BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Bridgestone-Firestone (Cleveland, Ohio area locations)

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 367-3872 Fax: (630) 259-9158 1400 Center Rd, Avon, OH 44011 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bridgestone-firestone.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files, this company operates a chain of more than 1,800 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bridgestone-Firestone (Cleveland, Ohio area locations) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bridgestone-Firestone (Cleveland, Ohio area locations) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Complaint Information

The following is complaint information compiled for the 17 Cleveland area locations only.  

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bridgestone-Firestone (Cleveland, Ohio area locations)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1900 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Rich Korda, Retail & Commercial Operations Mr. Mike Schulman, District Manager Mr. Bill Cuomo, Assistant District Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Cuomo, Assistant District Manager
Principal: Rich Korda, Retail & Commercial Operations
Principal: Mr. Mike Schulman, District Manager
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Battery Supplies Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Shock Absorbers

Alternate Business Names
Expert Tire Firestone Complete Auto Care Firestone Tire and Service Center GCR Tire Center Mark Morris Tire Tire Station

Additional Locations

  • 12420 Cedar Rd

    Cleveland Hts, OH 44106 (216) 229-2550

  • 1400 Center Rd

    Avon, OH 44011

  • 15200 Pearl Rd

    Strongsville, OH 44136 (440) 238-7444

  • 1809 Broadway

    Lorain, OH 44052 (440) 244-1924

  • 1951 Midway Mall

    Elyria, OH 44035 (440) 324-3327

  • 21210 Center Ridge Rd

    Rocky River, OH 44116 (440) 333-0255

  • 26086 Euclid Ave

    Euclid, OH 44132 (216) 289-8833

  • 3582 Lee Rd

    Shaker Hts, OH 44120 (216) 921-2509

  • 3917 Prospect Ave E

    Cleveland, OH 44115 (216) 432-0880

  • 4580 Great Northern Blvd

    North Olmsted, OH 44070 (440) 777-5100

  • 4911 Northfield Rd

    North Randall, OH 44128 (216) 662-6686

  • 5117 Wilson Mills Rd

    Cleveland, OH 44143 (440) 461-4747

  • 520 Abbe Rd S

    Elyria, OH 44035 (440) 365-8308

  • 6727 Ames Rd

    Parma, OH 44129 (440) 842-6626

  • 6874 Pearl Rd

    Middlebrg Hts, OH 44130 (440) 842-3200

  • 700 Richmond Rd

    Richmond Hts, OH 44143 (216) 382-8970

  • 7850 Mentor Ave Ste 724

    Mentor, OH 44060 (440) 255-8875

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my husbands vehicle to be serviced on 3/11/14 for an oil change, to check the back windshield wiper and headlight. ***** from Firestone called me and told me that the tie rod was loose and if that was replaced a wheel alignment is necessary. He also recommended fuel clean. I told him thanks for the info and I called my husband. My husband was worried about the tie rod because we drive this vehicle on the highway daily. My spouse called Firestone and they told him that it was 7 out of 10. My husband told him to replace the tie rod and give it a wheel alignment. The tech told him he would not be able to start on the job until 3. I called at 5:30 to see the status of the car. ***** told me that they had not received the part and they are checking on it right now. He called me back in 5 mins and told me that they were getting it from some other place. I asked him when the car would be ready. He said by 6:30 and that the next oil change was on them for the lack of communication. I went to pick up the vehicle and as soon as I started it the check engine light was on. I went inside and asked if there was any idea why this was on. (It was not on prior to service) ***** asked the tech named **** to come out and clear the code. He told me that if the light came back on to bring it back in. I get on the highway I hear a lot of thumping and grinding. I pulled over and I see there is something hanging down and rubbing on the tire. I called ***** and he said to bring it back. However, I was close to home (I live in ***** **** and work in ******) Once I got home I was unsure how safe it was to drive back to ******. My husband took it to the Middleburg Hts location this morning and they looked at it and said that the covering was not put on. Elyria store called me this morning and asked if I was bringing it back in. I told him that my husband took it back to Middleburg and they fixed the issue. He told me he was going to follow up with Middleburg Hts and the tech and call me back with no response.

Desired Settlement: I think this job was done poorly and I want to see the part they replaced. I have doubts now with how terrible this service was. I just had brakes put on not long ago and there were no issues. This was terrible customer service and poor quality of work for $340 and we have been customers for a long time with Firestone. Also, my back wiper still does not work correctly. (This was one of the first things I asked them to look at)

Business Response: Customer had work done on 3/11/14 work order #******, C.E.L. came on afterwards, as weel as splach shield came loose, customer had to take vehicle to different location and would like a credit for service, refunding 1/2 for customer satisfaction. 

Customer satisfied.  Issued credit $ 171.33

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

********* ****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/24/14, I took my mother's 2006 Chrysler Town & Country, which has only 14,500 miles, to Firestone for an estimate and possible repairs due to what we thought was engine belt problems. After a thorough checkup I was told the car needed alignment, rack and pinion replacement, the power steering pumps were shot, and the battery failed the test. Total cost of repairs...$2077.92. Would I be leaving the car? Um? No! I'll talk it over with my mother first. Paid $9.99 (fair price) for the check and left.I took the car to Deacon Chrysler for a second opinion. Total cost of repairs (including the battery that it was time to purchase)...$300.88! The problem? Sway bar bushings! Not $1,700 worth of unnecessary repairs. The convenience of the nearby neighborhood business, seems to also be the unethical one.

Desired Settlement: NA. I want complaint posted on website to alert the public of Firestone's practices.

Business Response: I have attached copies of the invoice and the inspection. The customer was advised the problem they came in for was a noise in the power steering due to lack of fluid. The fluid loss was due to slow leaks in the rack n pinion that caused the system to be low. We topped off the fluid for the customer causing that noise to temporarily stop. The itemized estimate was clearly communicated as a worst case scenario because of the rusted condition on the lines and pump. We would be willing to re-inspect, and or have these conditions verified elsewhere should the customer choose to accept our offer.

Please call me if you have any questions,

Thank you,
Bill Wilson

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I reject Mr. Wilson's statement, first of all, because I have already had the condition of the vehicle verified by a second business, namely Deacon, which stated nothing was wrong with the power steering.  I asked about it specifically because of the Firestone estimate. Secondly, Mr. Wilson did not inform me that he topped offed fluids as he ascertains, but even giving the benefit of a doubt, most importantly, if it was all just supposedly clearly communicated to me as just a worst case scenario, why did Mr. Wilson attempt to do the service for the rack and pinion work, that cost >$2000, immediately, on the spot.  I said I needed to talk it over. 

Mr. Wilson is not being truthful.

As I stated previously, I am not seeking any sort of compensation, however, I do feel others should be made aware of Firestone's tactics.

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a quote yesterday that was excessively high and potential customers should beware of the suspicious claims made by this business to justify. I was told, "the heater hose for my vehicle could not be ordered from the dealer and that parts from other sources were not allowed to be used by employees of Firestone." The quote I was given was $220.oo to manufacture the hose and install the hose. A quick Google search showed me that the hose was available and for only $25.oo. Today, I decided to warn people of these business practices because another repair shop found the part at the dealer and will install it including replacing the fluids for $81.00. Did I mention Firestone wanted another $95.00 to flush and replace the fluids and $79.00 for a diagnostic. The diagnostic is suspect also because the leaking hose supposedly prevented any diagnosis of the problem. Not sure what I paid for there but I desperately wanted my car out of there so the financial "bleeding" would stop. Be ware of the suspicious pricing and practices at the Cedar Road Firestone!

Desired Settlement: I would like for these types of practices to stop and I would like to know what if any value my diagnostic is and if it is of no value I would like my fee returned.

Business Response:

Company states they stand behind their diagnostic performed on the vehicle.  The service was provided professional and appropriately.  As a goodwill gesture only, a refund of their diagnostic fee of $69.99 will be issued.  The company request Mr. **** return to the business, he may ask for Chris personally or someone else will be able handle upon his arrival.   This good faith refund gesture has also been noted in their system. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Firestone to check on my friends car, who is a senior citizen, she had asked me to come because she felt she was being taken advantage of. with a 900 dollar quote. I asked Rich why it was so much . He proceeded to explain to me why, and showed me the car and explained to me what was wrong so I said oh. I thought it was a little much. Asked him for a phone book so I could get another number so I could then proceed to go to my car and call. He threw the phone book off the counter Then told me I couldn't do it in his lobby and that I had one hour if they were not going to do the work to get the car towed out of his bay!Then when I explained I was going to get the number go to my car and call he then told me to go home and do so your not using my lobby to call. He gave me the book back when I told him I proceeded to ask for the list to call and check around he gave me the list and we left.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see some kind of displainary action taken against rich to help ensure customers will never be treated like this again!

Consumer Response: I would like my compliant to become a public record for results of poor customer service and miss conduct on the employee that i read was supposed to be the store manager 

Business Response: Mr. Rich from the business states this is not their customer and disputes any poor customer service handled through their office.  Company states professional service is important.  The consumer who they service is a capable driver of the vehicle.    Their corporate office was in direct contact with their customer who had no knowledge of this complaint and was satisfied with their services. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:  vehicle was not repaired properly in August.  seek company to fix my car at no cost . 26086 Euclid  
Euclid, OH  44132

Desired Settlement: repairs 

Business Response: Company's response by telephone:  BBB staff/sq 


Mr. Ed, Mgr. states the complaint was resolved.  The consumer dropped off the vehicle on 9/20 and vehicle was picked up at no cost on 9/21.  The consumer also received a refund. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped my truck off for repair work. When I dropped my truck off I advised the rep that I spoke with not to put this on my credit card until he calls me with the amount it would cost to repair. I was aware that I had $950 worth of credit on my credit card. When that rep called me.....he advised me of the cost of repairs. I advised him that I will pay part of the bill with my credit card and the other part out of pocket so I don't max out my credit card. The rep also called my second contact person to advise her of the cost of repair and she advised him of the same-thing, that I will pay part with my credit card and the rest out of pocket. For some unknown reason the rep from Firestone decided to try and get my credit extended. I never asked him to do this, I was perfectly fine with paying out of pocket for a portion of my repairs. The rep never got my permission to extend my credit or never advised me that he tried to get my credit increased. When I went to pick my truck up the following morning I was advised by the store manager that I did not have a portion to pay out of pocket. He advised me at that time that the previous rep tried to extend my credit and there was no balance on the repairs. A few days later I received and alert from my credit monitoring software that I mad over my credit limit. My complaint is that now my credit score and rating will be effected because of this Inquiry into my credit to extend it and now it will show on my credit report that not only did not qualify for the credit extension but I'm over my credit limit.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Firestone to remove the repair charge from my credit card. I will advise them of the amount to charge my card and I will pay out of pocket for the rest. I want firestone to address this with what ever credit agency they have to, to have the blemishes from this incident removed from my credit report. I would appreciate some compensation from firestone to relieve the aggravation that this incident has brought me do to the incompetence of their employee.

Business Response:

FIELD OFFICE RESOLUTION   DISPOSITION: EXPLAINED / APOLOGIZED RESOLVED BY: DISTRICT CREATED BY: MSCHULMAN1
  I CONTACTED THE CUSTOMER AND OFFERED TO HAVE HIM RETURN TO THE STORE TO HAVE A CREDIT RUN TO HIS CFNA CARD AND HE COULD PAY IT IN CASH. HE WAS VERY THANKFUL FOR THE RESOLUTION AND IS EXTREMELY SATISFIED.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday 1/5/13 I had my car inspected at Firestone in Hermitage, PA. When the inspection was completed an employee explained to me that everything passed except the wiper blades, which will need replaced at a cost of $39.98. I was skeptical since I had no idea that the wipers were in the least bit worn. I asked the employee to show me. He took me and my daughter to the garage area and proceeded to turn my wipers on while squirting water. The wipers clearly removed all water from the windshield, but left a vapor looking fog which disapeared in less than a second. I explained to the employee that the wipers were fine, what he was seeing was the effect of wax from the car wash, which was done the night before. He told me that even though the vapor quickly fades away, that the vision is impaired for the driver. I explained to him that even brand new wipers will have the same effect because it's not the wipers, it's the windshield. He refused to pass the car inspection without the purchase of their wiper blades. I left the store and went to Auto Zone down the street and bought a new pair of wiperblades. When I returned, the employee put them on for me (nice gesture) and passed the inspection. My complaint is that I feel this was an obvious scam to increase my bill. The wiper blades were perfectly fine and did not need replaced. I have them in my possesion if anyone would like to inspect them. I want to file this complaint to ensure that future customers are not forced to purchase unneeded merchandise and parts in order to pass inspection. I fully understand that it is my judgment vs his, but it was very obvious to me that he wanted to sell me more parts. So obvious that I believe this company is pressuring their employees to upsell and add on sales in order to increase profitibility.

Desired Settlement: I would like a written confirmation from the company that they do not track "attachment" rates, or have any other performance tracking reports that measure the sales performance of their employees. By "attachment" rates, I mean specifically that when an item or service is sold, that additional "add on" items are pushed by the employees as needed items in conjuction with the original purchase. These "attachments" are then tracked to measure the sales performance of their employees.

Business Response:

I spoke with ***** ******* 1/14/13. *** ******* did not want anything more than to make us aware of his concerns over the wiper blade recommendations. I did explain we do not have quotas on wiper blades for any store, but we do track sales and have budgets in all stores. *** ******* thanked me for the call.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Firestone to get an oil filter removed because the person that was changing my oil could not get it off. We went to firestone and they said that they would take it off and change my oil. When I took the vehicle to them I had a light on that said Change Engine Oil. One of the technicians called me and told me that they were unable to get the oil filter off and they I needed an oil filter housing unit since they were unable to get the filter off. I said ok and they changed the oil filter housing unit, the next day I called them to see if my vehicle was ready and they said that the vehicle was not getting any oil and they I possibly needed an oil pump, which I could not understand because the oil pressure was fine when I took the vehicle to them. I spoke to the person that had been working on my vehicle and he advised me to go and get my car and that he would take a look at it. Well when he came to look at it he said that he doesnt understand how the vehicle was getting no oil and they were only suppose to change the oil for me. We went back to firestone to see if we could get the issue resolved and they said they could not do anything about it. We asked for the district managers number and they would not give it to us, we called a different store to obtain the number and left messages with the district manager.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the issue resolved either by giving me my money back or fixing whatever they did to my vehicle.

Business Response: I spoke with **** ****** The vehicle was pushed in with a leaking oil filter. She had had someone else try top change the oil filter, and destroyed it in the pprocess and could not get it off. My team replaced the oil filter housing and then noticed upon starting the engine there was no oil pressure. We suggested an oil pump replacement. The customer said there was no issues with the oil pump prior to us replacing the housing. We do not have first hand knowledge of the engine condition because the vehicle was pushed into our lot. I advised *** ***** to have the vehicle looked at at the dealer and advise me of their findings.  I will follow up at a later date. *** ***** informed me she is moving this week and cannot address this week.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/25/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July 11, 2012 Warranty replacement of four tires 50% credit I paid $662.22July 17, 2012 back to store for rebalance of tires because of vibrations no charge for this service but vibrations continue. Technician did not know what else to do to fix problem.July 31, 2012 took vehicle back to Toyota Dealer to balance tires, vibration improved but still vibrations occur especially when tire gets hot my out of pocket expense $56.00.Total out of pocket expense $718.22.August 4, 2012 Met with Manager Nate explained that I'm still having a vibration with the tires. We drove the car in the early morning tires were not hot enough could not recreate the event but some vibrations were noted. Nate said he could not feel the vibration, I explained that after driving this 2011 Toyota 4Runner for 31000 miles I know that something is wrong with the tires. Nate was supposed to get back to me later that day as of the date of this correspondence I have not heard from him. Because of the vibrations I replaced all four tires on August 12, 2012 at an out of pocket expense of $1286.40. The new tires eliminated the vibration and improved the safety of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I will return the Bridgestone tires to the dealer and I want a full refund of monies expended by me to eliminate the problem with their tires.

Business Response: The store has returned the tires and issued the customer a refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On this date had had a tire pressure valve stem break on my vehicle. I took the vehicle to a Firestone Store in North Olmsted, on Great Northern Blvd. When I got there at 1030am, the young man at the desk told me I would need an appointment. We set a time of 1pm to bring my car back. I returned to the store at 1pm and was told that the vehicle would not be done until around 6pm.After dropping off the vehicle the young man called me and stated that it would cost $134.99 to replace the tire sensor. I questioned the price and he then asked me to hold for a second, then got back with me stating that they did not stock the sensor, that they would have to get it from a dealership. I then told him to do the work as the repair was a necessity.A short time later, a man named Tony called me and stated that if I wanted a sensor like the original with the metal valve stem, they would not be able to get it until Monday as the dealerships were closed. He told me he could have the work done with a sensor that had a rubber valve stem. I told him, to go ahead with the work. He further stated that they had gotten a sensor from either Auto Zone or Advanced Auto Parts.After this call, I looked up both companies on line. Both had my sensor, like the original for 65.00 and both had the connect to the rim sensor for 3.99. As I was under the impression that the senor the Tony person stated, I thought I was buying one for 65.00. When I got to the Firestone Store, I found the sensor they used was the same model as the one the auto parts stores had for 3.99.The younger man waited on me when I went to pay the bill which totaled 167.97. Besides the 134.99 I was told, there was also a charge for flat balance labor of 4.01, flat repair labor for 11.00, flat repair patch-plug for 1.99 and wheel balance parts for 2.99, bringing the grand total with tax to 167.97. This was far off the price of 134.99 plus tax that I was quoted.Since I found both parts at the stores the Tony person stated they ordered from, why couldn't they, especially the more expensive tire pressure sensor. Secondly, why was the bill the same price, why wouldn't the Tony person explain and why wouldn't the bill be lower since the part they were putting in my vehicle was 60.00 less? I heard him when I was there telling someone the same thing, they would have to get the part they needed from a dealership. Is this their was of getting a person to take a less expensive part and charging the same? To me, this was a typical bait and switch.Also, while I was there, there was an elderly couple who needed brakes for their car. I overheard them talk to the people about brake calibers being replaced. Last fall, I had a brake job done at Sears in North Olmsted. They quoted me a price of 800.00 and it included calibers. Upon leaving I met with the manager and told him about their estimate. He told me that the price included calibers because mechanics don't want to clean them as it takes too long and its faster and they make more money if they just replace the parts instead of cleaning them. Once he changed the estimate, their price was the same as other places I had stopped at.This bait and switch technique has been going on for a long time with stores like Firestone. Someone needs to go undercover and catch these people and hold them accountable. I am not happy with what they did and their billing practices. The sensor for my car did not need to be bought from a dealership, that was obvious. I am asking you to look into this matter.Please feel free to contact me anytime at the phone number and email provided.Sincerely,*** *********** ****** ************ ****** **** ***********************************

Desired Settlement: I would like either a refund or replacement of the part in question. I want a letter of apology from Firestone for their actions and although it will not happen I certainly would like a guarantee from Firestone that this will not happen to others and that they will bill honestly for work and materials.

Business Response: Customer came back to the store and Managerf explained why the more expensive valve was required. Customer was satisfied with the outcome.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Firestone to have my EGR valve cleaned after not passing the E-check. This was noted as what was causing my car to fail the test. I had been getting oil changes with Firestone prior to this and expressed concern that my oil was going out fast. When I got this service done, I had other test performed on my vehicle, including an engine diagnostic. My vehicle ran good for about 8-9 months and I started to smell a chemical like smell coming from my car and the oil started to burn fast again. I took it to Auto Zone for a free diagnostic first. One of the codes indicated my EGR valve needed to be cleaned again. I took it to Firestone where they did a complimentary engine diagnostic and suggested I do not get any more work done unless it is replacing the engine because the engine is damaged, thus causing the oil to burn and the other issues. I paid $1200 for the work on my car 9 months prior when the same issues were occurring and it seems I should have been notified them of the larger issues with my car. All of the $1200 was not related to the EGR. I did get new tires. I do not have an itemized list of services that were done, my online bill pay does not show them, however I want to be refunded for the work related to the engine. (I do not recall the exact date I went to Firestone, I am pretty sure they have it in their computer, it was either end of Feb or beginning of March) I have not been able to access my documents as I have not been living in my house due to transportation issues.

Desired Settlement: I want the money paid towards my engine to be refunded.

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/22/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6 hours to repair tire . A flat is 45 min. not to repair 6 hours or wait to sit and wait to half it done under warranty , **** ***** is manager now , the old manager ***** helped people .

Desired Settlement: a new tire free and help people and not screw people .

Consumer Response: bought 4tires 2years ago , and bought insurance for flats but take hours be fixed ,take 45min.only be 6hours to be done.

Business Response:

*** ******** was in our Richmond Heights store to have a flat repair performed on 11/1/11. The receipt which is attached, shows that he came in at 11:24AM and the ticket was finalized at 12:29PM. I do not see where he waited the excessive time stated in his complaint. The store has had **. ******** back in the store on a few occasions since the complaint was made. ****, our store manager has dealt with him and discussed the situation with resolution.

Thanks,

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

1