BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stevens Van Lines, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stevens Van Lines, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

The headquarters for this company, Stevens Worldwide Van Lines, is located in Saginaw, Michigan. It has nine branch offices throughout the United States. Any complaints received by the Cleveland BBB concerning the company's branch location in Bedford Heights, Ohio are processed directly to the company's headquarters.

The following historical matrix reflects complaints processed by the Cleveland BBB only and are not reflective of the firm's total complaint history.

For a report concerning another regional location, you may wish to visit the National BBB website at www.ClevelandBBB.org.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stevens Van Lines, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 21, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1905 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 12/29/1971 in MI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Morrison M. Stevens Sr., President Mr. Carmen Puliafico, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Morrison M. Stevens Sr., President
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Stevens Van Lines Cleveland Stevens Worldwide Van Lines, Inc. The Stevens Group
Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Additional Locations

  • 23600 Corbin Dr. Ste. A

    Bedford Heights, OH 44128 (216) 587-1160 (216) 587-1102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    527 Morley Dr.

    Saginaw, MI 48601

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 587-1160(Phone)
  • (800) 678-3836(Phone)
  • (800) 843-3065(Phone)
  • (877) 305-1616(Phone)
  • (989) 755-3000(Phone)
  • (989) 755-0570 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was a full military move. The Sub-contractor "Act of Class", NC was the company used by Steven Van Lines to conduct the move. The Company refused to crate on site per our request. The movers destroyed an antique Belgium Bed when disambling. They failed to properly segragate professional gear during the move. They failed to use mattress boxes and overpacking for washer and dryer. They treated our home as if we where second class citizens; left trash everywhere, cigarette butts, and used poor hygiene practices while using our bathroom. They damaged our hot tub and caused damages to our household goods in the estimate range of over $40,000.00. They damaged our hardwood floors in the home in Tennessee where the shipment was sent. They didn't have the proper equipment to off load our hottub and damaged it when trying to move it onto our back deck. There was so much damage to some much of our belongings; it's hard to discribe how bad the service was. Some of belonging where completely destroyed and I ended up with over 23 pages of photos in the damage claim. When it came time to settle up for all the damages; Steven Van Lines seemed to more concerned with the bottom line then providing a fair settlement. The perception I got from Stevens Van Lines was that since my family and I were Active Duty Army, that we didn't deserve to be treated with deginity and respect.

Desired Settlement: We ended up with a partal settlement of around $12,000.00 and we still had 3 items that Stevens would not pay for. These last items have not been resolved as of today 4 December 2013 and the move occured in May 2011.

Business Response:

Here is the reply.  Please make sure you include the attachments here.

We are in receipt of the BBB complaint filed by MAJ ****** ** ******** under case #******* (our registration #*******) on 12/4/13.  This involves a military shipment of household goods under a government bill of lading issued by the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD), which loaded on 5/4/11 and delivered on 5/6/11.  As such, the claim was settled under the rules and regulations set forth by the DOD.  Lengthy negotiations of the claim settlement occurred and on 4/12/12, we sent the attached letter to MAJ ******** outlining our settlement of $12,315.47, to which he had agreed, except for damages to #118 stove, #9 hot tub and some property damage (per the attached letter from MAJ ******** dated 4/10/12).  We advised MAJ ******** that he could refer his disputed items to the Military Claims Office at any time for further review.  In his letter of 4/10/12 attached, MAJ ******** acknowledged that he was turning over the disputed items to the Military Claims Office, which shows that he clearly understood what his next steps needed to be per DOD regulations.   MAJ ******** cashed his settlement checks on 5/25/12.

On 9/13/12, we received another letter from MAJ ******** disputing his settlement offer.  We replied to that communication on 9/14/12 (copy attached).  Per DOD regulations, if a military customer is not happy with the claims settlement by the carrier, they are always free to contact their local Military Claims Office and have their claim reviewed.  If the MCO feels they are due additional money, they will settle the claim and then charge us, the carrier, back.  We again encouraged MAJ ******** to refer his claim to the MCO in our letter of 9/14/12.  We cannot submit the claim to the MCO for him; he must do that himself per DOD regulations.   We don’t know if he exercised that right, but as far as we know, he can still do that if he chooses.

We apologize for any difficulties MAJ ******** has had with this claim and trust that this response will allow you to close this case.

***** ******

Vice President of Government Traffic & Claims

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Phone 800.765.3836, ext. ***

Cell: ************

Fax: 989.755.0570

Email: ******@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired *** *** ***** to move the contents of our home in Florida to our home in New Hampshire. I took out the necessary insurance, which came through Stevens Worldwide Van Lines apparently. The movers unloaded the trucks and divide the contents between my home and barn. They packed a lot of the stuff on top of each other. The movers said they put the beds together, the head Mover person pointed out that there were cracks in the desk legs he said because it was old, I told him it was only 3 years old. I asked where the legs were to our out door table and was told they were out in the back or probably in the barn. I guess they were only allotted so much time as they said they had to go. I went through all the stuff in the barn and still couldn't find my legs. I called the company immediately and was told they would look in the vans. I must point out they moved my belongs from one van to two vans as they couldn't fit their van down our straight driveway. (that is another story) I filled the paperwork only to be told I signed off on the job and I forfeit any claims. First of all **** ****** the foreman said just sign I could contact the office if there were any problems, as I couldn't possibly go through all that was delivered and piled up, as by this time all but **** was left. I was told the beds were put together, they were not. I did ask about the legs of the table and was told they were there, they were not.

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund of the insurance or them to honor my claim. There is no point in taking insurance, as one can not tell if something is missing from a 3,500 square foot house that was packed and piled up.

Business Response:

Here is our response below:

We are in receipt of the BBB complaint filed by ***** ******* under case #9821343 on 11/27/13.  Ms. ******* purchased full valuation for her shipment.  This is not insurance but the contractual limit of liability to the carrier if there are any items that are lost, destroyed or damaged.  

We delivered Ms. *******’s belongings on 8/23/13 to her residence in *********, NH.  On 8/16/13, prior to the delivery, Ms. ******* signed the “Notice to Customers Regarding Inventories, Exceptions, and Disclosures of High Value items” form.  This document details the importance of her requirement to review the condition of the property before and after moving.   It states that at the time of delivery, it is important for her to take the time to note any damages or loss that occurred to her goods while in our care, custody and control.  The signed inventories give a warning above the signature line that states “WARNING  before signing check shipment, count items and describe loss or damage in space on the right above.”   There were no exceptions to any loss or damages taken at the time of delivery on the inventories. 

On 10/03/13, Ms. ******* filed a claim for damage and missing items, which was 41 days after delivery.  The two items that were claimed are a wood patio table lost and an office desk with tops of all legs cracked.  As Ms. ******* states she received the patio table but is claiming the legs are missing.  The endorsed inventories note the legs were broken as a pre-existing damage that was present prior to our handling.   The second item claimed as damage was the office desk.  The endorsed inventories note that the legs were loose and cracked along with the hardware being bent as pre-existing damage that was present prior to our handling.  

We respectfully maintained our denial of liability for these items, based on clear delivery receipt and also because the damage being claimed was noted as pre-existing damage that was present prior to our handling of this shipment.  

  

We apologize for any difficulties and dissatisfaction Ms. ******* has had with this claim and trust that this response will allow you to close this case.

Sincerely,

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

***** *****

Claims Manager

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Phone: 989.755.3000, ext ***

Phone: 800.765.3836, ext ***

Fax: 989.755.0570

Email: ***********@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com

An ISO 9001 Company

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: stevens van lines moved us from north carolina to colorado and damaged a 1,500.00 tv which they say did not happen in transit which it did something hit the front screen and now there is a black line down the right side if the tv, and some clear jelly like substance was spilled on the back of the tv as well and they are refusing to pay for it

Desired Settlement: i want a settlement offer for the tv that they broke so that i can get it replaced asap

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the BBB complaint filed by ***** ******* under case #******* on 9/30/13.  This involves a military shipment of household goods under a government bill of lading issued by the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) for a Mr. **** *******.  As such, it was settled under the rules and regulations set forth by the DOD. 

The item that is under dispute is a 42” Panasonic television.    The television was listed on the High Risk/High Value inventory, which requires the customer and driver to inspect the item at the time of delivery and note missing or damages to the item.   There were no indications of any damages to the television noted on the “DOD Notification of Loss or Damages AT Delivery” form that was provided to the customer.   When the claim was submitted, a 3rd party television inspection firm was hired to inspect the television for damages and determine the cause of the damages.   The 3rd party indicated there was no exterior damage and that the televisions lines were diagnosed as a bad display.   As this is an internal malfunction of the television, this would not be caused by transit damages and thus we denied liability.   

Per DOD regulations, if a military customer is not happy with the claims settlement by the carrier, they are always free to contact their local Military Claims Office and have their claim reviewed.  If the MCO feels they are due additional money, they will settle the claim and then charge us, the carrier, back.  We encouraged Mr. ******* to refer his claim to the MCO, not because we were wanting to avoid payment, but because that is how disputes are handled on military claims.   Mr. ******* has transferred the television to the Military Claims Office and this dispute will be settled through their office. 

We apologize for any difficulties Mr. ******* has had with this claim and trust that this response will allow you to close this case.

Consumer Response: We have submitted proper claim to the MC no one is calling us to let us know what is going on and how long this is gonna take, my husband is an electronics expert and can prove that the tv was damaged in transit all it had to do was hit something slightly to damage the tv, and the people that i talked to about the claim said it was being sent back to the movers cause they needed to pay for it and to quit stalling and denying responability

Business Response: From: **** **** <****@stevensworldwide.com>
Date: Tue, Oct 29, 2013 at 9:38 AM
Subject: FW: BBB Complaint ID *******
To: info@cleveland.bbb.org


Dear *****,

 

Please, find attached a screenshot of the inspection report that we had addressed in our response and was requested in your message of 10/22/13. Additionally, we have provided the details that show the actual claim is being handled through the military channels as per their moving instructions. As previously advised, once the claim has been submitted through the military channels the decision making process is averted to them and Stevens no longer has a decision making position.

 

Respecfully,

 

**** ****

Credit/Collection Manager

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Stevens International Forwarders

Ph: 989.755.3002 x ***

Fax: 989.755.0059

****@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There actually more than delivery issues (now delivered - 4weeks later!!!)Although, there are issues with their lack of "promise" to do things, ethical issues and finally extremely poor issues with customer service.Moved from OH to TX; date of move 7/31/13.Problems:1. Did not deliver all items at once2. Hostile behavior by one member of crew (staring down and using inappropriate language, behavior, gestures) when loading from OH3. Poor behavior from the agent (*****) involved (arguing, yelling on phone with me when trying to resolve the overflow items).4. Delivering crew in TX again had extremely rude/poor behavior with us and unwilling to put things back together, left without doing some things anyway.5. Extremely poor follow up from headquarters about our overflow items left in OH.6. SEVERAL items damaged - claim form filled, items are worth about $700 (67% of original price adjusted by me- per their company policy to pay back to us)7. Delivery crew asked us to help move things around for them, I hurt my back in this process unfortunately, although I am not claiming for this; however, asking us to do this is inappropriate in the first place.8. Asking for additional money (indirectly by delivery crew) - "you take care of us and we will take care of you".9. Promises made of delivery of items I certain manner NOT DONE - such as box for mattresses, shrink wrapping furniture etc - were not done.10. Comments like "That's Ikea products for you" when they broke our furniture item "sideboard" - were complete lack of responsibility and excuses to avoid us putting a claim for it in the first place

Desired Settlement: Due to the delay in items delivered, poor behavior practices, lack of services provided as promised, and dissatisfaction and do not agree to full payment (already made $6700+ and change) and claim refund of $500 as a tentative estimate from company.I expect an apology letter from Agent, certain crew personnel making remarks/inappropriate gestures from place of delivery (**** - not the driver) AND at pick up place (cannot recall name).Separate Claims for damages to goods being done as well.

Business Response: After reviewing the complaint and investigating the file, Stevens will provide a reduction to $6,000.00 for the cost of the move. Any claim issues will be handled under their own merit once an actual claim has been filed - claim forms have been sent out previously when the customer contacted Stevens. Stevens apologizes for any inconvenience caused by the overflow.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is an excerpt of an email I sent Stevens on August 29, 2011 to which I never received a response. I asked to witness the weighing of the truck at origin and was promised that the driver would call me. I never received a call and therefore did not have an opportunity to witness the weighing. I believe this may be fraud. Origin driver said he could not negotiate our driveway and that there wasn't anything in it for him to use a shuttle. I know now that the latter is a lie and strongly suspect that a skilled driver could have gotten into our driveway at origin had he wanted to. Consequently we incurred additional unanticipated charge of $1062.72. We have a similar circumstance at destination, and the driver had absolutely no problem getting into that driveway. There were no mattress boxes in the truck as promised and as a result two mattresses were stained during transit. Not only that, but the driver promised me that the mattresses would be boxed in Cleveland and that did not happen. Critical hardware was missing or broken and when assembling the dining room table, the destination driver drove a screw through the table top rendering the dining room table useless. I was told that the tire hurdle would not need to be disassembled; it was and upon arrival critical portions of the tire assembly were missing rendering it useless. Hardware is also missing from the MBR bed which we should be able to replace. "This side up - Fragile" was ignored numerous times during loading. Not sure how much damage this negligence by your origin team may have caused until we unpack everything. In addition, legs were broken off a Chest and Futon, Cushion ripped, Bag of Dog Food ripped and numerous other cartons ripped, Oak table was badly scratched and a saddle rack was destroyed. The destination driver was late and when he did arrive, he did not have keys to unlock the trailer. It took two hours or more for the crew to pry the locks open to gain access to our belongings. As a result they did not finish until 11PM..

Desired Settlement: Would like to be reimbursed $4900 for the unnecessary and unauthorized shuttle service at origin and for replacing all the damaged and ruined goods.

Business Response:

***** ******     11-72023  OH TX

We reviewed the complaint with an examination of the shipping documents and contact with all the servicing parties. 

 

Regarding necessity for a shuttle, the customer was advised  this was a likely possibility  in advance of the move, and review of the residence photos access indicates it was not possible to access the customer location without use of a smaller auxiliary vehicle. 

 

Regarding the request to witness the weighing, our system does not reflect any request to do so.  The customer also had the opportunity to request a re-weigh at destination, if there was any issue with the original weights, but that was not requested.   

Regarding request for shipment paperwork - By copy of this email to our Revenue Accounting Department, we will transmit a complete set of audited shipment documents, including Bill of Lading, Weight Tickets and inventories for the customer’s review.

The balance of the complaint deals with cargo loss and damage. A claim form for cargo was sent to the customer on 10/07/11.  That has not yet been returned. On receipt of the claim, it will be reviewed, and inspected by an independent third party if necessary.  Upon completion of the review,  any cargo claim filed will be settled, fairly, promptly and on its merits.

**** ********

Manager - Quality, Safety & Fleet Services

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

********@stevensworldwide.co

cc:           SVL Claims, Revenue Accounting

Business Response: Business provided the following update.

******* ******, Trade Assistant

The Better Business Bureau

 

Per your request, we are advising that Stevens Van lines reviewed the additional information provided from a subsequent inspection done on the cargo claim for this shipment.   An additional allowance is being offered for 3 additional items.  A release outlining the additional settlement is being sent to the customer today.  Upon receipt of the release, we will pay the amount offered.  In the event the customer disagrees with the claim settlement, they may pursue independent arbitration if so desired.  Information for the arbitration is being sent under separate cover to the customer.

 

**** ********

Business Response: Business sent the following update. See attached.

***** ******     11-72023  OH TX:

 

Please see attached reply from claims department sent to the customer. Based on this review, we cannot allow any additional on the claim. If the customer wishes to further contest the settlement, they may wish to pursue binding arbitration which the motor carrier offers as an option.  The customer indicated they may wish to do that to resolve the dispute. Arbitration information is available at no cost from the Claims Department.  We regret our decision could not have been more favorable.

 

**** ********

Manager - Quality, Safety & Fleet Services

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Phone: (800)765-3836 x 380 Fax: (989)755-3051

********@stevensworldwide.com

www.stevensworldwide.com




Consumer Response: Regarding the arbitration:


Claim is as follows:
1062.72 - shuttle
2215.00 as per Stevens 12/14/11 and 3/28/12 letters and inspection report from Furniture Works dated 1/28/12 which states that a repair of the Dining Table "may be possible". This is not good enough for me. These documents are attached. Also I do not believe that the deductible should be applied because the record demonstrates that Stevens did not ordinary care as noted in their brochure which states "ensured that we will experience a move unlike any other - safe, reliable and on time", "carefully", "first class relocation service", "carefully", "certified...Excellence", "deliver total customer satisfaction", and "pledge to see that we are completely satisfied". Why should we pay a deductible when the contract stipulated that our mattresses be boxed and they were not resulting in some of the damage noted above. This is not an example of "reliable" care.

The DOT recovery is noted in the booklet that Stevens provided prior to our move entitled Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move page 26 a copy of which is attached.

Please let me know what the next step is and if you need additional information.

Thanks for your help.

Regards, ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired STEVENS WORLDWIDE VAN LINES for a household move from Cleveland Heights, OH, to Cambridge, MA, last week. The move was a complete failure by STEVENS. Many of our possessions were destroyed or damaged. STEVENS' driver was unprofessional and incompetent. STEVENS' driver did not prepare the house with padding prior to the move-in, as was promised, nor did he measure the entryways to make informed judgments about whether items would fit; he rammed our furniture into the house, damaging the items and the house. STEVENS' sales representative *** ********* told us that our furniture, carpets, and other possessions would be handled carefully by STEVENS employees only. Instead, they were mishandled and damaged by day laborers. I had to personally fire one of the laborers after he insulted my wife. I ended up completing the job myself, hauling my possessions into my house despite having paid more than $4000 for STEVENS to do the job. We did not receive the services we were promised. We were charged for services, such as hoisting and preparations that were not rendered. The driver attempted to force me to sign off on the final moving documents by blocking the one-way street in front of our residence while a line of vehicles, including a school bus, were unable to pass. Walls, floors, stairs, doors and light fixture at our new residence were damaged by the movers. When I apprised STEVENS, during the move how badly it was going they failed to act. STEVENS' driver admitted that a dresser had been damaged when it was loaded & he attempted to repair it & he "forgot" to mention it to us. Items that were loaded on the truck are missing. Other items, including expensive items of furniture, such as a couch and a desk, which were damaged in an attempt to fit them through small entryways, were left outside our house. On the next business day, when I notified STEVENS' representatives of everything that occurred during the move by sending a detailed e-mail, they failed to respond.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete and full refund of the cost of the move, and I want full replacement compensation for the items that were damaged. Additionally, STEVENS must pay for the repairs needed at our residence, to fix the damage done by their employees and those in their employ. I also want STEVENS to pay for my medical expenses, since I injured my back, neck, shoulder, knees, and feet while moving my own possessions from STEVENS' truck into my house, and for the psychological damage I endured.

Consumer Response: Attached please find a copy of the initial estimate for the moving services to be provided by Stevens.



I recently received claim forms from Stevens, which I am completing and sending to the company.  I will forward copies of the completed forms to you this week.



Thank you for your help.

**** ******************* ******

Business Response:

******* ****     ******** ** ** 

Mr. *******'s complaint is under review at this time.  We transmitted claim forms for cargo and property damage to the customer on 10/04/11, and ordered an independent repair firm inspection of the claimed household goods and residential damage.  Upon completion of the inspection and receipt of the claim from Mr. *******, we will respond as needed to correct any outstanding issues.

 

**** ********

Stevens Van Lines, Inc.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

While STEVENS WORLDWIDE VAN LINES has responded to my complaint and has begun the process of investigating their poor business practices, this complaint is far from being resolved. As I indicated in my initial complaint against STEVENS, I will not be satisfied until I am given a full and complete refund for the services I contracted STEVENS to complete, and full and complete payment of the replacement value of my possessions that were destroyed and damaged by STEVENS and those in their employ, and full and complete payment for all damages to my residence caused by the carelessness and negligence of STEVENS and those in their employ.


So, no, this is not a closed case at this time. 

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

 

Business Response:

******* **** ******** ** ** As indicated in the earlier reply to this complaint, no additional action will take place until the site inspection, which has been ordered, is completed, and claim is filed by the customer.  We will not judge in advance of this information being received.  At that time we will respond appropriately to any corrective action that is required. 

 

**** ********

Manager - Quality, Safety & Fleet Services

Stevens Worldwide Van Lines

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

 

Consumer Response: In addition to my initial complaint against STEVENS, I have greater concerns about this company's deceitful business practices which need to be further investigated.

I have been reviewing the inventory forms related to my move, completed by STEVENS employees and/or the subcontracted workers hired by STEVENS. The information contained on these forms is false.

Every item listed in the inventory of our household goods is described by STEVENS as damaged in some way before it was loaded on the truck. Through a system of codes, which was never explained to me, the inventory list reads as if we owned nothing but soiled, stained, dented, scratched and damaged belongings.  This is simply a lie.  Now I get it.  This is how STEVENS avoid paying customers for damages.  STEVENS simply presents documents that falsely claim the items were in poor condition prior to the move.  How clever. How shameful. This represents a pattern of deceit that is clearly STEVENS' standard operating procedure.

This is fraud. Pure and simple.

I am cooperating with STEVENS' damage claim process, but I have no confidence in their capacity to conduct a fair and true review of my claim, based on their performance in handling my move and the aftermath they created. 

I would like the Better Business Bureau to intercede on my behalf to the fullest extent possible.

Business Response: ******* **** ********

We previously responded to BBB complaints on three occasions for this order, and this reply will be the last in this forum.  We repeatedly advised the customer in writing that his claims for cargo, property, and warranty of service are under review and will be responded to accordingly based on their merits, including all allegations he has stated.  Since we have responded completely and timely to the BBB, respectfully request no more BBB correspondence on the same complaint.  Thank you.

 

**** ********

Stevens Van Lines

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1