BBB Accredited Business since

Mattress Showcase

Phone: (216) 741-4400 Fax: (216) 459-0999 4935 State Rd., Cleveland, OH 44134 http://mattressshowcasecle.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mattress Showcase meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mattress Showcase include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Complaint Information

According to the company's Web site, as of July 2011, there are nine Mattress Showcase locations in Ohio and one in Pennsylvania. Each location is independently owned & operated.

The following customer experience is not cumulative and reflects complaint activity only for the State Road location.

For a report on another location, you may wish to visit the National BBB website at www.bbb.org.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mattress Showcase
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1986 in OH Business incorporated 03/11/2011 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John D. Platt, Owner Ms. Amy Von Alt, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John D. Platt, Owner
Business Category

Mattresses Bedding Furniture - Retail

Products & Services

Mattress Showcase sells the following brand(s): Simmons, Tempur-Pedic, Englander, White Dove, King Koil Solstice, Leggett and Platt

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards,  checks, and cash.
Alternate Business Names
Cleveland Bedding, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 4935 State Rd.

    Cleveland, OH 44134 (216) 741-4400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a new mattress and it is failing after 11 months. I went to the store to talk to John who said he was the owner, he said he would stop out to measure the mattress so we could take care of the problem with the manufacturer. He called to say he would be out on Thursday 5/29/14. He did not call or show. He now has a worker calling me and giving me a hard time about having me measure the mattress first or he will not come out. We know the mattress is not firm and failing but we just want the owner to come out like he promised and take care of the problem. We have bought products from them in the past and had no problem, now we have a problem and we feel the owner and store want us to do all the work to handle a product issue on our own.

Desired Settlement: just replace the mattress or give our money back

Business Response:

Mr. ****** came to the the store advising that there was a problem with his mattress dipping.  John Platt, who is the owner of Mattress Showcase, offered to come out personally to take a look since Mr. ****** seemed very upset with the situation.  John left a message Wednesday, the 28th advising that he could stop out on his way home if he heard back from Mr. ****** before the store closed.  On Thursday, there was a voicemail from Mr. ****** advising what times he would be available on the 29th for John to come out.  John was in a meeting so I offered to help.  I requested and offered to assist with Mr. ****** measuring the dip of his mattress so that I could process the paperwork on our end.  For one, paperwork must be filled out before we can process the claim.  Normal policy is that a pamphlet packet is filled out by the customer and we return to Simmons for authorization or the next steps needed by them.  John offering to personally come out was to help since Mr. ****** was upset with the situation and didn't feel that questioning was warranted.  I opened the store and retrieved Mr. ******'s voicemail.  I contacted him for the information needed to process the paperwork.  Mr. ****** became very upset and disrepectful when I asked for this information stating that he would only talk to John.  I told him John asked that I call to get the information so that he could come out.   He kept mentioning how things are done at his place of employment and yelling that he was only giving us one chance to make this right or he would be contacting several people.  He hung up on me twice.  The first time I wasn't sure, but the second time was confirmed. 

After speaking with John, we both agree due to the threats and disrespect that was shown, we will move forward with Mr. ****** following normal policy.   John attempted to avoid the customer having to fill out the pamphlet by offering to come out and do it for him which is far from the normal procedure.  Ironically, the packet requires more effort than the simple request of measuring the dip which I offered to assist over the phone.   Policy is set forth to protect customers and the store.  John initated a good will attempt that backfired.  I have never experienced a customer not wanting to assist with a possible warranty claim.  Mr. ****** is welcomed to fill out the packet that was mailed and return to us.  We will expedite immediately his claim request with Simmons.  Unfortunately, the offer for John to come out has been removed and normal policy only will be followed from this point moving forwar

*** *** ***

Manager

 

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After learning that the product we were interested in was not available for another 4 days new we requested the mattress that was on the floor. We ended up purchasing the mattress at a regular price that the owner quoted us. After sleeping first night on it, I had a back-ache which was disappointing. We tried calling the owner the very first morning after buying it and were told that there's nothing he can do, and that we may need to buy a mattress topper. Unfortunately it is highly unjustifiable to buy a mattress topper after buying a mattress for almost $700. We had the mattress under the protection cover to ensure that the condition of item was not compromised from the get go. We are trying to exchange the mattress, however, looking at the back of the receipt it seems like the owner offers little in terms of satisfaction guarantee.

Desired Settlement: We would like a softer mattress. We can't by any means justify why a "display model" can't be returned as it was already opened in store and people used it. Furthermore, since we paid full price for the item I can't see how it can even be treated as display model in context of store policy.

Business Response:

Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding.  Our computer was undergoing maintenance due to a virus attack.

With regards to the complaint, a considerable amount of time was spent with the customer in their choice selection.  Unfortunately, they needed asap and we were unable to have ready for pick-up or delivery until 8/31, which was 4 days later.  ******* inquired about taking the floor model which had only been on our floor for a short time.  New sets are $1099 less $175 for matt only.  John sold the matt for $625, less than typically sold to earn the business from the customer.

On the following day, the customer called complaining of back issues and inquiring if they could return.  John made a call to the manufacturer on the customer's behalf even knowing that they do not return mdse due to comfort guarantees and this is stated on their warranty info.  Their request to have us return to the store in not within our policy and I will explain in detail why.  Due to the bed bug epidemic; there are no mattresses ever returned to the store.  This protects the customers and our stock so it could never be put back down to use as a floor model. Also, mattresses are similar to shoes, there is a break in period and this is discussed in the store with the customer. 

John did advise the customer that because of the break in period, that worst case, they could use a topper.  This was only recommended because the customer was complaining of back issues and at that point, we had no other options in helping.  We will offer the customer a one time wholesale discounted price if they would like to come in and choose a softer matress but unfortunately, that is the best we can offer for reasons stated above.

 

Best,

*** *** ***

Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It seems like this business' practices are very much flawed and practically illegal. In the response I received Mattress Showcase representative implied that the cost of the mattress is $1099: as soon as I walked in the door I learned that all of the price tags were MSRP.  This place being no different had all of the high price tags- but John immediately started quoting lower prices for EVERY ITEM I INQUIRED ABOUT.  If you walk in the door of any retailer, should you see actual prices of products or MSRP?  Isn't it obvious that a policy that rejects returns on sale models, but in turn makes every item with a "special sale price" puts no trust into it's business practices? On the basis of their unlawful business practice I revoke any response that came after this statement: how can I believe a word they said if they already made an inoperative statement in the middle of their response.  If I lose this case, I would like to at least make it known to the consumers so they are aware before losing money and losing sleep over this.


P.S.  This makes me question: "How does a business with such responses to customer complaints and such business practices get an "A+" rating on BBB?




*** ****** ** ** ******** **** ****** ** * ****** ** ***** **** ** **** **** **** ** *** ********

Regards,

******* *********

 

 

Business Response:

Our stand regarding this rejection is simply what was initially stated.  The customer was given a more than fair price for a floor model that was practically new.  Typically, we do not sell floor models at a discounted price unless they have been on our floor for a minimum of 4-6 months.  With that being said, it was the customer that inquired about the floor model since they did not want to wait until the 8/31 delivery.  John is the owner of this store and worked hard to earn the customer's business.  John has the authority to sell his products at whatever discounted price he chooses since he owns the business.  The customer was very happy with the deal he received and had no problems questioning our business practices until he decided that he wanted a softer mattress.  I find that to be unfair on his part.  All paperwork states that there are no returns on opened packaging.  The customer was fine in taking this chance since at the time of the purchase, he also knew he received a really great deal.  Our initial response offered him a replacement mattress at wholesale pricing which I have personally not seen practiced in this industry to only be insulted with his rejection comments. 

 

In closing, we can only offer the customer a replaced mattress at wholesale pricing.  We would never return anything to our floor that went to our house, a customer's house or the White House.  To protect our customers and our business, we do not offer comfort guarantees and this was stated at the time.  I don't understand why the customer does not recall this being discussed but in any event, it is a business practice that is unique out there and something we are very proud to practice.

 

The offer for the one time replaced mattress at wholesale pricing will be honored for an additional 30 days from today, with again the understanding that no comfort guarantees are given. 

 

 

Best,

*** *******

Store Manager

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable