BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 241-2930 Fax: (216) 241-5432 2450 Prospect Ave. 2nd Fl., Cleveland, OH 44115 http://www.cidma.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on The Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1967 in OH Business incorporated: 07/23/1970 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
35 East Gay Street, Suite 403, Suite 403, Columbus OH 43215-3138
http://scr.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: 614-466-2219

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Beverly A. Davis, President Ms. Linda L. Carson, Executive Vice President Mr. James Gallagher, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beverly A. Davis, President
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Health & Medical - General Dentists Employment Training Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
C I D M A

Additional Locations

  • 2450 Prospect Ave. 2nd Fl.

    Cleveland, OH 44115 (216) 241-2930

  • 5564 Mayfield Rd.

    Lyndhurst, OH 44124 (440) 473-6273

  • 5733 Hopkins Rd.

    Mentor, OH 44060 (440) 946-9530

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that I woud receive extra help due to my learning disabiity when I enrolled. I did not receive that help even after repeatd requests. Then they are trying to charge me for just being in the building doing my homework. I was in the bulding because I was trying to get the help that was promised to me. This school is a scam and just wants to make money and doesnt care aout their students.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bill adjusted

Business Response: Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants, Inc.

August 15, 2013

Better Business Bureau
** ****** *****, Trade Assistant                           RE ID#*******
2800 Euclid Ave. 4th Flr                                            ****** ******
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-7678

Dear *** *****,

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by the above student.

She attended our ****** campus enrolled in the Medical Secretary program beginning October 1st, 2012. She attended classes in the evening from 6:00pm to 10:00pm, while working full time during the day.

Two weeks into the program, she requested tutoring assistance. Cidma scheduled her for tutoring assistance twice per week from 5:00pm to 6:00pm, on two separate days of the week During her first module she made it to six tutoring sessions over five months. The rest of the tutoring sessions she did not attend. We realize her work schedule did interfere with her tutoring.

Over the course of the first module, we administered several exams orally, in an effort to help her improve her grades. During finals week she took all her finals in the classroom setting and had a difficult time. The module ended on March 21, 2013.

In an attempt to help her, we gave her the final exams again, orally. This did appear to help her with her grade average, but she still had difficulty. She also had the opportunity to hand in past due assignments. At this point, she decided to withdraw from class and did not return to Cidma-****** campus.

She was charged tuition for the first module only, which she completed unsuccessfully, and nothing more. Cidma Inc feels we went over and above reasonable responsibility in trying to help *** ****** during her attendance.

If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. We wish the best for *** ****** in any future goals she attempts to achieve.

Sincerely,

******* ** *****
President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi my name is ****** ***** im 24 years of age i came to Cleveland institute of dental medical to futher my self in july of 2012 i came here to very positive place as if thats what i was thinking until everything just started going down hill in september one of our teachers left or was fired im not sure an it put us behind significantly do to her taking all of our work with her an having to redo all of the work that we had already done over then about a month later our scheduled was changed an the teachers had to readjusts to all the new things an material they had to teach us along with some of the teachers not even being able to teach us what we need due to the changes they made in the middle of our class i was suppose to learn chair side junior fase here it is im a senior an still dont know an thing or none of the material that im supposed to have been done mastered by know i feel like they just lost an dont know what there doing with any of our schedules or materials they fired our lab teacher an i feel she was one of the biggest helps in this school they fired her right in the middle of our denior fase when i think we need her the most an hired a teacvher who isnt even a certified cda an dont know anything about general dentistry an have been working in a periodontist office since she graduated form dental school the little i do know i know more than than the teacher they put in with u i just feel like this is just not fair to me or any of my classmates we all havwe children an trying to make better lives for them but we dont know have any material we need to get out asn get a job to do that due to all the thing that have tooken place while ive been at this school i regret cming here an waisting my time with them then all they want to do is say we got all these hours alot of people had to go get jobs because they not sure there going to be able to get a job because they havent taught us nothing. i really would just like to get my money back some half anything cause this is not FAIR....

Desired Settlement: i would like to get my money back i dont know anything an i graduate in less than 2weeks an there telling us they dont think were going to know all of our material. So we cant even get signed off we dont even have no one to do our 7hour radiology class with HELP PLEASE!

Business Response: December 18, 2012 

** ****** *****                     Complaint #*******
Trade Assistant/BBB
2800 Euclid Ave. 4th Flr.
Cleveland, Ohio 44115

Dear *** *****,

This response is respectfully submitted regarding the complaint of *** ****** *****. I would like to point out a few facts related to her attendance.

She began the Dental Assistant program on July 9, 2012. Per her enrollment agreement, she is scheduled to be in class from 9:00 am to 3:30pm, Monday through Friday for each phase. She is currently attending and is in her final (Senior) phase of attendance prior to her mandatory 240 clock hour externship. During her first two phases, she had many absences. She has continued to demonstrate poor attendance in her current senior phase. Therefore, she has not been in school for many of her laboratory days. Although she has made up the time and submitted the program assignments as required, she still has missed valuable lecture and lab instruction for each day missed. It is *** ******* responsibility to attend class in accordance with the standards as set forth by the institution. She has not done so. After school tutoring has also been offered, which she did not attend.

I would like to point out that the instructor that was replaced was done at the request of the instructor. In her place, CIDMA has hired a Registered Dental Assistant Instructor, who is devoting time in lab instruction for our Senior students, of which *** ***** is an active member. She has taken minimal advantage of this substantial lab instruction.

In conclusion, ** ***** is receiving all lecture and lab material for the Dental Assistant Program, and has been afforded every opportunity to complete the didactic portion of her program in the allotted time frame. She is still attending and is due to complete the academic portion of the Dental Assistant program on January 11, 2013. If all competencies are completed and she passes her exams, she will be placed on an externship.

If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact CIDMA Inc. at ************.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

***** *********
General Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this school is not professional like they say they are. there have been lots of situations that have occurred and there were different consequences for the same incident and i asked why is that and i asked is it because you all recieved all of your money and gave us our money you dont care if we graduate or not the director Ms. ******** responds "well that's one way you can put it" i believe that was very unprofessional to say to a student and that made me and my class feel like they are just in it for the money and not to help us. another situation is this school has been letting people make their finals up if the missed the day it was on and my sister had a job interview the day of her final and they told her thats not a medical emergency so if she dont bring in a doctors excuse she will be kicked out of the school i dont feel that is right at all. every student has so many complaints about this school becuase they do things so wrong. i have so many complaints on the school i dont know if it will all fit. another situation was me and a girl in my class got into a arguement and we were sent home for the remainder of the day and suspended for 3 more days, and a couple of days before that the same incident happened with two other girls and they were only sent home for the remainder of the day which means there were different consequences for the same situation. i am now a senior at CIDMA and i have these hours on my name that shouldnt be there and their trying to withdraw students out of there school with hours which i believe is not fair because the hours i received for the suspension i shouldnt have.

Desired Settlement: i would like for them to do something about the hours that i have recieved so that i can graduate on time and for something to be done about the comment the Director made to me. CIDMA is a very unprofessional school and something needs to be done about it.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******:

 

Below is our response to complaint ID ******* made by ******** **** on 10/4/12:

 

In response to the complaint filed by customer ******** ****** ****, CIDMA, Inc. would like to point out that our Student Policies and Procedures Handbook states that “Unacceptable conduct will not be tolerated.  Students may be suspended for a period of not less than one and no more than three days for unprofessional conduct”.  The length of suspension and probation will be determined by Administration”.    Each altercation is evaluated at the time it occurs. 

 

Ms. **** states in her complaint that there “were different consequences for the same incident”.  We would like to point out that no two incidents are the same.  Physical and/or verbal conduct that leads to the purposeful distraction of other students throughout the school is not tolerated and is evaluated accordingly by Administration at the time of occurrence.

 

Additional make up work has been offered to Ms. **** in an effort to assist her with her outstanding make up hours.  Ms. **** is on track to complete the program as schedule.  An amicable resolution has been reached.

 

If you have additional questions regarding our response, please feel free to contact me at (216) 241-2930.

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Ms. ******* ** *****

President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended the Cleveland institute of dental- medical assistants in downtown cleveland. I will have to say I wasted my time and money. It's not a professional school. Once I graduated and went on job interviews was once I realize I would never find a job because of the school I went to. I had went on 3 (three) different interviews and they all told me the same thing " We dont hire anyone who went to that school because of the lack of learning" . I was shocked to hear this from employors. I wish I would of knew all of this before I went and took out all these loans that I can barely pay for.

Desired Settlement: If possible I would like to have the loans paid for or something in that matter. I think it's sad the way these schools take people's money and give them poor education. I'm a hard working single mother who found time to go back to school and for what no career and loans up to my neck I just dont think it's right.

Business Response: August 15, 2012

******* *****
Trade Assistant
Better Business Bureau, Inc.
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2408

Dear ******* *****:

This letter being sent via fax is in response to the complaint ID#******* received from a former student ******** ** ******. Her last date of attendance was 3-25-O8. She completed her externship which is a mandatory component of her training program. She was placed at ********* **** ************ ****** ********* ***. in the OB/GYN Department and with **** ***** *** *****. She completed her externship successfully and received her diploma and final transcript in April, 2008.

We received no further correspondence or communication from the student after April of 2008. She did not request placement assistance or any help at all after this date. Therefore, we were unaware of her stated inability to secure employment.

We have sent a letter to the student to try to arrange a time to meet in person. At this time we will discuss what she has been doing since 2008 and how we might be able to help her and update her resume. We will send a copy of the letter to you for your perusal. As you are aware, we have been training students since 1967. Our graduates are hired at all major hospitals, clinics, office settings and other allied health providers. We will offer our assistance to *** ******.

Thank you for your patience in regard to this complaint. We apologize for the fact we did not respond in a more timely fashion. We will keep you advised of our attempt at correspondence with this former student. Please feel free to call or email us if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

******* ** *****, President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CIDMA allows students to borrow against their Financial Aid loans thru an Unsubsidized loan. These additional funds are dispersed in stages to the students based on Academic and Attendance requirements the school has put in place. My issue is that the school holds the fund to their advantage while the student is inquiring interest on these funds and not to mention, NOT available to the students. I don't find that to be ethical and fair as it not only puts the students in a financial bind as the administrators have varying versions of when the funds will be available to the students but it also puts the students in arrears as they incur interest on funds that are not even in their physical possession. The school has already received the funds from the Department of Education, why are they keeping the funds from the individuals that it actually belongs to?

Desired Settlement: Make the practice not only consistent for ALL students but allow the students access to the funds as soon as the funds are made available from the Department of Education. If the students choose to drop the program or perform poorly, that is on the student who signed to repay the loan back. Administer a consistent policy to prevent students from having to additional stress out about how to survive their every day lives (pay for rent, food, gas, etc.) which is why they offer this loan to begin

Business Response:

June 8, 2012

Better Business Bureau, Inc.
2200 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408

Dear *** ****** ***********

ln response to the complaint filed by customer ******* *** ***, CIDMA, Inc., would like to point out that the rules regarding waiting periods and disbursement policies are the regulations of the Department of Education, and not the policy of CIDMA, Inc. These rules and regulations are reviewed with all students in an Entrance Interview mandated by the Department of Education.

Additionally, we request funds according to the Department of Education regulations, and if we must deposit funds to await disbursement to the student, the funds are always held in a non-interest-bearing account. This is also done in accordance with Department of Education regulations.

Finally, the issue with *** *** *** has been addressed, and she has received her financial aid disbursement as of this date. She also had a conversation with CIDMA, Inc., officials that explained and clarified the Department of Education regulations regarding the disbursement of federal financial aid funds. These policies are consistently applied to all students and *** *** *** appears to understand these policies. She also participated in the Enhance Interview session.

If I can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,

***** ** *********
General Manager
cc: *** *****, President
*** ******* **, Vice President

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

******* *** ***  

CIDMA needs to have a process in place for assisting students with their financial aid applications including Pell Grants and questions that may arise (changes in amounts, etc).  Students also need to feel comfortable with the outcome as well as understand and KNOW the process of their loans.  The current administration does not have a good system in place for organizing and handling individual's situations.  Any changes in amounts need to be communicated to a student and processes such as when disbursement of monies needs to be outline to each student on a scheduled, perhaps signed by the student and made sure that a clear understanding is taking place not just handed the first week of school when you are also getting lesson plans, books, assignments and details on the next 6 months of accelerated learning.  The current process rushes students thru  a video, paperwork and application process on line that is not only poorly handled but very rushed. We trusted that the person(s) helping us had our best interest at hand, that is not the case.

There also needs to be ONE point of contact with one person taking responsibility for the application, disbursement process not a "pass the buck" type of attitude. I also do not appreciate having to pay interest on monies that were taken from my process for "Administrative Fees" especially when the process was a disaster.   For my personal situation, what is done is done but for future attendees, it would be very helpful to have a thorough process in place with better communication and procedures in place. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended the school 3 years ago. I was told that if i did not like the extern site that they placed me at, that they would find me another site. The school placement director placed me at the cancer center. I did not like that site, I have a bubbly personality, and just did not think that site was for me. I called the placement director and she told me that there is nothing else the school can do for me and that I need to find my own extern site in order to receive my diploma. I couldn't find an extern site. When I was signing up at the school to attend, nowhere did it say that my externship needed to be completed after one year of the academic learning. So now three years later I found someone that said she would allow me to do my extership with her. So I called the school and the school told me that I only had one year, and that I can not receive my diploma anymore. I thought that since I went and found my OWN extern site that I would still be able to receive my diploma. This school also tells you that the credits transfer to lakeland, NOT. They tell you anything to get your money. I do not understand how if I find my own extern site, why I cant receive my diploma. Also, a girl in the same class as I , she was placed at a extern site and did not like it, so what do they do? They place her at a different extern site!! How is that understandable? I would never recommend this school to anyone. Save your money.

Desired Settlement: I would like the school to accept my ability to find my own extern site and allow me to receive my diploma. I understand it has been three years. Again, they did not find this for me. They placed the girl in my class to another site because she did not like her original site.

Business Response:

May 25, 2012

Better Business Bureau    RE: #*******
2800 Euclid Ave.  4th Flr.
Cleveland, Ohio  44115

Dear *** *****,

Sorry for the delay in the response, but our Executive Vice President, ******** ******* **, has got in contact with student ******* *****, and I am happy to report has resolved the matter.

In short, we have her externship paperwork at the ****** Office, and we will be completing all her paperwork that is required for Cidma, Inc. to prepare and mail her final transcript and diploma.

This is scheduled to be completed today, and put into this afternoon’s mail.

We have been very happy to respond positively to the BBB, and make one of our previous students very satisfied.

Thank you for your concern in this matter.

If there are further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

***** ** *********
General Manager

cc:  ** ***** *** *** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ****** vs cidmalocation - mentor ave ohio 44060complaint regards poorly service in the cidma,teachers are not teaching the students in a right way,,one teacher has been felon of a 5th degree and director of the school whos name is ********* ****** has been felon of a 3rd degree...the reason of a complaint is any students that goes to that school did not learning nothing at all.teacher ********* m ****** lost her license she has been indicted with a 5th degree she lost her RN license and did not extend her tn license..she got no right to teach a cpr classes,only one who can teach the cpr classes are,,the one who has the cpr certificate..now my question for you guys as i can see that you are supporting cidma with a grade A-..how a felons can be a directors in the private school..according to a usa law,people who are the felons cannot be a higher worker as a director of the schools..i got proof that ****** and ****** has been felons..i was kicked out of a school cidma,i'm not the only one who is kicked,my sister is too,and i know some other peoples who are kicked out of the school cidma on the mentor ave ohio 44060..but a director of that school hurts my feeling so bad that i cant forgive to her.i experienced from cidma nothing,,they didnt teach me right..now as a resolving problem is not acceptable..all i want to stop paying to them..because its not my fault..they are driving a new cars,they driving good cars from someone elses back,from someone who they can kick out from a school..when i try to contact ******* ***** from a main campus of cidma she never respond to me,never called me back,and to me that smells something fishy there..right now if you guys as a bbb cant do nothing,than i want you to delete bbb site,because your responsibility is to investigate this problem with a business cidma,its not my responsibilty to call them to see whats going on,i know the laws,so you better investigate this problem as soon as possible..and i want you to give cidma lowest grade as a F-..

Desired Settlement: they dont deserve a grade A-..with that grade they are happy.and i want you to email me with a investigation informations to keep me updated or to call me and to tell me what is going on with a process,i will not contact you guys,you have a job to do so better do it,and also i will not contact the cidma main campus,my email is ******************...thanks and have a nice day...i will be waiting for your response..dont just put on this site that problem has been solved which is not solved.........

Business Response:

November 11, 2011

 

 

TO:  ****** *****
        Trade Assistant

        The Better Business Bureau

         ************************ 

 

FROM:  ******* ** ****** *********

              Cleveland Institute of Dental-Medical Assistants, Inc.

               **************
 

Re:  Complaint ID ******* 

 

I am in receipt of your November 3rd complaint from ***** ******, ID# *******.  I feel strongly that this complaint is completely without merit.  *** ****** was dismissed from our Mentor campus in March of 2011, because he was clearly deficient in our stated standards of Academic Progress.

 

*** ****** was failing each module of his training he was given the opportunity to receive tutoring and remediation, and he chose not to avail himself or those learning opportunities to get within standards of academic progress.

 

Our Accrediting body (ACCSC) and the Department of Education have both reviewed *** ******** complaint and they agree that his complaint is without merit.

 

Please call me directly if you have any further questions *** ********.

 

 

Thank You,

 

*** ******* ****** *********

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1