BBB Accredited Business since

Gorilla Music

Phone: (216) 218-4716 Fax: (216) 298-4930 2310 Superior Ave E Ste 2000, Cleveland, OH 44114 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rockyourcitybooks.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Gorilla Music assists local bands in booking shows in local concert venues. Gorilla Music Management offers bands guidance, helping them grow in their marketplace while they learn how to write attention-getting songs. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gorilla Music meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gorilla Music include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Gorilla Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2006 in OH Business incorporated 03/01/2006 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Cull, Partner & Owner Mr. John Michalak, Partner & Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Cull, Partner & Owner
Principal: Mr. John Michalak, Partner & Owner
Business Category

Concert Promoters & Consultants Artists Agents Entertainment Bureaus Ticket Sales - Events Event Planners

Products & Services

Gorilla Music offers the following product(s): Books - Rock Your City - 5 Steps to Becoming the Biggest Band in Town

Alternate Business Names
Gorilla Music Management Gorilla Productions, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2310 Superior Ave E Ste 2000

    Cleveland, OH 44114 (216) 218-4716

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was set to play a Battle of the Bands event on 11/2/14, got the band all piled into the car to do check in. We left our ticket money with our Equipment, seeing as the event didn't open until 4, and check in was at 2:30, it was the assumption that we would be able to get there, back, and there again from ******** to **** within this timeframe since our sales were decent and NO event starts when doors open. Literally no event. Ever. But we'll get to that I guess. After explaining this to the Gorilla person, just to be safe, I told her it would be an hour to an hour and a half before we would be able to get back, and this wasn't made an issue, so we left at 3 to get our equipment. We departed at about 10 after 4 for the venue, and as I was pulling our equipment truck onto the freeway, I received a call from my Drummer (who was driving the other vehicle) that he had just been told we were on at 445 and we were to be at the venue at 430 or we weren't going to play. So I called the number that had called him, and told the Gorilla rep that we couldn't possibly make it in time but we were in transit, to which she told me that our set may be shortened a bit but the rep at the venue should be able to work with us. So after illegally driving 30+ miles over the speed limit across ******* freeways in a Pickup truck loaded with musical equipment, I pull up to the venue and go in to sort things out. The rep at the venue was a very rude and unprofessional woman who told me that we could set up and play, but our set ended at 5:15, period. I asked if there was any way to buy more time, and was snottily only told "You're set ends at 5:15." So, I began criticizing the last minute nature of her promoting, at which point she told me she had called both numbers for us she had to get direct answering machines, even though the other rep reached us and we called each other, oh AND she refused to show me the calls. She then openly bad mouthed my attitude on the phone like she was somebody's mom or something. Never again.

Desired Settlement: I ran out of space but I have one more detail: I decided that instead of playing a 5 minute set and paying this company, that I would offer refunds to the people that bought tickets and spent the gas money to see us that weren't allowed entry. As for a resolution, I doubt Gorilla is going to fire the rep or force her to publicly apologize, so I don't see a point in ever working with a company or an employee of that company that tried to stiff me, my band, and our fans.

Business Response:

Hi

 

I am sorry that you didn't have a better experience. So you know, even before we received this compliant we were in the process of reaching out to you. 

It is my understand that we have come up with a settlement that satisfies you and your group. We are glad that we were able to work things out with you. We will start working with you as agreed.

 

**** ********

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* Had I known THEY were apart of the BBB I would have filed my complaints a long time ago. The first incident happened in January 2012. We were given a headlining show to be played with bands of our choosing. The bands we chose to play with us were lined up to play at the exact same time as us. (there were 3 stages) so any hopes of seeing the bands requested were tarnished. Same night: We had sold around 80-90 tickets at $10 a piece. The money was given to a gorilla employee under the assumption we would get at least $300-400 back. Sadly that was not the case and we received NOTHING. We were also assured a certain time slot to play...11pm...we didn't go on until 1am! When we FINALLY started, they cut the power because of our "attitudes". (We were rightfully ****** off because we had a lot of fans leave) After a falling out between my band and the gorilla production company we patched things up for the CMF 2012 in August. Didn't bust our *** to sell tickets (because we got ******* at our previous show) and were given a 20 minute set time( i assume out of spite). After paying $10 to park and only getting 20 minutes to play...another BAD Gorilla Experience.CMF 13' We're asked to play but never received tickets or a follow-up after the agreement.CMF 14' Talked with a gentleman in late July about playing this festival. Was told we'd receive tickets in the mail within a week. Well its a WEEK before the show and still have not received any tickets. I called the gentleman I spoke with and was asked about the JANUARY 2012 incident. Asked me to explain what happened...AND APOLOGIZE. AGAIN. Having gone over this with the person who booked us for the CMF 12' show I didn't feel it necessary. After telling him that "I'll let you know" was the response i got as to if we were playing or not. THIS COMPANY IS MISMANAGED, HAS HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE/APPRECIATION/COMMUNICATION,IS ONLY OUT FOR THE SMALL AMOUNT OF MONEY US LOCAL BANDS CAN MUSTER, AND BESIDES RENTING OUT THE VENUE THEY DO **** **** FOR PROMOTION

Desired Settlement: LESS IS MORE. KEEP YOUR COSTS DOWN SO YOU DON'T HAVE TO FORCE US LOCAL BANDS TO SELL TICKETS AT $10 A POP (AND ONLY RECEIVE $2 A TICKET) HOW CAN ANY BAND MAKE MONEY THROUGH YOUR COMPANY? ITS A SCAM. PAY-TO-PLAY IS YOUR BUSINESS MODEL. HOW DO I WANT THIS RESOLVED? QUIT ******* PEOPLE OVER.

Business Response:

Dear ****,

I am sorry that you didn’t have a better experience. It is unfortunate that the bands you wanted to see we’re playing at the same time as your band.  Since that would have been easy to change I can only assume that it was not brought to our attention at that time, or the bands in question were happy with their time slots.

Your pay for that show should have been withheld by your band at band check-in.  Since the show was almost 3 years ago there is no way to investigate the incident now. You stated that you have worked with us since that date and that we patched things up so I must assume that any issue you might have had been resolved.

Regarding this year’s fest. It is my understanding that your violent behavior at last year’s fest made it impossible to book your band again this year. Venues and other companies associated with the fest refused to allow your band access to their venue.

Regarding our shows, please know that we do everything we can to keep the cost down, but the costs associated with these events are high. We don’t just pay to rent the room. We also cover the cost of the sound system, the sound man, clean up and we have to pay someone to run each show. These are just the day of show costs associated with the event, there are many other expenses.

We also do not force anyone to sell tickets. You know this since you have played with us before. You even admit that you didn’t sell tickets for last year’s fest. So we are not a pay to play company and as you know we are not a scam.

In your resolution proposal, you asked us to reimburse you for $10 parking and pay you $354.00. Please know that we are not associated with any parking lot and we did not receive any portion of the $10.00 you paid to park. That being said, I am still willing to pay you the $10 you requested, in an act of good faith. I am also willing to book your band on a show where you can keep 50% of the tickets sales to help your band make some money. But only if you can find a venue that is within our budget and they will allow your band to perform. You will also have to agree to be on your best behavior in order for that resolution to work.

Thank you,

 

**** ********

 216-534-4310

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


This gentlemen must of just glazed over my complaint and its a testament to their entire company. He stated our violent behavior at last years fest (we didn't play last year) is the reason we weren't booked this year. Then why did your company call OFFERING US the show? The big complaint was the *******'s show in January of 2012 and the only thing he apologized for was us being booked the same time as our friends bands. (All 3 bands will tell you we tried to change the times but *** **** was intoxicated and was to no avail) No mention of us going on 2 hours after we were supposed too, no apology for our fans leaving and getting no refund when it was their fault for all the discombobulation, and in regards to the $354 apparently they don't keep records of the shows they put on. Then there was this gem..


."Regarding this year’s fest. It is my understanding that your violent behavior at last year’s fest made it impossible to book your band again this year. Venues and other companies associated with the fest refused to allow your band access to their venue."         


As i already mentioned we didn't play last year. The same thing happened last year as this year. Offered us a show then backed out last minute. Any venues/companies that didn't want us to perform we attribute to YOUR company slandering us because we've played almost every venue listed and have NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. Only with you guys. So one can only assume any big venue that has heard of us in a negative light has only heard so because of you. So thanks for that. 

        

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

Business Response:

Hi ****,

I am sorry that **** did not let you know the situation. I am sure that she didn’t mean you any harm.

So you know, this was not our choice. The club decided not to let you play on this show. At this time I can offer you $100 to compensate for any inconvenience that we may have caused you.

 

**** ********

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau: I spoke with *** **** over the phone and he mailed me a check for $130. The issue has been resolved. They worked very hard to do so for me and its greatly appreciated.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** ****

 

 

 

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gorilla Music is a booking agency that had recently selected my band ****** to play their event on August 24th. Each band was supposed to sell a certain number of tickets to play the event. We had done that and upon arrival of the venue, the man who was supposed to collect our tickets had left and did not return for the entire night. The event still went on, with the venue owner running the show. At the end of the night the crowd decides who goes on to the finals. My band was one of these who went on. Now after a week, they have released the fliers without including our band and have not returned any phone calls or email sent to ****** ***** who was in charge of booking these events. This was one of the most unorganized and terribly managed events my band has ever been a part of. We are a full time touring band and have never had an issue like this. We decided to submit a complaint due to the fact that other serious bands should not have to go through this same level of stress.

Desired Settlement: I would like an email or a phone call from Gorilla Music.

Business Response:

Hi,

It is my understanding that you have received the call the you requested. If you need anything please let me know.

 

**** ********

6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 7, 2014, there was a battle of the bands in Indianapolis, In, we had brought two bands that sold tickets to this battle. The names of the bands were ******** and ******. We were told that the more tickets you sold, the better the time slot would be. We were also told that there would be judges there and there weren't any judges there at all. When it came time for judging, they judged by a decibal reader and it judged by the loudness of the crowd. One of the bands that won had only six people, our bands had 20 people and the band with the six people won, there is no way that six people could have been louder than 20. The people who stated they worked for gorilla were rude, when we asked how that band won when they only had a crowd of six, they ignored our questions. The band with the six people even said they didn't understand how they could've won against the crowd we had. I am requesting all of our money back from our ticket sales from this scamming company or I am pursuing legal action against this company.

Desired Settlement: All money from ticket sales from the bands of ******** and ******. We wasted staying there all day to get cheated and scammed, not to mention the hour and a half drive that was involved.

Consumer Response:  

The owner of Gorilla music contacted me today regarding my issue with them, and they gave me a resolution to my problem, Dan was very fair and friendly and resolved the problem immediately.  I am very happy with the resolution and my complaint with Gorilla music can be removed.  Thank you!
 

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complain resembles an ensemble that I perform in that was hired to play for a show held by Gorilla Productions. The payment came in the sum of 2 dollars per ticket sold. There was a verbal agreement made over the phone regarding this issue. Price per ticket was 10 dollars, our share was to be 2 dollars. They are now refusing to pay us for our services.

Desired Settlement: We would like paid for our performance. We sold 20 tickets, at the price of 2 dollars we are owed 40 dollars for our performance.

Business Response:

*****,

I am sorry about the confusion regarding the recent event your band played with us. The show you played on was a battle of the bands where all the bands were competing for prizes.  On the battle of the bands it is not possible for us to give away prizes and then pay the bands on top of the prizes packages.

It is my understanding that your band talked to someone about performing on one of our other shows where bands are paid based on their tickets sales. This is a completely different kind of show and since we are not giving away prizes on those shows we are able to pay the bands for their efforts. I think this might be where the confusion came from.

If you take a moment to review the paperwork we sent you I am sure you will see that there is no mention of payment. Regardless, we certainly do not want to burn a bridge with your band over $40. So we are going to send you a check for $40. It is my hope that you’ll see this as an act of good faith and that you will do a good job on all your future show with us. if you have any other questions or concerns feel free to call me. In the mean time someone from our office will contact to get your mailing address.

John Michalak

216-534-4310

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Djed a show at DNA Level-C in Cleveland that was part of the Cleveland Music Festival on Saturday, September 7, 2013. There was a check in date a few days before the show, I brought my unsold tickets and cash to the location of the check-in and D** got all of my details set up. He didn't have enough money to give me what I was owed so he gave me part of my payment and advised that I would be paid at the door on the day of the show. I was told that there would be equipment available and not to bring any of my equipment to the venue. I did bring my equipment anyway because I have a specific set up I use to DJ.I received a phone call on the day of the show by someone from Gorilla Music asking if I would be able to DJ early as well as at my normal set time, I obliged and got my stuff loaded up in my car along with my assistant and headed over to DNA. Upon arriving at DNA Level-C I was greated by the woman working for Gorilla Music, and I went up onto the roof to set-up my equipment. She advised that the equipment they were providing was not there yet. I waited for about an hour and no equipment had yet arrived (a mixer, speakers, etc). The speakers finally arrived, yet there was no way for me to plug into the speakers as they need a mixer to operate. The mixer still had not arrived, this was 2 hours since my arrival at the venue.A fellow dj had equipment and had set his up and the show was able to start. We were informed that the volume had to be a low level on the roof (which was never explained to us by Gorilla Music). I spent many many hours at the venue and was not properly compensated for my time, and I am requesting that all of the ticket money I turned over to the venue be returned because their end of the deal was breached. No equipment for the rooftop djs was ever delivered. I was not paid the full amount I was owed. I was lied to about DJing early, and spent many hours at the venue. I feel I am owed money for my time as I do not do gigs for free.

Desired Settlement: All ticket money from ticket sales by **** ***** (***) returned to me.

Business Response:

 Hi ****,
 
I am sorry that you misunderstood the way the festival worked. If you would review the paper you received from us you will see that all the artists were required to arrive early for check in. This is very typical in the music business especially when you are working with so many artists, as we were for this event. I am not sure how you got the idea that we wanted you to preform twice, but that was not the case. If one of our representative gave you that idea please accept my apologies. I assure you that was not our intention.
 
Now if we still owe you some money from check in we would be happy to correct that situation. In fact, my partner *** has already tied to call you to fix the situation. Please feel free to give him a call so we can discuss this further and so we can correct your pay.
 
Thanks,
 
John  Michalak
216-534-4310 

2/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They promoted this as a rock fest battle of the bands and the winner gets a free place at an out of town show. They did not have a reprasentative at the show to judge or any one from Gorilla music in attendance. The venue was not what was depicted on the website. The whole concept that it was going to be a rock metal festival was totally misrepresented. The tickets we were given to pre-sell said they were a BBB accredited business and a $1.00 from each ticket sold would be donated to Ronald McDonald House charities. I checked with BBB website they are not accredited so now wondering if they misrepresented they're affiliation with Ronald McDonald House also. The vunue of show was Club Retro Roseville, ca. The venue was not equipped as promised. Ticket printed said 6:00 pm the show never started till 7:30 pm.

Desired Settlement: We pre-sold 15 tickets at 10.00 a piece we want that money back.

Business Response:

Hi,

 

First of all, I’m sorry that you did not have a better experience with our company. I'm not sure what happened to upset you, but please know that we always do our best to help bands get booked on good shows.

 

That being said, let me address your complaints. The show that your group played on was never promoted as a battle of the bands.  There was no mention of prizes or out of town gigs. I've attached the flyer for your reference and the worksheet regarding this show. If you read them over they will confirm these facts. I also attached the check that was sent to Ronald McDonald House confirming that the charity was paid.  This was not the only event that we held that weekend to help benefit the Ronald McDonald House. We are very proud of the amount of money that was raised and I would hope that you would also be proud to have been a part of an event that helped such a worthy cause.

 

You are incorrect about our relationship with the Better Business Bureau. We are a BBB accredited business. Feel free to contact The Ronald McDonald House to confirm that our check was indeed delivered and that our event was a sanctioned event.  We also had a representative there to run the show, otherwise how would we have been able to collect the presale money that you turned in and now want returned?

 

Since your complaints are in reference to the show not being a battle, and wanting to play on an out of town gig, we will offer you both. As a resolution we will book your band on a battle of the bands in any city where we are currently holding battles. You will, of course, be responsible for all expenses associated with the your performanace.