BBB Accredited Business since

Cleveland Institute of Electronics

Phone: (216) 781-9400 Fax: (216) 781-0331 View Additional Phone Numbers 1776 E 17th St, Cleveland, OH 44114 http://www.cie-wc.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cleveland Institute of Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cleveland Institute of Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 12
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cleveland Institute of Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1946 Business started: 01/01/1934 in OH Business incorporated 01/15/1946 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
35 East Gay Street, Suite 403, Suite 403, Columbus OH 43215-3138
http://scr.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: 614-466-2219

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John R. Drinko, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John R. Drinko, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Valvoda, Treasurer
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Correspondence Schools Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities


Additional Locations

  • 1776 E 17th St

    Cleveland, OH 44114 (216) 781-9400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in an Associate's Degree program in Fall 2011. There was a tuition rate offer of $2,800 for a year of classes with no indication that I would need to stay enrolled for longer than the first year. Despite my signing a document stating that I did not want any textbooks from CIE and that I would purchase my own, I continued to be billed for textbooks at the start of each new course, even though CIE never sent these books and I was purchasing my own. At the end of the first year, I was frustrated with the continued billing issues and contacted CIE to withdraw, but received no further contact from them, including any billing statements on the remaining balance, which would have been no more than $1,400. A few months later, I received a notice from Security Credit Systems, indicating that my account was in collection and I owed $7,000. This account is still on my credit report and has been damaging my credit score for some time.

Desired Settlement: I would like CIE to remove this item from my credit report. I feel that I should not be obligated to pay the amount in collections due to a failure to communicate and provide billing statements after I contacted them to withdraw.

Business Response:
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Paul V****** <paulv@cie-wc.edu>
Date: Wed, Jun 1, 2016 at 1:34 PM
Subject: Complaint ID ********
To: ***** ******* <*****@cleveland.bbb.org>


Good Afternoon *****,


In response to the above referenced complaint, Cleveland Institute of Electronics (CIE) disputes ****** Sowers' (RS) characterization of his enrollment period with  CIE.  

We don't show a record of RS requesting withdrawal from his program at any time.  In fact RS completed 8 lessons in year 2, making RS liable for 25% of his tuition cost, provided RS sent a withdrawal notice prior to the end of the year 2.  If RS did not send a withdrawal notice he would be 100% liable for year 2.  
RS returned the document stating he would purchase textbooks on his own after he had already been shipped four textbooks with a combined cost of $368.84.  Per CIE's UPS records, textbook shipments were left on RS front porch by UPS.  
CIE mails all students and former students monthly statements by USPS.  Once a students account is 120 days past due, it is turned over to our third party collection agency with collection costs added, per the students enrollment agreement.  If a student moves it is his/her responsibility to provide CIE with his/her new billing address. 
As an act of good will, we are offering to accept $1,000.00 as payment-in-full on RS account. This would remove all charges related to coursework RS completed in his second year of study, all textbook charges, and collection agency fees.  

If you have any questions, or need further information, please contact me.


Have a nice rest of the day, 


Paul   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

6/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled with CIE-WC back around 2007. I was enrolled in the Bachelors program for Computer Information Systems. I had paid my monthly payments on-time for years. I emailed Ms. Monica to discuss the remainder of my courses and she informed me that the college had lost their accreditation almost 12 months ago. I was never informed that I was no longer able to obtain a bachelors degree and I had continued to pay and complete courses during this time. I told Ms. Monica that I would not be willing to continue a program that I was not able to have a degree from, nor would I continue to pay. I feel that I was not given options and I was not informed that it was a possibility that your college was losing its accreditation (im sure it did not happen over night) and then 9 months later, it took communication on my behalf to find out that my hard work was now wasted. Ms. Monica said she would make adjustments to my account and I never heard back from her. I also requested all contract documents and copies of communication sent to me regarding the changes. She noted that some students were not notified of the changes. I feel like this was fraud, and now I owe monies and have a ding on my credit report - when I was never afforded the opportunity to finish the program I had paid into and finished. There was NO communication to me that this was going to be charged to me, and today I see a negative account on my credit report. I do believe it would have been fair to notify me before turning me to collections. I do feel as if you have not provided services for what I have been promised. My payment history will show that when I was under the impression that I was able to obtain a bachelors degree, I made my monthly payments every month. On an email from your staff on April 10, 2015, she states " I am still getting students that were not notified about this loss (accreditation) which is unbelievable." Obviously, I am not the only person who was not contacted that this program had been changed. She also stated that accreditation was lost in May 2014, yet this email communication was a year later.

Desired Settlement: I want the school to take responsibility for not contacting me in a timely fashion and to be accountable for the fact that I was unable to obtain a degree that I was paying for. I do not feel like I should be obligated to pay for services that I did not receive, and was unable to obtain because they lost their accreditation. In addition my last "bill" before I understood accreditation was lost, stated I owed $3868, however you have reported over $5600 due on my credit report.

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: **** V****** <paulv@cie-wc.edu>
Date: Mon, Mar 14, 2016 at 5:44 PM
Subject: Complaint ID ********
To: ***** ******* <*****@cleveland.bbb.org>


Good Afternoon *****,


Regarding the above referenced complaint, Cleveland Institute of Electronics, Inc.\World College  (CIE\WC) denies it committed fraud against ******** ***** (JS) or any other student.  


As part of CIE\WC's teachout agreement with it's former accrediting agency, Distance Education and Training Council (DETC), DETC obligated itself to inform affected students of CIE\WC's loss of accreditation.  After losing accreditation, CIE\WC's policy has been to not enroll any new students or to enroll any existing students to new semesters, unless a student contacted CIE\WC and requested to continue his/her studies with the understanding he/she would not receive an accredited degree.  CIE\WC considers balances due from students  for studies completed prior to it's loss of accreditation as valid student financial obligations to CIE\WC.  These students did receive the benefit of knowledge gained, and many are receiving transfer credit at other schools.  


In JS's case, her $3,868 balance payable, prior to her account being placed with a third-party collection agency, was entirely related to amounts billed for coursework completed prior to CIE\WC's loss of accreditation.  JS's balance due increased after her account was placed with the collection agency due to collection fees being added as was allowed per her signed enrollment agreement with CIE\WC.  CIE\WC had sent monthly statements to JS and several offers to settle her account at a discount up until the account was placed with the collection agency.  CIE\WC is sympathetic to JS not being able to earn her degree from CIE\WC.  


As an act of good will,  CIE\WC has closed JS account with its third-party collection agency and will cancel the entire unpaid balance on JS account.


If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me.



Thank you for your attention to this matter.



Sincerely,



Paul 

Cleveland Institute of Electronics, Inc.
**** J. V****** - Treasurer
1776 E. 17th Street
Cleveland, OH  44114
p 216-781-9400 ext 200    
f  216-781-0331
e paulv@cie-wc.edu
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** *****-*******

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a graduating student currently attending the Cleveland Institute of Engineering. I as of 1/11/16, have one more course to complete. During my time as a student, I have developed some grievances with this institution. 1. The level of the instructional material. The plastic booklets are not very well written and often contain typos. The level of material ranges from very informative to a point where some is difficult to follow and even harder to apply to the end of lesson exam questions. 2. I'm not sure why I even have a admissions advisor, except for to ask questions about where my missing material is or questions about tuition. The advisor I have, I believe should call herself a customer service representative. 3. I'm not sure who to even ask for help when I have a question with a certain lesson. I have an email for the instruction department but not any direct contact as was promised when I signed up. 4. When I rarely do ask a question, the only help that is offered is that I am kindly redirected to a certain section or page in the lesson that I am asking about. I have literally never received one minute of instruction in the 20 months that I attended this institution. 5. I have transfer coursed from a previous institution but had to repeat certain courses such as calculus at CIE and I have no idea why since I already passed these courses and math does not change. 6. The test equipment is outdated. I don't understand why in this day and age they would send an analog multimeter with the test equipment. 7. The tuition breakdown advertised on the site is misleading to the actual cost of tuition.

Desired Settlement: I would like a credit for the math classes that I had to repeat that I had previously taken at my other institution. I would also like for CIE to quit sending out those cheap, ill written plastic lesson books they currently use.

Business Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Paul V****** <paulv@cie-wc.edu>
Date: Tue, Jan 26, 2016 at 6:18 PM
Subject: Complaint ID ********
To: ***** ******* <*****@cleveland.bbb.org>


Good Afternoon *****,


Regarding the above referenced complaint, Mr. Dorian ****** is on the verge of graduating from our school.  We commend Mr. ****** for his dedication to completing a challenging course. 

Mr. ******'s opinions however are not representative of the opinions we receive on surveys all graduates complete after they have graduated our school.  In rebuttal of several of Mr. ******'s claims:

We rarely receive complaints on the quality of the lesson books we produce in house. 
Our Admissions Advisors assist any prospective student with any questions he\she may have prior to anrollment.  The Advisor also provides enrolled students any assistance they may need during their studies. 
We are a distance education school.  Our instructors are available by phone or e-mail when a student requests help.  
The analog meter is still used in industry.  Also, students are given the option to upgrade to a digital meter for an extra fee.
The tuition breakdown on our website is accurate.
Students are only granted transfer credits if they earn at least a C at their prior school.  
It is a goal of our school to make every student satisfied with his/her learning experience.  To that end, as an act of good will we will apply a credit of $400.00 toward Mr. ******'s account balance to cover the cost of his calculus courses.   We maintain the quality of our education is solid, based on positive feedback from the vast majority of our graduates.

Thank you,

Paul  

11/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled this program immediately after the first packet arrived. I was promised a degree in engineering for only $2,000. Almost immediately I received a bill for over $4,000. As I looked into more information about the school. I found that this was their common scam tactic. Cleveland Institute of Electronics LIED about even being qualified to give me an engineering degree! I have tried to call only to be hung up on. Emails to the school have never been replied to me. I will not pay into this scam. I will Fight this until it is gone from my credit report. These charges have affected my credit score.

Desired Settlement: Remove these bogus collections from my report.

Business Response: From: **** ******* ******************
Date: Wed, Nov 25, 2015 at 5:17 PM
Subject: Complaint ID ******** ********* ****
To: ***** ******* *************************


Good Afternoon *****,


In response to the above referenced complaint, Cleveland Institute of Electronics (CIE) will  re-call **** ********'s account from our 3rd party collection agency and ask that the record be removed from his credit report as an act of goodwill.    


CIE disputes *** ********'s claims however that he was "scammed", "lied to", excessively billed, "hung up on", or that CIE is not "qualified" to grant engineering degrees.  


CIE did lose its national accreditation in May of 2014 - six months after *** ******** enrolled.  While the degrees are no longer accredited, CIE is allowed by the Ohio State Board Of Career Colleges to issue degrees to students who were enrolled prior to CIE's losing accreditation, as part of CIE's degree teach out agreement.  CIE stopped enrolling new students in degree programs immediately upon losing it's accreditation.  Many students who were enrolled prior to the loss of accreditation have chosen to stay enrolled, as they value the quality of the education they are receiving from CIE.


Attached is an e-mail from **** ******** to a CIE Admissions Advisor dated June 2, 2014, where *** ******** intent is to keep his student account active.


If you have any questions, or need further information, please contact me.


Have a Happy Thanksgiving!


Paul   

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 




9/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i started a registration at Cleveland institute online they send some paper to fill after reading many times those paper and i realized i don't like the service they give at all i decided to stop the course they keep billing for a class that i don't even start for a 2 days . because there's no real assistance and they decide now to send my name in collections for an amount of $1418.29. i would like to know if it's fair to try to make money out of people like this?

Business Response: From: **** ******* ******************
Date: Tue, Sep 22, 2015 at 5:34 PM
Subject: Complaint ID ********
To: ***** ******* *************************


Good Afternoon *****,


In response to the above referenced complaint, ******* ***** did not honor the enrollment terms he agreed to when he enrolled with Cleveland Institute of Electronics (CIE) online.  Per the agreement *** ***** agreed to, he was required to contact CIE to officially cancel his enrollment prior to his end of term date (09/19/2015) in order to receive a cancellation credit toward his outstanding balance.  *** ***** did not contact CIE prior to his end of term date.

*** ***** did contact CIE directly on 9/21/2015 regarding this matter.  Since it was only two days after *** *****'s term ending date, as a courtesy CIE offered to accept a settlement payment in the amount of $280.80 dollars as payment-in-full on his account.  We have not received a response of acceptance from *** ***** as of yet.  CIE requires that *** ***** make the $280.80 settlement payment prior to his account being recalled from CIE's outside collection agency.  


Attached are the terms and conditions ******* ***** agreed to when he enrolled online with CIE. 


Thank you,


Paul

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  What number should i contact for that when i call at cie number nobody answer.

Regards, 


******* *****


6/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When originally enrolled with CIE they were accredited by the DETC which is the reason for enrollment. Since then they have lost accreditation and i'm unable to discontinue with them even though the accreditation is lost and that was part of the original agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like the services to be discontinued and CIE to stop billing me, and threatening to send me to collections.

Business Response: From: **** ******* ******************
Date: Wed, Apr 22, 2015 at 10:06 AM
Subject: Complaint ID: ********
To: ************************* *************************

Good Morning ******

Regarding the above referenced complaint ID, we are cancelling ***** ** ********** account with our school and expunging his balance due, effective today.  Thus, *** ******** will receive no further billing statements and his account will not be placed with our collection agency, as he requested.  (There may still be a billing statement in transit to *** ********, due to his remote location.  If this is the case, it can be disregarded)

Thank you for your assistance to this matter.  Sorry I am a day late with my response.

Sincerely,

****

3/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure of Cleveland institute of Electronics to refund all monies pay by me ($537.28) to their institution. The school failed to notify me that they lost accreditation. I enrolled in their "Electronics Technician" program on July 7, 2014. According to the U.S. Department of Education (The database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs) the school lost their accreditation on July 18, 2014. Cleveland Institution of Electronics withheld their loss of accreditation from me. I found out 7 months latter that they lost their accreditation through the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (I am using the Post 9/11 GI Bill). I contacted the school and requested a refund of all monies paid to them due to failure to notify me of their loss of accreditation. The school refuses to refund any and all monies paid to them.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of all monies paid to the Cleveland Institute of Electronics. Total amount paid to this institution: $537.28

Business Response: From: **** ******* ******************
Date: Tue, Mar 10, 2015 at 9:13 AM
Subject: Complaint ID 10456273
To: ************************* *************************


Good Morning *****,


Regarding the above referenced complaint, we reached a refund agreement with our former student J****** ********.  *** ******** will be issued a refund check today for $387.28 dollars.


If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me.  Thank you.


Regards,


****


Cleveland Institute of Electronics, Inc.
**** ** ******* - Treasurer
1776 E. 17th Street
Cleveland, OH  44114
p 216-781-9400 *** ***    
f  216-781-0331
* ****************
 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********


2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2010 I found CIE online offering a money back gaurantee for electronics course training. I decided to try it but found I that I didn't like the outdated process of corresponding by mail with hardly any "online"platform or interaction. Therefore after 3 lessons I explained to them I have no interest in using their service. I had already sent them $250.00 dollars by credit card and I believe another check or payment for around 100.00 dollars. Later I recieved a bill for an amount of $2400.00 dollars regardless of they're "money back gaurantee". I then called and spoke to them and they said they would pull the amount from collections and fix the bill. It has been 5 years and there was no further correspondence with CIE, However Just recently about 3 weeks ago they 1/23/14 they hired a collection agency to collect an additional $380.00 dollars. I called back and spoke to them and they claim that I improperly withdrew from the course and am obligated to pay more, even after 5 years of them not contacting me? I have already given them around $350.00 dollars or so and considered it my loss for trying a program that I have no interest in. Also I completed just 3 of the lessons which supports my lack of interest in the program and how it is operated. I therefore am respectfully requesting that it be known I truley want no further interaction with this business and I respectfully request that they don't continue to try to keep billing unjustified amounts.

Desired Settlement: I therefore am respectfully requesting that it be known I truley want no further interaction with this business and I respectfully request that they don't continue to try to keep billing unjustified amounts.

Business Response:

I am in receipt of a letter you sent ***** ***********, dated January 27, 2015, in regards to a complaint filed by **** ***** of ********, *** ****. 

Our records do show that by telephone on 12/29/2010 Mr. ***** agreed to pay the $332.83 cancellation fee he owed per the terms of his enrollment.  Due to the timeline involved between Mr. *****'s agreement to pay his cancellation fee and when his account was placed with our collection agency, we will expunge Mr. *****'s balance due from our records.  

As of today, **** ***** can consider his account with CIE paid-in-full.

Thank you for your assistance to this matter.

Sincerely,

****

Cleveland Institute of Electronics, Inc.

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1 - Going through the AAS Electronic Engineering Technology program, I found out on a different website that CIE lost there accreditation and didn't bother telling anybody. So when I cancelled, they still insisted on the cancellation fee. I ended up wasting a little over $1500.00. I chose to cancel because a non-accredited degree is worthless. Personally I should be entitled to a full refund since they advertised an accredited degree.2 - A lot of the books are copies from the originals. You can tell they used an OCR program to update the material but did a poor job proof reading. Words running together, the letter "G" substituted for the ohm symbol just to name a few. The lab components (resistors) they send are 1/4 watt, the experiments call for 1/2 watt. One experiment to use a variable inductor, they send the wrong type, you can't even do the experiment correctly.

Desired Settlement: I'm not greedy, but I think some compensation would be appropriate.

Business Response:

CLEVELAND INSTITUTE OF ELECTRONICS
 
September 23, 2014
 
Better Business Bureau
Attn: ******* *****
2800 Euclid Ave, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408
 
Dear *** *****,
 
This letter is in regards to complaint ID number ******** for a *** ***** *******.
 
*** ******* enrolled into our Electronics Engineering Technology degree program (AASEET) on May 31, 2014. Our AASEET program is broken up into 24 week terms. During each term a student is allowed to do as many lessons as they can and only be charged for that term. The minimum requirement for each term is 12 credit hours.
 
Our school was accredited by Distance Education and Training Council when he enrolled. Unfortunately we did lose our accredited status on July 18, 2014. All credits earned with the school are still from an accredited program. Once *** ******* requested to cancel his program we calculated a cancellation fee based on the enrollment agreement he signed which is based on percentage of course lessons completed. ‘When he financed his tuition it states on the enrollment that the time of enrollment equals two terms. If we had followed the enrollment agreement completely we could have charged *** ******* for two terms of tuition since he completed 12.7944 credits and the requirements for two terms is 24 credit hours which is over 50% which would obligate *** ******* for two terms.
 
We did not charge him for the two terms, we only charged him for one term tuition on his cancellation fee which was when We were accredited.
 
I have reviewed the cancellation and am willing to refund the registration fee of $150 that was charged on his cancellation request.
 
If you have any further questions regarding this please feel free to let me know.
 
Sincerely,
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
 
 
 

Business Response:

CLEVELAND INSTITUTE OF ELECTRONICS
 
September 23, 2014
 
Better Business Bureau
Attn: ******* *****
2800 Euclid Ave, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408
 
Dear *** *****,
 
This letter is in regards to complaint ID number ******** for a *** ***** *******.
 
*** ******* enrolled into our Electronics Engineering Technology degree program (AASEET) on May 31, 2014. Our AASEET program is broken up into 24 week terms. During each term a student is allowed to do as many lessons as they can and only be charged for that term. The minimum requirement for each term is 12 credit hours.
 
Our school was accredited by Distance Education and Training Council when he enrolled. Unfortunately we did lose our accredited status on July 18, 2014. All credits earned with the school are still from an accredited program. Once *** ******* requested to cancel his program we calculated a cancellation fee based on the enrollment agreement he signed which is based on percentage of course lessons completed. ‘When he financed his tuition it states on the enrollment that the time of enrollment equals two terms. If we had followed the enrollment agreement completely we could have charged *** ******* for two terms of tuition since he completed 12.7944 credits and the requirements for two terms is 24 credit hours which is over 50% which would obligate *** ******* for two terms.
 
We did not charge him for the two terms, we only charged him for one term tuition on his cancellation fee which was when We were accredited.
 
I have reviewed the cancellation and am willing to refund the registration fee of $150 that was charged on his cancellation request.
 
If you have any further questions regarding this please feel free to let me know.
 
Sincerely,
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
 
 
 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

6/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had signed to continue my education in bachelor in computer science. Unfortunately this CIE education didn't have what I really need also the school doesn't have a reputation at all... On 2011 I was living paycheck to paycheck which means no steady lncome.On 2012 I gived up because and I only took my few test on one of 2 first books... I had paid almost $700 from 2011 to 2012.Later on CIE started sending me collection agency(******** ****** ******* ***) to collect the balance of $3355 that represent those I didn't take. And mess my credit as a delinquent.

Desired Settlement: I want CIE remove all damages that hitting my credit and stop embarrassing me with collection agency. I had paid more than what I really took as online class.Thank you.

Business Response:

***** ***********
May 22 

 
Dear *******,
 
*** ******** signed up for our Bachelor’s in Computer Information Systems in April 2011.  The parameters of the program that he signed up for was for 1 semester with a tuition amount of $2,262.00.  The student is allowed to complete as much material during that year long semester as they can.  It is up to the student as to how much they wish to compelte during that semester.  Additionally a student may request to cancel their enrollment at any point during the semester and would be responsible for a cancellation fee based on percentage of the minimum semester requirements.
 
The school never received any indication from the student that they did not wish to continue with his semester.  Once a student goes over 120 days without payment they are sent to our outside collection agency.  On the student’s enrollment agreement it states that if there account is sent to an outside collection agency they are responsible for any additional fees that may be incurred by the agency.  Additionally *** ******** only paid the school $455.00 as opposed to the $700 that he indicated.
 
The amount at our collection agency is valid and will stand.  If he wishes to make settlement offer of a different amount to the agency he is allowed and we will review it then.
 
Best Regards,
 
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
Cleveland Institute of Electronics
1-800********* ********* ***
*****************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I also would like how many materials cleveland institute of electronics had sent out?

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been paying CIE $75.00/month every month on the first of the month. I opened my bill and found I was being charged late fees every month. I did not pay late. I made numerous phone calls, left voice mails and sent emails to get this straightened up. CIE would not send me the required course materials to finish the classes. I have paid for them and they refuse to send the materials. I have a balance of $400 that they say I now owe them and will not send the materials until I pay. I don't want to pay, because I don't believe them that they will send the materials. I can't complete the courses now anyhow because they have never sent the materials I needed. I have contacted them on several occasions and can not get any resolution.

Desired Settlement: If they aren't going to send the materials I do not want to pay them the $416.00 they say that I owe. I am unable to complete the courses without the materials.

Business Response:

***** ***********
May 22 

 
Dear *******,
 
*** ***** signed up for our Electronics Technology with Digital and Microprocessor Technologies.  When a student misses a payment they are assessed a late fee and if that is not paid they continue to accrue late charges.  There was a missed payment early in the enrollment and late charges were assessed.  However all late charges that were assessed have been removed.
 
The parameters of the enrollment agreement that the student signs state that we send the course materials as the student progresses through the curriculum.  We have sent materials to the student as he progressed through the program.  
 
The student has a balance remaining on his account of $416.00 after reversal of all late charges.  At this point we will cancel the remaining balance on the account.
 
Best Regards,
 
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
Cleveland Institute of Electronics
1-800-******** ********* ***
*****************
 

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled as a student in December of 2006. I first thought this was going to be a good way to learn IT.I decided on this course because it offered computer programming. I have struggled for seven years off and on to finish this course but the poor quality of the course made it difficult at times. I am nearly done now but the lack of instruction and the poor chose of materials to teach the course has made it frustrating. An example is the programming. First was HTML the book choice for this course made it easy to understand. Each lesson progressed to make it understandable. I felt confident in making HTML content. Java was a different story. The book choice was a book from any book store and it was presented as though you knew programming already. The instruction I received was just enough to fill out the lesson and get it done. What help is that? After Java I still am confused about it. C# programming is no better. I tried twice to do the lessons and am still stuck on the same lesson. I just don't understand what it is I am doing wrong. I get the same excuses about the problem. The book is again one you would find in any book store. The course is of inferior quality and the instruction is amateurish.

Desired Settlement: I feel after paying for the course on time and the amount of money I have already spent they can help me pass this course and graduate. I have very little left to do and I don't want to be left angry and disappointed. I paid for an extension and it is soon up I will not pay for another semester. I don't have the money to waste on more excuses and guesses

Business Response:

***** *********** *******************
May 6 

 
Dear *******,
 
Response
 
We will extend *** *******’s semester at no additional cost until October 5, 2014.  He has until then to complete the program with no additional tuition fees.  If he needs instructional help we ask that he contact the Dean of Instruction directly at ********************.
 
Please respond that you received this email Nichole.
 
Best Regards,
 
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
Cleveland Institute of Electronics
1-800-******** ********* ***
*****************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

3/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When requesting IT course, CIE sent electronic engineering instead, called asked for the correct course, was told counselors decided the course for me, tried to get them to send the IT, but was told that was that, i told them to forget the whole thing, now years later, sent my debt to a collector. I am not going to pay for what i did not want.

Desired Settlement: Want them to rein in their horses, they sent me a course i did not want and refused to correct it!

Business Response: Mr. Shumard was correct in that he was signed up for the electronics program at first.  We did switch his curriculum to the Associate in Applied Science Program in Computer Information Technology (AASCIT).  During his enrollment in the AASCIT program he did successfully complete one of our shipments and we sent out 2 sets of courses to him.  He earned 4 quarter credit hours while attending our institution.  The last communication with us was in 2005 when we ordered his next set of materials for him, which was sent on September 29, 2005.  His account was then terminated due to non payment in January of 2006 and sent to our outside collection agency in March of 2006..  We never received a request to cancel the program, and it is not accurate that he did not complete any materials from us.

 
***** ***********
Cleveland Institute of Electronics


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cleveland Institute of Electronics
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)