BBB Accredited Business since

McPhillips Plumbing Heating & Air Cond.

Phone: (216) 481-1400 Fax: (216) 481-5481 View Additional Phone Numbers 16115 Waterloo Rd, Cleveland, OH 44110 http://www.mcphillips.comuf.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McPhillips Plumbing Heating & Air Cond. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McPhillips Plumbing Heating & Air Cond. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McPhillips Plumbing Heating & Air Cond.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1951 Business started: 01/01/1907 in OH Business incorporated 02/16/1954 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas McPhillips, President Ms. Erika Pankevich, Vice President/Treasurer, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas McPhillips, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Erika Pankevich, Vice President/Treasurer, Human Resources
Business Category

Plumbers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service

Additional Locations

  • 16115 Waterloo Rd

    Cleveland, OH 44110 (216) 481-1400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My house had drainage backup in the basement on April 1, 2013, which after the plumber from McPhillips came out, was fixed, but which again backed up into my basement within a week. The McPhillips people sent out 2 other plumbers, who said the first one did not completely finish snaking out the drains, so they did complete the job correctly the second time. They said there would be no charge for the second service. Unfortunately, the company not only charged me $195 for the first insufficient job, but they charged me again for the second one at $430.00. After disputing and talking to them, they agreed to decrease the charge to a total of $200.00, since they admitted that not all the equipment was used. I paid that amount and have the proof of payment, as well as their statement that I only owe $200. Now, June 7, 2013, I got another bill charging me for $200 and a late fee of $3.00. This is total mental abuse and if they do not resolve this issue once and for all, I will sue them and go to the media about them, because this is usury. They are not easy to contact - my renter called them several times and I called them, talked to them in person, as well as left a voice message most recently. I have witnesses, who are plumbers themselves, that stated that I was way overcharged. This company needs to be put out of business once and for all!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Refund of all payments made or I will sue for harassment.

Business Response:

 

Better Business Bureau, Inc.

2800 Euclid Avenue, 4th Floor

Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2408

 

ID: ******

 

To whom it may concern:

 

This is a response to a complaint filed by ***** ****** regarding her plumbing services.   The first call actually came into our office on March 26, 2013 at 11:00 A.M.  Ms. ****** called regarding her property at **** ******* ***** in Fairview Park Ohio 44126.   She was very frantic and I spoke to her in person.  The plumbers were all busy at the time so I informed her her service would have to be on March 27, 2013.  She really wanted service on March 26, 2013.  I told her I would do the best I could to service her.  Ms. ****** or her tenant called back approximately four more time within about a two hour period.  I know this because each and every time I personally answered her call. 

A plumber freed about one o’clock.  I sent him over to the ****** location.   I called Ms. ****** directly and told her the plumber was on the way.  She was happy.  I also called the tenant and informed her that the plumber was on the way.  The tenant informed me this was not a good time to come.  She did not want us there.  I called Ms. ****** back and she said she would meet us there.  I sent the plumber to the location.  The plumber who went out there is a very experienced plumber. 

Just to set the record straight, when Ms. ****** called me, she called in that the laundry drain was backing up when the washer was running and that is how the plumber was directed.

The plumber went out, snaked the laundry drain and ran a camera thru the line.  Tree roots were pulled back and after that the line was clear.  The charge for this call was 195.00; this is a common charge in the industry.  At this time the drains were flowing and open and the plumber departed.

 

On April 1, 2013 I received a call from the tenant’s husband.  I answered this call personally.  He said the main sewer was backing up.  He was very upset as we were just there.  I explained to him we did not snake the main sewer as it was just a branch line that was backing up.  I also informed him there were no guarantees on sewer and this is stated on the back of the invoice received from the first call.  He was very argumentative and said he had done this type of work in the service over twenty years ago.    Since it was a main line, and after talking to the landlord Ms. ******, we agreed to send the jetting truck out.  This specialized equipment takes two technicians.  This was agreed to by Ms. ****** as I spoke to her myself.  Once there the technicians snaked two branch lines the laundry tub and the kitchen.  Once again roots were pulled out.  It is not uncommon for roots to grow back in as little as 24 hours especially in the spring.

 

Ms. ****** received a bill for $430.00 for these services.  Never did I talk to her or her tenants after this; nor did any of them leave me a voice message.  When, she did not pay her bill.  I was asked to contact her.  I called her many times to discuss this, and was unable to reach her.  Finally I did get a hold of the tenant’s husband; he was insistent that the second call should be no charge.  I explained to him again that there was disclosure on the back of the invoice that he received.  I also explained at length to him that we could not for see what goes down or through drains.  

 

After discussing this with my supervisor, we agreed to give a good faith discount of $230.00.  She did send in payment, but it was post dated.  Since it was post dated; a statement crossed in the mail.  It was not an additional charge at all.   

 

To recap, Ms. ****** received very good service, same day service both times that she called.  Everything was explained to her and her tenants at length.  Please feel free to contact me if any concerns arise.

 

***** ******

216-481-1400  Ext 19

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McPhillips Plumbing Heating & Air Cond.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)