BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Mayer Plumbing

Find a Location

Phone: (440) 885-2800 Fax: (440) 885-4842 View Additional Phone Numbers 5910 Ridge Rd, Parma, OH 44129 http://www.mayerplumbingco.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mayer Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mayer Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mayer Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1962 Business started: 08/01/1922 in OH Business incorporated: 06/14/2002 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Raineri, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Raineri, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Platinum Plumbing, Inc.
Business Management




The principal of this company, Mr. Jason Raineri, is also the principal of the company Callahan Heating and Cooling. The companies are located at different addresses and have different telephone numbers. To access a detailed report for the company Callahan Heating and Cooling, call the Anytime Line and enter the telephone number 440-885-4820 or check the website at www.cleveland.bbb.org.

Industry Tips
Heating/Air Conditioning Sales and Service Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1245 S Cleveland Massillon Rd Ste 307

    Copley, OH 44321

  • 5910 Ridge Rd

    Parma, OH 44129 (440) 885-2800 (866) 881-8081

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1245 S Cleveland-Massillon Rd

    Copley, OH 44321

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 881-8081(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 14, 2013 Mayer Plumbing installed a new sewer line inside the house and outside. I have been calling the office for a month trying to get someone out to finish the job but no one ever calls me back. All I can ever speak to is the office girl.They were supposed to get rid of the dirt pile and fix the landscaping. I paid $11,500 the day they finished the job. I also paid $178 to fix the yard.

Desired Settlement: All I want is for someone to fix my yard. I'm a 69 year old widow with 2 replaced hips and a replaced knee. I can't do the job myself. I just want them to honor the contract.

Business Response:

Business response taken by phone by BBB staff 9/11/13.
Business called to say that they are at the consumer's home today fixing the landscaping.

Consumer Response: Consumer response taken over the phone by BBB staff 9/13/13.  Consumer called to report that company finished the work this week and she is satisfied.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had air conditioning installed by Mayer Plumbing on October 27, 2011. During that installation work, which included a new outdoor A/C cooling unit, a piece of my siding was pried free of attachment to the siding below it in order to run the A/C coolant line into the house and place seal material (a gasket) around it. I discovered this in the spring of this year and have attempted to have Mayer come out to my house, view the damage, and correct it. The loose, though still attached, piece of siding need to be restored to the way it was prior to the Mayer installation work. It is possible to run your hand between the siding and touch the underlying OSB board beneath the siding. If this isn't corrected it will lead to problems with water damage or bugs and rodents possibly crawling up underneath the siding and damaging my home. I called ***** at Mayer Plumbing and discussed this problem. He said he would look at the damage and see that it was corrected. I don't know if anyone from Mayer ever viewed the damage. Subsequent phone calls to find out where things stand have not been returned.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mayer to fix the problem they have caused thereby restoring my faith in them as reputable home plumbing, heating & A/C contractors.

Business Response: Mayer Plumbmg &. Heating
5914 Ridge Road
Parma, Ohio 44129
(440) 885-2800
www.mayerplumbingco.com

Better Business Bureau, Inc.
2800 Euclid Ave. 4th Floor
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2408

ID# *******
*** ***** ****** **** ***** ********** ***** **** *****
May 21, 2012

Attn: ***** ******,

This letter is in response to a complaint filed by ***** ******. We did install the
homeowner's central air conditioning unit in the fall of 2011. We went back on May l5th
to check into the problem with the homeowners siding. It was discovered to not have
been caused by our company but we did try to repair the siding for the customer free of
charge. We believe this complaint to be closed as we did repair the siding for *** ******.
If you have any further questions please let us know.

Thank you,
***** *******
Mayer Plumbing

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leaky pipes that go into the bath tub faucet were to be fixed along with a new faucet installed. Upon completion of the work, the plumbing pipes that go to the faucet pulled away from the wall and the faucet fell apart. Calls that were made to Mayer resulted in finding out that the technician had not retuned to their facility and was not expected until after the weekend, so he would not be out to correct the situation.

Desired Settlement: My insurance company and, if neccessary, lawyer will handle the settlement. I have put a stop payment on the checks paid to the technician.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: The company's response was not submitted electronically and therefore, is unavailable for viewing.  

4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having dealt with Mayer Plumbing and Heating 5914 Ridge Rd. Parma, Ohio 44129 for a couple of jobs previously and each one of those had minor problems associated with it. In an effort to be fair when noticing the homes sewer drain-moving water slowly December 2011, I thought I would give Mayor plumbing one more chance. When the two men came out and were not sure, where the outside cleanout was located and even though there was 3-inch cleanouts in the basement, they made a decision to lift the toilet in the basement and snake line from there. After running the snake through the home sewer line to the main sewer line they than ran a camera through the piping and claimed to notice two areas with damage clay tile. Therefore, they had to call out to someone else within the company to bring by a transmitter to attach to camera so they would measure the two damaged areas to be marked. Upon completion, was then given a bill for running snake and camera and an additional charge for measuring and marking damaged tile area. As for pulling and resetting the toilet, they did this as no charge because they were incapable of locating the cleanout in the front lawn. On the same bill, there were estimates for repairs with two options. The first option was to dig two trenches a proximally 10 feet long to replace damaged tiles, which did not include landscaping and sidewalk concrete repair for $4400. The second option was to do a trenchless burst from the basement to the city sidewalk for $5285.Not wholly trusting their decision as to the repair recommendations, and then contacting the county sewer maintenance department to have them come out and check to make sure what was quoted, was accurate. On January 9, 2012 the maintenance people from the county came out within minutes they are able to locate the cleanout in the front lawn and after checking both directions to the house and then to the sewer main across street they found that the sewer main was not only clogged but damaged as well. After speaking with the men from the county they said that their camera inspection from the cleanout all away to the rear of the house was clean and undamaged and the cause for the slow drainage was because of the main sewer line was blocked three homes west of and across street from my house and then continue to state that we should expect the repairs to the mainline within the next two years.After hearing, what the county people stated as the real cause of the slow drainage I then contacted Mayer Plumbing to speak with the owner to which I had leave message because he was not in. The return call then came from ***** the manager to whom I explained what his men had done and stating that I felt that I should not be charged for measuring two damaged areas which were not damaged at all, in addition to let him know that his men left the basement toilet with one broken anchor bolt. In addition, I felt that his people left me with an estimate that were unjustified and were just trying to sell me a repair job to make the company money. ***** then said he would have to check the service order and call back that afternoon or the next day. After waiting several days with no callback I stopped in personally to Mayer Plumbing and spoke with ***** directly to which he said, he would send somebody out to repair the toilet and credit back the charge for measuring to damage drain tile, which was confirmed wrong by the county service and maintenance crew on January 9, 2012. In conclusion I will absolutely state that I will never use Mayer plumbing ever again and caution all those in need of repairs in the Cleveland area. In addition, it is on best advice of a city building inspector to ask many questions before ever falling for a preposterous service quote. The week of February 6, 2012 Terrace Construction to begin repair of the sanitary and storm sewer mains in front of about ten houses on our street.

Desired Settlement: Fine, for egregious business practices

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

BBB Comments: The company's response was not submitted electronically and therefore, is unavailable for viewing.

4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My toilet was not working. Mayer Plumbing sent a plumber to corect the problem. He charged me more than $300 to replace a part. Then he told me that another part inside the toilet was cracked and would break, probably within a week. And then he left. Before he left, he left a pile of cigarett butts in my driveway, for me to clean up. I guess he is not allowed to leave them in the truck.I have let Mayer Plumbing know that I will not use them again. I am a senior living on a fixed pension. I expected them to completely repair my toilet, not leave me with parts that will break in a week or two. This company will not go the extra mile to ensure customer satisfaction. I called them, and they said they would call me back, but did not. They don't need to. I am spreading the word at the senior center, my church, and everywhere I go that this company does not deserve any plumbing business.

Desired Settlement: None. I don't want to see these jerks again.

Business Response: Mayer Plumbing & Heating Company
5914 Ridge Rd.
Parma, Ohio 44129
(440) 335-2890
Heating, Air Conditioning, Sales, Service, and Installation

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a letter in reference to a complaint by **** ********* on *********. I have
attempted to call her several times to try and resolve this matter- I spoke with her once
and she informed me that it was not a good time. I had tried several more times but have
had no luck. I would very much like to speak with her so I may attempt to address her
concerns.

We have been in business since 1922 and I take a great deal of pride in our
customer service. It troubles me greatly when a customer is unhappy. I will continue to
try and reach her.

Sincerely ,
***** *****

Consumer Response: Mayer Plumbing did call me once, but I was giving a violin lesson in my home and asked them to call the next day. They never did. ***** claims he has tried to call me several times, but that is not true. I think my complaint about their plumber is reasonable. He attached a new part inside the toilet to one that was cracked and about to break. Why not replace both broken parts in one visit? I wasw charged $300 for this repair visit. A new toilet costs less. Do they really expect me to spend another $300 when the second part that is cracked breaks? It is simply poor business to treat a customer this way! And to add insult to injury, the plumber emptied his ashtray into my driveway next to his truck. I had to clean up this mess! The young man they sent out should be taught better customer service, and smokers should be fired!

Business Response: The following response was taken via phone on April 10, 2012.  BC

**** with the company called and said they were able to contact the consumer.  An appointment is scheduled for next week.  During this appointment they will go over all billing and paperwork.  Also will provide consumer a discount off of contracted work.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/21/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable