BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R N Landis Management Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R N Landis Management Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on R N Landis Management Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 1986 Business started: 06/01/1979 in OH
Business Management
Mr. Richard Landis, President Ms. Catherine Gall, Accounting
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Landis, President
Business Category

Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 23945 Mercantile Rd  Ste B

    Beachwood, OH 44122

  • 6555 Wilson Mills Rd. #101

    Mayfield Village, OH 44143 (216) 464-7465

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have lived at *** ****** ** condos for 8 years now. I own my condo and pay over $200 a month in association fees. Over the past 8 years my finished basement has flooded due poor construction. This most recent flood i have had contractors confirm that the problem is an outside problem. In our contract it states that as the owner we are responsible for damages from drywall in. The association is responsible from the siding out. To repair the problem the concrete needs taken out and a trench and sump pump installed. I have tried to reach the property manager regarding this and get no responce. Several phone calls later, getting "disconnected" then put into voicemail again, still no responce other than to tell me to call my home owners insurance. I am not asking for replacement on my personal items. I am asking that the problem be repaired so this does not happen a sixth time! I have replaced my carpet already, drywall has been taken out revealing mold. I have 2 children, one with asthma that doesn't need to be exposed to this. All I am asking for is the proper repairs to be made.

Desired Settlement: I want the problem fixed properly so this does not continue to happen every single time it rains.

Business Response:

Spoke to owner 8-7-2013 explained the steps for the process. 1st step is to have contactors out to evaluate the reapir work. 2nd step is to obatin bids/estimate s for the work. 3rd step is to present to the board the information for board approval.  4th step the board will review the information and review the budgets for the reapir work and make a final decision.  It is a process and it take some patience . We all have the same goal to make sure the work is properly completed to the standards of the deck and by laws for the Big Turtle II association.

 

******** ** *******

Manager

R.N. Landis Management

 

216-464-7456 ext ***

10/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was late on my payment and it has not been over 60 days. Before 60 days late( usually when case is transferred to collections with majority of companies) paid my balance in full. Today received letter stating that since i was late on my payment they require $75.06 for attorney fees. Really? what attorney? they never called me as a reminder, never received letter from attorney stating we will charge you additional fee is not paid in full by certain date. If attorney sending letters they usually send it certified mail... this company is trying to scam their residence by charging additional fees with out any notice.

Desired Settlement: would prefer a phone call in a future and current fee of $75.06 must be removed. i paid in full including late payment fees.

Business Response:

In accordance with the documents all owners agreed to live by; all fees are due on the first and late by the tenth.  The attorney does his "60" day late  letter based on the due date, not on waiting 60 days.  Her payment was credited to her account on 8-27-12.

I will credit her account this ONE time for the $75.06.  If she is late again (we send out late notices every month if someone is late even one month)  If she is late again I will put the charge back on her account. 

Unfortunately, we can not call people.  We have between  8,000 & 9,000 clients in all of our Associations.  Calling all who are late is not possible.  We  bellieve our owners know when they are late.  

9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are a significant amount of cracks in the ceilings from the hallway to my unit. There is a strict policy of no garbage or shoes in the hallway. People do it nonstop with no change. The pool is never opened past 8 pm when it clearly says 9pm. Lights go out and do not get repaired for months.

Desired Settlement: I want the problems fixed immediately!

Business Response:

1.  There is one stress crack across the drywall tape near the top of the stairs, no where near her unit.  Causes no structural problem to any unit or the hallway.  When the repainting of the entire hallway is done  this drywall tape will be repaired.  We will also continue to watch this area.

2.  Upon daytime  inspections of the hallway on several occasions there is no "garbage" or shoes of any kind in the hallway.  There are some door mats in front of a few of the units and this is allowed by the Condominium Association.  If this is a nighttime problem she needs to send something in writing directing us to the specific units creating this problem.  It will then be dealt with in accordance with the Condominium Association Documents and Rules.

3.  The pool, to  our knowledge, has never been closed prior to 9 PM, unless due to inclement weather, or some type of chemical problem with the upkeep of the pool.  There are 94 units at this Condominium Association.  This is the only complaint I have received about this.  I believe, if "pool was never opened" after 8 PM, I would have heard this from many other residents.  After Labor Day Weekend the pool was closed for the season

4.  The community is not a "young" one.  Lights are taken care of as soon as this office is made aware of the problem.  Sometimes the fix is not as simple as just replacing the bulb, at which point we have to depend on outside contractors to correct the problem. The problem may be about broken or cut wires or needing new fixtures.  Sometimes this may take longer to fix based on the availability of the contractor and the cause of the problem.