BBB Accredited Business since

Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc.

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 10007 Dennison Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44102 http://www.rotorooter.com/cleveland/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing services, drain cleaning, sewer line replacement, water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, backflow testing, gas line repair and grease trap pumping.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1935
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Arquilla, President Mr. Ron Trebec, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Arquilla, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ron Trebec, General Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Damage Restoration Waterproofing Contractors

Products & Services

Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. offers the following product(s): Roto-Rooter Drain Care

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Cash, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and American Express. Financing may be available.       
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • 10007 Dennison Avenue

    Cleveland, OH 44102

  • 25 E Orange St

    Chagrin Falls, OH 44022

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were to clean our main sewer drain. The tech stated that our pipe was old and smaller than now adays. He changed the large cutter on the snake with the small cutters (this was fine). He then changed the cutter back to the bigger one...ran the snake in pipe..it got stuck..he got it released and ran the snake again...at that point the snake kinked up in the pipe. He called his supervisor out...before the supervisor showed up, the tech tried to release the kinked snaked by having it go forward and backward with the machine as well as pulling on it. The snake snapped off in the drain..(the tech spliced it back together) the supervisor showed up. They ran the camera down to see what was happening. You could see the kinked snake but the supervisor said that happened because our pipe was broke and the big cutter caught it. The supervisor told us for $5000 they would come out and fix the pipe and release the kinked snake. We said..they should do it for 1/2 if not free of charge since the tech knew not to use the big cutters. The supervisor said to the tech...your only option is to cut the snake at the basement and leave it in there. So now I really have a clogged main line and we had to still pay for the initial cleaning.

Desired Settlement: I want my pipe fixed...the snake removed. And not charged $5000 for what was the techs negligence since he himself stated the pipe was small.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

First, I want to put the matter of the initial charge to rest. I have authorized the full amount ($363.93) to be refuded back to the credit card that was used.

To address the concern about an under-sized drain pipe, I am not sure why they believe that, as the camera inspection verified it as a standard size drain line. This misunderstanding may have come from the fact that the clean out opening ws undersized for that size drain line, but this would not cause the cleaning blade to get stuck further down the line.   

The cables and blades that Roto-Rooter use are manufactured to go throgh and clean drain lines. For them to get stuck almost always is a result of the drain ine being in disrepair. If the drainline is in dsrepair, the cable can then exit the line and get stuck in the surrounding materilas, or if the clay tile is boken, the cabe/blades can get lodged on the broken materials. The fact that this happens, we have the customer sign our service ticket and a"hold hamless" agreement. These educate the customer before hand of the potential risk. We want our customers to be aware, and have the opportunity to decline a service if the risk is not acceptable. 

After the cable was stuck, **** *******'s husband stated that they had had issues with this drainline in the past, and that a  problem existed in the line, but that they were always able to get the line open. Unfortunately, the line has now reached a point of disrepair where it became clogged but also will no longer allow a cable to pass through. This is not uncommon, as roots and the surrounding ground weight / pressure will continue to damage, crush and weaken the line until it eventually collapses. This is not the fault of either party, it is just part of the aging process of our homes.

Therefore, I do not believe our technician is gulty of negligence. Most likely, the needed repairs have reached the point of no longer allowing a cable to safely pass through and return. As stated before, I hve already credited **** *******'s credit card. In addition, as an attempt of good will, I would offer a 12% discount of the cost of the needed repair, which would also allow for the removal of he cleaning cable.

Again, thank you very much for you time rgarding this situaion.

Ron T*****

Roto-Rooter      

I would like to add additional information to my response to the complaint mentioned above. 

Today I was able to view the sewer camera inspection recording of **** *******'s drainline, that has our cable stuck in it. 

The *******'s have said that others have been able to open the drain line with a problem. However, the video clearly shows that another sewer cable was already stuck in the line. The cable is of a different size and contrast to our cable. 
We were not made aware of this prior to us putting our cable in the line. Obviously putting a second cable in the line would cause the two cable to twist on each other and bind up. 

We should have been made aware of this before we were asked to cable clean the drainline. Had we been told a cable was already stuck in there, we would declined to put ours in, and would have recommended a sewer camera inspection to identify the issue. This cost us $257.04 to replace the cable lost. 

There is no negligence on the part of our technician. In light of this new information, I would still be willing to work with **** ******* on a solution to her problem, but not at the significant discount that I offered in my original response. 

Thank you for your assistance in this matter. 

Sincerely, 

Ron T***** 
Roto-Rooter Services Co. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******


I have read what roto-rooter is saying and they are without a doubt wrong.  The only snake in that pipe is theirs, from their negligence.  When we looked with the camera with the tech and supervisor being right there it showed the techs snake crossed over itself.  In fact that's what the tech and supervisor had said.  There is NO other (nor was there ever) another snake broken in there.  And if there was....we would of had it fixed and would not be in this terrible predicament.  My husband and I are not out to take advantage of any company nor anyone.  And we expect the same from a company or person as well. 

 

Business Response: I believe it might be best to schedule a time to meet and view the recording on a screen with better visual resolution. I believe this will help everyone see what we are seeing. I any case. If the situation was solely a Roto-Rooter employee's negligence we will take responsibility for removing the cable. However, if the line is broken or comprimise we will be glad to work with the customer in a suitable resolution. 

Thank you,
Ron T***** 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******


In regards to this matter....we have already taken care 

of this issue on our part.  The plumber we used did NOT
find another cable/snake in the drain/pipe.  And according 
to him, he belives that your cable/snake/tech/company is/was
responsible for if not part/all the damage.  We rented a ($408 .00) camera/locator and ironically the cable/snake was NOT where your
supervisor said it was.  I have attached pics of the one and only
cable /snake removed from drain/pipe as well as pic of where your 
company claimed the cable/snake was (right hand side) as opposed
to where the cable/snake actually was (left hand side).

 

Business Response:

Thank you for the follow up.  Although I do not wish sewer problems on anyone, I am glad that the drain line has been repaired, as it has been giving them problems for several years. I am sure this repair will bring some welcomed peace of mind. 

I apologize that our technician charged for the initial service, since there was still an issue with the line. 
I am attaching the receipt for the full refund. The refund was made to the mastercard we were provided, in the amount of $363.93. 

Thank you for your time and assistance. 

Ron T***** 
Roto-Rooter Services. 

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11, 2014, Roto Rooter sent me a proposal regarding a repair that needed to be done on my Fairview Park house which is rented. The renter complained that the drains were backing up. Roto Rooter had someone inspect, who said that the toilets should not be flushed, since it will back up. I told Farmer's Insurance that Roto Rooter said it is an emergency and that it will cost $7,300 to seal leaking joints with a 4' and 2' pipe patch; and it will need high pressure water jet to clear the backup. Farmers could not send out their appraiser until the work was completed, but stated to go ahead with the job, since it seems to be an emergency although I advised Farmers Insurance of the charges. I allowed Roto Rooter to charge my credit card the full amount, since I was under the impression that the insurance company would pay for it and because they advised me to go ahead. Roto Rooter did complete the work. Meanwhile, since I live in *******, I was not able to sign the agreement in person, so I had my brother sign. The only paper he signed was the first page, which did not show the charge of $7,300.I called other plumbing companies in the area, who said that $7,300 was an excessive amount for the work that was proposed. They would not pay more than $3,000. I disputed $4,300 of the $7,300 on my Discover card. I had not heard anything since then, until April 28, 2014 when I received my statement that reposted the $4,300. The Discover representative told me they sent me a letter on March 27, 2014, which I did not receive. Since it is past the deadline for disputing, I am stuck with this added amount. The insurance company notified me that since this was a maintenance issue and not an actual emergency, which Roto Rooter led me to believe, they will not cover the cost. Meanwhile, the renter has complained that the drains are still moving slowly. Roto Rooter completed the job without tearing up the basement floor, which took only two half days to complete. $7,300 is excessive!

Desired Settlement: I have paid the $3,000 of the $7,300, but would like to have the $4,300 refunded to my Discover card immediately. I think that would be more than fair. The $7,300 is absolutely ridiculous and I will take further measures if this is not resolved as soon as possible.

Business Response:

BBB

Thank you for your assistance with this issue.

We can empathize with Ms. *****s' situation with her insurance company. However, we provided a valuable service and after review the below response, I believe you will agree the charges are fair and the work was professional, and actually saved Mrs. *****s a number of other issues and money. I will address them in order that they appear in Ms. *****s' complaint.

In February, we responded to the service call for **** *******, in *********, ****. After diagnosing the problem, including the use of a fiber optic sewer camera, we provided Mrs. *****s with an estimate for the needed repair services.

We showed the problems to her brother, Mr. **** *****s. Then came back the next day to show the issues to her insurance company.

Mrs. ****** authorized the work and charges, and had her brother sign the work order authorization. Mrs. *****s mentions that he only sined the first page, which is true, as we only have a very simple one page form. The charge listd on the form is $7,326.00. While entering the job into our system a data entery error occured and $7,300 was enter, rather than the $7,326.

Mrs. *****s mentions that Farmers Insurance has declined to pay for the services, due to the problem being maintenance rather than emergency. I cannot comment on this aspect of the complaint, as I do not know the coverages afforded in her policy, nor were we working for the insurance company. This service issue was called into us, and we responded. We did not deem it to be an emergency or maintenance for insurance purposes.The tenants seemed to feel it was an emergency, since they could not get their waste water to drain out of the home.

Mrs. *****r had another plumbing company come out and see the work we were doing. It was Royal Flush plumbing. Once their representative saw the extent of the repair, and the fact that it would require digging up the basement floor, which also would have required disconnecting and moving the furnance, he said "wow, no wonder it costs so much, and we don't have that pipe patch stuff". Which is true, as we are he only company in Cuyahoga county that has it, as it is a newer technology that requires a financial investment and a very thorough technique. The lead technician on this job is a 30+ year licensed plumber.

It was the installation of two of these patches that allowed us to NOT have to break up the basement floor in Mrs. *****s' property, and allowed a repair of the main drainline of the home. This also relieved the need to disconnect and displace the furnace. The temperatures in ********* were below freezing. Removing the furnace in this home would have created a heating problem for the residents of the home,and subjected the above ground water lines to freezing temperatures - possibly causing additional problems. A third patch was installed near the test tee, at the front of the property. Besides fixing part of the drainage issue, this repair also prevented digging up the front yard, causing additional landscaping costs and possible sidewalk repair.    

This was not the typical sewer line repair the another company would have assumed in a phone conversation, without having seen the issues. I can confidently say none of our competitors could have or would have done this work, especially for $3,000. All others would have had to be far more invasive.

We received a letter of dispute from Discover Card. We addressed the concerns and provided a copy of the signed work authorization (authorizing the work and charges), and the signed completion statement (stating complete satisfaction of the described work).

Th renters, and Mrs. *****s called on April 30, 2014, stating that the kitchen sink and bathroom sink were not draining properly. A service call was scheduled for 12:00 - 2:00 pm that same day. We dispatched one of our most experienced plumbers and he arrived at 1:00 pm. *****, the tenant, showed him the kitchen sink, and that the water did not drain very well from the side with the garbage disposal. It drain perfectly from the other side. He examined the garbage disposal, and found that it was not plugged in, and that the outlet it had been in had black "burn" marks on it. He asked, but ***** did not know what had happened, or why it was unplugged. He plugged the disposal into another outlet and turned it on. It ground up what was in it, and the water then drained properly from that side as well. He recommended that they have an electrician look at the outlet.

She then took him to the bathroom sink. It was draining very slow. He found that the pop up stopper was pushed well down into the drain hole. He showed her how to use it and tested the water flow. It now drained properly. She thanked him. There was no charge for this service visit and the remedies delivered.

I hope this helped clarify the facts and extent of the needed repairs, and demonstrates that the repairs were effective, and the charges were not excessive.

Thank you again for your time and attention to this matter.

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

 

 

 

Business Response:

Please see the attached rsponse.

Thank you!

Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 6/3/14.

June 3, 2014

******* ******
Trade Assistant
Better Business Bureau, Inc.
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408
RE: Complaint ID 10029279

Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for your continued assistance with this matter.

In reading all the information, I believe the true complaint is with Ms. ******’ insurance company, or in the policy that she had covering the property. However, this is only my opinion. I again can empathise with her situation

I believe Ms. ****** is also the recipient of some poor information, from some contractors and plumbers. None of these “advisors” are qualified to give pricing information on Pipe Patch, as they have never been trained/authorized for its purchase or use. One of Ms. ******’ contractors gave her a written estimate for completing the same service we did, for $630.00. (attached) It also states that the patches can be simply purchased at the hardware store. 

I am attaching a letter from Source One Environmental, the manufacturer and supplier of the Pipe Patch technology. I believe this letter will help show the poor quality of the information being given.

Ms. ****** states that Roto-Rooter is mentioned on a consumer watch web site. Roto-Rooter does appear on there. A business of any size and scope will have disputes with consumers. It is an unfortunate part of business and serving the public. I sincerely believe that most Roto-Rooter offices do a great job of working with the thousands of customers we help everyday.
Under further review, a number of Ms. ******’ information sources also appear on that site.

Roto-Rooter is the largest plumbing company and therefore is a large target for all the competitors in this industry. Their claims against us are another unfortunate part of doing business in a highly competitive field. I respect what they do, but they are not in an educated position to assist Ms. ******.

Ms. ****** alludes to considerable investment of time, training and a great deal of capital into a technology that can be a great solution for the tough problems home owners face – the Pipe Patch system. This is very true, we have, and we are proud that we can bring the best solutions to our customers. But she seems upset that we would charge for that technology. Taking the risk and making the investment is the essence of being in business. You have to charge for it. If not, why invest and make it available to consumers? It did eliminate the considerable mess that she would have faced by having to dig up the concrete basement floor, and outside grass and soil. Other customers have been thrilled with this outcome, and the reduced expense it rendered.

Roto-Rooter’s size and length of time in business gives us the ability to offer the best guarantees in the business and be around, long term, to back them up. Investment and revenue provides that ability. Our charges are fair and have provided customer care for over 75 years.

Again, I know this was a traumatic experience and an expense that was thought to be covered by insurance. The fact that it was not a covered repair must be very frustrating. 
e gave an estimate, sent the relevant paperwork and only began work after the Work Order Authorization was signed by Ms. ******’ brother, **** ******, her appointed representative. We could have waited indefinitely to make the repair, but the work and charges were accepted. We went to work immediately. I believe the family living in the home appreciated that they were again able to use their facilities, and were not displaced from the house for the repair.

Mr. ****** also signed that the described work was done to his complete satisfaction.

 

Sincerely,

*** ******
Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Consumer Response:

Please tell me what more clarification you might need.  I emailed all the information, as well as a letter explaining everything in detail, I thought.

Please see the letter that I sent to ******* ******.

Thanks,
  ***********

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: If you are thinking about using Roto Rooter, please think again. One of my clients had ponding water on their roof and it was leaking at the drain. It was imperative to get the water off of the roof so I called Roto Rooter out there. They came out and told me the water needed to be pumped off of the roof with a commercial pump. They did not have an account with my client and they needed payment before any work was to be done. To expedite things, I gave them my credit card number which they charged immediately. My client witnessed the conversation that the Roto Rooter technician was going to buy a commercial pump and pump all of the water off of the roof. I was not on site, but my client said they muddled around for about 30 minutes and left the site. No pump was purchased and the water was still on the roof. However they made sure they charged my credit card $495 for 30 minutes of standing around. I called them the next day to find out if they were coming back and by this time it was a moot point because the rain had stopped. They claimed they were to "jet" the water off of the roof and that their job was done. I didn't even know what "jetting" was and surely would have asked. I found out later you cannot jet water off of a roof if the drains are clogged. They mentioned to my client that the drains were clogged so it is not even a logical excuse. After talking with them on the phone, I tried to be as diplomatic as possible, but they proved to be the MOST unprofessional company I have ever experienced and inappropriately rude. They got my credit card number and pretended to do something for 30 minutes and left. The beautiful thing about this is that I have a witness that was on site who both heard the conversation on the phone and was there the whole time. If I am not issued a full refund, I will be suing. It is only $495, but it is the principle at this point and these companies should NOT be able to get away with this!

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $495

Business Response:

Dear *******,

Thank you very much for you time and attention to this issue. I apologize for the time it is taking from you.

I believe if you research our relationship with the BBB, and the responses to any customer issues, we are always very responsinve and reseptive to giving the benefit of the doubt to a customer, and at the very least an extensive investigation. We value our customers and our reputation highly.

This particular case is filled with a great deal of impropriaty and manipulation. I have been advised not disclose all of the information we have, as it is likely to be used in a legal action against Mr. *******, for libel, as he has rendered this in writing, to the BBB, a platform which will have a negative and lasting impact on our business and the reputation that we take so seriously.

I am attaching a time line of events for your review. This time line was made by **** ******* who is referred to in the complaint as a sales person. He is actually our Plumbing Manager and has been a lincesed plumber in the State of Ohio for over 30 years. Statements and information is also included for our plumber, that was assigned to this job, ******* ******, a licensed plumber for 20 + years.

Our offer of resolution, is for Mr ******* to rescind this "complaint" and refrain for further libel and slanderous statements. I will then advise our legal department that the matter is resolved and can be closed.

Again, I thank you so much for your time!

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Division Manager 

Response from plumbing manager copied and pasted below by BBB staff 11/8/13.

**** ******* Plumbing Mgr

Roto Rooter

5375 Naiman Pkwy

10/30/13 12:26PM

Returned call to *** ******, ----~Customer indicated that he wanted full refund from credit card for
services rendered on roof job.

Up to this point, *** has never identified himself. Finally after repeated questions as to who he was or
who he represented---He stated that he was with the garland Company. He mentioned Fairview Park
schools several times as if he was representing them.

The first time this job was in the system, l personally attempted to contact the number to get the proper
tech to the site. No answer was returned. Days later when the job was back on the board, ourjetter
went out to the site. I instructed (***** our jetter) not to do any work until it was authorized because
of the hard time we had in reaching this guy previously, -----which had no info, or history, or company...

September 4"‘ 11:12AM Service call placed "3 roof drains clg&repair the pipes to the roof drains
as well. Call with appointment time. " Made several attempts to set appointment for service-~~--
voided ticket September 13"‘.

Second Call ONE MONTH LATER

Oct. 7 customer calls back. This time here is the ticket or work order called in by *** * ***** " 2
drains clog--lowest level roof drains." Request 1x bo $500.00.

When l saw this ticket pop up again three weeks later and requesting a one time credit, I informed our
jetter not to do any work until payment could be secured because Mr. * ***** was not returning calls
and was not part of the school but some unexplained third party.

*****, Roto Rooter jetter did what he was instructed to do. He finally secured payment from Mr. *
***** and we attempted to unclog the roof drains that were shown him. The lines were not able to be
opened and then Mr. ******* asked if we could put an industrial pump on the roof. He was told that for
an additional charge we could put a temporary sump pump on the roof. However this is where the
recollection goes out the window.

n Mr ******’ s letter to the BBB he is representing himself as some unknowing consumer not the
Roofing contractor. Mr. ******* now states he thought the jet was going to pump the water off the
roof, If he is a consultant for the school board in the building maintenance field and he has never heard
of a sewer jet, or by his own words does not know what a industrial pump is, or that he thinks the

p.2

solution for the clogged roof drains is to install an industrial pump on the roof, these are signs of
inexperience or incompetence----or maybe both.

Both service tickets that were called in by Mr. *******, requested roof drains to be unclogged.
There was no mention of a pump being installed on the roof and the request for the pump came only
after the attempt to unclog the roof drains failed with the jet.---------~--Maybe Mr ****** thought that
we take 150 thousand dollar pieces of equipment with two men, get on a customers roof and there is no
charge for this equipment and man power.

In addition to our two men on site and our attempt to jet line with our $150,000.00 Jet bus; we
went inside the building to attempt a different access point. My guy even went into the crawl space to
see if there was a cleanout for the storm system in there.

We were speaking of ways to make the pipe repairs or rerouting etc. when the Maintenance guy
suggested putting a pump on the roof. Jeff the school maint guy stated that they were not paying for
this service that the charges were to go to *** O’*****. When Mr. O’***** was informed of the price to
install sump pump for an additional 400.00 dollars he said no and said he was only paying for the jetting.

Our jet fees have been constant for over ?ve years-—--—we charge commercial customers $350.00 for
the first hour, and $260.00 for each additional hour. ln addition there should have been a second man
charge @ 97.00 per hour, due to the fact of going on the roof and needing the second man for safety
reasons.

We were there for about two hours. We will be contacting Mr. *******’s superiors, for the deceptive,
sketchy, misleading practices stating that his client could not get an account with Roto Rooter, when
infact it was the school that said they were not paying for our services, Mr. ******* was to pay for our
services -—-in fact he was the one that called the service in.

Mr. ******* comes across as poor uneducated residential consumer, and big bad Roto Rooter was trying
to take advantage of this poor unsuspecting soul, when in fact he is a roofing contractor for Garland Co,
who has been less that forthright from the beginning.

Third Call

Cust did call back on the 8"‘ of October and requested us to return and install a pump------Mr. *******
had declined installing the pump, he stated he was only paying for the jet. Mr. ******* knew he had
declined the additional charges for the pump and when he was informed we needed an additional
400.00 dollars is when he got amnesia and had no idea the way the water was on the roof, or how the
water could be removed from the roof. Never mind the two previous tickets that asked us to unclog the
drains,-----now Mr. ******* is stating that the only thing he ever really wanted from Roto Rooter was to
install an industrial pump on the roof for his client. But wanted us to charge the school for the services.

p. 3

Whatever position or role he was playing with the school we still do not know. All I know at this point is
that he wants to use our services for his client and had no intentions of paying anything for the services.
And further more if his letter was trueful, and he really does not know what a jet is  then he has no
business over seeing or consulting a school for their roofing problems. We are the drain opening
business In addition if a drain cannot be opened then we give the customer options to make the water
go away. If the customer wants to go a different direction, repair thing s in house get another quote or
refuse additional charges for more work then we part ways.

They wanted a pump but did not want to pay for the pump.

As for Mr. ** ***** wanting to expedite the services, he extended his Credit card for payment-as stated
in his letter to theBBB ---The truth of the matter is the school told us flat out that Mr ******* was
getting the bill that was told us by the school. I do not understand that he gave RR his credit card as a
favor----Mr. ******* was the one responsible for paying for the services.

For the record-----we would have extended the school the account—we do it every day. But
the school told us that they were not paying for the services that were called in by Mr. *******.

As far as them hearing about a pump, the eye witness, There is no doubt they heard the
conversation about the pump--------What they did not hear on the other side of the conversation that
Mr. ******* stated in the phone he was only paying for the jetting and not pay the total of 800.00 for
the pump too.

As far as the Mr. ******* calling in and saying how rude he was treated, Mr. ******* called in to
my office phone, I put him on speaker because it just so happened that ***** was in my ofi?ce (the
letter), and the two of them gave their accounts of what transpired. l also reminded him of the past
attempts to reach the ghost caller Mr. ******* . This is when Mr. ******* began to state that he wanted
a refund because we did not install the pump, ***** stated that Mr. ******* declined to pay for the
pump, and just wanted to pay for the jetting. As the conversation continued he wanted to meet to
resolve the issue, he want to come to the office, l said l would prefer to go to the job site since this is
where the work was preformed and this is where the other individuals were that we spoke with. Then
Mr. ******* asked me what the address was»--this seemed strange since this was his customer. He
then stated he knew which property it was he just wants to know if we knew where the job was?????

At any rate the time was agreed as 1 PM on Friday-----Which Mr. ******* then stated" you better be
there or there is going to be trouble". Was that a threat? Friday came and he canceled the meeting.

We spoke again 12:36pm 10/30/13 and stated he wanted a full refund. It was only after all of these
dealings that he stated that he worked for a roofing company Garland Ind. I said that if he would like to
discuss a partial refund or reasonable compromise I would be happy to explore this option. He took the
hard line stance and this is where we are right now. I will continue to reach his company and give them
the facts of this unprofessional encounter with Mr. *******, the roofer for Garland ind.

Bottom line be Leery of Mr *****.

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roto-Rooter charged us unnecessary repair fees. Roto-Rooter lied and made false statements to us about the severity of our plumbing problem, in this case they charged us a repair bill of $6897.00 for the repair! We were told by Roto-Rooter they needed to cut and replace our stack, put in a clean-out and repair our sewer with 2 patches. This was grossly exaggerated. The salesman (**** ********) said that they had a new procedure which would repair the pipes from the inside and that they would not have to dig up our yard or driveway to fix the problem. I didnt know it at the time but Roto-Rooter seems to have pattern and practice of systematically pressuring people into unnecessary repair jobs by misleading them into thinking they have a much greater plumbing problem than they do. They did not install any such patches to repair the sewer and that was the major part of the bill.

Desired Settlement: Since we were scammed by Roto-Rooter we want all the money we paid to ***** ***** returned to us and the balance waived on our ***** ***** Visa Home Projects Card or Roto-Rooter can pay it. We would also like a record of all money paid on 1 statement from ***** *****. We paid $137.00 per month on this credit card from February 2011 until July 2013 and the balance is $4766.10 If you need more information about the credit card, call me and I will give the details and how to you can talk to them.

Business Response:

Thank you for sending this over.

We have already spoken with Mr. *****, earlier today,and have an appointment to visit the property and investigate his concerns. He asked that it not be until July 19. We agreed to that date, and asked him to feel free to invite any other people that he would like to have present.

If his claims are true, and we had employees doing incomplete work, we will see to it that he is properly credited. Any employees involved will be dealt with swiftly and most likely terminated. Roto-Rooter does not tolerate abuse of our customers and reputation.

I will gladly update you after our visit and inspection.

Again,

Thank you so much for you time and attention to this matter. I will keep you fully apprised.

Sincerely,

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

 

 

Consumer Response: I did not close this complaint and nothing has yet to be resolved.
Please re-open this complaint or I can start a new one with the same information.

Thank you,


**** ***** **

Business Response:

I agree there has been no resolution offered in this issue as of yet.

Roto-Rooter's General Manager, Plumbing Manager and Lead camera/jet specialist, began an investigation of the issues presented by Mr Downs, with an inspection of the property and the work done, on 7/19/13.

We found that all the work listed on the contract was completed and in tact, and done in a professional manner.

We offered to Hydroscrub the sewer line to help remove the existing root intrusion, as a courtesy to help ensure they had full flow in the drain line, until we completed our investigation. The lady of the home became very angry, so we choose to not pursue that offer at this time.

Mr. ***** seems to have gotten a great deal of his opinion from the city representatives that he had visit his home. We told Mr. ***** that the next step in the investigation would be to speak with the city workers. Mr. ***** gave us the name ***** to follow up with.

We have attempted to contact ****, in the ******* Building Dept, the same day, 7/19/13. We were told that **** would be out of the office through 7/24/13. We left a message asking him to give us a call.

This is were we are currently at in our response to the subitted complaint.

Thank you so much for your assistance.

*** ******

General Manager

Consumer Response: I have not had any contact from Roto Rooter.

 
Thanks
 
 
**** *****

Business Response:

Unfortunately, we have not yet been able to secure a meeting with the City of *******. During our on site inspection, we found that all the work contracted was completed. The customer's complaint seems to have arisen from something that was said said by the city crew that came to the home.

We want to find out what that may have been, because if we completed something incorrectly, we want to make it right, for both the customer and the city.

We will call and try to expedite a meeting time.

Thank you!

***

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Consumer Response:

I am sorry to tell you that Roto Rooter has not been doing anything to try to resolve this complaint.  It shows that it is assumed that the complaint is closed.  Roto Rooter is just taking their time on this, because they know that you will just keep assuming that the complaint is resolved.   I can assure you that the complaint is not resolved and needs to be re-opened again.
 
I called and left a message with their corporate office today for some one named *** at *** *** ****.  They have not yet called back.  I also spoke with **** today at *** *** *****  He just gave the same old answer of not being able to contact the City of ******* about the comments that their workmen made.  I really just want a refund of the money I paid them as the work was not complete and not what I had expected from what their salesman told me that I would get.
 
Thanks,
 
 
**** ***** ***

Business Response:

We agree that we have not tried to close this complaint, but have been trying to get a meeting with ****, from the City of *******. His crew was the ones who visited the ****** home. Mr ****** says they criticized the work that was done at his home.

We are holding back our resolution due to the fact that our visit to the home showed that the work had been done as contracted and that no issues were present that stated we had not completed the work or were negligent in any way.

We have not been cited for any violations, and when we spoke to **** on the phone, he was not aware of any complaints or issues brought up by his crew. They are obviously very busy, as all city maintenance crews are, and have not been able to schedule a meeting with us. We have left another voicemail at 10:05 am, this morning, Sept 4.

We are not dragging our feet, we simply want to ensure that we were not overlooking something that the city saw. However, I understand that Mr. ***** is growing impatient.  Therefore, I will give our response at this time:

Mr. ***** stated to me, **** ******* our plumbing manager and ******** ****** our camera technician, that the city said the drain stack was poorly installed, which is contrary to the work we observed, both **** and I are licensed plumbers and ******** has eight years of plumbing experience. This work was done correctly and professionally. As this was an ubove ground repair and in place sight, I cannot attest to the fraud implication, other than I do not believe Mr ***** would have agreed to a repair that he did not see a purpose for. Especially one that was completely visible.

Mr ***** also stated, that the city crew said the line to the street is "roached". It does have separations which are allowing roots to infiltrate the line. Although Mr ***** declined to believe my statement that roots could grow back in two years time. My experience has been that they will indeed grow back in less than two year, especially considering the draught we experienced in 2012. There are several trees and bushes that would account for the root growth. I have picture to confirm this. The DVD recording that was made back in 2011, shows that there was a complete blockage of the drain line within a few feet of the clean out, which would be at the foundation wall. This is the area that had the two patches installed to correct. This installation was done correctly and is still serving it function. The condition of the and the DVD indicates this was a much needed repair, not fraud.

Our representatives proposed to have the entire drain line relined, which would given them a solid, one-piece drain line that would not allow any future infiltration and would last 50 plus years. Mr ***** said he declined that service due to the $10,000 cost. They choose to have 2 patches put in the line instead. The entire cost of the 2 patches, plus... installing a new cleanout into the basement floor, replacing the stack, soil bend and attached lines, cameraing and cable cleaning the rest of the drain line was a total of $6,897. 

Mr. ***** claims that he thought the two patches would do the same job as the $10,000 relining. As the patches were only a portion of the $6,897 total bill he paid, I would submit that this is unreasonable claim. If two patches, (which if done alone for $2,000), could do the same job as a complete relining, at $10,000, the relining technology would not exist, or ever be necessary. Just the terms pipe patch vs. complete reline would tell you what each is capable of. We provided the patches and a great deal of other work, for considerably less money than the relining alone would have cost.

As I am completing this response, **** from the city returned our call. He still does not see any reason to schedule a meeting. He stated that he has no issues with our work or the repairs we made. He sincerely apologized if his crew said anything that upset Mr ***** or lead him to believe the work was substandard. He said that Roto-Rooter is in good standing with the City of *******, and welcome to operate in the city.

I apologize for the lengthy response, but I feel this is a serious issue and I want to be complete. After looking at all the facts and understanding the opinion of the City of *******, I would stand by the work Roto-Rooter did 2 1/2 years ago. It has been doing it's job all this time, and only became an issue when the home experienced a back up due to roots being in the reamain portion of the drain line that remains subject to root infiltration.

Even after the city workers cabled the drain line for Mr *****, our recent camera inspection shows the roots still exist in the line. I would decline the request for a full refund, but as an attempt at good will, I am offering to clean those roots completely out using Hydro jet technology. This would normally be a $495 - $695 service. I would do this free of charge. However, it must understood that this is not a permanent solution, as the roots will continue to grow back until something is done to stop them permanently. The drain line is not capable of keeping them out. I would also be willing to work with him on solving the root infiltration issue at a discounted rate. Technology and capabilities have changed since the services were provided, and we might be able to help.

I, like **** from the City of *******, am sincerely sorry if Mr ***** was lead to believe that the work was somehow fraudulent or substandard, and I know it was a major investment for him and his family. I believe the trust he placed in Roto-Rooter back in February 2011 was warranted, and rewarded with professional workmanship and has been of service to his home.

I offer these solutions in good faith, and as a good will gesture. 

Sincerely,

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] This does not make sense.  10000.00 for complete re-line  plus the additional work that was done or 7000.00  + 2 patches for the additional for that was done.  I was led to believe I was getting quality work and worthwhile repair.   They should have been truthful in what I would have received when all work was complete.   I know that the work done was not worth what was charged and should have only cost about 1400.00 tops.   I'm sure another company would have been able to fix the problem for 7000.00.  I have attached estimate document to show  what was done and the charges.

Regards,

**** ***** **

 

Business Response:

I sincerely apologize that this issue has begun to consume a great deal of your time, but I do appreciate al your time and effort.

This complaint seems to have changed, as we have demonstated that the City of ******* has no issue with the work we performed and we have shown that the patches were installed and are present.

It is now one of charges and assumption of what other plumbing companies would have charged, and that of the work not being complete.

Although I am generally not concerned about what other companies charge, as they are responsible for controlling their own quality, guarantees and ability to stay in business, in order to back up their guarantees. Roto-Rooter has been around for 75+ years backing up our guarantees. We charge a fair price for the work we do, and understand fully that others will charge less. That is their business model. We gave Mr ***** an estimate to fix the entire line, he declined it based on the expense. We gave him an alternative to address the most immediate need. He choose the alternative. We have his signature authorizing the work and the amount that was to be charged. We helped him get the financing for it. For two and a half years it was good, until the part of the line that was not fixed, became a problem.

The work was a result of a call placed to Roto-Rooter, by ******** ***** on Jan 1 2011 at 1:32 pm, stating that their drain line was backing up. They called us to respond to a problem that had made itself evident to them before we arrived at the home.

Regarding the claim that another company would have done all our work for $1,400.00, this is not a credible statement for a number of reasons:

First and foremost, no other company, in the Cleveland area has the Pipe Patch technology. If they did, the cost of the two patches alone is $775.80. That's what we pay for it - no mark up. Once you add in labor and related costs, the price for two patches is over $2,000 alone.

Secondly, Mr ***** authorized the replacement of his main drain stack and the connecting drain lines. The work was complete and with quality, and again has proved its functionality scince January of 2011. This work alone would have been over the $1,400 that Mr ***** is suggesting.

Third, the home did not have a proper clean out, from which to clean the main line. Mr **** authorized the installation of a clean out. It was confirmed that the clean out was installed, compete and of working quality. The installation of this clean out involved breaking throught the concretee floor of the basement. A very labor intensive task.

All this work was done completely and with professional quality, as was obseved on our visit to the home, the city of *******s satisfaction, and most importantly by Mr ****'s signature on the staement "I acknowledge completion of the above described work which has been done to my complete satisfaction."

To answer the charge that another company could have fixed his problem for $7,000, I would agree, if it was only the drain line that needed repairs. However, as has been stated, their was other work that needed to be done.

We charged $6,897.00, which included the above stated work. This was a fair price and I stand by it. Any reputable company, especially one of any size and reputation would have charged a similar price, or they would have been cutting corners somewhere. And again, none would have had the Pipe Patch alternative to offer them.

My offer is still in effect, to hydro-scrubb the line that was not repaired to get the roots completely out, and buy some additional time to get it repaired. It will need to be repaired or replaced at some point. as the roots will not cease to infiltrate it.

Sincerely,

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

 

 

Consumer Response:

I paid for a $7000.00 worth of work to be done and that is not what I got.  I got 2 little patches  and not what was explained that I would get and an incomplete job.  If Roto Rooter treats their customers this way they won't be having many repeat customers.  I won't and that is for sure.  They can keep the money that I feel my wife and I are out of, due to their own greed.   Just write it up as an unresolved issue.  I am done with them.

4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they agreed 6 months warranty and pay only after solving the problem. They said broken pipe underground.No 6 month warranty.They diagnosed wrong. They came to solve the sewer backup at night on 1/12/2013(that night I had to take care of my son and gave the $496 check to my tenant, pay after solving the problem) . We agreed 6 months warranty. They said there are broken pipes under the family floor and need a new toilet. On 2/16/2013, the problem was coming back and they came to snake again and said no more warranty. Then I changed a new toilet, but less than one month the backup coming again. I called Hofmann Plumbing for service on 3/15/2013 and they sent camera in and found there is no broken pipe underground. The backup was caused by the some roots .They cut the roots and the problem was completely solved. I think Roto Rooter technician diagnosed wrong, did wrong. He said solving the problem needs about $6000. The tenant asked me to fix the problem asap. But in fact all the sewer line is in good condition. They can call Hofmann's boss **** at ***********(cell) to confirm or they can go to send a camera to check by them self. I didn't solve my problem and caused new problem between me and my tenant,so I need my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me a full refund,because they diagnosed wrong, did wrong, said something wrong, I replaced a working old toilet, causing a bad effect on the relationship between me and tenants, and I lost my sleeping at least ten days.The tenants threatened me many times.

Business Response:

In reviewing this complaint, I have determined that there is enough reason to believe that we may not have delivered the World Class Service that we hold ourselves to, and if there is any doubt, we always err on the side of the customer.

I have authorized and already processed a refund for this customer.

Thank you so much for your time and efforts in bringing this issue to a conclusion.

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

 

Consumer Response: Today I got the full refund check from Roto Rooter. Thanks a lot for your help.

Have a good night!

*** ****

4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable