BBB Accredited Business since

Bill Reynolds Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 946-7863 Fax: (440) 946-3250 View Additional Phone Numbers 1374 E. 345th St., Eastlake, OH 44095

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill Reynolds Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bill Reynolds Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bill Reynolds Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1958 in OH Business incorporated 07/24/1969 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
6606 Tussing Road, P.O. Box 4009, Reynoldsburg OH 43068-9009
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: 614-644-2618

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Daniel T. Reynolds, President Ms. Denise Reynolds, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel T. Reynolds, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Denise Reynolds, Vice President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors Plumbers

Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • 1374 E. 345th St.

    Eastlake, OH 44095 (440) 946-7863

  • 5161 Mayfield Rd.

    Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 (440) 946-7863


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased AC and furnace from Bill Reynolds heating & air conditioning on 11/15/2012 and I purchased ten year warranty (parts+labor) . My AC was actually first tested on the summer of 2013. Recently this summer, my AC was found not working. So, first my wife called and they told her that we need to pay for the service. So, I called the office and explained that I have ten-year warranty and was told that no charge will be billed for checking out the problem. A technician came in and found that the problem was the power switch was not turned on on the electric panel. A few days later, I received a bill of $89 for just turning on the switch on the electric panel. I was stunned by this bill because first of all I was told that I will not be billed for diagnostic problem because I have the ten ear warranty. Second, just turning on the power will cost me $89!. If I knew that they will charge me $89 for just diagnostic problem, I would use other cheaper company. I used this company because I was told by their office people that this will be covered by my warranty! When I tried to resolve this dispute, I called twice to the office and they said will call me back in 30 min, but they never did. The second time (5/28/2015), they told me that this is not covered and they spent gas and time by coming to my home to check out my AC. What kind of company and warranty they provide! Does that mean I have to pay them to find out the problem even I have ten year warranty (parts+labor)? Their promise means nothing but just more billing? Now, I have to think again before I call them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this charge of $89 (dated 5/14/2015, invoice 12507) removed.

Business Response: Per this complaint, Mrs. Called on 5/11/15 to say the ac was not working.  I told her no problem, we 
would get someone out that day.  I further went on to say that she has 10 year parts and labor warranty, 
and there would be no charge if it was warranty related.  

Our technician arrived, and found that the double pole 30 amp breaker was turned off.  He turned it back on, cycled system, and found everything working properly.  He would have then collected for our normal service call charge, but only the children were home, so I had to bill it out.

It was hot that day, and we were extremely busy.  Our tech worked overtime to get there and arrived
at 5:36 PM.  He was on overtime at this point, but we did not charge overtime rates, and had it been warranty
related we would not have charged him at all, even though the warranty states the work is covered during regular
business hours.  I am pretty sure it would have been very hard to get another licensed company out at all that day, and especially without emergency service rates.

Unfortunately, the problem was not a warranty related issue; therefore, we cannot collect for our costs on
a claim.  Even though the problem was simple, the tech was paid overtime, and he was in Chardon at his previous call, and still had to go to Richmond Hts., so travel time and expenses to stop off in Mentor first to fit him in was also a factor.

When Mr. first called, it was another very busy day, and since the matter wasn’t related to his comfort or equipment, his call was not returned that day.  When he called a second time, I explained why the call wasn’t 
covered, and offered to take 50% off.  He then called back and talked to my co-worker, and said he would not pay more than $30.00, and expressed distain that he had to pay at all.

We do value our customers, and do all we can as fairly as possible to assure their comfort and 
satisfaction.  If he had a computer with warranty but the issue wasn’t covered, those companies would never even perform the work without payment.  

I feel we took the appropriate measures to respond to his issue, and then offered him a discount after the fact.
We also gave him a huge special discount [$1,890.00} on the install to begin with.  The cost also included free parts and labor which is an additional 400.00 off.

I am very sorry that he is unhappy, but to date, he hasn’t paid anything, and if we operated by eating all
the costs on warranty issues that are not covered, it would be hard to stay in business.  We would still like
to collect at least our cost, which is approximately 45.00, but at this point we are willing to let it go and walk away.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, I personally called the office and confirmed there is NO charge for finding out the problem before they visited us.  Otherwise, I could find some cheaper service company.  Now, they are trying to bill me $89 for just turning on the power switch! 

Second, their warranty is confusing as the contract says 10 year labor and parts in writing and now they are telling me this is not covered!

I am totally disappointed in this company's response!


****** ***


Business Response:

Response taken on 6/18/2015 at 11:15AM via phone by BBB staff (**)

****** advised the consumer called the company on 6/17/2015 and paid the charges. She stated he was priority when he called and the breaker was not defective and not therefore not covered under warranty.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our Carrier furnace & A/C in December 2012. Since that time, we have made multiple attempts to get the product repaired. My husband called in early May 2013 to get the A/C charged. We were scheduled to have technicians out on May 16th between 11-2. They came. I called on May 22nd in the afternoon complaining that the A/C was still blowing warm air on the 1st floor & that no air was blowing on the 2nd floor. We have to have the ceiling fans turned on both floors of our house (1st & 2nd floors) to help ease the hot air in our home because the A/C was not functioning. We even had to move both of our chidlren's cribs in our 1st floor living room because it was too hot upstairs for them to sleep comfortably. The secretary scheduled for technicians to come to our residence on June 4th between 11-2. I told her that I was extremely upset with owner *** Reynolds because when he came to our residence in December to sell the furnance & A/C, he stressed that he grew up in Mentor and was well acquainted with the homes in the area & promised that our issue of not getting warm or cold air in the room over the garage would no longer be an issue and that we would get warm & cold air upstairs if we went with his product. He had us sold. On 5/16, the technicians walked the basement and changed the dampers to be on for summer use & recommended that we retape all of our ducts. My husband retaped all of the ducts that weekend. The A/C was still blowing warm air in our home and the upstairs was still hot. I called on June 28th & left a message.Technician came to our house on July 2nd at 4:45 pm. He walked the house and told me that that his home is 72 and that he has trees over his house & that every house is different. He said the house was fine and left. I called & said that *** had to come over. He was scheduled to come July 3rd & cancelled at 2:42 pm that day. He came on July 5th at 11. He admits that air isn't blowing cold air and would send technicians. The technicians were scheduled to come on 7/16

Desired Settlement: Scheduled to come between 2-4 and came after 5. They found thermostat is reading the temp. wrong. Temp. is 2.5 degrees higher than actual reading states. They found damper wasn't closed to the house from where the old A/C was connected. The technicians during installation never closed it. My husband called the office on 7/18 at 9:30 am 7/30 at 4:45 was told by sec. they are busy with other jobs & we would have to wait. We want newA/C & furnance to run 100%, replace thermostat Next appt is 8/12

Consumer Response:

Ms. ******,

My name is ***** ********** and on July 31, 2013, I wrote a complaint against Bill Reynolds Heating and Air Conditioning. I understand that this company was contacted and that I can expect to hear news up to 4 weeks from the time I had filed. It presently has surpassed the 4 week time frame and I have yet to hear from Mr. Reynolds.

The reason why I am contacting you today is because our furnace was not working last night, September 14, 2013 and is not working today. My husband called Bill Reynolds Heating and Air Conditioning at 9:30 am this morning, September 15, 2013. The answering service had a technician call us back. The technician, ******* *****, called back and said that he would be here in 2 hours because he has other customers ahead of us. He was supposed to be here at 11:30 am. At 2:20 pm, my husband called again and the answering service left the message with the technician. Mr. ***** called back and said that he still is finishing up other customers and asked if we would want to reschedule for service on Monday. My husband explained that we have to have heat. We have 2 toddlers and that they need to be warm. Mr. ***** said that he would come as soon as he can. It is presently 4:40 pm and still no technician has come after the last contact with him 2 hours ago. I wanted to add this to my complaint because the furnace is still not working and we are not getting service. We've been waiting all day for the technician. As a courtesy, he should call and say that he would be late because he initially told us that he would be here in 2 hours.

Thank you for your time,

***** **********

Business Response:

Response to complaint ID *******


By:  ****** Reynolds

Bill Reynolds Heating Installed a complete system for the **********s in December of 2012.  They were given a tremendous discount for their system. 

They had no problems until they tried to use their Air Conditioning in May of 2013.

We went out several times trying to rectify the problems.  Mrs. ********** stated at first that their was a problem with cooling to the upstairs and that they had had the same problem with their old system, and upset because they were told the system we put in would correct that.

After at least 4 trips out, trying to air balance, adjust blower speeds, etc., we discovered

that one of there air ducts on the system was actually a fresh intake air duct, which was

drawing warm air and humidity in, and causing the problem.  It was in no way apparent that the duct was a fresh air intake; it looked just like all the other supply ducts.

We sealed this closed and the problem was resolved.

We feel we did everything we could to resolve the issue, and always responded promptly each time the customer called.  The install was done correctly, and we could not have foreseen the problem, but did do all we could as quickly as we could to resolve it.

If only the **********s had known about this fresh air intake duct, the problem would not have occurred from the start.  No wonder they had such a problem with their last system.

****** Reynolds

********** Complaint   Part 2

ID *******

September 30, 2013


We received a call on Sunday, 9/15/13 for no heat at the **********’s house.


The tech told Mrs. ********** that he would be out that day, and call when

he was on the way.  He did have other calls that took longer than usual, and ended up

not getting there until around 5pm.  He did call at around 2 pm letting them know he would still be out that day.  The tech also knew that if a part was needed he would not be able to get a part until Monday when the parts store opened.  Since it ended up being 63 degrees that day, the tech did not assess it to be “emergency” status.


He should have kept the **********’s informed of the time delay.  We did reprimand him, and will ensure that this will not happen again in the future. 


I apologized to the **********’s that Sunday, and let them know they were top priority, and that I would personally make sure to re-arrange the schedule so that I could get them on the schedule first thing Monday morning once we were able to obtain the part they needed. 


I did find the part Monday morning, and we were able to replace it first call.  Mr. ********** did understand, and appreciated the prompt repair.  He was very understanding.  I was very surprised that after this, I received the complaint from Mrs. **********.  We do try very hard to satisfy all our customers, and feel we did all we could in this case, aside from the tech not keeping the customer informed on when he would be arriving.


****** Reynolds

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Bill Reynold's Heating & Air Conditioning to repair my Lennox air conditioner unit that stopped working on Sunday 06/23/13. On Monday 06/24, ****, a technician with the company found that a small animal had gained access to the electrical casing and chewed through wiring. The unit needed to replace the capacitor and the connector along with re-wiring. It was unknown if the compressor was shorted out until the other parts were replaced. **** stated that I needed to contact a different company to do the work because they don't stock Lennox parts. He did not replace anything or attempt to re-wire anything. I was charged a full service charge to be told to call someone else. If it is Bill Reynold's policy not to service Lennox units, I should have been told that while on the phone scheduling the appointment, not after coming to my home and charging me a service charge to not perform any work. The new company came out and replaced the capacitor and connector with UNIVERSAL parts. They did not need to be Lennox brand or be special ordered as **** stated.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the amount of the service charge ($79).

Business Response:

Regarding this complaint, the attached order is exactly what the technician **** stated to customer.  We never

Told the customer to call another company, or that we could not do the repair, as seen on the service order.


We did lapse a little in timing of locating the part and calling customer with a price.  We have been overwhelmingly busy with no ac calls

And Lennox parts always differ from other mfg. parts, as in this case it required a 3 pole contactor which is very rare.


The other company had the advantage of knowing that the problem was a contactor, and the brand was Lennox.  He was able to

come prepared with a part and complete the repair.


I called and left a message with Mr. ******* with these facts, apologized for not calling him back with a price for the repair sooner, and

offered to refund his 79.00 if he would retract the complaint.

Consumer Response: I spoke with the owner via telephone and the issue has been resolved satisfactorily.  I wish to withdraw my complaint as a favorable outcome has been offered to me.  

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Reynolds HVAC in April 2009 to have central air conditioning put in our 1,324 square foot one-story home. Since then we have had nothing but problems. The air handler in the attic has been replaced as well as the thermostat. Reynolds HVAC has been out to our home at least 16 times within the past 4 years to try to "repair" the lemon of a unit. They should have just replaced it by now, because it is obviously a lemon. Instead we are going through stress, wasting time off work, etc. I am very upset with how they are handling this, and they should be ashamed of doing "business" like this. I feel as if they send whoever is on call when there is an issue, instead of technicians that know what they're doing.This is completely unacceptable and ridiculous. There are people with 30 year old units that work just fine.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my money so that I can find a contractor who can provide a quality product and quality service - technicians who can properly install a working unit.

Business Response: Company responded by phone. **

The company indicates this matter has been resolved.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



**** * **** ******


P.S.  We are pleased with how they resolved the issue, and we once again have faith in their company and also their ability.  Thank you for all of your help.