BBB Accredited Business since

Class 1 Pavers & Remodelers, LLC

Phone: (216) 397-6349 Fax: (216) 291-8650 View Additional Phone Numbers 1481 Warrensville Center Rd., South Euclid, OH 44121 http://www.class1pavers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Class 1 Pavers & Remodelers, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Class 1 Pavers & Remodelers, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Class 1 Pavers & Remodelers, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2005 in OH Business incorporated: 10/28/2005 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Wisniewski, President Mr. Mike Krapinski, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Wisniewski, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General Paving Contractors Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 1481 Warrensville Center Rd.

    South Euclid, OH 44121 (216) 392-1335

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1.Work performed was unsatisfactory and unfinished:2 tiles on the wall were damaged and need to be replaced.The top of the tub surround was not caulked and sealed, causing water to get in to the wall behind it.Both toilets are missing bolt caps.Tiles on the wall are not level.One tile on the floor was removed and needs to be replaced or repaired.Contract price included a faucet, garbage disposal and 2 showerheads. I purchased these items myself and was told I would be compensated. 2.On or about February 28, 2014, I contacted Class 1 Pavers & Remodelers requesting them to come back and fix and complete the above mentioned issues. I was told that they would be back the next week. After not hearing from them for another week, I called again and was told they would be back on Saturday, March 8, 2014 between 12:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. No one showed and I havent heard from them.3.In general, they were very sloppy. I am very unhappy with their service.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of $ 555.38 ($304.00 to repair/finish plus $251.38 for faucet, garbage disposal and showerheads)

Business Response:

THIS COMPLAINT WAS TWO YEARS OLD..TRY TOO REPAIR VERY HARD TOO GET TOGETHER WITH...HAD KEMO THERAPY APPOINTMENT... SO SHE WANT A SETTLEMENT I WILL SEND HER THE MONEY SO WE CAN CLOSE THIS COMPLAINT..
SHE HAS NEVER CALLED ME IN THE LAST 6 MONTHS ......WHY SHES CALLING THE BBB IS BEYOND ME ...FIRST TIME I HEARD ABOUT THE MONEY AND SHE WAS TOO BUY FIXTURES....

Clarification from the business taken over the phone by BBB staff 2/18/15. Will send the check out on Friday 2/20/15.

Consumer Response: Consumer update taken over the phone by BBB staff 2/25/15. Consumer states company was at her home today to give her a cashiers check for the amount requested, $555.38. It was a misunderstanding. It turns out there was one employee which caused the issue and he is no longer with the company. She does consider the matter resolved.

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Class 1 Pavers and Re-modelers to replace the roof on my house. Their initial representatives were very helpful in helping me pick a color and style, however, the first problem occurred when they came to do the work.They tore off the old roof and left with the bare wood exposed. I was told that the city came by to inspect their work and they left the permit in the office that was, at this point, closed for the day. Luckily it didn't rain that night, otherwise it could have been tragic.Nevertheless, the next day they came back and finished the roof. I am not a roofer but from looking up at it it looked great, however after a few rains, my back room began to leak. This leak continued to get worse and spread throughout the room.I contacted the owner of the company, ****. **** was very rude and obnoxiously screamed at me saying that the leak is not due to the roof (without even coming to view the damage). I had another roofing company come to my house to get their opinion and they determined that the leak was caused due to the roofers skipping a step (not using drop flashing), which caused water to get in behind the siding. I called Class 1 back and **** yelled at me again. Very, VERY rude this man. He said it still wasn't his job and I told him what the other company said, so he had his roofers come back again to take a look. When they did, they say the issue and acknowledged that it was in fact due to their negligence in skipping that step. They proceeded to caulk the gap (not put in flashing, but rather squirting caulk in [seems half-gripped to me]) and the issue has been completely fixed. I contacted ****, the owner and asked him what he planned to do about the ceiling and walls in my back room that were ruined due to the leaking. His response was, "Stop harassing me, we fixed your leak as a courtesy and it's not our problem you have damage". I am afraid that all of the accumulated water in the ceiling has caused mold, not to mention his attitude completely unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company, CLASS 1 Pavers and Re-Modelers, to take responsibility for their work and fix the damage to my back room from the leaking ceiling caused by their negligence. I would also to go forward without being yelled at and disrespected by their owner ****. If this cannot be done, I would like the company to send me a check for enough money to cover the cost of having another company come out to fix the damages. If neither of these requests can be met, I will file a lawsuit.

Business Response: MR.********* CALLED YESTERDAY ABOUT HES CEILING...THE REPAIR WAS TAKEN CARE OF LAST WEEK. THEN YESTERDAY HE CALLED ABOUT THE REPAIR IN CEILING. I TOLD HIM CALL ME FRIDAY AND WE WILL DISCUSS IT. THE PROBLEM IS NOT THE ROOF BUT HES SIDING....I AM SO TIRED OF HIM CALLING OUR COMPANY AND TRYING TOO GET FREE WORK....PLEASE CALL HIM AND ASK HIM IF HE IS CALLING ME FRIDAY......THIS IS NOT FAIR...THANK YOU

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below:

The owner of the company came by and saw the damage to my ceiling due to the leaking roof. He said that he would have it repaired. In his response, he claimed that he would "REPAIR AND PAINT" the ceiling. Well, he sent some guys over (The guys who came over were very nice) but instructed them to just scrape and paint the ceiling, NOT REPAIR IT. 


The ceiling looks exactly the same except now it has a fresh coat of paint on it. I also have not had any remedy for the fact that they used caulk to stop the leak and not the proper drop flashing that they should have done in the first place. 


My first concern is that CAULK IS NOT A PERMANENT FIX, but rather a temporary one. Not to mention it is not professional and/or professional looking. My second concern is that I am still worried about mold up in the ceiling where it was leaking (Though the owner of the company **** says there is no way there is mold up there, I still have absolutely no way to know for sure and neither does he). Although the guys who came to my house and painted my ceiling were very nice and helpful, I cannot blame them because they were instructed by **** to just scrape the loose plaster and paint over the ceiling, which is what they did.


Not only does the discoloration bleed through the paint they just applied, but also the ceiling looks just as bad and cracked as it did before they came, now it is just a bit whiter. 


I would like the ceiling replaced and painted to ensure that there is NO MOLD as well as to give it the original flawless look that it always had before the water damage. I would also like for the half-thought caulk job to be undone and for the proper procedures to be followed (With the proper drop flashing), so that my ceiling does not leak again. After all, I paid good money to have this roof done the right way. I understand that things sometimes happen and mistakes are made, but resolving a mistake in a rude and unprofessional manner, and only supplying a temporary remedy and not actually fixing it to the specifications that I originally paid to have it done by, is unacceptable. I have attached a picture of the damaged ceiling before and after the paint job that the owner of the company claims resolves this issue.

 

Regards,

******* *********

 

 

Business Response: Business responded taken over the phone by BBB staff 8/11/14. They met the city inspector from South Euclid, and **** insisted that his roofer knew what the problem was, he asked the consumer to have his roofer take care of the problem and Class One will pay for it. This was agreed on while he and the consumer met with the City Inspector.  Regarding the ceiling, after the repair is complete and there is no leaks, they will take care of the ceiling. The consumer is to follow up with him once the work is done.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/15/2014 I signed a contract for a replacement of my porch and my precast steps leveled and handrails installed. On May 14 they came and torn down my porch and installed a new frame. They asked if they could leave some stuff in the garage and I said yes. May 15 they installed the rest of the porch and took their stuff from my garage. On May 20 the steps were leveled in a way that had not been explained to me when I agreed to the job and the handrails installed. I took a look around at the job and noticed 3 things. Why couldn't they take 5 minutes to remove my old wooden handrail, I now have a spot that needs a small piece of aluminum siding because they made the porch smaller and I have a gap under my front door threshold that was created when they removed the old porch. I also want to report that when this company gathered their things out of my garage, they took my red milk crate that had an orange 100 ft electric cord in it. I called and told them about this on May 22 and on May 27 I was told they would bring it back May 29 or May 30. I called and left a message again at 415 on May 30 and at 815pm they came by and tried to give me an orange 50ft electric cord with a big cut in it which I refused to take and then he got what I think is my 100 ft cord. I know my contract did not state removal of handrail but I thought maybe it didn't have to be mentioned since I was getting new handrails. I told the estimator that I am looking for a regular contractor for work on my house and I was hoping a company with an A plus rating with the BBB would be a good choice. I am feeing a little like I was taken advantage of since I live alone. It may have been an accident they took my electric cord but it did not feel right when they tried to trick me in returning the cord and no milk crate. I know the BBB likes to hear positive and negative about companies and I will not recommend this company even if they did nothing wrong. Something doesn't feel right.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to remove the wooden handrail. I would like a small piece if aluminum siding placed where there is none on the north side of the house where it meats the porch. It does not need painted. I have matching paint. I would like the gap under my front door threshold fixed and of course .... the return of my red milk crate.

Business Response:

we gav her the electric cord.. my carpenter never new about some miner repairs like a piece of siding.. wen she called me it was all about the electric cord......this complaint was her problem.. she called me and told me the job was excellent.......

my carpenter left her a message to call him about the new miner repairs......its not fair... the cord was given back friday she never mention the repairs....i will repair the problem bur it will be an extra charge....currently waiting for consumer to return call to office for an inspection. 


thank you **** class 1 pavers

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ****

 

 

 

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: there was a shower that was returned by an employee, that I bought for my bathroom. There was a difference in price. My cost was 160. I know that the one the young man came back with was less expensive. The guy in charge should have gave me a check the day they finish the job instead of prolonging this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would settle for the whole 160. Making me wait is not right. It has been 3 weeks now. I called on April 9th. He said, got my message and would take care of it. Now another week has gone by. I even txt him, is it in the mail. He did not answer me back yesterday at all. I will put in another complaint if this is not resolved soon.

Business Response: sent check out yesterday.....just got message today...thank you **** class 1pavers and remodelers

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE COMPLAINT IS CONCERNING THE NEW RAILINGS THAT WERE MADE FOR THE FRONT STEPS. AFTER THE INSTALLATION OF THE RAILINGS, WE FOUND THAT THE RAILINGS ARE VERY LOOSE AND POSES A DANGER TO ANYONE THAT MAY USE THE RAILINGS. I HAVE TRIED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS TO GET THIS ISSUE RESOLVED. ONCE I SPOKE WITH A PERSON AT THE COMPANY AND THEY REFERED ME BACK TO THE SALESMAN, **** *********, WHO HAS NEVER RETURNED MY CALLS.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE FOR THE RAILING TO BE INSTALLED PROPERLY SO THAT THEY ARE NOT LOOSE AT NO EXTRA COST TO ME. THEY HAVE VEEN PAID IN FULL FOR THE SERVICES THAT WERE PROVIDED IN THE AMOUNT OF 2425.00. IF NOT, I WANT A FULL REFUND FOR THIS ITEM SO THAT I CAN HAVE SOMEONE ELSE COME OUT AND COMPLETE THE JOB PROPERLY.

Business Response:

CLASS 1 PAVERS TOOK CARE OF THE COMPLAINT AT LEAST TWO TIMES........THE JOB WAS SOLD LAST YEAR......I WILL HAVE SOMEONE CORRECT THE PROBLEM..SHE NEVER CALLED THE OFFICE THE LAST 5 MONTHS

I WILL STILL TAKE CARE OF THE REPAIR......THEIR WAS NO CALL INB THE LAST 5 MONTHS......AND THE JOB IS 1YEAR OLD.....THIS SHOULD NOT BE A COMPLAINT......THANK YOU   **** ********** PRESIDENT

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards, ****** ******

PS- The company never came out to correct the problem. The sales person never called back. After several attempts I stopped calling. I went out to check the railing after work today and I am pleased to say that they came out today and corrected the problem. Thanks so much for your help in this matter.