BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Aces High Roofing & Construction

Phone: (440) 255-0090 Fax: (440) 357-8962 View Additional Phone Numbers 7448 Lake Shore Blvd, Mentor, OH 44060 http://www.aceshighroofing.com/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aces High Roofing & Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Aces High Roofing & Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 20, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1993 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1993 Business incorporated: 02/28/2005 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Yates, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Yates, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Gutter Cleaning Gutter Leaf Guards Chimney Builders & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Ace Roofing
Business Management

This owner was the owner of the company Ace Roofing & Remodeling.

This company has maintained the same address and telephone number of the previous company.

To access a detailed report regarding this company, call the BBB Anytime Line at 216-241-7678 and enter the telephone number of the company you would like a report on, or check the BBB's website at www.Cleveland.bbb.org.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7448 Lake Shore Blvd

    Mentor, OH 44060 (440) 255-0090 (800) 357-8962 (440) 209-1299

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (440) 209-1299(Phone)
  • (440) 655-9099(Phone)
  • (800) 357-8962(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Aces High Roofing and Construction 04/14/2010 to replace my roof. **** ***** (owner) assured me that the decking on the roof would be thoroughly inspected, and if there were issues with the decking it would cost 75.00 per 4x8 sheet, the decking was found to be in very good condition, no rot or mold present. I have photos of the re roof of my home. The roofing materials used are GAF supposedly some of the best in the industry. My home was built in 1991 I am the only owner of the home. The insulation package was R39 and the home has soffit vents. During an Energy audit 12/09/2013 performed by Dominion East Ohio Black Mold was discovered in the attic space, prior to this incident there was never an issue with ventilation or insulation and certainly no Black Mold. In an effort to identify the cause I initially inspected the soffit vents, and tried to determine if there was ventilation (smoke test). I called **** ***** and asked if he could come out inspect my attic which has a large accumulation of ice and condensation and resulting in mold. Mr. ***** visited my home 01/15/2014 we inspected the attic it was evident that the soffit vents were unobstructed however Mr. ***** was not convinced that the ridge vent was defective he did indicated that he did not a problem replacing it. Mr. ***** said he wanted to call in a insulation and ventilation expert, he called ,North Coast Energy Masters, ****** ******* inspected the attic and prepared a proposal that specified removal and replacement of the insulation. The proposal indicated that ventilation is a significant issue and they would make recommendations for the ridge vent. The total cost would be 5660.00. Not only did North Coast Energy indicate that ventilation was an issue so did two other experts in the business say that the ridge vent was non functioning. I had a conversation with Mr. ******* as to what should come first, replace the ridge vent or remove and replace insulation.. we agreed that the ridge vent should be replaced first .. did not want to create more mold on the fresh insulation. I called **** ***** to let him know what had been agreed upon and to try to schedule the replacement, however the weather was still pretty bad so everything would have to work around the weather. Mr. ***** did not answer, he called me back Screaming and Yelling and cursing why are you calling me. Don't you ever call my (cursing) phone again. When stopped to catch his breath I told him that I would like him to replace the ridge vent as soon as the weather broke. That was it for him he again started his cursing tirade and said he wasn't going to change anything and he did not want to here from me again, if I did not like it sue me. I contacted a local roofer who changed the ridge vent 02/22/2014 cost of 500.00 He indicated that the old ridge vent was not working. After the vent was changed the attic ventilation excellent the temperature in the attic is 4 degrees above the ambient which most experts agree that is very good. The mold has been treated and has not reappeared. The insulation was removed and replaced 03/242014, I also installed wireless temperature and humidity monitors. Mr.***** based on his comments clearly did not have knowledge of the importance of proper ventilation in attic spaces, Ambient was foreign term to him. Black Mold is a Safety and Health issue not discounting the fact that if gone unchecked could result in the need for the total replacement of roof decking and shingles. I truly have concern for Mr. ***** customers who may have Mold issues in their attics

Desired Settlement: I had to spend several thousand dollars correcting a problem that should have at least be handled in civil manner. Mr. ***** assured me that there was a 20 year warranty, thus far all I received from ***** is verbal abuse. I do not want him on my property I am considerig calling the sheriff

Business Response: Business responded to complaint.  See attached.

 
Business response also transcribed below by BBB staff, from a handwritten version sent by fax. 4/15/14.
 
On 1/15/2014 Mr. ***** called during heavy winter weather. I went out immediatly and seen ice all through one section of attic area and found due to improper insulation and blocked soffit vents, was allowing moisture to grow mold on plywood.  This is a very many times on other homes!  Our roof is fine A+at Better Business Bureau and when I went out he tried to tell me it was our ridge vent but it wasn't a ridge vent won't work without proper insulation.  So I went downstairs and called for him owner ****** ******* 40 yrs exp. to check problem He left attached est 5,600. Mr ***** didn't want work done to code which has nothing to do with my roof. I back all warranties at all times.  Mr ***** paid someone to take my vent off and put in same vent.  I refuse to pay anything to Mr. *****.
 
**** *****
 
To fix this roof he needs to do the work North Coast Energy Masters to correct inside. 

Consumer Response: Consumer sent the following email and documentation.

 
Attached are the findings of Mr. *** *****'s North Coast Insulation & Ventilation.  Mr
***** the roofer is going to provide information as to the failure of the roof vent.

Business Response: Business response taken over the phone by BBB staff.  Company is willing to pay half of the cost consumer paid to have another company replace the ridge vent.  He will send a check for $250. 

7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2011, I had a roof tear off and a new roof installed at *** ******* **** ****************. During the job they broke my front window and screen. The owner of the company said to have the window replaced and I would be reimbursed the cost. I have on our final bill, the co-owner had written that the window would be replaced with no cost to the home owner. I called Aces High Roofing and told them the price for the replacement window. The window replacement took over 3 months to get replaced by the window company (wrong window). The window was installed on Nov. 1, 2011 and they lowered the price to $250 from the original price of $260.I handed the receipt to the owner (****) on that same day. In December of 2011, I started to call Aces High Roofing to find out where my check was for the replacement of the window. I was given many different excuses on why the check wasn't issued such as: call me back,the office is closed for the winter(this he told me in February 2012), I will call you back (never did), and several times I left messages on the answering machine to call me back(never did and this was in March and April 2012). In early May I was told I would receive the check soon, It's now June 21, 2012 and still no check.

Desired Settlement: Check for $250.00

Business Response:

Business responded via phone as follows:

**** ***** called from the company. He did mail the refund. He spoke with the consumer and they settled on $200.  

Consumer Response:

Consumer responded via phone as follows:

He received a check from the company and cashed it on Thursday 7/19. He states the complaint is resolved.

7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this company in November 2011 to repair a roof leak..was quoted $900...when I called a couple weeks later to schedule the work I was told the cost would be $1500 because it was worse now. I paid and had the job done. In february, it started leaking in the exact same spot...I called them and they came over a week later and allegedly resolved the problem. In March...same leak in the same spot...paid $1400 and was told I would NEVER have the same problem again. May 1...water pouring in through the bedroom ceiling in the exact same spot...talked to the owner ( ****, I believe) and explained my frustration...told him I would file a complaint if it was not resolved...he blew up and called me many names, said he was coming over to kick my *** and would make for sorry for ever talking to him....I was pretty worried as I am older so I called the sheriffs dept to make a report of thr threat...I'm sure I'll have to pay someone yet a third time to repair this....does anyone know an honest roofer???

Desired Settlement: I just want the leak fixed, but after all the threats, I am scared to have them on my property...?????

Business Response: The company responded by phone - The consumer called them about the leak. Their work is warranted. The consumer became belligerent on the phone. The owner said he was going to come out to address the leak. The consumer got into an argument with the company. The company got a call from sheriff's department saying the consumer files reports all the time. The consumer said he's scared of having the company come out. They want to come out and honor the warranty but the consumer is not being cooperative. The leaks may not even be caused fromt their work. Company can come out as early as today - they want to resolve this consumer's issues.

Consumer Response:

Attn: ****** 

I just wanted to advise you that I have not received any settlement from Aces High Roofing, as expected. I just wanted to let you know so you can update your records. I really didn't think they would honor it anyways.

**** *****
************

Consumer Response: Subject: RE: Aces High Roofing Complaint
Date: Wed, 25 Jul 2012 09:50:36 -0400

I just got back from Indiana last nite,,,,low and behold there was a check in the mailbox !! Miracles never cease !! THANK YOU for your help ! And by the way, the envelope was post marked on the 17th...so he was lying to you. Thank you again...you're the best !!!

**** *****

12/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable