BBB Accredited Business since

Ecolawn, Inc.

Phone: (440) 953-9100 990 Erie Rd., Unit P, Eastlake, OH 44095 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ecolawn.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Provide lawn care in the form of lawn fertilizers, aeration, tree and shrub feeding and perimeter pest control.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ecolawn, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ecolawn, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ecolawn, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1999 Business started: 02/01/1993 in OH Business incorporated: 02/02/1993 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Department of Agriculture
8995 East Main Street, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.ohioagriculture.gov
Phone Number: (614) 728-6250
Fax Number: (614) 466-4346
foodsafety@mail.agri.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald J. Zerby, President
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Fertilizers Snow Removal Service

Method(s) of Payment
Discover, Master Card and Visa
Industry Tips
Lawn Care Companies

Additional Locations

  • 990 Erie Rd., Unit P

    Eastlake, OH 44095 (440) 953-9100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6-17-14 Ecolawn came to the house and did their routine application. After they left, I went and got the bill in the side door of my home. I look at the bill, and it is double what it usually is. I call the company, and the owner answers. He was in the field, and stated he would call me back when he got back to the office to research the bill. I get a call shortly later from ***, the owner. He states that I gave him verbal approval to do this application. I only spoke with *** twice in my life, and definitely never gave him approval to do this. He then states that it was done to my lawn last year. It was, because their service ruined my lawn, and he had to make it right last year. This is where we get the "complimentary applications" But he states to me that he gave us a "complimentary aeration and grub control". I told him I didn't approve him to charge me for something that was free last year, and I will not pay for his mistake. He then states he will send me to collections, and I should have a good life. I even asked to show me something in writing where I gave permission. He then hangs up the phone on me.

Desired Settlement: Take the charge off my account. I truly liked their service, until now.

Business Response: Ms. *****,

This letter is in response to the customer concern listed above.

Our service typically includes the application of fertilizers ~ including organic nutrients — weed controls and instructions on mowing and watering techniques the property owner provides in building a strong, healthy lawn. Customers subscribe to an annual program that automatically renews each year. They are reminded of this automatic renewal at time of their initial subscription, on every single item of written correspondence they receive and on two renewal letters they receive each year in November and
January. These renewal letters outline their scheduled service for the following season. The customer is ALWAYS in control of their service and can make any change easily with a note, email or call to the office.

This customer subscribed to lawn care service from our company beginning in June 2012. As the 2013 season progressed, our customer mentioned brown grass. We looked and reminded him to water at the suggested rate. In written materials he received, it was suggested he have us make a preventative grub treatment. I did not receive his approval to make that treatment. In September 2013, the customer called again with brown grass. l looked on September 10 and found the lawn was dry and had a grub infestation. As a good faith gesture I offered to do a complimentary renovation and grub rescue treatment ($325.00 value) on his front lawn. I returned on September 13, 2013 to do the renovation and grub treatment and reminded him of his role in building a strong, healthy lawn. I recommended he have me do a grub preventor treatment automatically each year, because it would be less expensive and would prevent the grub damage on a guaranteed basis. He gave his verbal approval while we were standing in his front lawn. i made a note of that approval in his customer file.

Business Response:

4 pages to follow:
Page 2: Customer contact screen showing dates prepaid letters were sent to **** *********.
 
Page 3: is the exact letter that was sent on those dates, other than the date as it was printed today. (Limitation of software)
 
Page 4: **** *********’s current statement which was paid in full 7/1/14, including the disputed service which was Grub
Protector at $56.70.
 
Page 5: Cancellation policy that is included on back of every estimate, Statement, and Invoice
 
We appreciate the opportunity to document our business policies, and hopefully absolve our company of any disputes. Please let me know if any further information is required.
Thank you,