BBB Accredited Business since

D & J Paving Contractors

Phone: (216) 691-6406 Fax: (216) 691-8018 5241 Wilson Mills Rd  Ste 25, Richmond Heights, OH 44143 http://www.dandjpaving.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D & J Paving Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for D & J Paving Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on D & J Paving Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1998 in OH
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Calvin Clark, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Calvin Clark, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors Asphalt Concrete Contractors Mason Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 5241 Wilson Mills Rd  Ste 25

    Richmond Heights, OH 44143

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before finding a paving contractor I checked with the Better Business Bureau/Cleveland and chose a company that did not have any complaints listed. The owner ****** ***** gave me a quote of $975 to clean the drive, repair a tack coat to the various size holes and damaged areas of the drive, repair these areas using #404 hot-mix asphalt, fill the major cracks in the drive using a hot rubberized crack filler, and sealcoat the entire driveway with a coal tar emulsion sealer of "the highest quality." Mr. ***** was not present to supervise or check the finished driveway. He came 2 days later to pick up his check and we walked through the driveway as I pointed out areas I felt had either not been covered or covered poorly. He said he would take care of these and admitted that the drive was not done to his standards. I have since called him twice without response. I find that-- 1. the so-called "hot, rubberized crack filler" did not fill the major areas we had discussed 2. it was comprised of loose asphalt pebbles that are currently lifting up 3. areas on the side and back of the drive were not cleared of plant growth and only covered with the sealant.I am dissatisfied with the quality of this driveway. I could have done better leaving it alone and retaining the $975. I am particularly disappointed with Mr. *****'s personal guarantee and assurance that this job would be done well based on his 23-year ownership and personal supervision.

Desired Settlement: When I most recently called Mr. ***** and left word two weeks ago, Sept. 24th, I left a message that I wanted the repairs done as soon as possible in preparation for this winter and that I wanted a letter from him stating that his company would sealcoat again next spring for a price not to exceed $200. At that time I was willing to share the cost to assure a completed and satisfactory job. Since he chose not to respond, I believe he should redo the entire job at his expense OR return my money.

Business Response: This response is to complaint ID ******** from one of my customers which I will give my version of what happened.

First of all the work done just as I told the customer that it would be, at the end  of the job we walked through the Drive and she saw a couple of pebbles near one of the patches and made the comment that she  thought the patch would unravel in time.  
I explained to the customer that a job this size you can expect to see a stone or two on the Drive and to consider the before and after since the Drive was in very bad shape before the work was completed. 
We do very good work and rarely get a complaint, I will go to the Shaker heights building department and have one of the inspectors meet me at the job site and let him make the call. 
Regards, 
****** *****

Business Response: Business supplied proposal for new work with $500 discount included. See attached. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this falls far short and does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am embarrassed for the Better Business Bureau, whose motto is 'START WITH TRUST" that you would even consider passing along this 2015 proposal by D&J Paving Company. Mr. ***** is obviously laughing up his sleeve because he and I both know that had he sincerely believed in performing these functions he would have recommended them in 2014 instead of the work he did bring to my attention. His has exaggerated this point as much as is possible and I question why you have even passed it along to me. Mr. ***** and D&J Paving are not acting in good faith. Furthermore, I refuse to have this company do anything further on my driveway because their service is unsatisfactory; they exert poor supervision; and their results are worse than doing nothing. The Better Business Bureau of Cleveland has demeaned its own name, practice and reputation by allowing itself to become part of this charade.


I do not withdraw my complaint. In fact, you can best redeem yourself by keeping my complaint on record as a warning to other people who look to your organization.

Sincerely,

******** *******
3/18/15