BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 226-4506 View Additional Phone Numbers 10007 Dennison Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44102 http://www.rotorooter.com/cleveland/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing services, drain cleaning, sewer line replacement, water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, backflow testing, gas line repair and grease trap pumping.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1935
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Arquilla, President Mr. Ron Trebec, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Arquilla, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ron Trebec, General Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Damage Restoration Waterproofing Contractors

Products & Services

Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. offers the following product(s): Roto-Rooter Drain Care

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Cash, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and American Express. Financing may be available.       
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 214-4732(Phone)
  • (216) 226-4500(Phone)
  • (216) 573-7323(Phone)
  • (216) 692-4000(Phone)
  • (216) 875-5260(Phone)
  • (440) 243-0000(Phone)
  • (440) 439-7725(Phone)
  • (440) 542-0570 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11, 2014, Roto Rooter sent me a proposal regarding a repair that needed to be done on my Fairview Park house which is rented. The renter complained that the drains were backing up. Roto Rooter had someone inspect, who said that the toilets should not be flushed, since it will back up. I told Farmer's Insurance that Roto Rooter said it is an emergency and that it will cost $7,300 to seal leaking joints with a 4' and 2' pipe patch; and it will need high pressure water jet to clear the backup. Farmers could not send out their appraiser until the work was completed, but stated to go ahead with the job, since it seems to be an emergency although I advised Farmers Insurance of the charges. I allowed Roto Rooter to charge my credit card the full amount, since I was under the impression that the insurance company would pay for it and because they advised me to go ahead. Roto Rooter did complete the work. Meanwhile, since I live in *******, I was not able to sign the agreement in person, so I had my brother sign. The only paper he signed was the first page, which did not show the charge of $7,300.I called other plumbing companies in the area, who said that $7,300 was an excessive amount for the work that was proposed. They would not pay more than $3,000. I disputed $4,300 of the $7,300 on my Discover card. I had not heard anything since then, until April 28, 2014 when I received my statement that reposted the $4,300. The Discover representative told me they sent me a letter on March 27, 2014, which I did not receive. Since it is past the deadline for disputing, I am stuck with this added amount. The insurance company notified me that since this was a maintenance issue and not an actual emergency, which Roto Rooter led me to believe, they will not cover the cost. Meanwhile, the renter has complained that the drains are still moving slowly. Roto Rooter completed the job without tearing up the basement floor, which took only two half days to complete. $7,300 is excessive!

Desired Settlement: I have paid the $3,000 of the $7,300, but would like to have the $4,300 refunded to my Discover card immediately. I think that would be more than fair. The $7,300 is absolutely ridiculous and I will take further measures if this is not resolved as soon as possible.

Business Response:

BBB

Thank you for your assistance with this issue.

We can empathize with Ms. *****s' situation with her insurance company. However, we provided a valuable service and after review the below response, I believe you will agree the charges are fair and the work was professional, and actually saved Mrs. *****s a number of other issues and money. I will address them in order that they appear in Ms. *****s' complaint.

In February, we responded to the service call for **** *******, in *********, ****. After diagnosing the problem, including the use of a fiber optic sewer camera, we provided Mrs. *****s with an estimate for the needed repair services.

We showed the problems to her brother, Mr. **** *****s. Then came back the next day to show the issues to her insurance company.

Mrs. ****** authorized the work and charges, and had her brother sign the work order authorization. Mrs. *****s mentions that he only sined the first page, which is true, as we only have a very simple one page form. The charge listd on the form is $7,326.00. While entering the job into our system a data entery error occured and $7,300 was enter, rather than the $7,326.

Mrs. *****s mentions that Farmers Insurance has declined to pay for the services, due to the problem being maintenance rather than emergency. I cannot comment on this aspect of the complaint, as I do not know the coverages afforded in her policy, nor were we working for the insurance company. This service issue was called into us, and we responded. We did not deem it to be an emergency or maintenance for insurance purposes.The tenants seemed to feel it was an emergency, since they could not get their waste water to drain out of the home.

Mrs. *****r had another plumbing company come out and see the work we were doing. It was Royal Flush plumbing. Once their representative saw the extent of the repair, and the fact that it would require digging up the basement floor, which also would have required disconnecting and moving the furnance, he said "wow, no wonder it costs so much, and we don't have that pipe patch stuff". Which is true, as we are he only company in Cuyahoga county that has it, as it is a newer technology that requires a financial investment and a very thorough technique. The lead technician on this job is a 30+ year licensed plumber.

It was the installation of two of these patches that allowed us to NOT have to break up the basement floor in Mrs. *****s' property, and allowed a repair of the main drainline of the home. This also relieved the need to disconnect and displace the furnace. The temperatures in ********* were below freezing. Removing the furnace in this home would have created a heating problem for the residents of the home,and subjected the above ground water lines to freezing temperatures - possibly causing additional problems. A third patch was installed near the test tee, at the front of the property. Besides fixing part of the drainage issue, this repair also prevented digging up the front yard, causing additional landscaping costs and possible sidewalk repair.    

This was not the typical sewer line repair the another company would have assumed in a phone conversation, without having seen the issues. I can confidently say none of our competitors could have or would have done this work, especially for $3,000. All others would have had to be far more invasive.

We received a letter of dispute from Discover Card. We addressed the concerns and provided a copy of the signed work authorization (authorizing the work and charges), and the signed completion statement (stating complete satisfaction of the described work).

Th renters, and Mrs. *****s called on April 30, 2014, stating that the kitchen sink and bathroom sink were not draining properly. A service call was scheduled for 12:00 - 2:00 pm that same day. We dispatched one of our most experienced plumbers and he arrived at 1:00 pm. *****, the tenant, showed him the kitchen sink, and that the water did not drain very well from the side with the garbage disposal. It drain perfectly from the other side. He examined the garbage disposal, and found that it was not plugged in, and that the outlet it had been in had black "burn" marks on it. He asked, but ***** did not know what had happened, or why it was unplugged. He plugged the disposal into another outlet and turned it on. It ground up what was in it, and the water then drained properly from that side as well. He recommended that they have an electrician look at the outlet.

She then took him to the bathroom sink. It was draining very slow. He found that the pop up stopper was pushed well down into the drain hole. He showed her how to use it and tested the water flow. It now drained properly. She thanked him. There was no charge for this service visit and the remedies delivered.

I hope this helped clarify the facts and extent of the needed repairs, and demonstrates that the repairs were effective, and the charges were not excessive.

Thank you again for your time and attention to this matter.

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

 

 

 

Business Response:

Please see the attached rsponse.

Thank you!

Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 6/3/14.

June 3, 2014

******* ******
Trade Assistant
Better Business Bureau, Inc.
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408
RE: Complaint ID 10029279

Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for your continued assistance with this matter.

In reading all the information, I believe the true complaint is with Ms. ******’ insurance company, or in the policy that she had covering the property. However, this is only my opinion. I again can empathise with her situation

I believe Ms. ****** is also the recipient of some poor information, from some contractors and plumbers. None of these “advisors” are qualified to give pricing information on Pipe Patch, as they have never been trained/authorized for its purchase or use. One of Ms. ******’ contractors gave her a written estimate for completing the same service we did, for $630.00. (attached) It also states that the patches can be simply purchased at the hardware store. 

I am attaching a letter from Source One Environmental, the manufacturer and supplier of the Pipe Patch technology. I believe this letter will help show the poor quality of the information being given.

Ms. ****** states that Roto-Rooter is mentioned on a consumer watch web site. Roto-Rooter does appear on there. A business of any size and scope will have disputes with consumers. It is an unfortunate part of business and serving the public. I sincerely believe that most Roto-Rooter offices do a great job of working with the thousands of customers we help everyday.
Under further review, a number of Ms. ******’ information sources also appear on that site.

Roto-Rooter is the largest plumbing company and therefore is a large target for all the competitors in this industry. Their claims against us are another unfortunate part of doing business in a highly competitive field. I respect what they do, but they are not in an educated position to assist Ms. ******.

Ms. ****** alludes to considerable investment of time, training and a great deal of capital into a technology that can be a great solution for the tough problems home owners face – the Pipe Patch system. This is very true, we have, and we are proud that we can bring the best solutions to our customers. But she seems upset that we would charge for that technology. Taking the risk and making the investment is the essence of being in business. You have to charge for it. If not, why invest and make it available to consumers? It did eliminate the considerable mess that she would have faced by having to dig up the concrete basement floor, and outside grass and soil. Other customers have been thrilled with this outcome, and the reduced expense it rendered.

Roto-Rooter’s size and length of time in business gives us the ability to offer the best guarantees in the business and be around, long term, to back them up. Investment and revenue provides that ability. Our charges are fair and have provided customer care for over 75 years.

Again, I know this was a traumatic experience and an expense that was thought to be covered by insurance. The fact that it was not a covered repair must be very frustrating. 
e gave an estimate, sent the relevant paperwork and only began work after the Work Order Authorization was signed by Ms. ******’ brother, **** ******, her appointed representative. We could have waited indefinitely to make the repair, but the work and charges were accepted. We went to work immediately. I believe the family living in the home appreciated that they were again able to use their facilities, and were not displaced from the house for the repair.

Mr. ****** also signed that the described work was done to his complete satisfaction.

 

Sincerely,

*** ******
Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Consumer Response:

Please tell me what more clarification you might need.  I emailed all the information, as well as a letter explaining everything in detail, I thought.

Please see the letter that I sent to ******* ******.

Thanks,
  ***********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: If you are thinking about using Roto Rooter, please think again. One of my clients had ponding water on their roof and it was leaking at the drain. It was imperative to get the water off of the roof so I called Roto Rooter out there. They came out and told me the water needed to be pumped off of the roof with a commercial pump. They did not have an account with my client and they needed payment before any work was to be done. To expedite things, I gave them my credit card number which they charged immediately. My client witnessed the conversation that the Roto Rooter technician was going to buy a commercial pump and pump all of the water off of the roof. I was not on site, but my client said they muddled around for about 30 minutes and left the site. No pump was purchased and the water was still on the roof. However they made sure they charged my credit card $495 for 30 minutes of standing around. I called them the next day to find out if they were coming back and by this time it was a moot point because the rain had stopped. They claimed they were to "jet" the water off of the roof and that their job was done. I didn't even know what "jetting" was and surely would have asked. I found out later you cannot jet water off of a roof if the drains are clogged. They mentioned to my client that the drains were clogged so it is not even a logical excuse. After talking with them on the phone, I tried to be as diplomatic as possible, but they proved to be the MOST unprofessional company I have ever experienced and inappropriately rude. They got my credit card number and pretended to do something for 30 minutes and left. The beautiful thing about this is that I have a witness that was on site who both heard the conversation on the phone and was there the whole time. If I am not issued a full refund, I will be suing. It is only $495, but it is the principle at this point and these companies should NOT be able to get away with this!

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $495

Business Response:

Dear *******,

Thank you very much for you time and attention to this issue. I apologize for the time it is taking from you.

I believe if you research our relationship with the BBB, and the responses to any customer issues, we are always very responsinve and reseptive to giving the benefit of the doubt to a customer, and at the very least an extensive investigation. We value our customers and our reputation highly.

This particular case is filled with a great deal of impropriaty and manipulation. I have been advised not disclose all of the information we have, as it is likely to be used in a legal action against Mr. *******, for libel, as he has rendered this in writing, to the BBB, a platform which will have a negative and lasting impact on our business and the reputation that we take so seriously.

I am attaching a time line of events for your review. This time line was made by **** ******* who is referred to in the complaint as a sales person. He is actually our Plumbing Manager and has been a lincesed plumber in the State of Ohio for over 30 years. Statements and information is also included for our plumber, that was assigned to this job, ******* ******, a licensed plumber for 20 + years.

Our offer of resolution, is for Mr ******* to rescind this "complaint" and refrain for further libel and slanderous statements. I will then advise our legal department that the matter is resolved and can be closed.

Again, I thank you so much for your time!

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Division Manager 

Response from plumbing manager copied and pasted below by BBB staff 11/8/13.

**** ******* Plumbing Mgr

Roto Rooter

5375 Naiman Pkwy

10/30/13 12:26PM

Returned call to *** ******, ----~Customer indicated that he wanted full refund from credit card for
services rendered on roof job.

Up to this point, *** has never identified himself. Finally after repeated questions as to who he was or
who he represented---He stated that he was with the garland Company. He mentioned Fairview Park
schools several times as if he was representing them.

The first time this job was in the system, l personally attempted to contact the number to get the proper
tech to the site. No answer was returned. Days later when the job was back on the board, ourjetter
went out to the site. I instructed (***** our jetter) not to do any work until it was authorized because
of the hard time we had in reaching this guy previously, -----which had no info, or history, or company...

September 4"‘ 11:12AM Service call placed "3 roof drains clg&repair the pipes to the roof drains
as well. Call with appointment time. " Made several attempts to set appointment for service-~~--
voided ticket September 13"‘.

Second Call ONE MONTH LATER

Oct. 7 customer calls back. This time here is the ticket or work order called in by *** * ***** " 2
drains clog--lowest level roof drains." Request 1x bo $500.00.

When l saw this ticket pop up again three weeks later and requesting a one time credit, I informed our
jetter not to do any work until payment could be secured because Mr. * ***** was not returning calls
and was not part of the school but some unexplained third party.

*****, Roto Rooter jetter did what he was instructed to do. He finally secured payment from Mr. *
***** and we attempted to unclog the roof drains that were shown him. The lines were not able to be
opened and then Mr. ******* asked if we could put an industrial pump on the roof. He was told that for
an additional charge we could put a temporary sump pump on the roof. However this is where the
recollection goes out the window.

n Mr ******’ s letter to the BBB he is representing himself as some unknowing consumer not the
Roofing contractor. Mr. ******* now states he thought the jet was going to pump the water off the
roof, If he is a consultant for the school board in the building maintenance field and he has never heard
of a sewer jet, or by his own words does not know what a industrial pump is, or that he thinks the

p.2

solution for the clogged roof drains is to install an industrial pump on the roof, these are signs of
inexperience or incompetence----or maybe both.

Both service tickets that were called in by Mr. *******, requested roof drains to be unclogged.
There was no mention of a pump being installed on the roof and the request for the pump came only
after the attempt to unclog the roof drains failed with the jet.---------~--Maybe Mr ****** thought that
we take 150 thousand dollar pieces of equipment with two men, get on a customers roof and there is no
charge for this equipment and man power.

In addition to our two men on site and our attempt to jet line with our $150,000.00 Jet bus; we
went inside the building to attempt a different access point. My guy even went into the crawl space to
see if there was a cleanout for the storm system in there.

We were speaking of ways to make the pipe repairs or rerouting etc. when the Maintenance guy
suggested putting a pump on the roof. Jeff the school maint guy stated that they were not paying for
this service that the charges were to go to *** O’*****. When Mr. O’***** was informed of the price to
install sump pump for an additional 400.00 dollars he said no and said he was only paying for the jetting.

Our jet fees have been constant for over ?ve years-—--—we charge commercial customers $350.00 for
the first hour, and $260.00 for each additional hour. ln addition there should have been a second man
charge @ 97.00 per hour, due to the fact of going on the roof and needing the second man for safety
reasons.

We were there for about two hours. We will be contacting Mr. *******’s superiors, for the deceptive,
sketchy, misleading practices stating that his client could not get an account with Roto Rooter, when
infact it was the school that said they were not paying for our services, Mr. ******* was to pay for our
services -—-in fact he was the one that called the service in.

Mr. ******* comes across as poor uneducated residential consumer, and big bad Roto Rooter was trying
to take advantage of this poor unsuspecting soul, when in fact he is a roofing contractor for Garland Co,
who has been less that forthright from the beginning.

Third Call

Cust did call back on the 8"‘ of October and requested us to return and install a pump------Mr. *******
had declined installing the pump, he stated he was only paying for the jet. Mr. ******* knew he had
declined the additional charges for the pump and when he was informed we needed an additional
400.00 dollars is when he got amnesia and had no idea the way the water was on the roof, or how the
water could be removed from the roof. Never mind the two previous tickets that asked us to unclog the
drains,-----now Mr. ******* is stating that the only thing he ever really wanted from Roto Rooter was to
install an industrial pump on the roof for his client. But wanted us to charge the school for the services.

p. 3

Whatever position or role he was playing with the school we still do not know. All I know at this point is
that he wants to use our services for his client and had no intentions of paying anything for the services.
And further more if his letter was trueful, and he really does not know what a jet is  then he has no
business over seeing or consulting a school for their roofing problems. We are the drain opening
business In addition if a drain cannot be opened then we give the customer options to make the water
go away. If the customer wants to go a different direction, repair thing s in house get another quote or
refuse additional charges for more work then we part ways.

They wanted a pump but did not want to pay for the pump.

As for Mr. ** ***** wanting to expedite the services, he extended his Credit card for payment-as stated
in his letter to theBBB ---The truth of the matter is the school told us flat out that Mr ******* was
getting the bill that was told us by the school. I do not understand that he gave RR his credit card as a
favor----Mr. ******* was the one responsible for paying for the services.

For the record-----we would have extended the school the account—we do it every day. But
the school told us that they were not paying for the services that were called in by Mr. *******.

As far as them hearing about a pump, the eye witness, There is no doubt they heard the
conversation about the pump--------What they did not hear on the other side of the conversation that
Mr. ******* stated in the phone he was only paying for the jetting and not pay the total of 800.00 for
the pump too.

As far as the Mr. ******* calling in and saying how rude he was treated, Mr. ******* called in to
my office phone, I put him on speaker because it just so happened that ***** was in my ofi?ce (the
letter), and the two of them gave their accounts of what transpired. l also reminded him of the past
attempts to reach the ghost caller Mr. ******* . This is when Mr. ******* began to state that he wanted
a refund because we did not install the pump, ***** stated that Mr. ******* declined to pay for the
pump, and just wanted to pay for the jetting. As the conversation continued he wanted to meet to
resolve the issue, he want to come to the office, l said l would prefer to go to the job site since this is
where the work was preformed and this is where the other individuals were that we spoke with. Then
Mr. ******* asked me what the address was»--this seemed strange since this was his customer. He
then stated he knew which property it was he just wants to know if we knew where the job was?????

At any rate the time was agreed as 1 PM on Friday-----Which Mr. ******* then stated" you better be
there or there is going to be trouble". Was that a threat? Friday came and he canceled the meeting.

We spoke again 12:36pm 10/30/13 and stated he wanted a full refund. It was only after all of these
dealings that he stated that he worked for a roofing company Garland Ind. I said that if he would like to
discuss a partial refund or reasonable compromise I would be happy to explore this option. He took the
hard line stance and this is where we are right now. I will continue to reach his company and give them
the facts of this unprofessional encounter with Mr. *******, the roofer for Garland ind.

Bottom line be Leery of Mr *****.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they agreed 6 months warranty and pay only after solving the problem. They said broken pipe underground.No 6 month warranty.They diagnosed wrong. They came to solve the sewer backup at night on 1/12/2013(that night I had to take care of my son and gave the $496 check to my tenant, pay after solving the problem) . We agreed 6 months warranty. They said there are broken pipes under the family floor and need a new toilet. On 2/16/2013, the problem was coming back and they came to snake again and said no more warranty. Then I changed a new toilet, but less than one month the backup coming again. I called Hofmann Plumbing for service on 3/15/2013 and they sent camera in and found there is no broken pipe underground. The backup was caused by the some roots .They cut the roots and the problem was completely solved. I think Roto Rooter technician diagnosed wrong, did wrong. He said solving the problem needs about $6000. The tenant asked me to fix the problem asap. But in fact all the sewer line is in good condition. They can call Hofmann's boss **** at ***********(cell) to confirm or they can go to send a camera to check by them self. I didn't solve my problem and caused new problem between me and my tenant,so I need my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me a full refund,because they diagnosed wrong, did wrong, said something wrong, I replaced a working old toilet, causing a bad effect on the relationship between me and tenants, and I lost my sleeping at least ten days.The tenants threatened me many times.

Business Response:

In reviewing this complaint, I have determined that there is enough reason to believe that we may not have delivered the World Class Service that we hold ourselves to, and if there is any doubt, we always err on the side of the customer.

I have authorized and already processed a refund for this customer.

Thank you so much for your time and efforts in bringing this issue to a conclusion.

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

 

Consumer Response: Today I got the full refund check from Roto Rooter. Thanks a lot for your help.

Have a good night!

*** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a technician out to my house because I had a problem with my drain I called Roto-Rooter. They sent a technician out, who came out and snaked my drain and got it stuck. Looked at me and said no charge then later when he still couldn't get the snake out the drain he said he would have to charge me cause "His time is worth something" then packed up and took the contract so I didn't have a copy of it. He gave a me a price to get his snake out and told me the problem is right under my front concrete walkway (one block) he took his finder and told me right where his camera got stuck. He gave me a price to dig out his snake.I didn't hear from him so I contacted there corporate a couple times and was always sent back to the Cleveland level a supervisor/manager contacted me and told me the snake was now my property. And after a couple phone calls we came to a price he said he would get the old pipe open and camera towards the house and towards the city side and hydro jet and get the snake out and fix the problem, he then sent out another supervisor/manager to write up the contract which was done and we told him this is where the guy said he got stuck. His crew came out dug up the yard and took out the old pipe and put in the new pipe never camerad the lines, to come find out there is another problem they told me it was a root or ground rod which was in the spot under the walkway where we showed them the night before. They brought out a camera another night and found out this time it was a hole/crack in the pipe same spot about 2to3 feet from where they stopped the new pipe. They then gave me the option of paying additional amount even though they never took a camera in the pipe when they first broke it like it was "supposed to be done". I dealt with 5 people from the company and still am at a loss there solution is for me to pay out more money into this job to fix something that could have been fixed in the first place but since they didn't camera till after the new pipe its now on me to pay.

Desired Settlement: I would like Roto-Rooter to own up to their mistake and fix this and I would like a meeting with *** **** ******** or *** *** ****** to get this resolved.

Business Response:

I would be more than happy to meet with *** ******. Please give me some options on times, as I believe it help to have all parties involved present at the same time.

We have offerred to make the additional repairs at the same price that it would have been, if ** ****** had had the repair done, while the hole was open. That offer still stands.

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear ** ******, my last name is ****** and also the inspector was there after all the "new pipe" was in and had to leave that is why your company had to send him pictures to show proof of the job in how it was done. I will not except the offer you have offered because this is about like I said in the last message *Your first Tech. pointed out where the problem was, which came to be your second tech. came out to write up a contract which was pointed out to him by my father and I were the problem was like the first tech. told us. Which then was not looked at till after all the new pipe was in which means your company did not camera the old pipe liked they said they would do upon opening the old pipe up to see. So I do not understand how you would like me to pay more on a job your company overlooked and then passed the buck onto the consumer.

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

 

Business Response:

We did everything we were contracted to do, and did it at a discounted rate. We discounted as a good faith offer, and giving the benefit of the doubt, that there was a communication break down. We found and fixed the initial issue, and completed the work that we were contracted to fix. All work in the initial scope of work has been completed and approved by the inspector. If we would have gone ahead and fixed the issue that was discovered later, we would have been guilty of doing work without authorization, and therefore. would not had the right to ask for compensation. Our policy is to not do any work without prior authorization, from the customer. This policy is in place to protect our customers from surprise charges. This policy is strongly upheld at the Cleveland Division.

We are not passing any of our work or responsibilty back to the consumer. The second issue could not be seen until the line was clear enough to do further inspection.

I fully conceed that communication could have been better, but without the decision maker on site, all communication was difficult. We did not cause the additional issues with the line, nor were we hired to fix it. We want to work with this customer, but it appears that we are expected to correct a problem that we were not hired to fix, nor did anyone know it was a problem until the line could be better inspected. A better inspection could not take place until the line had been cleared of the blockage and backed up debis.

We have already granted a sizable discount for the initial issue correction, because we always give our customers the benefit of the doubt. And we are again, offering to do this additional work at a reduced rate. Had the consumer responded to our call, from the work site, to inform him of the additioanl problem, and authorized the work, it could have been handled much more econically.

I am willing to take on the additioanl costs of manpower, fuel, backhoe, safety equipment and lost time - to redig to the sewer line. We are only asking to be paid for the actual repair.  

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1