BBB Accredited Business since

D & D Moving & Storage

Phone: (440) 353-6683 Fax: (440) 327-0932 View Additional Phone Numbers 7912 Root Rd Ste G, North Ridgeville, OH 44039 http://www.dndmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D & D Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for D & D Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on D & D Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2001 in OH Business incorporated 01/08/2004 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Derrek J. Supple, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derrek J. Supple, Owner
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

D & D Moving & Storage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7912 Root Rd Ste G

    North Ridgeville, OH 44039 (440) 353-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner told us in a verbal estimate that the move from Brecksville to Shaker Heights, from a 1st floor 1 bedroom apartment to a 3-story 4 bedroom house, would take 6 hours and would cost $590 including travel. Instead, the move ended up costing twice that. By 8:50...12 HOURS LATER...they were finally done. We had furniture and newly painted walls scratched in the move. Furniture, that was supposed to be put back together, never done. WE WEREN'T GIVEN A CONTRACT TO SIGN UNTIL THEY WERE DONE!! Since it was 4th of July weekend, I decided that I would call the owner, Derek, on Tuesday, to discuss why it took so long, but was informed he was out-of-town. I requested that he call me to discuss the move upon his return. I waited until a week later and called again. He finally called me back and, when I told him about our bad experience, offered no excuse, only saying that he charges by the hour and sometimes moves go longer than he estimated. When I told him that I would file a complaint with the BBB and ******** ********* office, he told me that he sleeps fine at night and could care less what I do, because it won't make a difference.

Desired Settlement: We like to be reimbursed $500 for the extended amount of time it took to move us and the damage to our furniture and newly painted walls, which we had to have our painter redo.

Business Response:

In response to the following I gave the customer our rates over the phone  $95.00 per hr. for 2men  we charge 1hr for travel and $20.00 for fuel this was explained  the move is an hourly rate.

We do our best based on the information provided,  The statement made about not signing the make paperwork is untrue please see attached bill of lading you can clearly see the signature is different from the time you sign

when we show up and the signature when the move is complete.

There was no mention of damage to us until after we would not refund the move I would suggest he contacts our office to fill out a claim form.

Derrek S*****

President

12/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 10, 2007 I contracted with D & D Storage to move and store my household contents from first my home on ***** ********** ***** on April 30, 2007 and then the contents of my apartment on July 28, 2007 from my apartment on **** **** ****** to storage. I have paid moving and storage on these 4 vaults of household contents for the past 8 years (~$12,319.12). On July 29, 2015, when I went to arrange for the move of the contents to my new residence in ******* ********, I asked for a copy of my inventory and soon realized that D & D Storage had lost the original inventory from my home, ***** ********** *****. Two vaults of out of the four had no inventory. Subsequently, Derrick S****** promised to look for and find my original inventory, and/or reinventory my contents in the two vaults, and to find me a mover that would transport my contents to my new address for a reasonable cost. He provided none of the services mentioned. After some terse phone conversations and e-mail communications, I arranged for another company to transport my contents from D & D storage. When my contents arrived there were items missing or damaged from my original move and storage. My couch that was supposedy stored separately was soiled with the arm broken, one of my 3 small oriental rugs was missing, the head was missing from a wooden crane sculpture, and a solid cherry end table and my gas grill were missing from my stored items.

Desired Settlement: I want D & D storage to compensate me for these items as per our agreement based on weight.

Business Response:

*** ******** called after 8 years of storage to have her items delivered to ********. Unfortunately we do not facilitate moves that far west.

She asked us to find her another company for her. Since she was a long time customer we decided as a courtesy to get her a quote from a ******** *** ****.


She states we did not pursue this but the truth is she did not like the price and asked us to continue to get quotes for her at a cheaper price.

I have emails showing that we tried.


After exhausting our reputable connections we could not find another mover to accept this load at a lower cost. This upset her and she contracted a mover herself.


I emailed to inform her that if there were any damages or claims her mover would have to make note of anything before he loaded as her agent.

Because once items are loaded we have no control as to how they are handled.

She acknowledged this and gave her consent as she did not want to be present.  (see email below)


Her mover showed up in a ****** rental truck with out proper  moving blankets to protect her items.

They did not take any inventory or pictures.

They signed the paperwork that they had received everything  from our storage which stated that everything was in the same condition as when it was received.

She states we did not inventory her items this also is not true. The owner of the company opened up all of her crates and inventoried all items, took pictures and spoke to *** ******** , she was satisfied.

The grill she claims she did not receive was picked up by her son, she acknowledged this to the owner on the phone. Items were picked up by  her son who came to our site and pulled things out for himself the grill was one of those items.


The sofa was shrink wrapped and stored as an out on a shelf, see the attached picture.


If there is an issue the responsibility lies with her mover. They signed they received everything per our inventory list then loaded and transported her goods all the way to ******** with out any protection.


Please see her email below and the pictures attached.

Thank you,

D&D Moving


** ****,

He will be your representative who will sign for you in your absence allowing the storage to be released. The same terms and conditions apply as if you were signing. We are not liable once another company  handles, transports and delivers items as that is out of our control.  Your reimbursement choice is 60 cents per pound.

We will be ready for ****** **** ****** tomorrow morning.

Thank you,

Suzanne

D&D Moving

440-********

From: **** ******** ****************************
Sent: Friday, October 23, 2015 2:11 PM
To: ******* ******* ***********************
Subject: Re: D&D Moving

Dear Suzanne,


I give permission to ****** **** ****** to act as my agent to pick up and sign for my stored furniture

and goods.

**** ********

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. S****** seems to suffer from displaced blame. Derrick blames everyone but himself for his errors and oversights. He was the original mover and maintaining an accurate inventory within the warehouse was his responsibility. He has yet to supply me with this inventory. When my goods were delivered items were missing. I expect replacement value by weight for the crane sculpture that was delivered without its head, the gas grill, the cherry end table, and the 3 X 5 oriental rug. Derrick was paid over $12,000 over 8 years to take care of my goods. He failed. Our agreement states that he is liable for missing or damaged goods based on weight.

I also expect his Better Business Bureau rating to be impacted by his behaviors and libelous statements. 


**** ********




 

Business Response:
Attached is the inventory sheet and a picture of the opened crate to show how nicely her items were stored.

Crates are sealed shut until delivery is scheduled.
There was a sofa and chair that was kept shrink wrapped on a shelf to make sure nothing was able to leave any impressions on it.
Crates are kept in our climate controlled warehouse which is armed by a security system.

We did not charge her storage for the last 2 months she was with us in order to give her time to select a mover. This was a large savings we did not have to extend.
We also did not charge her any warehouse time to pull and supervise the loading of her items as we typically charge an hourly rate for these service. This process took several man hours at 46.00 per hour, another savings we extended.

While items were in storage her son came to the warehouse and collected the things he wanted.

Derrek opened the vaults and spoke to **** to make sure her inventory was complete, she was satisfied with that until we didn’t find the mover she expected.
Honestly all the problems started when we could not find her an accredited mover at a price she liked. That’s when her threats started.

Items were signed for and released to another mover who did not claim any damages or missing articles from our secured warehouse. Surely on loading they would see the damages she is claiming.

Money was also sent out to compensate for the grill in order to stop this back and forth.
We are a good honest business with great ratings, we regret any customer being unsatisfied but we cannot be liable for items handled by another company after they leave our warehouse.
We feel we have made many concessions to try to make *** ******** happy with the uncharged storage cost, free labor and a cash settlement.

12/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This moving company packed my items into a ******* unit. ****** ******* in Bedford Heights, OH. To the top of the ******* facility, so I couldn't get anything into the unit, nor could I see over the top. They didn't cover any of my items with box's or packaging in the case of rain or mold getting on my items. All of my furniture has black mold growing on the items as of now and my leather chair has a huge hole on the side from how they packed my items. My dinning room table & chairs, bedroom headboard and several other items have black mold covering them.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a refund of 1/2 the money from my original move or for this moving company to pay for new items. I would like a written apology from the owner D**** for his abusive nature and his laughter at my situation.

Business Response:

To Whom It may concern

I would suggest  to this customer like I did on the phone to contact the ******* unit we were hired to move furniture to put in ******* at the place he rented.

Note this was not stored at our facility not matter if you wrap the furniture or not it will still grow mold if there is a water problem

after being called a ******* and * **** dropped on me and my  secretary how can you reason with this type of person

 

I ask that the BBB dismiss this complaint as it has nothing to do with D&D Moving

 

****** ******

President

D&D Moving Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This customer was not called a "*******" I have witness's from ***** movers that where next to me and can verify he was not called that. D**** the owner of the company specifically said "let me hear you say that again so I can laugh at you" this was his response to me when I said that I was having a problem with broken dishes from his move, scratches on my furniture and by not covering and the way they pilled my items up to the ceiling it was not done properly. I do have pictures of all of this, that I am happy to provide. I will be taking this business owner to small claims court. I have already spoken with 2 attorneys and will be taking up legal matters against him.


Regards,

***** *******




 

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern

When loading furniture into a ******* unit the objective is to stack the furniture to utilize the space this is standard in our industry.

If the items are not stacked they will not fit in the ******* unit therefore the customer will have to rent additional space.

As for any damage the customer never mentioned anything to me just the mold issue.

Per our contact and Laws of The State Of Ohio all claims must be filed in 60 days this claim has far exceeded that time frame

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do not us D & D Moving. I found the owner ******* to be extraordinarily unprofessional, rude and abusive. He lost 2 of my boxes containing Waterford Crystal along with one boot. His response to this was "people always say they lost something and then it shows up". My boxes did not show up. He smashed a box of fine china and responded that because he didn't pack the box he was not responsible for the contents. Finally, *******'s company broke a wooden armoire. valued at $2,700. He says he has the right to fix it before he turns in a claim for the piece. He wants to pick the armoire up and take it to a furniture finisher. However, I do not believe this man is trustworthy or honest or capable of transporting owners property contents. Other of his reviews site similar behaviors and attitudes. Customer satisfaction should be the highest priority along with safe and secure delivery. He has failed the basics. Was this review helpful?

Desired Settlement: 2700.00 is the amount to replace the armoire 2000.00. to replace Rosenthal Fine China 1000.00 Waterford Bowl and other items in the box

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern

 

Mrs. **** called after her move inform us of some damages I responded quickly and went out to her apartment to see the damages  yes the Armoire did have damage to the molding I told her we would have a professional

repair the armoire we tried to pick it up once for repair and were denied she said she only wanted it replaced ( the armoire is not destroyed or does it have major damage see attached picture ) she now has agreed to let us pick up the armoire to take for  professional repair.

The other items she has a claim for the missing boot we did not pack her items the other boot was in a box she acknowledged she packed and unpacked.

The china she packed yes we only insure items we pack that is standard in the moving industry please understand not everything was in ready to move the day of the move items were poorly packed or not packed at all.

The missing Waterford bowl the truck was emptied completely no boxes on the truck so not sure how we would lose 1 bowl that would be packed with other items.

 

I even refunded Mrs. **** over $300.00 on her move it was my understanding she was moving many of the small items and never did also with not being ready it adds a lot of time to the move and the apartment she went to is not moving friendly

 

Finally when I went out to Mrs. ****'s apartment she was not pleasant I understand we all want the move to go perfect with no damage what makes us a better Company is to take care of things we fell we are doing are best to resolve the

issues before I left the apartment her comment to me was look me up online she has sued before.

 

Thank You,

****** ******

President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


***** **** <*******@yahoo.com>
Nov 17 


Dear  *******,

I have reviewed Mr. ******'s response and will respond in kind.

Mr. ******'s attitude and demeanor are unprofessional and rude. Mr. ******s's sentence structure, syntax and grammar are blatantly illiterate consequently making his context difficult interpret.

Mr. ****** never spoke with me except for coming to look at the damages. In addition, it should be noted that ****** was not in attendance or present the day of my move.  He doesn't know about the lost or broken items because he was not around to oversee the move.  His secretary was always my contact.

1. ****** alleges that my boxes weren't packed when indeed boxes were packed with lids. There were three      boxes without lids as their contents reached over the height of the box. 

2. There is damage along the top, middle and bottom of the armoire.  ****** took pictures of all of this but did not send them all to you. His furniture repair specialist can expound upon all of the damage done. His name is **** ****** and can be reached at C:************ or H:************. The piece on the crown is  no longer attached to the armoire. It has been dislodged and has been severely damaged. I told ****** that I wanted the piece replaced. He said "no". I told ****** I preferred to have it refinished in my house as ****** caused enough damage and loss to my belongings. I did not want it moved again by ****** as he is inept in his business. Once was enough!! He  picked up the armoire today. I will not accept the piece if it is not repaired to my satisfaction. He should reimburse the cost of the armoire along with the boot, crystal, porcelain and lost boxes.

3. The boot $475.00 was in a covered box with packing tape securing it and as were all the other boxes I packed except for the three I referred to.  One boot was in the box.

4. I packed two boxes of Rosenthal fine china, each piece bubble wrapped. One box arrived intact. The second box arrived smashed and shattered into little pieces indicative of slamming the box down or dropping it.

5. There were two boxes completely missing from the move which have NEVER RESURFACED!
One box contained a large Waterford bowl along with other crystal pieces. The second box included fine porcelain and fine china. Once again, ******s's response was that "he is not responsible".

6. ****** refunded me $399.00. As evidenced  in his response ****** does not even know how much he refunded  me!  As I said, ****** is not an honest businessman. However, the estimate he gave me was for $660.00. The day I moved he called to tell me he had to charge more because it took his crew longer than expected to complete. He charged me $1301.00 which I paid. I then spoke to my lawyer and financial advisor who suggested that we ask ****** for a refund. I did ask ****** for $600.00 who replied "no". He refunded me $399.00 which was not satisfactory.

7. Litigation is still under consideration and to be determined.

8. I want to be refunded for all of my broken, damaged and lost possessions.

9. ****** needs to accept his faults and responsibilities and make restitution.
 

Thank you,

***** ********* ****

Business Response:

To whom it may Concern

 

We stand behind our decision to repair the Armoire it's been picked up and at the repair shop.

The other items we can not be responsible for as stated in my earlier statement per the terms of the contract signed.

 

Mrs . **** has turned this into a personal attack on me the furniture repair man and my employees said all she did was say nasty things about me when they were there

 

Lastly we take care of our customers and have been in business for over 10 years with 75% of our business being referrals

 

****** ******

President

D&D Moving Inc.

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Dand D moving to move me from a condo in **** **** to a town house in **** ****, Ohio.(April 30th 2014). Because we had only 30 day notice of the move and I had just started a new job and I am DISABLED, I had arranged to be packed and moved.I knew that this wasn't going to be fun, nor cheap. Originally I was told over the phone $750 to $1000 dollars. The owner was to come out and get a better idea of how "bad" this move would really be, but was unavailable after 5:30PM or on weekends. He never made it.. and the move was on! My son who is 25 and his friends were there to help pack stuff and move items too(3 friends). The packing was the 30th and move the 1st.After they packed and packed and packed on the 30th, I told them to stop at about 2pm- This was getting crazy cost wise already- we continued that night and next a.m. The MBR was to be carefully packed in certain manner-My insulin and meds were not to be touched.( they were now missing on 4/30/14)Next was the move. We were moved into the T.H and masterbedroom was full- and the warddrobe boxes quickly unloaded by my daughter.I was presented with the Bill for $2165.00 (which I didn't have)so I wrote a check $1165.00 and post dated a check. I have not found my medications and I have not found pain medicine and we have unwrapped at least 5 stacks of paper only boxes,3 garbage cans with garbage in them,and so many boxes not used fully that I was charged for in the process.I have called twice and put a stop payment on the second check. New med cost me over $200 so far!not to mention chipped items that weren't wrapped in the million sheets of paper(i was charged for).

Desired Settlement: I would like to call it even! I know that my condo was a dissaster, and that we were not packed nor ready(hence the pay to be packed).But to be disrespected by packing paper only in boxes, old newspapers, garbage cans etc.. is ridiculous! We were charged per box and paper!!! Then the kitchen was left with about 200 dollars worth off canned food on shelves!My son collected those. But what if we were a long distance full move?If the owner doesn't feel he needs to call me then we are done...

Business Response:

On two different occasions she cancelled her estimate appointments one was at 4:30 the other was at 6pm. We tried to accommodate her as her schedule was very limited...

She didn't confirm she wanted packing until the week before as she was trying to get it done with her kids. 

I explained to her that packing was an hourly rate plus materials, she could use them as little or as much as she wanted. She said they did not accomplish their packing so at this point it was going to have to get done by us regardless of the cost.

 She asked if the men went through things like canned food for expiration dates, and threw thing out, she was told we only pack and move.

 When the men showed up it was not clean, organized or ready it was a mess. please see the attached pictures.

 Regarding missing items, as stated by ******* there were several family members and friends in and out of the house during the pack and move. 

 The last time we spoke she not unpacked to know if things were truly missing. She stated they would look in boxes in the garage over the weekend and give me an update, we have never gotten one.

 She also stated she even had boxes from her last move that were never unpacked.

 She never called the office during the pack or move with any concern of price.  Several days later did she call with news she had stopped payment on a check.

 We fully explained our services and rates to *******.  She was shown the charges for the first day and continued to use our services the following day

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from Chagrin Falls,Oh to Aurora,Oh.The 3 movers were who loaded and unloaded the truck caused some major damage to some of my items. I own a very expensive Henderdon dining room table with eight high back chairs. Three of the chairs were egual to the price of the entire move. My table had numerous nicks and scratches on it. The base of another living room chair was so badly bent that the chair now sat crooked. A leather chair was also badly scratched down the side. A pewter table was so badly bent that the glass top would not recede on top. An antique chinese writing table was chipped all down one side. A handle on a hand painted chest is missing. The sides of two paintings were scratched. Finally,I had asked the movers about the propane tank to my outside grill and they indicated they couldn't load it,however, they forgot to load the grill itself. It is still sitting at the old property. Once this was all discovered I called D&D and told them. They said they would call me and send someone out. When I did not hear from them I stopped payment on the check in the amount of $981.00. The estimate was for $837.00. I even tipped each mover $20.00each.When I finally got in contact with ***** from D&D he said he would send someone to look at the damage under the condition I pay them in full. I told him that was unacceptable, where would that leave me? Please note this as a complaint on your site. If you can negotiate with D&D on my behalf, fine. ***** refuses to do anything until paid. Their phone number is 440-353-6683. They also seem to have misplaced a shelf in a mirrored cabinet

Desired Settlement: When all damages are fixed to my satisfaction, I will send him a check for this move.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern

 

The following complaint written By Mrs. ****** false the only noted damage on the paperwork rub on table leg and bent Mrs. ****** signed a contract for the move .

When I spoke to her on the phone she was very rude and told me things were on here terms and also stated good luck trying to collect anything from her she owns nothing

I told her I would send someone out after payment is received never anything else

she singed a contract for $.60 per pound insurance we were willing to fix it instead of giving her Minimal Reimbursement

 

when she pays for the move we will take care of the damage


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on D & D Moving & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart