BBB Accredited Business since

Fodor Realty

Phone: (216) 631-0116 Fax: (216) 631-8541 3308 Lorain Ave., Cleveland, OH 44113

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fodor Realty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fodor Realty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fodor Realty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1927 Business started: 01/01/1916 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Real Estate
77 South High Street, 20th Floor, Columbus OH 43215-6133
Phone Number: 614-466-4100
Fax Number: 614-644-0584

Ohio Department of Insurance
50 W. Town Street; Third Floor - Suite 300, Columbus OH 43215
Phone Number: 614-644-2658
Fax Number: 614-644-3743

Business Management
Mr. Louis Fodor, President Ms. Elsie Lowery, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Louis Fodor, President
Business Category

Real Estate Property Management Apartment Finding & Rental Service Apartments

Additional Locations

  • 3308 Lorain Ave.

    Cleveland, OH 44113 (216) 631-0116


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When looking for an apartment in august 2014, we wanted a short term lease of 6 months do to myself enterin the navy in Virgina. *** which is apartment manager told us there is no 6 month leases they are all 12 month nothing less. he talked us into apartment which is 1 bed. for $598.00 with full deposit. in advertisment it was org. 545.oo so right there they where lying. i needed a place close to home so my friend & i took place. I later referred my uncle who is currently in marines to this place & when he called fodor house. ***** office manager told him yes we have 6 month leases. so i called to confront her about 6 mo term & she agreed there was & not sure why *** apt. manager told us that from this point i have been trying to contact mark/manager of all apartments at fodor house company & he refuses to call back & tells ***** to tell us there is nothing to talk about he is not letting us off the 12 mo lease to 6 mo lease thats all we asked for. I currently lost my job. moved back home & notified them of this through via fax & my roommate is still residing there however my cousin ***** who co-signed for us & IS ALSO IN NAVY in virgina just completed his 4 yr term. is still stuck in this 12 mo lease. this place lied to us & false advertisement. please help us so they do not do this to anyone else. i dont even live there my roommate does i want my name & cousins who co-signed off this lease immediately. we stayed our term please remove us..

Desired Settlement: since i k now longer reside there take me & my cousin who co-signed off lease. we are in navy base or end this lease to 6mo like it should have been...not 12mo they lied to us to trap young adults for payment...

Business Response:

January 13, 2015

***** *******
Dispute Resolution Specialist Better Business Bureau
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2408

RE: Complaint ID 1036215
******** ******

Dear Miss *******:

On August 15, 2014 we received an application for ******* ****** and ******** ******. It was determined that in order for them to rent the suite they needed a co signor/guarantor. Subsequently all parties singed a one year lease which included a free month's rent. In
addition ******** ****** requested an accommodation of a housing policy in order to have a dog (August 18, 2014). After allowing the accommodation she decided she didn't want a dog and wanted a cat instead and signed a cat addendum on September 1, 2014. On
November 10, 2014 she called and informed us she was getting rid of the cat and now had a dog. On November 25 we sent notice that we had received numerous complaints about the dog barking and they had not cleaned up the dog's excrement's on the exterior of the property.

On December 17, 2014 ******* ****** called the office and informed us that ******** ****** was moving from the premises because she lost her job.
******** ****** has called this office numerous times trying to relieve herself of the responsibility of the lease. On each and every occasion she has been informed that this will not happen and she, ******* ******, and **** **** will be responsible under the lease until its expiration August 1, 2015.

Also note that market conditions often dictate what and when we provide different incentives for prospective tenants. At the time the above referenced signed the lease the incentive
available was a month's free rent for a one year lease, which they acknowledged by signing the lease agreement. Also the suite is still occupied by one of the tenants on the lease.

Very Truly yours,

**** ******

Vice President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


******** ******

From: ******** ****** <**********>
Date: Fri, Jan 16, 2015 at 10:38 AM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB serving Greater Cleveland regarding complaint #********.
To: "" <>

Good Morning,

This is irrelevant about cat /dog. What we are trying to resolve is both girls where lied to regarding a 6 month lease which they wanted & the company advertises & promotes these 6mo. leases. Our family member spoke with ***** office manger in regards to renting same location where the girls reside & she recommended to him,also a 6mo. term there. ***, resident manager, told both girls there is no such thing as a 6mo. lease & they have to do 12mo. if they wanted the apartment, both girls are young, they where lied to, & deceived from him & yes ****** moved out due to losing her job & other issues between girls. ****** is still paying her half, 300, each month and she has 6 mo left. ****** resides there & pays her portion. So with this all being said, our resolution is since lied to & 6 mo term does apply, we want fairness which would be to remove ****** from lease since its been 6mo. & she is paid up to date & no longer resides there. Let ****** stay since she wants to & Foder company can redo lease with ****** on it. Or just drop lease to 6mo. Which it should have been in the beginning. if *** and management wouldn't have lied & mislead both young girls. The question you need to ask ***** yourself s is if they have 6mo. leases, its a yes or no question & this should resolve what has taken place. This month is January & its 6mo. already. Please look into this with all fairness so no one else gets stuck.


Business Response:

January 29, 2015 

***** *******

Dispute Resolution Specialist

Better Business Bureau

2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor

Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2408 

RE: Complaint ID ******** ******** ****** Dear Miss *******:

We are in receipt of your letter dated January 22, 2015. We have nothing to add.

Very truly yours, 

**** ******

Vice resident 

Tel: (216) 631-0116 
Fax: (216) 631-8541