BBB Accredited Business since

D & D Moving & Storage

Phone: (440) 353-6683 Fax: (440) 327-0932 View Additional Phone Numbers 7912 Root Rd Ste G, North Ridgeville, OH 44039 http://www.dndmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D & D Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for D & D Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on D & D Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2001 in OH Business incorporated 01/08/2004 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)
180 East Broad St., Columbus OH 43215
http://www.puc.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (800) 686-7826
Fax Number: 614-752-8351

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Derrek J. Supple, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derrek J. Supple, Owner
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Industry Tips
Moving Household Goods in Ohio

Additional Locations

  • 7912 Root Rd Ste G

    North Ridgeville, OH 44039 (440) 353-6683

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do not us D & D Moving. I found the owner ******* to be extraordinarily unprofessional, rude and abusive. He lost 2 of my boxes containing Waterford Crystal along with one boot. His response to this was "people always say they lost something and then it shows up". My boxes did not show up. He smashed a box of fine china and responded that because he didn't pack the box he was not responsible for the contents. Finally, *******'s company broke a wooden armoire. valued at $2,700. He says he has the right to fix it before he turns in a claim for the piece. He wants to pick the armoire up and take it to a furniture finisher. However, I do not believe this man is trustworthy or honest or capable of transporting owners property contents. Other of his reviews site similar behaviors and attitudes. Customer satisfaction should be the highest priority along with safe and secure delivery. He has failed the basics. Was this review helpful?

Desired Settlement: 2700.00 is the amount to replace the armoire 2000.00. to replace Rosenthal Fine China 1000.00 Waterford Bowl and other items in the box

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern

 

Mrs. **** called after her move inform us of some damages I responded quickly and went out to her apartment to see the damages  yes the Armoire did have damage to the molding I told her we would have a professional

repair the armoire we tried to pick it up once for repair and were denied she said she only wanted it replaced ( the armoire is not destroyed or does it have major damage see attached picture ) she now has agreed to let us pick up the armoire to take for  professional repair.

The other items she has a claim for the missing boot we did not pack her items the other boot was in a box she acknowledged she packed and unpacked.

The china she packed yes we only insure items we pack that is standard in the moving industry please understand not everything was in ready to move the day of the move items were poorly packed or not packed at all.

The missing Waterford bowl the truck was emptied completely no boxes on the truck so not sure how we would lose 1 bowl that would be packed with other items.

 

I even refunded Mrs. **** over $300.00 on her move it was my understanding she was moving many of the small items and never did also with not being ready it adds a lot of time to the move and the apartment she went to is not moving friendly

 

Finally when I went out to Mrs. ****'s apartment she was not pleasant I understand we all want the move to go perfect with no damage what makes us a better Company is to take care of things we fell we are doing are best to resolve the

issues before I left the apartment her comment to me was look me up online she has sued before.

 

Thank You,

****** ******

President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


***** **** <*******@yahoo.com>
Nov 17 


Dear  *******,

I have reviewed Mr. ******'s response and will respond in kind.

Mr. ******'s attitude and demeanor are unprofessional and rude. Mr. ******s's sentence structure, syntax and grammar are blatantly illiterate consequently making his context difficult interpret.

Mr. ****** never spoke with me except for coming to look at the damages. In addition, it should be noted that ****** was not in attendance or present the day of my move.  He doesn't know about the lost or broken items because he was not around to oversee the move.  His secretary was always my contact.

1. ****** alleges that my boxes weren't packed when indeed boxes were packed with lids. There were three      boxes without lids as their contents reached over the height of the box. 

2. There is damage along the top, middle and bottom of the armoire.  ****** took pictures of all of this but did not send them all to you. His furniture repair specialist can expound upon all of the damage done. His name is **** ****** and can be reached at C:************ or H:************. The piece on the crown is  no longer attached to the armoire. It has been dislodged and has been severely damaged. I told ****** that I wanted the piece replaced. He said "no". I told ****** I preferred to have it refinished in my house as ****** caused enough damage and loss to my belongings. I did not want it moved again by ****** as he is inept in his business. Once was enough!! He  picked up the armoire today. I will not accept the piece if it is not repaired to my satisfaction. He should reimburse the cost of the armoire along with the boot, crystal, porcelain and lost boxes.

3. The boot $475.00 was in a covered box with packing tape securing it and as were all the other boxes I packed except for the three I referred to.  One boot was in the box.

4. I packed two boxes of Rosenthal fine china, each piece bubble wrapped. One box arrived intact. The second box arrived smashed and shattered into little pieces indicative of slamming the box down or dropping it.

5. There were two boxes completely missing from the move which have NEVER RESURFACED!
One box contained a large Waterford bowl along with other crystal pieces. The second box included fine porcelain and fine china. Once again, ******s's response was that "he is not responsible".

6. ****** refunded me $399.00. As evidenced  in his response ****** does not even know how much he refunded  me!  As I said, ****** is not an honest businessman. However, the estimate he gave me was for $660.00. The day I moved he called to tell me he had to charge more because it took his crew longer than expected to complete. He charged me $1301.00 which I paid. I then spoke to my lawyer and financial advisor who suggested that we ask ****** for a refund. I did ask ****** for $600.00 who replied "no". He refunded me $399.00 which was not satisfactory.

7. Litigation is still under consideration and to be determined.

8. I want to be refunded for all of my broken, damaged and lost possessions.

9. ****** needs to accept his faults and responsibilities and make restitution.
 

Thank you,

***** ********* ****

Business Response:

To whom it may Concern

 

We stand behind our decision to repair the Armoire it's been picked up and at the repair shop.

The other items we can not be responsible for as stated in my earlier statement per the terms of the contract signed.

 

Mrs . **** has turned this into a personal attack on me the furniture repair man and my employees said all she did was say nasty things about me when they were there

 

Lastly we take care of our customers and have been in business for over 10 years with 75% of our business being referrals

 

****** ******

President

D&D Moving Inc.

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Dand D moving to move me from a condo in **** **** to a town house in **** ****, Ohio.(April 30th 2014). Because we had only 30 day notice of the move and I had just started a new job and I am DISABLED, I had arranged to be packed and moved.I knew that this wasn't going to be fun, nor cheap. Originally I was told over the phone $750 to $1000 dollars. The owner was to come out and get a better idea of how "bad" this move would really be, but was unavailable after 5:30PM or on weekends. He never made it.. and the move was on! My son who is 25 and his friends were there to help pack stuff and move items too(3 friends). The packing was the 30th and move the 1st.After they packed and packed and packed on the 30th, I told them to stop at about 2pm- This was getting crazy cost wise already- we continued that night and next a.m. The MBR was to be carefully packed in certain manner-My insulin and meds were not to be touched.( they were now missing on 4/30/14)Next was the move. We were moved into the T.H and masterbedroom was full- and the warddrobe boxes quickly unloaded by my daughter.I was presented with the Bill for $2165.00 (which I didn't have)so I wrote a check $1165.00 and post dated a check. I have not found my medications and I have not found pain medicine and we have unwrapped at least 5 stacks of paper only boxes,3 garbage cans with garbage in them,and so many boxes not used fully that I was charged for in the process.I have called twice and put a stop payment on the second check. New med cost me over $200 so far!not to mention chipped items that weren't wrapped in the million sheets of paper(i was charged for).

Desired Settlement: I would like to call it even! I know that my condo was a dissaster, and that we were not packed nor ready(hence the pay to be packed).But to be disrespected by packing paper only in boxes, old newspapers, garbage cans etc.. is ridiculous! We were charged per box and paper!!! Then the kitchen was left with about 200 dollars worth off canned food on shelves!My son collected those. But what if we were a long distance full move?If the owner doesn't feel he needs to call me then we are done...

Business Response:

On two different occasions she cancelled her estimate appointments one was at 4:30 the other was at 6pm. We tried to accommodate her as her schedule was very limited...

She didn't confirm she wanted packing until the week before as she was trying to get it done with her kids. 

I explained to her that packing was an hourly rate plus materials, she could use them as little or as much as she wanted. She said they did not accomplish their packing so at this point it was going to have to get done by us regardless of the cost.

 She asked if the men went through things like canned food for expiration dates, and threw thing out, she was told we only pack and move.

 When the men showed up it was not clean, organized or ready it was a mess. please see the attached pictures.

 Regarding missing items, as stated by ******* there were several family members and friends in and out of the house during the pack and move. 

 The last time we spoke she not unpacked to know if things were truly missing. She stated they would look in boxes in the garage over the weekend and give me an update, we have never gotten one.

 She also stated she even had boxes from her last move that were never unpacked.

 She never called the office during the pack or move with any concern of price.  Several days later did she call with news she had stopped payment on a check.

 We fully explained our services and rates to *******.  She was shown the charges for the first day and continued to use our services the following day

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from Chagrin Falls,Oh to Aurora,Oh.The 3 movers were who loaded and unloaded the truck caused some major damage to some of my items. I own a very expensive Henderdon dining room table with eight high back chairs. Three of the chairs were egual to the price of the entire move. My table had numerous nicks and scratches on it. The base of another living room chair was so badly bent that the chair now sat crooked. A leather chair was also badly scratched down the side. A pewter table was so badly bent that the glass top would not recede on top. An antique chinese writing table was chipped all down one side. A handle on a hand painted chest is missing. The sides of two paintings were scratched. Finally,I had asked the movers about the propane tank to my outside grill and they indicated they couldn't load it,however, they forgot to load the grill itself. It is still sitting at the old property. Once this was all discovered I called D&D and told them. They said they would call me and send someone out. When I did not hear from them I stopped payment on the check in the amount of $981.00. The estimate was for $837.00. I even tipped each mover $20.00each.When I finally got in contact with ***** from D&D he said he would send someone to look at the damage under the condition I pay them in full. I told him that was unacceptable, where would that leave me? Please note this as a complaint on your site. If you can negotiate with D&D on my behalf, fine. ***** refuses to do anything until paid. Their phone number is 440-353-6683. They also seem to have misplaced a shelf in a mirrored cabinet

Desired Settlement: When all damages are fixed to my satisfaction, I will send him a check for this move.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern

 

The following complaint written By Mrs. ****** false the only noted damage on the paperwork rub on table leg and bent Mrs. ****** signed a contract for the move .

When I spoke to her on the phone she was very rude and told me things were on here terms and also stated good luck trying to collect anything from her she owns nothing

I told her I would send someone out after payment is received never anything else

she singed a contract for $.60 per pound insurance we were willing to fix it instead of giving her Minimal Reimbursement

 

when she pays for the move we will take care of the damage

7/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used D and D movers for our August and Decemeber 2011 move and storage in between the moves. During our 2nd move I asked the owner what would be the charge to keep our hotub in storage and deliver in the spring (since we did not have a driveway or yard yet). He stated that since we used them twice (almost 4,000$)he would not charge me for ongoing storage and then only charge 100 dollars to deliver it in the spring. He stated that it "was a small hot tub and would not take up much space (shelving) and that he would put it on a truck when they were in the area". In January after our 2012 move we began recieving bills for the tub storage. I called and informed them of our verbal conversation and contract. I requested the owner call me and he would not. We continued to recieve storage bills and they would not resond. I called to arrange to have our tub delivered in the spring and they said it would cost almost $600 to have our tub delivered!!!!!!! I again informed the secreatry of the owners conversation and he would not call me. They said I did not have a written contract and could at that point charge us anything for storage and delivery (conversaly they did not have a contract to keep it since I considered the owners word) and assumed they would be honest and professional. I would have had the hut tub delivered with my other belongings in January and it would have cost me nothing !!!!!! The only reason I left it was because of our conversation. During our first move we arranged for two trucks and one broke down but we were still charged for 2. During our second move the price quoted was higher than 10% our contract guarentee. We also did not recieve a bill after our second move as they did not have thew paperwork !!!!!! I have found D and D dishonest and unscupulis and highly unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: When we asked to have our tub delivered they would not until the bill was paid in full !!!!! They at that point could charge us anything they wanted (that was of less value than the tub and literally kept the tub hostage). According to their respose we did not have a written contract ???? So how could they charge me ?????$ 300

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern

 

To addrees the complait from Mr. ********* Please see attached files as his states are false and without merit.

1 First he spent $2846.00 on on moves not $4000.00 and we are under the 10 % guarentee see bill of ladings signed by Mr. *********

2 When we delivered Mr. ********* on 01/20/12 there was no sidewalk or driveway this makes moves take longer and we never charged more

3 Mr. ********* never paid January storage $63.75

4 In regards to the hot tub I told Mr. ********* we would deliver the hot tub for a couple hundred dollars not a hundred the cost of fuel is $30.00 and you need 3men tod deliver so why would

we deliver for that price and store the hot tub for 7 months to loose money.

he was charged $30.00 per month storage for the hot tub and $200.00 to deliver

When he called and was given the cost to deliver we offerd for him to check around for other prices we know what we charged to deliver was a great price and thats why he called

back to have us deliver it.

Summary  Total estimate $2698.00 estimated move cost

Actual cost $2846.00

Please review all documents and as you can see Mr. *********'s statements are false

 

Thank You

D&D Management

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

D and D management informed me in person in Dec. of 2011 that I could leave my small two person hot tub in their storage for no additional charge since I had utilized them to move in August of 2011, stored most of our belongings with them in  their storage facility (Aug 2011-thru Jan 2012 and paid  them in full in January 2012) and was using them again to move in January 2012. They said at that time they would deliver the tub for 100 dollars when they were working in my area in the spring once we had our concrete patio. Why would I pay any more to have them deliver it later and continue to store it when I was paying them to move all of my wordly belongings in Decemeber of 2012 and had plenty of room??????  I will tell you why because I believed them. My mistake was to believe that they were honest and honerable and did not get anything in writing. They had no contract to continue to store or deliver the the tub but our conversation. In January I was informed during our 2nd delivery that everything was covered in the January bill and I was not provided a copy. I will foreward our copies of the bills and you can clearly see that they added and wrote things on them after the fact once you compare them to theirs. This is a true and factual indication and transparency of their lack of  buisinees ethics. 

 

Once I recieved a bill for the hot tub storage in February I requested management call me to discuss and resolve but they never did. Once they kept my tub they could charge whatever they wanted to continue to store it and deliver and what recourse would I have ??????  What I originally believed as a misunderstanding or miscommunication I quickley learned was tactic to extract more money from me........ They originally tried to charge me almost 500 dollars to deliver my tub this month !!!!!!!!!!  Once again I requested that management call and they never would. Therefore once I found out how unscupulous they truely are I was afraid they may damage my tub if I had someone else deliver it. I just wanted to be done with them as quickley as possible as it was overtly obviuos how  unprofessional they truely are. I plan on complaining formally to Howard Hanna as they promote themselves as a preffered vendor (what a joke) and on every web site I can access and communicate our unsatisfaction with them and will do everything in my power to protect other potential victims from this company. We have had several friends who asked whom we used as our movers and I report our nightmare and warn them of this company. Imagane you use a company for two complete moves and storage and then to be treated this way........not even a courtesy call from management and they know this to be true.......the poor secretary they use as a buffer.........

 

I will warn others never to use D and D movers or their storage facilty............or any mover who also doubles as a storage provider as if you are unhappy witht them they have you over a barrel. Also as a lesson one needs to get everything in writing and finially compare copies of bills and versiions of them as they can change them after the fact.......

 

 

 

Regards,

****** *********

 

 

Business Response:

To Whom It may concern

 

1 Please ask Mr.* ******** to provide copies of his canceled checks to see his false claim of $4000.00 he spent on moving

2 He was offerd to pick the hot tub up for no charge

3 The day we delivered the hot tub he only had a check for $200.00 the cost of delivery he said the other check was in the mail when we refused to deliver without the storage payment

all of the sudden his with wrote another check AND WE NEVER RECIEVED A CHECK IN THE MAIL  I WOULD SAY THATS DISHONEST

3 Again January storage was never paid

We find the statements to be false and with out merit what business gives things away for free and then does a service to loose money

he was given a great price

SEE ATTACHED 2 CHECKS FROM HOT TUB DELIVERY