BBB Accredited Business since

Original Donnelly Heating, Cooling & Electric

Phone: (216) 961-6800 Fax: (216) 961-8702 View Additional Phone Numbers 9805 Madison Ave., Cleveland, OH 44102 http://www.originaldonnelly.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

With more than 110 years of experience in the heating and cooling industry, Original Donnelly is dedicated to providing you with the best possible HVAC solutions.

• Air Conditioning - Installation, Service & Maintenance
• Furnace & Heating Repair - Installation, Service & Maintenance
• Emergency Furnace & Air Conditioning Service:  24-7
• Humidifiers, Air Cleaners, Air Purifiers
• Electrical Services, Electricians
• Standby Generators - Power when you need it.
• Green Energy Solutions - Solar Panels / Photovoltaic, Solar Light Tubes and Hot Water, Solar-Powered Attic Fans, Geothermal Heating, Heat Pumps, Hybrid Heating


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Original Donnelly Heating, Cooling & Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Original Donnelly Heating, Cooling & Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Original Donnelly Heating, Cooling & Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1931 Business started: 01/01/1898 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Donnelly, President Mr. James Donnelly, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Donnelly, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Kevin Muldoon
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Solar Energy Products Service & Repair

Products & Services

Original Donnelly Heating, Cooling & Electric sells the following brand(s): Carrier, Generac, Goodman, Mitsubishi, Research Products

Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • 9805 Madison Ave.

    Cleveland, OH 44102 (216) 961-6800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted Original Donnelly, because I have a three (3) zone house and I couldn't get heat to the third zone. Donnelly came out said the line needed to be bleed. That was done, bill was $119.00 dollars. Next day I had water running in the walls. Called Donnelly, sent another service tech out, came out said that several parts had to be replaced. Gave me a quote of six hundred and some odd dollars. Told him I didn't understand why so many parts had to be replaced for gurgling water in the walls. Had heat just the gurgling. Donnelly called back said that it would cost 549.00 dollars, that these parts had to be replaced. Same tech came out today replaced those parts and added another. The bill was $716.00 dollars. I was awoken from my sleep at 11:30 p.m. thinking I had water running in my bathroom in my bedroom. No it is the gurgling in the walls louder and running continuously. I think I am being taken advantage of and paying for unnecessary parts, because it did not fix the problem it just made it worse. The tech that came to the house made a mess of my floors and rugs.

Desired Settlement: I had the parts replaced and I feel that I should not have to pay for another thing to get this fixed.

Business Response: Dear ***** ******.

Original Donnelly was contacted by Ms. ***** 2/27/14 the day after she made this complaint.  I went out along with a service technician to Ms. *****'s house that morning and addressed her issues and explained the boiler operation to her.  To the best of my knowledge I do believe this has already been resolved.
 
If Ms. ***** has any further questions we would be happy to address them.
 
Regards,
Joseph Donnelly

2/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called this company originally to fix our furnace. The problem was the motor/fan. First of all they charged us $497.00 total to come out and fix the motor at 5:30am. As I do appreciate fixing the furnace as we do have heat now, however I feel the cost was outrageous and the customer service from ** was horrible. He would ignore us when we try to talk to him if he does not want to answer our question and acts as if we never spoke and I tell you we do not talk low. He does not talk much or explain much of what he is doing even when we ask. After fixing our furnace he disconnected our humidifier and says it was connected wrong and says that we need a relay to fix it. Mind you we never had a problem with it the 2 1/2 years living here. He said he did not have time to fix it and said another person would come to fix it and should not be a charge. Tried to ask if he does not have the part and did not answer. He noted on our receipt someone would call to have someone else come out to fix and to give us a price. My wife called sometime this 1/29 (the job was done 6am 1/28) morning and spoke to someone rude and said there would be a charge to come out and fix. She commented that there should not be as ** could have fixed it while he was here. The guy on the phone said he did not have the part. Then why didnt ** explain that and if he did not have the part why is that our fault? He said we would pay for the install of it and for the relay. To me Install is the same thing as someone coming here to do the labor. He told her he would call back with a final price after he looks over everything on his end. He then calls me 2 hrs later and gave me a price $130.00 and I complained once again there should be no charge for labor/install and ** could have done it originally after all was said and him being rude to me he then hung up on me. I just want my humidifier connected back.

Desired Settlement: I just want my humidifier connected back (He left the wires and all disconnected) and fixed and no charge for the install/labor as ** originally stated. We understand having to pay for the part if it even really needed a part. As far as we know there was nothing wrong with it.

Business Response: 2/5/2014

Re: ID # *******
 
Dear ***** ******,
 
This is in response to Mr. ****** ********* complaint.  I will answer this in the order of his concerns in the letter.
 
1. Cost of the service call and repair of motor - The *********'s were quoted the amount of the diagnostic fee of $175.00 on the phone before coming out this is our fee for call after 11:00 pm emergency service.  They were also quoted the price to replace the blower motor and motor mount of $322.00 before the repair was done.  At either one of those times they could have said no and we would have not done it.
2. Customer Service from **- I am sorry that they feel ** was rude and did not answer all their questions.  However, ** is a little older and does not hear as well and he was also probably exhausted.  This was one of those nights that was well below freezing and he was up most of the night fixing other customers no heat issues.
3. Humidifier complaint - while fixing the no heat on Mr. *********'s furnace ** came across the humidifier was wired wrong.  In order to wire it in properly it would need a relay.  Basically the furnace can only have one power source.  The way the humidifier and furnace were wired it was stealing power from the furnaces heating circuit which could damage the circuit board.  Included in the manufacturers wiring (humidifier) and installation manual (furnace) which both say that a relay is needed to be wired correctly.
 
** is a five level NATE certified technician and is very qualified.  He did everything right.  When he left Mr. & Mrs. ********* had heat, which is the top priority when it is below zero outside.  he had to move on to the next customer who was in the same situation with no heat.  
 
Our recommended solution to Mr. *********'s humidifier reconnection is that we can rewire the humidifier properly with the new relay for $130.00 or call the original contractor that installed the humidifier and have them wire it in correctly.
 
****** *******

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted the Orginal Donnelly company on 7/19/2013 because my central air unit was not working. When I scheduled the appt. I indicated there was a power outage the other night and since then, the air was not working. They sent out a service tech the same day. I indicated a neighbor had checked the unit and thought maybe the Compassador was bad. The service tech indicated that I need a new compressor and charged me an $80 service call fee and scheduled me for an appt with the sales department for the next week to sell me a new unit. I contacted another company who came out within 2 hours of Orginal Donnelly who assessed the unit and changed the compassador and said I did not need a new compressor. Central air is up and running with a $47 part. Had I not contacted another company I could have spent somewhere around $3,000 -$4,000 on a new unit that was not needed.

Desired Settlement: Refund of service call fee

Business Response: Hi *****,

This is regarding ID # ******* - 
                         **** *******
                         **** ******* ***
                         Cleveland, Ohio 44111


When our technician ***** arrived to the house he found that the windings were open on the compressor, and recommended replacing it. I attached a copy of the work order. Our company policy is to have the customer send us a copy of the other company's work order stating what they found was different from our diagnosis. If the work order does show this we will be more than happy to refund Ms ******* her $89.00 back to her. Hope this helps resolve this situation. 

Any questions or concerns please contact me at 216-961-6800

*******
Office manager


 
Original Donnelly Heating, Cooling & Electric
9805 Madison Ave
Cleveland, Ohio 44102