BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men And A Truck-Cleveland meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men And A Truck-Cleveland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Two Men And A Truck-Cleveland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 23, 1993 Business started: 07/01/1992 Business incorporated: 07/01/1992 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick Trentanelli, President Mr. Tyson Bell, Claims Manager Ms. Lynn Meilander, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tyson Bell, Claims Manager
Principal: Mr. Nick Trentanelli, President
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Additional Locations

  • 1420 Lloyd Rd.

    Cleveland, OH 44092 (440) 943-3900

  • 16000 Brookpark Rd.

    Cleveland, OH 44135 (216) 267-6700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3400 Belle Chase Way

    Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 394-7210

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 362-8100(Phone)
  • (440) 943-3900(Phone)
  • (216) 896-9625 (Fax)
  • (517) 394-7432 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 24 while moving a large item from my house to another persons house, employee of Two Men and a Truck banged up against my open crank out window causing it to make cracking sound. After this, window was and still is hard to crank open and shut. Older employee tried it and said it was ok. How would he know this? He does not live here and crank these windows open every day as I do. Damage report says Two Men and a Truck will have someone contact me within 2 business days. Incident happened on July 24, it is now July 31, no one has attempted to contact me at all. This is a very good window from Window Systems and I have never had a problem with the cranking mechanism until now. The employees did not take this seriously, I could tell by the way they were saying the window was OK and it was my imagination. The company should stand by their statement of sending a person out to look at this within two days as I have it in writing on the damage report. I would appreciate it if BBB would look into this matter and hold this company to their stated guarantee on their damage report. Thank you very much, ***** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to come out and get this window to crank as it used to and make sure it is mechanically sound.

Business Response: It looks as though we didn't catch that a damage report was attached to this job. I have made contact with this customer and have set up my repairman for August 4th to take a look at the window. Ms ******* was happy that I called to get this taken care of. 

Business Response: Company responded by phone. **

The company indicates consumer called and cancelled the repairman today indicating window no longer a issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Two Men and A truck move my belongings on 9/9 - I called them after I had noticed a futon they had moved no longer functioned properly and had been broken. I had not received a call back after my first call - I had to call them back and actually speak with ***** who told me he would send someone out to fix or replace the unit. On 9/30 someone was able to come out. They ended up disassembling my futon (which is still in pieces on the floor and unusable) and told me he would fix the part and have it back to me within the week. I was already frustrated at this. The man called ***** and said ***** would call me that day to discuss options. ***** never called me. I have called twice since then and have not received a phone call back as ***** is not in the office any time I call for him. This has been long overdue and I unfortunately do not have the time to be waiting for them to fix it on their own time, I need this fixed or replaced now. I had a room mate scheduled to come move in to my house and that futon was meant to be there bed, this has caused me to lose that roommate and rent costs associated with having that bed functional.

Desired Settlement: TMaAT have no longer earned my business or recommendation, I am requesting they stop over promising and delivering on what they promise. They need to replace my futon with a comparable model. The model I have is no longer available, it's closest comparison currently costs about $200.

Business Response: Company responded by phone. **

The company placed a call to the consumer today to resolve this matter.  A check will be mailed to the consumer for $200.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to provide moving services over a week ago. Some of the crew was rough, banging our furniture and other items around the home to the extent that they put a hole in our wall. A damage report was filed. We phoned the company and left messages twice and have not received any response, even though the damage report states we will be contacted within 2 business days to make arrangements to repair the damage. Some of the moving crew were very rude, though one did apologize before they left.

Desired Settlement: They should have someone come to repair the hole in the wall, or I will get a repair estimate and they can issue payment to me to cover the damage.

Business Response: Company responded by phone. **

The damage report was filed the day of the move. The paperwork was misplaced.  However, company has been in contact with the consumer and the hole will be repaired on August 29th.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/10/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My experience with 2 men and a truck is something that I never expected. This was my first time using this company to move us as we normally move ourselves. So on the day before the move a man calls me to say I needed to pay 150 deposit in order to move the next day. I had to frantically call my father and he put it on his card and it was to be taken off once we paid the balance at the end of the move. It has been 3 weeks and it is still remaining on his credit card statement. Then on the day of my move these men stood around on elevators talking about sexual things and kept saying we have to at least make this move a 2 hr move which turned into 4hour and 75 min move... meanwhile they broke my dresser leg, my 500$ painting and a lamp. But because they have you sign a paper about liability of moving things made of particle board I am stuck with these destroyed things. They also took my bed apart and put it back together wrong and it fell apart the first night. We have it laying on the floor now because they guy didnt put all 8 screws in it he only put 5 and no bolts. When I brought this to their attention they said too bad. My living room tables also dont have all their spacers on them so I cant put glass tops on them now. My move cost me 675.00 they took of 75$ as of that was rectifying the Iissues we have. And then they tried to dismiss me and my problem and have their men write up a lie about my home being an hostile inviroment and I dont even know why they would lie about something like that. This was the worst move I ever had....and it was a first time experience I will never want anyone to have

Desired Settlement: I would at least want 150 for the bed. I have to buy another one. I will just wash my hands of the other lost things. Plus I will promise to never so Buisness with them again.

Business Response:

To Whom It may Concern,

 

   My name is **** ******** and I am the Operations Manager for the Brook Park, OH location of Two Men and a Truck / Cleveland, where Ms. *******’s move was dispatched from. We are a satellite office for the Two Men and a Truck based out of Wickliffe, OH. I have worked closely with our Claims Manager, ***** ****, in Ms. *******’s case and our response to her issues. I will provide you with an explanation of our services regarding Ms. *******’s move and the reasoning behind our response to Ms. *******’s complaints / concerns.

 

   Firstly, before we scheduled a move with Ms. *******, she was informed that a deposit of $150 would be required for her move if / when she wanted to schedule. Ms. ******* requested an onsite estimate which we provided for her with one of our In-Home Consultants, Mr. *** *****. Once the estimate was complete, Ms. ******* scheduled her move through Mr. *****. At that time, Mr. ***** informed Ms. ******* again that we require a deposit of $150. Mr. ***** recalls that Ms. ******* told him that she would call our office with the deposit, mail it in, or stop into our office to handle it in person. We require a deposit for EVERY local move. No exceptions. Our asking Ms. ******* for a deposit is NOT out of the ordinary and is standard protocol. When I called the day before her move to collect the deposit she claimed to me that Mr. ***** told her no deposit was required. She further told me that she offered him $150 cash for the deposit during the Onsite Estimate and he declined it. Ms. ******* is claiming Mr. ***** told her no deposit was required and that she could pay once the move was complete. Mr. ***** is denying that he ever refused a deposit and is reaffirming he told her that she would need to pay one via the aforementioned methods. Ms. ******* became irate with me and began cursing when I informed her of this. I didn’t think too much of it because I assumed she was frustrated with moving and simply forgot to pay the deposit. Ms. ******* called her father, Mr. ****** ********, who volunteered to pay the deposit. I called Mr. ******** and he provided a credit card for the $150 deposit. I never told Ms. ******* or Mr. ******** that we would refund the deposit to his card once the move was complete. The deposit was applied to the total cost of Ms. *******’s move.

 

   Ms. *******’s actual move took 4 hours and 45 minutes. She was estimated for only 4 hours. During the move, the movers had called me to inform me Ms. ******* was becoming “irate” because of a few damaged items (listed below) and the amount of time it was taking. The movers told me they were working as hard and as fast as possible to complete the move for Ms. *******. When the movers were writing up Ms. *******’s final bill, they called me. I told the movers to discount the additional 45 minutes it took to complete here move which is shown on her bill as a deduction of $106 (not $75 as Ms. ******* reported). At the time of the mover’s doing the bill, they told me Ms. ******* was happy with that accommodation.

 

   Ms. *******’s claims of our Movers standing around are unfounded. These particular movers are trustworthy, long term employees who also are vehemently denying that claim. Ms. *******’s claim of our movers speaking in an inappropriate manner is something she never mentioned to us during or after the move. This is the first time I’m hearing of it through her complaint to the BBB. Regardless, I’ve spoken to our movers in regards to this and again they deny this claim.

 

   In regards to Ms. *******’s damaged items, unfortunately those items were in fact damaged during the move. However, our movers informed Ms. ******* of the risk of moving these item without proper packing materials. First, Ms. *******’s dresser was made of pressboard material which is NOT meant for movement while assembled and is inherently susceptible to damage. Secondly, Ms. *******’s picture was NOT in any sort of packaging leaving it extremely vulnerable to damage. Thirdly, Ms. *******’s lamp was not packed in any sort of carton with packing paper or bubble wrap, again leaving it vulnerable. Our movers recognized the possible liability of moving these items in their current condition and informed Ms. ******* of this. Ms. ******* opted to not pay for packaging materials and  requested the items be moved regardless. At that point we asked Ms. ******* to sign a Release of Liability form giving us permission to do so, which she initialed AND signed.

 

   As pertains to Ms, *******’s collapsed bed, our movers are informing us it was reassembled with same amount of hardware that came off when it was disassembled. Our response to this claim was not “too bad”. Rather, I explained to Ms. ******* that we would not be sending out a repairman based on our mover’s reports that Ms. ******* was hostile and threatening in her conversations with them. When damage to her furniture was discovered, Ms. ******* began screaming at them, cursing at them, calling them names and threatening to hit them. The mover’s called me when this occurred to inform me that she was upset and to receive instruction on how to proceed. I informed them to finish the move and call me when they were writing up the bill so we could make adjustments. These claims of Ms. *******’s hostile / violent behavior were not something that was fabricated after she contacted us. Again, they were reported as they were happening and we took steps in attempt to appease Ms. *******, obviously to no avail. We informed Ms. ******* that we could not place any other employee or vendor in possible harm’s way or in an environment that may be hostile or threatening.  

 

   We’ve already refunded Ms. ******* a total of $106 for the inconvenience of her move going over the estimate ($31 more than she is reporting we gave her).  We’re willing to refund an additional $100 to Ms. *******, bringing her total refunded amount to $206. We feel this is more than fair in this instance and cannot justify refunding any more than that. I will send Ms. ******* a check for the amount of $100 to the address we moved her to unless she says otherwise.  Refunds by check usually take 2-3 weeks to be processed and mailed.

 

   If you have any further questions or require additional explanations, please don’t hesitate to contact me. Thank you.

 

**** ********

Operations Manager / West

Two Men and a Truck® / Cleveland

16110 Brookpark Rd

Brook Park, OH 44135

(216) 267-6700 Ex. ****

****.********@twomen.com

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.