This business is not BBB accredited.

Pompeii's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Phone: (440) 937-6006 Fax: (440) 937-5559 View Additional Phone Numbers 33751 Lear Industrial Pkwy., Avon, OH 44011 http://www.pompeiis.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pompeii's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pompeii's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 07/03/2001 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Pompeii, President Mr. Henry Sterling, Vice President Ms. Maria Stewart, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Pompeii, President
Principal: Mr. Henry Sterling, Vice President
Business Category

Plumbers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Pompeii's Custom Plumbing Sterling's AC, Inc.
Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pompeii's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    33751 Lear Industrial Pkwy.

    Avon, OH 44011 (440) 937-6006

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Pompeii heating plumbing in avon because the condensation line to my central a/c unit was clogged and water was not draining properly. service techs came out and said my furnace and a/c had surpassed their life expectancy. (units are 19 years old) they charged the a/c and repaired the clogged pvc line. cost was 623.54. the a/c worked one time after they "repaired it". called them back they said the unit had burned up and needed replaced. I called and spoke to a supervisor several times asking for only the money refunded that I had paid for the a/c service they performed. no response in over a week. I did get the unit replaced by another company for several hundred dollars less than Pompeii's wanted to charge for a new unit. I think this company is a scam. they are more interested in selling you new units than repairing your existing units! beware of this company. call other companies before using this company. you will save a lot of money and headaches.

Desired Settlement: refund the money I paid for the a/c service

Business Response:

In response to the recent concern of Mr. ******, Pompeii's process and procedures on this service visit, dated 9-17-2015, were followed in accordance with our guidelines and handbook.  Pompeii's responded to a scheduled service call for Mr. ****** regarding an issue with the condensate drain line associated to the air conditioning system. During the visit, Mr. ****** had been given the option to purchase our USA Heating/Cooling Maintenance Program; under this program we provide a complete supreme maintenance of the system. While diagnosing the system on original service call issue, Pompeii’s found the freon charge on the system under the manufacturer specification's.  Mr. ****** was given the options by our service technician to place freon into system to bring up to specification's to review system function at normal operating capacity.  Also the option to place a liquid ultraviolet dye into the system to check for possible leak areas in the system, due to the low level of freon in the system during review of the unit initially. Mr. ****** agreed to these options and the services associated.  Within days, Mr. ****** called regarding an issue with the system. Pompeii's returned to find a mechanical failure to an operating component of the air conditioning system. An option to repair system had been provided as well as an option to replace unit due to age. Mr. ****** declined and another HVAC company was called out to diagnose unit as a second opinion. The second company provided same options and came in at a lower cost. Mr. ****** chose second company to replace unit as Pompeii's could not meet second company price for project. Pompeii's in this situation is willing to provide Mr. ****** with a refund. We are offering the refund in the amount of the task for the ultraviolet dye injection of $357.77.  It is our hope, this will be acceptable to Mr. ****** and allow for a positive business relationship. 

Sincerely,

******* ** *******


President

***** ******
Vice President- GM

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******


10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last week, we had our front yard worked on, sewers were repaired and so on, no problem with that, other than the fact, they dug up dirt, and have told us, its our problem to put the dirt back. Uh, no, its their responsibility, since they dug it up, put it back. Secondly, they told us they would have a cement company come out and replace the cement block in our driveway after it was cut out to work on the sewers. The gentleman said it would be done by Friday. Here it is the 6th of October, and nothing has been done! The level of incompentency runs high obviously in this company! If you say it will be done, then do it....We are to leave to go out of town on the 8th of October, and expect it to be done. If it is not done, we will go to the Social Media, and also contact legal aid to see what our rights are. This is absolutely ridiculous!

Desired Settlement: I want someone from some company to come out and fix whats wrong, is that too much to ask from companies? My mother is 91 years old and is terrible making business decisions, and she lets companies walk all over her. I, on the other hand, do not.

Business Response: Business responded to complaint.  See attached.

Business response also copied and pasted below by BBB staff 10/13/14.
October 10, 2014
Attention:  The Better Business Bureau, Inc.
                   2800 Euclid Avenue
                   Cleveland, Ohio         44115-2408
       
Re: Complaint ID #********
******* ******,
    This is in response to the letter received in regards to the complaint listed above. Pompeii’s to make every effort to ensure the proper communication in all areas of or service and repair department. The concrete work that was the final piece of this project had a short delay based on weather and other related factors. After further review it seems as this issue may have been resolved by additional communication on the dates the work would be completed. The concrete had been completed as of October 10, 2014 and job is complete. Pompeii’s will check back on the settling of the dirt in 3-5 months from the refill of the work area. It is our hope that the completion of the project and a copy of the photo taken of the work will bring this issue complete.
  
If you have any questions regarding this letter please feel free to contact our office.
Thank You,
******* ******
steve@pompeiis.com

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Earlier this year we signed a contract for A/C and Furnace servicing with Pompeii's in connection with the installation of a new humidifier on our furnace in March 2013. We had a scheduled visit in June 2013 for an A/C check up. However, at Pompeii's request, we were rescheduled twice and they finally arrived on 8/12/2013. While servicing our A/C unit the technician found that the air filter in our furnace was more than 3 years old as stated on the invoice from 8/12. This is crazy considering we spent more than $700 to have a humidifier replaced on the furnace that I was told was in fine working order in March 2013. Our A/C had been working fine all summer through the extreme heat until the A/C tech showed up. Now we have been without air conditioning and we were told on our invoice from 8/12/2013 that we need to spend over $3,500 to replace a unit that was working fine until the A/C guy came and "Checked it out." When I looked up the system online a standard system runs about $800 for the size that we need. I am an accountant and do not believe in coincidences. Therefore our A/C happens to stop working the day the A/C guy came to look at it and quoted us a ridiculously high price for a new unit makes me question this companies integrity. If they had arrived when originally scheduled in June maybe the A/C unit would have been a simple repair rather than a test and/ or replacement quote. They did off an alternative on the invoice stating that it would cost ~$600 to run some dye test and fix the problem that might exist. However the tech told my wife that it could end up costing well over ~$1,500 depending on the results of the dye test and that our system is 18 years old and would probably need replaced in a year or two after the repair. However the part about costing potentially ~1,500 to repair depending on the dye test results was left off the invoice as well as the potential for the system to fail in 1-2 years after the repair.

Desired Settlement: I want Pompeii's to fix our existing A/C unit at no cost and refund the remainder of our service contract.

Business Response:

Business responded to complaint.  See attached response and documents.
Business response also copied and pasted below by BBB staff 9/26/13.
September 2nd, 2013
Attention: Better Business Bureau, Inc.
2300 Euclid Avenue, 4"‘ Floor
Cleveland. Ohio 441 l5 -2408
Phone: 216-241-7678 /Fax: 216-861-6365
Re: Customer Complaint I.D# ** ** *** ***** ** ******
Dear Ms. ******.
This letter is in response to the complaint filed with your organization by the listed customer above Mr. **** ** ******. The letter from Mr. ****** states several points as listed and our response and time line for service and is as follows:

1. On 7/13/2010 Invoice #*****) Mr. ****** signed up for our USA Maint. Plan
2. On 7/13/2010 Invoice # ***** first tune-up was performed under the new maintenance plan for the air conditioning system. During this tune-up the filter was discovered to have been completely plugged with dirt and debris and had been replaced at approval of Mr. ******.
3. On 2/3/2011 Invoice #***** performed furnace tune-up under USA plan. This was the second system tune-up due under the USA maintenance plan due to Mr. ******. Also a recommendation was given and a proposal for a replacement humidifier on the heat/cool system. Mr. ****** stated they would get back to us regarding the humidifier.
4. On 6/29/2011 — Reminder postcard/follow up call for maintenance plan renewal - no response
5. On 7/17/2012 — Reminder postcard/follow up call for maintenance plan renewal — no response
6. On 11/28/2012 — Reminder postcard/follow up call for maintenance plan renewal — no response
7. On 1/14/2013 — Reminder postcard/follow up call for maintenance plan renewal - no response
8. On 2/7/2013 - Mr. ****** contacted our office to schedule an appt for Quote for new humidifier.
9. On 3/8/2013 - New humidifier was installed and Mr. ****** purchased a new USA maintenance plan.
10. On 3/21/2013 — Reminder postcard/follow up call for maintenance due for system — no response
11. On 4/20/2013 — Reminder postcard/follow up call for maintenance due for system - no response
12. On 6/14/2013 - Reminder postcard/follow up call for maintenance due for system — no response
13. On 7/16/2013 — Mr. ****** contacted Pompeii’s and scheduled l of 2 maintenance due for system.
14. On 7/22/2013 — Pompeii‘s contacted Mr. ****** to inquire on re-scheduling maintenance appt
15. On 8/12/2013 — Pompeii’s performed a/c maintenance on Invoice#47509, and options were provided to the customer for making a choice in regards to the issues found with system during system maintenance service. At that time customer declined and repairs due to financial based issue.

page 2.

Customer had been provided with three options for recommendations to the system and all choices had been declined. The air filter that had been removed during the tune-up to the system, was the original filter Pompeii‘s installed in 7/13/2010. These types of filter require replacement annually or semi-annually depending on the condition of the system. Even though Pompeii’s had not performed Maintenance on this system in more than 2 years, the home owner had never changed the filter.  Pompeii’s cannot take responsibility for the service we were unable to perform

Regarding service performed at the ****** residence on 8/12/2013, the air conditioning system was not running properly and is noted on the invoice and our maintenance tune-up sheets at the time of service. Mr. ****** was given three options for system repairs or replacement of the existing system.
Those options were declined by Mr. ****** due to lack of finances at that time. The replacement of the equipment was not the only option provided to Mr. ****** during this system maintenance visit. Pompeii‘s Plumbing ,& Heating stands behind the diagnosis, solutions and options provided to Mr. ****** in regards
to the air conditioning system. Pompeii’s Plumbing & Heating Co. Pompeii‘s has provided Mr. ****** with options to make the best decision as possible for his home. Pompeii‘s cannot take responsibility for a 13 year old system, that has not been properly maintained over the life of the equipment. Regarding price for the replacement of the system, we do not know what type or quality of equipment Mr. ****** found online. It is possible that Mr. ****** is unaware that because the system is 18 years old and runs on R-22 (which is outlawed on new systems) refrigerant, it will require the replacement of the entire air conditioning system consisting of the outdoor condenser and the indoor evaporator coil. This new system now requires R-401A refrigerant, which is not compatible with
R-22 or any other. I am confident that if Mr. ****** was to get additional proposals from licensed hvac contractors, he would find that our pricing is very competitive in the marketplace.

Regarding reimbursement, Pompeii’s would be happy to refund Mr. ****** the balance of the USA hvac maintenance plan which consists of one system tune-up remaining at the amount of $59.00.

Thank You,

******* ******
steve@pompeiis.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Pompeii's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart