BBB Accredited Business since

D & J Paving Contractors

Phone: (216) 691-6406 Fax: (216) 691-8018 View Additional Phone Numbers 5241 Wilson Mills Rd  Ste 25, Richmond Heights, OH 44143 http://www.dandjpaving.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D & J Paving Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for D & J Paving Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on D & J Paving Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1998 in OH
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Calvin Clark, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Calvin Clark, Owner
Business Category

Paving Contractors Asphalt Concrete Contractors Mason Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

D & J Paving Contractors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5241 Wilson Mills Rd
    Ste 25

    Richmond Heights, OH 44143

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before finding a paving contractor I checked with the Better Business Bureau/Cleveland and local businesses in the area to see which should I choose that did not have any complaints listed. The owner Mr. C. C***** gave me a quote of $5,175.00 to (A) remove the entire asphalt Drive down to the base and remove from the site. (B) Add to the base as needed using #304 Crushed stone. (C) Install 2" of #301 Binder base course asphalt to the Drive and the service walk area in front of the steps. (D) Install 1 1/2" of #404 surface course asphalt to the Drive and service walk area. Mr. C. C***** was barely present to supervise or check the finished driveway. He came 4 days later to pick up his check. A week later we walked through the driveway as I pointed out areas I felt that held water and had either not been covered or covered poorly with asphalt. He said he would take care of these and admitted that the drive was not done to his standards. I have since called him on numerous occasions to see when he will be doing the corrections on my Drive. He has told me on those several occasions that he will get a larger roller to be able to fix my Drive. I've been on 3 vacations out of state and it's been a month. Nothing has been corrected on my Drive at all. He continues to give me the run around with the same lame excuse, telling me he will call me for a date so that his team would correct the issues with my Drive. I consider this bad business and bad customer service on his part. I find that-- 1. since he is the owner of the company he should be there onsite to ensure that my Drive is being done correctly. 2. He should not leave to go do other things and leave someone else in charge who I felt did not care whether the job was done correctly or not. 3. It is not my job to oversee and make sure the job is done correctly. I am very dissatisfied with the quality of my driveway. I could have done better leaving it alone or choosing concrete. Instead of the asphalt as recommended by Mr. C. C*****. I am particularly disappointed with Mr. C*****'s personal guarantee and assurance that this job would be done well based on his 23-year ownership and personal supervision.

Desired Settlement: The last time I spoke with Mr. C. C***** was a month and a half ago, July. 15th, I talked to him personally and told him that I wanted the repairs done as soon as possible in preparation for this winter and I showed Mr. C. C***** photos of where the repairs needed to be done on the driveway. Since he chose not to return my call in a timely matter or give me a date when the job will be completed, I believe he should redo the entire job at his expense OR return my money of $5,175.00 for the driveway that I gave him. To his company, this may be of little concern to him, but to me as a consumer, this is a big deal to me. Furthermore, I am requesting a repair within the next 2 weeks from the date of September 9, 2015 or a full refund.

Business Response:

Business response taken over the phone by BBB staff (LL)

Business called 216-691-6406 on 9/22/2015 3:22PM. C***** C**** indicated he is aware of the consumers concerns and has no problem making the necessary repairs to the drive-way. The BBB and the business has set a tentative date of October 9, 2015 to have the work completed.

Mr. C**** agreed to follow-up with the BBB as soon as the work is completed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

From: *** ******** *****************************
Date: Wed, Sep 30, 2015 at 4:52 AM
Subject: BBB Complaint #********
To: ************************

*****,

Please do not mark this complaint as closed. I received an email from you with the businesses response on September 22, 2015 at 3:24pm. If you mark this as closed, I feel that the business will follow through with their promise to fix the repairs on Oct 9th as stated in the message below.

Regards,

*** ******** 

Business Response:

Business response taken via phone on 10/12/2015 at 10:00AM by BBB staff (LL)

Mr. C**** is currently at consumers home to complete the repairs. Upon arrival, he indicated the job requires a paver which he does not have today. The business wants to make the consumer aware the job will be completed on 10/14/2015. He also left a note for the consumer advising him of his return to complete repairs. Business has no intention of not performing the repairs and requested the BBB also contact the consumer with completion date.

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before finding a paving contractor I checked with the Better Business Bureau/Cleveland and chose a company that did not have any complaints listed. The owner ****** ***** gave me a quote of $975 to clean the drive, repair a tack coat to the various size holes and damaged areas of the drive, repair these areas using #404 hot-mix asphalt, fill the major cracks in the drive using a hot rubberized crack filler, and sealcoat the entire driveway with a coal tar emulsion sealer of "the highest quality." Mr. ***** was not present to supervise or check the finished driveway. He came 2 days later to pick up his check and we walked through the driveway as I pointed out areas I felt had either not been covered or covered poorly. He said he would take care of these and admitted that the drive was not done to his standards. I have since called him twice without response. I find that-- 1. the so-called "hot, rubberized crack filler" did not fill the major areas we had discussed 2. it was comprised of loose asphalt pebbles that are currently lifting up 3. areas on the side and back of the drive were not cleared of plant growth and only covered with the sealant.I am dissatisfied with the quality of this driveway. I could have done better leaving it alone and retaining the $975. I am particularly disappointed with Mr. *****'s personal guarantee and assurance that this job would be done well based on his 23-year ownership and personal supervision.

Desired Settlement: When I most recently called Mr. ***** and left word two weeks ago, Sept. 24th, I left a message that I wanted the repairs done as soon as possible in preparation for this winter and that I wanted a letter from him stating that his company would sealcoat again next spring for a price not to exceed $200. At that time I was willing to share the cost to assure a completed and satisfactory job. Since he chose not to respond, I believe he should redo the entire job at his expense OR return my money.

Business Response: This response is to complaint ID ******** from one of my customers which I will give my version of what happened.

First of all the work done just as I told the customer that it would be, at the end  of the job we walked through the Drive and she saw a couple of pebbles near one of the patches and made the comment that she  thought the patch would unravel in time.  
I explained to the customer that a job this size you can expect to see a stone or two on the Drive and to consider the before and after since the Drive was in very bad shape before the work was completed. 
We do very good work and rarely get a complaint, I will go to the Shaker heights building department and have one of the inspectors meet me at the job site and let him make the call. 
Regards, 
****** *****

Business Response: Business supplied proposal for new work with $500 discount included. See attached. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this falls far short and does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am embarrassed for the Better Business Bureau, whose motto is 'START WITH TRUST" that you would even consider passing along this 2015 proposal by D&J Paving Company. Mr. ***** is obviously laughing up his sleeve because he and I both know that had he sincerely believed in performing these functions he would have recommended them in 2014 instead of the work he did bring to my attention. His has exaggerated this point as much as is possible and I question why you have even passed it along to me. Mr. ***** and D&J Paving are not acting in good faith. Furthermore, I refuse to have this company do anything further on my driveway because their service is unsatisfactory; they exert poor supervision; and their results are worse than doing nothing. The Better Business Bureau of Cleveland has demeaned its own name, practice and reputation by allowing itself to become part of this charade.


I do not withdraw my complaint. In fact, you can best redeem yourself by keeping my complaint on record as a warning to other people who look to your organization.

Sincerely,

******** *******
3/18/15


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on D & J Paving Contractors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart