BBB Accredited Business since

Weiss Movers & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (216) 475-3377 4346 Cranwood Parkway, Cleveland, OH 44128 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.weissmovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Weiss Movers & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Weiss Movers & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Weiss Movers & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 01/10/1986 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Ingrid Halpert, President, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ingrid Halpert, President, Human Resources
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial Moving & Storage Company Packaging Service

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
T: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
W: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Th: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
F: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
S: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Weiss Movers & Storage, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4346 Cranwood Parkway

    Cleveland, OH 44128

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wayne from Weiss Movers viewed our belongings and assured us that their company could handle moving our belongings without a problem. During the move, the 5 movers that Wayne at Weiss Movers sent out damaged our ***** double-oven range beyond repair. They tilted our 600 lb. range onto its side causing the legs and side to buckle and bend. Once they got it to our new house they tilted it to get it back upright once again causing the legs and side to buckle and bend even worse. At that point they started complaining about the way the range was made. The large oven is chipped, the door no longer will seal, the legs will not hold the weight, the light cover won't stay in the side wall. The range is basically junk. They then smashed every side of our washer into the walls while carrying it up from the basement. They wanted us to dismantle our furniture to take it out of the basement even though it came down to the basement in one piece. We refused so they shrink-wrapped it (using our shrink-wrap) and carried it up in one-piece. We were also told that we should have told them that the pinball machines were fragile and shouldn't have been set down on the control panels in the truck even though they told us that they moved pinball machines on a regular basis. While moving our dryer into the basement in our new house, they broke the light-switch on the wall in the basement and when my 10-year old told me they yelled at him that it could just be added to the tab! The movers opened the chest freezer numerous times to see what was in it and complained because it wasn't emptied (we were told by Wayne that we did not need to empty it). The movers used our new appliance dolly (they didn't bring one) and they broke it! The movers kept complaining about the weight of our fireproof filing cabinets and suddenly one of them no longer locks. After verifying what works and what doesn't, we filled out their insurance damage claim form and submitted it with pictures. After waiting over a month, they sent us a check for poundage reimbursement. We selected the more expensive insurance coverage on the move. They caused over $13,000 of damage to our appliances, their movers complained the entire time they moved us about the weight of our appliances and they were not careful with our belongings at all. I am appalled at the treatment by the company as well as by the employees.

Desired Settlement: Total claim submitted was $13,206.24. Insurance that we selected with Weiss Movers had a $500 deductible. That leaves an insurance claim of $12,706.24. Weiss Movers mailed us a check for $498. I expect the balance of the claim to be paid which is $12,208.24 so I can replace my damaged appliances.

Business Response: ***** ******** *** ********************** 
Oct 16 

** *** ******  ** ********
 
I wanted to provide a brief update on the status of complaint #******** ******.
 
Based on the initial conversation with the customer during and after the move, Weiss was unaware as to the extent of damage.  At the time, both *** ****** and I felt that the appliances could simply be repaired with a few replacement parts.  Therefore, Weiss response and settlement of the initial claim was based solely on my conversation with *** ****** during the course of the move, the information provided by the customer on the damage claim form and photos taken of the condition of the appliances at the time of the incident.  The damage claim form that was submitted listed (2) items that were damaged; range and washer.  In speaking with the customer later, it was acknowledge that they were also unaware as to the extent of the internal damages until they were settled into their new home and tried to operate the appliances.  However, rather than contacting Weiss at the time to review and update us with the new information, the customer began to pursue a complaint with the BBB.    
 
After receiving the complaint from the BBB, I contacted the customer and setup a meeting onsite.  We met on October 6th to review the claim, inspect the pieces and take pictures.  As a result of that onsite visit, Weiss became aware of the full extent of the damaged appliances and have taken steps to work with the customer to remedy the matter.
 
I am meeting again with the customer on Monday, October 19th to bring a final resolution to the matter.  Once that has occurred, I will provide a full response to the BBB.
 
Don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions. 
 
Wayne L*******
Weiss Movers & Storage
216-******** Phone
www.weissmovers.com
Serving Northeast Ohio for over 50 Years
BBB A+ Rated, Cleveland Magazine Award Winner
P.U.C.O #249-HG
Personal Care Sets Us Apart

Business Response: ***** ******** *** ********************** 
4:23 PM

** *** ****** 
The following is an update to my last response:
 
After Weiss concluded its research of the matter and the full extent of the internal daamge, I met with *** * *** ****** on October 19th and provided a reimbursement check on the items that were no longer operating.  The customer seemed pleased with the resolution and the matter was closed.  
 
Wayne L*******
Weiss Movers & Storage
216-******** Phone
www.weissmovers.com
Serving Northeast Ohio for over 50 Years
BBB A+ Rated, Cleveland Magazine Award Winner
P.U.C.O #249-HG
Personal Care Sets Us Apart
 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Weiss Movers & Storage, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart