BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Ohio Technical College, Inc.

Phone: (216) 881-1700 Fax: (216) 881-9145 View Additional Phone Numbers 1374 E. 51st St., Cleveland, OH 44103 http://www.ohiotechnicalcollege.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ohio Technical College, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ohio Technical College, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ohio Technical College, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1970 in OH Business incorporated: 04/10/1970 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
35 East Gay Street, Suite 403, Suite 403, Columbus OH 43215-3138
http://scr.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: 614-466-2219

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc L. Brenner, President Ms. Kathleen E. Dillon, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc L. Brenner, President
Principal: Ms. Kathleen E. Dillon, Executive Vice President
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Employment Training Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
PowerSports Institute

Additional Locations

  • 1374 E. 51st St.

    Cleveland, OH 44103 (216) 881-1700

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 322-7000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: no where on your enrollment form does it state that an enrollment deposit would be refunded within 30+days and when i originally talked with enrollment personnel they told me next week.. and when next week arrived they said within 30days. it is a month later and still no deposit refund..100.00 is alot of money to loose especially when you are a college student

Desired Settlement: i want you to change your enrollment policy so that this doesn't happen to the next college student trying to enroll in your very expensive technical school. i did not wait to give you the 100.00 why should i be punished under fake policy not spelled out in the agreement...your enrollment form should state 30 days from the day of cancellation.

Business Response: Date: Thu, 8 Aug 2013 16:06:09 -0400
From:  ***********************
To: *************************
Subject: Complaint *******

Hello *******,

I tried to respond on your website, but for some reason was not able to enter any information.  I hope this email will be satisfactory.

*** ******* enrolled with us June 26, 2013.  On June 27, 2013 he returned to the school and requested to transfer from his original start date of July 8, 2013 to August 19, 2013.  *** ******* completed an enrollment agreement on June 26, and again on June 27 when he transferred.  A copy of one of the enrollment agreements is attached for your reference.

On the front of the contract is the "Buyer's Right to Cancel".  It clearly states that the student has 5 days from the date of enrollment to submit a request to cancel and receive a refund.  The back of the enrollment agreement states that the refund will be issued no later than 30 days from the date of cancellation.  Unfortunately, *** ******* did not submit a request in writing as is required by the contract.  Instead, he called his admissions representative and requested to cancel over the phone.  I have no record of when that occurred, and technically since he did not submit a request in writing, we are not obligated to issue a refund.  However, since he stated he wanted to pursue a career in a different field, and the phone call was within the 5 day limit, his account was cancelled and a check was set up to be issued the first of the month following his request.

A check was written on August 1, 2013.  That is the same day I received this complaint, and I did hold the check until yesterday so I could investigate the situation.  His check has been mailed at this time.

*** ******* requested we make the cancellation policy more clear, however if you read the areas of the contract I have pointed out, I do not think we could be any clearer therefore there will be no change to the enrollment agreement.

I hope the above information is sufficient however if you need additional information please don't hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,


******** ******
Executive Vice President
Ohio Technical College Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for the college and applied for financil aid at the same time from *****. My rep ******** was so pushy for the 100$ and told me she couldnt start my welcome packet or any kinda of admission process until i paid my 100$ fee. I went ahead and paid it and asked at least 4 times regarding the sitpulations. I was advised as long as i was approved I would be able to get in. Well everything was great i got all my paper work complete , had enough money for school and was getting started getting everything together. I recive a packet in the mail stating that the orginal amount approved for was going to be 5000 less than what was told by *****. The tuition was 29000 and the approved me for a little over 18900. leaveing me about 10000 to pay out of pocket. I went through all the options since i really really wanted to go to school and I couldnt take out a loan due to my credit, I cant pay 1700 each semester since i Dont earn that now and diffently dont earn that when ill be going to school . So i called back to see if there are any other options. I spoke to the financial aid DEPT and they lady was so rude she stated and i Quote" well if you can't afford it thats not our fault, we will cancel"with the rudest unhelpful tone ever. I advised i didnt want to cancel i want to go to school and is there any way she can help. she said nope we dont have anything to help you with sorry. Well Now i can't go to school and its not my Fault that the oringal financil aid was not approved correctly and had to be redone. Now they will not work with me at all for the 100$ refund . I had specifically asked when signing the paperwork about ***** and etc, the stated" we never turn anyone way due to lack of money" they are doing this exactly right now.They are pressing people to pay this 100$ so they can "process paperwork" and take more than the 5 busniess days allowed for cancel to process. I didnt want to canel but i dint have a choice

Desired Settlement: I want a Refund of the 100$ enrollment fee , because im not cancelling due to no interest i am cancelling due to ***** and not having enough money to pay out of pocket. I dont have a choice, i'm no disabilty right now and i really really need that fee back.This isnt fair to people that simply just want to go to school

Business Response:

November 8, 2012

 

Dear *** *****;

 

This letter is in response to complaint ID#*******.  I apologize for the delay in responding however with the recent storm we were without power and the school was closed for a couple of days.

 

 *** ****enrolled with us September 21, 2012. At that time he was required to pay a $100.00 registration fee that was refundable if he cancelled within 5 days of signing his agreement. A copy of the enrollment agreement is attached. I was surprised to see that *** **** thought ****** was "too pushy". The emails he sent to her thanked her for her help, and stated his only complaint was that he did not qualify for enough financial aid to comver his tuition. 

 

The student needs to complete the ***** online and submit it to the Department of Education inorder to receive federal funding to attend college.  After the ***** is processed the Department of Education forwards the students' information to the school and tells us what if anything the student qualifies for.  In reviewing *** ****** file it appears his income for 2011 was above the threshold to receive some of the grants he had hoped to receive.  At that point our Financial Aid Department informed *** **** he did not qualify for grants.  He did qualify for the loans from the Department of Education, but that still left him short of the total tuition.  We suggested he apply for an additional alternative loan to pay for the remainder of his tuition.  *** **** apparently applied for additonal funds, however he sent us an email stating that due to his credit no one was willing to give him a loan for his tuiton.  At that time he requested a refund of his enrollment fee.  Unfortunately *** **** does not qualify for a refund because he is past the 5 day grace period.

 

I do see in the "Desired Settlement" section that *** **** indicates he is on disability.  In checking our records I do not see any record of this in his financial aid file.  If this is the case, he would need to inform the Financial Aid Department as soon as possible, and they can work with him to see if they can change something in the paperwork that will allow him to receive additional funds.  I do not know for sure if that will work as each case is individual, however it is definitely worth checking into if he is interested in attending the school.

 

I hope the above information is of assistance to you.  If further information is needed please don't hesitate to contact me.

 

Sincerely,

 

******** ******

Executive Vice President

Ohio Technical College Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This school false advertised there program description, faculty, availability of projects and equipment. The auto-body program was a 72 week course. Being a graduate student, I feel as if it was a total waste of time and money. Although I have picked up a few tips from the instructors, i don't feel that I received what was promised. I don't recall ever painting a vehicle in the paint and refinishing course. I've never seen a deployed airbag. I have also never removed a broken window glass. These are just a few things that will be involved in the collision industry. Through the course, I kept a log documenting what we did daily. Class time, we would sit in front of a projector as the teacher went through the slide show. We took a weekly test and mind you, we never received a legit progress report. They call the institute a college but seems as if they run it like a business. They pile in tons of students, for $28,000, but lack to supply tools and learning aids. Shop time, we would rarely have tasks. Often times, there would be no equipment or material to even attempt a project. Students in each department have the same complaints, but being students we've felt powerless. Teachers detour students from bringing issues to light. Well now that i have my certificate, it's time to air it out. OTC is a scam! They have ex-body men there who have never publicly spoken, and attempt to teach a class. Knowing how to do work is one thing, but teaching is an entirely different challenge. Some of the instructors aren't even certified, but their supposed to be there to help us become certified technicians. On another note, the school president smokes cigarettes in his office which is in a public hallway, and instructors have been spotted using illegal substances on lunch break with students. Once again, you try to bring this to someones attention, but seems as if the entire staff is corrupt. An ex-instructor did mention that the entire student body should walk together in regards to settling these issues.

Desired Settlement: I was charged out of my pocket $28,000 for an 18 month program in which, i still have to pay fees in order to receive my certifications. Nevertheless, i feel cheated as though regulations were not met and the program syllabus was not followed. As Alumni, we were granted the option to return for further training at no cost. OTC has not followed there own guidelines and program specifications. I would like a partial reimbursement for the cost I paid in attending this fraud establishment.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

This complaint was received over the Christmas holiday, and most of our staff was off because the college was closed.  I was not able to find all of the answers I needed to respond to this, however the last piece of the puzzle should be received today and I will get a response to you by the end of the week.

One of the issues I had in locating anything is that ******* **** was not a student of Ohio Technical College.  This gentleman enrolled as ******* *******, and graduated in December with the name ******* ******* on his diploma.  **** is his monthers name.  If he has changed his name, he should let us know so his diploma can show the correct name.   So, I am hoping I am referring to the correct student's records.  The address same, *** ******* was an autobody student, and *** ******* graduated in December.   Mr. **** indicates he is a recent graduate, and the comments he made would only be relative to the autobody program.  If you could contact him to make sure I have the correct student records that would be a big help.

Thank you for your assistance.

***** ******
Executive Vice President
Ohio Technical College Inc.

Consumer Response: Sorry for the misunderstanding. This message was received by ******* *******

Business Response:

This letter is in response to complaint #********Thank you for replying to my email requesting verification of the student's name.  I have located ******* ********* file, and will address his issues one at a time.

His first issue was that he stated he does not "recall ever painting a vehicle".  That is quite surprising, especially since I have attached copies of the task sheets the students complete in the shop each week.  Please refer to attachment BBB#1.  These sheets are completed each week by the student indicating what they worked on each day in the shop.  I did not attach all of the task sheets that indicate *** ******* was painting, but did attach enough so you can see that *** ******* in his own writing stated he painted sections on some cars, and painted several "whole" cars.  He even states what car, (mercedes, sonata, kia, etc) how many coats he painted at that time, what kind of paint (primer etc) and sometimes even what color he was using.

His next statement was that he had "never seen a deployed air bag".  Air bags are covered in the non-structural #3 module of his program.  An air bag is deployed at some point each time the module is taught.  I have circled the time period when *** *******'s class attended this module on attachment BBB#2.  *** ******* was in attendance all but one day of that module according to his record card.  Perhaps *** ******* simply "forgot" that module since that was taught in November and December 2010.

*** ******* states he "never removed a broken window glass".  Please refer to BBB#3.  Again I have attached copies of his task sheets, filled out by *** ******* himself.  *** ******* and his instructor both initialed these pages which state that the student has removed and reinstalled or replaced fixed glass (heated and non-heated).  This is specifically referring to the window glass in vehicles.

"Class time, we would sit in front of a projector as the teacher went through the slide show".  It is true that power point overheads are used in some classes.  However, each week the student is graded on Professionalism, Shop Performance, and Classroom Test results.  Some of the time each week is spent in the classroom, and some time is spent in the shop.  Progress reports are issued every 12 weeks.  Attached is BBB#4 which is *** *******'s final report card.  It is not possible to provide copies of each 12 week progress report as the report card is built continuously throughout the program however you can clearly see the grades as of each quarter.

As far as not supplying tools or learning aids, this is not a true statement at all.  In fact, each student received their own tool bag in 2011 that they were allowed to keep when they graduated.  The individual tool kit for the Collision Repair program is $527.38 which is the school cost, not the retail cost.  In additon to the individual tool bag, we have an entire room dedicated to the specialized tools needed in this profession.  Trainig aids would be the vehicles, fenders, etc that *** ******* performed his tasks on that are listed on the task sheets in BBB#1 and BBB#3.  As you can see, we have an abundance of training aids.

*** ******* states that our instructors are not certified, also not true.  All of our instructors in the Collision Repair Program are I-Car certified.  If they are not certified when they are first hired, they are given a maximum of 2 years to become certified.  Please see attachment BBB#6 which is a page directly from our employee handbook which states all of the requirements for the instructors in each program.

The additional complaints regarding using illegal substances etc are totally unsubstantiated.  If indeed someone was doing that, *** ******* should have come to the front office and immediately reported it.  We are a Zero Tolerance school when it comes to drugs, harassment, or violence and have dealt with those issues whenever they are brought to our attention.   Also, the statement that "the entire staff is corrupt" is insulting and uncalled for.  All of our offices are open, and students are always encouraged to come speak with us if they have issues that need to be addressed.  After reviewing *** *******'s Instructor Comment side of his record card, BBB#5, it would appear that *** ******* was certainly not the "model" student and caused many issues himself.  He left class early on 17 documented occassions; was absent on 25 documented occassions; talked on his cell phone during class; showed up for class without his uniform shirt, safety glasses, and a writing utencil; has a bad attitude with some of his instructors; brought his own car in and worked on it without permission; lacks focus; is high maintenance and needs personal attention; does not follow the rules; does not put forth effort;  etc...

As far as *** *******'s request for a refund is concerned, there will be no refund at this time.  

I certainly hope the above information is of assistance to you.  If you need further clarification please don't hesitate to contact me. 

Sincerely,

******** ******
Executive Vice President
Ohio Technical College Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,


******* **** 

Consumer Response:

I understand that my class was the very first night crew that OTC brought aboard, and that there may have been a few kinks in the night program. I am not terribly dissatisfied with OTC for their business. I'm thankful that there was a school for my interest of study close to home. The idea of a top of the line automotive institute in the heart of Cleveland is wonderful, but OTC is not what it's all hyped up to be. They didn't supply the resources to supply the load of students they were piling in. "Less rules More tools". It was comparative to a prison or an army. But don't just take my word for it; Investigate. See how the students and alumni feel.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

8/25/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1