BBB Accredited Business since

The Lawrence Community Management Group, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 937-2800 Fax: (440) 937-2808 View Additional Phone Numbers 1507 Lear Industrial Pkwy Ste 1, Avon, OH 44011

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Lawrence Community Management Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Lawrence Community Management Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2006 Business started: 03/01/1997 in OH Business incorporated 03/04/1997 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Real Estate
77 South High Street, 20th Floor, Columbus OH 43215-6133
Phone Number: 614-466-4100
Fax Number: 614-644-0584

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mac Lawrence, President Mr. Trevor Lawrence, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mac Lawrence, President
Business Category

Property Management Association Management

Alternate Business Names
Lawrence Management Group

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Lawrence Community Management Group, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1507 Lear Industrial Pkwy Ste 1

    Avon, OH 44011

  • PO Box 360

    Avon, OH 44011 (440) 937-2800


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over the past year (although from what residents tell me... this has gone on for the past several years), I have called and written letters to Lawrence Community Management to inform them of a significant leak in a drain pipe in the roof of my condo complex (**** ******* *** ****)... specifically around my unit. Each time it rains, water (as much as at least a gallon of water) falls through the ceiling and onto the floor across from my unit and adjacent units. Each time this happens I have called to report the incident. Other residents (most residents are quite elderly) have told me they also have complained about the water. To date... Lawrence community management will clean the drain (however this has never solved the problem). Water continues to leak from the drain and into the ceiling (which is now sagging seriously). I am concerned about mold in the ceiling as well as collapse and water damage to my unit and adjacent units. To date, my complaints, verbally, or in writing have been ignored. Only the minimum is done (drain cleaned). But this has not solved the issue of continued water flowing through the ceiling.

Desired Settlement: For my sake, and the sake of my elderly neighbors, this needs to be fixed properly to avoid damage to any of the units. Further, the ceiling may have mold from all the water. At the least, the ceiling is caving in! Thank you for any kind help you are able to offer!

Business Response: This complaint deals with a maintenance issue at the **** ***** ***** Condominium. The condominium is governed by the recorded Declaration and Bylaws and Ohio ORC 5311. All major projects and expenditures are approved and authorized by the Condominium's Board of Directors. As the Management Company, our job is to implement the Board's approved plans and monitor policy. We also deal with maintenance issues such as that in the complaint. As you will see from the attached information and response page prepared by the Association's Manager, *** Marianne H****, and the Association's roofing contractor, *********t, the problem is not what the complainant reports it to be and the issue is and has been addressed. The final solution of a new roof and drain system will take the Board's ultimate approval when funds are available. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this DOES and DOES NOT resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First off...I wish to thank the BBB for their help in this matter.  If it were not for your help...even the information given by Lawrence Community would remain a mystery to me and to others that I have spoken with on my floor.  So thanks to the BBB first and foremost!
Secondly, while I accept the general reply from Lawrence Community Mgt in terms of work TO BE DONE at a later date for the general benefit to all as described, I find it, still, incredible that no phone calls I made were ever returned, no letters were replied to UNTIL I contacted the BBB.  REGARDLESS, it was still raining with REGULARITY in the third floor hallway.  There is water damage to the ceiling tiles even on the 2nd floor.  The report from "a third floor resident" that this water leak would only happen once a year is absolutely untrue.  Calls were made repeatedly by me and others MANY times over the past two years.  And as for the water which ceased to come through the ceiling....this was made possible because I went onto the roof and placed the sandbags over the drain in an effort to prevent further damage to the hallways...or any of the units.  This was something I did last year...and still asked for some reply.  The bags were removed...and it began to rain in the halls again.  The whole process began again and again.  I was promised again and again that something would be done.  Finally, even after a letter...I contacted the BBB.  Only now have I received any clarity on this issue.  I appreciate the clarity by Lawrence Community...but why could this not have happened sooner?
I accept what Lawrence Community Mgt said provided that this problem is SOON resolved in a more permanent matter.  Having, myself, cared for a large business I understand how funds are allocated and used.  But sometimes there are more pressing needs and issues that come up.  This (leaking roof) was a very pressing issue and concern.  I trust the future...there will be prompt response and transparency to calls and issues that arise. sincere thanks to the BBB for looking into this.  And my thanks to Lawrence Community for providing clarity and answers to this issue.

***** ****


Business Response: From: *** ******** **********************************
Date: Wed, Oct 14, 2015 at 2:23 PM
Subject: RE: Cleveland BBB *** ***** **** ********* ** ********
To: *** ******** ************************ **** **** ******************************
Cc: ******** ***** ******************************** ***** ******* ************************** ******* ***** ******************************** ********* ***** *******************************

***** *** –
I have reviewed our email files, regular files and all staff who handle incoming calls and we have absolutely nothing written in our files from *** **** other than a garage door opener code request from early in 2013 which was right after he moved in to the condominium building.  If he submitted correspondence we would appreciate a copy of it.
It is possible he called but I am personally not aware of any calls and our staff doesn’t remember anything specific.  I don’t have phone call records going back more than a few weeks so it is not possible to search back to early this year.  I did run a search of our Work Order system and do not see any work orders referencing *** **** or his unit number ***.
I believe we did send you the roofers comments regarding his service calls regarding the roof drain that seems to be the focal point of the complaint.
Again, until the Condominium Association’s board of Directors approves a new roof or roof drain system, all we are able to do is to continue to monitor and clean the roof top drain covers to prevent pond buildup on the roof as part of the preventative maintenance program at the building.  Unfortunately, the roof design was not the best and we are living with the builder’s design issues.
Please advise if we can provide any additional information.
Thanks.  Mac
Ian ("Mac") L*******
Lawrence Management Group
1507 Lear Industrial Pkwy. Suite 1
Avon, OH 44011
440-937-2808 fax

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the owner of **** ********* ****** **** *** ** ********* ****. Lawrence Management (pertinent employees in this complaint are ****** ******** and **** ****) is the condominium association. I use ***** (pertinent employees in this complaint are *******, ***** and ******* ******) to rent the unit to ***** ****. My insurance carrier is ******** (claims adjuster *** **********). On 9/7/14, the air conditioner in **** *** (owned by ******* ******, a real estate agent at ****** *****) leaked into my unit and caused damage to ***** ****’s belongings and the tile in the second bedroom. This issue is still unresolved due to the resistance and negligence of both Lawrence Management and ******* ****** and Lawrence Management’s staunch refusal to mediate or enforce the bylaws and pay for the damage for which its insurance states it is liable. On 9/8/14, ******* ****** emailed me about the work order that was created for this incident and asked if ***** should send someone out to investigate. I responded that Lawrence Management should send someone out to investigate. **** **** responded that ******* ****** told the tenant to turn off the air conditioner unit in **** *** and that he would go there and look at it to see if he could fix it. ******* ****** called later that day and stated that it was dry under his HVAC unit and that he gained entry into **** *** via ***** ****’s mother and that he did not see any water. **** **** then stated to ***** that they should send someone out to look at my HVAC unit. I responded that it could not be coming from my unit if the water was coming from the ceiling. **** **** stated that the ceiling was dry when ******* ****** was in the unit. ***** then emailed ***** **** and stated that someone came to investigate and there was no obvious sign of liquid. ***** **** responded that there was no liquid because she cleaned it up and then disclosed that there was still evidence of the leak in the form of separating tiles and pieces of a box that were stuck to the ground. On 9/9/14, ******* ****** forwarded me ***** ****’s response and asked if I wanted Lawrence Management contacted with this information. I responded yes because I had the HVAC unit serviced and the pipe cleared in October 2013 and ***** **** said the leak came from the ceiling, so it either came from **** *** or unit 314’s HVAC unit. On 9/15/14, ******* ****** emailed **** **** pictures of the damage and stated that I wanted someone from Lawrence Management to look at it. **** **** stated they can send someone from ******* ******** to look at it. ***** ****’s mother could provide access. On 10/20/14, I received a work order that tile came up from a leak in the bathroom and I responded to have someone from Lawrence Management investigate it. On 10/21/14, ******* ****** contacted **** **** about the leak and she stated that it is my responsibility to repair the damage. ******* ****** asked if I wanted ***** to send someone out since Lawrence Management had been unhelpful with repairing the damage done to my unit. I responded that if the leak came from the ceiling, it is not my responsibility and they should send someone out and to not expect prompt service from Lawrence Management. ******* emailed **** **** and stated that the leak came from the ceiling and the owner of **** *** (******* ******) needed to be contacted so access can be obtained. **** **** stated that they will send a plumber out to investigate. **** **** clarified on 10/22/14 that this was not a new problem, rather a follow-up to the previous problem (***** **** said bedroom not bathroom on the voicemail that reported the damage) and that it is my responsibility and I should file an insurance claim. I asked if the source of the leak was ever found (at the time, it was 5 weeks after the report of the leak and Lawrence Management had not told me what caused the damage to my property). It was confirmed that **** ***’s AC line became disconnected and caused the damage. I asked how this is my responsibility. ****** ******** responded that it’s my responsibility to fix the tile in my unit and that I can file an insurance claim, or if I feel ******* ****** was negligent, to contact him. I responded that the bylaws, along with the newsletters posted in the hallway and the letters sent to the unit owners, state that we (the unit owners) are responsible for not having the units leaking and we (the unit owners) are responsible for the damage leaks cause (to our unit or other units). I told ****** ******** to contact ******* ****** because it’s the association’s job to do so and because every encounter I’ve had with ******* ****** has been unpleasant and he never accepts responsibility. On 11/9/14, I emailed ****** ******** to follow up with this issue because I had not gotten any correspondence over this matter. I asked ****** ******** what the association’s duties are if it’s not to mediate/manage the property. I also asked ****** ******** to explain his curious logic of how someone damaging my property is my fault. I also reminded him of the bylaws, which state, “"VII ROUTINE MAINTENANCE/INTERIOR REPAIRS 1. AIR CONDITIONERS ...Before turning the air conditioner on, check the condensation pan and drain hose to ascertain clearance of the water. You are responsible for all water damage to other units." ****** ******** responded on the next day, “This matter is between you and him [******* ******] as the leak from his unit damaged your property, not the association’s [property]” On 11/1/14, I wrote to ***** to contact ******* ****** and stated that there were spare tiles in the laundry room. I emailed ***** on the 15th and asked if ******* ****** had been contacted. Two days later, ******* responded that they cannot tell another unit owner that he is responsible for fixing something but they can send someone out. Later that day, I called ******* ****** who talked over me, stated he’s not responsible, and that my unit caused the leak coming from the ceiling (?). ******* ****** said he was going to call ****** ******** the next day. On 11/19/14, I emailed ****** ******** and asked if ******* ****** had called him and he replied he had not. I emailed ******* ****** (and copied ****** ******** and *****) and wrote that ****** ******** stated that ******* ****** did not call him and to contact the management company (*****) to schedule something. ******* ****** responded that he called ****** ******** and it’s not his problem and not to contact him again. I responded that Lawrence Management stated that it is his responsibility and I wanted to settle this like adults. On 11/20/14, ****** ******** stated that ******* ****** called him the previous day (although he had written that he had not). He talked to him and suggested that I send a contractor to take pictures of the damage and that ******* ****** will decide what he wants to do. I asked why I am getting such resistance and attitude about this issue and to provide statutes, case law, and bylaws which allow one owner to damage another owner’s property without repercussions. I then threatened to file complaints with regulatory boards if this issue was not resolved quickly. ****** ******** responded that the issue is between ******* ****** and me and suggested I contact legal counsel if I feel he’s not doing his job. On 12/2/14, the contractor came and took pictures of the damage and gave an estimate to replace the entire floor so that it would be waterproof, for an estimated cost of $570. I filed a claim with ******** the next day. On 12/9/14, *** ********** responded that it’s actually the association’s responsibility to fix since its insurance policy specifically states that damage to tile floors is covered under its policy. Its policy does not specify that the coverage of the tile floors is only tile floors of the communal area (an oversight which ****** ******** ignores), so its insurance should cover the damage done to my tiles. I sent the response to ****** ******** with *** **********’s information and instructions to contact him with any questions or concerns. ****** ******** responded the next day that his insurance policy’s deductible is $5,000 and to pass this along to the adjuster. I reminded him to contact *** ********** himself and that I tried to resolve this without getting insurance involved and I was left with no choice but to do so. ****** ******** spoke to *** ********** the next day and was going to send him the information that states I am underinsured and, that since the cost of the repairs is below its deductible amount, Lawrence Management is not responsible. On the 19th, *** ********** responded to ****** ********, “Thank you for getting this over to me. I have looked over the information that you submitted below and I do not see any verbiage that states damage below the condo association deductible is the responsibility of the unit owner. Damage being below deductible would not make this an uninsured or underinsured situation (or insufficient insurance), it is just a cost that would be out of pocket for the association as it is their responsibility to insure the affected area, but the insurance company would not issue payment for the damage due to being below the deductible. The deductible would be the portion of the repair cost for which the association would be responsible. The information noted below would apply to a situation where, for example, a loss causes damage and the repair costs exceed the amount of the policy limitations (i.e. if the damage repair cost is $10,000.00 but the policy limit for coverage is $8,000.00). That would be an underinsured situation as the policy coverage is less than the repair cost, but the issue we have here where the damage is below the policy deductible would not be an underinsured or uninsured situation.” On 12/22/14, ****** ******** wrote in an email to *** ********** that he spoke to his attorney and his attorney supported ****** ********’s stance. I emailed ****** ******** and stated that I was withholding my maintenance fees because Lawrence Management is being derelict in its duties and that ******** has stated twice that Lawrence Management is responsible for the damage. I followed up with *** ********** on 1/7/15 about the situation and he wrote, “The association [Lawrence Management] maintains that because this loss is below their deductible that it needs to be taken care of by the ******** policy; however, nowhere in the bylaws does it state that this is the case. I am sorry that I cannot assist further here, but being that the bylaws indicate the damage is the responsibility of the association, we cannot extend coverage for the loss.” *** ********** emailed ****** ******** his findings on the following day. On 2/4/15, *** ********** confirmed that ****** ******** has not responded to his email. So, to summarize, the bylaws state that the unit owner whose unit causes damage to another unit is responsible for that damage. The association’s insurance states that the association is responsible for the damage. Although the association’s insurance mentions underinsurance, it is not mentioned anywhere in the bylaws, thus how were we (unit owners and their respective insurances) supposed to know that we are underinsured and thus adjust our policies accordingly. Also, ****** ******** has failed to support the logic (such as deductible being defined in Lawrence Management’s insurance policy as anything other than the standard definition) that if something is below the deductible amount, that it does not get paid. It makes absolutely no sense; it just means that it is purely an out of pocket expense. ****** ********’s staunch refusal to respond to ******** shows that he knows he is on shaky ground and shows completely unprofessional etiquette. I was not told what damaged my unit for over a month. I was then told to contact the other unit owner, which I did. Then I was told to file an insurance claim which I did. The insurance company stated three times that it is Lawrence Management’s responsibility and Lawrence Management’s response is to simply ignore the problem because the result was not what it wanted. Both ***** and ******** have expressed, in writing and verbally, that they are surprised by the uncooperative nature of ****** ******** and, by extension, Lawrence Management, and I agree whole-heartedly. I would also like to add that this experience is just the latest example of my dealings with them and their procrastination and uncooperativeness. It is unethical for a condominium association to not enforce bylaws and mediate arguments. It is unethical for a condominium association to not disclose pertinent information in the bylaws and then to suggest that I somehow should have known about the information. It is unethical for any company to ignore what its insurance states and to try to pass the blame for its oversight on others. If ****** ******** had simply enforced the bylaws and told ******* ****** to pay for the damage he caused, it would have never been discovered that Lawrence Management is responsible. So either ******* ****** or Lawrence Management should pay for the damage and its repairs. If they refuse, then the cost of the repairs should be deducted from my outstanding maintenance fee balance. Either way, the cost of this should not be an extra burden on me. I am not responsible for the damage. If I have to additionally pay for the damage, I think it sets a dangerous precedent that someone can damage another person’s property and not be responsible for paying for the damage. I have copies of all of these emails and will gladly submit them if necessary. All of my correspondence about this matter with ****** ********, Lawrence Management and **** **** has been through emails.

Desired Settlement: Either ******* ****** or Lawrence Management should pay for the damage and its repairs. If they refuse, then the cost of the repairs should be deducted from my outstanding maintenance fee balance. Either way, the cost of this should not be an extra burden on me. I am not responsible for the damage. If I have to additionally pay for the damage, I think it sets a dangerous precedent that someone can damage another person’s property and not be responsible for paying for the damage.

Business Response: Before responding to Mr. *****'s complaint, I would like to clarify that Lawrence Management is the professional property management company hired by the ********* ** Condominium Association Board of Directors to serve as business agent and property manager for the association. *** ***** owns one of 51 condominium units in the association, and he is subject to the Declaration & By-Laws of the condo association. This is not an apartment, and it is the responsibility of each owner to maintain the interior of their condo unit. Any repairs to the common elements are the responsibility of the condo association and are paid by the association and not Lawrence Management. In Mr. *****'s case, he had water damage from an air conditioner leak. We (Lawrence Management) sent the association's plumber, ***** ********, out to the property to determine the cause, and they determined that the leak was due to a problem with the **** *** ac unit. ***** ******** fixed the problem and billed the association. We then billed Mr. ******, owner of ***, since he is responsible for maintaining his own ac unit. Mr. ***** reported damage to his floor in his unit from the leak, and I explained in my 10/22/14 email to him that the floor was his responsibility to fix. He could turn the damage in to his insurance company or repair it himself. He could also contact Mr. ****** if he felt that there was negligence and that Mr. ****** should pay for his bills. Mr. ***** did end up filing an insurance claim, and I got involved with his adjuster, *** ********** from ********, to try to help get Mr. *****'s claim paid. Unfortunately, Mr. ********** denied Mr. *****'s claim based on his incorrect interpretation of the condominium association's governing documents. I tried to explain that the association's insurance company would only be involved in a claim on the condo property if the damage was more than its $5,000 deductible, and Mr. *****'s damage was less than this amount. I have attached several emails documenting what I have written here. Neither Lawrence Management nor the ********* ** Condominium Association has acted negligently in this matter. If it was the association's responsibility to repair, I would have taken care of this for Mr. *****. If Mr. ***** questions my interpretation of the association's Declaration and By-Laws, I would recommend that he consult legal counsel. Should you have any questions for me, please feel free to call or email me. Sincerely, ****** ********

Business Response: I am responding to your request for additional information on the highlighted items: Each owner owns his or her own ac unit that is part of the condo unit. If an owner sold the condo home, he or she could take the ac unit with them if they wanted, but the new buyer would then have to replace it. Each owner is responsible for maintaining their air conditioner. There is a common condensation drain line that runs down from the 3rd floor to the 1st floor that the 3 units share. When we get a leak call from an ac area, we do not know if it is from an ac unit itself or if it is acommon line problem. We dispatch the association's plumber to determine that. If the problem is the common condensation drain line, the association pays the bill. If the problem is with an owner's ac unit, we then bill that person back for the cost of the plumber. Please let me know if there are any other questions. Thanks, ****** ********

Business Response: When there is damage from one neighbor's unit to another, it is between the two neighbors to resolve the problem. We do try to encourage the owners to get together to work things out, and I did speak to Mr. ****** to let him know what happened. Unfortunately, Mr. ***** and Mr. ****** do not get along and could not work anything out. From a legal standpoint, Mr. ***** has the damaged property and has a right to file an insurance claim on his homeowners policy, which he did. His damage should have been covered by ******** less his deductible. They decided to deny his claim based on their incorrect interpretation of the association's governing documents. Mr. ***** and his insurance company also have the right to pursue a claim against Mr. ****** if they feel that he was negligent and caused damage to Mr. *****'s unit. Please let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks, ******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I contacted ******** and stated Lawrence Management’s stance about the insurance policy. *** ********** responded, “I have not heard anything from the condo association since I sent them the letter with our findings and they have not provided any documentation to indicate they are not responsible for the damage.  I apologize that this is such a hassle as that is definitely not our intention, but again, because the bylaws indicate the condo association is responsible for the damage ******** is not able to issue payment for the loss.  As far as subrogation goes, we are not able to pursue any responsible parties unless we have made a payment for the loss and we are not able to make a payment until coverage is determined.  In this case, with the association being responsible for the damage, we are not able to issue a payment and as such also not able to pursue subrogation.  Again I apologize that this is such a hassle but unfortunately there is nothing further with which we can assist here.” Lawrence Management has ignored ********’s letter for almost 2 months. Lawrence Management has to provide documentation to ******** supporting its stance beyond an email stating that its lawyer agrees with Lawrence Management and the definition of underinsurance. ******** deals with all types of insurance and situations. If ******** states that the documentation is insufficient, it’s insufficient. Lawrence Management’s stance of not paying for it because it is below the deductible makes absolutely no sense; it simply becomes an out of pocket expense. If your car deductible is $500 and the damage is $300, you pay the $300 to fix the car. You don’t not pay anything because it is below the deductible amount. And to take it one step further, if we are to follow this logic, the damage to my unit could have been $4,999.99 and I would be responsible for paying it. Lawrence Management’s refusal to respond to ******** shows a complete lack of business etiquette. If Lawrence Management is able to prove that it is not responsible, then ******** will pay the claim and then go after Mr. ******. If Lawrence Management cannot produce this documentation, then it must pay for the damages.

Also, ****** ******** contradicts himself. He sent Wayne’s Plumbing to fix the problem who then billed the association and then Mr. ******. So then why can’t Lawrence Management send someone to fix my floor who then could bill the association and then Mr. ******? Also, ****** ******** stated that the damage was due to Mr. ******’s AC unit and then stated that I could pursue a claim if I felt that Mr. ****** was negligent. ****** ******** just stated that he was negligent and caused the damage. So I request again that either Lawrence Management sends the claim to the condominium association’s insurance per ********’s email that the condominium association’s insurance is responsible for payment. In the alternative, I request that Lawrence Management sends someone to fix the floor, who then will bill the association, who then can decide whether or not to send the bill to its insurance or to bill Mr. ******.

Furthermore, Mr. ****** and I “do not get along” because this is the fifth time he has damaged my unit (3 AC leaks in either 2010 or 2011) and a cracked shower pan in 2012. Each time he has been combative and has denied responsibility. The one AC leak during the 4th of July holiday was so bad water was coming through the cracks. When I called him to tell him this, he yelled that the plumber was coming out the next day and he doesn’t make their hours. The cracked shower pan fiasco perfectly encompasses my experiences with him and Lawrence Management. The day before Memorial Day in 2012, water came through the bathroom fan vent after a tenant above took a shower. They came down and looked and then contacted Mr. ****** about it. He said that it wasn’t the shower but the building settling. He had the foam donut replaced on his toilet. Yet the leaks continued after every shower. Lawrence Management sent plumbers out who cut a hole in my ceiling and told me to look for leaks. The next time a tenant took a shower, it leaked. I took pictures and video of the leak and sent them to ****** ********. Weeks went by before Mr. ****** put gel on the crack in the shower pan (a temporary fix, in October it leaked again and was eventually replaced). During this time, ****** ******** told the tenant to continue taking showers because “the leak wasn’t that bad.” So this is not the first time ****** ******** has been aware of one unit owner knowingly damaging another unit owner’s property and yet refuses to mediate/manage/rectify the situation. As far as his “intervention” in this instance, he did not tell me what caused the leak for 5 weeks. Then he refused to contact Mr. ******. He only did because Mr. ****** was combative in his email to me, stating it was not his problem and not to contact him again, and because Mr. ****** called ****** ********. All ****** ******** had to do was tell him that his AC unit caused the damage so he should pay for it. He did not; his email to me stated to send someone out for an estimate and to send the information to Mr. ****** and “he’ll decide what he wants to do” which blatantly expressed that Mr. ****** had a choice as to whether or not to pay for the damages. Lawrence Management should have told him to pay for the damages; it did not. It gave him leeway which led to the insurance claim which led to Lawrence Management ignoring the situation.


****** *****


Business Response: In response to Mr. *****, I did email his insurance adjuster, *** *********** on December 11, 2014 to explain to him how the condo association's insurance works (copy attached). He responded on December 19, 2014 disagreeing with my interpretation of the association's Declaration. I did not feel it was necessary to re-explain what I already had written. Mr. ********** can certainly disagree with me, but he is wrong. Furthermore, Mr. ********** is Mr. *****'s adjuster. Mr. ***** should contact his insurance agent to tell him that his adjuster is misinterpreting the association's Declaration and that he is getting poor service from his insurance company. I can certainly turn this over to the condominium association's attorney to send a letter to Mr. ***** and Mr. ********** explaining how the condominium associaiton's insurance works should the BBB feel that is necessary. I have never contradicted myself. We sent ***** ******** out to investigate a leak call. We did not know who was responsible for the cost of leak repair until the plumber determined it was *** ******'s. The association paid the bill since we ordered the work, and we billed back Mr. ****** since it was his responsibility. We know that the floor is Mr. *****'s responsibility to maintain and repair, so that is why he is responsible for it. When the floor was damaged, Mr. ***** correctly filed an insurance claim. His other option would be to pursue payment from Mr. ****** if he feels he was negligent. In closing, this is not a case of a customer being mistreated by a business. It is a matter of a condo owner not agreeing with how the condominium association is interpreting its Declaration & By-laws. I have been managing condominium associations for 18 years and am proud of my record A+ rating from the BBB. I enjoy helping people solve problems, however, I cannot have the association pay for flooring in Mr. *****'s condo when I legally know that the condominium association is not responsible. Sincerely, ****** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Lawrence Community Management Group, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart