BBB Accredited Business since

Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 226-4506 View Additional Phone Numbers 10007 Dennison Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44102

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers plumbing services, drain cleaning, sewer line replacement, water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, backflow testing, gas line repair and grease trap pumping.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1935
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Rick Arquilla, President Mr. Ron Trebec, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Arquilla, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ron Trebec, General Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Waterproofing Contractors Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Damage Restoration

Products & Services

Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. offers the following product(s): Roto-Rooter Drain Care

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Cash, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and American Express. Financing may be available.       
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10007 Dennison Avenue

    Cleveland, OH 44102 (216) 226-4506

  • 25 E Orange St

    Chagrin Falls, OH 44022


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a sewage line back up that spilled into our basement. A day after they identified the problem we were contacted by Nate D*******. Nate reviewed the damage and verbally quoted us $2,000 to $4,000 for dry wall removal, carpeting removal, and general waste cleanup. We received a written estimate of $4,000 to $6,000 the day later. The result, Roto Rooter did less than agreed (no drywall removal), charged $8,500 and we had black mold in the basement. We were unable to live in our home for days while I was unable to reach Albert at Roto Rooter to fix the ongoing problem. A month later we were billed $8,500 when the amount exceeded our insurance maximum. We ended up paying the whole amount minus a $225 inconvenience fee. My wife and I took off two days’ worth of work to meet with Albert who stated that he would stop by to review the work and our concerns. He never showed.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of $2,000. Roto Rooter quoted $4,000 to $6,000 in writing and billed $8,352.98. We paid 8,102.98 or 2,102.98 in excess of the high end of the quote. $2,000 is a fair offer to resolve the issue and would cover the cost of hotels and air quality cleaning. Based on the fact that Roto Rooter dropped the price by $250, they are able to negotiate the remaining difference.

Business Response:

On 7/10/16 Tim 914 and Nate arrived at the **** residence at ***** ****** **.  Our technicians discovered sewage on the floor.  The cause was from a deck post that was put through the sewer line.  Excavation repair was also authorized.  All water mitigation work was done per industry standards of care.  The job concluded on 7/13 and ***** **** signed the satisfaction certificate (attached).

On 7/15 Nate and Tim were called back out for another back up, due to a completely separate problem.  This was a sump pump failure. The ****'s declined restoration at that time.
In late July / early August we spoke to Mr. **** regarding why his bill was over the estimated 4k-6k.  It was explained that we provide a rough estimate to ensure the customer knows the type of cost that is associated with water mitigation work, and about how it is an estimate and how ********* worked. ********* is an industry standard for fair and consistant pricing of restoration work throughout the country. The pricing is a collaboration of insurance and contractor professionals. The estimate given also included a statement regarding how the actual pricing is derived at. This estimate sheet is attached.

8/10 We sent the ****s the ********* estimate  and all other documents that were also sent to their insurance company at the time of invoicing.  We asked them to send over their version from the insurance company.  They only the reconstruction estimate.  No water mitigation. We were not associated with any reconstruction.  Additionally they sent pictures to what appeared to be a mold substance.  

8/12 Spoke to Mrs ****.  She was very threatening and angry.  Said she paid $4000 of the bill and check was in the mail.  That was fair.  $2k deductible plus $4k.  Top end of our range.  She said if I make her pay full balance we would be sorry.  She said she would complain to anyone who listened.  I explained ********* pricing to her at this point.  Asked her to get her insurance companies copies to help prove that what we were charging was in deed how the industry worked.  She never supplied that copy.  Late in the day she called back  much calmer and nice.  Said she spoke to insurance and she would pay the entire balance.  I told her to wait until following week.  I said I would send out guys on Monday to recheck everything in her home.  We cut out drywall and re applied anti-microbial agent at no charge.  Customer was very happy.  I was going to try and stop out as courtesy Tuesday but was unable to.  I offered a $250 credit as a good will gesture.  Ms **** did not want to reschedule and paid her balance.  No further contact was made.

We have no reason to believe that the choice to not stay in the home is a responsibility of Roto-Rooter, as we were not the cause of the unfortunate water issue experienced at the home, or mold growth that would require evacuation of the home. We also do not debate that we are able to give back any amount of money we deem justified. We do not like seeing families in this type of emergency situation and we were trying to make a good will gesture, and show empathy for the fact that the insurance coverage on the home was not able to cover the entire scope of needed restoration.

Roto-Rooter was forthright in our dealings and the pricing sheet plainly stated that the actual cost would be determined by the actual work done (xactimate attached). All issues were in writing. We do empathize with the situation they are facing, but do not feel we are being dealt with fairly, and our reputation is being attacked. However, in the spirit of cooperation and good will, we are willing to offer an additional $250, but no further offers will be made.

There should be 3 pdf file attached to this response.

Thanks you so much for your time and attention.


Business Response:

After listening to phone recordings and fact checking other stated information, it appears that this difference of opinion will only continue, for reason that would be only speculation on my part. We still contend that our procedures were correct, the documentation is correct and we performed within industry standards.

I will grant the $1,750 refund requested. 

We will provide the insurance company with copies of the refund documents to ensure they are aware of the change in price. They paid based on the ********* invoice Roto-Rooter provided. They will likely be unconcerned, but we value our relationship with the insurance companies we work with on behalf of our customers, and want to ensure we continue the trust we have earned with them.

I will instruct our office manager to prepare the refund.

I apologize that the BBB was used in this manner, but greatly appreciate your time and attention to this matter.

Thank you,

Ron T*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  We appreciate the BBB facilitating a professional and respectful discussion.  We regret the time and attention that this took but we appreciate the fact that organizations like the BBB exist to foster communication.  We plan to contact our insurance provider and let them know about the check.  We will let them determine if we are owed anything.  This was never about money but about honesty and integrity in working with consumers.  Thank you again for the help.


****** ****

4/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Roto Rooter to get a bathtub drain unclogged yesterday at 6:10 pm. The gentleman that answered my call was extremely nice and friendly. I told him that my tub drain was clogged and wanted it fixed. He stated he could have someone out in 2 hours. I said perfect. 30 minutes later another gentleman called to tell me there was a technician in the area would be there in 15 minutes. He was also super nice and friendly. 20 minutes later the technician showed up. He appeared clean, put his shoe covers on before coming into my house. I showed him to the bathroom and told him the tub was clogged. He looked around, asked why my toilet water was blue and didn't understand that it was a bowl freshener. He then asked where the basement was, I took him downstairs. He looked up at the ceiling and asked me how long I owned the house. I told him I didn't and was a renter. He said he would clean the basement drain for $395.00. I told him I I didn't have that much money. He then looked at me and very rudely said" Why did you call us then?". I tld him I had never had problems with any drains in the house and that the only problem in 5 years was the tub drain that had my sons hair in it. He then asked how much money I had. I told him $100.00. He stomped back upstairs went back into the bathroom, asked me again if I was the homeowner- and I told him no again. He said the whole house needed to be snaked and cleaned out possible to the street. I told him thanks but no, I just wanted my tub unclogged. I started walking him out to the front door. He said he something in the truck that would unclog the drain but he couldn't do it. I went out to the truck and he handed me a box of 12 drain cleaner containers. He said it would unclog my tub and it was only $94.50. At this point I just wanted to tub to drain and unfortunately he knew I only had $100.00. I told him fine as long as it worked as I was tired with trying to get him to understand English, it was late...8 PM now and I felt pressured and uncomfortable. I wrote a check for the amount of $94.50. He gave me the 12 little bottles of drain cleaner and stated that he would be in touch to snake and camera the rest of the house when the tub got unclogged. I told him there wouldn't be any need to snake all the drains nor run a camera, he asked me again why I had called them then. As I had stated- the gentleman answering the phone and making the contact call were extremely friendly- the plumber was anything but friendly. He was rude, hard to communicate with and a bully. In the end, I have 12 bottles of expensive drain cleaner and I had to take the drain apart and unclog it myself.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what I would like. Maybe an explanation from the owner as to why this happened

Business Response:

I have received this complaint, thank you for you time and attention to this.

We have called this customer and left a message on voicemail, and will update this concern once we make contact.

Thank you!



Consumer Response: ******* ******
6:13 AM

to me 
Hi ******,
I spoke with the manager at Roto Rooter yesterday. I am extremely happy with the responses from them. They are going to refund my money in full on Tuesday. I'm not sure what to do next as far as my complaint. Can it be earmarked as resolved to my satisfaction?
Thank you

12/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I had glass block windows installed in my basement the installer told me I should have routine maintenance done on my window well drains. There was no problem with the drains. I called Roto Rooter to do the routine maintenance The serviceman came with a huge truck/equipment. He did not properly inform me of the danger to using this equipment. After he worked on the drains we went to the basement so that he could do the drain by my washing machine. When we walked down the steps we saw muddy water pouring into my basement. He said, "How did that happen? Where did that come from?" I never had anything like that happen before or since that time. The next day I talked with Ron T*****, Service Manager, who said, "Yes, the equipment is very powerful and can sometimes cause this kind of problem." Had I been told that PRIOR to the work being done, I would NOT have proceeded. I paid Roto Rooter $625.00 for their work (that caused the problem!) and I had to pay Your Drying Solutions $1,620.00 to clean up the flooding. (Roto Rooter quoted $2,500.00 for this same clean up.)I want to be re-imbursed.

Desired Settlement: Roto Rooter needs to pay for the clean-up cost, at least.

Business Response:

Please see attached Word document.

Thank you!

Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 12/9/15.

December 8, 2015
Better Business Bureau
Cleveland, Ohio

RE: Complaint # ********

Dear Ms. ******,

The customer had window well drains that were severely blocked up and a window block contractor recommended that she get them jet cleaned out. Ms. **** told our dispatcher, technician, two managers and a field supervisor that the contractor to her the drains were clogged and backed up and that they needed to be jetted out. Routine maintenance was never mentioned, nor was it what was needed or what Ms. **** authorized to be done. 
Our tech arrive and surveyed the situation. He discover the need for and made recommendations for four procedures. These recommendations and pricing were accepted and signed for by Ms. ****.
Ms. **** signed our standard agreement, which has the warnings and limits of liability as part of it. Ms. **** did not inform us that the underground drain pipes, on her property, were compromised before we began the service.
There was no way for her to see that they were compromised. Just as there was no way for our technician to know either. This is why the exception to our responsibility exists.
The equipment we use is designed to professionally clean drain lines. In this case, the only equipment that would have done the job was a hydro-jet that uses high pressure water to clear then clean the drain lines. However, if the customer’s drain line is flawed or broken that water with exit the line. There would be no way to stop it. During our later visit, Ms. **** understood this. It is not due to negligence. It is due to faulty pipes. 
Our tech began to jet the lines, but found that he could not get through the line and that there must be an issue or obstruction within the line. 
When the tech and customer went back into the basement mud had come through in the areas that had been wet. Our tech called the Roto-Rooter water restoration department. When they arrived, and a clean-up estimate was given for $2,500. She felt this was too expensive and declined. (She said she eventually choose ServiceMaster because they were cheaper.)

Ms. **** called me the next day, September 18, and felt that we might be responsible for her issues, or at least needed an explanation for what had happened. I scheduled an appointment for September 21. I went with our Excavation Manager, Steve *******, and our Excavation Estimator, *** ******. After examining the line and the situation, Steve did a great job of explaining that this was an issue with the foundation drain-lines and waterproofing. Ms. **** was very appreciative and felt she had a substantial amount of knowledge to work with. She also understood that the mud was a result of the compromised drain line, and possible need for waterproofing. We gave her some professional advice and what her next steps might be. She was disappointed that we did not do the kind of work that she needed, but was grateful for the education. We had a very pleasant and productive meeting.

Ms. **** called me on October 2. She stated that she has been working with her insurance company on the drainage problems she is having. When she told her agent that she had mud come through and had ServiceMaster clean it up. He told her that she should make Roto-Rooter pay for the clean up since the mud was not there prior to our service call. 
I asked her what Roto-Rooter negligence her agent had seen, or if he felt that we had not followed common plumbing practices. She replied, "he just said that since the mud was not there before we got there, it should be Roto-Rooter's responsibility". I reminded her of our visit and what we found, and that our equipment is specifically designed to clean these drain lines, but if the drain line is compromised the pressure of the water will escape from the pipe. There is no way for us to know this in advance because the line was blocked and a camera could not be introduced into the pipe prior to the service.

I declined responsibility, reminding her we had not violated any common plumbing practices or been negligent in any way. I would not authorize payment of the clean-up bill. I also reminded her that Roto-Rooter has our own water restoration department, and had it been our responsibility we could have cleaned it up ourselves, at cost. 

She is a very nice lady and knows we did well by her, but I feel she is not able to lay aside the comments made by her insurance agent that we must somehow be responsible. 
Ms. **** asked me to file a claim higher up the organization or our insurance company. I let her know that I would, but that they would also want to know how we were negligent in our actions.

I filed this claim, and after looking at the facts and pictures, our insurance handler denied the claim. They also concluded that no negligence occurred and common plumbing practices were followed. 

This was an unfortunate occurrence resulting from a physical issues that existed on the property prior to our arrival.

I initially thought I would like to offer a refund of all the jetting work done ($495.00), as an attempt at good will and cooperation. Ms. **** paid us $625 to accomplish several needed tasks, including the jetting of the drain lines in question here.

All the other tasks went normally and with good results, but I would be willing to refund all the money paid by Ms. ****. This would be a full refund of $625.00, to be credited back to her credit card.

Thank you for your time and assistance with this matter.


Ron T*****
Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Business Response:

Please see the attached.

Thank you!

Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 12/9/15.

Cleveland, Ohio

Complaint number #********

Dear Ms. ******,

Out of respect for Ms. ****, and I sincerely mean that, I do not wish to proceed with a debate of semantics. Much of what is being recalled with the passage of time is out of context or perhaps misunderstood. 
However, what is not in doubt is that I did not offer to have cleaned up the mess at Roto-Rooter expense, nor did anyone from our office, as this was not a case of negligence. This deabte comes from the suggestion of someone outside of the plumbing field. Ms. **** was in complete understanding when we left her home on September 21.
Had negligence been involved, we would have immediately taken charge of the clean-up process.

Had the drain line been in serviceable condition when we arrived, the water would not have escaped it. If the water does not escape the drain pipe this is not an issue. 
The service simply exposed a pre-existing condition.

This Roto-Rooter office performs this type of hydro-jetting service 10 – 25 times per week. This service was performed in the same manner, and within normal plumbing procedure and practice. The hydro-jet equipment is designed to clean drain lines and does not damage them. The pressure moves along the path of the drain line. 

There is no way for us, or anyone, to see a pipe that is several feet underground. 

I have already offered more than Ms. **** paid for the hydro-jetting service. I do not feel any additional funds are warranted. We also did not charge for the visit on September 21, where consultation and professional advice was rendered. 

I completely regret that this has become an issue, and that a professional from the insurance industry has hurt the trust Ms. ****e had in us. To do any more than I have already offered would require me to file another claim with our insurance handler, and I would have to change my account of the situation and ask four other employees to alter theirs. I believe we all gave truthful and accurate details of our findings. I am not comfortable in straying from those accounts. 

As an additional effort of good will, I will maintain my offer to refund the money paid for all the services provided, including those tasks that went without incident. I will also send Ms. **** a letter authorizing a $150.00 discount off a future plumbing need.

I sincerely believe we are being fair and hope this helps resolve this issue. 

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Ron T*****
Roto-Rooter Services Company

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******* ****

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dominion Gas informs us of leaks in our gas lines and recommend we get a plumber. We went on-line and sought help from Roto Rooter.Plumber 1, Bill, arrives our home at about 8:30 am 6/9/15. He explains the process of running tests for leaks on the gas lines and states he can only start work when payment has been received. This process lasted over 1.0 hour.He gives us a quote of $285 to test the gas lines and locate any leaksOnce leaks are located, the cost to repair each leak will be $100 on top of the base fee of $285.00Papers were signed for the above base quote of $285.00Plumber did not give us a copy of the signed quote And a check of $285 was given to the plumberPlumber 1 connects his testing device at the end of the main gas meter outside the house Plumber 1 starts testing the gas lines and confirms Dominion gas findings that there is a leak on the linesPlumber 1 tests for leaks on all exposed joints in the house Exposed joints and valves were found behind the Dryer, Stove, around the Water boiler and furnaceNo leaks were found on any of these exposed jointsPlumber 1 recommends changing out all the valves on the gas line, one at a time Plumber 1 gives us a quote of $240 if he changes only the first valve and the second valve will cost an additional $175. If all 4 valves were changed the cost will be $600. We did find this quote over priced and mentioned to him that the quote of $600 for 4 valves was way too high. He however said he only had 2 valves with him.Anyway we agreed and initialed the paper work we signed prior to him starting work for the additional quote of a maximum of $600 for 4 valves.He changed the first valve behind the Dryer and tested the gas line and the results still detected a leakWe complaint that the charge of $600 was too high, and at this rate we are afraid we could not afford the service with him. Then he makes an offer that, he will change just 2 valves and plug the others for $300 to locate the leak and go from thereAt this point we asked Plumber 1 if all valves are changed and no leaks found, what the next steps and cost would be? The plumber 1 said the drywall ceiling and wall would have to be pulled down so as to access the other hidden joints for testing. We asked for how much? Plumber 1 said for up to $2500. Then we said that quote was too expensive and we reiterated that we could not afford. With the help of our own stepped ladder, we looked up into the ceiling space and pointed out that we could hardly see more than 20ft of piping in the ceiling space of this small laundry room. At this point he said using his plumber rates for demolition made it that expensive.As a cost savings measure, we offered to take down the walls and ceiling dry wall boards ourselves to expose all joints in the ceilings and walls.Still worried about the cost, we asked if we pull down the walls and ceilings and all joints found therein still come back without a leak, what the next step would be? Plumber 1 said he would then have to re-pipe.We asked how much the re-piping would cost. And he said the maximum cost would be $4600.00. We told Plumber 1 that we thought the value of the work would be under 50% of what he was quoting.Plumber 1 then said he could not even tell what the cost would be until he finds the leak and until then could not be definite.Again we said we could not afford the quote he was giving us At this point we inquired about financing with Roto-Rooter and Plumber 1 said yes Roto-Rooter does financing. Plumber 1 asked if my credit was good and I said not good.Plumber 1 said he did not have a credit application on him but will bring one the next day.Plumber 1 then said he would get some other plumber to come with him the next day along with the credit application.At plumber 1s request, we opened up some portion of the drywall to the outside and to the ceiling. He checked the connections and as awaited, there was no leak point detected. End of day one 6/9/2015Before the plumber departed there was an agreement in place on a number of issues as follows:We were to pull down the dry walls boards of the subject walls and ceilings to expose the covered up joints to expedite the work.Plumber will bring in a credit application just in case it will be required.He will advise us of any changes in the work order, we will have to approve, make payments before the work would proceed.Plumber 1 informed us he would be bringing another plumber with him the next day. We never inquired more about the second plumber but we were made to understand plumber 2 has been a plumber longer than Plumber 1 (Bill).Next Day, Day Two 6/10/2015Both Plumbers come in at ~09:15 AMPlumber 1 did not bring the credit applicationWe took down the dry walls and ceilings exposing the buried jointsPlumber 2 found 2 leaks on 2 joints that had been tested the previous day and another leak found in the garage ceiling leading to the stove up stairsAll 3 joints were fixed and testing ran on the gas line still indicated a leak.At this point 6/10/2015 at about 3pm, noting that we had not yet received any quote, we asked Plumber 1 if he had now gotten to the point where he could give us the quote for re-piping.He said, If it were just that with no further work, then it would be $3,000. We reminded him that the quote was still too high and we will not be able to afford it.Plumber 1 told Plumber 2 that there is no money and they should stop. They continued however.When Plumber 2 did another test on the gas line and it failed again, Plumber 2 decided to test his testing device and connection of the testing device to the piping. At that point a leak was found at the joint connecting the testing device to the gas line. Once the leak on the testing device was rectified, and tests ran on the gas line, no more leaks were foundDespite the fact that we kept telling Plumber 1 that the quote was too high, the plumbers still went on and changed the main pipe carrying gas from the main meter into the propertyDespite our

Desired Settlement: Billing Adjustment: We were given an invoice of $3000.00 and we know that the figure is over pricedThe quote was $285 for testing the gas line and $100 to fix each leaky joint foundA quote of $600 for 4 valves which was later amended to 2 valves for $300 and plugging the Water heater and the furnace was agreed upon before he proceeded with the work. Plumber 1 did change the valve behind the dryer and the stove and plugged the water heater and furnace.We dispute the cost of material ($500.00). No receipts were presented to usConnection of the testing device was loose and not a leaky joint on the gas line so we cannot be charged for that.Explanation of ChargesWe need an detailed breakdown of how the plumber came up with the $3000.00 when the above signed and initialed quote was in place.We need proof of purchase of the material

Business Response:

From: Ron T*****<Ron.T*****>
Date: Fri, Jun 19, 2015 at 5:16 PM
Subject: Complaint #********
To: lindal@cleve****

Dear Ms. ****

Thank you for your assistance with this issue.

Mrs. **** had her gas service shut off by the gas company, and it could not be reinstated until it passed a gas pressure test. She called us for service, this type of service requires and experienced gas certified plumber. The service being turned off was verified by the presence of a lock having been placed on the gas meter by the gas company.

Bill, our plumber, who is called plumber 1 in the complaint, called me several times through this service and kept me personally updated. He was extremely concerned about this customers willingness to pay very early on, therefore he was very diligent in explaining what was going on and documenting it. We decided to keep the customers need to get their gas service re-instated, as our top priority, but to ensure we were forthright throughout the entire process.

The problems with the gas line were far beyond that of our normal gas line service call and required extensive work to repair. Unfortunately, a gas pressure test does not show where the leak(s) are, only that gas is leaking. Due to this fact you cannot give a complete and total price up front, as you have no way of knowing the number of leaks or work required. It is a process. She demanded a not to exceed amount. It was calculated to not exceed $4,600. She thought that was expensive, and we advised her to call another plumber to have the work done. She asked several times on who to call then. We do not want to be held accountable for anyone else's work, so we do not make recommendations of our competitors.
Mrs. **** declined to call another company, but said she was interested in making payment. We do not offer a payment plan, but have a finance company that is able to help some of customers with large repair needs.

The issues were so numerous and involved that Bill, plumber 1, said he would have to gets some very experienced help in order to get there service reinstated. Mr **** choose to do the structural demotion work (getting inside walls, etc) to save the cost of paying the plumbing rate. Plumber one has supplied pictures of Mr. **** engaged in this work.

The very next day, Bill brought a 20+ year licensed master plumber with him to complete the repairs. Total hours for this job, for both plumbers was over 26 hours. 18 hours for plumber 1, 8.5 hours for plumber 2. I have verified these hours through our GPS system. The going rate for a reputable, insured plumber is $120 - $195 per hour. After taking out the initial $285 pressure test fee, we charged only $90.00 per hour.

Our service ticket was signed giving us authorization for the work and associated cost. The consumer also signed the statement of completion and satisfaction at the conclusion of the service. I have attached a copy for your review.

After the service was complete we were not paid and given several reasons why not and promises of payment. Lori, are accounts receivable rep, called Mrs **** and explained that we needed payment, as the service was complete. She was asked if we could take a post dated check. We cannot take post dated checks.
Lori reminded her of the finance option. She declined and said she would leave a check in her mailbox for Bill to come get.

When Bill returned to the home there was no check in the mailbox. While there e confirmed that the gas service had been re-instated, and that the gas meter lock had been removed.

Mrs. **** has asked for proof that materials were purchased. That fact that the repairs passed the gas company test would attest to this and I have attached receipts of some of the purchased materials. Other materials were used from the two plumbers truck stock, so no receipt is available, as they carry these parts with them daily. We, as most companies, mark parts and materials up at a times 2 rate. This mark up covers ordering and inventory time/costs, freight costs, truck stock, sales tax and labor and vehicle costs for going to get them.

We were well below the not to exceed figure that was agreed to.
We were promised the money on a number of occasions.
We have a signed authorization of work and agreement to pay.
We have a signed completion and satisfaction statement.
The gas was re-instated to the home.  
We charged below standard rate to help these people as inexpensively as possible.
The customer admitted that they just do not have the money, due to her going to school. She told Lori that putting a lien on her property was fine, as long as she was not expected to pay additional for it.

I do not believe we should reduce our already reduced rates. We were extremely forthright with this customer. Both Roto-Rooter and two of our best plumbers financially sacrificed to go above and beyond for this customer.
I understand that the repair was unexpected and funds were not set aside for this type of need, but the responsibility should not be shouldered by the individuals who came to help.

(attachments included)  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We will only pay for what we agreed to $285 to start, $600 for 4 valves which did not have to be changed (nothing was wrong with the valves) and $100 per defective joint plus material. Nothing more!


**** ****** ****


Business Response: We would respectfully decline Mrs. ****'s offer. 

We believe we went above and beyond in helping the ****s and charged them a very reasonable rate for the needed work.
Thank you so very much for your assistance.

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were to clean our main sewer drain. The tech stated that our pipe was old and smaller than now adays. He changed the large cutter on the snake with the small cutters (this was fine). He then changed the cutter back to the bigger one...ran the snake in got stuck..he got it released and ran the snake that point the snake kinked up in the pipe. He called his supervisor out...before the supervisor showed up, the tech tried to release the kinked snaked by having it go forward and backward with the machine as well as pulling on it. The snake snapped off in the drain..(the tech spliced it back together) the supervisor showed up. They ran the camera down to see what was happening. You could see the kinked snake but the supervisor said that happened because our pipe was broke and the big cutter caught it. The supervisor told us for $5000 they would come out and fix the pipe and release the kinked snake. We said..they should do it for 1/2 if not free of charge since the tech knew not to use the big cutters. The supervisor said to the tech...your only option is to cut the snake at the basement and leave it in there. So now I really have a clogged main line and we had to still pay for the initial cleaning.

Desired Settlement: I want my pipe fixed...the snake removed. And not charged $5000 for what was the techs negligence since he himself stated the pipe was small.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

First, I want to put the matter of the initial charge to rest. I have authorized the full amount ($363.93) to be refuded back to the credit card that was used.

To address the concern about an under-sized drain pipe, I am not sure why they believe that, as the camera inspection verified it as a standard size drain line. This misunderstanding may have come from the fact that the clean out opening ws undersized for that size drain line, but this would not cause the cleaning blade to get stuck further down the line.   

The cables and blades that Roto-Rooter use are manufactured to go throgh and clean drain lines. For them to get stuck almost always is a result of the drain ine being in disrepair. If the drainline is in dsrepair, the cable can then exit the line and get stuck in the surrounding materilas, or if the clay tile is boken, the cabe/blades can get lodged on the broken materials. The fact that this happens, we have the customer sign our service ticket and a"hold hamless" agreement. These educate the customer before hand of the potential risk. We want our customers to be aware, and have the opportunity to decline a service if the risk is not acceptable. 

After the cable was stuck, **** *******'s husband stated that they had had issues with this drainline in the past, and that a  problem existed in the line, but that they were always able to get the line open. Unfortunately, the line has now reached a point of disrepair where it became clogged but also will no longer allow a cable to pass through. This is not uncommon, as roots and the surrounding ground weight / pressure will continue to damage, crush and weaken the line until it eventually collapses. This is not the fault of either party, it is just part of the aging process of our homes.

Therefore, I do not believe our technician is gulty of negligence. Most likely, the needed repairs have reached the point of no longer allowing a cable to safely pass through and return. As stated before, I hve already credited **** *******'s credit card. In addition, as an attempt of good will, I would offer a 12% discount of the cost of the needed repair, which would also allow for the removal of he cleaning cable.

Again, thank you very much for you time rgarding this situaion.

Ron T*****


I would like to add additional information to my response to the complaint mentioned above. 

Today I was able to view the sewer camera inspection recording of **** *******'s drainline, that has our cable stuck in it. 

The *******'s have said that others have been able to open the drain line with a problem. However, the video clearly shows that another sewer cable was already stuck in the line. The cable is of a different size and contrast to our cable. 
We were not made aware of this prior to us putting our cable in the line. Obviously putting a second cable in the line would cause the two cable to twist on each other and bind up. 

We should have been made aware of this before we were asked to cable clean the drainline. Had we been told a cable was already stuck in there, we would declined to put ours in, and would have recommended a sewer camera inspection to identify the issue. This cost us $257.04 to replace the cable lost. 

There is no negligence on the part of our technician. In light of this new information, I would still be willing to work with **** ******* on a solution to her problem, but not at the significant discount that I offered in my original response. 

Thank you for your assistance in this matter. 


Ron T***** 
Roto-Rooter Services Co. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


****** *******

I have read what roto-rooter is saying and they are without a doubt wrong.  The only snake in that pipe is theirs, from their negligence.  When we looked with the camera with the tech and supervisor being right there it showed the techs snake crossed over itself.  In fact that's what the tech and supervisor had said.  There is NO other (nor was there ever) another snake broken in there.  And if there was....we would of had it fixed and would not be in this terrible predicament.  My husband and I are not out to take advantage of any company nor anyone.  And we expect the same from a company or person as well. 


Business Response: I believe it might be best to schedule a time to meet and view the recording on a screen with better visual resolution. I believe this will help everyone see what we are seeing. I any case. If the situation was solely a Roto-Rooter employee's negligence we will take responsibility for removing the cable. However, if the line is broken or comprimise we will be glad to work with the customer in a suitable resolution. 

Thank you,
Ron T***** 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


****** *******

In regards to this matter....we have already taken care 

of this issue on our part.  The plumber we used did NOT
find another cable/snake in the drain/pipe.  And according 
to him, he belives that your cable/snake/tech/company is/was
responsible for if not part/all the damage.  We rented a ($408 .00) camera/locator and ironically the cable/snake was NOT where your
supervisor said it was.  I have attached pics of the one and only
cable /snake removed from drain/pipe as well as pic of where your 
company claimed the cable/snake was (right hand side) as opposed
to where the cable/snake actually was (left hand side).


Business Response:

Thank you for the follow up.  Although I do not wish sewer problems on anyone, I am glad that the drain line has been repaired, as it has been giving them problems for several years. I am sure this repair will bring some welcomed peace of mind. 

I apologize that our technician charged for the initial service, since there was still an issue with the line. 
I am attaching the receipt for the full refund. The refund was made to the mastercard we were provided, in the amount of $363.93. 

Thank you for your time and assistance. 

Ron T***** 
Roto-Rooter Services. 

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11, 2014, Roto Rooter sent me a proposal regarding a repair that needed to be done on my Fairview Park house which is rented. The renter complained that the drains were backing up. Roto Rooter had someone inspect, who said that the toilets should not be flushed, since it will back up. I told Farmer's Insurance that Roto Rooter said it is an emergency and that it will cost $7,300 to seal leaking joints with a 4' and 2' pipe patch; and it will need high pressure water jet to clear the backup. Farmers could not send out their appraiser until the work was completed, but stated to go ahead with the job, since it seems to be an emergency although I advised Farmers Insurance of the charges. I allowed Roto Rooter to charge my credit card the full amount, since I was under the impression that the insurance company would pay for it and because they advised me to go ahead. Roto Rooter did complete the work. Meanwhile, since I live in *******, I was not able to sign the agreement in person, so I had my brother sign. The only paper he signed was the first page, which did not show the charge of $7,300.I called other plumbing companies in the area, who said that $7,300 was an excessive amount for the work that was proposed. They would not pay more than $3,000. I disputed $4,300 of the $7,300 on my Discover card. I had not heard anything since then, until April 28, 2014 when I received my statement that reposted the $4,300. The Discover representative told me they sent me a letter on March 27, 2014, which I did not receive. Since it is past the deadline for disputing, I am stuck with this added amount. The insurance company notified me that since this was a maintenance issue and not an actual emergency, which Roto Rooter led me to believe, they will not cover the cost. Meanwhile, the renter has complained that the drains are still moving slowly. Roto Rooter completed the job without tearing up the basement floor, which took only two half days to complete. $7,300 is excessive!

Desired Settlement: I have paid the $3,000 of the $7,300, but would like to have the $4,300 refunded to my Discover card immediately. I think that would be more than fair. The $7,300 is absolutely ridiculous and I will take further measures if this is not resolved as soon as possible.

Business Response:


Thank you for your assistance with this issue.

We can empathize with Ms. *****s' situation with her insurance company. However, we provided a valuable service and after review the below response, I believe you will agree the charges are fair and the work was professional, and actually saved Mrs. *****s a number of other issues and money. I will address them in order that they appear in Ms. *****s' complaint.

In February, we responded to the service call for **** *******, in *********, ****. After diagnosing the problem, including the use of a fiber optic sewer camera, we provided Mrs. *****s with an estimate for the needed repair services.

We showed the problems to her brother, Mr. **** *****s. Then came back the next day to show the issues to her insurance company.

Mrs. ****** authorized the work and charges, and had her brother sign the work order authorization. Mrs. *****s mentions that he only sined the first page, which is true, as we only have a very simple one page form. The charge listd on the form is $7,326.00. While entering the job into our system a data entery error occured and $7,300 was enter, rather than the $7,326.

Mrs. *****s mentions that Farmers Insurance has declined to pay for the services, due to the problem being maintenance rather than emergency. I cannot comment on this aspect of the complaint, as I do not know the coverages afforded in her policy, nor were we working for the insurance company. This service issue was called into us, and we responded. We did not deem it to be an emergency or maintenance for insurance purposes.The tenants seemed to feel it was an emergency, since they could not get their waste water to drain out of the home.

Mrs. *****r had another plumbing company come out and see the work we were doing. It was Royal Flush plumbing. Once their representative saw the extent of the repair, and the fact that it would require digging up the basement floor, which also would have required disconnecting and moving the furnance, he said "wow, no wonder it costs so much, and we don't have that pipe patch stuff". Which is true, as we are he only company in Cuyahoga county that has it, as it is a newer technology that requires a financial investment and a very thorough technique. The lead technician on this job is a 30+ year licensed plumber.

It was the installation of two of these patches that allowed us to NOT have to break up the basement floor in Mrs. *****s' property, and allowed a repair of the main drainline of the home. This also relieved the need to disconnect and displace the furnace. The temperatures in ********* were below freezing. Removing the furnace in this home would have created a heating problem for the residents of the home,and subjected the above ground water lines to freezing temperatures - possibly causing additional problems. A third patch was installed near the test tee, at the front of the property. Besides fixing part of the drainage issue, this repair also prevented digging up the front yard, causing additional landscaping costs and possible sidewalk repair.    

This was not the typical sewer line repair the another company would have assumed in a phone conversation, without having seen the issues. I can confidently say none of our competitors could have or would have done this work, especially for $3,000. All others would have had to be far more invasive.

We received a letter of dispute from Discover Card. We addressed the concerns and provided a copy of the signed work authorization (authorizing the work and charges), and the signed completion statement (stating complete satisfaction of the described work).

Th renters, and Mrs. *****s called on April 30, 2014, stating that the kitchen sink and bathroom sink were not draining properly. A service call was scheduled for 12:00 - 2:00 pm that same day. We dispatched one of our most experienced plumbers and he arrived at 1:00 pm. *****, the tenant, showed him the kitchen sink, and that the water did not drain very well from the side with the garbage disposal. It drain perfectly from the other side. He examined the garbage disposal, and found that it was not plugged in, and that the outlet it had been in had black "burn" marks on it. He asked, but ***** did not know what had happened, or why it was unplugged. He plugged the disposal into another outlet and turned it on. It ground up what was in it, and the water then drained properly from that side as well. He recommended that they have an electrician look at the outlet.

She then took him to the bathroom sink. It was draining very slow. He found that the pop up stopper was pushed well down into the drain hole. He showed her how to use it and tested the water flow. It now drained properly. She thanked him. There was no charge for this service visit and the remedies delivered.

I hope this helped clarify the facts and extent of the needed repairs, and demonstrates that the repairs were effective, and the charges were not excessive.

Thank you again for your time and attention to this matter.

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.




Business Response:

Please see the attached rsponse.

Thank you!

Business response copied and pasted below by BBB staff 6/3/14.

June 3, 2014

******* ******
Trade Assistant
Better Business Bureau, Inc.
2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408
RE: Complaint ID 10029279

Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for your continued assistance with this matter.

In reading all the information, I believe the true complaint is with Ms. ******’ insurance company, or in the policy that she had covering the property. However, this is only my opinion. I again can empathise with her situation

I believe Ms. ****** is also the recipient of some poor information, from some contractors and plumbers. None of these “advisors” are qualified to give pricing information on Pipe Patch, as they have never been trained/authorized for its purchase or use. One of Ms. ******’ contractors gave her a written estimate for completing the same service we did, for $630.00. (attached) It also states that the patches can be simply purchased at the hardware store. 

I am attaching a letter from Source One Environmental, the manufacturer and supplier of the Pipe Patch technology. I believe this letter will help show the poor quality of the information being given.

Ms. ****** states that Roto-Rooter is mentioned on a consumer watch web site. Roto-Rooter does appear on there. A business of any size and scope will have disputes with consumers. It is an unfortunate part of business and serving the public. I sincerely believe that most Roto-Rooter offices do a great job of working with the thousands of customers we help everyday.
Under further review, a number of Ms. ******’ information sources also appear on that site.

Roto-Rooter is the largest plumbing company and therefore is a large target for all the competitors in this industry. Their claims against us are another unfortunate part of doing business in a highly competitive field. I respect what they do, but they are not in an educated position to assist Ms. ******.

Ms. ****** alludes to considerable investment of time, training and a great deal of capital into a technology that can be a great solution for the tough problems home owners face – the Pipe Patch system. This is very true, we have, and we are proud that we can bring the best solutions to our customers. But she seems upset that we would charge for that technology. Taking the risk and making the investment is the essence of being in business. You have to charge for it. If not, why invest and make it available to consumers? It did eliminate the considerable mess that she would have faced by having to dig up the concrete basement floor, and outside grass and soil. Other customers have been thrilled with this outcome, and the reduced expense it rendered.

Roto-Rooter’s size and length of time in business gives us the ability to offer the best guarantees in the business and be around, long term, to back them up. Investment and revenue provides that ability. Our charges are fair and have provided customer care for over 75 years.

Again, I know this was a traumatic experience and an expense that was thought to be covered by insurance. The fact that it was not a covered repair must be very frustrating. 
e gave an estimate, sent the relevant paperwork and only began work after the Work Order Authorization was signed by Ms. ******’ brother, **** ******, her appointed representative. We could have waited indefinitely to make the repair, but the work and charges were accepted. We went to work immediately. I believe the family living in the home appreciated that they were again able to use their facilities, and were not displaced from the house for the repair.

Mr. ****** also signed that the described work was done to his complete satisfaction.



*** ******
Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Consumer Response:

Please tell me what more clarification you might need.  I emailed all the information, as well as a letter explaining everything in detail, I thought.

Please see the letter that I sent to ******* ******.


5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: If you are thinking about using Roto Rooter, please think again. One of my clients had ponding water on their roof and it was leaking at the drain. It was imperative to get the water off of the roof so I called Roto Rooter out there. They came out and told me the water needed to be pumped off of the roof with a commercial pump. They did not have an account with my client and they needed payment before any work was to be done. To expedite things, I gave them my credit card number which they charged immediately. My client witnessed the conversation that the Roto Rooter technician was going to buy a commercial pump and pump all of the water off of the roof. I was not on site, but my client said they muddled around for about 30 minutes and left the site. No pump was purchased and the water was still on the roof. However they made sure they charged my credit card $495 for 30 minutes of standing around. I called them the next day to find out if they were coming back and by this time it was a moot point because the rain had stopped. They claimed they were to "jet" the water off of the roof and that their job was done. I didn't even know what "jetting" was and surely would have asked. I found out later you cannot jet water off of a roof if the drains are clogged. They mentioned to my client that the drains were clogged so it is not even a logical excuse. After talking with them on the phone, I tried to be as diplomatic as possible, but they proved to be the MOST unprofessional company I have ever experienced and inappropriately rude. They got my credit card number and pretended to do something for 30 minutes and left. The beautiful thing about this is that I have a witness that was on site who both heard the conversation on the phone and was there the whole time. If I am not issued a full refund, I will be suing. It is only $495, but it is the principle at this point and these companies should NOT be able to get away with this!

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $495

Business Response:

Dear *******,

Thank you very much for you time and attention to this issue. I apologize for the time it is taking from you.

I believe if you research our relationship with the BBB, and the responses to any customer issues, we are always very responsinve and reseptive to giving the benefit of the doubt to a customer, and at the very least an extensive investigation. We value our customers and our reputation highly.

This particular case is filled with a great deal of impropriaty and manipulation. I have been advised not disclose all of the information we have, as it is likely to be used in a legal action against Mr. *******, for libel, as he has rendered this in writing, to the BBB, a platform which will have a negative and lasting impact on our business and the reputation that we take so seriously.

I am attaching a time line of events for your review. This time line was made by **** ******* who is referred to in the complaint as a sales person. He is actually our Plumbing Manager and has been a lincesed plumber in the State of Ohio for over 30 years. Statements and information is also included for our plumber, that was assigned to this job, ******* ******, a licensed plumber for 20 + years.

Our offer of resolution, is for Mr ******* to rescind this "complaint" and refrain for further libel and slanderous statements. I will then advise our legal department that the matter is resolved and can be closed.

Again, I thank you so much for your time!

*** ******

Roto-Rooter Services Co.

Division Manager 

Response from plumbing manager copied and pasted below by BBB staff 11/8/13.

**** ******* Plumbing Mgr

Roto Rooter

5375 Naiman Pkwy

10/30/13 12:26PM

Returned call to *** ******, ----~Customer indicated that he wanted full refund from credit card for
services rendered on roof job.

Up to this point, *** has never identified himself. Finally after repeated questions as to who he was or
who he represented---He stated that he was with the garland Company. He mentioned Fairview Park
schools several times as if he was representing them.

The first time this job was in the system, l personally attempted to contact the number to get the proper
tech to the site. No answer was returned. Days later when the job was back on the board, ourjetter
went out to the site. I instructed (***** our jetter) not to do any work until it was authorized because
of the hard time we had in reaching this guy previously, -----which had no info, or history, or company...

September 4"‘ 11:12AM Service call placed "3 roof drains clg&repair the pipes to the roof drains
as well. Call with appointment time. " Made several attempts to set appointment for service-~~--
voided ticket September 13"‘.


Oct. 7 customer calls back. This time here is the ticket or work order called in by *** * ***** " 2
drains clog--lowest level roof drains." Request 1x bo $500.00.

When l saw this ticket pop up again three weeks later and requesting a one time credit, I informed our
jetter not to do any work until payment could be secured because Mr. * ***** was not returning calls
and was not part of the school but some unexplained third party.

*****, Roto Rooter jetter did what he was instructed to do. He finally secured payment from Mr. *
***** and we attempted to unclog the roof drains that were shown him. The lines were not able to be
opened and then Mr. ******* asked if we could put an industrial pump on the roof. He was told that for
an additional charge we could put a temporary sump pump on the roof. However this is where the
recollection goes out the window.

n Mr ******’ s letter to the BBB he is representing himself as some unknowing consumer not the
Roofing contractor. Mr. ******* now states he thought the jet was going to pump the water off the
roof, If he is a consultant for the school board in the building maintenance field and he has never heard
of a sewer jet, or by his own words does not know what a industrial pump is, or that he thinks the


solution for the clogged roof drains is to install an industrial pump on the roof, these are signs of
inexperience or incompetence----or maybe both.

Both service tickets that were called in by Mr. *******, requested roof drains to be unclogged.
There was no mention of a pump being installed on the roof and the request for the pump came only
after the attempt to unclog the roof drains failed with the jet.---------~--Maybe Mr ****** thought that
we take 150 thousand dollar pieces of equipment with two men, get on a customers roof and there is no
charge for this equipment and man power.

In addition to our two men on site and our attempt to jet line with our $150,000.00 Jet bus; we
went inside the building to attempt a different access point. My guy even went into the crawl space to
see if there was a cleanout for the storm system in there.

We were speaking of ways to make the pipe repairs or rerouting etc. when the Maintenance guy
suggested putting a pump on the roof. Jeff the school maint guy stated that they were not paying for
this service that the charges were to go to *** O’*****. When Mr. O’***** was informed of the price to
install sump pump for an additional 400.00 dollars he said no and said he was only paying for the jetting.

Our jet fees have been constant for over ?ve years-—--—we charge commercial customers $350.00 for
the first hour, and $260.00 for each additional hour. ln addition there should have been a second man
charge @ 97.00 per hour, due to the fact of going on the roof and needing the second man for safety

We were there for about two hours. We will be contacting Mr. *******’s superiors, for the deceptive,
sketchy, misleading practices stating that his client could not get an account with Roto Rooter, when
infact it was the school that said they were not paying for our services, Mr. ******* was to pay for our
services -—-in fact he was the one that called the service in.

Mr. ******* comes across as poor uneducated residential consumer, and big bad Roto Rooter was trying
to take advantage of this poor unsuspecting soul, when in fact he is a roofing contractor for Garland Co,
who has been less that forthright from the beginning.

Third Call

Cust did call back on the 8"‘ of October and requested us to return and install a pump------Mr. *******
had declined installing the pump, he stated he was only paying for the jet. Mr. ******* knew he had
declined the additional charges for the pump and when he was informed we needed an additional
400.00 dollars is when he got amnesia and had no idea the way the water was on the roof, or how the
water could be removed from the roof. Never mind the two previous tickets that asked us to unclog the
drains,-----now Mr. ******* is stating that the only thing he ever really wanted from Roto Rooter was to
install an industrial pump on the roof for his client. But wanted us to charge the school for the services.

p. 3

Whatever position or role he was playing with the school we still do not know. All I know at this point is
that he wants to use our services for his client and had no intentions of paying anything for the services.
And further more if his letter was trueful, and he really does not know what a jet is  then he has no
business over seeing or consulting a school for their roofing problems. We are the drain opening
business In addition if a drain cannot be opened then we give the customer options to make the water
go away. If the customer wants to go a different direction, repair thing s in house get another quote or
refuse additional charges for more work then we part ways.

They wanted a pump but did not want to pay for the pump.

As for Mr. ** ***** wanting to expedite the services, he extended his Credit card for payment-as stated
in his letter to theBBB ---The truth of the matter is the school told us flat out that Mr ******* was
getting the bill that was told us by the school. I do not understand that he gave RR his credit card as a
favor----Mr. ******* was the one responsible for paying for the services.

For the record-----we would have extended the school the account—we do it every day. But
the school told us that they were not paying for the services that were called in by Mr. *******.

As far as them hearing about a pump, the eye witness, There is no doubt they heard the
conversation about the pump--------What they did not hear on the other side of the conversation that
Mr. ******* stated in the phone he was only paying for the jetting and not pay the total of 800.00 for
the pump too.

As far as the Mr. ******* calling in and saying how rude he was treated, Mr. ******* called in to
my office phone, I put him on speaker because it just so happened that ***** was in my ofi?ce (the
letter), and the two of them gave their accounts of what transpired. l also reminded him of the past
attempts to reach the ghost caller Mr. ******* . This is when Mr. ******* began to state that he wanted
a refund because we did not install the pump, ***** stated that Mr. ******* declined to pay for the
pump, and just wanted to pay for the jetting. As the conversation continued he wanted to meet to
resolve the issue, he want to come to the office, l said l would prefer to go to the job site since this is
where the work was preformed and this is where the other individuals were that we spoke with. Then
Mr. ******* asked me what the address was»--this seemed strange since this was his customer. He
then stated he knew which property it was he just wants to know if we knew where the job was?????

At any rate the time was agreed as 1 PM on Friday-----Which Mr. ******* then stated" you better be
there or there is going to be trouble". Was that a threat? Friday came and he canceled the meeting.

We spoke again 12:36pm 10/30/13 and stated he wanted a full refund. It was only after all of these
dealings that he stated that he worked for a roofing company Garland Ind. I said that if he would like to
discuss a partial refund or reasonable compromise I would be happy to explore this option. He took the
hard line stance and this is where we are right now. I will continue to reach his company and give them
the facts of this unprofessional encounter with Mr. *******, the roofer for Garland ind.

Bottom line be Leery of Mr *****.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter Plumbing and Drain Services Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart