BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Lupica Moving & Storage

Phone: (440) 274-2400 Fax: (440) 274-2404 View Additional Phone Numbers 6519 Eastland Rd., Brook Park, OH 44142 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lupicastorage.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm provides 24 hour residential and commercial moving services; moving supplies and heated inside warehouse storage.  The same rates are charged seven days a week. No travel time, mileage or fuel fees are charged. The firm additionally provides labor services for loading or unloading of moving vans, or on-site mobile storage containers as well as the internal moving of items within a home or business.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lupica Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lupica Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Lupica Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 23, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1985 in OH Business started locally: 06/01/1991 Business incorporated: 01/17/1997 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

DOT Office of Motor Carriers
200 N High St Rm 328, Columbus OH 43215-2482
Phone Number: (614) 280-6874

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Barbara A. Lupica, President & CEO Rose L Hess, HR Ms. Michelle Lupica, Secretary Mr. Bill Munshower, Operations Director, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Barbara A. Lupica, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Munshower, Operations Director, Human Resources
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Office Records Stored Movers Moving Supplies Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Products & Services

Lupica Moving & Storage offers the following product(s): Moving Supplies

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Or Business Check
Visa, Mastercard, Discover
Purchase Order With Prior Approval
Alternate Business Names
The Original Lupica Moving & Storage Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Additional Locations

  • 6519 Eastland Rd.

    Brook Park, OH 44142 (440) 274-2400

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 362-1332(Phone)
  • (216) 595-3827(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled these movers to arrive at my house on September 21, 2014 between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. It was after 10:00 a.m. when I called Lupica Movers to see when the movers would arrive. They said they would call me back when the talked to the drivers. I waited another hour then called them back again. They said they finally spoke with the movers and they would be there in about an hour. Two hours go by and still no movers. I then called again and they said the movers should be there within 15 minutes. In about a half an hour they finally arrived. Meanwhile the food from our freezer was thawing out. (We obviously had to empty the freezers to be moved). The replacement movers finally came around 1:00. The two guys that were originally scheduled for the job never showed up so they had to call in two more movers. They never called me - I had to call them several times. I explained to them on the phone about the freezer food thawing out and that we had family members set up for the 8:00 a.m. time to help out and that their poor service was not good. They only apologized.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund of the moving charges.

Business Response: Dear Customer, attached you will see on your bill of lading you signed the movers in at 11:30am. not 1:00 as stated in your complaint. The movers were to arrive at your home at 9:00am. When I spoke with you, I stated that they would be late, due to truck mechanical difficulty. upon checking my phone records on my cell phone, I spoke with you 3 times that morning. I can offer you a discount on your next move of 20%. Thank you, **** ******

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reserved the date of August 30, 2014 to move from my apartment in Parma to an apartment in Strongsville six weeks ahead of time. This was a verbal agreement over the phone and not once was I asked for a deposit or a signed contract during this time. I can see why now, because they had the option to just drop the move if they felt it wasn't profitable for them. I called a few days ahead of time because I hadn't heard anything from them and I wanted to make sure my date was still "on their calendar." I was assured all was on schedule with no issues. Not once did they ask me how many boxes I had, how many rooms there were, or anything about the location. This made me very nervous. The day of the move I waited and waited, and nearing the scheduled move time I called them to get an update. Some girl put me on hold, then disconnected me. I kept calling back with no answer, just an answering machine that kept saying they were busy and to call back or leave a message. I left a couple of messages to which none were returned. Even my daughter called and maybe because it was a different phone number showing up on their caller ID that they actually answered the phone. They gave her the same song and dance about showing up no matter how late it got. We were both told by the girl answering the phone that she had to answer 12 phone lines. (seriously?) I called over 30 times with no answer. I was left in tears because it was over the Labor Day weekend and it was impossible to get another mover. Everyone I called was closed or told to leave a message. It wasn't until days later I got another mover, only because of a cancellation. Also, because I couldn't move until days later, I ended up paying rent for two places.

Desired Settlement: I know you can't put this business "out of business" even though they have no business being in business because of their unscrupulous and deceptive practices, but I feel I deserve some kind of compensation for the anxiety and additional expenses I incurred because of their lies to me. The day after the scheduled move (Sunday, August 31, 2014) I ended up in the Emergency Room of the hospital because of a severe anxiety attack. What is that worth to someone???

Business Response: To Whom This May Concern: Unfortunately, a afternoon move which you requested can start as late as 10:00 in the evening, depending on the morning move before you. The move before you went till 2:30 am. The men had exhausted their working hours. People become rude at certain times and there is no pleasing them. Moving contracts are not signed till beginning of the job, for the simple reason, that if you choose not to move that day, you can turn them away at the front door, Lupica Movers can offer you a 40% discount on your next move and free packing. Thank you in advance, **** 

Consumer Response:

******,
 
The following is a copy of the recent email that I received concerning Lupica Movers.  Their explanation of the events is totally unacceptable and ridiculous to say the least.  To say that an "afternoon move" can start as late as 10:00 pm was NEVER mentioned to me at the time I made this reservation.  The response I constantly received from them over the phone was always, "they will be there, they are finishing up, we have another truck coming back and will be directed to you, you are still on the list, etc."  
 
I have never gotten such a run around from a company in my entire life.  It was one lie after another.  If I thought for a moment that my move might occur at 2:30 am the next day, I would certainly have chosen another company.  Who does business where they say over and over again that they will show up, then not only do they NOT show up, they don't bother calling to confirm, update or even apologize.  They just leave you hanging... (in disbelief).
 
I see that they use the excuse that they don't use signed contracts until the beginning of the job is merely an excuse to blow you off if they fail to perform their part in the "verbal contract."  This is not only unethical but shows what a lack of professionalism and honesty in their business.  
 
The funny part (well, NOT so funny) part of this whole deal is that I was told that another move was scheduled AFTER me.  How can they schedule your move, not show up, and then just blow you off?  I guess they don't realize the inconvenience and stress they cause in people's lives.  This was a Labor Day weekend and getting someone else at the last minute was entirely impossible.  I had to sit around for almost 8 hours wondering if they were even going to show up, and then to find out that calling them was a nightmare in itself caused even more stress and anxiety.  I didn't get to move until 3 days later....
 
These people have no conscience or integrity.  To run a business where you overbook, lie time and time again, then just blow off the customer knowing that the customer has no real case against them because they had the foresight to NOT have a pre-signed contract to guarantee their service. 
 
This kind of unscrupulous business practice needs to be stopped now.  And to add insult to injury, they are offering me 40% off my next move with free packing ---- ARE YOU KIDDING ME?  What makes them think I would ever use a lying business that can screw me again and get away with it?  Why would I choose to go through that nightmare again?  If that's their idea of a resolution, they need a reality check.
 
The emotional and physical toll it has taken on me will never be forgotten.  For them to say that people become rude at times, is an understatement to say the least.  When you lie over and over again, then refuse to answer the phone when you see their caller-id number come up, you are going to make more enemies than friends in this business.  These people never tried once to please the customer, only to screw them over if it suited them.
 
******* ***** 
***** ***** **** ****
************ * *** *****

Business Response: as explained before, no moving company has a contract. it is a bill of laden. The move before you was a lot more that what we were told. it is unfortunate that this happened, However even if we offered to move you for free, you would not be happy according to your reply. Our company has been in business for 25 years. Still being ran the same way. None the less our offer still stands, We will move you for free on your next move in a 50 mile radius if you should change your mind. we deeply apologize for your stress, anger, frustrations, aggravations and sufferings. You were one in a million that this situation happened to. It is not our goal to create unhappy customers, It is to give them the best move that they ever experienced! **** ******

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made reservation for 2 men and a moving truck roughly 2 two weeks prior to 3/18/2014. The took all my information including pick up and drop off locations, amount of items being moved and gave me the prices. I agreed and they told me a truck would be here at 8:45am. We joked about it being the day after St. Patricks Day and he assured me that Lupica Moving is a professional company and I would have no worries. I called at 9:15 on 3/18 asking if the guys were running late. The dispatcher put me on hold for a few minutes then came back and asked me if I confirmed the move. I asked what that meant and he had me hold again. He then became rude and claiming I had to call again to confirm to which I responded "you have the pick up and drop off locations, you gave me the price, which I agreed to and told me 2 men and the moving truck would be here at 8:45." He said something about a courtesy hold. I said I would call him back. When I called him back he became very rude, told me it is standard practice to have the customer call back to confirm because they are the only company that doesnt require a full deposit and 50% of expected bill paid in advance. This was a blatant lie. He said he would get a truck there another day, but that wasnt possible for my arrangements that were made based on their previous promise to be here today.I asked him why I wasnt told this at the start because I would have paid in advance and he then said, are going to keep cutting me off or let me talk. I at point, I informed him the conversation was over.

Desired Settlement: I feel they should pay me the additional 100.00 this is costing me since I know have to pay someone to stay while the new moving company unloads my furniture. I need to take my parents to the hospital and cannot stay, but had to have my stuff moved today.

Business Response: This customer was previously served by our company. The customer did in fact call our offices to discuss a possible move for around March 18. At the time of his call our records indicate that he was given information on a move and rates for his project. On the day of his call I offered to put a "Courtesy Hold" on his proposed moving date as he was not 100% sure at that point. The customer was informed he must call back to set a reservation. We were not given the information to create a reservation at that time such as addresses of pick-up and delivery. On the morning of the 18th the customer called in a highly agitated state demanding to know "where his movers were" after checking we found he never called to confirm and set a reservation. As I was sitting next to the dispatcher the situation was carefully explained to the customer several times, to which his level of agitation increased and he stated "I have no idea what you are talking about". There were no open spots available for a move that morning, he was offered a move for the afternoon of the same day or the very next morning and a Previous Customer Discount was offered as a courtesy in attempt to make the situation amicable. At this point the customer refused our offer, stated he would call back and then hung-up. When the customer finally called back, he stated that he was never told to call back to confirm, it was explained that "Since our company does not require a deposit (as do most other movers)we always ask our customers to call back two-days before their scheduled move for courtesy confirmation" the customer stated "This is a lie". The customer would not permit the dispatcher to discuss anything further and would not permit us attempt to resolve the issue. He stated the conversation was over and disconnected the call. In the history of the company we have never required a deposit and have always offered "Courtesy Reservations" if in fact the reservation had been made and we had not received the required call from the customer two days prior to the move someone in the Dispatch Center would have reached out the customer to confirm the reservation. It is unfortunate that on rare occasions there appears to be a misunderstanding of information on the part of the consumer. It is never our intent to cause any hardship or inconvenience to any of our customers. We made a reasonable offer to complete the job on the same day or the following morning. We had no contract with this individual, and are not prepared to offer any monetary compensation when a possible alternate solution was offered.

Consumer Response: It disheartens me when people avoid truth and accountability to protect themselves.  I have witnesses that were sitting at the table when I called.  They clearly heard the conversation as I had my cell phone on speaker.  I had it on speaker because this was a gift from my parents and they had used Lupica Movers prior and wanted to listen in case they needed to give input. ( they are in their late 70's and 80's in years of age so I keep them involved and active. .When I called it was in the late afternoon. I had a specific date to request as I had other things also being coordinated. The dispatcher seemed very overwhelmed.  He immediately stated that he was the only person there.  He stated 2 people called off and that another person had been there but left since he had been there since 4:30 ( we assumed this to mean 4:30 am unless it was 4:30 the previous afternoon ) I gave him an idea what was to be moved, furniture only, the date I desired and even told him the rates that were given my parent just 3 months prior.  He CONFIRMED the rate, he CONFIRMED the number of men, he CONFIRMED the date, he CONFIRMED the time.  He even repeated the information such as specific address for pick up and drop off as well as all other details prior to ending the conversation.  He stated that due to the fact he was only "the dispatcher" and the only one there, that he would only call me at the number provided if they were to have an issue arise. I made numerous other arrangements as a result of this SCHEDULED, confirmed move. When I called them they asked me if I called back to confirm.  As ridiculous as it sounds to have the CUSTOMER  call back someone being contracted to confirm they were in fact contracted, I would have in fact done so.  My parents would have made certain of this as well as they were they one's paying for this.  The dispatcher said to me "I don't know what was said because I didn't take the call. "  That s is a false statement as I recognized his voice and he was in fact the dispatcher that handled my initial call to SCHEDULE the move; Additionally, if the person that penned Lupica's response was in fact next to the dispatcher when we spoke, then his integrity and honesty are both flawed. The two individuals I spoke to on the day of the scheduled move used the term "courtesy hold" roughly 10 times before they finally explained what that meant, which was only after I asked them to stop saying that because I never heard of it or knew what it meant. I asked if a truck would be available later in the day to which the dispatcher responded, "the best we can do is have a truck there tomorrow because we are very busy and all the trucks are out" saying that they offered a truck that afternoon is a BLATANT lie by someone at Lupica as I would have been satisfied with that.   I say this because I called another much more reputable company and they in fact came later that day.  The adjustment cot me $102.00 more that what it had been if Lupica didn't drop the ball. This was a residential move that had strict time-frame perimeters. Had Lupica not been able to do it that specific day, I would never have CONTRACTED them.  This was a verbal contract and I am attempting to avoid litigation; However their immediate responses of untruthfulness what deem it absolutely necessary if they do not resolve this with some compensatory solution.  It is now based solely on principle as if this had happened to my, or anyone else's, elderly parents they would have been terribly taken advantage of.  Obviously Lupica had a more lucrative opportunity and took it regardless of the imposition placed on me and my family. I am open to an apology and an offer from them to avoid further actions.  

Business Response: Company responded by phone (**):

 
In consideration of any inconvenience caused by any miscommunication, Lupica Moving & Storage will offer a $100 discount to the consumer or the consumer's family toward any future service from the company.

Consumer Response: Thank you. I really appreciate that.  I will simply trust that Lupica Movers will mail me a certificate stating a $100.00 discount, valid for at least 5 years,  for myself or my family on the next move.  I am dropping this as satisfied.  Thank you for the assistance. Until this situation, my family has had nothing but praise for this company and this effort certainly will return in our continued recommendations.

**** ****** ***** ******** *** ********* **** *****

Business Response: The Better Business Bureau claims I failed to follow up with them after making an offer, and the customer accepting our offer. This is good for 5 (FIVE) YEARS as requested, I feel the BBB is showing questionable business practices by stating we have not responded to a complaint when in essence the BBB in fact was seeking a follow-up or additional information. This practice requires action and a change in the system to "Follow UP Requested" instead of Respond to Rejection"

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They had a scheduled appointment with me on a Friday, and they did not make it due to another move taking too long. That is not the problem, its how they handled it that shows the true sign of what kind of company they are. They were suppose to show up between 12-3 on Friday, and call me when they were close. They never called, and I had to call them to see what was going on. They did not have an answer, but finally called back and told me 5pm. They never showed or called after that.I got no communication of what was going on, no alternatives of what to do, and they stopped answering my phone calls. I called a dozen times after they missed the 5pm arrival time. I was on a tight dealine, I was leaving the country in 2 days, and they knew it and did not offer to move me on Saturday. Management would not talk to me, they left the dirty work to some poor guy in the warehouse to take the brunt of my issue. Their response was that I should try to find another mover. No explanation, just have someone else move me. So I recommend others take Lupica up on their own words, and use someone else. They obviously overbook to make more money, and don't care if they miss some appointments.I wasted one whole day waiting for them, and a friends day that had to be there for the new movers since I left the country.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation of what happened, and why no one from Lupica called me. Why they did not offer to help and move me the next day. And why no one from management would return my calls. I would like to understand how they can be held accountable for wasting 2 days of my time to handle this. If I had put down a deposit, I would have lost it. They should be held accountable to some basic standards.

Business Response:

February 20, 2014
Cleveland Better Business Bureau
2800 Euclid Ave
4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115
Re: ID *******
This is in response to the above mentioned ID. After careful review of this incident we
have determined the following:
The customer did in fact did make an on-line request for information and costs on
moving. There was no contract or deposit for the move only a verbal reservation
request.
After the initial request, additional services of packing were then included for the
kitchen and other areas. The initial request was for a move on Friday, February 14,
2014. The customer was informed that the only availability may be a time after the
12:00 Noon hour as the schedule was completely booked. The move would be on a
space-available basis. After the initial request an additional request was made for
“Packing Services" the customer was informed that it was not advisable to make this
request and it would be in their best interest to book such a job for a Guaranteed Arrival
Time of no later than 9:30 AM for Saturday, 02/15/14. The customer insisted on
maintaining the move on a space~available time for 02/14/14. The customer has stated
that he was informed we would arrive between 12 and 3 PM. The customer must be
mistaken or had possibly misunderstood as it is impossible to give an arrival time for an
afternoon space available move until after 12:00 PM on the day of the move. Customers
are always advised to call the offices sometime around 12:00 PM in they are interested
in getting information on an estimated arrival time.
As a result of this complaint and further investigation it appears that the previous
reserved, contracted move which required two (2) crews ran into extreme overtime due
to the volume of goods being handled. Movers operate under a State Code that only
permits operators to work a period not to exceed fourteen (14) hours without a ten (10)
hour period off. The previous move ran 12.75 hours, not leaving an available window to
complete this job on a space-available basis. The crew did not inform management or
the on-call dispatcher of this event. As the customer declined the available Saturday
morning appointment, there was no-longer an option to reschedule this move to that
time period. Management was not informed of this situation in a timely manner, but little
could be done to accommodate this project. If the customer had insisted on a contracted move we would have declined to start a project of this magnitude in a space-
available PM moving position.
It is unfortunate that we were unable to complete this moving request for the slot
time requested. The dispatcher made the most logical decision under the circumstance
by suggesting the customer seek another alternative as our company had no means to
honor the request for a reschedule.
The moving crew(s) indeed should have done their due diligence in following
through by informing the dispatcher of their circumstances who could have
communicated with the customer and allow them to seek other options much earlier.
It would never be the intention for the company to cause any customer undue
inconvenience or hardship for any malicious or intentional purpose. We certainly
express our deepest apology for all of the circumstance surrounding this unfortunate
situation. As a family business we strive to offer the best service possible to all of our
customers, past, present and future.
In closing let me thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.
Most Respectfully,
** ******* *******, Claims & Adjustments Manager
The Original Lupica Moving & Storage, Inc.
440-274-2400
service@lupicamovers.com

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB,

I do reject Lupica's response to my complaint. There implication that there was no contract is false. I attached the contract for the record. There was no deposit because I have it written in an email from them that they did not require a deposit. I attached their email that stated "No deposit" and it asked for me to send billing and shipping information, and they would provide a confirmation number. I attached the email that said:

"Confirmation number is ********. Thanks for the business. Call me anytime with questions. Attached you will find a copy of your contract".

This is why I understood I had a contract for the move on friday afternoon. Based on their words that I had a contract. It did state that they would show up between 12-3, and I was to call to confirm timing. When I made the initial call to Lupica, they did state that Saturday was open, but that Friday afternoon was also available. And it was always communicated that packing service would be needed, as stated in the contract. It was confirmed to me that they could get the job done on Friday afternoon. These are the facts of our conversations prior to the moving day.

The reason for this complaint is to make sure another consumer does not get mislead and taken advantage of based on Lupica's business model. There was no communication by them on the day of the move. I called to confirm the move at 11:30, and they said they would call me back. They never did. I called back and they eventually told me 5pm they would show up. They never did, nor did they call me. I called multiple times to talk to a decision maker, and no one ever called me back or explained to me what was going on. I wasted all day and early evening waiting around for the movers to show up based on false hopes presented by Lupica. I did not get a call back the next day either. And I never got an apology. I understand things happen that are not foreseen, like the move they had scheduled the morning of my move that took too long. But the zero communication, no response, and no understanding or offering anything to help fix the problem, or compensate me for my time is my frustration and warning I want to get out to other consumers. I would like to be able to recommend Lupica to others based on their handling of a tough situation, but they failed in all aspects of handling this and their response of misleading information proves that even more. Being able to communicate and help a customer when things don't go as planned would be a sign of a good business, and one that I would think would warrant the BBB stamp of approval.

Thanks,

****** ****

Business Response: The Moving Agreement / Bill of Lading was sent to this customer along with email instructions on the procedure to make a tentative no-deposit reservation. The customer did not sign or return the Agreement, therefore the reservation was never confirmed as requested. Most customers hire the company on an hourly basis and do not request a written contract in advance, which was not the case with this individual as he desired full disclosure of all terms and conditions in advance.

Business Response: Company responded by phone (**):

 
In consideration of any inconvenience caused by any miscommunication, Lupica Moving & Storage will offer a $100 discount to the consumer or the consumer's family toward any future service from the company.

Consumer Response: There was no miscommunication. There was a blatant attempt by Lupica to manipulate the customer for their own benefit. Based on their business model and lack of recognizing or admitting they are deceiving the customer I would never recommend them. Their response is unacceptable and I firmly believe they should lose their BBB status based solely on the lies they have been caught in to the BBB. And the fact that they are not putting anything in writing anymore is just showing they don't want to get caught in anymore lies. 

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do not use Lupica for your Moving needs. I was quoted $960 upon their completion they charged me almost $1500. They took two smoke breaks on the clock. There were males. One was terrible and careless. One swore a lot. One took many breaks. One of the 4 were very good. They damaged a very expensive table of mine. They say that value doesn't matter they go by the weight of the furniture. They chipped a wall by leaning a dresser into it. Their trucks have poor shocks and are very old. They leaked oil on our driveway. They swept out there filthy truck onto our driveway on the clock. I got a flat from the nails that were swept onto our driveway. They spent an hour trying to take my freezer door off. I had to help. When I complained, here is what the operations manager said. (I was ignored for the first 5 calls. I then threatened legal action and received a reply)He said: "We didn't know you had stairs , that's what took so long, we are allowed to sweep out our truck , we can leak oil, things happen like dents and chips. We are covered by our contract". He never ever apologized once or made any effort for service recovery. His constant comment was "unfortunately we can't please everyone". We are so disappointed. They really hurt our experience. Stay away, use D and D.

Desired Settlement: They sent me $45 for the damaged table. we are seeking $300 so we are asking for $255

Business Response:

September 13, 2013

Better Business Bureau, Inc.

2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor

Cleveland, OH 44115-2408

Attn: ***** ******

Good Afternoon,

This letter and the following documents are in response to complaint #*******

dated 09/13/13 from consumer **** *******.

Our company did in fact provide residential Moving Services to the above named

customer on May 9, 2013. The customer also did in fact on May 10, 2013 file a

claim for loss or damage via email (see exhibit #1). Our office responded to the

claim (see exhibit #2) on May 13, 2013 requesting needed information to begin the

processing of this claim. The claim was processed within the terms, limits and

conditions as set forth in the PUCO approved Moving Agreement / Bill of Lading

(see exhibit #3) where in the sectioned captioned Reimbursement For Lost or

Damaged Goods the customer selected the Minimal Reimbursement at $.60 per

pound per article. We received no further correspondence until August 16, 2013 in

which we first learned of the alleged Wall Damage (see exhibit # 4) and at which

time the customer stated he was not satisfied with “Service Recovery" and we in

fact did not execute our agreement. The fact is our Agreement was executed 100%

within as written.

The customer additionally stated he received first an estimate of $800.00 then

$1000.00 then finally $960.00 when in fact as according to Ohio Revised Code the

customers were given a written “Non-Binding Estimate" (see exhibit # 5) prior to

the beginning of the move in the amount of $1500.00. The final billing totaled

$1462.50, a figure below the estimated price as indicated by the signature of

****** ******* on the document.

The customer also mentioned in his claim that there were oil drops on his driveway

after the move when in fact the customer directed our driver to park in the

driveway and before we are permitted to pull into or on any driveway surface the

customer must sign a “Driveway Damage Waiver" as indicated on the face of

Exhibit #3 as we do not recommend Driveway Service. Our driver has stated that

we do not sweep the truck debris after a move into the driveway. The truck is

swept after every moving job to insure there are no small parts or items left from a

customer's goods. The allegation of a flat from our debris has never been

mentioned or claimed and of course the burden of proof would lie with the

customer.

On September 11, 2013 we received another email from this customer (see exhibit

# 6) stating we were ignoring him in an attempt to make this “Go Away" and again

threatening Legal Action if we fail to meet his demands regardless of the limits of

our liability, I refer to our detailed response of September 12, 2013 (see exhibit #

7) to which the customer replied his dissatisfaction to our email (see exhibit # 8)

followed by another offer from our company (see exhibit # 9) to complete the

claims process and pay on the damages. We have now made numerous offers via

written correspondence and verbal communications I an attempt to settle this

matter to the point of the customer attempting to use intimidation as a method of

having his demands met beyond the limits of the contract as indicated in his next

two (2) emails.

In a final effort to avert further action we sent an email still offering to pay the

claim and stating we would defend this claim within the limits of the contract. The

customer has replied without providing any of the requested information in order to

close the claim. It is our intent to close this claim at the end of business today if

there is no further information provided by the customer.

I remain steadfast with our position as we have met our obligation within the

contract, the requirements as set forth by the State of Ohio and our internal

policies. It is unfortunate that the customer is not willing to accept the conditions of

the Moving Agreement that they accepted. As a family owned and operated

company we always strive to provide the very best customer service experience

possible. We value each and every customer and our reputation and the longevity

we have in the community shall stand as a testimonial the quality of services

provided. We are always discouraged when we cannot meet the satisfaction level of

a customer issue, but treat each and every customer with the dignity,

professionalism and respect they deserve.

Respectfully Submitted,

**** *********, Director of Operations

The Original Lupica Moving & Storage, Inc.

440-274-2400

****@lupicamovers.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

Here is my reply. This follows the businesses reply.

As you will see, he has made claims that are not true. He says these things at this time to support his argument. This is really a shame.

He continues to say the same thing, " we proccessed within the terms". 

  • When he says there was no correspondence, this is because we were ignored, ****** did not return any calls. The person in charges was never available when I called. We both called (my wife and I many times, over 10, without a response. I finally got a call back when I threatened legal action.
  • I am not sure what he means by the quotes. We were given a quote  of $960.00 over the phone. We never ever received a written quote. We only got this verbal over the phone. He states we received a written, this is an absolute lie. He is saying this to cover himself. Obviously he says 1500.00 to cover himself. There never ever was discussion of $1500.00
  • The did not come to the house. When I challenged the amount, the reply was " we didn't know you had stairs"
  • The oil in the driveway was due to them parking in my driveway. I never asked them to or told them to. The 1st truck was parked in my driveway when I arrived at my house. They arrived before me. I was never offered a waiver to sign. He is making this up as he goes, again to cover himself.
  • The driver did in fact sweep debris, screws, splinters of wood, and lots of dust and dirt, not from my stuff but from the dirty truck. He did this while the others were still moving. If the driver said he didn't do this, he is lying. I believe this again is just to cover himself.
  • He calims we should have paid extra to cover my mattress. Why were we not made aware of this option. Again, according to him, this gives them the right to place it on the lawn and stain the side. This is a 2500.00 sleep number mattress.
  • Another issue. They started at 20 minutes past the hr and rounded back the the top of the hr. They finished at 15 past the hr and rounded to the bottom of the hr. At $260.00 ( I believe this is the rate) an hr, this is $130.00
  • I shared my concerns with the person in charge once they were done. He told me to go ahead and pay the amount and they would adjust. I never should have trusted.
  • I would think movers would have simple tools. I was surprised they did not.
  • They did take smoking breaks, at $260.00 an hr we should not have to pay for these.

It is extremely disappointing that no effort was made to make any of this right. I am too in the service industry, and I make every effort to make my customers happy. I chose this company in good faith. They fell very short of executing their service.  He continues to ask for this and that. We already have submitted all our documentation and pictures. Hi hope Mr. ****** sees how we have been treated and reevaluates his business and customer service standards, as well as his leadership team. I have comfort in knowing that I shared my experience and others will see this.

Thank you.

 

 

 

 

Business Response: Company responded by phone. **

The company indicates there is no one at the company by the name of ******.  The signed estimate is for $1500 which was signed for by  the consumer's wife.  The actual cost came in under the estimate. Written estimates are required by law for any project over $500.  The consumers wife gave written permission for company to pull into the drive way on the signed contract.  The consumers wife approved and initialed for the basic insurance coverage and agreed to the $.60 per pound based on PUCO regulations.

The company refunded $45 for the damages.  The mattress was not in damage claim, was just dirty.   The company indicates they can't pay beyond the terms and conditions of a signed contract. All the contracts are PUCO approved documents. Can't break contracts.  

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 9, 2012 ****** **** received a quote from **** ********* Lupica Moving & Storage and subsiquently hired Lupica for a residential move on November 11th. On or around the 5th of November ****** ********* called to get move changed. **** was argumentive when it was noticed they did not schedule the first stop. ****** cancelled the movers. She called back ten minutes later and was told she was not still talking to **** (who sounded the same). He said **** said to take $30 off the bill. The move was scheduled for the 17th of November.**** of Lupica movers called ****** at 8:40 Nov 17th and stated they needed to gas up the truck and were headed to Eastlake. The movers arrived in Eastlake at 10 AM. At 11:15 they pulled out of Eastlake houseAt around noon they arrived at 147th After completing a walk through of the property **** said it would take two truckloads so they werent going to pack the truck tightly to save time. **** and *** commented on how great it was that the beds were dissesebeled and the hand rails on the stairs being removed helped greatly with time. ****** asked **** how many hours he thought it would take to complete the move, he stated we should be finished by six or seven at the latest. ****** stated that based on the quote we were not prepared to pay more than $1000 for a completed move. **** stated that he had worked for the company for a long time and had been doing this for more than 10 years and he would take care of us. Several times throughout the day **** reiterated that he would take care of the bill and not to worry. **** and *** stated there were a lot of boxes and that is what takes so long. They suggested that all the boxes be placed in one room at our new home and we move them ourselves. ****** stated the reson we hired a moving company was so We did not have to move things myself. ****** and ****** helped move items the entire day and were encouraged by **** and *** stating it was really helping them. All day *** and **** said they worked until midnight the night before and were tired. **** stated that they should never have been put on a job this big. They proceeded to take smoke breaks that lasted 5-10 minutes throughout the move. By the end of the move they were taking 15-20 minute smoke breaks. They were constantly talking on their ear pieces to girlfriend.2:49 PM ****** bought *** and **** lunch on way to Middleburg Hts. They sat for 30 minutes in the truck eating. ****** started unloading the truck after 15 minutes. At 7 1/2 hours we finished the first load at *********. **** stated I was at 7 hours and knew I was on a budget of no more than $1000. Second trip to Cleveland went much slower. *** moved furniture from the upper floor down to the living room while **** and ****** moved all the boxes to the driveway. This included moving an antique desk resulting in the back panel becoming un nailed and requiring repair by owners. Packing the truck took much longer to try to get all furniture on the truck since very few pieces had been transported on first truck. At one point they were told to get as much of the big stuff on truck to make sure the job got done. They stated to look for everything that could not fit in a car so it could go on the truck and smaller items could be moved in our cars. we so soafar as to suggest that if they needed to return in the morning to complete the job when they were rested that was fine.At 7:45 ****** called a friend to come help unload the truck so it would get done faster. **** and *** were sitting in the truck cab on a break. ****** stayed at 147th with movers and ****** headed to *********. After 15 minutes **** and *** began moving the washer and dryer from the basement.****** cam outside 15 minutes later to see the washer on the truck, the dryer and the driveway and **** and *** once again in the truck. ****** knocked on the window and asked what was going on with the time.**** stated that he was callin in a favor and was waiting to hear back from another Lupica employee to come help finish the move. mike stated they would be doing him a favor and that there would be no additional charge.A father son team arrived at 147th shortly after 9 and helped load the truck and followed to unload at *********. Once at ********* 7 people unloaded the truck. the younger of the two back up movers, called Jr carried three boxes at a time and was running in and out of the truck, I can only imagine if that team had originally been sent to my home my move would have been complete in the time originally estimated and without the assistance of the homeowners.The father of the back up teamwas told the story about the move being changed and **** being argumentative. He stated that ****** talked to **** both times because he would be the only other person answering the phone. Who did you talk to? What would you say if I told you, you talked to the same man? Did he say his name was Bob? He does that all the time.Job was finished at 11:00 PM. **** had me initial and sign in multiple areas. I did not read everything and initialed and signed where he told me. I was exhausted from moving all my boxes for 11 hours.Upon discivering a broken bed frame Sunday morning following the move ****** called Lupica movers at 8:00 AM to tell **** how upset I was with the move and the fact they broke the bed. ****s first response was: Your first mistake was that you did not call in yesterday while it was happening. This is not how you treat a customer. bill stated that he would need to investigate and talk with his employees and would get back to us.at 2pm **** was called again as we had not heard from him. **** stated he would talk with the men the following morning at 8am. **** made not contact on Monday morning.monday at 3pm **** was confrontational with ****** and stated that he was not discussing this services till he had talked to his employees the following day,Tuesday at noon. He went onto say the he was

Desired Settlement: ****** and ****** have gone back and forth 10 times with her car filled and is still moving. This was an incomplete job that should never have cost $1170.00. **** threatened to have me arrested for theft of services when ****** said she would cancel her check until they resolved all issues. How is it theft of services when they did not move all the belongings?****** is requesting to be reimbursed $400. This will include the cost of gas .55/mile and mileage back and forth 7.3 miles and ****** and her two friends labor Lupica received for free to move on the 17th. The original estimate was for $632.00 plus the cost of additional stop estimated to total $800. To date there remain several items in the garage with will not fit into our vehicles and should have been moved by the company hired to do so. ****** has requested more than once to talk to the owner, **** Lupica, and have been denied each time. ****** has been called a liar by ****. He has absolutely no customer service or

Business Response: December 10, 2012
Better Business Bureau, lnc.
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408
Attn: ***** ******

This letter is in response to complaint ******* filed on 11/29/12 by ****** ****.
After careful investigation and taking statements from the employees on the job site we
have made the following determinations:
The customer did in fact hire our company to perform moving services on 11/17/12. The
company was hired on an hourly basis.
There was no contract for a fixed price move.
The customer had the opportunity to hire a larger crew than the 2 Men and 1 Moving
Truck she selected. It was recommended to the customer she might consider a 2 Truck,
4 Man crew due to the size of the move and the fact they were combining 2 households
in to one from Eastlake and the West side of Cleveland to Middleburg Heights.
The original crew did in fact deduct 1 hour of time from the total billing for breaks &
lunch.
The customer was given a Special Discount of $30.00 off the base moving price.
Due to the best interest of customer service the company “at its own expense” did
authorize 2 additional movers to go and assist the original moving crew complete the
job. This service is valued at $330.00 and the customer was not billed nay additional
charges or fees. This crew included our Logistics Coordinator.
At the end of the move, Ms. **** informed the Logistics Coordinator that the only
remaining items the movers would need to transport would be 1 wheel barrow from the
garage and the house was complete.
The customer never contacted the office or management during the entire moving
process to express any dissatisfaction or concern as our offices are open 24 Hours
Daily. Additionally the customer made no remarks on the Bill of Lading in the comments
section and did in fact sign the Delivery Acknowledgment indicating “The total move
was complete to the customer’s satisfaction” & “All household goods were removed
from the origin”
The customer is seeking monetary compensation as a resolution to their complaint. The
company has already provided discounts and services to the customer at a total value
of $360.00. lt is our sincere opinion that we have made a fair adjustment in advance of
her complaint and cannot justify any further compensation. We feel that the customer
was provided services within the term, limits and conditions of the Moving Agreement
and Bill of Lading.
lt is unfortunate that we cannot meet the satisfaction level of each customer. We strive
to give each and every customer a perfect job with 100% satisfaction level. We still
remain proud of our ratings and reputation within the community. We are a family
owned company with the goal of providing “Great Service at A Fair Price” to the
residents and businesses of Northeast Ohio.
Respectfully Submitted,
**** *********, Director of Operations
The Original Lupica Moving & Storage, lnc.
440-274-2400
****@lupicamovers.com

Consumer Response:

We did not combine two households as Lupica wants you to believe.  We had some furniture and boxes at the Eastlake location, the equivalent of a 10ft box truck from U haul.  Lupica movers have their customers fill out a form that states exactly how many rooms are to be moved, detailing each piece of furniture and the number of boxes to provide a quote.  When we filled out our form we stated 80-100 boxes, we stated three bedrooms, living room, kitchen, attic storage, basement, garage, shed, and patio furniture.
It was never suggested to us to have two trucks and 4 men. In fact we were very disappointed in the size of the truck when they arrived in Eastlake and then when they got to W 147th St.  We were told that was the largest truck the company has because a CDL license was required for larger vehicles. They stated they did this all the time and they would simply make two trips. In doing so they didn't need to pack the truck as tightly that was a big use of time. The two men stated throughout the day that they were tired and that there were a lot of boxes. 
When we called Sunday morning to complain about the move and the broken bed (which we have not been reimbursed for as agreed by the insurance adjuster) **** was extremely angry that his men called in for help because he did not authorize that.  Now he wants to say we got $360 worth of free labor.  The only free labor that was had was my working all day moving boxes and the friends I had to call in to help us.
We are still looking for $400 reimbursement.  We still have half a garage filled with items we cannot move in our cars.  We still have to rent a truck to move these items.  We still are asking for the money to repair our daughter’s bed.  This issue has not been resolved to our satisfaction.
Thank you for your time

Business Response:

In response to the customers rejection,

The customer was given a Special Discount of $30.00 off the base moving price.
Due to the best interest of customer service the company “at its own expense” did
authorize 2 additional movers to go and assist the original moving crew complete the
job. This service is valued at $330.00 and the customer was not billed anyadditional
charges or fees. This crew included our Logistics Coordinator.
At the end of the move, Ms. **** informed the Logistics Coordinator that the only
remaining items the movers would need to transport would be 1 wheel barrow from the
garage and the house was complete.
The customer never contacted the office or management during the entire moving
process to express any dissatisfaction or concern as our offices are open 24 Hours
Daily. Additionally the customer made no remarks on the Bill of Lading in the comments
section and did in fact sign the Delivery Acknowledgment indicating “The total move
was complete to the customer’s satisfaction” & “All household goods were removed
from the origin”
The customer is seeking monetary compensation as a resolution to their complaint. The
company has already provided discounts and services to the customer at a total value
of $360.00. lt is our sincere opinion that we have made a fair adjustment in advance of
her complaint and cannot justify any further compensation. We feel that the customer
was provided services within the term, limits and conditions of the Moving Agreement
and Bill of Lading.
We will still honor the customers claim under the terms and selected limits of coverage of Valuation Protection as setforth in the Bill of Lading / Moving Agreement, Our Check # **** will be mailed today to pay the claim for damages 100%.

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contact Lupica Movers to assist me in moving out of my apartment into a storage unit. Talked to **** and he gave me a price of $400, for 2 men/1 truck to move my furniture, items and boxes out. Moving day and when they arrived they immediately walked through the apartment, looked over the boxed up items and said "it's going to cost $650 to move your stuff".. I explained to them that **** said it should be no more than 3 hours and cost no more than $400 for this move. "You're on the top floor and there is only two of us", they said.. The movers then walked out and left. Because I couldn't come up with additional $$ during this time. Don't let this company prey on people during vulnerable time. That's exactly what they did.

Desired Settlement: I Don't Know..

Business Response: It is unfortunate we cannot meet the satisfaction level of each and every customer. Ms. ***** did in fact contact us by telephone to  obtain our rate information and general moving inforamtion. After learning of our hourly rates and charges she decided to hire our company to move her belongings on an hourly basis. She was simply quoted our hourly rates for a two (2) man moving crew with a three (3) hour minimum for $412.50 with no travel or fuel charges. It was explined that it is impossible to give an estimate over the phone and she would be provided a "Written Estimate" with no obligation prior to the beginning of the move. The "Job Foreman" did in fact inspect her premises and provide the customer with a "Non-Binding Written Estimate" prior to the commencement of the move or billing time as required by Ohio Revised Code. The customer stated to the driver she could not pay this amount and would need to re-schedule at another time when she was financially able. The customer incurred no charges or fees and no monies were collected. Following the return of our crew a man claiming to be the customers significant other with Las Vegas phone number did in fact call our office to complain, stating he was a first hand witness to the contact at the customers apartment, this is highly unb likely as our crew inspected the entire apaptment at the time of arrival and there were no additional persons other that the customer present. The man made several threatening statements on the phone and abruptly hung up. According to our professionally trained Foreman, the job could not be completed within the reqiured three (3) hour minimum and addtional time charges would be needed for saisfactory completion. The customer did not have a contract or binding agreement for services and agreed to an hourly hire with a three (3) hour minimum only.

Consumer Response: I am appaud at this company.. Lupica Movers advertises a rate to customer falsely only to gain 

profitability once they arrive with a 60% rate hike from their professionally trained foreman.  I repeatedly asked
the professionally trained foreman what he could do.  Maybe "just move the furniture", I will move the boxes.

No neither of them was willing to assist me in my time of need. I did call my ex in Las Vegas and told him. I was completely
confused and felt taken advantage of because I was a woman.  Customer service wasn't there, they just complained about 
moving furniture down three floors. 

They put profits before service..  Bottom line.. Leaving me scrambling to find movers. They certainly could have tried to
move some of my large furniture, offered to partially move me and/or deliver the service they advertise. But they didn't. 
They wanted $$  and complained about the third floor that I was on.

Poor customer service and their total lack of professionalism is the problem with Lupica Movers.



7/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I selected The Original Lupica Moving and Storage, Inc. to move my furniture from ***** ********* **** *** **** to ***** ********* **** *** **** on Tues. May 29, 2012. I chose this company largely based on their TV advertising that showed their movers carefully moving furniture into one of their trucks with pieces of furniture covered and / or wrapped in clear plastic for protection. The voice-over in their commercial emphasized that their movers are professional and careful. Although I instructed their movers upon arrival that I wanted my loveseat and sofa covered they did not do this. As a result of not covering the sofa as well as the careless and wreckless way that they moved the sofa and the padded rails that make up the bed, the sofa sustained damage in the way of fabric tearing/ripping at the top corners and long the bottom rear. I've had this sofa for 30 years and prior to the move it was in excellent condition. The fabric covering one of the padded rails was also ripped/torn. I've had it just as long and it too was in pristine condition prior to the move. There was a bracket that holds a thermostat that was attached to the bed headboard that was broken as well. Although I signed the moving agreement the movers stated at the start of the move that if there's any damage incurred in the move that I should contact the company. My main problem with this company is that they advertise and say one thing but in my case they sent 2 movers (**** * ****) who in my opinion didn't give a **** about my furniture or the quality of their service.

Desired Settlement: Since the move I've followed up with the company twice requesting that an insurance claim get filed. I'm looking to get my furniture repaired or compensated for their mover's recklessness in causing damage. Also I would like to see this company punished/cited for projecting an image to the pulic through deceptive advertising practices.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

We are aware of this pending claim. We acknowledged the claim for processing on 06/16/12 and requested the customer provide e-mail images of the items in question. To date we have not received the images.

Our company will honor this customers claim in accordance with the terms and conditions as set forth in the moving agreement as selected by the custome under the section on the front of the document under "Reimbursement For Lost or Damaged Goods" and under Secvtion # 6 of the terms and conditions as found on the rear of the Moving & Storage Agreement / Bill of Lading.

 

In order ro expedite tis claim and resolve the issue the customer must provide us with the weight of the damaged items in question as outlined in the agreement. Upon receipt of the information we will send immediate and complete compensation to the customer.

 

It is unfortunate of the delay in processing. We were simply waiting to proceed after receiving the images from the customer. It is never our intention to create distress or delay and will gladly follow through in a very timely manner after receivign requested weight information.

Business Response:

Hello,

As previously responded,

Our company will honor this customers claim in accordance with the terms and conditions as set forth in the moving agreement as selected by the custome under the section on the front of the document under "Reimbursement For Lost or Damaged Goods" and under Secvtion # 6 of the terms and conditions as found on the rear of the Moving & Storage Agreement / Bill of Lading.

In order ro expedite tis claim and resolve the issue the customer must provide us with the weight of the damaged items in question as outlined in the agreement. Upon receipt of the information we will send immediate and complete compensation to the customer.

Since the customer selected the minimum coverage of Valuation Protection an adjuster will not be assigned to this claim we are waiting for the customers response to our request for the weight of the damaged items, We have stated "Upon receipt of the information we will send immediate and complete compensation to the customer".

This offer is in complinace with the rukes and regulations set forth by the P.U.C.O. The customer didi not select a "Replacment Value Protectiobn Plan" therefore we are bound by the limits of the contract.

6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My property was damaged by this company in a move. The company refuses to refund me for the full price of the property due to the terms of the contract which were completed under duress. According the Lupica, I cannot have the full amount of my property damage because I did not elect extra insurance, however, their employee did not offer me the insurance before the move took place as he was supposed to when I would have had adequate time to read the contract. With 3 witnesses present, he shoved the clipboard under my face and said here I forgot to have you sign this, after the move took place == and he was in a hurry to get out the door.He told me to initial in the box. I trusted him that he was reputable. I made the mistake of trusting Lupica's employee. I am asking for the difference of $88.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the difference of $88.

Business Response: The response from the business was not received electronically and is not available for viewing.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

 

***** ******

I am not denying that I signed this form.  What I am rejecting is the manner in which this form was signed.  It was not signed voluntarily and I did not know what I was signing.  Their employee did not have me sign this box until after the contract was signed, and then when he had me sign it he didn't give me time to read it.  I understand it was my responsibility to read it, but I was overwhelmed by the move and it made it difficult to think logically.  I relied on the employee when he told me to initial the box at the conclusion of the move. I trusted in Lupica's representative. I had 3 witnesses that will attest to the fact that he had me initial the box at the conclusion of the move and did not explain it.  I believe in good faith the company should pay the additional $88. The contract was already signed before the insurance box was initialed. 

 

Business Response: The response from the business to the consumer's rebuttal was not received electronically and is not available for viewing.

Consumer Response:

----- Forwarded Message ----
From: ***** ****** *********************>
To: ********************Sent: Thu, January 12, 2012 7:23:10 PM
Subject: Case *******
Dear *******,
 
I received the response from Lupica Movers.  I don't know how to respond.  I am in shock.  They act as though this is the first they heard that I had witnesses when the driver told me he forgot to have me initial the insurance until the job was complete.  We have been arguing that point since September and I have the emails to prove it.  He even told me he was going to fire the driver and I was very upset about it.  I just wanted my money.  I would like to submit my communications with him from the start.  I filed a complaint with you before I got the original check, but somehow it didn't get submitted.  It wasn't until I told them that I filed the complaint that they finally sent me the check for the .60/lb just in January.  I don't think Lupica should have an A+ rating.  As you can see from the email we discussed in detail that I did not sign until after the job was complete.

Business Response: The response from the business was not received electronically and is not available for viewing.

12/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 20-25th,2011 we called into LUPICA MOVERS to gain an estimate to have them come assess our home for a move 1/4 mile down the road from us ( from ***** ***** ****** ***, * ********** ***** TO ***** ********* ***** **** **** *****). When I called in **** gave my message to **** the estimate guy. No calls back for over a week and a half. Then I called back and **** stated he would have **** call me but **** is the ONLY guy that does estimates for the company entirely. After two days **** called. He asked " how many rooms" "how many boxes" " how many pieces of furniture" then asked the new address. We asked if he would come out being we would like a inperson estimate to be more accurate for budget reasons ( I the wife am not working on lay off since 2010) He said "sorry we do not do that we go by what I am asking you but it seems your 1704sq ft home will be close to $500-700 to to move, with TWO MEN and ONE 26ft truck ( they only carry this size). I said are you sure. I even called back three times to ask would he consider to come out , again. He did not call back **** said I will make sure your move is smoothly ran and etc.We set the date for NOV 10 2011,My parents were moving and using the same mover LUPICA for NOV 3rd. and had nothing but estimate issues as well. After even calling **** and **** five times , telling them " prior moves/movers we've used 1 semi truck and a half!" they would still not come out they insisted they would only need 2 26ft trucks three men. NO!So on my complaint and my parents complaint is the following: inaccurate estimates. Overcharging of fees for move AFTER they quote you over the phone an estimate ( worthless) , and then once at your house they con you into a NON BINDING contract with limited coverage "needed" for items, and BREAK your items! Stating " if we packed it IT WOULD not have broke!" FALSE!They are cons!They are very rude after you file complaint too. But will cash your checks immediately and never return a call from ****! BAD!

Desired Settlement: I would as I have stated AFTER stating my case to them five times now since the move dates 11/3 & 11/10/11! -Would like a small refund for me ****** FAMILY move date 11/10/11 of $125.00 I feel its fair and just cause after our ordeal.-Would like a small refund for my mother and father ****** FAMILY move date 11/3/10 of $ 200.00 and feel this is as well fair and just cause after we FOREWARNED them to come out five times, to see thier house and boxes/items!LUPICA does not preplan right!

Business Response: The response from the business was not received electronically and is not available for viewing.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

These are entirely false claims that Mr. **** ********* of Lupica Movers has stated throughout the response.

From day one of booking the move for the both of my parents ( ******'s ) as well as myself  ( ******'s) we had called

NUMEROUS times stating we wanted to have them change thier minds /policy to reconsider coming out to take a

"quick" look over our items/boxes to make sure of the quote and budgeted amount we were given over the phone.

NEVER were we given the benefit of the doubt that maybe we knew what we "were talking about!". We live with

the said items/furniture! But **** and **** promised they knew thier business and all was fine, even on the note of

Clothing boxes.

My father changed the moving date once due to his renal dialysis date (1 time) from December 2nd to the 3rd,2011.

And when calling again even asked if he could have a 2-3 trucks. They said **** and **** think ONE is enough!

MY DAD did ask for several trucks! **** is lying. My parents have alot of stuff! Why would we not ask for a semi ,

or 2-3 26ft trucks if they do not handle semi trucks? makes sense to request more than one truck then! be prepared!

My parents have moved over 4 times within the past 6 years. THEY KNOW WHAT THEY NEED I told this to ****!

He said ok! Now he writes this response to cover his ***, ( business). This is bad practice very unprofessional too.

I did complain on the date of my parents move. So did my parents when after dinner time we were on truck #2,

and saw that they ONLY switch trucks but were not UNLOADING the first! I felt "why not unload the first?" ****

said man power needed in the original house on #2 truck. ( they still only had 2 trucks. We needed a 3rd truck that

was never brought. The job took up until 10:15-10:30pm that night 11/3/11 and started at 8:30am that morning!

LONG DAY. And my dad had dialysis the next day. COME ON? Seriously. Just before the completion of the move

this night, I called into the office and had **** speak to my father- I WAS very upset!

I felt this was ENTIRELY Too long and wrong! I asked why is this happening, and he agreed THEN it shouldve been

3 trucks. ( now in rebuttle hes at a different tune to respond to BBB!) hmmmm?

He told **** " give them a discount 10% The mans ill, and it took too long, its late". The total was nearly $2300!

Thats insane to go not even a 1/4 mile directly down **** Road !!!!!!!!!! When they left-Then we found urine in bottles outside!

My dad did follow up after this BAD BAD move, to **** in accounts and SHE NEVER RESPONDED! EVER! 5 calls~!

NEVER CAME TO THE PHONE! EVER! So again **** lies!

With my move on 11/10/11, we did call prior because we confirmed. I asked for clothing boxes. They told me 16 on the truck.

**** said 8am, they came at 8:30am! ????? LATE*
I signed for them to enter the DRIVEway. They started SLOWLY. 2 men. **** AND ****. Went through the house. We told 

them " the master bed room doesnt get moved/ or the diningroom furniture!"...just everthing else. OK **** says. After 10am-

we were barely getting done-- I asked my husband whats going on? I started taking thiings over to the house. Down the road.

At noon brought lunch to everyone. I didnt have to but I did. I though it would motivate! NOPE!  After dinner time I was getting UPSET.

This was long enough. ( we had moved 2 yrs ago with PALMERI BROS MOVING $729.00 3 men 1 truck from CLEVE WESTSIDE TO NORTH RIDGEVILLE, same house LUPICA was moving us out of.) now I was being told at 7pm I was at a limit of $900!!!!!!!!!!

Cmon! seriously? I had less items!

I told **** I dont have that amount. Sorry. I didnt budget it You estimated me over the phone for LESS.

I called **** AGAIN. At8- 845pm  MY HUSBAND STarted unloading the truck helping him and **** and I UNLOADED THE CLOTHES!

I HAD IT! I PAID **** AND GAVE HIM 851.00 CHECK and that was it.

CALLED IT A NIGHT....PER ****...He gave us a discount for the inconvenience again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

THIS IS **! UNPROFESSIONAL!

the house, from the workers.

 

 

Regards,

******* ******  

 

 

Business Response: The response from the business was not received electronically and is not available for viewing.