BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cleveland Institute of Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cleveland Institute of Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cleveland Institute of Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1946 Business started: 01/01/1934 in OH Business incorporated 01/15/1946 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
35 East Gay Street, Suite 403, Suite 403, Columbus OH 43215-3138
http://scr.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: 614-466-2219

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John R. Drinko, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John R. Drinko, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Valvoda, Treasurer
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Correspondence Schools Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities


Additional Locations

  • 1776 E. 17th St.

    Cleveland, OH 44114 (216) 781-9400

  • 1776 East 17th Street

    Cleveland, OH 44114

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When originally enrolled with CIE they were accredited by the DETC which is the reason for enrollment. Since then they have lost accreditation and i'm unable to discontinue with them even though the accreditation is lost and that was part of the original agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like the services to be discontinued and CIE to stop billing me, and threatening to send me to collections.

Business Response: From: **** ******* ******************
Date: Wed, Apr 22, 2015 at 10:06 AM
Subject: Complaint ID: ********
To: ************************* *************************

Good Morning ******

Regarding the above referenced complaint ID, we are cancelling ***** ** ********** account with our school and expunging his balance due, effective today.  Thus, *** ******** will receive no further billing statements and his account will not be placed with our collection agency, as he requested.  (There may still be a billing statement in transit to *** ********, due to his remote location.  If this is the case, it can be disregarded)

Thank you for your assistance to this matter.  Sorry I am a day late with my response.

Sincerely,

****

3/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure of Cleveland institute of Electronics to refund all monies pay by me ($537.28) to their institution. The school failed to notify me that they lost accreditation. I enrolled in their "Electronics Technician" program on July 7, 2014. According to the U.S. Department of Education (The database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs) the school lost their accreditation on July 18, 2014. Cleveland Institution of Electronics withheld their loss of accreditation from me. I found out 7 months latter that they lost their accreditation through the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (I am using the Post 9/11 GI Bill). I contacted the school and requested a refund of all monies paid to them due to failure to notify me of their loss of accreditation. The school refuses to refund any and all monies paid to them.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of all monies paid to the Cleveland Institute of Electronics. Total amount paid to this institution: $537.28

Business Response: From: **** ******* ******************
Date: Tue, Mar 10, 2015 at 9:13 AM
Subject: Complaint ID 10456273
To: ************************* *************************


Good Morning *****,


Regarding the above referenced complaint, we reached a refund agreement with our former student J****** ********.  *** ******** will be issued a refund check today for $387.28 dollars.


If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me.  Thank you.


Regards,


****


Cleveland Institute of Electronics, Inc.
**** ** ******* - Treasurer
1776 E. 17th Street
Cleveland, OH  44114
p 216-781-9400 *** ***    
f  216-781-0331
* ****************
 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********


2/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2010 I found CIE online offering a money back gaurantee for electronics course training. I decided to try it but found I that I didn't like the outdated process of corresponding by mail with hardly any "online"platform or interaction. Therefore after 3 lessons I explained to them I have no interest in using their service. I had already sent them $250.00 dollars by credit card and I believe another check or payment for around 100.00 dollars. Later I recieved a bill for an amount of $2400.00 dollars regardless of they're "money back gaurantee". I then called and spoke to them and they said they would pull the amount from collections and fix the bill. It has been 5 years and there was no further correspondence with CIE, However Just recently about 3 weeks ago they 1/23/14 they hired a collection agency to collect an additional $380.00 dollars. I called back and spoke to them and they claim that I improperly withdrew from the course and am obligated to pay more, even after 5 years of them not contacting me? I have already given them around $350.00 dollars or so and considered it my loss for trying a program that I have no interest in. Also I completed just 3 of the lessons which supports my lack of interest in the program and how it is operated. I therefore am respectfully requesting that it be known I truley want no further interaction with this business and I respectfully request that they don't continue to try to keep billing unjustified amounts.

Desired Settlement: I therefore am respectfully requesting that it be known I truley want no further interaction with this business and I respectfully request that they don't continue to try to keep billing unjustified amounts.

Business Response:

I am in receipt of a letter you sent ***** ***********, dated January 27, 2015, in regards to a complaint filed by **** ***** of ********, *** ****. 

Our records do show that by telephone on 12/29/2010 Mr. ***** agreed to pay the $332.83 cancellation fee he owed per the terms of his enrollment.  Due to the timeline involved between Mr. *****'s agreement to pay his cancellation fee and when his account was placed with our collection agency, we will expunge Mr. *****'s balance due from our records.  

As of today, **** ***** can consider his account with CIE paid-in-full.

Thank you for your assistance to this matter.

Sincerely,

****

Cleveland Institute of Electronics, Inc.

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1 - Going through the AAS Electronic Engineering Technology program, I found out on a different website that CIE lost there accreditation and didn't bother telling anybody. So when I cancelled, they still insisted on the cancellation fee. I ended up wasting a little over $1500.00. I chose to cancel because a non-accredited degree is worthless. Personally I should be entitled to a full refund since they advertised an accredited degree.2 - A lot of the books are copies from the originals. You can tell they used an OCR program to update the material but did a poor job proof reading. Words running together, the letter "G" substituted for the ohm symbol just to name a few. The lab components (resistors) they send are 1/4 watt, the experiments call for 1/2 watt. One experiment to use a variable inductor, they send the wrong type, you can't even do the experiment correctly.

Desired Settlement: I'm not greedy, but I think some compensation would be appropriate.

Business Response:

CLEVELAND INSTITUTE OF ELECTRONICS
 
September 23, 2014
 
Better Business Bureau
Attn: ******* *****
2800 Euclid Ave, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408
 
Dear *** *****,
 
This letter is in regards to complaint ID number ******** for a *** ***** *******.
 
*** ******* enrolled into our Electronics Engineering Technology degree program (AASEET) on May 31, 2014. Our AASEET program is broken up into 24 week terms. During each term a student is allowed to do as many lessons as they can and only be charged for that term. The minimum requirement for each term is 12 credit hours.
 
Our school was accredited by Distance Education and Training Council when he enrolled. Unfortunately we did lose our accredited status on July 18, 2014. All credits earned with the school are still from an accredited program. Once *** ******* requested to cancel his program we calculated a cancellation fee based on the enrollment agreement he signed which is based on percentage of course lessons completed. ‘When he financed his tuition it states on the enrollment that the time of enrollment equals two terms. If we had followed the enrollment agreement completely we could have charged *** ******* for two terms of tuition since he completed 12.7944 credits and the requirements for two terms is 24 credit hours which is over 50% which would obligate *** ******* for two terms.
 
We did not charge him for the two terms, we only charged him for one term tuition on his cancellation fee which was when We were accredited.
 
I have reviewed the cancellation and am willing to refund the registration fee of $150 that was charged on his cancellation request.
 
If you have any further questions regarding this please feel free to let me know.
 
Sincerely,
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
 
 
 

Business Response:

CLEVELAND INSTITUTE OF ELECTRONICS
 
September 23, 2014
 
Better Business Bureau
Attn: ******* *****
2800 Euclid Ave, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408
 
Dear *** *****,
 
This letter is in regards to complaint ID number ******** for a *** ***** *******.
 
*** ******* enrolled into our Electronics Engineering Technology degree program (AASEET) on May 31, 2014. Our AASEET program is broken up into 24 week terms. During each term a student is allowed to do as many lessons as they can and only be charged for that term. The minimum requirement for each term is 12 credit hours.
 
Our school was accredited by Distance Education and Training Council when he enrolled. Unfortunately we did lose our accredited status on July 18, 2014. All credits earned with the school are still from an accredited program. Once *** ******* requested to cancel his program we calculated a cancellation fee based on the enrollment agreement he signed which is based on percentage of course lessons completed. ‘When he financed his tuition it states on the enrollment that the time of enrollment equals two terms. If we had followed the enrollment agreement completely we could have charged *** ******* for two terms of tuition since he completed 12.7944 credits and the requirements for two terms is 24 credit hours which is over 50% which would obligate *** ******* for two terms.
 
We did not charge him for the two terms, we only charged him for one term tuition on his cancellation fee which was when We were accredited.
 
I have reviewed the cancellation and am willing to refund the registration fee of $150 that was charged on his cancellation request.
 
If you have any further questions regarding this please feel free to let me know.
 
Sincerely,
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
 
 
 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

6/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had signed to continue my education in bachelor in computer science. Unfortunately this CIE education didn't have what I really need also the school doesn't have a reputation at all... On 2011 I was living paycheck to paycheck which means no steady lncome.On 2012 I gived up because and I only took my few test on one of 2 first books... I had paid almost $700 from 2011 to 2012.Later on CIE started sending me collection agency(******** ****** ******* ***) to collect the balance of $3355 that represent those I didn't take. And mess my credit as a delinquent.

Desired Settlement: I want CIE remove all damages that hitting my credit and stop embarrassing me with collection agency. I had paid more than what I really took as online class.Thank you.

Business Response:

***** ***********
May 22 

 
Dear *******,
 
*** ******** signed up for our Bachelor’s in Computer Information Systems in April 2011.  The parameters of the program that he signed up for was for 1 semester with a tuition amount of $2,262.00.  The student is allowed to complete as much material during that year long semester as they can.  It is up to the student as to how much they wish to compelte during that semester.  Additionally a student may request to cancel their enrollment at any point during the semester and would be responsible for a cancellation fee based on percentage of the minimum semester requirements.
 
The school never received any indication from the student that they did not wish to continue with his semester.  Once a student goes over 120 days without payment they are sent to our outside collection agency.  On the student’s enrollment agreement it states that if there account is sent to an outside collection agency they are responsible for any additional fees that may be incurred by the agency.  Additionally *** ******** only paid the school $455.00 as opposed to the $700 that he indicated.
 
The amount at our collection agency is valid and will stand.  If he wishes to make settlement offer of a different amount to the agency he is allowed and we will review it then.
 
Best Regards,
 
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
Cleveland Institute of Electronics
1-800********* ********* ***
*****************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I also would like how many materials cleveland institute of electronics had sent out?

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been paying CIE $75.00/month every month on the first of the month. I opened my bill and found I was being charged late fees every month. I did not pay late. I made numerous phone calls, left voice mails and sent emails to get this straightened up. CIE would not send me the required course materials to finish the classes. I have paid for them and they refuse to send the materials. I have a balance of $400 that they say I now owe them and will not send the materials until I pay. I don't want to pay, because I don't believe them that they will send the materials. I can't complete the courses now anyhow because they have never sent the materials I needed. I have contacted them on several occasions and can not get any resolution.

Desired Settlement: If they aren't going to send the materials I do not want to pay them the $416.00 they say that I owe. I am unable to complete the courses without the materials.

Business Response:

***** ***********
May 22 

 
Dear *******,
 
*** ***** signed up for our Electronics Technology with Digital and Microprocessor Technologies.  When a student misses a payment they are assessed a late fee and if that is not paid they continue to accrue late charges.  There was a missed payment early in the enrollment and late charges were assessed.  However all late charges that were assessed have been removed.
 
The parameters of the enrollment agreement that the student signs state that we send the course materials as the student progresses through the curriculum.  We have sent materials to the student as he progressed through the program.  
 
The student has a balance remaining on his account of $416.00 after reversal of all late charges.  At this point we will cancel the remaining balance on the account.
 
Best Regards,
 
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
Cleveland Institute of Electronics
1-800-******** ********* ***
*****************
 

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled as a student in December of 2006. I first thought this was going to be a good way to learn IT.I decided on this course because it offered computer programming. I have struggled for seven years off and on to finish this course but the poor quality of the course made it difficult at times. I am nearly done now but the lack of instruction and the poor chose of materials to teach the course has made it frustrating. An example is the programming. First was HTML the book choice for this course made it easy to understand. Each lesson progressed to make it understandable. I felt confident in making HTML content. Java was a different story. The book choice was a book from any book store and it was presented as though you knew programming already. The instruction I received was just enough to fill out the lesson and get it done. What help is that? After Java I still am confused about it. C# programming is no better. I tried twice to do the lessons and am still stuck on the same lesson. I just don't understand what it is I am doing wrong. I get the same excuses about the problem. The book is again one you would find in any book store. The course is of inferior quality and the instruction is amateurish.

Desired Settlement: I feel after paying for the course on time and the amount of money I have already spent they can help me pass this course and graduate. I have very little left to do and I don't want to be left angry and disappointed. I paid for an extension and it is soon up I will not pay for another semester. I don't have the money to waste on more excuses and guesses

Business Response:

***** *********** *******************
May 6 

 
Dear *******,
 
Response
 
We will extend *** *******’s semester at no additional cost until October 5, 2014.  He has until then to complete the program with no additional tuition fees.  If he needs instructional help we ask that he contact the Dean of Instruction directly at ********************.
 
Please respond that you received this email Nichole.
 
Best Regards,
 
 
***** ***********
VP Administration
Cleveland Institute of Electronics
1-800-******** ********* ***
*****************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *******

 

 

3/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When requesting IT course, CIE sent electronic engineering instead, called asked for the correct course, was told counselors decided the course for me, tried to get them to send the IT, but was told that was that, i told them to forget the whole thing, now years later, sent my debt to a collector. I am not going to pay for what i did not want.

Desired Settlement: Want them to rein in their horses, they sent me a course i did not want and refused to correct it!

Business Response: Mr. Shumard was correct in that he was signed up for the electronics program at first.  We did switch his curriculum to the Associate in Applied Science Program in Computer Information Technology (AASCIT).  During his enrollment in the AASCIT program he did successfully complete one of our shipments and we sent out 2 sets of courses to him.  He earned 4 quarter credit hours while attending our institution.  The last communication with us was in 2005 when we ordered his next set of materials for him, which was sent on September 29, 2005.  His account was then terminated due to non payment in January of 2006 and sent to our outside collection agency in March of 2006..  We never received a request to cancel the program, and it is not accurate that he did not complete any materials from us.

 
***** ***********
Cleveland Institute of Electronics

5/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was previously a student at Cleveland Institute of Electronics and ***** *******. I started with both schools while I was overseas in ******* and the ****** **** ******** back in 2005 to get my Associates in Electronics Engineering and Bachelors in Information Systems. I had to withdraw from the program in 2009 because I was going overseas againthis time to ***********. My reasons were because I needed a reliable internet connection and I wasnt going to have one. I called and spoke to somebody at the school and told them what I had to do. They said no problem. I asked if I was going to continue to accrue tuition charges and I was told that I would not. I was current on my account. The only thing that would happen would be that I would no longer have books or materials shipped to me for my course work. I said okay and I assumed that would be that. I did request and receive written documentation which I have been trying to find but having been back and forth overseas so many times there is no telling where it is now. Fast forward a few years and I start to get collection notices from ******** ****** *******. One bill is for $******** and the other is for $********. After doing some research I found that that ******** ****** ******* is attempting to collect unpaid tuition charges from CIE and ***** *******. The account was first opened in March 2010over a year after I dropped out of the program. I contact the school directly and inquire as to what is going on. After several rebuffs I finally get an account rep that tells me that even though I dropped the program I would still be liable for any payments owed. I then told her that was not what I was told nor would I even agree to such an arrangement and I when I found my documentation I would be more than happy to send it to them. Of course being in collections this is reflecting negatively on my credit report and thus is posing a problem.

Desired Settlement: I simply want CIE/** to acknowledge that I did indeed drop out of the program and it was agreed that I would no longer accrue tuition charges for a program that I was no longer participating in. I also want the negative reporting to the credit bureaus to stop that is being handled by ******** ****** *******. CIE/** should report to ******** ****** ******* that they are attempting to collect an invalid debt. The collection/ deliquency should be taken off my credit report and I require a letter absolving me from further debt from CIE.

Business Response:

*** ****** was indeed a student with both schools during the time frame mentioned.  His account was set up for monthly payments on the tuition accounts.  When *** ***** called, we did not add any additional tuition or anything to his account, but he still had balances remaining on the accounts for the tuition already used.  These are the amounts that are with the collection agency.  If *** ***** wishes to work out a payment arrangement on these we will, but the debts themselves are valid.

 

***** ***********

VP Administration

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and I do not fully agree with the response given. However I would be willing to negotiate some type of arrangement with the business so long as they contact their collections agency to stop collection activities and the credit bureaus to have the negative account permanently removed from all three reports.

Regards,

 

*********** *****

 

 

 

3/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2009 I began an electronics course with Cleveland Institute of Electronics. As stated on this company's website then, this is a pay as you go program and you pay for time used. I had been making payments of $100 per month. In August of 2010, I decided to suspend my studies with CIE for the following reasons: (1) Lack of communication from instructors and lack of receiving materials in a timely manner. (2) Harassment and late charge notices despite the fact that payment was already made. It became obvious that this company was only interested in collecting money but not in providing services and assistance as promised, despite the fact that I sent several letters with complaints to CIE. I received a notice on 2/28/2013 from ******** ****** ******* **** (collection Agency) stating that I owe CIE $2082.39 which I will dispute. I have NO intention of making any further payments to CIE for the following reasons: (1) My last test was submitted in August 2010 and payment was made up to February 2011. I never received any further materials after the first package that allowed me to continue my program even after sending two letters to complain. Therefore, they should refund my payments after August 2010 because they failed to rendered services as promised. (2) All text books were paid for in full and no further services were rendered by CIE on my behalf at that time. .Please be aware that this has been placed on my credit report and if not resolved, I will take legal action against CIE. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: The collection/ deliquency should be taken off my credit report and I require a letter absolving me from further debt from CIE.

Business Response:

*** **** signed up for our AASEET program starting December 10, 2009.  He was enrolled into 2 terms at a cost of $2,828.00.  Our AAS program is based on independent study and the student can progress through as quickly as they can.  We did send additional material to *** **** on April 1, 2010.  The balance remaining on his account is for the first 2 terms of tuition only that he agreed to do.  We are not in receipt of any indication that he did not receive additional materials to continue his program. 

 

***** ***********

VP Administration