and the company refusing to check for the dirt that maybe causing the valve to stay open but they want to sell me an expensive valve instead. The service manager told me that it is a liability and they would not look to see what was causing the valve to stay open. I say that is why they have liability insurance.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $89.00 refunded to me.

Business Response: 2-21-2012
From: **** *****To: BBB
Re: *** ***** ** ********
Our typical Residential service diagnostic charge is $89.00. This charge is no different than one that would be incurred
by a consumer for a potential car or computer repair or the likes. That being said, one that is not waived by us if a
consumer feels that they have already diagnosed their problem on their own, nor would one by waived by an
automobile mechanic if an individual's transmission appears to be at fault, or even a possible virus is known by a
consumer on their computer as it is brought in for repair. The particular part (water zone valve) that this customer is
stating was felt to be defective by them was confirmed by our technician, replaced prior on 5-20-2010, and carries a one
year manufacturer's warranty. Our technician‘s diagnosis also entailed checking his system in entirety to ensure that
there was no other source causing the failure of the zone valve. Though it is generally a manufacturers‘ posture to speak
Only with a dealer or service individual, and not a consumer directly due to liability factors, this particular manufacturer
for whatever reason unfortunately did choose to. This also being the case, the recommendation that this manufacturer
had given this customer on how to possibly correct their problem by disassembling a normally sealed part that is not
meant to be field repaired is not the opinion that W.F. Hann and Sons shares due to viability issues. Issues that range
from more severe water leakage by disassembling the part, to levels of water leakage that could in fact flood their
surrounding area when using their equipment. Such is why our technician had recommended replacing the defective
part that was found, and no option was given to the homeowner as to what they could do to possibly repair it. And
though this customer feels that "this is why we have liability insurance", it is our belief that our liability insurance is held
by us to protect ourselves and consumers in the event of an unforeseen occurrence, versus one that is seen prior to
performing our services and not acted upon appropriately.
Thank you,
**** *****Residential Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I read the response from W. F. Hann and sons and feel the company only looks a profit ahead of it's customers.  I agree that I did allow a technician to come out and diagnos the problem, however, the technician in question did not do a full diagnostic check of my system, but only looked at the valve in question.  As to the analogy made, if I took my vehicle in because it was not running correctly, they would not tell me I need a new engine, but would fix the part needed to repair it such as taking out a spark plug and cleaning it only if the ap was still correct.  I sincerely believe this company got caught in an unfair practice of only wanting to replace the part.  If the part in question was unable to be repaired, the technical team from Taco would not tell me how to remedy the problem.  I feel I should get at least half of my money back, not because of the refusal to fix the valve, but because their technician did not perform a full diagnostic check, and only checked the valve.  The technician was only at my house for 5 minutes looking at the valve and tapped it with his wrench.  As far as the company making the valve worse, I do not understand that because if the valve did leak, I would turn the water off to the system and it would be a win win, as they would then have to replace the valve anyways.  The fact of the matter is this company puts profit before people.

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

Business Response: 4-4-12
From: **** *****
To: BBB
Re: *** ***** ** * *******
It is unfortunate that this customer, after ten years of service with us, views us now as a company that "puts pro?t
ahead of people". With that said, we believe that our current ratings with not only the BBB, but also organizations such
as Angie's list speak for themselves. Though our posture from a company standpoint still remains the same in our
handling of this speci?c service call, we will unfortunately have to agree to disagree with this customer. Let it be known
also that the accusation that this customer is also stating that our technician was at their home for 5 minutes is without
merit, and can be proven by a generated report for that speci?c day, and the fact that our company utilizes GPS devices
which are installed in all of our vehicles. This speci?c report, as I have just mentioned prior, clearly shows our technician
at this customer's residence fora total of 29 minutes, and not 5. But in closing though, we would have no reservations
reimbursing this customer not only half the diagnostic charge of $44.50 as requested bv them, but the full amount of
$89.00. And though this reimbursement that we are offering is not, and should not be viewed as an admission of guilt, it
should though as one of good faith, in our effort of achieving 100% customer satisfaction that our company continually
strives towards.
Thank you,
**** *****
Residential Service Manager

Business Response: **** ***** with the company called our office on April 19, 2012 and indicated a check request was submitted on April 17th.  The check should reach the consumer by the middle of next week.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.