BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Parma Movers

Phone: (216) 741-4747 Fax: (216) 741-1818 8686 Brookpark Rd., Cleveland, OH 44129 http://www.parmamovers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential and Office moving and storage services!

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Parma Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Parma Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Parma Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1958 Business started: 01/01/1951 in OH Business incorporated: 04/08/1967 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Anne Dietrich, C.F.O.
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services

Alternate Business Names
Parma Movers, Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Additional Locations

  • 8686 Brookpark Rd.

    Cleveland, OH 44129 (216) 741-4747

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Parma Movers were supposed to move us Saturay September 7th and was agreed to a 4 hour minumim. The 2 guys came out walked through our house said we will not move you and left. Parma Movers still says we must pay the 4 hour minumin...I say they did nothing, we should not and will not pay. They do not care and will charge the credit card they had on file when made the contract. I think that is horse manure. No work no pay. Please make sure that other people that they are a rip off company.Thank you******* ******

Desired Settlement: we want to make sure either they do not charge us or if they have we get a refund.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Complaint ID *******

 

We are in receipt of your letter and complaint from consumer, ******* ******.  

 

Please be advised that we were hired to perform a move on Saturday 9/7/13.   Upon arriving at the residence our driver and helper contacted their immediate supervisor, ****** ***********, here at our office to indicate filthy, dirty, unsafe conditions.    We instructed our movers to leave and not perform the job.    I am not going to apologize for this.   

 

Our movers see many different residences day in and day out.     There might be 1 or 2 times a year that our entire crew calls in due to circumstances such as this.    If you want the exact disgusting details of filth you can speak with the men on the job.      We will not send our employees into an unsafe situation and leave ourselves liable for potential damages, injury, illness, or work. comp. claims due to unsafe conditions.

 

And yes, we did call Mr. ****** and tell him he was still responsible for the charges.   The customer absolutely should have been responsible, as we called in a crew and had to pay them for their time.     We never actually charged his card because we knew all he would do is protest the credit card and we'd be out the money anyway.    In this day and age, the consumer always wins and the business always loses.

 

My final comment regarding his claim, and your response to this consumer is his slanderous "Please make sure that other people that they are a rip off company."     When you reply to this consumer (send us a copy), please be SURE he is well aware of what slander means and that he can be held responsible for that.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I hold firm in my belief that  they Parma Movers broke the contract when they refused to move us. They did no work, so why do they expect and even demand payment? I would love to promise people to do a job, charge them and do nothing. And that is exactly what  they did.

Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

We are in receipt of you updated letter of 9/26/13.      It is correct that moving companies are REQUIRED to charge full price as stated in our Tariffs filed with the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio.    That is exactly what was verbally relayed to the customer.      NO INVOICE WAS SENT BECAUSE WE KNEW THEY WOULDN'T PAY IT EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO DO SO.        Quit wasting my time with useless, non revenue producing correspondence.   

 

--**** ********

6/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Parma Movers in regards to arranging a local move for 6/22/13 at 8am. This move was arranged with ***, and I received a quote via telephone and email confirmation for $315+ tax for 3hrs, and to include 2 men and a truck. I was reviewing all documentation and noticed the quote was for said amount but the fine print in the paperword said that saturday moves would be for a minimum of 4hrs. I called to clarify to ensure that my credit card would be charged the quoted price when I was informed by ****** that not only was I given a misquote on the time frame but that my move was also subjected to a different rate. I was quoted $105/hr and that I would be charged $125/hr for my move. I asked ****** if I could speak to a manager in order to come to a resolve and was told that the manager was refusing to honor the quote and additionally refused to speak with me. I then forwarded a email to the company regarding my experience and disatisfaction and proceeded to file this compliant with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would request that my move be honored for said quote on said day and time.

Business Response:

In order to shortcut all the back and forth between parties this email is going directly to the consumer, La'cresha Parker as well as the BBB.

 

Please be advised our Saturday Overtime rate as published with the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio is in fact $125 per hour with a 4 hour minimum.      I understand that you were quoted $105 per hour, which is our Monday through Friday rate.   

 

We felt certainly a month advance notice of the correct rate information was a fair amount of time for you to either go with our firm, or find another mover in the event that you did not like our Saturday pricing.

 

Since that is not acceptable to you, we will honor the $105 per hour but please be aware of the following:

·       This is an HOURLY rate.    You will be charged for the actual amount of time worked, to the nearest  1/4 hour interval worked, plus travel time.   Travel time for your move is 1 total hour; thus being 1/2 hour to you from our warehouse and 1/2 hour from your destination back to our warehouse.     That means if there are 2 hours or less working time, plus the 1 hour travel time, you would be charged the 3 hour minimum @ $105 = $315.    

·       Based on the information provided to us over the phone we feel the minimum is an irrelevant point.  We feel your move will take closer to 4 working hours, plus 1 hour travel time.    I wanted you to be aware of this so that you are not planning on $315, because we do not feel that is realistic for your move.

·       We do not charge sales tax on moving services.

 

Please reply to this email on or before close of business, Tuesday, May 28th so that we know if your intent is to keep the Saturday 6/22 move date at the aforementioned rate of $105 and all terms and conditions set forth above, and in our paperwork.    If we do not hear back from you we will cancel this move.

 

We do apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred, however, we are governed by the PUCO and technically we are not supposed to alter our rates.   I am allowing the $105 per hour as a Customer Service initiative.

 

--**** ********

PARMA MOVERS, INC.

<st1:street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">8686 Brookpark Road

<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">Brooklyn, <st1:state w:st="on">Ohio <st1:postalcode w:st="on">44129

*****@lincoln-parma.com

 

Consumer Response:

Ms. ********,

 

I am glad to have received a response from you concerning my complaint.  Just as a correction, I do not know what information you were given concerning the items I am planning to move; but it will not take 4 hours to move the few items that I have at this location.  Majority of the home has already been relocated.  I initially agreed to the 3 hour time frame only because that was the time frame quoted as a minimum from your representative. Although, the entire move would probably only take your workers 2 hours max to complete. 

 

Additionally, I am still troubled by the comment that you stated:

 

"We felt certainly a month advance notice of the correct rate information was a fair amount of time for you to either go with our firm, or find another mover in the event that you did not like our Saturday pricing."

 

Your company did not find this error, I did.  In good faith I called to address the issue, hoping to get clarity that I might not be overcharged in error.  I asked to speak with a manager to try to come to some kind of mutual resolution.  When he refused to even come to the phone, I was out done.  I did not know it was the practices of any reputable company for the manager not to directly deal/resolve customer disputes.  Especially when the customer has been wronged and has proof in writing.  In my opinion, a customer service in-service is needed to ensure the proper handling of customer complaints. 

 

I thank you for honoring your initial quoted rate, but after much thought; I do not feel it is in my best interest to use your company to move my valuables.  I thank you for your effort in trying to resolve this issue, but it the damage is already done. 

 

-********* ******

 

Sent from Windows Mail

Business Response:

I appreciate the response and respect your decision to find another mover, we have canceled this move.    

 

Please note, the part of this I don't think  you are understanding is that we, along with all movers in the State of Ohio are regulated by the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio on our rates.   We are not allowed to charge less than our published rates.     The PUCO protects consumers so that movers are registered, licensed and insured.

 

I realize you are seeking a very cheap move cost, but I would just like to mention that when you do look for another mover, you should at least ask for their PUCO # so that you, as a consumer, are protected.

 

Best of luck to you in your new home,   

 

--**** ********

PARMA MOVERS, INC.

8686 Brookpark Road

Brooklyn, Ohio 44129

7/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable