BBB Accredited Business since

Maintenance Systems Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (440) 323-1291 Fax: (440) 323-5293 42200 Albrecht Rd, Elyria, OH 44035

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maintenance Systems Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maintenance Systems Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maintenance Systems Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 20, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 07/05/1979 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Frank Rybarcyk, President, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Rybarcyk, President, Human Resources
Business Category

Paving Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Maintenance Systems of Northern Ohio, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 42200 Albrecht Rd

    Elyria, OH 44035 (440) 323-1291

  • PO Box 1203

    Elyria, OH 44036 (440) 323-1291


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They came over and sealed my driveway. During the original seal, they splashed tar on my siding and fencing. Many parts of the driveway were not fully covered, so they came to fix it. The fix were very apparent squares and now the driveway looks horrible. I was getting the driveway sealed in order to maintain it but also for the aesthetic piece. I am highly disappointed in this company. I sent them a check for half of the cost, and then said I would send the other when the driveway was complete. They didnt even contact me to fix it until weeks later when I decided not to move forward since I did not want my property to get any further damaged. They are no claiming to put a lien on my house.

Desired Settlement: I have paid $175 to them for the services (1/2 the invoice), and now I am incurring more of a cost than that in order to get the property back to original condition.

Business Response:

I have attached the  copies of emails that were going back and forth between our employee ***** ***** and ****** ******.  When we coated her driveway the first time it appeared to her (not to us) to be blotchy.  We offered to come back and put a second coat on the driveway but everytime that we said we would come to sealcoat she did not want us to be there.
On September 16, 2014 ****** ****** said it would be too much of an inconvenience to have her driveway redone and to revisit next spring.
We tried to fix the situation but she does not want to cooperate for us to take care of it.
If you have any other questions please feel free to call - *************

Maintenance Systems of N. Ohio

Consumer Response: Hello,

The company seemed to have conveniently leave out the fact that the work was done at the end of June (June 30th). They came out a month later after my consistent followups to patch the driveway. They did not contact me until September 13th (after I had many other household projects started) in order to rectify the situation. Beyond that, with both the patch and original seal coat, my property was damaged. I have many more pictures I can send over if needed. There is blacktop all over the bottom of the house and is on the siding on many spots. These spots are permanent and in order to repair them, I would have to have the siding replaced. I can get an estimate if needed for this damage.
Overall, the company had since I notified them that the driveway was not satisfactory done and it took them until July 24th (with my followup) to get the driveway patched. The patch job done was unsatisfactory and they said it would "blend". It still has not to this date. I have a timeline for the projects and I did install a pool that I fear being damaged if the company would ever reseal the driveway.
At this point, I am still seeking a refund for the $175 that was paid to them.
I have included ALL email/written correspondence I have had with the company.
Feel free to give me a call if you need any further details (***-***-****). 
I appreciate your help!