BBB Accredited Business since

Mattress Showcase

Phone: (216) 741-4400 Fax: (216) 459-0999 4935 State Rd., Cleveland, OH 44134

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mattress Showcase meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mattress Showcase include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

According to the company's Web site, as of July 2011, there are nine Mattress Showcase locations in Ohio and one in Pennsylvania. Each location is independently owned & operated.

The following customer experience is not cumulative and reflects complaint activity only for the State Road location.

For a report on another location, you may wish to visit the National BBB website at

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mattress Showcase
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 08, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1986 in OH Business incorporated 03/11/2011 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John D. Platt, Owner Ms. Amy Von Alt, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John D. Platt, Owner
Business Category

Mattresses Bedding Furniture - Retail

Products & Services

Mattress Showcase sells the following brand(s): Simmons, Tempur-Pedic, Englander, White Dove, King Koil Solstice, Leggett and Platt

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards,  checks, and cash.
Alternate Business Names
Cleveland Bedding, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 4935 State Rd.

    Cleveland, OH 44134 (216) 741-4400


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a new mattress and it is failing after 11 months. I went to the store to talk to John who said he was the owner, he said he would stop out to measure the mattress so we could take care of the problem with the manufacturer. He called to say he would be out on Thursday 5/29/14. He did not call or show. He now has a worker calling me and giving me a hard time about having me measure the mattress first or he will not come out. We know the mattress is not firm and failing but we just want the owner to come out like he promised and take care of the problem. We have bought products from them in the past and had no problem, now we have a problem and we feel the owner and store want us to do all the work to handle a product issue on our own.

Desired Settlement: just replace the mattress or give our money back

Business Response:

Mr. ****** came to the the store advising that there was a problem with his mattress dipping.  John Platt, who is the owner of Mattress Showcase, offered to come out personally to take a look since Mr. ****** seemed very upset with the situation.  John left a message Wednesday, the 28th advising that he could stop out on his way home if he heard back from Mr. ****** before the store closed.  On Thursday, there was a voicemail from Mr. ****** advising what times he would be available on the 29th for John to come out.  John was in a meeting so I offered to help.  I requested and offered to assist with Mr. ****** measuring the dip of his mattress so that I could process the paperwork on our end.  For one, paperwork must be filled out before we can process the claim.  Normal policy is that a pamphlet packet is filled out by the customer and we return to Simmons for authorization or the next steps needed by them.  John offering to personally come out was to help since Mr. ****** was upset with the situation and didn't feel that questioning was warranted.  I opened the store and retrieved Mr. ******'s voicemail.  I contacted him for the information needed to process the paperwork.  Mr. ****** became very upset and disrepectful when I asked for this information stating that he would only talk to John.  I told him John asked that I call to get the information so that he could come out.   He kept mentioning how things are done at his place of employment and yelling that he was only giving us one chance to make this right or he would be contacting several people.  He hung up on me twice.  The first time I wasn't sure, but the second time was confirmed. 

After speaking with John, we both agree due to the threats and disrespect that was shown, we will move forward with Mr. ****** following normal policy.   John attempted to avoid the customer having to fill out the pamphlet by offering to come out and do it for him which is far from the normal procedure.  Ironically, the packet requires more effort than the simple request of measuring the dip which I offered to assist over the phone.   Policy is set forth to protect customers and the store.  John initated a good will attempt that backfired.  I have never experienced a customer not wanting to assist with a possible warranty claim.  Mr. ****** is welcomed to fill out the packet that was mailed and return to us.  We will expedite immediately his claim request with Simmons.  Unfortunately, the offer for John to come out has been removed and normal policy only will be followed from this point moving forwar

*** *** ***



11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After learning that the product we were interested in was not available for another 4 days new we requested the mattress that was on the floor. We ended up purchasing the mattress at a regular price that the owner quoted us. After sleeping first night on it, I had a back-ache which was disappointing. We tried calling the owner the very first morning after buying it and were told that there's nothing he can do, and that we may need to buy a mattress topper. Unfortunately it is highly unjustifiable to buy a mattress topper after buying a mattress for almost $700. We had the mattress under the protection cover to ensure that the condition of item was not compromised from the get go. We are trying to exchange the mattress, however, looking at the back of the receipt it seems like the owner offers little in terms of satisfaction guarantee.

Desired Settlement: We would like a softer mattress. We can't by any means justify why a "display model" can't be returned as it was already opened in store and people used it. Furthermore, since we paid full price for the item I can't see how it can even be treated as display model in context of store policy.

Business Response:

Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding.  Our computer was undergoing maintenance due to a virus attack.

With regards to the complaint, a considerable amount of time was spent with the customer in their choice selection.  Unfortunately, they needed asap and we were unable to have ready for pick-up or delivery until 8/31, which was 4 days later.  ******* inquired about taking the floor model which had only been on our floor for a short time.  New sets are $1099 less $175 for matt only.  John sold the matt for $625, less than typically sold to earn the business from the customer.

On the following day, the customer called complaining of back issues and inquiring if they could return.  John made a call to the manufacturer on the customer's behalf even knowing that they do not return mdse due to comfort guarantees and this is stated on their warranty info.  Their request to have us return to the store in not within our policy and I will explain in detail why.  Due to the bed bug epidemic; there are no mattresses ever returned to the store.  This protects the customers and our stock so it could never be put back down to use as a floor model. Also, mattresses are similar to shoes, there is a break in period and this is discussed in the store with the customer. 

John did advise the customer that because of the break in period, that worst case, they could use a topper.  This was only recommended because the customer was complaining of back issues and at that point, we had no other options in helping.  We will offer the customer a one time wholesale discounted price if they would like to come in and choose a softer matress but unfortunately, that is the best we can offer for reasons stated above.



*** *** ***


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It seems like this business' practices are very much flawed and practically illegal. In the response I received Mattress Showcase representative implied that the cost of the mattress is $1099: as soon as I walked in the door I learned that all of the price tags were MSRP.  This place being no different had all of the high price tags- but John immediately started quoting lower prices for EVERY ITEM I INQUIRED ABOUT.  If you walk in the door of any retailer, should you see actual prices of products or MSRP?  Isn't it obvious that a policy that rejects returns on sale models, but in turn makes every item with a "special sale price" puts no trust into it's business practices? On the basis of their unlawful business practice I revoke any response that came after this statement: how can I believe a word they said if they already made an inoperative statement in the middle of their response.  If I lose this case, I would like to at least make it known to the consumers so they are aware before losing money and losing sleep over this.

P.S.  This makes me question: "How does a business with such responses to customer complaints and such business practices get an "A+" rating on BBB?

*** ****** ** ** ******** **** ****** ** * ****** ** ***** **** ** **** **** **** ** *** ********


******* *********



Business Response:

Our stand regarding this rejection is simply what was initially stated.  The customer was given a more than fair price for a floor model that was practically new.  Typically, we do not sell floor models at a discounted price unless they have been on our floor for a minimum of 4-6 months.  With that being said, it was the customer that inquired about the floor model since they did not want to wait until the 8/31 delivery.  John is the owner of this store and worked hard to earn the customer's business.  John has the authority to sell his products at whatever discounted price he chooses since he owns the business.  The customer was very happy with the deal he received and had no problems questioning our business practices until he decided that he wanted a softer mattress.  I find that to be unfair on his part.  All paperwork states that there are no returns on opened packaging.  The customer was fine in taking this chance since at the time of the purchase, he also knew he received a really great deal.  Our initial response offered him a replacement mattress at wholesale pricing which I have personally not seen practiced in this industry to only be insulted with his rejection comments. 


In closing, we can only offer the customer a replaced mattress at wholesale pricing.  We would never return anything to our floor that went to our house, a customer's house or the White House.  To protect our customers and our business, we do not offer comfort guarantees and this was stated at the time.  I don't understand why the customer does not recall this being discussed but in any event, it is a business practice that is unique out there and something we are very proud to practice.


The offer for the one time replaced mattress at wholesale pricing will be honored for an additional 30 days from today, with again the understanding that no comfort guarantees are given. 




*** *******

Store Manager

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have basically the same complaint as the other person for this particular store. I see the mistake I made by not asking questions or reading my receipt completely after I put money down. I just want to point out that the common denominator in my complaint and the other persons complaint about this store is the sales lady Amy that works there. She is not very good at customer service and doesn't give the customer all the information they need and acts as if she's too busy to even focus on a customer. She lied to me when I came in the first day and told me I was putting a mattress and box spring in layaway, then turned around and wrote "matt only" on my receipt... When I walked out that day I thought I'd put a mattress and box spring in layaway because that's what Amy told me two times before I left the store. I understand it was my fault for not reading my receipt and asking questions before I left that day, but her "customer service" when I asked to cancel my order was down right rude. When I went back to make my second payment on 12-22-12 is when I noticed my receipt said mattress only and asked if I could cancel my order and get my money back, and Amy told me I could not get the money back and she could only issue a store credit. At that point I got angry because I realized that she lied to me about what I was purchasing and now has a legal right to keep the 50 bucks I put down. I told her she lied to me and she then called me a "Hustler" and said she knows a hustler when she sees one. I am the furthest thing from a hustler. I just wanted what I was told by Amy that I had put in layaway. She's got quite the scam going on there and when the next complaint like this comes in about her, I hope the boss realizes WHO the "hustler" and the problem is. You're losing a lot of customers because of her. Word of mouth spreads fast. I may have lot 50 bucks but you lost $400 or more.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 50 bucks back because I was mislead and lied to, but I understand you have your little legal piece of paper that covers you. Maybe you might want to think about pointing that out to your customers when they come in then you can avoid problems like this in the future.

Business Response:

On November 24. 2012, M . ********** came into the store looking for a mattress only. I asked her why she was not replacing her boxspring and she said it as because of the lack of funds. 1 proceeded to tell her (like l do all customers wanting a mattress only) that if she purchases a mattress only with a warranty and has problems in the future with the mattress that the manufacturer will make sure that the old boxpring did not cause it. Basically, if the old boxspring caused the problem then the mattress would not be
warrantied. She understood and said that again funds were the deciding factor and she was looking to just replace the mattress only.

I sold her a mattress for $300 which had a 10 year warranty. The set was on sale for $428 which would make a mattress only purchase price $342. As you will see by the attached, In order to give her the $300 price - I applied the coupon and a manager credit. Ms. ********** seemed grateful, purchased the mattress only and left.

Ms. ********** came in o 12/22/12. I was busy helping another couple and had to strap the mattress to their vehicle. She asked what bed she had purchased and I pointed to it she then said she was not sure what she wanted to do. She came back over and asked about making a payment and how soon could she get the mattress. I gave her the info and was going back and forth between her and the couple that was in the store. The girl who normally helps me was out sick all weekend. She then asked if she was getting the boxspring as I was pulling his boxspring out of the stock room. I told her that she had only purchased the mattress only. At this
time, she began raising her voice and saying that l had tricked her in believing she bought the set. l then began to go over the same information as shown in the above paragraph. She asked to cancel the order and I agreed saying that l would waive the cancellation fee and issue her an instore credit. She continued to raise her voice and swear at me. I said to her that it was Jesus's birthday in a few days and to calm down, this made the couple in the store chuckle. She was very disruptful and I asked her to wait until l strapped the
set down for the couple that was before her and waiting while this was going on. She then walked over to the door where I was standing calling me names, swearing and yelling. I asked her to leave because the that last thing I wanted was to have the cops remove her. I told her to come back when she settled down. As she left the couple standing there started talking to me about her. She then walked to her car, turned around and came back into the store saying that she did want any violence. This struck me and the couple as very odd behavior. l proceed to tell her that there absolutely would not be any violence. I asked her what was wrong with her. She said she lost her keys. I told her to find them and to leave and that I was willing to call the police if she continued to yell and swear. l told her that losing her keys was bad karma because of her behavior. She then pulled the keys out of her pocket and left. The couple that was in the store absolutely could not believe what happened. The gentleman said that he really thought she was coming in to start a fight they offered to talk to John should any thing come about from this. I said it was not necessary because l really believed after she settled down that she would realize what she did was wrong.

I am not sure what happened with her but what l can say for sure is that I followed policy and have the backing of the couple that was in the store to verify the above. I will as l said to her, waive the cancellation fee and offer her a $50.00 instore credit. Nothing else will be done. The instore policy has been followed. I was treated very unfairly and at this point stand ?rm on the decision made.


Amy, Store Manager of Mattress Showcase

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I can't believe Amy can't resolve this matter with me without trying to make me look like I'm out of control.  With the response she posted in regards to me redeeming my store credit I would feel more comfortable coming in with the police present.

I absolutely did NOT threaten her. She lied to me to RIP ME OFF and I got upset like any normal person would do.  This is just a bad deal gone wrong and she's trying to make

it into this big dramatic scene like she's the victim. It's absurd!  Anything to keep that 50 bucks. 

Just curious BBB, Did the last unfortunate customer ever get their credit back or were they made out to look vicious and threatening too? 

***** **********