Download

This business is not BBB accredited.

Riverside Landscaping, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 333-9385 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 16712, Rocky River, OH 44116 View Additional Email Addresses ! There is an alert on Riverside Landscaping, LLC !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Weekly Lawn Maintenance

Fertilization
Weed Control
Spring & Fall Clean ups
Mulch Installation
Landscape Design
Retaining Walls - Patios
Ponds
Outdoor Lighting
Bed Edging
Annual / Perennial Flower Planting
Pruning
Leaf Removal
Snow Removal


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Riverside Landscaping, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2012 Business started: 03/07/2008 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Cuyahoga County Auditor's Office
1219 Ontario Street, Cleveland OH 44113
http://www.auditor.cuyahogacounty.us
Phone Number: (216) 443-7010

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Mary Chal, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Chal, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Thomas M Chal, Jr. , Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Snow Removal Service

Method(s) of Payment
Check / Cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
Our work is guaranteed, if you are not satisfied, just give us a call and we will be there.  Our commitment is to our customers and performing quality work, because each one is important to us.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1732 Northview Rd

    Rocky River, OH 44116

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 16712

    Rocky River, OH 44116

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Riverside contracted with the residents of *** **** **** **** to provide specific services from October 2013 through October 2014 at a rate of $95 per month. On numerous occasions during the winter when snow was above 2" no plowing was done and front walks were seldom shoveled. In the summer, weeks of lawn mowing were missed, edging was hit or miss, wedding was infrequent, and prunning was never done. Although contracted services were poorly performed and complaints were made to the company, few improvements resulted. Residents were suddenly informed at the end of July that the price for monthly services would rise to $165 on August 3rd. In addition to breaching the contract, Riversiade stopped responding to phone calls and emails.

Desired Settlement: Riverside should refund each customer $95 for services not rendered (as listed above) during the 10 months the contract was in effect. In addition, Riverside should pay any costs incurred while 52 residents seek alternative lawn care and snow removal services.

Business Response: Ms. ****,

We understand your frustration, but do aim to deliver a professional service to our customers to the best of our ability.  Due to inaccurate calculation we were unable to continue services at the monthly rate.  We are truly sorry for any dissatisfaction and have taken steps to improve management and service levels.  If lawns were missed, it was only due to the weather and we did make every effort to mow on another day.  Snow removal service was demanding this past year, but we did do this service as well as the sidewalks.  Again, we apologize, but this was our only alternative under the circumstances.

Business Response:

Dear Valued Customer,
Due to circumstances beyond our control, we are regretfully unable to continue to provide services to you at the monthly rate of $89.20 per household.

We are planning to prune at your residence this upcoming week. Effective August 4, 2014, the monthly cost for our services will be $165.00.

We thank you for your business, but due to inaccurate calculation of price for services we have been forced to increase the monthly price. We would like to continue servicing your needs and understand if you are no longer interested, but we hope that we can be of service to you. 

Fall Clean up was not included in the contract and-will be a separate price of $220.00, which would include the leaf removal, cutting of dead plants, trimming, blowing off the yard, and removal of all debris.

For those of you who would like to continue services, we would like to provide you with a discount of 20% for the Fall Clean up for a charge of $176.00 for your patronage.

For residents who have had additional landscaping services, we will honor those accordingly.

If you would like to continue as our customer, please con?rm by replying by email by phone by August 3, 2014. If you reply by email, please type “YES” in the subject line for continuing service or “NO” to discontinue service. If you are replying by phone, just call with your response.  Thank you.

If we do not hear from you by August 3, 2014, we will assume that our services are no longer required and will cease service.

We apologize for the inconvenience and truly appreciate your business, but this is our only alternative under the circumstances.

Respectfully, 
**** ****
Of?ce Manager

Consumer Response: Dear BBB, The letter that you have shared from Riverside is nothing new. The husband got sick and the wife (****) stepped in to run the business. Illness does not justify a breach of contract. The issue is that they breached the 1 year contract for a set price by doubling the price. How does this help me? *****

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company contract by several neighbors, never delivered the service they were under contract to do! Work was not completed or even started! Did not mow on time, did not do edging, did not do clean up, did keep beds weed free, did not clean snow until numerous calls to have plowing accomplished, never did walks either. Very poor lawn work! No fertilizing when they promised per contract. Now they are under contract until end of November and they said they would not do anything for fall cleanup until we forked over more money! If we didn't even get the work that was promised why would we have to pay additional money while the contract hasn't even expired? Charging us $95.00 per month and got half the work. Most weeks they did not even cut grass. It got so long at one point it was up to my dogs chest!

Desired Settlement: I believe a settlement of half month charge would be fair. Since we got less than half of the work done weekly as promised under the contract. We should get a refund!

Business Response:

Dear Valued Customer,
Due to circumstances beyond our control, we are regretfully unable to continue to provide services to you at the monthly rate of $89.20 per household.

We are planning to prune at your residence this upcoming week. Effective August 4, 2014, the monthly cost for our services will be $165.00.

We thank you for your business, but due to inaccurate calculation of price for services we have been forced to increase the monthly price. We would like to continue servicing your needs and understand if you are no longer interested, but we hope that we can be of service to you. 

Fall Clean up was not included in the contract and-will be a separate price of $220.00, which would include the leaf removal, cutting of dead plants, trimming, blowing off the yard, and removal of all debris.

For those of you who would like to continue services, we would like to provide you with a discount of 20% for the Fall Clean up for a charge of $176.00 for your patronage.

For residents who have had additional landscaping services, we will honor those accordingly.

If you would like to continue as our customer, please con?rm by replying by email by phone by August 3, 2014. If you reply by email, please type “YES” in the subject line for continuing service or “NO” to discontinue service. If you are replying by phone, just call with your response.  Thank you.

If we do not hear from you by August 3, 2014, we will assume that our services are no longer required and will cease service.

We apologize for the inconvenience and truly appreciate your business, but this is our only alternative under the circumstances.

Respectfully, 
**** ****
Of?ce Manager

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Riverside were hired to install a patio, rework a bed, and rework the front lawn. They requested half down which would be approx $6K. I actually gave them $7K because I trusted them and thought they would do a good job. They estimated the project would be complete within a week. The first week they showed up for a couple days each time for a few hours. This became the norm. Very rarely would I get a call or any communication as to what was going on. This went on for weeks. On more than one occasion I was told the material was in town only to be told later it was not. When it did finally arrive it was not even a close match to the existing, even a different depth. When they did start to install the patio they installed it sloping toward the house. I asked them to remove and re-install and at that time I added steps. On one particular day they did not show up. No call or communication. When I finally reached them (***) I was told that they had to do a job for a more important client. The kept providing deadlines that they didn't even appear to try to meet. the following week they presented me with a new invoice, with no warning or discussion, for almost an additional $7K. This included drainage (which was in the original plan), power wash and sealing an existing wall (which was in the original plan) and removal and replacement of the section of patio that they installed incorrectly to begin with.I offered to pay for the removal of the existing patio, the excavation and fill they had completed, and usable materials. Ultimately I was left with a complete mess and mud hole for $7K. I understand there are two sides to every story, but they just won't communicate. They would not respond to my attorney.

Desired Settlement: At the end of the day I paid double for the patio, and a job that should have taken a week ended up taking about 9 by the time I found someone else etc. If I take this to arbitration I will pursue breach of contract which entites me not just to recover all costs.I am looking to settle this without going to arbitration. I estimate that for the $7K I may have received $2K worth of service which would leave a refund of $5K. I am willing to accept $3.5K to avoid the cost of filing for arbitration

Business Response:

Respectfully, I must disagree with Mr. *******'s statement of facts in this matter.
 
Riverside Landscaping, LLC did enter into an agreement with Mr. ******* on June 23, 2014.  This agreement called for, among other things, to add some new pavers that were to be incorporated into the existing patio  We were also contracted to do some landscaping, planting, and lawn renovation.  
 
Almost immediately the property owner began changing the plan.  He requested that we tear out the old patio, changed the plan of the patio, which was partially installed and thus had to be removed.  These changes were not limited to only the addition of steps, but were a total reworking of the plan.  Mr. ******* signed a disclaimer for the change of grade that would take more man-hours to complete the job with one day left to complete the job.    While we were able and willing to do the change of work, we could not do so at the initial pricing.  Not until presented with the price for changes did he make any complaints about the work.  His complaints began the moment he received the invoice, not before.  One day he said that it looked good and the next there was a complaint. He expected us to do the additional work for the same price.  We could not do that.  
 
Also, our plan was to complete the backyard before starting renovation in the front yard so the customer's property would not all be disarray, but since we could not finish the backyard we did not even have the opportunity to start.
 
With regards to the complaint's statement about attendance at the job site, if we were not there it was because we were told at one time to hold off until a decision was made on the changes to move forward, not because of lack of attention on our part.  Weather was another reason that we were not on site and then once the decision was made to go ahead with the job we had to order a specific paver that was not available due to high demand. After a few days of tracking down the specific paver that the customer wanted, suddenly a decision was made to cancel the agreement.
 
In short, we contracted for one job, were then asked to do a different job, and were held back from completing any job at the request of the property owner.  We have tried to resolve these issues, but have been unable to reach a middle ground.  We have sustained a large out of pocket expense as a result of this matter.  Mr. ******* is unwilling to acknowledge this fact and as a result is apparently dissatisfied.  We also offered to have Mr. ******* purchase the pavers at cost since it was so difficult to locate, but he declined.  

Consumer Response:

 I would like to provide the following rebuttal to the response provided by Riverside Landscaping LLC.

 

1)      The first paragraph is not entirely correct.  The existing pavers were to be incorporated into a new patio. Not the other way around.

2)      a) The old patio was always to be removed.

b) Prior to installation I will agree that the general shape (but not the size) was revised.  We were told it would be laid out with paint first (which they did) so we could make revisions as necessary.

c) After the first day of install I directed them to remove and reinstall because it was installed sloping toward the house. 

d) I did ask them to install steps that were not in the initial plan.

e) I asked them to install at a grade that they felt was too steep so I agreed to sign a disclaimer.  I would dispute that this in itself created much if any additional work

f) There was no discussion about additional cost until after that portion of the work was complete.

g) My complaints started the very first week and I have numerous emails to document this.  The project was to take one week and at the time I threw them off the project it was 5 weeks.

h) I do not expect them to do any additional work without being paid but I would expect them to notify me first so I can make a decision to proceed or not and I do not expect to pay for a patio that was installed incorrectly (ie. Sloped to the back door).

 

3)      I agree that they had planned from the beginning to do the back yard first and then move to the front.  I understand and accept that logic.  However, when they got so far behind they then stated they would bring two crews out, one for the front and one for the back.  This never happened.

 

4)      I did not once tell them to hold off and I am absolutely shocked that they claim it was not due to lack of attention.  I have several emails and texts asking where they are and on one ocacission was even told they were at a more important customers’.  They fired the foreman and crew twice which again caused delays.  I agree that there were days that weather may have impacted their work.  I selected a paver the day they were presented to me.  I was informed that it would take a few days to get.

 

I was willing to negotiate.  I wanted 5K of the 7K back to which I was offered 1K.  I then offered 3.5K and have never received a response.

 

My biggest issue here is that they blew me off as a customer and they wanted me to pay for them to install and remove work that they installed incorrectly.  There are some items I would agree to disagree but the fact that they will rarely respond to calls or emails really annoys me.  I don’t have to win but right now I am the only one losing.

 

****** ** *******

President

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My grass gets cut, but that's basically it. We have a service contract with them for complete yard care. The mulch we got is horrible and thinly spread, my beds are FULL of weeds, and not one bush or tree has been pruned all season. These things are specifically spelled out in our contract. They keep saying that they're going to get to it, but nothing is being accomplished month after month. Funny, they have no problem billing us - and now they want to raise prices! Also, it's not just us...we have an entire neighborhood who negotiated a price and terms that are not being fulfilled and we are all fed up. After many phone calls and emails about what we expect to be done, the BBB is our next best hope!

Desired Settlement: We should be refunded money for an entire season of having little to nothing done in our yards. Spring clean-up was entirely ignored, weeding was not done, and the quality of service promised was not met. I would be satisfied with a return of half of our monthly payments spanning from April through August (approximately $225) per resident served, and then would be happy to release them from their contract.

Business Response: Mrs. ***,

 
We understand your frustration, but we do aim to deliver a professional service to our customers to the best of our ability.  Due to circumstances beyond our control we were actually losing money on a weekly basis and were unable to continue services at the monthly rate.  We provided the services for your property with maintenance, clean up, weeding, and pruning.  We regret your dissatisfaction, but have taken steps to improve our management and service levels.  We hope that you could understand our predicament. 
 
Riverside Landscaping

Business Response:

Response sent to customers  
 
July 25 2014
 
Dear Valued Customer,
 
Due to circumstances beyond our control, we are regretfully unable to continue to provide services to you at the monthly rate of $89.20 per household.

We are planning to prune at your residence this upcoming week. Effective August 4, 2014, the monthly cost for our services will be $165.00.

We thank you for your business, but due to inaccurate calculation of price for services we have been forced to increase the monthly price. We would like to continue servicing your needs and understand if you are no longer interested, but we hope that we can be of service to you. 

Fall Clean up was not included in the contract and-will be a separate price of $220.00, which would include the leaf removal, cutting of dead plants, trimming, blowing off the yard, and removal of all debris.

For those of you who would like to continue services, we would like to provide you with a discount of 20% for the Fall Clean up for a charge of $176.00 for your patronage.

For residents who have had additional landscaping services, we will honor those accordingly.

If you would like to continue as our customer, please con?rm by replying by email by phone by August 3, 2014. If you reply by email, please type “YES” in the subject line for continuing service or “NO” to discontinue service. If you are replying by phone, just call with your response.  Thank you.

If we do not hear from you by August 3, 2014, we will assume that our services are no longer required and will cease service.

We apologize for the inconvenience and truly appreciate your business, but this is our only alternative under the circumstances.

Respectfully, 
**** ****
Of?ce Manager
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Riverside Landscaping, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)