BBB Accredited Business since

The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 241-2930 Fax: (216) 241-5432 View Additional Phone Numbers 2450 Prospect Ave. 2nd Fl., Cleveland, OH 44115 http://www.cidma.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1967 in OH Business incorporated 07/23/1970 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
35 East Gay Street, Suite 403, Suite 403, Columbus OH 43215-3138
http://scr.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: 614-466-2219

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Beverly A. Davis, President Ms. Linda L. Carson, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beverly A. Davis, President
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Health & Medical - General Dentists Employment Training Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
C I D M A The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2450 Prospect Ave. 2nd Fl.

    Cleveland, OH 44115 (216) 241-2930

  • 5564 Mayfield Rd.

    Lyndhurst, OH 44124 (440) 473-6273

  • 5733 Hopkins Rd.

    Mentor, OH 44060 (440) 946-9530

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have recently graduated from the Cleveland Institute of Dental Medical Assistants and I am highly unsatisfied with my experience here. When I first started attending here I was very eager to learn and received Honor Roll several times. I started to recognize that other students were leaving the classroom during quizzes, tests, and even final exams to take them in a different room with a supervisor. She would read them questions, help them pronounce words so they could spell them correctly, and give them hints. I know this because one of the girls who was receiving help was talking about in class one day. I was curious as to why they were leaving and why they were allowed to leave. After asking about the circumstance I was told these students needed "extra help". I communicated that this was unfair and I was simply told, "It is none of your business". I believe it is my business because other students cheating devalues everything I have been working for at this school. It clearly states in the CIDMA handbook, "Cheating is defined by the School as the act of using any source of information or information processing other than the student's own knowledge of the subject matter during a quiz, test, or final exam...students may not use notes, calculators, books, note cards, computers, cell phones or other aid or electronic devices during a quiz, test or exam. Any student who is suspected of cheating or assisting another to cheat will be subject to disciplinary action." (Student Policies and Procedures Handbook, pg. 12 Sec. E) This is unfortunate because a supervisor would not only allow this behavior but she would also facilitate it. If one rule is broken in the handbook by a supervisor of the school, how are students expected to follow the rules? I have also contacted a different supervisor at this location who talked with me over the phone and said she would talk with me to resolve the problem and I still have not heard back from her. It is all so very unprofessional. Unfortunately the majority of our teachers were not on time to class to begin teaching, some openly talked badly of the school to students, they would play on their cell phones, and simply did not want to be there. For a handful of classes my fellow classmates and I had four different instructors in the course of 15 weeks! It was very confusing and as you can imagine difficult to adapt and learn in this kind of environment. I do not feel like I was taught this material, I had to teach myself- which is unfair considering the amount of money I paid to be taught at this school. We were asked to fill out a review the day before graduation and I put all of the information in my review as I have done here. The next day (ceremony) NONE of my teachers were there. The supervisor who conducted the ceremony was rude and openly treating my classmate and I with a negative attitude. I was so embarrassed that the school I had been attending for a year and paid about $11,000 dollars to attend, was making the ceremony that my entire family was excited to see, a miserable event. How unprofessional of this staff. And how disappointing for me and my family to not experience what was supposed to be a happy event. I am very upset, and need to see something be done about all of these issues occurring here. I feel bad for all future students who are investing their time, hard-work, and money into a school that claims to be "professional" and "teach" them to go out in to the world and become medical assistants.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see some sort of requirements to be met by the school to fix these problems. I would also like a refund for the classes I feel were not taught to me but rather classes I taught myself. I would like an apology from the school for their unprofessional behavior at my graduation. I would like to see something be done about the cheating situation. I have made friends that are still attending this school that have voiced their opinions on this situation as well. Cheating should not be an option, and not be encouraged by the staff.

Business Response:

Response to BBB Complaint ID #******** Dated 7/10/15

This complaint was received by me on Tuesday, July 14, 2015.  After carefully reviewing the student’s complaint, it seems that her main concerns were the following:

1.  Other students were given “extra help” and this constituted as cheating.

2.  She felt that she taught herself in some classes.

3.  The staff members were unprofessional during the “graduation ceremony”.

Please allow me to address these issues individually.

1.  This student is referring to the tutoring program that we offer to all our students.  Some students come to us with a learning disability and they bring their Individualized Education Program (IEP) documents from high school.  As a school, we feel that ALL students are entitled to a good education and we do our best to accommodate these students.  We offer tutoring sessions before or after school to help these students organize their notes, study, and prepare for exams.  Some students, especially those with poor reading skills, perform better if test questions are read aloud to them.  In order to do this, sometimes they are given the tests separately from the rest of the class.  These students are NOT given the answers.  They have to answer the tests in the same manner as the rest of the class.  Although the tutoring sessions are helping tremendously, these students continue to struggle through these subjects due to their learning disability.

2.  This student complained in the past about a subject that she felt was not taught well.  The issue was discussed between her instructor, the Director of Education, and the Assistant Director of Education (who is also the Evening Supervisor).  Whether the issue was valid or not, they nevertheless decided to extend the class time well into the next phase.  When the final exam was administered, all students passed.  Again, it is our intent and our responsibility to all our students to assist them in their educational endeavors.

This student has also complained about insufficient laboratory time.  Two of her instructors offered to meet with her before school to perform extra laboratory sessions specifically for her and yet this student did not take advantage of this offer.

3.  The recognition ceremony is a low-key affair with only a few staff members in attendance.  The host was the Assistant Director of Education (Evening Supervisor), and among the speakers were the Director of Admissions, the instructors from the other program (Dental Assisting) and one of two instructors from this student’s program (Medical Assisting).  The second instructor, unfortunately, had to teach a class in another program.  This was not a graduation ceremony as the student implied but a recognition ceremony.  This is done after the students finish the classroom work and before they move on to their clinical externship assignment.  We use this time to acknowledge the students who did well academically by giving them various awards.  As such, it is a short ceremony especially when there are only a handful of students involved.  It is unclear to me how it can be considered “unprofessional”.

Despite all her complaints, this student received a well-rounded education by some of the best healthcare instructors we have at our school.  Judging by her own comments on her progress reports, she was satisfied with the classes and the skills she was being taught.  This student is still completing her clinical externship assignment, which means she is STILL being taught everything we know in Medical Assisting in order to obtain a productive and satisfying healthcare career in the very near future.  The clinical site that she is doing her assignment at, in fact, has a job opening that may very well become hers if she continues to do well.

I believe the school has fulfilled our obligation to this student and we will continue to help her as she makes her way into the healthcare field, as we have been doing to all our students since 1967.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.  We appreciate your fair assessment on this matter.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

If the students that are receiving this "extra help" in the same manner as the rest of the class then there should be no reason for them to take quizzes, tests, or exams in another room with extra help. I find it interesting that the school did not respond to the fact that giving these students "extra help" they are in direct violation of their own student handbook. I have nothing against people receiving tutoring, however I do have a problem with people getting extra help, answers, or being spoon-fed answers. Everyone deserves the right to an education but it should not come at the price of de-valuing other student's hard work that they put into their studies here at CIDMA. Also, the school did not address the fact that I spoke with one of our classmates who received this "extra help" and told me she received answers. One of our classmates was also able to take home answers to her finals to "study" because she was "struggling". This is my biggest complaint and needs to be addressed immediately, maybe someone else needs to be in charge of these special needs students and the way they take their tests. Or maybe she can give each test to everyone in the class so everyone gets the opportunity to get "extra help".

The subject that was not taught well was never actually made up rather it was rushed through. As students how and why should it have been our responsibility to make these decisions? Should we have paid to take the class again? It is ridiculous. The only reason any of the seniors passed that final was because we were able to take it home, which was allowed by the same woman who gives "extra help" to other students. 
I never requested more laboratory time because I never needed it as my grades reflect. So I do not know where they are coming up with that information.
As for our instructors not attending our recognition ceremony, I believe this is unprofessional because it was a special day for my classmates and I to finish a long road of school. This school is based on having excellent attendance yet our own instructors couldn't arrange to be there. It's not like they did not know when it was considering they are planned at least one year in advance. Our instructors are supposed to be "professionals teaching professionals" and even though this is the school motto, you would not be able to tell, especially during our low key recognition ceremony.
Despite all of my complaints I have done extremely well because I continue to work hard and study. 
I do not consider this complaint resolved. 

Regards,

******* *****




 

Business Response:

Response to BBB Complaint ID #******** Dated 7/22/15 by ******* *****

Attached is our school’s tutoring guidelines that we give to any student requesting for tutorial
services. Our guideline states that the student cannot ask the tutor to do his/her work. The tutor
is mainly there to help him/her through the material. The typical tutoring session includes a
review of the topics covered in class that week, a review of the workbook assignments or other
homework to make sure the student is completing them, and to answer any questions the student
may have regarding any of his/her classes. The student may also ask for help in organizing
his/her lecture notes, homework deadlines, and test schedules.

If the student who is being tutored has difficulty taking tests due to poor reading skills, he/she is
asked to step out of the classroom on test days so the rest of the class can take the test without
being delayed by the tutored student. The student takes his/her test at a separate time with the
tutor. Because of his/her poor reading skills, it may be necessary for the tutor to read the test
questions aloud to the student. This does not constitute cheating or giving answers to the
student. He/she must still answer the test questions on his/her own.

Upon further investigation into the matter, we can only surmise that *** ***** was referring to
an incident where the tutored student was given a review sheet to a test when the rest of the class
was not. Review sheets are given to a class at the sole discretion of the Instructor. However,
because the tutor thought it would help the student study more effectively, she allowed the
student to use a review sheet before the test as a guide only. The student did not use the review
sheet to answer the test. She was still required to take the test on her own in accordance with
proper testing procedures. For your review, attached are the student’s final exams in Anatomy
and Medical Terminology. Please note that despite the tutoring that was given, she received
70% and 67% respectively. Our passing grade is 70%.

Attached to this response is our Student Handbook for your review. Page 9 of the Handbook
contains the Standards of Academic Progress Policy. On Page 10, tutoring is mentioned as an
option for any student who is not meeting satisfactory academic progress. As an established
school that has been in existence for over 40 years in Greater Cleveland, we are very proud to
say that we commit ourselves to our students’ academic development. Our student services are
outstanding and unique because we make it our obligation to get to know our students and help
them overcome their weaknesses academically so that they can have the power to obtain jobs in
the health care field and become productive contributing members of the society.

If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

8/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that I woud receive extra help due to my learning disabiity when I enrolled. I did not receive that help even after repeatd requests. Then they are trying to charge me for just being in the building doing my homework. I was in the bulding because I was trying to get the help that was promised to me. This school is a scam and just wants to make money and doesnt care aout their students.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bill adjusted

Business Response: Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants, Inc.

August 15, 2013

Better Business Bureau
** ****** *****, Trade Assistant                           RE ID#*******
2800 Euclid Ave. 4th Flr                                            ****** ******
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-7678

Dear *** *****,

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by the above student.

She attended our ****** campus enrolled in the Medical Secretary program beginning October 1st, 2012. She attended classes in the evening from 6:00pm to 10:00pm, while working full time during the day.

Two weeks into the program, she requested tutoring assistance. Cidma scheduled her for tutoring assistance twice per week from 5:00pm to 6:00pm, on two separate days of the week During her first module she made it to six tutoring sessions over five months. The rest of the tutoring sessions she did not attend. We realize her work schedule did interfere with her tutoring.

Over the course of the first module, we administered several exams orally, in an effort to help her improve her grades. During finals week she took all her finals in the classroom setting and had a difficult time. The module ended on March 21, 2013.

In an attempt to help her, we gave her the final exams again, orally. This did appear to help her with her grade average, but she still had difficulty. She also had the opportunity to hand in past due assignments. At this point, she decided to withdraw from class and did not return to Cidma-****** campus.

She was charged tuition for the first module only, which she completed unsuccessfully, and nothing more. Cidma Inc feels we went over and above reasonable responsibility in trying to help *** ****** during her attendance.

If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. We wish the best for *** ****** in any future goals she attempts to achieve.

Sincerely,

******* ** *****
President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)