BBB Accredited Business since

Ohio Business College

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 934-3101 Fax: (440) 934-3105 View Additional Phone Numbers 5095 Waterford Dr., Sheffield Village, OH 44035 http://www.ohiobusinesscollege.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ohio Business College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ohio Business College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Complaint Information

The following customer experience is not cumulative and reflects complaint activity only for the school's location in Sheffield, Ohio.

For a report on another regional location, you may wish to visit the National BBB website at www.bbb.org.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ohio Business College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1903 Business incorporated 12/01/1969 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio State Board of Career Colleges and Schools
35 East Gay Street, Suite 403, Suite 403, Columbus OH 43215-3138
http://scr.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: 614-466-2752
Fax Number: 614-466-2219

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Rosanne Catella, President Mr. David Gleason, Owner Ms. Jackie Marshall, Corporate Director of Education
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rosanne Catella, President
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Tri-State Educational Systems, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 5095 Waterford Dr.

    Sheffield Village, OH 44035 (440) 934-3101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5202 Timber Commons Dr.

    Sandusky, OH 44870 (888) 627-8345

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ENROLLED FOR ONE SINGLE CLASS AT OHIO BUSINESS COLLEGE IN LATE 2004/2005. UPON ENROLLING I SPECIFIED THAT I WOULD ONLY BE TAKING ONE SINGLE CLASS...AND I STRESSED THIS POINT SEVERAL TIMES WITH THE ADMISSIONS STAFF...SO THEY WERE VERY AWARE OF MY PLANS. THE NUMBER ONE DECIDING FACTOR IN MY ELECTING TO TAKE THIS CLASS AND PAY $2000.00 OUT-OF-POCKET FOR IT...WAS THE FACT THAT I COULD RE-TAKE THE CLASS AS A REFRESHER ANYTIME THE CURRICULUM WAS UPDATED...FOR LIFE! I REPEATEDLY ASKED FOR CONFIRMATION OF THIS FROM THE ADMISSIONS STAFF...AND WAS ASSURED...REPEATEDLY...THAT I COULD RE-TAKE THE CLASS FOR A LIFETIME OF UPDATES. I RECENTLY TRIED CALLING SO I COULD SETUP A TIME TO REFRESH MY CERTIFICATION WITH THE NEW SUBJECT MATTER...AND WAS TOLD THAT I DID NOT QUALIFY FOR REFRESHER COURSES BECAUSE I DID NOT ATTAIN A DEGREE WITH OHIO BUSINESS COLLEGE...WHICH I HAD STRESSED AT THE TIME OF ADMISSION...WAS NEVER MY INTENTION...HOWEVER I WAS EITHER FRAUDULENTLY OR NEGLIGENTLY TOLD I WOULD BE FULLY QUALIFIED FOR THESE "REFRESHER" COURSES FOR LIFE! I AM TERRIBLY DISAPPOINTED AND TROUBLED OVER THIS! I WOULD NEVER HAVE OPTED TO PAY $2000.00 OUT-OF-POCKET IF I HAD BEEN PROPERLY INFORMED ABOUT THE SITUATION...THAT AROSE THROUGH NO FAULT OF MY OWN!

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE OHIO BUSINESS COLLEGE TO HONOR THE AGREEMENT AS IT WAS EXPLAINED TO ME...REPEATEDLY...AT THE TIME OF ADMISSION...AND BEFORE I LAID OUT $2010 DOLLARS ON A FRAUDULENT CLAIM. I AM NOT ASKING FOR RE-CERTIFICATION...JUST FOR "THE SCHOOL" TO ABIDE BY THE POLICY LAID OUT TO ME BY THEIR OWN ADMISSIONS STAFF. OTHER THAN THAT...THE ONLY OTHER REMEDY THAT WOULD BE ACCEPTABLE WOULD BE A 50% REFUND...AND I AM ONLY ASKING 50% DUE TO THE FACT THAT I DID TAKE THE CLASS AND ACHIEVE CERTIFICATION. HOWEVER...I WOULD MUCH PREFER THE CURRICULUM UPDATES FOR LIFE...AS I HAD ORIGINALLY BEEN TOLD I WOULD BE QUALIFIED FOR.

Business Response: From: ****** **** *******************************
Date: Tue, May 26, 2015 at 11:35 AM
Subject: Response to BBB complaint * ********
To: ***** ******* *************************
Cc: ******* ******* *********************************** **** ******* **********************************

Good morning *****, and thank you for returning my call with information on responding to this complaint.  Per your instructions, this email will represent the response in lieu of the online system.  
 
Specifically:  I researched the issue and confirmed that *** *********** spoke with a representative of the Sandusky Campus.  *** *********** is correct that he was told that “refresher” courses are limited to graduates of our college  as that is the current college policy.
 
However, neither I nor our president were here in 2004.  Therefore, I cannot confirm what may or may not have been promised to *** *********** by one of the admissions representatives.  However, we are very interested in keeping our word, and in promoting positive relationships with both current and former students. Therefore, I would like to extend the opportunity to take the refresher course, at no cost, to *** ***********. 
 
So that this can happen, here is information he will need to know:
 
1.        Our A+ course has now been split into two 4-credit-hour courses instead of the 8-credit hour course he took in 2004.  He will need therefore need to register for and take both courses in order to get a complete refresher.

2.       The first A+ course will be offered again in Fall Quarter this year. The second course will be offered in Winter Quarter 2016. *** *********** will need to contact Greg Schultz, Director of Education, at least 6 weeks prior to the start of Fall Quarter to register. Our Fall 2015 Quarter begins September 28, 2015.   

3.       Updated textbooks and/or related materials will be required for these courses. We suggest that *** *********** purchase these items prior to the start of the course(s).  Books may be purchased directly online or with our assistance. Book information, including the ISBN, will be provided on registration.  We will not cover the cost of textbooks/materials as updated references are a normal part of college attendance.  

4.       We also offer our students the opportunity to take both practice and “real” tests on campus for A+ certification.  I do not know if *** *********** does/does not currently hold certification;  if he does not, he will be responsible for the test fees should he choose to take the test.  

5.       *** ******* may be reached at ************ or ********************************.  

 
In closing:  thank you for informing us of this situation, and we are happy to be of service. I hope  this proposal will address *** ***********’s concerns as well as meet with his current professional development needs, and look forward to his re-enrollment. 
 
Please let me know if there is anything else we need to do to reconcile this matter.   
 
****** ** ****
Campus Director
Ohio Business College
5202 Timber Commons Drive
Sandusky, OH  44870
419-********
419-******** *****
*****************************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

   I AM REJECTING THIS RESPONSE ON THE BASIS OF THIS STATEMENT..."Therefore, I would like to extend the opportunity to take the refresher course, at no cost, to *** ***********. " THIS SOUNDS LIKE A ONE-TIME DEAL...CORRECT ME IF I'M WRONG. IF I AM WRONG...PLEASE CONTACT ME AGAIN. 

   HOWEVER THIS STATEMENT SEEMS TO READ TO THE FACT THAT I AM BEING OFFERED "A" REFRESHER COURSE...AND THAT IS INSUFFICIENT. I WAS PROMISED SEVERAL TIMES BY THE ADMISSIONS STAFF THERE THAT I COULD REFRESH MY SKILLS FOR FREE "FOR LIFE"...NOT TAKE A REFRESHER COURSE ONE SINGLE TIME.
   AS STATED THOUGH...IF I AM INCORRECT...PLEASE LET ME KNOW. BUT IF THIS OFFER IS FOR A ONE-TIME CLASS...I MUST REJECT THE OFFER...AND STAND BY MY ORIGINAL REQUEST.

Regards,

****** ***********




 

Consumer Response:   SINCE THERE HAS BEEN SO MUCH TIME ELAPSED SINCE MY ENROLLMENT FOR THIS CLASS AT OHIO BUSINESS COLLEGE THE ONLY SUBSTANTIATION I HAVE LEFT IS MY OWN CLAIM THAT...WHEN I WENT IN TO DISCUSS MY POSSIBLE ENROLLMENT FOR ONE SINGLE CERTIFICATION CLASS...I DIRECTLY, REPEATEDLY, AND PURPOSELY QUESTIONED THE ADMISSIONS STAFF AT THE SCHOOL IF I WOULD QUALIFY FOR THEIR LIFETIME OF REFRESHER CLASSES THAT THEY OFFERED.  I WAS REPEATEDLY ASSURED...BY MORE THAN ONE OF THE STAFF...THAT I WOULD BE QUALIFIED FOR FREE REFRESHER COURSES ANYTIME THE CURRICULUM WAS UPDATED...FOR LIFE. ALL OF MY ENROLLMENT MATERIALS AND PAPERWORK HAVE SINCE BEEN DISPOSED OF...DURING THE ELAPSED TIME OF 10 YEARS SINCE MY INITIAL ENROLLMENT...AS I SAW NO REASON TO RETAIN THEM...AS I WAS SURE "THE SCHOOL" WOULD HAVE MY RECORDS ON FILE IN THEIR OWN SYSTEM.

   
THEIR OWN STAFF'S CLAIMS OF "FREE REFRESHER COURSES FOR LIFE" ARE THE NUMBER ONE REASON I CHOSE TO PAY A TOTAL OF $2010 OUT-OF-POCKET FOR THIS CLASS! THERE WERE OTHER OFFERINGS OF THIS PARTICULAR CLASS AT OTHER INSTITUTIONS...FOR SUBSTANTIALLY LESS...BUT I BASED MY DECISION TO TAKE THIS CLASS AT OHIO BUSINESS COLLEGE ON THE FACT THAT I WOULD HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO UPDATE MY KNOWLEDGE AT ANY POINT...AS NEEDED...ESPECIALLY SINCE THIS WAS A COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY COURSE...AND TECHNOLOGY ADVANCES SO QUICKLY...THAT I FELT THE ADDITIONAL COST WAS OVERRIDDEN BY THE FACT OF THE "LIFETIME REFRESHER" COURSES...AS NO OTHER SCHOOL WAS OFFERING THIS OPTION.
   THEIR OWN STAFF REPEATEDLY ASSURED ME THAT I WOULD HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO TAKE THESE "REFRESHER" COURSES...AND I RECALL MULTIPLE PEOPLE MAKING THOSE CLAIMS AS A "SELLING POINT" FOR ME TO ENROLL. I THOUGHT I HAD MADE A WISE DECISION TOWARDS THE FUTURE OF MY CAREER AND EDUCATION BY HANDING OVER $2010 DOLLARS...THINKING THAT ANYTIME A NEW WINDOWS VERSION WAS RELEASED...I WOULD HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO UPDATE MY SKILLS WITH THE NEW OPERATING SYSTEM.
   MY WHOLE POINT OF EVEN BRINGING THIS CASE TO LIGHT IS THE FACT THAT THEIR OWN STAFF THERE (AT OHIO BUSINESS COLLEGE) EITHER NEGLIGENTLY OR FRAUDULENTLY MADE DIRECT CLAIMS TO ME THAT WERE OBVIOUSLY FOUND TO BE UNTRUE...ACCORDING TO THE STAFF IN PRESENT DAY. I WOULD NOT HAVE ELECTED TO HAVE TAKEN THIS CLASS...FOR SUBSTANTIALLY MORE MONEY...AT THIS SCHOOL...IF IT HAD NOT BEEN FOR THE NEGLIGENT OR FRAUDULENT ASSURANCES OF THEIR OWN ADMISSIONS STAFF.
   IN CLOSING...I BELIEVE THAT OHIO BUSINESS COLLEGE SHOULD BE WILLING TO HONOR THE AGREEMENT AND STATEMENTS MADE BY THEIR OWN STAFF...REGARDLESS OF THE CONDITIONS THEY WERE MADE UNDER. I WOULD LIKE TO NOTE...HOWEVER...THAT AN OFFER WAS MADE THAT I COULD RE-TAKE THIS CLASS FOR FREE...BUT THE OFFER SEEMED TO ELUDE TO THE FACT THAT THIS WAS A ONE-TIME OFFERING...AND THAT IS NOT WHAT I WAS INITIALLY "PROMISED" BY MEMBERS OF THEIR OWN STAFF...SO I TURNED DOWN THIS OFFER. IF THE CURRENT ADMINISTRATION IS WILLING TO STAND BY THE OFFER MADE TO ME AT THE ORIGINAL POINT OF ADMISSION...(OR REFUND A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE MONIES I PAID OUT)...I WOULD BE HAPPY TO RELINQUISH ANY CLAIM(S) AGAINST THEM AND/OR THE INSTITUTION ITSELF.

Business Response: From: ****** **** *******************************
Date: Tue, Jun 2, 2015 at 1:59 PM
Subject: 2nd Response to BBB Complaint * ********
To: ***** ******* *************************
Cc: ******* ******* *********************************** ******* ****** ***********************


Good afternoon *****, and thank you for coordinating the communications so quickly!  
 
As our offer was rejected, we now simply ask that *** *********** provide us with some type of documentation as to the events of 2004.  The documentation will need to indicate that the additional condition of lifetime refreshers was added to his course enrollment.  Otherwise, we have no way of validating a request that is out of compliance with college policy.
 
The original “Enrollment Agreement” he was given would be ideal, but anything else he might have been given by his Admissions Representative is acceptable.  The documentation may be submitted by mail or in person and will of course be returned to him.
 
If the documentation indicates that his course enrollment had the condition of lifetime refreshers attached, we would be happy to honor the same. If it does not, we will continue our original offer of the 2-class series beginning this Fall.  This seems very fair, as the offer is equivalent to repeating the course twice for one tuition charge, which is also equivalent to the disputed amount listed ($1005 of $2010).
 
Thank you again for your continued assistance, and we look forward to resolving the matter as appropriate for both parties.
 
 
****** ** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ohio Business College
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)