BBB Accredited Business since

Move For Less, LLC

Phone: (216) 678-0002 5450 Omega Ave Ste 6, Bedford, OH 44146 http://www.move4lessllc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Move For Less, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Move For Less, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Move For Less, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 2012 Business started: 02/01/2010 in OH Business incorporated 02/19/2010 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Terrance L. Myers, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terrance L. Myers, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Additional Locations

  • 5450 Omega Ave Ste 6

    Bedford, OH 44146

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First this company was late due to truck problems. Then they couldn't figure out how to get my dining room table apart so all of my furniture did not get moved. I purposely moved just about everything but my 10 pieces of furniture and 13 boxes so it WOULDNT take all day. It was a 3 minute drive between my 2 places of residence and it took them a total of 5.5 hours. I've moved 13 times in 16 years with a lot more stuff and I've never had a move take this long.On top of that I had to tell them to put my daughters corner bed in the corner instead of leaving it in the middle of the room, her dresser was still shrink wrapped and her bookcase was left in the hallway. There are 2 screws on my dresser that go to a piece of furniture....which one? I don't know and then my washer and dryer were left in no particular organized way and blocking a storage closet door in my basement. I did not realize these things until they had already left. Not only do I have to find a truck and people to move my dining room table, but also get a dolly to move my washer and dryer into a place that isn't strewn across a basement in the way.Not to mention when I made the appt. I said I have a washer and dryer. CLEARLY its listed under the items. When the movers got there they told me they don't disconnect water lines. When I called to go over the move, this should have been conveyed to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a minimum of 2 hours refunded to me totaling at least $170 ($85/hr). The job wasn't completed, nor did it start on time, yet I was charged full price and I need to pay someone else to finish what they did not.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that this customer was not happy with the service that was received. Unfortunately we are not able to issue a refund on this job. Our original estimate that was accepted online was for 5hrs. We only went over that time by 1/2 hour. We came very close to the quote. 

Also, I was told that this customers' items took longer to take apart and assemble due to the way that they were constructed. We were told not to worry about the table being taken apart and moved because it was taking too long and it was clear that would be difficult. The items simply weren't easy to take apart. We also have a page on our site (the link was in the confirmation email) that states that we do not disconnect appliances. The customer also signed off on our contract that she walked through the house and that everything was rendered to the movers at the pickup location and placed in the proper places at the drop off. 

My movers informed me that this customer seemed pleased with the service once everything was completed. However, we received message from her mother (not the actual customer) a few days later stating that she felt that this job took too long. We are in no way trying to rip anyone off but we sent a quote via email stating how long we believed that the move would take beforehand and we came very close to that time estimate. The customer also signed a contract acknowledging that this was a non-binding estimate and that the actual charges would be based on how long the job actually took. This would have been a much shorter job had it not been for the assembly and disassembly portion. 


I have attached a copy of the contract to this message.


12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to call off from work because I schedule a move date for Thursday 20 between 8am-8:30am for their arrival and when they did not show I called them and asked them what happened they said that the office manager had scheduled me for Friday 21 and I had to call off for that Friday. While *** the supervisor was filling out the paperwork he told me that my deposit would be $450 and when I first schedule the appointment it was told to me that the deposite would be 2 hours for whatever service I was using plus the travel fee, in my case I had three men and a large truck; it was $95 an hr for 3 men plus $70 for the travel fee for a total of $260. When I mentioned that to *** he said that he was just doing his job. *** and another guy came to my house approximately 1 1/2 to 2 weeks prior to my appointment and *** said then that I would need 3 men and a large truck. On my move date he said that I would have needed 4 men and a truck. I reminded him that he told me I only needed 3 men and a truck not the 4. ******* the other guy who was with him said that I am being hostile and that they did not feel comfortable in doing the move, so they got back in the truck and left. I called Terrence and he said that there is nothing he could do and that he could not keep workers if he made them do something they did not feel comfortable with so he had *** to give me a call back. During our conversation he said that in order for them to move me I would have to make it worth their wild, he told me that I had to pay them at least $75 up front before they would even move me. When they showed up *** told me that the deposit has been changed to $950 plus I had to give them $100 a piece before they would begin to start services. While they were downloading ******* had a "business partner" to come by my house and he proceded to talk to him. They did not finish the job and they had to come back Saturday to finish because ******* had walked off of the job.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $950 for their service, I would also like my $300 back from paying those guys to move me. I would like $259.52 for the two days I had to miss work just to do the move plus the damage they did to my mattress, dresser, my railing and my boarder to my basement wall for a grand total of $1620.52

Business Response:

First let us take responsibility for the miscommunication on this move.  This move was rescheduled on the incorrect date AFTER Mr. ****** cancelled on us the day before his original move date.  Because our tolerance for mistakes when it comes to scheduling moves is low, the person who made this error was terminated.  The owner of the business reached out to Mr. ****** personally and assured him that a discount would be given towards his total balance because of the inconvenience. 

On the move date the movers arrived at the location as scheduled.  The customer was disagreeable, disrespectful and intimidating causing the movers to feel uncomfortable so they ended the job.  The customer called the office and spoke to the owner personally.  The customer demanded that the movers return or that another crew come out.  The owner told him that another crew was not available as they were on their scheduled jobs and that he could not force the movers to return to a situation where they felt unsafe.  The customer decided to reach out to the movers personally and convinced them to return.

Upon their return the movers requested that the Mr. ****** pay the full estimated amount up front.  Because of his irrational behavior and the large cash requirement, the movers followed this procedure as to prevent Mr. ****** from withholding payment at the end.  This is our standard operating procedure whenever a customer is paying cash for such a large amount.  Mr. ****** could have avoided this requirement by using a credit card to secure his move.  As for the $100 per person tip, Mr. ****** CHOSE to tip the movers prior to them beginning the work.  Moving is a tip oriented business; tips are always appreciated but are not required.  Paying the tip prior to the completion of the move was a conscious decision on the customer’s part. 

Throughout the day the movers remained in contact with the office keeping them abreast of the progress of the move.  The initial quote estimated approximately 10 hours to complete this job.  The job took longer than expected so the movers spoke with the customer about returning the next day to complete the job.  The customer agreed.  As compensation for the inconvenience the second day was completed at no charge to the customer. 

Additionally, our contracts have a section that requests that customers present issues to the company prior to going to outside sources.  Mr. ****** initialed the contract agreeing to this request and then showed a blatant disregard for his commitment by filing this preposterous complaint. 

Maintaining open lines of communication is key to providing quality customer service.  I personally spoke with the customer several times before, during and after the move and never once did he mention any of the issues that he presented in this complaint.  As the owner of this company I maintain my word to provide excellent customer service to all of our customers and to amicably resolve any issues that may arise.  I reached out to Mr. ****** in an attempt to do that to no avail.  His settlement request seems like a futile attempt to get his move done for free.    

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company is not accepting responsiblity for there actions and I feel like they need to compensate for the frustration and hard time they put me through. I did not want to tip those men, especially before they even started the job, secondly, I have been having a hard time with the communication between the company and myself regarding matters agreed upon prior to the move date and the sudden changes that have took place on the day of the move. The company's office manager including their website stating that the deposit would be two hours of whatever service you are rendering  plus the one-time travel fee. In my case my service was for 3 men and a large truck which was $95 an hour times that by two plus the $70 for travel fee for a total of $260. When *** started my contract he mentioned to me that I would have to pay $475 deposit when I have questioned him about that he said that "he was just doing his job." When I was concerned about the sudden changes that was taking place. So, the men went around the truck and they were talking and that's when ******* said that "I was talking to *** like a child and we did not feel comfortable in doing the job," that is when *** said "all money ain't good money and we can no longer do the job," and they got back in the truck and they left. I called ******** and told him what happened and he said "there is nothing I can do, I can't make those guys do a job they do not feel comfortable with so I don't know what else to tell you." When *** called me He said that in order for us to do the move that I have to make it worth their wild, and that I would have to give them $75 to $100 and when they came back that is when *** said that the deposit has been changed from $475 to $950 due to the "incident" that happened earlier and all I had was $1250 so I paid the $950 and all I had left was $300 and that is how those men recieved $300.  I should be compensated for the one days work that I had to call off and I did not recieve service for which was Thursday Sept. 20. for a total of $129.76, I should be compensated for the $300 that I had to pay in order for those men to move my belongs. Finally, I should be compensated for the damages that they've done to my things such as a torn mattress, a broken handrail holder, broken borders in the basement and the dents and scratches that was done to my dresser and that could range from $70.24 to $100. For a total of $500-$529.76 as a bare minimum amount that I am willing to settle for.  Also, I am requesting a copy of my contract and a copy of the claim sheet. The company said that I had to go through the Better Business Bureau to recieve those items. Could you please have them fax that information to me at (216) 707-7954. Thank you so much for your time and generous consideration about this matter.  

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response:

As stated in our initial response to this ludicrous complaint Move for Less took full responsibility for the miscommunication with Mr. ******’s move date.  The person who messed up his move date was terminated.  Additionally, when Mr. ****** cancelled on us the day before his initial move we waived the cancellation fee.

As for the alleged damages that Mr. ****** now wants to address, we find this comical since Mr. ****** signed off on the contract that he was happy with the service.  In speaking with the owner of the company he NEVER once mentioned any damages.  This is yet another futile attempt from Mr. ****** to extort free moving services from us.

As for Mr. ******’s issue with the additional deposit required to perform his move, Move for Less, LLC reserves the right to require an additional deposit when the customer poses a payment risk.  Based on Mr. ******’s disrespectful disposition the movers had every reason to believe that he would attempt to withhold payment at the end of the move.  If he was not comfortable with the policy, Mr. ******, as a paying customer had the choice to go with another moving company.  He not only CHOSE to adhere to the upfront payment requirements but he also CHOSE to give the guys a hefty tip of $100 each PRIOR to the completion of the move.

Move for Less stands behind supporting the safety of its employees.  If the movers call the office and indicate that they in any way feel uncomfortable with the move, it is their right to refuse the job.  What type of business would disregard the safety of its employees simply to make a dollar?

Move for Less, LLC stands behind our commitment to providing excellent customer service to all of our customers.  Even though Mr. ******’s move took more than 10 hours and was quoted on an hourly rate, we finished the additional time on day two at NO COST TO THE CUSTOMER.  I personally reached out to Mr. ****** to amicably resolve his issues, to no avail.  It is regretful that Mr. ****** is dissatisfied with the service that he received.  There appears to be no amicable resolution for Mr. ******, short of receiving a refund for services that were performed.  It is our stand that Move for Less performed the services requested at a fair rate.  Additionally, the movers went above and beyond what the customer paid for and will not be refunding any money to Mr. ******.

  

Consumer Response:

To the Better Business Bureau,

I did not tip those men $100 prior to them even performing the service. That is what they wanted me to pay them in order for them to do their job. Just think about it if I had a hard time with them then why would I give a tip a the beginning and not at the end when they actually completed the job and why would I give each individual $100 a piece for a grand total of $300 just in a tip alone? I was in a bind and I needed for my items to be moved and they knew it. All that I am asking is for my $300 back my one day's pay which is $129.76 and $70.24 to $100 for the damage that was done to my items. I filled out the damage report and they nothing to fix the problem. I was very patient with this company and this is how they repay me. I am willing to work on an agreement to resolve this problem. All that I am asking is to be made whole I paid for the services that they have rendered now all that I am asking is to be compensated for the things that were lost. They also have my contract and the damage report and I would also like to have a copy of those items. Thank you so much for your time and generous consideration on this matter!

******    

Business Response:

The customer’s two previous complaints both state that he paid the guys up front.  His payment was for moving services which totaled $950, based on his items and the time allocated to complete his job.  Additionally, he gave each mover a tip in the amount of $100 upfront.  Tips are optional and are paid directly to the movers.  Mr. ****** was under no contractual agreement to tip them.  The decision to tip them was his choice.  His current statement is a contradiction of his own written statement.  Yet another attempt on his behalf to extort free moving services from our company.

Additionally, Move for Less is not in receipt of a claim form for this move.

Mr. ****** was compensated for his inconvenience by having his move completed at no additional charge to him.  Mr. ****** continues to offer an agreement to resolve an issue that we consider closed.  Move for Less stands behind our decision not to refund any money to Mr. ******, as it is our stand that Move for Less performed the services requested as agreed upon and at a fair rate.

Consumer Response:  

The fact is I had to pay the movers up front for the full amount of $950 and I had to give each mover a tip of $100 up front in order for them to move my things. They stated that tips are optional and are paid directly to the movers and that it was my choice to tip them; however I did not have that option they said that if they want us to move your things then you are going to have to make it worth our wild and that is when the supervisor stated to me that $100 would make us feel more comfortable in moving your stuff. They also stated that my statements were a contradiction to my own written statement and this was another attempt on my behalf to extort free moving services from their company. That statement is not true and I have mention in my previous statements that they schedule me for the wrong moving day and I missed out on work because of that and they forced me to pay the full $950 plus $100 per mover which was a total of three movers and they damaged some of my property. Move for Less also stated that they did not receive a claim form for this move. I personally filled out that claim and I personally gave it to the supervisor at the end of the move. Finally, Move for Less stated that they stand behind their decision not to refund any money to me, because they have performed the services requested as agreed upon and at a fair rate. I disagree with that because they were willing to pay for my day that I missed from work when they scheduled the wrong move date, and the reason this is not resolved is because they don't want to compensate me for having to tip their men prior to them even working, usually you would tip someone at the end of the job and based on their performance that would determine how much you should give them. I have stated that I had to pay them that money just so they could do the job I hired them to do in the first place. What they did was they decided to walk away from the job and to do another job instead and in order for them to come back and do the work I had to pay for their services up front which was $950 plus $100 per mover which total an additional $300 on top of $950 which total out to be $1250 just so they could get started. All I am asking is for my $300, the one day that I've missed at work which is $129.76 and the damage that they have done to my stuff and that could range anywhere from $70.24 to $100 to cover.

Thank you so much for your time and generous consideration on this matter. 

****** ******

Business Response: As stated before tipping is OPTIONAL!  Mr. ****** CHOSE to tip the guys PRIOR to them performing the move.  Tips are paid directly to the movers and are not considered income for the company.  Therefore refunding money that is not paid to the company is not feasible.   At any time Mr. ****** had the option of going with another company to complete his move.  Mr. ****** has yet to submit a claim form, even though one was mailed to his attention at his request.  Mr. ****** states that he handed the claim form to the supervisor upon completion of the job, yet it was mailed to his address of record after the move.  If in fact he gave the supervisor (who was present for the move on both days) the claim form, why didn't he address his concerns with the tip at that time?  Additionally, Mr. ****** was compensated for his lost day of work due to our scheduling error.  The remainder of his move, which extended well past the agreed upon time frame and price to move his items, was done at no charge.  It’s ironic that at the end of the move on day two Mr. ****** never mentioned being dissatisfied or feeling pressured into giving the guys such a hefty tip.I totally agree with Mr. ****** when he says that “usually you would tip someone at the end of the job and based on their performance that would determine how much you should give them.”  Mr. ****** CHOSE to tip the movers prior to them completing their job.  Move for Less cannot be held responsible for Mr. ******’s choice to do that, therefore we assume no responsibility in reimbursing him for his very generous upfront optional tip.We are not in the business of accruing unhappy customers.  However, in some cases we have to accept that fact and move on.  The case of Mr. ****** is just that.  We have done our due diligence to perform his move, compensate him for the scheduling error, and try to amicably and fairly resolve his issues and still he is not satisfied.  Move for Less stands behind our decision not to refund any money to Mr. ******, as it is our stand that Move for Less performed the services requested as agreed upon and at a fair rate.

Business Response: Hello, 


I have attached a copy of the contract for the ****** ****** moving job. I have also attached a copy of our claim form. As you can see, Mr. ****** signed off that there was no damage done to his walls or his home after the move was completed.

Please let me know if any other information is needed. 

Thank You 

******** *****