BBB Accredited Business since

Ohio Technical College, Inc.

Phone: (216) 881-1700 Fax: (216) 881-9145 View Additional Phone Numbers 1374 E. 51st St., Cleveland, OH 44103

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ohio Technical College, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ohio Technical College, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1970 in OH Business incorporated 04/10/1970 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
35 East Gay Street, Suite 403, Suite 403, Columbus OH 43215-3138
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: 614-466-2219

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Marc L. Brenner, President Ms. Kathleen E. Dillon, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc L. Brenner, President
Principal: Ms. Kathleen E. Dillon, Executive Vice President
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Employment Training Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
PowerSports Institute

Additional Locations

  • 1374 E. 51st St.

    Cleveland, OH 44103 (216) 881-1700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ohio Technical College representative ***** **** signed my son, ***** ***** to welding classes that were to begin August 18th, morning classes. We paid the $100 deposit. Late May *** **** contacted my son to notify him that Ohio Tech would not be having morning welding classed for August. He offered afternoon classes or to start a different month. We did not find the alternatives acceptable and informed *** **** of that decision. The request for a refund of the $100 was made to *** **** and he told my son he would "take care of it". *** **** now does not answer phone calls from myself or my husband and nor will he return phone calls. Attempted to contact his supervisor, *** **** and he too has not returned phone calls.

Desired Settlement: A refund for $100 is requested. We did not break the contract, Ohio Technical College did.

Business Response: To Whom it may Concern; It is correct that *** **** enrolled ***** ***** in the August Morning Class for Welding to begin August 18, 2014. Unfortunately Ohio Technical College had to move that class start to afternoons, and we contacted ***** to see if that would be okay with him. ***** indicated that beginning his training in the afternoon class would not be and issue, and we then sent him transfer papers to complete. Although we never received the papers completed, we also never received a request to cancel his enrollment, or to issue a refund. It appears there was some lack of communication on this one, and although the student is not technically eligible for a refund, as a gesture of goodwill on our part his enrollment was cancelled today, and a refund was issued to *****, check #*****. Hopefully he will be able to re-enroll for a future date in the Welding Program so he can get the education he needs to be able to pursue a fulfilling career in his field of choice. If there is any additional information needed please let me know. Sincerely, ******** ****** Executive Vice President Ohio Technical College Inc.

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gave them $100 tuition deposit.Signed a paper stating if we decide within 5 business days from signing Enrollment Agreement, if we wish to cancel the $100 deposit would be returned.We canceled within the 5 business day period.Their policy stated if such cancellation is made, the school will promptly refund in full all tuition and fees paid no later than 30 days after cancellation.It has now been more than 30 days and I've not received the $100.When I try to call and talk to someone it goes into the answering machine and they never return my calls. I did get a hold of someone August 4. I was told the money would be returned but so far it hasn't and once again all my calls go to the answering machine.

Desired Settlement: Would just like my $100 deposit returned.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern; *** ******** enrolled with the college on July 13, 2014. His cancellation request was mailed July 17, 2014 and was received on July 21, 2014. He did cancel within the 5 days allowed in order to receive a full refund of his registration fee. The college issues checks on the 1st and 15th of each month. Unfortunately his request was not processed in time to make the 1st of the month check run, however his check was printed with the 15th of the month check run. Check #***** was mailed on July 20, 2014 within 30 days of the date the cancellation request was received. Please let me know if any additional information is required. ******** ****** Executive Vice President Ohio Technical College Inc.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



***** ********




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ohio Technical College, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)