Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Approved Plumbing provides a full range of residential and commercial plumbing services. Located in Broadview Heights, Ohio, Approved Plumbing is prepared to handle any job ranging from a leaky faucet to a total bathroom remodel.

Customer service is our top priority. Our technicians are well-trained and highly experienced. Every one of our service trucks is equipped with more than 900 parts, so we can get the job done safely and efficiently.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Approved Plumbing Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Approved Plumbing Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Approved Plumbing Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 11, 1953 Business started: 01/01/1940 in OH Business incorporated: 12/17/2001 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis M. Schlekie, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis M. Schlekie, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Shower Doors & Enclosures Water Heaters - Dealers Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Bathroom Remodeling Plumbing - Contractor Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Drainage Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Schlekie Plumbing

Additional Locations

  • 770 Ken Mar Industrial Pkwy.

    Broadview Hts, OH 44147 (440) 526-2905

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 663-5063(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked Approved plumbing to come to my house and fix my shower leak. The man they sent could not get the leak to stop so they sent out another guy that was said to have 20 years experience. This guy came out to my my house and worked on my shower and the leak is still there it was not fixed again and now there sending me a bill for $350. For what they didn't do anything I don't see why I should be billed for a job they didn't do. My shower still leaks!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to drop the bill i should not have to pay for a job that wasn,t done

Business Response:

Sorry for the late response but I just found this email in my junk folder. Here is what I know.

 On 9/15/2014 **** our service technician went out to Dr. ****** **** home to repair a leaking shower valve. We charged Dr. **** an $89.00 service call and $227.00 to install a new Symmons faucet repair kit for a total of $321.00. Keep in my this faucet is a thermostatic mixing valve with many parts and a very expensive repair kit. When my service tech **** left it was not leaking. Also my service tech **** wrote on the invoice and advised Dr. ****** that the faucet would not last much longer and should be replaced along with the shower stall as there is mold and a very large hole the size of 2 basketballs in the wall right below the faucet. Still he just wanted the faucet repaired. Later in the same day Dr. ****** called and complained irately that the faucet started leaking again. Dr. ****** is very hard to understand and will not listen to what we have to say. We scheduled another plumber with 24 years of experience to return the next day.

 On 9/16/2014 service tech **** arrived and removed the shower head and capped the faucet as per Dr. ****** request in essence taking the shower faucet out of operation. He was again advised that the entire shower ( walls, pan, faucet ) should be replaced. At this time he was set up with another appointment with Larry our estimator to give him a price on a totally new shower. There was NO charge for this service.

 On 9/23/2014 Larry met with Dr. ****** and wrote up an estimate for a new shower and told Dr. ****** that if he went with the new shower we would apply the $321.00 he spent towards trying to repair the faucet towards the cost of his new shower.  This is the last correspondence we had with Dr. ******.  

I will follow up with copy's of the paperwork we have on file. Please advise us as what to do.

Thank You

****** ********

Approved Plumbing Co.

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife contacted the above company to finish some plumbing in our newly rennovated space, set a toilet, recess some shower valves and install the shower heads etc. that we provided so that all the fixtures could be mounted and hook up the drain in the sink. The fixtures and items are all really high end quality fixtures. Since my wife had cancer we have had to put our project on hold and wanted the bathroom done. The quote I recieved was for 1500.00 and was to include lifting the toilet fixture up 1/4 inch so, that it could receive a standard seal and the other items listed above. The experienced plumber said he had never seen such a fixture for the sink drain, must be european, so he was not sure how to hook it up but, did spend some time driving to a nearby plumbing supply place to see if he could find a washer. His helper was trying to set the toilet without raising the flange and wanted to just use an extra thick seal - although the quote was to raise the flange. Long story short. It cost me 1187.00 and what did I get - a toilet set (finally with the toilet flange raised) the gave up on the sink and I was credited 319.00,which was to represent moving the drain for the sink bowl, and hooking it up and the shower fixture. They only installed 1 fixture saying that it was missing screws - when my husband showed up to pay them he said the screws were behind the fixture. The plumber said oh..the screws were white not brown. According to the pumbler that wasnt part of the quote all of a sudden although it was. The one fixture they hooked up, gets stuck and you cant shut the water off. After this service I need another plumber who can finish the shower, and finish the sink. Thanks Approved Plumbing. I dont know any company that operates like this.I have a hard time believing that moving the drain, hooking up the sink and installing the 2nd shower fixture is 319.00 Perhaps Approved plumbing would quote this.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for some if not the entire amount! Or a experience plumber not the two you sent who can finish the job without an additional charge. The aggravattion and loss of my own income all day and I got one toilet set, was not worth it.

Business Response:

We ( my general manager & the owner) have a 10:00AM appointment tomorrow morning Wed., the 18th of June, to resolve all of her issues to the best of our ability. I will keep you advised as to the outcome.

Thank You

****** ** ******** / Owner

Approved Plumbing Co.

Business Response: Business sent the following update:

 
Yesterday my general manager met Mrs. ***** on the jobsite. He spent 3.5 hours correcting/finishing various issues she had with our service technician. We completed everything to her satisfaction. She paid us in full and gave us a very nice THANK YOU. Our first contact with Mrs. ***** was Monday and by Wed afternoon all issues are resolved. Thank you.
 ****** ********
Approved Plumbing Co.
( 13 X award winning service contractor )
770 Ken-Mar Industrial Parkway 
Broadview Heights, OH  44147 
Phone: 440-526-2905 
Fax: 440-546-7698 
 

Consumer Response:

I was extremely satisfied with the results of yesterday service!  I am very pleased and thank you.  I am grateful for the return call, quick response and good service.  Can you please post my response to the company as well.

 

thank you

 

****** *****

8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the office of Approved Plumbing at 8:07 am (August 6, 2013) to have someone come out to get my hot water tank lit-scheduled for 12-2 pm. Someone from the office called at 12:50 pm and told me that the technician was on their way and his name was ****. **** arrived shortly after the call. He walked downstairs and just looked at the hot water tank for less than a 1 minute, which he then told me that it might cost more to fix the hot water tank than to have a new one installed. **** told me that he would have to test and see why it is not lighting and it would cost extra to test it. He said he might have to replace all the parts and he could still not get it fixed. I told **** that the person on the phone informed me this morning that the service call included him to test and inform me what it would cost to get the hot water tank lit; then after the technician would give me a price I could chose to have the technician fix it or not, but I would have to pay the service charge of $69.00 at that point if I decided that I did not want any work done. It appeared that **** did not want to fix it. When I asked him what he thought was wrong with it, he kept repeating the same old things about having to test the hot water tank, he could wind up replacing all the parts and it still might not light, and that it might be cheaper to replace it. It appeared that after 2 minutes of him just not honoring the service call agreement and his repeated going back and forth with just kept repeating what he just told me he did not want to fix it nor honor his service call. I told him I wanted him out of my house and we walked upstairs. As we were in the kitchen, I informed **** that I have been doing home improvements for a long time, and have my own business and I knew he was trying to sell me a new hot water tank and was lying to me. I told him the first thing he should have told me was that the job could be as small as a thermal coupler. He then started to mention the thermal coupler and other parts by name. He kept rambling on and was getting me angry at all the lies he kept fabricating.I told him I wanted to talk to his supervisor or the owner and that I felt I should not be charged a service call since he did not determine the cause of the unlit hot water tank, nor perform a service call as he was called out to do. At 12:59 pm I called the office of Approved Plumbing and spoke to ******. I informed him that I would like to speak to the supervisor or owner. He said that they were busy then connected me to *** after I explained my situation further that I was thinking about reporting them to the BBB. I further explained the situation to *** (the supervisor or the owner-I am not sure) of what I just told ******, and of what the receptionist informed me this morning regarding the service call I mentioned above. He told me that the bill for today was $69.00. He talked to **** and told him to bill me the $69.00 even though **** did not perform his service call responsibilities. . **** then asked me if I wanted him to bill him and I said no, you did not do what you were suppose to. I asked him what would happen if I did not pay for the day. He said they would turn it over to the collection service and there would be more charges added. So I said I would pay the $69.00 and sign the bill in protest and would lodge my complaint with the BBB. He goes in his vehicle to make a bill and brings it in our house stating things differently than he told me earlier which I mentioned this on the bill and signed it in protest.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $69.00 payment returned to me. I also feel they should start a practice to explain the service charge criteria to the customers and not tell them one thing which their technicians are doing differently. They should also know that a unlit hot water tank with a service complaint of it lights and goes off is thermal coupler issue. They should inform the customer that fixing a hot water tank could involve that simple process-not attempt to sell a hot water tank when not needed.

Business Response: I am very aware of this service call. My name is ****** and i am the owner mentioned in this complaint. There is no *** in our office. The customers water heater was 11 years old, missing the sight glass, was somewhat tampered with by unprofessionals and deemed to be unsafe by my service tech ****. He diagnosed the repair as not being worthy of the dollar amount to be put into an 11 year old unsafe water heater.. At this point the owner didn't like his diagnoses nor the $69.00 fee for the prior agreed upon service call. The customer then called and talked to me on the phone about the diagnoses vs the $69.00 service call charge. I explained to him the problem again but at this point he was not listening to me. I advised my service tech **** to just leave. My service tech **** called me back 5 minutes later and advised me that the wife would not let him leave without paying the $69.00 service call fee. Apparently she agreed with my service technician, but the wife ended up having a heated argument with her husband. My service tech just wanted to leave but the wife insisted on paying the service call. I am more than happy to refund the $69.00 and will do so immediately. I think they are good people but perhaps due to his age they should have someone else handle certain affairs fot them. It is 2:00pm on Agust 13th and his refund will be mailed to him by 5:00pm TODAY. Thank you for your inquiry.