BBB Accredited Business since

Verne & Ellsworth Hann Inc.

Phone: (216) 932-9755 Fax: (216) 932-2266 2026 Lee Rd., Cleveland Hts., OH 44118 http://hannheatingcooling.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential heating, cooling, plumbing & boiler services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Verne & Ellsworth Hann Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Verne & Ellsworth Hann Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Verne & Ellsworth Hann Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1956 Business started: 01/01/1950
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher A. Hann, Vice President Mr. William Hann, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher A. Hann, Vice President
Principal: Mr. William Hann, President
Business Category

Heating Contractors Plumbers Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • 2026 Lee Rd.

    Cleveland Hts., OH 44118

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given a 5 hour window, and repair technician failed to call to let me know he was on his way. I looked at my watch when he arrived and made note that it was 3:06. After working for 35 minutes, and spending 20 minutes in his truck writing up a bill, he came back in at 4:01 and said he had to charge me for an 5 quarter hours; claiming that he arrived at 3:00 exactly, and the extra one minute counts as a quarter hour. I told him that I looked at my watch before answering the door, and I was certain it was 3:06, but he said there was nothing he could do. On top of that, he would not accept the coupon on the company's website, because I did not have it printed out. I showed him a receipt from his company, where a previous technician had accepted the online coupon, but to no avail. When he left, I called the Verne & Ellsworth office, and explained everything that had happened, and received no apology or explanation.

Desired Settlement: No settlement desired. I just want to let others know so that they may avoid this dishonest company.

Consumer Response: I would like to elevate my previous grievence about 'Verne & Ellsworth Heating' to a formal complaint, due to further information that I have received. 

 
We first had a  V & E technician come in on 11/4/13 to help with our thermostat. Our boiler was working just fine, but we had to manually turn it off if it got too warm. The pressure gauge on the boiler was reading much higher than reccommended (6-12psi), but the technician said it isn't a problem because the boiler will shut off itself if the pressure goes too high. The technician repaired the thermostat and charged $129. Over the next week, a lot of our radiators stopped working, and the pressure on the boiler remained high. On 11/14/13, our radiator on the the third floor started leaking and came down onto our 2nd floor, severely damaging the ceiling. We turned off our boiler to prevent any further damage and called V & E. On 11/24 the technician turned the boiler on and said that our heat should be working, but we will have to manually turn the water on to keep the heat going, because our feeder was not working and quoted us $700 to get a new one. After the technician overestimated the time spent working and refused to accept my coupon we paid $217,  and our heat was still not working in 75% of the radiators, leaving our house at 43 degrees. We had another repairman come in and look at our boiler, and he notified us that there is nothing wrong with the boiler, including the feeder that the V & E technician said we needed repaired. He showed me that the wires in the feeder control (which are behind a casing) had been unplugged. This is why the water was not being regulated, and thus overfilling and causing a leak in our house. Additionally, our radiators were not working because they were filled with water and unable to fill with steam. 
 
We had our boiler on for 4 weeks before we called V & E, and we had never had a leak or problems with any of our radiators working. If the wires had been unplugged prior to the V & E technician working on the boiler, then the leaking issues would have surfaced within the first week. Further, the V & E technician said we needed a new feeder, but all he needed to do was check the feeder mechinism to see that it was unplugged.
 
I originally did not want to pursue a formal complaint or request any sort of refund, because I thought the company's dishonesty was minimal and led to slight overcharges. Now that it has become clear that they may have tampered with our boiler in order to tack on false charges, or at least failed to notice a very simple (30 second) fix for the piece they were looking to repair, I would like to be reimbursed for the work that they have wrongly charged for ($346). Their work has caused severe damage to our ceiling from leaks, and has left our house (unnecessarily) at 43 degrees for 2 days. I'm not pursuing the cost for repairing our ceiling, but I don't think we should have to pay for this "work".

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,
 Please find enclosed a response to the recent correspondence the Cleveland BBB has had with Mrs. ***** ******* **** ******** **** ********** **** *** *****
On Monday 11/4/13 we were called by Mrs. ****** because their boiler was not working correctly and would not shut-off with their thermostat. When we arrived she then explained that one of her relatives had been trying to repair the boiler prior and was not able to do it. We found that her relative had wired the boiler incorrectly and we rewired the controls to restore proper operation. We cycled the boiler with the thermostat 5 times to insure proper operation.  We did tell her to have the boiler tuned up by a professional ASAP as it was very dirty and in need of cleaning and stated this on our invoice. She declined further service at that time and said would call us to schedule the tune up. She did show us an image on her phone of a coupon and we did except the coupon.
Saturday 11/16/13 we received an emergency weekend phone call to our technician from Mr. ****** stating that they were having leakage and poor heat from some radiators. Our technician on call gave Mr. ****** our emergency service rates and offered to come over to repair the problem.  Mr. ****** balked at the rates and our service technician then spent 30 minutes on the phone explaining to him how to manually drain down the boiler.  Mr. ****** and our technician were able to work through the problem over the phone thus saving them the cost of an expensive service call. I did have to pay my employee for his time talking them through their flooding problems. My employee then followed up later that same Saturday morning to be sure they did not need or services. At this time Mr. ****** stated that they were fine for the weekend but did book a service call with us for Monday 11/18/13, when our rates were not at overtime, for us to come and inspect why the boiler had flooded. We spent a total of 45 minutes on a Saturday helping them and charged them nothing. 
Monday 11/18/13 we dispatched our service technician for the appointment Mr. ****** scheduled with us to inspect why the boiler was flooding. When we arrived we found no one home, we also called and were unable to get an answer on the phone. We hung a door tag so they would know we had driven over as they requested. We never heard from them regarding the missed appointment or with an apology for our wasted time.  Again we charged them nothing for our time to drive to and from their house, fuel and unproductive man hours.
Monday 11/25/13 Mrs. ****** called to say they were having leakage from their radiators and their system was flooded again. Upon our arrival we found the automatic water feeder mechanism had failed and would not shut of unless we disconnected the electrical wires to it to de-energize the control. We explained to Mrs. ****** that we disconnected the wiring and they would have to manually add water to the system until the feeder was replaced and showed her how to do that. We drained the system down to the proper level and said it would take several hours to warm the house. We also cleaned the dirty sight glass so they could more easily see the water level. Again we recommended the boiler be tuned up but she declined. We did quote $ 700.00 for a new automatic water feeder control and also new main line vents she declined this work as well.
If anyone should be complaining it is me. We recommended having the boiler tuned up to prevent these types of problems. We spent time on a weekend helping them without any compensation. Try getting your Doctor to talk to you on Saturday for a medical problem, good luck!  We then followed up later that Saturday with a courtesy call to see how they were doing with the flooded boiler.  The ******s then don’t call us or show up for a service appointment, they scheduled, to see why the boiler flooded. We again don’t charge them our minimum service call of $ 88.00 for our time to drive to the house. Mrs. ****** seems to only have recollection of parts of our conversations and conveniently forgets that they decided to not have the boiler tuned up as we suggested on the very first service call, forgets about all of our FREE time spent to help them on a Saturday, forgets about her not cancelling and missing an appointment her husband scheduled etc. etc.
I am very sorry that they had flooding problems with their boiler that her relative had initially repaired incorrectly. But I don’t feel in any way have we not performed our jobs in a professional and honest matter.
 
Sincerely,
 
*********** ** ****,  owner

Consumer Response: 1. We did not have a relative re-wire anything. Our initial problem was only with the thermostat, not the boiler itself.  

 
2. We did not have an appointment for Monday. My husband was at work and called the company and asked that they call and schedule an appointment with me. Instead, they just showed up at the house, and since I was not home, I was not able to let them in. 
 
3. If they feel they should be compensated for a Saturday phone call, then they should charge for the call. They failed to address the fact that their technician spent 20 minutes in his van writing up a bill, and over calculated his total time at our home. 
 
4. The repair technician did not tell me he was disconnecting any wires, nor is it written in the notes on the bill he left. The bill does however, say we needed a new feeder, which we found (after hiring an honest technician), did not need to be replaced. 
 
5. I did not receive the discount that I showed on my phone because I was told it must be printed out. 

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,
Please find enclosed a response to the recent correspondence the Cleveland BBB has had with
**** ***** ******* **** ******** **** ********** **** *** *****
Complaint ID *******
1. When our technician arrived at the home someone at the home explained that
a relative had tried to fix the thermostat. We found the thermostat was wired into a new control
improperly and we corrected the low voltage wiring to restore heat. Boiler was working fine
when we left and we recommended a tune-up by a professional service person as the boiler was
in need of additional routine maintenance ASAP. Mrs. ****** declined the additional work and
told our service manager she would talk with her Dad about the tune-up. She also told our
service manager her Dad was the person who worked on the boiler prior to us.
2. Mr. ****** did book a service call with our company for Monday and stated his
wife would be there for the appointment. We don't randomly drive around the city knocking on
doors to see if someone is in need of our service.
3. Our service tech was in his van for 3.5 minutes writing up her bill not 20.
4. Our technician did tell her he disconnected the automatic water feeder wires
and showed her the wires he disconnected. He explained to her she would need to add water
to the boiler manually since the feeder was malfunctioning. He also showed her how to
manually fill the boiler until the feeder was replaced. The feeder solenoid was stuck in the on
position and the only way we could get it to shut off was to disconnect the power from it. It will
fail again at some point.
5. Mrs. ****** did call our office and complain about the coupon after our
technician left her home. She was told that we send out a check for the amount of the coupon
by ***** in my office (25.00).We had every intention of doing that. Since we received her BBB
complaint about our company the same day and felt her complaint was unjust and full of half-
truths the check was not sent. That decision was made by me.
Sincerely, 
*********** ** ****, owner
Verne & Ellsworth Hann, Inc.

Consumer Response: I was not told that the feeder wires had been pulled, and the technician did not mention it in his notes on my receipt (attached). I was told that part had to be replaced, and when a tech from a different company came to look at our boiler the following day, he said there was no problem with the feeder. Once he plugged it in the boiler worked just fine, and continues to work with no problems.  

 
The owner says my statements are half truths, but he was not present when these events took place and hasn't even seen the boiler or the repairs. Everything I have written has been the objective truth. The Ellsworth Vern tech wrote out everything that was done at our appointment,  but wrote nothing about unplugging the feeder.  I believe leaving out that detail was in bad faith,  but regardless,  we should not have to pay for an unnecessary service that worsened our situation.  

Business Response: Mrs. ****** is 100 % correct that I was not present for the repairs and am relying on the statements from 4 of my employees who had contact with Mrs. ****** about her boiler. Two of our office staff and 2 different service techs. Our first service tech " ****" said he clearly told the ******s that the boiler needed a thorough tune up to avoid future problems and stated on his work order. Our service manager "***" followed up with a phone call and was told by someone at the home that they would speak to their father who was the person servicing the boiler and caused the initial service call, and would call us if they wanted our services. We never received a call to perform the rec'd tune-up and cleaning. On the second problem with the boiler our assistant service manager "Bill" was the person who spoke with Mr. ****** and helped him over the phone to solve their flooded boiler problem on a Saturday when they did not want to pay for us to send a tech to their home. He was also the person who Mr. ****** scheduled the service call with on the Monday when there was no one at their home when we arrived for the scheduled appt. Our second service repair man "****" who has 40 years of boiler experience was the person who disconnected the feeder in order to get the water to stop flowing into the system. I spoke with all 4 of the people and have forwarded in my responses their recollection of what transpired. **** said he explained to someone at the house that he had to disconnect the power from the feeder in order to get it to shut-off and that a new feeder was recommended to solve the problem and make the system reliable. He told me he showed someone at the house how to manually fill the boiler with water until a new feeder could be installed. He did write on his work order that the feeder had failed and needed to be replaced.As much as we would like to write on our work order every word that was said during a visit it is impossible. He also stated that he drained the flooded system.  He relayed all of the information to our service manager as to what he did in addition to explaining it to the homeowner. Our service manager did follow up with another phone call and quoted replacement of the feeeder to them. Possibly the ******s did not understand what **** was saying as it can be confusing to homeowners as they are not trained boiler people. The feeder will fail again and possibly cause  water damage to their house and should not be trusted. Once the solenoid inside the unit sticks open it is likely to happen again in the future. Our company has not stayed in business for 5 family generations by lying to people and not giving good customer service. All of the employees involved with Mrs. and Mr. ****** are long term and well experienced employees. I will offer to refund Mrs. ****** the coupon amount for the second service call of        $ 25.00 just as my service manager had stated when she called into our office and asked about it initially.

Consumer Response: Both my husband and I understood everything that the repair technicians told us. This is why I am certain that neither of us were ever told that the feeder was being unplugged. The receipt that I attached to the prior message does NOT state anything about the feeder being unplugged, it only states that the feeder needs to be replaced. The technician from another company told us the next day that there is nothing wrong with our feeder, and that it only needed to be plugged in. Again, it has now been 6 weeks and our feeder is still working without any problems. If you set aside all the 'he said, she said', and look only at the objective, provable information, it points to dishonesty for the purpose of financial gain on V & E's side.