BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sellers Realty, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sellers Realty, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sellers Realty, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 21, 2013 Business started: 10/21/2001 in OH Business incorporated: 04/11/2002 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Real Estate
77 South High Street, 20th Floor, Columbus OH 43215-6133
http://www.com.ohio.gov/real
Phone Number: 614-466-4100
Fax Number: 614-644-0584
WebReal@com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Lawrence Greene , Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carol Catalano, Owner
Principal: Lawrence Greene , Owner
Business Category

Real Estate Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Seller's Property Management Diviison

Additional Locations

  • 815 Superior Ave E Ste 2012

    Cleveland, OH 44114 (216) 298-4150

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into a property managed by Sellers Property Management on 2/1/2014. From the beginning the contract(lease) has not be upheld. Before moving into the home the day before we were allowed keys where we found that the hot water was not working, the furnance was not working and there were leaks due to pipes bursting. We emailed management and called management to make them aware of the problems of the residence. They sent people to repair the problem yet not properly. the furnance is currently duct taped the leak in the ceiling continued for 2 weeks and there is a constant leak in the basement and clogged pipes. The bathroom was glazed prior to us moving in and the glazing started to unpeal. The frame of the house is sagging which also could cause harm if not fixed as we don't know if the frame will collaspe, amonst numerous other health violations. A week before moving I contact ******* ***** to let her know that utilities could not be switched into our name due to an unpaid bill to CPP. She responded they would get on it and never did. ON 3/3/2014 I spoke to ******** ****** he states lights were not switched over I advised him of the conversation with ******* the month prior. The bill was paid that day and a block was place on our power (come to find out 3/7/14) our power was disrupted due to them blocking the electric and we were without power, heat, and our food spoiled for an entire 24hours. They blamed me for the issue with the electric was was clearly not my fault as I switched the utilites in my name on 3/4/2014. Instead of letting us transition into the home they have made my home unliveable, and uncomfortable, all after a letter being sent stating we needed repairs and until repairs are complete we will be taking rent to escrow.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be reimbursed for food that went bad in our refridgerator of $100.00 and hotel lodging for one night of $100.

Business Response: We thank you for notifying us of this tenant compliant. What this tenant mentioned in regards to maintenance is true and we will live up to that.  This property is not owned by Sellers Realty and we are just the management company that oversees the property. Before the tenant ****** took occupancy this property was vacant for a very long time. The owner purchased this property in early 2013 and it wasn't lived in for a while before then. It was a total rehab. Due to the horrible weather Cleveland experienced this year, it caused internal damage to the property we were not aware of until ****** and her boyfriend ***** took possession. Once they moved in there were several unforeseen maintenance issues that occurred. We immediately contacted the owner and the owner personally sent out contractors of their choice. We give our clients (property owners) a choice of using us for maintenance or using their own maintenance men. In this case the owner used their own maintenance guys. We called ****** everyday to ensure work was being done and that we are not slum lords and that we will address her issues. Regarding her letter of repairs we have not received it till this day. 

 
As far as the light company goes, the lights were in the owners name. The owner called and had the lights taken out of their name since the property was occupied by ****** and *****. ****** did try to switch the lights when she 1st moved in but couldn't due the fact the Owner had an outstanding bill. The owner paid the bill and notified us (Sellers) that it was taken care of. I (********) notified the tenant the same day the owner made us aware that she can switch the lights into her name. Four days later ****** calls my phone upset because she has no power. The power company turned her lights off which they should not have if she gotten them switched into her name the day we spoke (which she claims she did). Sellers Property Management is not a signer on the account for the light company and we cannot authorize to have them tuned off. So if anything I personally believe that ****** should complain to Cleveland Public Power for turning her lights off after she switched them into her name. We (Sellers) wouldn't be responsible for Cleveland Public Power turning her lights off after she was notified to have them switched into her name.  We have worked with ****** on getting all her request met regarding maintenance. We manager over 200 properties and keep a good track record with getting repairs made on time. We do understand her frustration and would like to get her maintenance request met. 
 
Thank You,
 
Sellers Property Management
******** ******, Manager 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1