BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Gorilla Music

Phone: (216) 218-4716 Fax: (216) 298-4930 2310 Superior Ave E Ste 140, Cleveland, OH 44114 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rockyourcitybooks.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Gorilla Music assists local bands in booking shows in local concert venues. Gorilla Music Management offers bands guidance, helping them grow in their marketplace while they learn how to write attention-getting songs. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gorilla Music meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gorilla Music include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Gorilla Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 30, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2006 in OH Business incorporated: 03/01/2006 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Cull, Partner & Owner Mr. John Michalak, Partner & Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Cull, Partner & Owner
Principal: Mr. John Michalak, Partner & Owner
Business Category

Concert Promoters & Consultants Artists Agents Entertainment Bureaus Ticket Sales - Events Event Planners

Products & Services

Gorilla Music offers the following product(s): Books - Rock Your City - 5 Steps to Becoming the Biggest Band in Town

Alternate Business Names
Gorilla Music Management Gorilla Productions, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2310 Superior Ave E Ste 140

    Cleveland, OH 44114 (216) 218-4716

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 7, 2014, there was a battle of the bands in Indianapolis, In, we had brought two bands that sold tickets to this battle. The names of the bands were ******** and ******. We were told that the more tickets you sold, the better the time slot would be. We were also told that there would be judges there and there weren't any judges there at all. When it came time for judging, they judged by a decibal reader and it judged by the loudness of the crowd. One of the bands that won had only six people, our bands had 20 people and the band with the six people won, there is no way that six people could have been louder than 20. The people who stated they worked for gorilla were rude, when we asked how that band won when they only had a crowd of six, they ignored our questions. The band with the six people even said they didn't understand how they could've won against the crowd we had. I am requesting all of our money back from our ticket sales from this scamming company or I am pursuing legal action against this company.

Desired Settlement: All money from ticket sales from the bands of ******** and ******. We wasted staying there all day to get cheated and scammed, not to mention the hour and a half drive that was involved.

Consumer Response:  

The owner of Gorilla music contacted me today regarding my issue with them, and they gave me a resolution to my problem, Dan was very fair and friendly and resolved the problem immediately.  I am very happy with the resolution and my complaint with Gorilla music can be removed.  Thank you!
 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complain resembles an ensemble that I perform in that was hired to play for a show held by Gorilla Productions. The payment came in the sum of 2 dollars per ticket sold. There was a verbal agreement made over the phone regarding this issue. Price per ticket was 10 dollars, our share was to be 2 dollars. They are now refusing to pay us for our services.

Desired Settlement: We would like paid for our performance. We sold 20 tickets, at the price of 2 dollars we are owed 40 dollars for our performance.

Business Response:

*****,

I am sorry about the confusion regarding the recent event your band played with us. The show you played on was a battle of the bands where all the bands were competing for prizes.  On the battle of the bands it is not possible for us to give away prizes and then pay the bands on top of the prizes packages.

It is my understanding that your band talked to someone about performing on one of our other shows where bands are paid based on their tickets sales. This is a completely different kind of show and since we are not giving away prizes on those shows we are able to pay the bands for their efforts. I think this might be where the confusion came from.

If you take a moment to review the paperwork we sent you I am sure you will see that there is no mention of payment. Regardless, we certainly do not want to burn a bridge with your band over $40. So we are going to send you a check for $40. It is my hope that you’ll see this as an act of good faith and that you will do a good job on all your future show with us. if you have any other questions or concerns feel free to call me. In the mean time someone from our office will contact to get your mailing address.

John Michalak

216-534-4310

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Djed a show at DNA Level-C in Cleveland that was part of the Cleveland Music Festival on Saturday, September 7, 2013. There was a check in date a few days before the show, I brought my unsold tickets and cash to the location of the check-in and D** got all of my details set up. He didn't have enough money to give me what I was owed so he gave me part of my payment and advised that I would be paid at the door on the day of the show. I was told that there would be equipment available and not to bring any of my equipment to the venue. I did bring my equipment anyway because I have a specific set up I use to DJ.I received a phone call on the day of the show by someone from Gorilla Music asking if I would be able to DJ early as well as at my normal set time, I obliged and got my stuff loaded up in my car along with my assistant and headed over to DNA. Upon arriving at DNA Level-C I was greated by the woman working for Gorilla Music, and I went up onto the roof to set-up my equipment. She advised that the equipment they were providing was not there yet. I waited for about an hour and no equipment had yet arrived (a mixer, speakers, etc). The speakers finally arrived, yet there was no way for me to plug into the speakers as they need a mixer to operate. The mixer still had not arrived, this was 2 hours since my arrival at the venue.A fellow dj had equipment and had set his up and the show was able to start. We were informed that the volume had to be a low level on the roof (which was never explained to us by Gorilla Music). I spent many many hours at the venue and was not properly compensated for my time, and I am requesting that all of the ticket money I turned over to the venue be returned because their end of the deal was breached. No equipment for the rooftop djs was ever delivered. I was not paid the full amount I was owed. I was lied to about DJing early, and spent many hours at the venue. I feel I am owed money for my time as I do not do gigs for free.

Desired Settlement: All ticket money from ticket sales by **** ***** (***) returned to me.

Business Response:

 Hi ****,
 
I am sorry that you misunderstood the way the festival worked. If you would review the paper you received from us you will see that all the artists were required to arrive early for check in. This is very typical in the music business especially when you are working with so many artists, as we were for this event. I am not sure how you got the idea that we wanted you to preform twice, but that was not the case. If one of our representative gave you that idea please accept my apologies. I assure you that was not our intention.
 
Now if we still owe you some money from check in we would be happy to correct that situation. In fact, my partner *** has already tied to call you to fix the situation. Please feel free to give him a call so we can discuss this further and so we can correct your pay.
 
Thanks,
 
John  Michalak
216-534-4310 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They promoted this as a rock fest battle of the bands and the winner gets a free place at an out of town show. They did not have a reprasentative at the show to judge or any one from Gorilla music in attendance. The venue was not what was depicted on the website. The whole concept that it was going to be a rock metal festival was totally misrepresented. The tickets we were given to pre-sell said they were a BBB accredited business and a $1.00 from each ticket sold would be donated to Ronald McDonald House charities. I checked with BBB website they are not accredited so now wondering if they misrepresented they're affiliation with Ronald McDonald House also. The vunue of show was Club Retro Roseville, ca. The venue was not equipped as promised. Ticket printed said 6:00 pm the show never started till 7:30 pm.

Desired Settlement: We pre-sold 15 tickets at 10.00 a piece we want that money back.

Business Response:

Hi,

 

First of all, I’m sorry that you did not have a better experience with our company. I'm not sure what happened to upset you, but please know that we always do our best to help bands get booked on good shows.

 

That being said, let me address your complaints. The show that your group played on was never promoted as a battle of the bands.  There was no mention of prizes or out of town gigs. I've attached the flyer for your reference and the worksheet regarding this show. If you read them over they will confirm these facts. I also attached the check that was sent to Ronald McDonald House confirming that the charity was paid.  This was not the only event that we held that weekend to help benefit the Ronald McDonald House. We are very proud of the amount of money that was raised and I would hope that you would also be proud to have been a part of an event that helped such a worthy cause.

 

You are incorrect about our relationship with the Better Business Bureau. We are a BBB accredited business. Feel free to contact The Ronald McDonald House to confirm that our check was indeed delivered and that our event was a sanctioned event.  We also had a representative there to run the show, otherwise how would we have been able to collect the presale money that you turned in and now want returned?

 

Since your complaints are in reference to the show not being a battle, and wanting to play on an out of town gig, we will offer you both. As a resolution we will book your band on a battle of the bands in any city where we are currently holding battles. You will, of course, be responsible for all expenses associated with the your performanace.

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/10/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1