BBB Accredited Business since

Wyatt Works Plumbing

Phone: (440) 286-1880 Fax: (440) 286-1855 View Additional Phone Numbers 14771 Sisson Rd., Chardon, OH 44024 http://www.wyattworks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wyatt Works Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wyatt Works Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Wyatt Works Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 02/18/1986 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Ruth Wyatt, Owner Mr. Andrew P. Wyatt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ruth Wyatt, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Andy Wyatt Plumbing The New Plumbing Co., Inc. Wyatt Plumbing & Heating, Inc. Wyatt Works Plumbing Heating & Cooling Wyatt Works Plumbing Solutions Wyatts Works
Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • 14771 Sisson Rd.

    Chardon, OH 44024 (440) 286-1880

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5-21-15, I had Wyatt Works Plumbing come out to my house to repair a plumbing problem with my dishwasher and to also give me an estimate on repairing a gas line. I had obtained their information through my membership with Angie's List and contacted them due to their ratings, etc. The son of the owner came out, along with a young man that he was training. The son was very polite, and a very smooth salesman. The quote he gave me to repair the gas line was incredibly high and I told him that "I would think about it; but your prices are way higher than anyone else." He then gives me this explanation about why they are "usually" higher than others, but they are licensed, have company overhead, etc., etc. I told him that I was a business person myself and that is "just the cost of doing business and you won't be competitive with high prices like that." At that point, I wasn't about to argue with him and told him that I wanted to get my plumbing with the dishwasher resolved. I had recently had a repairmen look at it and was told that they installed it with cold water and not hot; therefore, I needed a plumber to change it. Mr. Wyatt entered my house with his assistant and proceeded to look at the plumbing under my sink. He told me that my faucet had a leak also and that I could pay to have a new faucet involved in addition to repairing the plumbing. He then gave me an outlandish price to buy a new faucet from him PLUS the cost to install it PLUS do the initial work with the dishwasher. At that point, he could see that "I" was visibly upset and would NOT agree to that. He then told me that he could save me money by just replacing the cartridge in my faucet. He gave a quote to do the dishwasher plumbing and cartridge at $229, which I had agreed to, even though I thought it was high. My original faucet is an American Standard, and only a few years old, I had explained. He was not happy with not being able to make this appointment more profitable...it was evident. He then takes my faucet apart and goes out to the truck for a replacement cartridge. He returns with a faucet that he said a salesman had given him and that he didn't have a cartridge and so I should buy this faucet from him and have it installed, at a cost just a little lower than the other quote. At this point, I felt that I was being scammed and pressured to buy a new faucet. When I told him "absolutely not; just put mine back together and just fix the plumbing," his demeanor visibly changed and reluctantly complied. He put the faucet back together, but now, it had a a lot of water coming out from the base when the water was turned on, which it did not have before. While repairing the plumbing, I had questioned him about pulling out my dishwasher, and he said that it wasn't necessary. I also told him that my outside faucets were also connected (pipe-wise) with the pipes under the sink (next to the dishwasher). He even had his assistant running outside to my front faucet checking my water. He removed the "T" pipe under my sink and said that was the problem, reconnected pipes and was done with the plumbing in less than 15 minutes! Again, he was not happy that this appointment was only going to make him $229...and I honestly believe he was privately furious. When he left, I contacted Home Depot and Lowes and was told that they sold cartridges and that they are all under $10. Unfortunately, when Mr. Wyatt put the faucet back on, he tightened it so tight that he stripped it, and it could not be removed. I was very angry with this appointment and posted my note on Angie's List. (I have copies of notes, responses, everything.) The next day, I was on my back patio trying to clean my grill and suddenly, I was almost scalded because HOT water came out of that faucet. I then went to my faucet in my front yard and discovered that I had NO water coming out of there...it had been capped/cut off. I then called another repairmen who had to REDO my plumbing as well as install a NEW faucet. It cost me $200, plus the faucet of $39.48 (on sale). I had filed a complaint on Angie's List and received a response from the owner of the company: Andy Wyatt. You will see that he posted a nice response and asked "is there anything else that we can do to make you happy?" I sent him a response through Angie's List that I would like a REFUND for the $229.13 that I paid them. I basically had to have the work redone, have my outdoor faucets reconnected, and, buy a new faucet to boot! Also, I found out that the plumbing that they "did" do DID NOT change the status of the plumbing of my dishwasher because that work "did" require that the dishwasher be pulled out because there was additional plumbing behind it. They never replied, called me, or sent a refund. At first, I thought that they were going to, but, they cashed my check a week ago, which is why I am filing this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I just want a refund for what I paid them...that's it.

Business Response:

Business responded to complaint.

I am sorry that you are so unsatisfied with our work. We did try to resolve
your concerns on site. We wold like you to be happy. Although we did try to
accommodate you and take care of your issues we did feel
that it would be best given all the dynamics to leave. We will refund you
$200.00. You should
receive a check before the end of this week.

Thank you.

--
Wyattworks Plumbing Service
216-302-3400
www.wyattworks.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and they sent me a check for $200 on Saturday (7-11-15).  I deposited the check for fear that would be the last I would get from them.  They had charged me $229.13 for the plumbing and I had to buy a new faucet because their worker broke mine. 

Technically, they should owe me another $100; however, I can see that they probably won't do that.  This company is not very ethical and you can see that they still feel that despite what happened, they are still entitled to keep $29.13...possibly as a fee for a service call.  They SHOULD HAVE refunded the whole amount.  This is a terrible way to do business. 

Why would you pay someone $29.13 to come to your house to break your faucet and change the connections on your plumbing so that one outside faucet had HOT water coming out and the other TOTALLY SHUT-OFF?  That's ridiculous!  Thank you.

Regards,

*** *****