BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ronyak Bros. Paving Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ronyak Bros. Paving Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ronyak Bros. Paving Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 08, 1986 Business started: 02/01/1983 in OH Business incorporated 01/31/1983 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David W. Ronyak, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David W. Ronyak, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Joy Stang, Contract Administrator
Business Category

Paving Contractors Asphalt


Additional Locations

  • 14376 N. Cheshire St.

    Burton, OH 44021

  • P.O. Box 449

    Burton, OH 44021 (440) 834-1988

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A couple of years ago in May 2010, I had Ronyak pave my driveway. The first representative was a man by the name of **** *******. He came out and Gave me an estimate on the drive. He stated that I had a drainage issue and offered to put one in before they paved the driveway for an extra $600. After all of paving was completed and drain installed the driveway started cracking and the water from rain would pour into the garage. I called **** multiple times to him come fix the drainage issue. He put a small bead of asphalt to try to direct the water to the non-functioning drain. After many more calls a rep from Ronyak named ***** ***, ****'s replacement, answered the call. He came out and looked at the drive in autumn of 2011. He stated that they would fix the problem in the spring and that I should call back to "remind them". I called back and was told that would be out to fix the drain and pitch of the driveway. It is now almost October of 2012 and my garage floor is cracked and ruined from the freeze and thaw, my drive is cracked even more, my children have tripped and hurt themselves on the "bead" of asphalt put down and the drain does not work. When Ronyak was hired to put in the drive and drain, the drain worked properly. I have given them multiple times to come repair and they have not. Even after numerous calls and promises I now have a flooded garage, a ruined driveway and damage to the property. Very Respectfully,***** ******** * ********* ********* ****** *** ******************

Desired Settlement: I would like the driveway repaired, the drain repaired (work that Ronyak suggested I have done and that they said would relieve the water issue), and to replace the garage floor. And pay the total of $1,200 in damages to personal property including clothes, shoes, recreational equipment in the garage, wood for heating the house, drywall and electrical issues, pain and framing which is warping and peeling and basically falling apart due to water backed up form driveway.

Consumer Response:

The consumer provided additional information by phone. **

The consumer called and said a few days after he filed the complaint and placed a large speed bump type object by garage to divert the water. The consumer indicates this has possed to be dangerous and children and adults are tripping over it and it is not diverting the water. 

Business Response:

*****,

In response to Complaint ID ******** ***** ** ******* ** * ********* ****.  Ronyak Bros. Paving has spoken to Mr. ****** on the phone and has met with him at his home to review the situation.  

On Saturday, October 13, 2012 we sent one of our Foremen to the ****** Resident to snake out the drain.  Our Foremen ran into tree roots in the drain, which is outside our scope of work/expertise.  We have informed Mr. ****** that he would have to find another company to fix this problem. 

Regarding the “hand curb” that was installed to deflect water towards the drain, ***** *** from our office, is in communication with Mr. ******.  They have discussed removing or relocating this curb, Mr. ****** is suppose to let us know what he decides.

Ronyak Bros. Paving believes our driveway work is complete and to specification and is not related to the problems that Mr. ****** is currently experiencing.

Please let me know if you need anything further from us to settle this matter.

Thank you,

*** *****

Contract Administrator

Ronyak Bros. Paving, Inc.

440-834-1988 X 229

 

 

Consumer Response:

From: * * ***************************
Sent: Monday, October 29, 2012 11:37 AM
To: info@cleveland.bbb.org
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB serving Greater Cleveland regarding complaint #*******.

 

To Whom it Concerns,

 

  I apologize I was unable to reply to this email. I have spent the last week in the hospital and was unable to reply. As far as the resoloution goes, I am not satisfied. I still have water running into my garage and a large trip hazard. The drainage issue is somewhat resolved and that is a start however the water that runsinto the garage and trip hazard are far from being satisfactory. Thank you and please understand the delay.

 

Very Respectfully,

 

***** ******

************

 

Business Response:

Company responded by phone. **

The company's last contact with the consumer was November 30th and a message was left to discuss further options. The company has gone to the site a few times to view what is going on during the rain. Video and photos have been taken. The hand curb does send water to the drain. The drain has been cleaned and the water is draining properly.  The consideration for a trip hazard has been questioned and it is up to the consumer if is should be removed.