Download Download

BBB Accredited Business since

The Plumbing Source, Inc.

Phone: (855) 214-0090 Fax: (216) 365-0166 View Additional Phone Numbers 5042 Corbin Dr, Bedford Hts, OH 44128 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.plumbingsource.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Plumbing Source, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Plumbing Source, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Plumbing Source, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1988 Business started: 10/01/1985 in OH Business incorporated 01/02/1991 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gregory J. Faustina, Owner Mr. Tony DiNardo, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory J. Faustina, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Drainage Contractors Pipe Line Contractors Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Dealers Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
Chagrin Valley Plumbing Schupp Plumbing Seven Hills Plumbing Solon Plumbing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Plumbing Source, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5042 Corbin Dr

    Bedford Hts, OH 44128 (216) 365-0600 (855) 214-0090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 22, I paid 79.00 to have my air conditioner condensate drain cleaned by The Plumbing Source. This was because my Ac unit was leaking. Two weeks later, my AC unit started to leak again. On July 8,The Plumbing Source tech, Josh, came out and looked at my unit and stated that there would be no service charge, since this issue was not fixed previously. He looked at the AC unit for 10 minutes, and then quoted me 1200 dollars for an elastic coil replacement. I asked him what my options were and he rudely told me, I can check the pressure, but you need A new coil. He did not do any thorough diagnostics to come to this conclusion. He also quoted my s price for an AC unit. No service charges were charged upon his visit. I had another company come out, and they thoroughly cleaned out the trap in my AC unit, and he actually checked the pressure in the elastic coil, and stated that everything was fine. My AC unit has not been leaking for almost 3 weeks now, and is running fine. On July 30, I received a bill from the Plumbing Source for 147 dollars for diagnostics. This was not billed during the July 8 visit and no diagnostics were done. I find this to be dishonest and unethical.

Desired Settlement: I should not owe the Plumbing Source anything. I paid them 644.10 for Plumbing Services and an AC service that did not fix the issue. Also, I was quoted a 1200 dollar repair that was not needed. I request the 147 dollars be taken off my bill.

Business Response: Greg F******* <greg@plumbingsource.net>
11:33 AM

to me 
Hello *******
I spoke with Tasha Slay yesterday and assured her she doesn’t owe us any money. I also thanked her for the report making us aware of possible unacceptable sales tactics. I also told her I have not had this complaint before from this technician. But it will be addressed at our weekly safety meeting. So all personnel can be again reminded of their responsibility to our customers to give them choices and recommendations based on findings.
Tasha says she is satisfied with our crediting her account.
Thank You
Greg F******* President

6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Family and I experienced plumbing issues after I returned home from work. We have two bathrooms, and neither toilet was usable because they could not be flushed. When attempting to run water in a sink, or shower, the toilet would begin to bubble and create a gurgling sound. This was later in the afternoon, and after normal business hours, leaving a house of six people with no bathroom facilities. We decided to call for a plumber to come out and unclog the drain, and chose The Plumbing Source. The choice of using The Plumbing Source resulted in three separate visits, spanning over two weeks to resolve the problem, and we had to replace our toilet after it was damaged during the first visit. The broken toilet still has not been acknowledged by the company. Financially this has resulted in over $1000, and it has caused the inconvenience of waiting far longer than desired for a solution in a house with four adults and two children.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my money refunded in full from any charges i paid to this business. I would also like to be reimbursed for the cost of replacing the toilet and parts after the damages.

Business Response:

Business responded to complaint.  See attached.

Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 10/16/15.

10/16/2015

Dear BBB
RE: **** *********
**** ***** ******* **
********** **** *****

Unless you are a plumber or familiar with plumbing systems it might be hard to understand the challenge it is to snake this type of system. This is a slab home that has history of backing up.  We have snaked this a couple years before and at the time we noted that a camera was recommended but customer declined. The plumber snaked from an outside cleanout first, but was useless for this blockage because it’s a separate branch with no cleanout. So the plumbers moved the equipment inside, removed the toilet (the customer says we broke) and snaked the sewer from there. It’s a very difficult snaking considering there are back to back toilets. He was able to get his snake down the cross and the sewer open at the base of the stack. They reset the toilet tested by flushing several times, all appeared to be ok. This was an after hour’s emergency call so the charges are more during this time of day. 9/23/15 $ 443.28. 2 men aprox time 1.75 hrs
The customer sent us a picture showing the broken toilet. Hole in base of trap way. This American Standard (old) toilet has a syphon jet hole on the bottom that is supposed to be there. This picture also shows a staining in and around the hole. Also if there was a hole through the china it would have leaked all over the floor and it wouldn’t be perfectly round.  
      9/28/15 - Sewer backs up again: we returned to the house and this time the plumber snaked the sewer from the vent stack on the roof. The sewer opened again in the same place at base of stack. Also replaced a toilet handle and replaced the flapper. Note this is the toilet the customer claims we broke. Tested sewer again flushing several times. Noted on ticket running very good. All this was done at no charge.  2 men aprox. 1.5 hrs N/C. as a side note both men were paid over time for this work.
    10/8/15 – Sewer backs up again: This time we returned and snaked again from the roof vent. Was able to get blockage cleared, again at base of stack. This time we felt it necessary to use a Sewer inspection camera to find out what was causing this to reoccur so often. Plumber found an unidentifiable object stuck at base of stack. So they again started snaking using 3 different size cutter’s until the object freed up and moved down the sewer. The only way this object could have gotten in the sewer was from the vent stack. I don’t claim to know how, just that we didn’t put it there. 
We did not charge again for the snaking but we did charge for the camera work. Total $355.00 - 2 men over 2hrs and again overtime pay.  
I feel that this customer was fairly charged and I suspect he truly believes we put that hole in his toilet. But the hole was there all along.  It was not obvious the first time out that this was going to be an unusual situation. We don’t assume there is an object obstructing the sewer. (Not normally) We also responded every time he called the same day to help minimize the inconvenience.    

Greg F******* Pres,
The Plumbing Source

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear Greg,

I have attached the picture of the toilet again (Toilet_Image_1), and i would like to point out the angle. The hole is not in a position to be beneficial to the flow of water. I have also attached a reference image to the placement of a jet hole (Jet_Hole_Example). The jet hole would be used with the purpose of directing the flow of water into the trap way. The hole that is in the bottom of my toilet, and shown in the picture, is in the back of the bowl/trap way. If this was a jet hole, the water flowing through it would be aimed back out of the toilet, instead of being used to guide the water down the trap way. This resulted in a disruption of the normal water flow, and a bubbling or gurgling noise as the water would try to flush. The siphon method of the toilet pulls the water of the bowl downward, while the damaged hole is pushing in the opposite direction. 

To address the comment of leaks "all over the floor", i would like to point out another item from the Jet_Hole_Example image. There is a void within the toilet which is just below the entrance to the trap way. This area would not cause any leaking on the floor, but it would fill with the water from the toilet bowl instead of sending it down into the piping beneath. After the technicians came out on 10/8/15 one of them added water to the tank area, and then tipped the toilet over for the water to enter the bowl. There were two instance of water that could be seen at this point. There was the clear water from the tank area, and dark (almost black) water from the hole in the toilet. The dark water is the dirty sewage water that was pushed into the toilet during the backup earlier that day. It had poured from the hole where it had been caught after replacing the toilet.

The cost of your services has been higher than predicted, but we were willing to agree to them due to the after-hours nature of our initial call. The issues should have been resolved during the second visit by your company, regardless of the additional $355.00. Although it came with no additional charge, the second team failed to provide any paperwork or documentation as to the work they performed on 9/28/15. The team from 9/28 may have been paid overtime but this was a scheduled call from your company. We contacted the company and they called us back with the time and date for the technicians to arrive. 

The main focuses of frustrations during this process are as follows:

- The toilet that was damaged during the initial visit that we have been forced to replace on our own. 

- The time of completion is absolutely unsatisfactory. I could look passed returning once, but the second visit of 9/28/15 should have resolved the problem and verified the solution. Instead we had the same issues occurring and the technicians failed to provide any documentation on what they did or did not do. 

- The lack of professionalism from this company has been a reoccurring issue also. From damaging the toilet, failing to provide documentation of work, and taking three calls to finally arrive at a solution.

 I understand how the setup might be challenging but you advertise your company as professionals and i would expect them to perform as such. The fact that damage was caused to our personal property during your 2+ week solution is unsettling. As a professional company I would expect to pay for professional service, but at this point I've had to pay for unsatisfying service and paid two men to damage my property. 


Regards,

**** ********* 

Business Response: Business response taken over the phone by BBB staff 11/18/15. He advised that he called the consumer on 11/6/15, offered $200, consumer agreed, check went out in the mail last week.

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just want to start off by saying that we have had The Plumbing Source out to our house before and they have always done a great job. However, on July 8th, when they came out to give us an estimate on fixing an outside faucet they failed to do their job. I told him since we bought the house we never tried to use the faucet and were scared we were going to have issues with it. I wanted to make sure there was a plumber (a professional) to do it. In order to turn it on he was going to have to go under our kitchen sink. He fiddled around with a few of the turn on valves and got it on. No issues! We have a working outside water! He was out about 12pm. At 9 pm I was cleaning up my house and the carpet was soaked! Where was this water coming from? Well it was coming from under a cabinet in the kitchen. While the plumber was here he turned on one of the valves, and never turned it off. We never even knew there was an open pipe there. But if he was messing with the valves, dont you think he would have put them back to where they were? The Plumbing Source came out that night to turn off the water. While the two techs were here they called the original guy who came out and he admitted to them that he was playing with the valves. They charged me for the service call to turn off the water (that they never turned off in the first place). Well they STILL never turned the right valve off, and they couldnt tell where the water was coming from. This resulted in us having to have a restoration company come out in the morning and pull up all the carpet, flooring, and actually cut out drywall. The Plumbing Source came back out the next day and had to cap the pipe that we found was still pouring water. The tech walked in and said Wow, Im really sorry, I did this he admitted it to the company that was here cleaning everything and my husband and I. He never charged us for capping the pipe. My kitchen and living room were destroyed! We made an insurance claim and they didnt pay it all out. Plumbing Sources insurance company is not helping either. We lived without a kitchen and living room for 3 1/2 months. I have 3 kids, (a 3 year old and 1 year old TWINS). They have never tried once to reach out to us, about making this right? They ruined our summer and they ruined our home.

Desired Settlement: For what my insurance company didn't cover.

Business Response: Business responded to complaint.

 
1-27-2014
Dear BBB
Re: ***** ***** ID*******
7-6-2013 date of service. Our initial call was for a sewer blockage. While we were there the customer requested we look at this outside faucet that wasn’t working. In an attempt to locate the source of water supply to the outside faucet the plumber opened a shutoff valve and neglected to shut it back off. 
7-8-2013 we returned to the home to find an area in the living room carpet that was wet. He located the source of water and shut off the valve. Please note the water was in the living room and did not appear to be that significant. He offered to get a water restoration company to come out but the customer already made those arrangements. The water was actually leaking from an abandoned water supply to an old sink location. The person that did this attempted to cap off the water line by soldering a crimped pipe. An unacceptable way to cap off an abandoned water line. It was a pin hole size leak but of course over a day or two a lot of water could accumulate. We didn’t create this leak someone else did. A plumbing system is designed so that a shutoff should be able to be turned on or off without causing water to leak.  
7/9/2013 the original plumber returned to the home to continue with the clogged sewer issue. We snaked the sewer again and sent our camera down the sewer to make a video inspection.  While he was there he properly capped off the water line so some other person might not make the same mistake and turn the valve on. The plumbing system was faulty before we ever came to the home. 
Please note – Up to this point the customer has never called to complain or even hint that there was a problem with Plumbing Source.
FAST FORWARD 3-1/2 months later 
10-23-2013 I receive an E Mail from a 3rd party telling me to notify my insurance that there was a lot of damage done at this home. We have not heard from this customer nothing till this E Mail. We had no idea there any damage other than wet carpet. Here this person is a friend somehow with the customer. We immediately called the customer and the husband answered the phone and was really not aware of what was going on with insurance etc. So I then called my insurance company to report it. As of this writing my insurance company still has not been notified from the customer’s insurance company. If the customer’s insurance company feels they should subrogate against the plumber then my insurance company would settle with them. Another interesting note here is. We were never notified until after all repairs were made. All we seen was an area of wet carpet in an adjacent room and not the whole room either. One of the customer’s complaints was that the appliances didn’t match. Water leaked in a wall between the kitchen and living room, I’ve been in this business a long time and have seen some very significant water damage claims but can’t imagine this water caused the customer this much damage. There must be a reason why the customer’s insurance company hasn’t satisfied their demands. 
1/27/2014 I received notice from Cleveland BBB of a complaint. I feel that we did not do anything wrong other than turning on a valve that should have been in working order and not shutting it off. (Faulty plumbing system) At this time I feel it’s in the insurance company’s hand to satisfy their customer.  My insurance company has been notified and will act in a responsible manner when appropriate.  
Sincerely, 
**** ********, President 
The Plumbing Source
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on The Plumbing Source, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart