Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing and Debords One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (440) 286-6002 Fax: (440) 286-3946 View Additional Phone Numbers 12043 Mayfield Rd, Chardon, OH 44024 View Additional Email Addresses http://debordsplumbing.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full service plumbing and HVAC service company, Specializing in Pump and Wells, sump pump, Septic & Aeration maintenance, repair and installation. Water Heaters, Water Treatment systems, bath remodeling and drain cleaning.  We also service furances, boiler, heat pumps, air conditioners both gas, electric, propane and oil.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing and Debords One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing and Debords One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing and Debords One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1973 in OH Business incorporated: 09/08/1986 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Leona Kratochvil, President/Secretary, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Leona Kratochvil, President/Secretary, Human Resources
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers Pumping Contractors Sewer Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Dealers Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Discover, Amex, Checks and Cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
100 % Satisfaction
Alternate Business Names
Benjamin Franklin Plumbing DeBord Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. DeBord Plumbing & Heating Co. Inc. Debord Services DeBord's Ben Franklin Plumbing DeBord's One Hour Heating & Air
Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • 12043 Mayfield Rd

    Chardon, OH 44024 (440) 286-6002

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February I, ******* ******* (***'s sister and P.O.A.) called Debord Plumbing & Heating whom we have used in the past without incident. *** was experiencing plumbing problems and an appointment was set up with Ben Franklin, another division of theirs. The day they came problems were discovered, some of which they said they were aware of but couldn't repair. They did thaw pipes and were asked to wrap them so the problem wouldn't continue, which they said they did. They also told *** to simply run an extension cord from an outlet from on his patio to control the problem of a bad module and receptacle and that it could be properly repaired by an electrician later on when the weather was good. Last week *** was again having water problems & a breaker kept tripping, Saturday his neighbor woke up to find water pouring out from under ***'s home. This gentleman (knowledgeable about the underside workings of manufactured homes), took it upon himself to checkout what was going on knowing ***'s limited knowledge of such workings and completely repaired the entire mess over the weekend causing *** additional costs ($750.00) in repairs. Much to all of our surprise, the work, or lack of, from Ben Franklin could have prevented this entire mess. There indeed was a busted pipe that wasn't replaced along with a shut-off valve, the pipes were not wrapped with any kind of quality material, electrical wires had been cut and left completely exposed, and evidently the part they said they couldn't fix was indeed fixable by them by picking it up at a supply store. There are pictures that are clear evidence of the neglect on their part.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see a written apology addressed to my brother from the Superior of the technician(s) who carried out the work order #022015 and along with a complete monetary refund of the charge he incurred of $644.00

Business Response:

I have reviewed the work completed at ** ***** ****, *****, Oh on 2/20/15 with my technician *** *. Upon arrival to the job my technician found the waterline to the mobile home frozen. He removed the heat tape and thawed the frozen line with a turbo heater and torch. Once the line thawed he had the client run the water throughout the house and checked for leaks under the mobile home. Everything looked good and no leaks were found. He tested the 115 volt plug that the heat tape was plugged into and found no power to it. He recommended to the client that the heat tape be replaced and asked if he would like a price on replacement. The owner did not want a price to update the heat tape and wanted the existing heat tape reinstalled. *** reinstalled the old vinyl style heat tape and reinsulated it with ******** insulation. *** also had the mobile home park maintenance people test the probe (module) that keeps the waterline from freezing underground. They stated that their OHM’s reading was good. *** assisted the owner with extending his extension cord and plugging the heat tape and module in to keep the pipes from freezing. He recommended an electrician be called to repair the 115 volt outlet.

             If my understanding of the complaint is correct our work lasted 10 days in below 0 degree weather. There were no problems until the breaker tripped that was supplying power to the heat tape. At that ***e, the line froze again and split. From my experience the inexpensive vinyl heat tapes have an average life of one to three years and I have seen them short out and melt creating a possible fire hazard. We prefer to install the steel braided style with a longer life. I’m not sure what the complaint is referring to in regards to the cut electric lines as my technician verified that he did not cut or work on the electric.

             In hind sight, it sounds like the tripped breaker is what caused the line to freeze again. I would assume that the $750 that the neighbor charged for the repair included a new heat tape run. I would have thought that the module would be the mobile home parks responsibility. In conclusion, I am sorry that the client’s pipes split, as that is not a circumstance that you would wish on anyone. My technician *** completed the repairs on the 20th as requested, made recommendations for repairs which were declined and which might have prevented future problems. We are a 100% satisfaction guarantee company and are sorry that you feel that your brother was treated unfairly. We will refund the full $644 by check to Mr. ****** for the services rendered as we would rather have a happy client in the end. If we can be of future assistance please let us know.

 

Sincerely,

****** ** ********** – Pres