BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tom Schaefer Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tom Schaefer Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tom Schaefer Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 24, 2004 Business started: 09/01/2002 Business incorporated: 07/08/2002 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
6606 Tussing Road, P.O. Box 4009, Reynoldsburg OH 43068-9009
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: 614-644-2618
ic@com.state.oh.us

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Schaefer, President Mr. Herbert P. Carl, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Herbert P. Carl, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Tom Schaefer, President
Business Category

Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • 1515 E. 367th St.

    Eastlake, OH 44095 (440) 602-7300

  • PO Box 547

    Willoughby, OH 44096

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 451-1966(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We live in condo and our unit is #321. The Unit 221 below us complained of water leakage coming from our master bathroom. When Tom Schaefer plumber was called in he saw no leakage in our unit. But he opined that leakage is both from drain pipe and shower pan. When we asked how he can be sure that the leakage is from shower pan the plumber said based on his experience he "assumes that 95% of the times the shower pan is involved in such leaks". So he advised us to get the shower pan replaced by a floor contractor and he would do the drain pipe repair for $ 300. Since the plumber does not know the status of the shower pan he could have replaced only the drain pipe and check whether leakage stopped.Had he tested for leaks after replacing the pipe, it would have confirmed that leakage was only from drain pipe. Instead, he replaced the drain pipe from Unit 221 and in the process broke open our bathroom floor leaving a PVC pipe protruding into the floor and asked us to get the shower pan replaced. Accordingly we hired a floor contractor. When he jack hammered the floor he found the shower pan to be ok with no damage or leaks.So the shower pan was not removed and on the top of it a shower tray was placed.When the contractor did water test it was found that the drain pipe was still leaking showing that the plumber did not check the drain pipe properly for leaks while he was replacing it. Hence the plumber came second time and replaced the leaking portion of drain pipe for which he charged us $200 though over phone he said it was $170. From the whole episode it is clear that the plumber did not check the drain pipe properly at anytime for leaks and assumed that shower pan was at fault and that made us do unnecessary bathroom floor repair at a cost of $ 2,720.Since the plumber did not properly look at the source of leak before and after replacing the drain pipe and broke open the bathroom floor without necessity we were forced to do the bathroom floor costing us $2,620.

Desired Settlement: we want Tom Schaefer plumber to pay the cost of $ 2,620 for floor work and $ 200.00 for the second repair.We had to spend $2,620 on bathroom floor restoration and an additional charge of $ 200 for the second time drain pipe work, both of which had to be done due to improper handling of the job. We wrote our complaint letter to Tom Schaefer along with our check payment of $ 490 in first week of July for which they did not reply so far but cashed our check for $490 dated July 8th 2013.

Business Response:

Business responded to complaint.  See attached.

Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff ** 8/8/13.

Tom Schaefer Plumbing

DATE:August 5, 2013

RE: Complaint from ******* ** ***, against Tom Schaefer Plumbing, your claim #lD *******
To Whom This Concerns,

The original Shower drain in the *** unit was installed in such a way that it was impossible to remove and replace the drain without causing damage to the existing shower pan. We have done several shower drains in this building and all of them have been done the same way. I feel that we did not misdiagnose the problem, nor did any work improperly. We were unable to test the original job because the shower was still incomplete.

Once the water was restored the leaks showed up. We checked the source of the leak and informed the customer that is was not at an area that we had repaired previously and would make repairs at an additional cost, which was approved by the unit owner before we returned. We returned and repaired the drain leak found to be further back in the wall.

The customer’s tile man is correct in stating that the shower floor had no cracks or damage to it prior to our making repairs. It was also noted in their letter to you that they were advised of, and understood, that that they would have to hire someone to make repairs to the floor and tile work. The flooring contractor, in my opinion, has misinformed the customer and created more of a problem that it should have been. I can obtain a statement from a reputable flooring contractor to prove my statement, should you wish me to do so.

I am open to discuss this personally with Mrs ***, and/or her flooring contractor, to further show that we have done nothing wrong in this instance. I can be reached at the office at (440) 602-7300 or on my cell phone at (440) 336-3897.

I look forward to resolution of this matter.

Sincerely,

Tom Schaefer
1515 East 367th Street
Eastlake, Ohio 44095
Phone(440) 602-7300
Fax (440) 602-7400


12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid $125 for them to come to our house to snake out a drain that had some roots in it. Nothing was fixed.Tom Schaefer Plumbingwww.tomschaeferplumbing.com/Residential and Commercial Plumbing Installation & Repair. 440-602-7300 ... Our team of professionals at Tom Schaefer Plumbing knows how to snake out any drain, pipe, or sewer problem you may have. Tom Schaefer Plumbing, Inc. 1515 East 367th Street Eastlake, OH 44095. License # 33920

Desired Settlement: Refund most of the money paid.

Business Response: Spoke to my tech-Mr.****** paid bill with Visa, was satisfied. We advised him he needed sewer dug up. Mr. ****** never called our office to say he was not happy. We were on the job for 1/2 hr.-two techs. The job would normally have been $191.00. We only charged him $125.00 since we couldn't get through the drain. I'm very surprised he did not call us to advise us of his complaint. We however, would be happy to resolve this by giving him his money back. This could have been resolved already if he had called us directly. Please advise.Sent on: 11/29/2012 9:39:28 AM