BBB Accredited Business since

Parma Movers

Phone: (216) 741-4747 Fax: (216) 741-1818 8686 Brookpark Rd., Cleveland, OH 44129 http://www.movers-clevelandoh.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential and Office moving and storage services!


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Parma Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Parma Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Parma Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1958 Business started: 01/01/1951 in OH Business incorporated 04/08/1967 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Anne Dietrich, C.F.O.
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services

Alternate Business Names
Parma Movers, Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Additional Locations

  • 8686 Brookpark Rd.

    Cleveland, OH 44129 (216) 741-4747

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Parma Movers damaged a window at my rental property when moving in a tenant. I contacted them before having any repair work done in case they needed to look at the damage first or have an insurance adjuster review the damage. They told me to provide a quote and then have the contractor provide before and after photographs with the invoice once the work was completed. I emailed them a quote for the repair work and they responded with authorization to begin the work. When the work was completed the contractor provided before and after photographs with the invoice but Parma Movers is now refusing to pay for the work. When I went to file a complaint with BBB I found that the tenant had filed a complaint previously. The details of the dispute with the tenant can be seen in the Problems with Product/Services complaint section. My correspondence with Parma movers can also be seen there. Apparently the tenant had the charges for the move reversed with their credit card company. Parma Movers says that the reason they will not pay for the repairs that they previously authorized is because they have not been paid by the people that they moved. They say that since they have not been paid there is no basis for a claim. This is incorrect. The fact that the charges for the move were reversed is irrelevant. Receiving payment from their customer is between Parma Movers and their customer. Paying to repair damage that they caused to my property is between Parma Movers and me. When you damage someone’s property you are responsible to pay for the repairs.

Desired Settlement: Payment of $1200 for repairs as previously agreed to.

Business Response: Parma Movers, Inc 

8686 Brookpark Road 
Brooklyn, Ohio 44129 
(216) 741-4747 
Fax (216) 741-1818 
Toll Free (888) 628-4747 
Website: www.parmamovers.com  
Email: sales@lincoln-parma.com 

October 2, 2015 

Better Business Bureau Inc. 
2800 Euclid Avenue 4th floor 
Cleveland, OH 44115-2408 
Attention *** ******* ***** 

Dear *** *****, 

This letter is in reply to complaint #******** from **** *************** *********** ***. This is with regard to damages on November 14, 2014 at the residence of ****** *******, ***** ******* ***** ***** ********* **. 

Please note the consumer paid their move on ******** ******* and then had ******** ******* reverse the charges of $925.00 away from us. 

We have communicated with many people through the past year including *** *******, ******** *******, **** *******, **** ************, *** ****** ********* ********** ** ****, and Better Business Bureau of Greater Cleveland. 

When we agreed to a window repair, it was when the move had been paid to us on the ******** ******* credit card. We were in receipt of the $925 due to us for the move. Regardless of our full notification to the consumer and ******** *******, they regretfully reversed these charges away from us. This has resulted in a situation where we have never been paid for the move. Our net out of pocket at that time would have been $275. ($975-$1200=$275). As a goodwill gesture, please find enclosed our check to *** ******* for $275. This is a FULL AND FINAL SETTLEMENT FROM OUR COMPANY. We ask that the BBB HOLD this check until *** ******* is in full agreement to pursue his tenant for the $1200.00 because we were never paid and never received those monies, he will have to get those funds from his tenant. This is the most expedient way to get this matter resolved at this point. 

If we are legally pursued for the $925 we will legally pursue the consumer for $925 plus court costs, plus interest, and fees as well. 

Ultimately the consumer NEVER paid for their move therefore there is NO CLAIM and we were up front with ******** ******* and the consumer about this. The consumer clearly demanded that ******** ******* reverse the charges which in turn completely screwed up the claim process. 

This was the most unreasonable, nasty, sneaky consumer we have ever dealt with and keep in mind; we were NEVER paid for our labor, time, fuel, etc. 

Respectfully, 
Anne D******** *** 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

****** ******* was a tenant at my rental property that Parma Movers moved in.  She has since moved out.  Based on the response from Parma Movers, she had the charges for her move reversed with her credit card company.  Parma Movers does not agree with the charge reversal.  Parma Movers is free to pursue ****** ******* for the money they feel they are owed.  It is not my responsibility to pursue her for these funds.  The fact that she apparently had the charges reversed for her move are not relevant to this matter.

Parma movers damaged a window at the property that I own and it cost $1200 to repair.  They need to pay to repair the damage that they caused.  I have not received any money from Parma Movers.  The contractor that performed the repairs has not received any money from Parma Movers.


Regards,

**** *******




 

Business Response:

***** ********
2:17 PM 

** *** *** 


At the present time we feel we have no choice but to settle for the costs to repair the window.   We are ONLY doing this to protect our name and reputation.     We feel very strongly that it is 100% WRONG that we are forced to pay claims dollars out on a move that was never paid for.    This consumer worked the system just right to wiggle out of any payments, and shame on American Express for reversing VALID charges away from a business.        When all is said and done we are going to be "out" $925 on the move not paid, $1200 on the window repair, and the fact that we paid out our payroll on this move a long time ago.  

 In order for us to make a goodwill gesture of settling this claim I want to see a canceled check, front and back, as to who *** ******* paid, in what dollar amount.   After I have that documentation, we will reimburse *** *******.       Please provide a response so I know that you have received this reply, and that you (BBB) will be requesting all of that documentation from *** ******* so I can get this done, and get this file off my desk!

 We here at Parma Movers, Inc. do things in a professional manner.    This entire situation is a great example of a consumer working the system to the best of their ability.

 Thank you,

Anne D*******
PARMA MOVERS, INC.
8686 Brookpark Road
Brooklyn, Ohio 44129

Consumer Response:

I have attached the canceled check image from my bank as requested by Parma Movers.  The check was paid to **** ************.  This is contractor that performed the repairs and previously submitted an invoice to Parma Movers.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  Once I receive $1200, as indicated, to reimburse me for the cost of the repairs, I feel that this issue will have been satisfactorily resolved.


Regards,

**** *******


3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is additional documentation to provide, the establishment has provide me with a low ball offer and they have not resolve my problem, I am copying and pasting the letter that was originally sent but I have additional documentation to provide to you. Please provide me with your contact information to support the documentation. ****** ******* ***** ***** ***** ******* Road ***** ********, OH ***** ***** ******** December 17, 2014 Parma Movers 8686 Brookpark Road Cleveland, OH 44129 To whom it may concern: First I must say that this is the second time in my life that I used a moving company and let’s just say I will never recommend your services to anyone. When I made the initial call I explained to the person the size of my apartment together with all my furniture. I even offered for someone to come out to the apartment so that they can give me an accurate quote, your representative said no that she can take an inventory list. I was charged way higher than I was quoted. When your workers came to my home on November 14, 2014, the older gentlemen came in and said “you are going to need an extra person, if it’s just the two of us it is going to take us about 13 hours to finish. The older gentlemen stated that he is going to call the office for another person. The older gentlemen then pretty much stayed in the truck until the other worker came. The younger worker was busy moving my items in the truck. I was not aware that I was paying Parma Movers for their worker to relax in his truck. When the third person came, he and the younger individual was the only that was moving my furniture, it is beyond me what the older gentlemen was doing. I work very hard for my money and I do not take advantage of anyone and I certainly do not expect to be taken advantage of. However, it’s my understanding that the older gentlemen had a function to attend to that evening. Upon coming to the new home, I had to go back to the old apartment and search around for the screws so that your workers can put my furniture back together, in which I could not find. My furniture has been put back together with various knots and bolts, defininetly not the original parts. They broker one of the mirrors that connects to the dresser, they then took awhile to fix it. When I went back to the apartment the next day there was knots bolts, and screws all over the apartment including the outdoors steps, this is sloppy work, do they not have any value for one’s personal items? I had to leave the home around 1:30 p.m. for a dr,’s appointment, I left my son, ***** with the workers. I came back to the new home within 20 minutes to drop of *****’s jacket as it was left in my car and he needed. To my surprise your workers removed the front window of the home that I am renting and was sending my sofa through the window. I was shocked, I came out of the car and they advised me that was the only way the sofa can go into the home. Your workers never attempted to go through the front door. I was living on the third floor in an apartment and my furniture went through the front door. At the time they removed the window they created a chaos and panic with the neighbors. The contractor that worked for my landlord came over and did advise them the window is going to have to be replaced. ***** nor myself never gave your workers permission to remove the window. Lastly they spent an hour putting the window back together, and on top of that charge me for their poor judgment, absolutely not. The landlord has advised me t hat the window needs to be replaced. It is my understanding that the window is factory sealed. I will not be responsible for your workers negligence. I am attaching the copy of the invoice my landlord provided to me. Sincerely, ****** ******* ***** *****

Desired Settlement: I need for them to reduce the inflated bill, compensate me for my damage items and take care of the property damage that their worker caused to the rental property. I did pay for insurance and the items was insured.,

Business Response:

***** ******** <*****@lincoln-parma.com>
AttachmentsFeb 23 (1 day ago)

to me 
Please see attached.   We have answered every complaint of this customer repeatedly.   They are also on a 2nd attempt with American Express to get their money refunded to their credit card.     We've also emailed directly with the landlord and given him authorization to proceed with the window repair.   He has stated due to weather he is not sure when it will occur.      I am more than happy to send you the reams and reams of copies I have on this but don't have time today.       This is a customer who is
looking for a FREE MOVE.   They are attempting every possibility to get their move for free and it doesn't work like that.    I am not giving this person their money back.     We have taken care of anything and everything and I finally had to tell this person that no further communications would be responded to because they are such a pest.

If you want the whole file copied to you, that's fine, I will do it, but it will be a week or so before I get to it.     I'll forward to you the email w/the landlord so you know it's really all taken care of.

Thanks,

--**** ********
PARMA MOVERS, INC.
8686 Brookpark Road
Brooklyn, Ohio 44129
*****@lincoln-parma.com

 

***** ******** <*****@lincoln-parma.com>
AttachmentsFeb 23 (1 day ago)

to me 
Here is the entire dialogue w the landlord regarding ID ********
 
From: ***** ******** [mailto:*****@lincoln-parma.com] 
Sent: Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:38 AM
To: '**** *******'
Cc: '<******@lincoln-parma.com>'
Subject: RE: Window Quote
 
OK great thank you
 
--**** ********
Letsconnect
THE LINCOLN MOVING & STORAGE CO. like us facebook2
Agent for Bekins Van Lines
and
PARMA MOVERS, INC. like us facebook2
8686 Brookpark Road
Brooklyn, Ohio 44129
 
 
From: **** ******* [mailto:********@aol.com] 
Sent: Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:04 AM
To: ***** ********
Cc: <******@lincoln-parma.com>
Subject: Re: Window Quote
 
Thank you for your response. I know the window needs to be ordered so I am not exactly sure when the work will begin and finish but we will get the process started. 
 
Best Regards,
**** *******

Sent from my iPhone

On Feb 11, 2015, at 9:36 AM, ***** ******** <*****@lincoln-parma.com> wrote:

Thank you for sending the updated quote.     This email will authorize **** ************ to proceed with the work quoted up to $1200.     Please have them send an invoice to Parma Movers, Inc. 8686 Brookpark Rd. Brooklyn, Ohio 44129
FAX 216.741.1818 (or email is fine too).
 
Please have them include before and after photos, the invoice, and be sure the property address is on the invoice.     We will pay their invoice upon receipt with no delays.   If they have any questions, please have the appropriate person from **** ************ call me at 216.741.4747.  
 
Thank you for your patience and please advise when a date is set for the window repair to take place.
 
--**** ******** ******
<image001.png>
THE LINCOLN MOVING & STORAGE CO. like us facebook2
Agent for Bekins Van Lines
and
PARMA MOVERS, INC. like us facebook2
8686 Brookpark Road
Brooklyn, Ohio 44129
 
 
From: **** ******* [mailto:********@aol.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, February 10, 2015 1:02 PM
To: ***** ********
Subject: Re: Window Quote
 
Nothing has been done. I wasn't sure if an insurance adjuster needed to look at it first or if they require a certain company to do the repairs. I have no problem with getting the work done. I just didn't want to do it and then have an issue with getting the claim paid after the fact. 
 
Best Regards,
**** *******

Sent from my iPhone

On Feb 10, 2015, at 10:45 AM, ***** ******** <*****@lincoln-parma.com> wrote:

Thank you,  I did receive the attachment.      I will work on this and get back to you.     Just one question today, has his work already been done or is it scheduled for a future date?     If so, what date?        Thank you,
 
--****
 
From: **** ******* [mailto:********@aol.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, February 10, 2015 11:28 AM
To: *****@lincoln-parma.com
Subject: Fwd: Window Quote
 
***The below was never received at ******'s email***

Sent from my iPhone

Begin forwarded message:

From: ********@aol.com
Date: January 9, 2015 at 11:11:13 AM CST
To: ******@lincoln-parma.com
Subject: Window Quote

******,
 
Attached is the quote for replacing the window at ***** ******* Rd. North Royalton that was damaged when moving ****** *******.  Please let me know if you need anything else.
 
Best Regards,
**** *******
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Good morning, I will like you to know that I totally disagree with what the merchant is accusing me of. I am not charity, nor am I a charitable cause, I pay for what I want and/or need. However it is unethical wrong for someone to take advantage of you by utilizing underhanded schemes.

Also I never disputed the charged with American Express stating that I want free move. What I disputed with American Express, was the fact I was overcharged, personal items were damaged, and there is property damage.

This merchant fails to understand that I am in a legal binding contract with my landlord, the damage that Parma Movers did when they took it upon themselves to remove the window to put my sofa into the home was on my watch. I need a release from Parma Movers releasing me from any further liability as to the damage window.

As to the property damage and compromising the integrity of my furniture, I believe that Parma Movers should be held fully accountable for it. I have expensive furniture, I work hard for my money, the damages that they did to my mirror I should be compensated for. The workers were careless when performing work. All the original bolts and screws were left in the old apartment and on the stairways of the old apartment. They had to use various odd bolts and screws to put the furniture together. In addition the photograph below shows my entertainment center, if you look at the attachment photograph, it shows that it was screwed in uneven, this furniture is very heavy .  I just saw this within the last couple of weeks. Now I would need to pay someone to come to my home, take the entertainment center apart and if the integrity of the structure was compromised it will need to be replace, this is the movers carelessness not mines. I paid for insurance why isn’t the insurance company involved?

Lastly, we are all are adults and I would like to request that the establishment respond in a professional mannerr, I have given them respect to deal with them professionally and I expect the same.

I am looking to resolve this issue, the longer Parma Movers dillydally on this subject they are affecting our credit score as the charge is in dispute.

Regards,

****** *******

Consumer Response: My apologies, not sure why the files did not upload yesterday. 

Business Response: ***** ******** <*****@lincoln-parma.com>
Attachments1:52 PM 

to me 
Re:   BBB ID #******** ****** *******
 
Please see the attached letter.   Due to  American Express reversal of the entire $925 this customer has not paid for their move.  They owe us $925 and no claims will be paid until their move is paid.
 
--**** ********
PARMA MOVERS, INC.
8686 Brookpark Road
Brooklyn, Ohio 44129

10/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Parma Movers were supposed to move us Saturay September 7th and was agreed to a 4 hour minumim. The 2 guys came out walked through our house said we will not move you and left. Parma Movers still says we must pay the 4 hour minumin...I say they did nothing, we should not and will not pay. They do not care and will charge the credit card they had on file when made the contract. I think that is horse manure. No work no pay. Please make sure that other people that they are a rip off company.Thank you******* ******

Desired Settlement: we want to make sure either they do not charge us or if they have we get a refund.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Complaint ID *******

 

We are in receipt of your letter and complaint from consumer, ******* ******.  

 

Please be advised that we were hired to perform a move on Saturday 9/7/13.   Upon arriving at the residence our driver and helper contacted their immediate supervisor, ****** ***********, here at our office to indicate filthy, dirty, unsafe conditions.    We instructed our movers to leave and not perform the job.    I am not going to apologize for this.   

 

Our movers see many different residences day in and day out.     There might be 1 or 2 times a year that our entire crew calls in due to circumstances such as this.    If you want the exact disgusting details of filth you can speak with the men on the job.      We will not send our employees into an unsafe situation and leave ourselves liable for potential damages, injury, illness, or work. comp. claims due to unsafe conditions.

 

And yes, we did call Mr. ****** and tell him he was still responsible for the charges.   The customer absolutely should have been responsible, as we called in a crew and had to pay them for their time.     We never actually charged his card because we knew all he would do is protest the credit card and we'd be out the money anyway.    In this day and age, the consumer always wins and the business always loses.

 

My final comment regarding his claim, and your response to this consumer is his slanderous "Please make sure that other people that they are a rip off company."     When you reply to this consumer (send us a copy), please be SURE he is well aware of what slander means and that he can be held responsible for that.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I hold firm in my belief that  they Parma Movers broke the contract when they refused to move us. They did no work, so why do they expect and even demand payment? I would love to promise people to do a job, charge them and do nothing. And that is exactly what  they did.

Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

We are in receipt of you updated letter of 9/26/13.      It is correct that moving companies are REQUIRED to charge full price as stated in our Tariffs filed with the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio.    That is exactly what was verbally relayed to the customer.      NO INVOICE WAS SENT BECAUSE WE KNEW THEY WOULDN'T PAY IT EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO DO SO.        Quit wasting my time with useless, non revenue producing correspondence.   

 

--**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Parma Movers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)