BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stevens Van Lines, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stevens Van Lines, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

The headquarters for this company, Stevens Worldwide Van Lines, is located in Saginaw, Michigan. It has nine branch offices throughout the United States. Any complaints received by the Cleveland BBB concerning the company's branch location in Bedford Heights, Ohio are processed directly to the company's headquarters.

The following historical matrix reflects complaints processed by the Cleveland BBB only and are not reflective of the firm's total complaint history.

For a report concerning another regional location, you may wish to visit the National BBB website at www.ClevelandBBB.org.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stevens Van Lines, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 21, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1905 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 12/29/1971 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Morrison M. Stevens Sr., President Mr. Carmen Puliafico, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Morrison M. Stevens Sr., President
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Stevens Van Lines Cleveland Stevens Worldwide Van Lines, Inc. The Stevens Group
Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Additional Locations

  • 23600 Corbin Dr. Ste. A

    Bedford Heights, OH 44128 (216) 587-1160 (216) 587-1102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    527 Morley Dr.

    Saginaw, MI 48601

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 587-1160(Phone)
  • (800) 678-3836(Phone)
  • (800) 843-3065(Phone)
  • (877) 305-1616(Phone)
  • (989) 755-3000(Phone)
  • (989) 755-0570 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stevens Worldwide did not provide the service they guaranteed. My load from Ohio to Arizona was guaranteed in 6-13 days. The first part of the load arrived in 15 days and the second part arrived in 19 days. There were several other issues along the way. They mis-charged my credit card. The lack of communication was horrible. The receptionist at the corporate office was completely unprofessional. From corporate down to the truck driver, the experience was horrible.

Desired Settlement: I would like the entire charge credited due to lack of able to provide the service they guaranteed.

Business Response:

Stevens Van Lines, Inc. provided the relocation services as contracted with an admitted delay in the process due to a mechanical breakdown experienced by the truck driver. During the time the shipment was being delayed while the truck was being repaired the customer continued to call requesting exact delivery times and was advised that the times could not be provided as the truck repair was in process and she was assured that all efforts were being made to meet her delivery requirements. In several occasions Stevens personnel apologized to the customer when she would again call for details and was again advised that the truck repair was still in process. Stevens customer service was questioned by the customer due to the fact we could not provide her with definite information and when questioned about the failure to call it was explained that she had asked that we not as in previous calls we had awoken her son so she had advised that she would make the calls to Stevens to avoid that. As acknowledged by the customer, her goods were delivered. Based on the circumstances of the mechanical breakdown creating a delay in delivery Stevens has sent out the required documentation inconvenience claim” for the customer to complete under the delay of shipment provisions of her contract. Stevens apologizes for the unforeseen circumstances and has taken a pro-active stance in working with the customer to address her issues.

Consumer Response: The lack of communication was the entire time after the load was picked up.  And that is a lie about not being able to give a delivery time.  Each day I was told the repair was almost done and the truck would be leaving shortly. And then at the end of that day or early the next day, I was told something completely different.  Either the repair had not even begun or it was not done.  And the driver repeatedly admitted that he thought the delivery was going to happen.  This went on for 4 and 1/2 days.   And I was not assured all efforts were being made.  They had alternatives they just refused to use them because of the possible extra expense.  There were times they said they could not get an update because the mechanic was under the truck and he could not get pulled away.  Even ***, the truck driver told me that he would be bringing a lawsuit against the repair shop.  

 
1.  Stevens office called after the load was picked up to ask for my credit card company which I had already given the salesman.

2.  On Sunday, June 8th when the truck originally broke down, the driver stated a repair man was on his way in and he would call me later that day with an update.  No call at all.  And supposedly they never called a repair man in that day.

3.  One time and one time only, I sent an email to ***** because I had expected a call from her which of course did not come through and in this email I stated I was emailing because I did not want to wake my                  son.   That was only one time so that is completely bogus if they are using that as an excuse as to why I had to continually call.  I told ***** and others call me anytime when they have an update.
4.  I was told each day after the breakdown the truck was getting repaired and I should have my load later that day or the next morning.  And then once I was told the repair had not even begun.  

5.  The whole entire time, Stevens had the option of getting a rental truck under the load but they kept putting that off because every day the truck was about to be ready.  I told ** repeatedly that the rental 
             truck should have come on Monday.  Then on Wednesday supposedly when the truck was so close to being done, I told him again to get the rental on its way just in case.  Well Thursday morning, they did get             a rental.  ** admitted that they did not to go the route of the rental because of the possible expense.  I told him they have to because they have to have a solution.  If they had taken this step, they would have             been able to be in the guaranteed deadline.  They simply were guessing the truck might be ready and if it was, then they wasted money on the rental.  
6.  Apologies only came after I specifically pointed out the ***** in the Bedford office never apologized about overcharging my credit card $500.

7.  The load was finally suppose to arrive on Thursday at 9:30am.  NO ONE CALLED!!!  I had to call again!
8.  The truck driver did not even communicate to the local labor here in ******.  They lost a whole day of pay because of him!
 
I could go on and on and about the problems again.  Even at the corporate office, the receptionist had horrible customer service. She would not give me simply her first name and played games on the phone.  
 
Bottom line is Stevens had an alternative to making the guaranteed delivery time by renting another truck.  But they chose to continually play games.  And ultimately, a rental was gotten but it was past the guaranteed time.  The company had an alternative to come through and they did not.  The charge needs to credited due to them not coming through on their guarantee.

Business Response: After reviewing the rebuttal, all areas involved in this move have been contacted. Stevens is in agreement that due to mechanical problems with the truck the shipment delivered two (2) days beyond what had been estimated. The details for possible delays were discussed with the customer at the time of contract and she was advised that if the delivery was not made during the listed dates that she was eligible for an inconvenience claim. As contracted that form has been sent to the customer. Please, note that the customer continues to address the contractual agreement and Stevens is in agreement to honor that commitment but the customer must also follow the requirements to make that happen. Stevens would also like to point out that the Tariff rules along with the Bill of Lading disclosures clearly note that the carrier shall not be liable for delay caused by breakdown or mechanical defect of vehicles or equipment. Stevens has agreed to waive the disclosure and will properly process an inconvenience claim upon receipt of the completed required form. Stevens must once again address the fact that the customer has a signed Estimate/Order for Service: NOT TO EXCEED PROPOSAL and not a Guaranteed Contract for the relocation of her goods. We once again apologize for any inconvenience caused by the delay and assure the customer that we will honor our liability upon receipt of the completed inconvenience claim form.

Consumer Response: I don't know how many different ways I have to say this.  The inconvenience form does not apply to my case.  ** ****** agreed with me on the phone that it did not apply.  I had to sleep on the tile floor.  I could not afford a hotel.  Stevens guaranteed a delivery and they had a solution to be able to meet that guarantee but they played games and did not do it!  They should have a rental truck under the load on Monday!  They should not have waited until Thursday!  ** ****** stated the company did not want to chance the extra expense.  It was all about the company and not the customer!

 
There is nothing in any paperwork that states the load was not guaranteed.  Even when I spoke with ***** and stated the load was going to arrive past the guaranteed time, she acknowledge the guarantee also.  The guarantee was verbalized several times along with being in writing from the beginning.  It is in all the paperwork the salesman makes to make the sale.  Two of the biggest selling points were the fact that the load was guaranteed and that the load would not go above the cost of the original estimate if the salesman had made a mistake of estimating weight.
 
But also remember this whole fiasco  not only involves the broken guarantee but it involves the horrific customer service from all aspects.  The lies and the lack of communication.  Again, I repeat ** ******'s exact words, "We just can't seem to do anything right."  The Bedford office screwed up the billing and apparently lost my credit card information initially.  The receptionist at the corporate office in Michigan did not even answer the phone.  Another time she hung up the phone.  Everyday through the duration of the ordeal I was lied to.  When I was told the load would be here and did not show up, no one called.  I had to call and chase down answers.  I was never initially informed about the fact the whole load did not make it on the first truck.  Appliances and furniture were not put back together like promised.  Damage was done to the first house.  I had to cancel appointments and constantly juggle around my day for six days and waste precious time waiting for a load that just kept on not showing up. There were so many wrong things.  Stevens needs to step up and do the right thing in regards to this case, bottom line.
 
This is a broken record.  I have written in detail all these problems.  Stevens did not do anything right.  They need to start now.
 

Business Response:

In response to the rebuttal on ********, the Salesman of record was contacted in reference to the customers contention she had a guaranteed delivery date. The salesperson advised that he did discuss with the customer the contracted dates that the shipment would be transported and that if Stevens did not meet those dates she was guaranteed under an inconvenience provision as described in the Stevens Commercial Tariff. Guaranteed per diem is up to $125.00 a day or 100% actual lodging plus 50% food expenses supported by receipts which ever is less. The customer has asked to submit the inconvenience claim to allow for the settlement as contracted and as of this date there has been no returned form to allow for settlement. As in keeping with the customers continued request for contractual compliance, Stevens continues to wait for the required form. Stevens would like to also offer as proof of our sincerity in serving our customers that immediate action was implemented to resolve additional issues reported back in June by the customer regarding assembly issues. A party was dispatched without delay to resolve and complete the assembly side by side refrigerator and bicycle. The customer admits being made aware of the mechanical breakdown of the truck and the driver’s efforts to expedite the repairs in the shop and could not provide an exact timeframe as he was not able to obtain that from the shop. Stevens will continue to work with the customer on any issues that contractually remains unsettled under the terms and conditions of our signed contract with her.

Respectfully

******* ** ****

Credit/Collection Manager

Business Response:

Hello *****,

 

I am sending the signed Order for Service. On page 2 it shows the agreed pick-up date and delivery date spread. Right after that it explains the procedure that is needed to be followed if we fail to meet these agreed time periods. Ms. ******* continues her allegation that Stevens needs to do what is right and yet she believes she does not have to. It cannot be just a one-way process.

 

I have stepped up and notified the Claims area to pay the $250.00 inconvenience upon receipt of the filed claim without any receipts as is required. This was done in an effort to show Ms. ******* we do honor our belief in Customer Satisfaction.

 

I can also provide from the Stevens Tariff and the signed Bill of Lading that Stevens is not subject to delay liability if the cause is due to mechanical breakdown. That position is also being waived.

 

I do not know what else is expected of Stevens, however I do know that Ms. ******* has continuously challenged that we need to comply with her contracted agreement and we then need to request the same from her.

 

Just a thought, if you have a warranty/guarantee on a purchased item are you able to just send in a demand for payment because you do not believe the item meets the standards expected or are you required to file a proper claim explaining what is wrong and in most cases providing proof?

 

Ms. ******* has also presented a dispute with her credit card company stating “the total amount of this transaction is incorrect due to an error in addition or Payment by other means”. She does not address the fact that a refund was issued to her when she requested due to the weight of the shipment being less and did not wait until the delivery was made and the billing/audit completed.

 

*****, please call me if there is anything more needed.

 

Thank You and Best Regards,

 

**** ****

Credit/Collection Manager

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Stevens International Forwarders

Ph: 989.755.3002 x ***

Fax: 989.755.0059

****@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com

1/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was a full military move. The Sub-contractor "Act of Class", NC was the company used by Steven Van Lines to conduct the move. The Company refused to crate on site per our request. The movers destroyed an antique Belgium Bed when disambling. They failed to properly segragate professional gear during the move. They failed to use mattress boxes and overpacking for washer and dryer. They treated our home as if we where second class citizens; left trash everywhere, cigarette butts, and used poor hygiene practices while using our bathroom. They damaged our hot tub and caused damages to our household goods in the estimate range of over $40,000.00. They damaged our hardwood floors in the home in Tennessee where the shipment was sent. They didn't have the proper equipment to off load our hottub and damaged it when trying to move it onto our back deck. There was so much damage to some much of our belongings; it's hard to discribe how bad the service was. Some of belonging where completely destroyed and I ended up with over 23 pages of photos in the damage claim. When it came time to settle up for all the damages; Steven Van Lines seemed to more concerned with the bottom line then providing a fair settlement. The perception I got from Stevens Van Lines was that since my family and I were Active Duty Army, that we didn't deserve to be treated with deginity and respect.

Desired Settlement: We ended up with a partal settlement of around $12,000.00 and we still had 3 items that Stevens would not pay for. These last items have not been resolved as of today 4 December 2013 and the move occured in May 2011.

Business Response:

Here is the reply.  Please make sure you include the attachments here.

We are in receipt of the BBB complaint filed by MAJ ****** ** ******** under case #******* (our registration #*******) on 12/4/13.  This involves a military shipment of household goods under a government bill of lading issued by the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD), which loaded on 5/4/11 and delivered on 5/6/11.  As such, the claim was settled under the rules and regulations set forth by the DOD.  Lengthy negotiations of the claim settlement occurred and on 4/12/12, we sent the attached letter to MAJ ******** outlining our settlement of $12,315.47, to which he had agreed, except for damages to #118 stove, #9 hot tub and some property damage (per the attached letter from MAJ ******** dated 4/10/12).  We advised MAJ ******** that he could refer his disputed items to the Military Claims Office at any time for further review.  In his letter of 4/10/12 attached, MAJ ******** acknowledged that he was turning over the disputed items to the Military Claims Office, which shows that he clearly understood what his next steps needed to be per DOD regulations.   MAJ ******** cashed his settlement checks on 5/25/12.

On 9/13/12, we received another letter from MAJ ******** disputing his settlement offer.  We replied to that communication on 9/14/12 (copy attached).  Per DOD regulations, if a military customer is not happy with the claims settlement by the carrier, they are always free to contact their local Military Claims Office and have their claim reviewed.  If the MCO feels they are due additional money, they will settle the claim and then charge us, the carrier, back.  We again encouraged MAJ ******** to refer his claim to the MCO in our letter of 9/14/12.  We cannot submit the claim to the MCO for him; he must do that himself per DOD regulations.   We don’t know if he exercised that right, but as far as we know, he can still do that if he chooses.

We apologize for any difficulties MAJ ******** has had with this claim and trust that this response will allow you to close this case.

***** ******

Vice President of Government Traffic & Claims

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Phone 800.765.3836, ext. ***

Cell: ************

Fax: 989.755.0570

Email: ******@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired *** *** ***** to move the contents of our home in Florida to our home in New Hampshire. I took out the necessary insurance, which came through Stevens Worldwide Van Lines apparently. The movers unloaded the trucks and divide the contents between my home and barn. They packed a lot of the stuff on top of each other. The movers said they put the beds together, the head Mover person pointed out that there were cracks in the desk legs he said because it was old, I told him it was only 3 years old. I asked where the legs were to our out door table and was told they were out in the back or probably in the barn. I guess they were only allotted so much time as they said they had to go. I went through all the stuff in the barn and still couldn't find my legs. I called the company immediately and was told they would look in the vans. I must point out they moved my belongs from one van to two vans as they couldn't fit their van down our straight driveway. (that is another story) I filled the paperwork only to be told I signed off on the job and I forfeit any claims. First of all **** ****** the foreman said just sign I could contact the office if there were any problems, as I couldn't possibly go through all that was delivered and piled up, as by this time all but **** was left. I was told the beds were put together, they were not. I did ask about the legs of the table and was told they were there, they were not.

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund of the insurance or them to honor my claim. There is no point in taking insurance, as one can not tell if something is missing from a 3,500 square foot house that was packed and piled up.

Business Response:

Here is our response below:

We are in receipt of the BBB complaint filed by ***** ******* under case #9821343 on 11/27/13.  Ms. ******* purchased full valuation for her shipment.  This is not insurance but the contractual limit of liability to the carrier if there are any items that are lost, destroyed or damaged.  

We delivered Ms. *******’s belongings on 8/23/13 to her residence in *********, NH.  On 8/16/13, prior to the delivery, Ms. ******* signed the “Notice to Customers Regarding Inventories, Exceptions, and Disclosures of High Value items” form.  This document details the importance of her requirement to review the condition of the property before and after moving.   It states that at the time of delivery, it is important for her to take the time to note any damages or loss that occurred to her goods while in our care, custody and control.  The signed inventories give a warning above the signature line that states “WARNING  before signing check shipment, count items and describe loss or damage in space on the right above.”   There were no exceptions to any loss or damages taken at the time of delivery on the inventories. 

On 10/03/13, Ms. ******* filed a claim for damage and missing items, which was 41 days after delivery.  The two items that were claimed are a wood patio table lost and an office desk with tops of all legs cracked.  As Ms. ******* states she received the patio table but is claiming the legs are missing.  The endorsed inventories note the legs were broken as a pre-existing damage that was present prior to our handling.   The second item claimed as damage was the office desk.  The endorsed inventories note that the legs were loose and cracked along with the hardware being bent as pre-existing damage that was present prior to our handling.  

We respectfully maintained our denial of liability for these items, based on clear delivery receipt and also because the damage being claimed was noted as pre-existing damage that was present prior to our handling of this shipment.  

  

We apologize for any difficulties and dissatisfaction Ms. ******* has had with this claim and trust that this response will allow you to close this case.

Sincerely,

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

***** *****

Claims Manager

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Phone: 989.755.3000, ext ***

Phone: 800.765.3836, ext ***

Fax: 989.755.0570

Email: ***********@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com

An ISO 9001 Company

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: stevens van lines moved us from north carolina to colorado and damaged a 1,500.00 tv which they say did not happen in transit which it did something hit the front screen and now there is a black line down the right side if the tv, and some clear jelly like substance was spilled on the back of the tv as well and they are refusing to pay for it

Desired Settlement: i want a settlement offer for the tv that they broke so that i can get it replaced asap

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the BBB complaint filed by ***** ******* under case #******* on 9/30/13.  This involves a military shipment of household goods under a government bill of lading issued by the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) for a Mr. **** *******.  As such, it was settled under the rules and regulations set forth by the DOD. 

The item that is under dispute is a 42” Panasonic television.    The television was listed on the High Risk/High Value inventory, which requires the customer and driver to inspect the item at the time of delivery and note missing or damages to the item.   There were no indications of any damages to the television noted on the “DOD Notification of Loss or Damages AT Delivery” form that was provided to the customer.   When the claim was submitted, a 3rd party television inspection firm was hired to inspect the television for damages and determine the cause of the damages.   The 3rd party indicated there was no exterior damage and that the televisions lines were diagnosed as a bad display.   As this is an internal malfunction of the television, this would not be caused by transit damages and thus we denied liability.   

Per DOD regulations, if a military customer is not happy with the claims settlement by the carrier, they are always free to contact their local Military Claims Office and have their claim reviewed.  If the MCO feels they are due additional money, they will settle the claim and then charge us, the carrier, back.  We encouraged Mr. ******* to refer his claim to the MCO, not because we were wanting to avoid payment, but because that is how disputes are handled on military claims.   Mr. ******* has transferred the television to the Military Claims Office and this dispute will be settled through their office. 

We apologize for any difficulties Mr. ******* has had with this claim and trust that this response will allow you to close this case.

Consumer Response: We have submitted proper claim to the MC no one is calling us to let us know what is going on and how long this is gonna take, my husband is an electronics expert and can prove that the tv was damaged in transit all it had to do was hit something slightly to damage the tv, and the people that i talked to about the claim said it was being sent back to the movers cause they needed to pay for it and to quit stalling and denying responability

Business Response: From: **** **** <****@stevensworldwide.com>
Date: Tue, Oct 29, 2013 at 9:38 AM
Subject: FW: BBB Complaint ID *******
To: info@cleveland.bbb.org


Dear *****,

 

Please, find attached a screenshot of the inspection report that we had addressed in our response and was requested in your message of 10/22/13. Additionally, we have provided the details that show the actual claim is being handled through the military channels as per their moving instructions. As previously advised, once the claim has been submitted through the military channels the decision making process is averted to them and Stevens no longer has a decision making position.

 

Respecfully,

 

**** ****

Credit/Collection Manager

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Stevens International Forwarders

Ph: 989.755.3002 x ***

Fax: 989.755.0059

****@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com

 

10/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There actually more than delivery issues (now delivered - 4weeks later!!!)Although, there are issues with their lack of "promise" to do things, ethical issues and finally extremely poor issues with customer service.Moved from OH to TX; date of move 7/31/13.Problems:1. Did not deliver all items at once2. Hostile behavior by one member of crew (staring down and using inappropriate language, behavior, gestures) when loading from OH3. Poor behavior from the agent (*****) involved (arguing, yelling on phone with me when trying to resolve the overflow items).4. Delivering crew in TX again had extremely rude/poor behavior with us and unwilling to put things back together, left without doing some things anyway.5. Extremely poor follow up from headquarters about our overflow items left in OH.6. SEVERAL items damaged - claim form filled, items are worth about $700 (67% of original price adjusted by me- per their company policy to pay back to us)7. Delivery crew asked us to help move things around for them, I hurt my back in this process unfortunately, although I am not claiming for this; however, asking us to do this is inappropriate in the first place.8. Asking for additional money (indirectly by delivery crew) - "you take care of us and we will take care of you".9. Promises made of delivery of items I certain manner NOT DONE - such as box for mattresses, shrink wrapping furniture etc - were not done.10. Comments like "That's Ikea products for you" when they broke our furniture item "sideboard" - were complete lack of responsibility and excuses to avoid us putting a claim for it in the first place

Desired Settlement: Due to the delay in items delivered, poor behavior practices, lack of services provided as promised, and dissatisfaction and do not agree to full payment (already made $6700+ and change) and claim refund of $500 as a tentative estimate from company.I expect an apology letter from Agent, certain crew personnel making remarks/inappropriate gestures from place of delivery (**** - not the driver) AND at pick up place (cannot recall name).Separate Claims for damages to goods being done as well.

Business Response: After reviewing the complaint and investigating the file, Stevens will provide a reduction to $6,000.00 for the cost of the move. Any claim issues will be handled under their own merit once an actual claim has been filed - claim forms have been sent out previously when the customer contacted Stevens. Stevens apologizes for any inconvenience caused by the overflow.

12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is an excerpt of an email I sent Stevens on August 29, 2011 to which I never received a response. I asked to witness the weighing of the truck at origin and was promised that the driver would call me. I never received a call and therefore did not have an opportunity to witness the weighing. I believe this may be fraud. Origin driver said he could not negotiate our driveway and that there wasn't anything in it for him to use a shuttle. I know now that the latter is a lie and strongly suspect that a skilled driver could have gotten into our driveway at origin had he wanted to. Consequently we incurred additional unanticipated charge of $1062.72. We have a similar circumstance at destination, and the driver had absolutely no problem getting into that driveway. There were no mattress boxes in the truck as promised and as a result two mattresses were stained during transit. Not only that, but the driver promised me that the mattresses would be boxed in Cleveland and that did not happen. Critical hardware was missing or broken and when assembling the dining room table, the destination driver drove a screw through the table top rendering the dining room table useless. I was told that the tire hurdle would not need to be disassembled; it was and upon arrival critical portions of the tire assembly were missing rendering it useless. Hardware is also missing from the MBR bed which we should be able to replace. "This side up - Fragile" was ignored numerous times during loading. Not sure how much damage this negligence by your origin team may have caused until we unpack everything. In addition, legs were broken off a Chest and Futon, Cushion ripped, Bag of Dog Food ripped and numerous other cartons ripped, Oak table was badly scratched and a saddle rack was destroyed. The destination driver was late and when he did arrive, he did not have keys to unlock the trailer. It took two hours or more for the crew to pry the locks open to gain access to our belongings. As a result they did not finish until 11PM..

Desired Settlement: Would like to be reimbursed $4900 for the unnecessary and unauthorized shuttle service at origin and for replacing all the damaged and ruined goods.

Business Response:

***** ******     11-72023  OH TX

We reviewed the complaint with an examination of the shipping documents and contact with all the servicing parties. 

 

Regarding necessity for a shuttle, the customer was advised  this was a likely possibility  in advance of the move, and review of the residence photos access indicates it was not possible to access the customer location without use of a smaller auxiliary vehicle. 

 

Regarding the request to witness the weighing, our system does not reflect any request to do so.  The customer also had the opportunity to request a re-weigh at destination, if there was any issue with the original weights, but that was not requested.   

Regarding request for shipment paperwork - By copy of this email to our Revenue Accounting Department, we will transmit a complete set of audited shipment documents, including Bill of Lading, Weight Tickets and inventories for the customer’s review.

The balance of the complaint deals with cargo loss and damage. A claim form for cargo was sent to the customer on 10/07/11.  That has not yet been returned. On receipt of the claim, it will be reviewed, and inspected by an independent third party if necessary.  Upon completion of the review,  any cargo claim filed will be settled, fairly, promptly and on its merits.

**** ********

Manager - Quality, Safety & Fleet Services

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

********@stevensworldwide.co

cc:           SVL Claims, Revenue Accounting

Business Response: Business provided the following update.

******* ******, Trade Assistant

The Better Business Bureau

 

Per your request, we are advising that Stevens Van lines reviewed the additional information provided from a subsequent inspection done on the cargo claim for this shipment.   An additional allowance is being offered for 3 additional items.  A release outlining the additional settlement is being sent to the customer today.  Upon receipt of the release, we will pay the amount offered.  In the event the customer disagrees with the claim settlement, they may pursue independent arbitration if so desired.  Information for the arbitration is being sent under separate cover to the customer.

 

**** ********

Business Response: Business sent the following update. See attached.

***** ******     11-72023  OH TX:

 

Please see attached reply from claims department sent to the customer. Based on this review, we cannot allow any additional on the claim. If the customer wishes to further contest the settlement, they may wish to pursue binding arbitration which the motor carrier offers as an option.  The customer indicated they may wish to do that to resolve the dispute. Arbitration information is available at no cost from the Claims Department.  We regret our decision could not have been more favorable.

 

**** ********

Manager - Quality, Safety & Fleet Services

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Phone: (800)765-3836 x 380 Fax: (989)755-3051

********@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com




Consumer Response: Regarding the arbitration:


Claim is as follows:
1062.72 - shuttle
2215.00 as per Stevens 12/14/11 and 3/28/12 letters and inspection report from Furniture Works dated 1/28/12 which states that a repair of the Dining Table "may be possible". This is not good enough for me. These documents are attached. Also I do not believe that the deductible should be applied because the record demonstrates that Stevens did not ordinary care as noted in their brochure which states "ensured that we will experience a move unlike any other - safe, reliable and on time", "carefully", "first class relocation service", "carefully", "certified...Excellence", "deliver total customer satisfaction", and "pledge to see that we are completely satisfied". Why should we pay a deductible when the contract stipulated that our mattresses be boxed and they were not resulting in some of the damage noted above. This is not an example of "reliable" care.

The DOT recovery is noted in the booklet that Stevens provided prior to our move entitled Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move page 26 a copy of which is attached.

Please let me know what the next step is and if you need additional information.

Thanks for your help.

Regards, ****