BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

The Original Mattress Factory, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (216) 661-8388 Fax: (216) 661-2337 View Additional Phone Numbers 4930 State Rd., Cleveland, OH 44134 http://www.originalmattress.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Original Mattress Factory, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Original Mattress Factory, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

This firm has over 100 store and factory locations in Ohio, Minnesota, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina.

The following report is not cumulative and reflects complaints processed by the Cleveland BBB concerning the locations in our service area.

For a report on another regional location, you may wish to visit the National BBB website at www.bbb.org.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Original Mattress Factory, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 21, 1990 Business started: 04/13/1990 in 0 Business incorporated: 04/13/1990 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Department of Commerce / Division of Industrial Compliance
6606 Tussing Road, P.O. Box 4009, Reynoldsburg OH 43068-9009
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: 614-644-2618
ic@com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald E. Trzcinski, President Mr. Doug Stroup, Vice President Mr. Tom Vallo, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald E. Trzcinski, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Vallo, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Mattresses


Additional Locations

  • 249-B Midway Blvd.

    Elyria, OH 44035 (440) 324-4777

  • 25963 Lorain Rd.

    North Olmsted, OH 44070 (440) 734-0099

  • 4930 State Rd.

    Cleveland, OH 44134 (216) 661-8388

  • 5760 Mayfield Rd.

    Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 (440) 449-9488

  • 8269 E. Washington St.

    Chagrin Falls, OH 44023 (440) 543-5392

  • 9360 Mentor Ave.

    Mentor, OH 44060 (440) 974-0064

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (216) 661-8388(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today, 10/15/13, Tom Vallo came out to my address, to inspect my mattress and box spring. He informed me there is issues with the stitching on the mattress and advised me there is nothing that can be done about the tearing in the corner because the bed was not in sanitary condition. Mr. Vallo had no problem touching the bed with his bare hands and did not wash his hands upon exiting and possibly going to another appointment. So, I am not sure what the issue really is. The bed is as white and clean as when it was purchased with tiny minor non-biohazard marks. Tom Vallo said the box spring is damaged. Some metal inside of it is bent. It is therefore defective because I did not cause it and I have cared for it properly including rotating on a normal basis and moving it properly. The bed is damaged. I cared for it properly. I am not responsible for poor manufacturing and the non-honoring of warranties. I also did not appreciate comments by Mr. Vallo that my comfort is unaffected by the sagging box spring.

Desired Settlement: Both the bed and the box spring either need to be: repaired, replaced, or refunded in full. I also do not want to be liable for transportation costs. I paid nearly $700 for just a one-sided, full size mattress. I expect top-notch services, including the honoring of warranties. I suggest your company not offer warranties on items you are unprepared to furnish.

Business Response:

I have received your letter dated October 15, 2013 regarding Mr. ******* ********.  Our company philosophy guides us to try to be more than fair in dealing with our customers in the unlikely event of a problem and to try to create win-win situations whenever possible.  When we are at fault, we take responsibility for our actions and take the appropriate measures to correct the problem.  We have thoroughly reviewed all documentation on our correspondence with Mr. ******** since his initial service request on October 8, 2013 and feel we have been more than fair in this situation.  
 
Mr. ******** purchased the mattress only on March 29, 2011 on invoice ***** and later purchased the box spring on April 20, 2011 on invoice 18619 (see attached).  Mr. ******** took the products with him.  He phoned us with his service request on October 10, 2013.
 
The damage to the mattress is that the stitching has become loose in one area.  Ordinarily, under our warranty we would return that to the factory to be re-stitched.  However, we cannot do so when the mattress is in unsanitary condition, due to the obvious concern for contamination of other products and our machinery.  Our warranty clearly states: “The Original Mattress Factory reserves the right to refuse service when the product is found on inspection to be in an unsanitary condition, or when product failure is due to causes other than defective workmanship or material.”  Our warranty also lists “Items Covered By Our Warranty Under Normal Use and Items NOT Covered By Our Warranty”.  The Original Mattress Factory reserves the right to deny warranty coverage if it appears, in good faith, that the product may be in an unsanitary condition or may have been damaged by other abuse.
 
Mr. ******** admits in his complaint that there are what he calls “non bio-hazard marks” on the mattress.  He disputes the seriousness of this issue by claiming that Mr. Vallo had no problem examining the product with his bare hands and did not wash his hands upon exiting.  Upon informing Mr. ******** that there was nothing we could do for him due to the mattress not being in good sanitary condition, Mr. ******** asked Mr. Vallo leave his home.  Further, it has always been the practice of Mr. Vallo to return to our company van to sanitize his hands before proceeding to the next appointment or returning to the factory.  
 
As to the box spring, Mr. Vallo’s inspection revealed that there was damage to the metal coils.  We believe this damage may have been caused during a move.  The address given on the invoice at the time of purchase was different than the address for the service visit on October 15, 2013 indicating that the product has been moved from the original location.  
 
Based upon our limited inspection it does not appear that the box spring damage was caused by normal use or defect.  Nevertheless, the Original Mattress Factory is willing to repair the damaged box spring as long as the box spring is in good sanitary condition.  Unfortunately, Mr. Vallo was not able to determine whether the box spring was in sanitary condition at the time of the inspection because he was asked to leave the home after he informed Mr. ******** that the mattress was not in a sanitary condition.  If the box spring is in sanitary condition, we will remove it from Mr. ********’s home at no charge to him and will either repair it or replace it, at our option.
 
Please let me know if this resolution is satisfactory to Mr. ********.  If you have any additional questions or would like more information on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
***** ********
The Original Mattress Factory
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Enough is enough with attempting to have the bed repaired. You are now making the blatant statement that if I have the bed cleaned you will repair the product. Furthermore, you state that this offer has always been on the table; it has not. I believe for issues of simplicity and to avoid conflict, that both your company and I remove the proposition of having the bed repaired from our list of options. We are unable to come to any reasonable agreement on the matter. Never have you stated, at any point, that if the bed is to be cleaned that sanitary issues will be resolved. You have fought the stains notion vigorously. Secondly, according to care instructions for the bed set provided by your company, the only way the bed should be cleaned is with a vacuum cleaner. Moreover, you have stated in this correspondence that using cleaning products on the bed voids the warranty. At this stage, I no longer believe having the bed repaired is appropriate whatsoever. It is most responsible and beneficial that this no longer is an option.

You have placed me, the consumer, your customer, between a rock-and-a-hard-place; in a dilemma with no way out.

You further claim that in previous correspondence that you made an offer to replace my box spring. I see no offer; are we reading the same complaint? You said you will need to inspect my box spring to decifer whether it is in sanitary condition before taking any action. You state that if in sanitary condition you will repair or replace the box spring at your option. At this point, you're simply being misleading about your statements.

From what I can tell now, you are now offering me a new box spring; I accept the offer of a new, replacement box spring only on the condition that I will have a new, replacement mattress to go along with it. Otherwise, if I have no use for a box spring, I would like my entire order refunded in full. You've already acknowledged workmanship defects, now it is your time to do the right thing. No more games.

Replace or refund the entire bed set.


Regards,

******* ********

 

 

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *******:
 
We stand by the position outlined in our most recent response, dated November 15, 2013.  If Mr. ******** wishes to accept our proposal it will remain open until December 11, 2013.  Thank you for your assistance in bringing this matter to a conclusion.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had purchased a "top of the line" King size pillow top mattress from Original Mattress Factory about 3 years ago for over $1,000. About a year ago we started have back issues and have been waking up in pain and agony from sleeping on the mattress. We cannot sleep a whole night on the bed without excruciating pain from discomfort from the mattress. We have voiced our concern to the company and they have tricked us into buying a new frame and mattress topper which did nothing for the comfort. We then insisted on a technician to come out and check the bed. Certainly a brand new mattress which was sold to us as the very best could be causing this much pain without having a defect. The technician came out and said we have about an 1 to 1.25 impression which is normal and they only take action if it is 1.5 or more. The technician then proceeds to tell us how mattresses aren't made like they used to be and how they are now made with cotton and aren't made with the best materials. Which why would they sell it to us at the best mattress and get us to pay $1,200 for a mattress that barely lasts us 3 years. I have been doing a lot of research online and have found multiple complaints similar to ours and yet Original Mattress claims they don't have a comfort policy. I think something should be done about this and warn future customers not to throw there money down the drain on a mattress that costs over $1,000 and doesn't last and is being sold as top of the line. They are a bunch of scam artists and lack in the customer service sector. Please help!

Desired Settlement: Refund or a replacement. People buy mattresses to fit their specific comfort and I get that Original Mattress Factory can't have a comfort policy but I would hope that the comfort of the mattress doesn't change only after 3 years. It does not hold up to the standard the they portray and I want them to be responsible for these poor customers like myself who are dealing with back pain and discomfort while sleeping. The pain has now been crossing over to my daily activities.

Business Response:

As a member in good standing with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), we are committed to addressing the concerns presented by Ms. ****** ******, BBB ID *******.
 
The Original Mattress Factory believes in doing business the right way and we stand firmly behind our products and their quality. We realize that we will never be able to satisfy 100% of our customers, but when a situation does arise we do our best to resolve any issues and strive for the win-win solution.
 
I received your letter dated February 28, 2014 regarding Ms. ****** ****** on March 3, 2014. We have thoroughly reviewed all documentation on our correspondence with Ms. ****** since her initial service request on December 2, 2013 and feel we have been more than fair in this situation.
 
In response to Ms. ******'s desired settlement for a full refund, please understand that for the protection of the consumer, The Original Mattress Factory sells only new bedding products with all new materials. Therefore, we do not accept returns or exchanges on upholstered bedding products, including, but not limited to mattresses, box springs, pillows, sheets, mattress pads, covers and protectors. This position is clearly stated on signs displayed on our sales desks, in the warranty card, on our website and on the back of the invoice Ms. ****** received at the time of purchase.
 
Our records indicate the following:
• Ms. ****** purchased a king size mattress set on April 28, 2010 on invoice ***** under the name ****** M******* (see attached invoice).
• On December 2, 2013, Ms. ****** visited our Mayfield Heights store and spoke to J** ******* claiming that the mattress was defective. Ms. ****** claimed there was a noise coming from the mattress, that they could feel the springs, and that the mattress was causing back pain from sleeping on it. Ms. ****** also stated that she had visited the store before and was advised to purchase a mattress pad to help with the comfort of the mattress. In response, J** explained that the warranty does not cover comfort, but does cover any defects in materials or workmanship with the mattress. J** suggested that they move the mattress to the floor to see if the noise persists or if it could be attributed to the frame, which is often the case with noise issues. Ms. ****** informed J** that they purchased a frame from Costco that was recommended by him. J** questioned the logic of this statement given that we sell one of the strongest frames in the industry at a great price. J** completed a service request form and forwarded it to our Customer Service Manager.
• Our Customer Service Manager, T** *****, contacted Ms. ****** and scheduled a service visit on December 13, 2013. Upon inspection of the mattress, T** found no defects in the mattress set. T** found the mattress to exhibit normal wear within the 1 %" tolerance for body impression. He explained that there was nothing defective just normal wearing of the mattress. T** explained that the issue may be one of comfort He offered them a piece of supersoft foam at no charge ($50 retail value, see attached) for them to try to see if a softer product helped with the comfort issue. T** also offered to have the mattress returned to the factory to be opened up and inspected to verify that it was built correctly if Ms. ****** felt strongly that the mattress was defective.
• On January 11,2014, Ms. ****** visited our Mayfield Store and purchased a king size bed frame on invoice H11308 under the name M******* (see attached invoice).
• On February 27, 2014, we received an email from Ms. ****** wanting to hear from an Original Mattress Factory executive regarding the mattress. She claimed the mattress is now causing pain and agony to sleep on. She advised that she had submitted a BBB Claim and was looking for social media outlets to voice her opinions.
• On March 3, 2014,1 attempted to contact Ms. ****** via phone but did not get an answer nor did she return my call.
 
Our company philosophy guides us to try to be more than fair in dealing with our customers in the unlikely event of a problem and to try to create win-win situations whenever possible. When we are at fault, we take responsibility for our actions and take the appropriate measures to correct the problem.
 
We have done the following in order to try to work with Ms. *****:
1. We went out to Ms. ******'s residence to inspect the mattress to ensure that the product was free from any obvious defects.
2. We provided her with a foam topper ($50 retail value), at no charge, in an effort to address her comfort issue and to help with the transition.
3. We offered to bring Ms. ******'s mattress back to the factory, take it apart and inspect each material to ensure that there are no defects and that the materials and construction are correct We invited Ms. ****** to be present for this inspection so that she too could verify that all was in order. If she agrees to be present, we will waive all pick-up, redelivery and labor fees associated with this transaction.
Without question should we discover that there is a manufacturing or material defect, we will repair or replace the material at our option. Please note that in order for product to come back into our factory it must be in sanitary condition and must undergo a sanitization treatment.
 
The mattress set the Ms. ****** purchased has a 12 year non-prorated warranty (see attached warranty). We stand behind this warranty, however Ms. ****** must be willing to allow us to do that The next step in the process is to bring the mattress back into the factory and take it apart to inspect every layer of padding to ensure that there are no defects and that the materials and construction are correct.
 
We take pride in our products, the people who work for us and our nine point Philosophy based on integrity that guides our business. We have a strong reputation for quality and service and more than half of our business comes from repeat customers or referrals, so there is no incentive for us to deceive Ms. ****** or any other customer as is stated in her complaint.
 
One final note of clarification, Ms. ****** states in her letter that the technician told her "how mattresses aren't made like they used to be and how they are now made with cotton and aren't made with the best materials." There is some confusion here. The statement is correct in that most national brand mattresses are not made with the same quality materials they used to be, but ours would be an exception. Cotton is a very high quality upholstery material and helps to increase durability and to maintain a more consistent feel over the life of the mattress. If you have any additional questions or would like more information on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.
 
Sincerely,
David L. Phillips 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we were never told about thee return policy.when we recieved are mattress and it was like a rock we called up to the store.customer service stinks.then then told us there is a no return policy.and we could exchange for a 25% loss of our original mattress plus pay the cost of the upgrade. we were never told about this olicy and the owner/worker told me it is hanging in the store and i should of read it..it seems there afraid to tell people about there policy.

Desired Settlement: 600.00 refund.. they still make there money just i lose out.

Business Response:

Dear ******* ******:

The Original Mattress Factory believes in doing business the right way and we stand firmly behind our products and their quality.   We realize that we will never be able to satisfy 100% of our customers, but when a situation does arise we do our best to resolve any issues and strive for the win-win solution. 

For the protection of the consumer, The Original Mattress Factory sells only new bedding products with all new materials.  Therefore, we do not accept returns or exchanges on upholstered bedding products, including, but not limited to mattresses, box springs, pillows, sheets, mattress pads, covers and protectors.  This position is clearly stated on signs displayed on our sales desks, in the warranty card and on the back of the invoice the customer received at the time of purchase.  A copy of our warranty card is enclosed for your reference.

In the unusual situation where a customer has a non-warranty issue related to personal comfort preferences, we offer a one time replacement option.  The original purchaser may within one (1) year of the date of delivery with the proof of purchase, tender the original product to us for disposal or provide us with a receipt showing that the product has been donated to a legitimate charitable organization.  We will then provide the customer with a replacement mattress and/or box spring from our current model selection for a replacement fee of 25% of the list price of the lower priced selected model for comfort issues.  We will absorb 75% of the list price to assist the customer who made a selection mistake.  In addition, the customer will be responsible for the difference between the cost of the model originally selected and the newly selected model.  The customer is also responsible for all applicable pick-up and delivery fees.

In response to Mr. ******’s BBB complaint, the following is a time line of what has transpired to date:

1.    On Tuesday, March 19, 2013, the original purchaser Mr. **** ****** visited our Bainbridge store to purchase a mattress only.  Mr. ****** met with our store manager E***** ***.  Mr. ****** was looking to purchase a California king size mattress.  Mr. ****** informed E***** that they were purchasing a platform bed for the mattress and did not need box springs.  E***** worked with Mr. ****** to help him select a mattress.  He decided to purchase a California king size mattress of Orthopedic Ultra Plush, on invoice ***** to be picked up on Friday, March 22, 2013.  Mr. ****** alleges that he did not receive notice of the comfort return policy at the time of purchase.  All salespeople are trained to discuss the comfort return policy with the customer and to provide a copy of the warranty card, which includes the comfort policy, at the time of sale. Although it is possible that E***** failed to cover the policy, however our comfort policy is prominently displayed on the sales desk and is included on the back of the invoice that was presented to Mr. ******.

2.    On Tuesday, March 26, 2013, Mrs. ****** ****** called our Bainbridge store and spoke to E***** complaining about the mattress.  Her complaint was that the mattress was too hard and did not feel like the one in the store.  E***** discussed our comfort exchange policy with her and that she has up to one year to exercise that option.  Mrs. ****** then informed E***** that the mattress was raised in the center and that her husband could feel the springs in the center of the mattress.  Mrs. ****** stated that they could not wait for this to be resolved and something had to be done as soon as possible as they were not sleeping.  E***** put in a service request to have our customer service manager contact them about their issues. 

3.    On Wednesday, March 27, 2013, T** ***** our customer service manager contacted Mrs. ****** about her service request.  During this call, Mrs. ****** stated that the mattress did not feel like the mattress they tried in the store and that we gave them the wrong mattress.  T** explained to Mrs. ****** that if we gave them the incorrect mattress that we would take care of it.  T** offered to come out to their home to inspect the mattress.  Mrs. ****** did not want T** to come out to inspect.  T** tried to explain the difference between ad warranty issue and a comfort issue.  Mrs. ****** stated it was not fair for them to spend over $800 for a mattress that they could not sleep on.  T** offered a foam topper at no charge ($50 retail value) that they could put on top of the mattress to see if that would help.  T** recommended that they try the topper and give at least 30 days to adjust to the mattress.  T** had the foam topper sent to the Bainbridge store for Mr. ****** to pick up on Thursday, March 28, 2013 (invoice *****).  Please note that Mr. ****** purchased a mattress only and that the box springs are a key component to the comfort, durability and support of a mattress.  The box springs can impact the feel of the mattress, which may explain the feel difference versus the showroom model.

Our company philosophy guides us to try to be more than fair in dealing with our customers in the unlikely event of a problem and to try to create win-win situations whenever possible.  When we are at fault, we take responsibility for our actions and take the appropriate measures to correct the problem.  In conclusion if Mr. & Mrs. ****** feel that there is defect in the mattress, we want to inspect it and address their concerns.  However, they must allow us to do so.  If the issue is all comfort there is an option available for Mr. & Mrs. ****** to exercise.

Sincerely,



***** ** ********
The Original Mattress Factory, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On about the 31st of May, 2012 I purchased two twin mattresses from the Original Mattress Factory North Olmsted store. I paid approximately $1200.00 for the mattress that was sold to me by *** as 100% NATURAL LATEX. My husband and I both were there and that is how she represented the mattress. When the mattress was delivered it was left in original packaging until I could set up beds. Two weeks later when unwrapped the tag on the mattress said "40% NATURAL LATEX and 60% MAN MADE LATEX. I called and complained because it was so soft I could not use it. The only warranty they have is for you to repurchase another one for 25% of cost (which I believe is their cost of making the mattress). This is not acceptable because the mattress was new and misrepresented to us at point of purchase and they do NOT by their own admission sell any 100% NATURAL LATEX MATTRESS. The second mattress was defective and when I went back to the store in June to complain the man said they could exchange it. When he started to write it up he then, and that was the first time I knew this, stated that of the $500.00 purchase price I would have to buy the second for over $150.00. I was upset and told him to cancel and do not put anything else on my charge. They sent out a rude man to check them out. All he did was argue that the latex mattress ticket with contents said "40%/60% LATEX" on it and that "no one even sold 100% NATURAL LATEX" mattresses. That is not true and the only reason I purchased a mattress for $1200. is because *** said it was "100% NATURAL LATEX". They argued that I could not "prove" what *** said. Of course I did not have a tape recorder with me because I did think they were a reputable company and there were two of us there when she described it. I have spinal problems and explained to them for 50 years I have used only natural latex.Second mattress: What kind of company would have you REPURCHASE a new defective mattress.These terms should be explained BEFORE a purchase is made. Than

Desired Settlement: Since the Original Mattress Factory does NOT sell 100% NATURAL LATEX mattresses as they claimed I think they should refund the $1200.00 for the mattress. The second mattress should be replaced free of charge since it was brand new and is defective. The rep that came out said he was the highest person I could talk to and they have indeed made it impossible for me to speak with anyone else. My husband and I had clearances by FBI for our jobs and do not lie. The saleswoman wanted to make a sale

Business Response:

Pm in receipt of your letter dated 10/8/12 regarding the experience that one of our customers
had with our North Olmsted Store. First, please know that the Original Mattress Factory prides
itself on straightforward and honest dealing with our customers. We maintain an A+ rating
with the Better Business Bureau. As such we take the concerns raised in your letter very
seriously and want to ensure that you have accurate information about our company’s products
and procedures.

All of the Original Mattress Factory stores have a comprehensive warranty and comfort
adjustment policy to ensure customer satisfaction with our products. Our sales staff are trained
to explain the warranty and comfort adjustment policy to customers at the time of sale and if
becomes necessary, a?er the sale. The warranty covers defects in materials and workmanship
for up to 12 years, depending upon the style of the mattress purchased. To initiate the warranty
process, in normal instances, we inspect the mattress at no charge with the customer at the
customer’s home. If necessary, an in-factory inspection may be arranged.

If the concern is comfort. rather then a problem with the materials or workmanship. we offer an
exchange of the product for a whole year a?er receipt of the product. Because we do not re-sell
previously used bedding products there is a replacement fee of25% of the original purchase
price. (The full details are outlined in the enclosed warranty card, which is presented to the
customers at the time of sale).

In Ms. ********’s situation We believe we have fully complied with the warranty and policies
outlined above. Furthermore, Ms. ******** attempted to deliver a letter direct to Ron
Trzcinski’s home. I replied with the attached letter and at this time I’m waiting for her reply.
The Original Mattress Factory has a long standing reputation for integrity and fair dealing and
we appreciate the opportunity to work with you to resolve this customers concern. If you have
any further questions or concerns, I would be happy to discuss those with you.
Sincerely, 

***** *******
Vice President

Letter to consumer p.1

****** ************** ******* *** ****
***** ***** **** **
******** ***** ** *****

Dear Ms. O’Malley-Terry;

Your letter was forwarded to me and I felt I should respond;

In your letter dated September 26, 2012, you concluded by asking “will you do the right thing ....” which
you interpret as allowing a chargeback on your Master Card or in essence a full re?md to you. You
support your position by saying you have spent considerable time trying to resolve this and you seriously
feel you were defrauded. You add that you can not believe a company this large would not stand behind
their products.

First let me respond to your support for the defrauded claim. You stated that we represented a mattress as
100% NATURAL latex, and that the sales clerk did not tell you the truth. The latex product we sell is
100% latex comprised of 60% synthetic latex and 40 % natural latex. The product you ordered and
received is the same as the one in the store that you tested and was presented by the sales person that same
way. The sales lady at the North Olmsted store has been with us for over 20 years and has an impeccable
record. She does not deserve to be called a liar.

In regards to you spending a considerable amount of time because:
- You contacted the store but did not receive any satisfaction.
- You contacted the regional of?ce but the man that answered the phone would not let you speak to
anyone in authority.
- The person you talked to also said if you mentioned his name in any suit he would sue you. This
made you suspicious that there had been other problems.
- Our service representative went to your home but he too was unable to resolve the situation to your
satisfaction. You also tried to get him to let you speak to me or someone in authority. Upon arrival
you found him to be rude. argumentative and condescending.

So in each case, according to you, you found everyone you had contact with unsatisfactory.
- The sales clerk on your initial visit to purchase the mattress.
- The second visit to the store to resolve the problem
- The call to the regional office
- The visit from our service representative.
These are all fine people, all of whom has been with our company for over IO years. They have the
authority to do the jobs in which you have dealt with them and yet you always wanted to speak to
someone with authority. I wonder if you treated them with the respect they offered you. I wonder because

Letter to consumer p.2

while you ask us to do the right thing you spend the preceding paragraph threatening all types of action
against our company.

So in summary we did not defraud or lie to you. We spent a great deal of time on this issue as well. So
returning to your original solution of allowing a total chargeback so that you have all your money back
and we have all the loss. Not my idea of the right thing. Because we stand behind our product and would
like to resolve this I will reiterate the offer we made to you. We have a comfort policy that would allow
you to exchange your mattress for another one in our showroom. You would pay 25% of the price of the
lower priced mattress and we would absorb 75% of the price. I also would be willing to try a different
approach in your case because you are so unhappy with dealing with our company. I would allow you to
donate the beds to a non-pro?t charity, give us proof of that donation and we will refund 60% of the total
purchase price. This will cost both of us but hopefully make some third party happy. You can get the
charitable contribution if one exists and you would be able to purchase from someone else who you
believe would serve you better.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Vice President


Cc: Ron Trzcinski

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Let me respond to Mr. ******* note.  Because Mr. ******* or no one else at OMF, of authority, would speak to me they do not know the facts.  Once again the $1200 mattress was sold as "100% NATURAL  latex.  When it arrived and I found it to be only 40% NATURAL latex it was not what it was sold as.  I know about natural latex because all my life in my parents home and in my home we used U.S. Koylon Foam Mattresses by U.S. Rubber.  They were indeed 100% Natural Latex.  I could not buy a 100% Natural Latex from OMF because by their own admission at this time they do not make one. 

I always bought my mattresses for the spare rooms and my children's homes at Levin Furniture Co. because the stand behind all their products.  I ended up at OMF because Levin's did not sell 100% Natural Latex Mattresses and when I called OMF they said they did.

I will agree to donate the mattresses and send the receipt to the BBB which they can forward to the OMF so their is no question as to my actions.

For the record I do NOT agree with the facts in Mr. *******'s rebuttal but will not waste any more of your time disputing his inaccuracies.  If they has spent half this much effort and spoke to me this could have all been avoided.

I would like to thank the Better Business Bureau for their professionalism and the excellent service they provide.  Your time and attention to this matter are certainly very much appreciated.  In all phone conversations your employees were very polite and helpful.  It is satisfying to know that someone will mediate these type of problems.

Sincerely

****** **************



5

Regards,

****** ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1